The Torch11
20th July 2005, 09:00
Just wondering who do you think is the best player in The Tasmanian SFL

Benny_
27th July 2005, 13:35
I would have to say Jamie Curran from Dodges Ferry an absolute jet

Barge
30th July 2005, 21:38
Are we talking best player in each of the Premier League and Regional League or best player in the SFL full stop?

Do I assume that Devils squad members that play with their local club are ineligible?

Torch, please adjudicate.............

bsg7
31st July 2005, 11:01
Because torch hasn't written back we'll say that he is asking us to pick one from premier league and one from regional league, and we will make devils members ineligible. Michael Thompson would have to be up there for premier league?

Doona2
31st July 2005, 22:01
Sorry I aint familiar with the footy over in Tassie, but I did have the priviledge of playing alongside Kenny Beaumont over here almost a decade ago. He didn't arrive in Broadford until 1996 and was probably 35-36 then, but he must've been a freak in his younger days was he was nothing short of sensational both on and off the field even in the twilight of his career.

Does anyone know where abouts down there KB is located these days?

Barge
1st August 2005, 19:40
Doona, if you know nothing about the topic at hand please stay away!

bsg7, Thomspon would have to be up there!

Without putting too much thought into it I would have to say Darcy from Cygnet in the Regional League, simply unstoppable on his day and for the Premier League (stops to give it thought - like I said I wasn't gonna do!) would have to say Matty Smith, can play anywhere on the ground with great effect too!

But to be honest, you could name heaps of others who compare favourably with both players...

Northern lad
5th August 2005, 21:22
In regards to the great Kenny Beaumont he is currently living in the north west city of Burnie. Doona2 you are spot on he was one of the best footballers to grace the north west coast of tasmania. A natural player who loved a beer and would not have looked out of place at a higher level if he had of had the application to achieve this.

Northern lad
5th August 2005, 21:29
In regards to the best player in the SFL well I'd have to put them into their playing groups.
Forward: Thompson (New Norfolk), like to see him at a higher level
Back: Cox (North Hobart), classy running player who is wasted in the backline. Can kick a ball a mile!
Midfielder: Any member of the New Norfolk machine who are smashing everyone in there path!

CWood
11th August 2005, 11:58
Stewart Whitelaw.

Buwick, is a Gret young running player for the clarence football club, 2 time club best and Fairest, his attack on the ball is outstanding. He tackles like a raging bull, and somehow in nearly any situation, some how keeps his feat, Remarkable.

Roo Boy Rev
12th August 2005, 09:00
The new player to be touted as a future william lietch medalist is sam fielding. This kid has smashed them at senior level and looks to be the goods couuld possibly be a future AFl star :cool:

CWood
17th August 2005, 11:14
The only thing sam fielding is smashing, is 5 different girls. does any one know his middle name, cos i'm sure i've heard it. "PLAYER/SLU+"