View Full Version : Buckley wouldn't get a game with Brisbane anyway
Bazza & Tazza
1st October 2001, 23:57
for all those that say Buckley left the Lions to play finals footy at Collingwood (lmao), well it all makes no difference.
Fact is, if he was at the Lions now, he'd be playing in the Queensland state league. He wouldn't of got a game in the Grand Final. Brisbane couldn't find room in their side for a abusive hack like him.
Buckley, "I'm leaving the Bears because I want to play finals football".
Net result? 1 finals loss hahahahahahahaahahhahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahhahahaha hahahahhahahahahahahahahahhahahhahahaahhahahhahahahahahhhhaa hhahahahahahhahahhahahahahahahahahhhahahahahahahahahahahahah ahahhahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahhahaahhaahhahahahaha hahahahahahahhahahaahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahhahahaha ahahhaahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahah ahahahahahhahahhahahaahhahahhahahahahahhhhaahhahahahahahhaha hhahahahahahahahahhhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahaha hahahahahahaahahahahahahhahaahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahhah ahaahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahhahahhahahaahhahahhaha hahahahhhhaahhahahahahahhahahhahahahahahahahahhhahahahahahah ahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahhahaha hahahahahahahhahahhahahaahhahahhahahahahahhhhaahhahahahahahh ahahhahahahahahahahahhhhahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahhah ahhahahaahhahahhhahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahhahahhahah aahhahahhahahahahahhhhaahhahahahahahhahahhahahahahahahahahhh ahhahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahhahahhahahaahhahahhahaha hahahhhhaahhahahahahahhahahhahahahahahahahahhhahahahahahahah ahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahhahaahhaah hahahahahahahahahahahahhahahaahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahah ahhahahahaahahhaahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahah ahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahhahaahhaahha hahahahahahahahahahahhahahaahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahah hahahahaahahhaahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahhhhaah hahahahahahhahahhahahahahahahahahhhahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahhahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahhahaahhaahhahahahahah ahahahahahahhahahaahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahhahahahaa hahhaahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahhahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahhahaahhaahhahahahahah ahahahahahahhahahaahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahhahahahaa hahhaahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahaaahahahahahahhahaahhaahha hahahahahahahahahahahhahahaahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahah hahahahaahahhaahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahah ahahahahahahahahhahahahaahahhaahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahaha
AlfAndrews
2nd October 2001, 00:01
pillow *
Mr Ripper
2nd October 2001, 00:02
Uh oh! :o
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
2nd October 2001, 00:03
ohhhh dear :rolleyes:
i wouldn't go as far as saying Buckley wouldn't get a game with them now i think he would just be less noticed there now as others around him would steal some of the spotlight off him. Anyway even at Collingwood now it is becomming less of a one man team and can win without Buckley in the side which is a good thing i think as Bucks wont be around for ever not to mention l luuurved the fact that Obie gave Bucks some bloody good competition at the brownlow this year :D and will do the same at the Copeland.
Danni
2nd October 2001, 00:04
Alf, not losing your cool again are you??
Even you as a Collingwood supporter, and a Buckely supporter have to admit......... that it was a 'big mistake' from a young Buckley to make those comments......and out of many comments made by many players in the last 10 years........his are going to/have, come back and haunted him time and time again.
And btw what does the origninal topics have to do with pillows??
AlfAndrews
2nd October 2001, 00:30
Originally posted by Danni
Even you as a Collingwood supporter, and a Buckely supporter have to admit......... that it was a 'big mistake' from a young Buckley to make those comments......and out of many comments made by many players in the last 10 years........his are going to/have, come back and haunted him time and time again.
I'm much too polite to explain the pillow thing to YOU. But I'm sure Boofhead and Tosser knows what I'm on about. Maybe he can explain.
As for Buckley's comments ... what he really SHOULD have said was that he was leaving the Koalas so that he could play for a real Club in a real city.
In doing so, Buckley achieved the highest honour any footballer can achieve. He got to play for Collingwood.
Now, if Bucks had stayed at Brisbane he probably wouldn't have played last Saturday ... because he would have died of boredom years ago from having to live in such a hick town.
I'm sure he hasn't had a moment's regret. Why would he?
He lives in the best city in the world and plays for the greatest Club in the world.
Who gives a stuff about finals and premierships? Playing for Collingwood is the highest honour anyone can achieve in sport. A wooden spoon at Collingwood is a higher honour than 10 premierships in a row with Brisbane.
Macca19
2nd October 2001, 00:33
pity noone can get their facts right on this subject.
Buckley left because he has been a lifelong collingwood supporter. Buckley tampered with the draft back in 1992 so he could only get drafted by collingwood. The AFL made a ruling that collingwood couldnt pick him up...so Brisbane did. He never had any intention of staying at Brisbane for any more than 1 season. Why else would he only sign a 1 season deal?
Its a pity people forget his comments about wanting to join the team he supported all his life and desperatly wanted to play for.
I dont think Buckley has lost sleep over it...i dont think Buckley would of lost any sleep if Brisbane had won the last 7 flags in a row. Buckley would of left anyway.
Maybe people should REALISE this fact before getting stuck in.
Danni
2nd October 2001, 00:38
Hello?? Children??? Where did I say anything about his allegiances.........???
All I said was that his 'comments' albeit made when he was young have come back in the past/are coming back in the present/ and may come back in the future....to haunt him.
And where did I mention regret? or even how he might be feeling over last weekends results?? NO WHERE!
Geez and you lot reckon others over react.
All I said was no matter what his comments have come back to haunt him, and they certainly have.
PiesPremiers
2nd October 2001, 00:43
this has been done to death......
quite boring really... :o :o
Macca19
2nd October 2001, 00:49
Hello?? Children??? Where did I say anything about his allegiances.........???
All I said was that his 'comments' albeit made when he was young have come back in the past/are coming back in the present/ and may come back in the future....to haunt him.
And where did I mention regret? or even how he might be feeling over last weekends results?? NO WHERE!
Geez and you lot reckon others over react.
All I said was no matter what his comments have come back to haunt him, and they certainly have.
that is where you are wrong. His comments havent come back to haunt him. He doesnt give a sh|t. He is playing where he wanted to play all his life.
Buckley made the "i wanna play finals" comment when he also said "i wanna play for collingwood because ive supported them my whole life"...yet people harp on teh finals comment. At the time the comment was justified as well. Brisbane were a farce and a laughing stock back then, thats why players like Andrew and Darren Jarman refused to go anywhere near them after being drafted in the late 80s.
To answer your question Danni....Buckley couldnt care less, his comments were fair, and i dont think they were stupid or regretful in anyway.
Danni
2nd October 2001, 00:59
Well Macca you belive that as much as you want!
If you want to beleive that Buckley sits there every time he hears those coments re-iterated, and he feels no regret then so be it.
I never said he regretted leaving the Brisbane Bears, what I said was he more than likely regrets the comments he made when he did leave them.
It has nothing to do with 'where he wants to play' - it has to do with WHAT HE SAID. And regardless of where he wanted to play, what he said has come back and bit him on the bum.
PiesPremiers
2nd October 2001, 01:02
If you want to beleive that Buckley sits there every time he hears those coments re-iterated, and he feels no regret then so be it.
I never said he regretted leaving the Brisbane Bears, what I said was he more than likely regrets the comments he made when he did leave them.
It has nothing to do with 'where he wants to play' - it has to do with WHAT HE SAID. And regardless of where he wanted to play, what he said has come back and bit him on the bum.
danni, your missing maccas point.
he said he wanted to play at collingwood. THEN said he wanted to play finals footy.....who doesnt??
he DIDNT say he was leaving brisbane, so he could play finals footy.......like colbert did to geelong...
Danni
2nd October 2001, 01:08
Well PP if that is the case, then please send me your postal address, I will happily send you the video ( it is currently on BETA, but can transfer it to VHS) and the news clippings that say differently. What he said wasn't that he was leaving the Bears to play finals footy - but that he was going to Collingwood to play finals footy.
D.
Macca19
2nd October 2001, 01:10
bit him on the bum?? A whole 7 years later!
Also...how often do you reckon Buckley reads this board?? Id say never. Where else would he hear those comments? Id say not more than a handful of times in the past few years.
Why would he regret it?? brisbane were a joke in 1993, and 1992, and 91, 90, 89, 88 and 87. They were slightly better in 94. And of course they made the finals in 95.
Why would Buckley regret what he said? Whats said is said. Cant change it...strongly doubt he has lost any sleep in the past 8 years over it either
Danni
2nd October 2001, 01:12
And btw the topic was about Bucks not getting a game if he was still at Brisbane at the moment..........with his skills he would have fit into a midfield, but with what we now have.....but there is no saying that here now he wouldn't be playing a key roll in a different possie either.........................but as Bears.....then moving onto Lions..........we have lived without him..........and now won a premiership.......
So whether he wanted to be here or not is really not an issue to us.........but what he said about it......well that will never go away.
PiesPremiers
2nd October 2001, 01:16
:eek: danni, get serious just for a minute.
buckley would get a game in brisbanes side EASILY....he'd be the 2nd player selected behind voss...NO DOUBT!
cant even believe that anyone could say he WOULDNT get a game.....he'd walk right in to ANY team...still in the top 5 players in the league......theres no doubt about it !
Macca19
2nd October 2001, 01:17
I say his comments were 100% fair as well.
Brisbane in 1993 had not played one finals match. In fact they had never even looked like making the finals.
Collingwood have a steep finals history.
If you were going to go to a team purely just to play finals, you would go to either Essendon, Carlton, Hawthorn or Collingwood...thru their history.
The fact is, and it is a point Danni you are blatantly missing, or just refusing to take in....Buckley left Brisbane to play for his beloved Collingwood. His decision was not based on playing finals footy. It was based on his lifelong support of the Collingwood Football Club. It would not of mattered if Brisbane had won the last 10 premierships and he went there...he still would of left after one season. That is what you, and many many others dont understand. People think his sole reason was to play finals footy. This is false and untrue. His sole reason was to play for Collingwood. Of course his finals comments have not come true.
Buckley was not commited to Brisbane...why would he be??? He didnt even want to play there. He was gonna leave either way. That is the point of this...and youll say again "its not why he left, its his comments"...yet everyone thinks it is his comments which is why he left....which is not true
Macca19
2nd October 2001, 01:19
Originally posted by PiesPremiers
:eek: danni, get serious just for a minute.
buckley would get a game in brisbanes side EASILY....he'd be the 2nd player selected behind voss...NO DOUBT!
cant even believe that anyone could say he WOULDNT get a game.....he'd walk right in to ANY team...still in the top 5 players in the league......theres no doubt about it !
Anyone that says Buckley couldnt get a game in any other team is either mentally challenged, taking the pi$$, or just a complete moron.
Danni
2nd October 2001, 01:29
Macca I am far from missing the point............in fact if you go put in some search words on this board about Buckley leaving the Bears to play finals footy............my name will not even come up ONCE.........until today.........
and it doesn't matter if the bears were 'bad news' back then, or if any thing else you carried on with was an influence either....................what happend in the real world is the said he went to collingwood , then later sad that the he left the bears to play finals footy.......and now look at it. Geez I am not criticising the bloke for his choices......only for his badly chosen comments............
and as I type that.......the Lions are just starting their lap of honor at the G on the Optus replay...................if you want to belive that Bucks isn't sitting there and thinking...."geez all those years ago I could have stayed and had this too" then you are kidding yourself. Regardless of whether 10 secs later he revised his decison, the reality is that ANY player would have/did feel that.
We have players that are suffering badly after leaving the club in the last few years.........some of them to an extent they had a complete media ban by their managers in the last 10 days.
And then their are others like Trent Bartlett.............that made their way to Club Odeon the other night, to make sure they congratulated their 'old' team mates.
It isn't even know about allegiance, it is about being 'man enough' to do the right thing.
Macca19
2nd October 2001, 01:38
Macca I am far from missing the point............in fact if you go put in some search words on this board about Buckley leaving the Bears to play finals footy............my name will not even come up ONCE.........until today.........
and it doesn't matter if the bears were 'bad news' back then, or if any thing else you carried on with was an influence either....................what happend in the real world is the said he went to collingwood , then later sad that the he left the bears to play finals footy.......and now look at it. Geez I am not criticising the bloke for his choices......only for his badly chosen comments............
and as I type that.......the Lions are just starting their lap of honor at the G on the Optus replay...................if you want to belive that Bucks isn't sitting there and thinking...."geez all those years ago I could have stayed and had this too" then you are kidding yourself. Regardless of whether 10 secs later he revised his decison, the reality is that ANY player would have/did feel that.
If you find the truth in the matter to be me "carrying on" then you are missing the point. No i dont think for one second Buckley has thought "boy i should of stayed there, look what i could of had"...BECAUSE HE DID NOT WANT TO PLAY FOR BRISBANE. Which is what you are MISSING. It wouldnt matter if he got picked up by the other 14 clubs in the competition...he still would of left to play for collingwood.
Danni
2nd October 2001, 01:53
no macca my point is that ..........
had he still left any of the other clubs to play for collingwood, he would still have made the same comments......... it just so happens that he left the bears, so they were in his comments.
And that is the deal.........it just so happens that now the team he left, and a couple of 'rookies' he started with, are now wearing premieship medallions. And he isn't. And you knwo what?? here is 'arrogance' if you so feel the way to take it that way........ too bad.
his comments kicked a club when they were down, and he made the comments that he was leaving for better things, and now hasn't achieved them...........with his chosen club..........so yeah, I feel fully entitled today to say, 'so sorry nathan, i just wish you hadn' t dissed us so much at the time as we now woudlnt' feel so much animosity toward you'
hilly
2nd October 2001, 09:11
Originally posted by PiesPremiers
he DIDNT say he was leaving brisbane, so he could play finals footy.......like colbert did to geelong...
Don't think Colbert ever said that Dan :confused: People might have guessed that he said that but it's not true
Pies rock
2nd October 2001, 10:41
Bazza and Tazza, we'll have a Big Footy meeting one day mate. We could even invite Wooden Spooner along. Should be alot of fun. I'm sure Alf, Joffa, Joel etc. would be interested in being there. I'm not sure if you'd be so cocky face to face hey?
Bazza & Tazza
2nd October 2001, 14:10
Originally posted by Pies rock
Bazza and Tazza, we'll have a Big Footy meeting one day mate. We could even invite Wooden Spooner along. Should be alot of fun. I'm sure Alf, Joffa, Joel etc. would be interested in being there. I'm not sure if you'd be so cocky face to face hey?
dodging the subject?
About the meeting, we were thinking of sending my little sister along, but, then again, that hasn't stopped Joffa in the past has it?
And Alf? Who's scared of Fat Alfred? What's he gonna do to us? sit on us?
Kanga30
2nd October 2001, 14:41
buckley is a wan*er - useless **** not worth kicking.
he chose a bunch of losers, losers r losers, collingwould will be collingwould.
have a good look at their president - CAPITAL 'L'
PiesPremiers
2nd October 2001, 14:47
Originally posted by hilly
Don't think Colbert ever said that Dan :confused: People might have guessed that he said that but it's not true
ahh yes he did. he left because he wanted to play finals football. and geelong wont play finals for the next 5 years!
he said it!
1AD
2nd October 2001, 14:57
[QUOTE]Originally posted by AlfAndrews
[B]
Who gives a stuff about finals and premierships?
Spoken like a true Collingwood supporter.
Pure Gold...hahahahaha
FIGJAM
2nd October 2001, 15:11
Originally posted by Pies rock
Oooo...Ooooo, can I come too?!?!?
You'd never see a loudmouth shut up so quickly in all of your life!
Half a Raspberry Shandy and he'd be outta there!!! :D
Woodenspooner
2nd October 2001, 15:31
Brisbane get the premiership!!! All Buckley has is a wooden spoon!!
It is proven he is a loser. Hes accomplished not very much at Collingwood apart from his own grand standing and winning the heart of Eddie for next Valentines day.
And for another example of how dodgey he has become he must be pretty hard up if the best he can do is have that b grade scrubber he had on his side at the Brownlow. She would fit in perfectly at the red light district in Grey Street St kilda.
And ugly as a horses head with mixamatosis!
Absolute
Shock-ERRRRR!!!!
Anti discrimination board
2nd October 2001, 16:44
Originally posted by Woodenspooner
Brisbane get the premiership!!! All Buckley has is a wooden spoon!!
It is proven he is a loser. Hes accomplished not very much at Collingwood apart from his own grand standing and winning the heart of Eddie for next Valentines day.
And for another example of how dodgey he has become he must be pretty hard up if the best he can do is have that b grade scrubber he had on his side at the Brownlow. She would fit in perfectly at the red light district in Grey Street St kilda.
And ugly as a horses head with mixamatosis!
Absolute
Shock-ERRRRR!!!!
FJD back again!!!!!!!!
You are the only person who has ever used the word myxamatosis and spelt in incorrectly in the same way in all your other posts.
Otherwise I htink you are hilly in drag...or is hilly FJD in drag...either way they both are a drag!!!!!!!
Joel
2nd October 2001, 16:49
Guys, just ignore posts about Buckley (of this kind). I see rehash after rehash on this site, it is boring and pathetic.
Lockyer24
2nd October 2001, 20:21
he'd be captain/coach.....
in retrospect it was a crap move but in the end he will be a multiple premiership captain for collingwood and that is definately better than winning one flag with the afls lovechilds, the dandelions
DarkRider
2nd October 2001, 20:58
Originally posted by AlfAndrews
Who gives a stuff about finals and premierships? Playing for Collingwood is the highest honour anyone can achieve in sport. .
And of course, those two things are mutually exclusive.:D
goalpie
5th June 2006, 16:25
How things change.:thumbsu:
Refried Noodle
5th June 2006, 16:30
Would have had 3 Premiership medals round his neck.....lol
Grimreepah
5th June 2006, 16:33
How things change.:thumbsu:
Fair enough. These days Buckley would probably get a game with the Lions;)
dmc333
5th June 2006, 16:54
he'd be captain/coach.....
in retrospect it was a crap move but in the end he will be a multiple premiership captain for collingwood and that is definately better than winning one flag with the afls lovechilds, the dandelions
The benefits of dredging threads :D
Squeak
5th June 2006, 17:00
And after all these years people still think Buckley said he left Brisbane to play finals.
He NEVER said it. NEVER.
skilts
5th June 2006, 17:21
If Collingwood don't win the GF by at least 15 goals this year, methinks there may be further re-gurgitation of threads which were originally posted THIS week.
Manifestations of hubris and nyah-nyah-type posts are fraught with danger. Sad to say, I'm not immune from this syndrome myself. Amazing how often it comes back to bite you on the bum. Not in a nice way either.
MarkT
5th June 2006, 17:36
What’s the nice way?
Or should I say:
"S&M Board" skilts?
skilts
5th June 2006, 17:39
What’s the nice way?
Or should I say:
"S&M Board" skilts?
Oops. Sorry. Just musing aloud. That's about the extent of it these days. Ah, the memories though. Ah, the memory's not what it was either.
pieman1
5th June 2006, 18:04
no macca my point is that ..........
had he still left any of the other clubs to play for collingwood, he would still have made the same comments......... it just so happens that he left the bears, so they were in his comments.
And that is the deal.........it just so happens that now the team he left, and a couple of 'rookies' he started with, are now wearing premieship medallions. And he isn't. And you knwo what?? here is 'arrogance' if you so feel the way to take it that way........ too bad.
his comments kicked a club when they were down, and he made the comments that he was leaving for better things, and now hasn't achieved them...........with his chosen club..........so yeah, I feel fully entitled today to say, 'so sorry nathan, i just wish you hadn' t dissed us so much at the time as we now woudlnt' feel so much animosity toward you'
Buckley said he wanted to play finals when he left the Bears and he did! The last time I checked the Brisbane Lions won three premierships and not the Bears. Are you also saying that Bucks should also have had the ability to predict the future? He's good, but not that good. Does he regret his decision at the time, not a jot, and he's said that many times. And if you read Garry Linnel's AFL limmited there is a chapter devoted to the subject that will clear up the misconceptions you have. He went to Brisbane with them understanding it was only for one year, it's well documented and on the record.
i_hate_scams
5th June 2006, 18:33
brisbane only recruit thugs, buckley wouldn;t qualify
Lonie_from_50
5th June 2006, 18:40
Biggest bump in BigFooty history? :D
Skooks
5th June 2006, 18:41
Buckley wouldn't get a game with Brisbane anyway
Dont Be Silly
Chodders
5th June 2006, 18:48
What about blood smearers?
didak07
5th June 2006, 19:02
[quote=Bazza & Tazza]for all those that say Buckley left the Lions to play finals footy at Collingwood (lmao), well it all makes no difference.
Fact is, if he was at the Lions now, he'd be playing in the Queensland state league. He wouldn't of got a game in the Grand Final. Brisbane couldn't find room in their side for a abusive hack like him.
Buckley, "I'm leaving the Bears because I want to play finals football".
Buckley got a norm smith against Brisbane in the 2002 grand final so quite obviously he was best on ground, which clearly means he would of got a game
Grimreepah
5th June 2006, 19:04
Does that mean if a player was convicted of striking a woman, Collingwood would delist that player?
i_hate_scams
5th June 2006, 20:03
Does that mean if a player was convicted of striking a woman, Collingwood would delist that player?
stick to the topic, we are talking about buckley and brisbane
secondly, no one's been convicted.
thirdly, i have no respect for anyone that goes on "dancing with the stars".
Helix
5th June 2006, 20:28
This is really silly. Buckley would have played in any side, for any team for the last 10 or so years. It is rediculous to suggest otherwise, the man is a legend.