juzza316
23 Jul 2005, 17:48
weak as p1ss!!!!!!!!

its just sporn mum
23 Jul 2005, 18:20
too right.

Blues_Man
23 Jul 2005, 18:22
I agree he maybe there is a female comp out there where he can slot right in and be an ouside midfeilder

iluvparis
23 Jul 2005, 18:35
Problem is who is going to want him now (well perhaps Fremantle). Should have traded him a while ago.

stokesy
23 Jul 2005, 18:36
Listening to triple MMM and in the first half I heard his name a few times for laying tackles and also a smother I think.

Cya POOFihan

coasting
23 Jul 2005, 18:40
Yep agreed. Bye Houlihack you fuggin DUD.

oaksy
23 Jul 2005, 18:43
another wasted top 10 draft pick

iluvparis
23 Jul 2005, 18:46
Listening to triple MMM and in the first half I heard his name a few times for laying tackles and also a smother I think.

Cya POOFihan

Was that before or after he kicked it out on the full when trying to pass to a teammate 10m away.

Lajon
23 Jul 2005, 19:06
another wasted top 10 draft pick

we took him at pick 73 so I'm not sure how we wasted a top 10 pick on him? :confused:

but anyway, he's weak as p*ss and needs to go

surpstar
23 Jul 2005, 19:55
Agreed..

He hasn't shown enough, and is not upto it

Time to wield the axe, and get rid of him

oaksy
24 Jul 2005, 00:00
we took him at pick 73 so I'm not sure how we wasted a top 10 pick on him? :confused:

but anyway, he's weak as p*ss and needs to go
oops my bad. i was thinking of massie

itsintheblood
24 Jul 2005, 00:53
soft soft soft..bye bye

The worst brothers that have ever played league footy. They're all schyte the houlihans.

Get rid of him.

AlwaysCarlton
24 Jul 2005, 02:28
Betrayed his teammates today.. get the ******** out Houlihan.

blues4flag
24 Jul 2005, 12:00
I cannot believe that he has the fifth most tackles in our side. That effort when he was to scared to spoil Franklin was pathetic. I really wanted him to make it, he has great skills, but if he doesn't toughen up I'm afraid he'll have to go.

Fev0lution
24 Jul 2005, 22:26
[QUOTE=blues4flag]I cannot believe that he has the fifth most tackles in our side. QUOTE]

the stat tells he is always chasing arse and the franklin effort :eek:

not tough or committed enough for AFL

mojo31
24 Jul 2005, 22:41
[QUOTE=blues4flag]I cannot believe that he has the fifth most tackles in our side. QUOTE]

the stat tells he is always chasing arse and the franklin effort :eek:

not tough or committed enough for AFL

Easier to let someone else get the ball and tackle them than put your head over it and cop the hit.

Dramoth
25 Jul 2005, 01:22
If Big Red goes, maybe we can tell who ever wants him that they have to take hoolihan in the deal...

any way, he has been at the club for a damned long time, he has a lot of talent, but now is the time when we need people hard at the ball... we dont need someone around who isnt prepared to put in the hard ball gets or put there body on the line to smother a kick...

Ryan, it's time to go mate...

pauld
25 Jul 2005, 07:39
A lot of posters say Ryan has talent.......
Yet, when you look at him he does turn over the ball a lot, he has a pretty poor kick, and is a stough as a wet sponge.
Apart from his famous chain saw routine in a game in which he was brilliant vs Bombers he has not really done a whole lot.
He does tackle, yet like most of the side his tackles are soft as we just do not have the big bodies to lay in a decent tackle.
Would like to see Ryan traded, along with Big Red and Lappin/Campo.
Then the re-building can start in earnest with the new draft picks coming in.
Hope we have the money to entice a gun player as this whole tax thing could get very messy leaving the Blues in a real financila mess and unable to lay off big bucks to grab a star player or two.
If only Fev would do more, he was borderline for being traded...he is costing a bucket of money yet does not do enough at all, and since re-signing for the big bucks has done very little apart from getting his hair cut which now menas he has lost his trademark. He is no longer a character with short hair, his locks were good for morale. No more shouts of shag or those mop hair signs in the crowd.
Blues recruiting staff, bring in some tall big bodied skilled players that we really need, no more skinny kids.
Against sides like Geelong and St Kilda our players look like boys playing against men. No wonder our tackles are not much. At times it is like watching a few kittens trying to take down a bulldog.....bring in tough bodies with height and skill is all I say.

HBF
25 Jul 2005, 14:26
A lot of posters say Ryan has talent.......
Yet, when you look at him he does turn over the ball a lot, he has a pretty poor kick, and is a stough as a wet sponge.
Apart from his famous chain saw routine in a game in which he was brilliant vs Bombers he has not really done a whole lot.
He does tackle, yet like most of the side his tackles are soft as we just do not have the big bodies to lay in a decent tackle.
Would like to see Ryan traded, along with Big Red and Lappin/Campo.
Then the re-building can start in earnest with the new draft picks coming in.
Hope we have the money to entice a gun player as this whole tax thing could get very messy leaving the Blues in a real financila mess and unable to lay off big bucks to grab a star player or two.
If only Fev would do more, he was borderline for being traded...he is costing a bucket of money yet does not do enough at all, and since re-signing for the big bucks has done very little apart from getting his hair cut which now menas he has lost his trademark. He is no longer a character with short hair, his locks were good for morale. No more shouts of shag or those mop hair signs in the crowd.
Blues recruiting staff, bring in some tall big bodied skilled players that we really need, no more skinny kids.
Against sides like Geelong and St Kilda our players look like boys playing against men. No wonder our tackles are not much. At times it is like watching a few kittens trying to take down a bulldog.....bring in tough bodies with height and skill is all I say.

I agree that Houlihan turns the ball over way too much. One example on Saturday was he had the ball by himself running down the Northern wing. He had an opportunity of chipping it inside the corridor to an unmarked team-mate (possibly Sporn), instead he chose to kick it down the boundary to Carrazzo where he kicked it out on the full.

Not only do his skills let him down, but his decision making is terrible.

ECHUCABOY
27 Jul 2005, 12:37
Yeah getting rid of houlihans a real good idea you idiots. His havin a crap year, so what evryone is. What Carlton need is outside running players who can use the ball well, ill concide his been average with his disposal this year but hasnt everyone.

If you had of seen the Sunday footy show you wud have seen the blues are up ther for hard ball gets, losse ball gets clearences etc.. they are down the bottom for handball recieves and uncosted marks, they need a bloke like hoops who can use the footy. This year carlton will draft more outside players and you will call them soft.......

Melbourne has too many outside players but are still more effective than carlton cos they can actaully use the ball.........If carlton get rid of its best outside player (on his Day) they are utterly spastic.

Funkalicous
27 Jul 2005, 12:45
Carlton are soft.... Houlihan is soft. How do you think Raph Clarke, X Clake, Woewodin, Brent Harvey and Headland would go in our side.... with no one there to get the hard ball? :eek:
Even Nick Stevens can't find the ball in our side, unless Koutoufides is having a day-out.

It's one of those baby/bathwater situations. We currently lack the tough 'inside' players that compliment the classy 'outside' players.

Honestly, if we got rid of every player that had a poor season, we'd be supporting about 3 players next year.

Funkalicous
27 Jul 2005, 12:49
If you had of seen the Sunday footy show you wud have seen the blues are up ther for hard ball gets, losse ball gets clearences etc.. they are down the bottom for handball recieves and uncosted marks, they need a bloke like hoops who can use the footy. This year carlton will draft more outside players and you will call them soft.......

Don't fall into the trap of letting stats tell the story. Fact is, most sides work the ball around instead of just bombing it to the next contest. Carlton play a hard-ball winning sort of game, but every week we are beaten at our own game...

ECHUCABOY
27 Jul 2005, 12:53
so your saying with our style we dont need outside players???

Funkalicous
27 Jul 2005, 13:10
so your saying with our style we dont need outside players???

Every side needs outside players. But it's all about balance. IMO, our current (sh*t house) style of play has more of an emphasis on inside players.... of which we have 1 (Kouta) :o

If we played a Bulldogs or Hawthorn style of game, we would get away with our handicap a bit more, but Dennis will be Dennis :p

av76
27 Jul 2005, 13:30
Every side needs outside players. But it's all about balance. IMO, our current (sh*t house) style of play has more of an emphasis on inside players.... of which we have 1 (Kouta) :o

If we played a Bulldogs or Hawthorn style of game, we would get away with our handicap a bit more, but Dennis will be Dennis :p

Yeah. We have quite a few outside players...Campo, Stevens, Houlihan, Simpson, Davies, Betts, Chambers etc. Davies and Simpson could bulk up and play inside a bit more but Betts will probably never be big enough and will play crumbing role in the forward line. Personally think we only need 2-3 of the receiver types and would probably go with Stevens, Simpson and Campo (if he's stay on cheaply). Scotland has been helping out with clearances but is probably better suited to receiver role too.

Carazzo is coming along well but our other potential clearance players don't seem up to scratch (e.g. Johnson, Bentick etc). So we should trade for what we need. Lappin, Houlihan and Scotland should get something on the free market. Once we get some tough inside midfielders and a decent backup ruckman (should Barnarby prove injury prone again) I think we will be a lot more competitive.

Kooley
27 Jul 2005, 13:58
Didn't Melbourne want him last year? Maybe they still do.

ECHUCABOY
27 Jul 2005, 14:40
Yeah. We have quite a few outside players...Campo, Stevens, Houlihan, Simpson, Davies, Betts, Chambers etc. Davies and Simpson could bulk up and play inside a bit more but Betts will probably never be big enough and will play crumbing role in the forward line. .

Davies u idiot gets more hard ball than he gets recieved posessions.

Quite a few......... davies chambers betts simpson have been in an out of the side......the only regular is houlihan while stevens and campo are prolly more outside than in?

ducky18
27 Jul 2005, 14:48
evacuate ryan

av76
27 Jul 2005, 15:25
Davies u idiot gets more hard ball than he gets recieved posessions.

Quite a few......... davies chambers betts simpson have been in an out of the side......the only regular is houlihan while stevens and campo are prolly more outside than in?

Calm down ! I actually think Davies might make a inside player once he bulks up...he's listed as 80kg but from what i've seen at the AFL level (as opposed to VFL games where he plays on the ball more often and probably get heaps of contested possessions) he gets out muscled much too easily when playing on the ball...otherwise he's played as a forward...that's why I listed him alongside those other players. Might be irrelevant anyway as he will probably get delisted. Personally hope he stays.

skillsy_44
28 Jul 2005, 14:36
I know Houlihan has the heart of a pea, but i could list atleast 5 other players who should get de-listed before him.

Someone said he has the 5th most tackles in the club, they must consider hanging your weak arms out and letting an opponent push past you a tackle these days.

Dramoth
28 Jul 2005, 19:53
I think that we need to get a hard at the ball forward like we used to have with Hammill...

I still cant believe that we let him go when we did... and I think that we have suffered a little ever since... he was the perfect CHF for us...

pauld
29 Jul 2005, 12:10
Houlihan is as soft as butter. And just watch his game carefully, all of this silky skill he is supposed to have is evident in VERY small doses. From what I see he is slow, cannot tackle, has a fairly short kicking range, and makes a lot of mistakes. His slowness sees him losing the ball often as he tries to saunter upfield but is grabbed by the opposition. Get rid of him...

pauld
29 Jul 2005, 12:12
But for prospective buyers:

Ryah Houlihan is a supremly gifted footballer with a lot of talent and skill and has the ability to play in many positions. Perfect footballer :eek: with great vision and determination.....

:D .............. :(

Dramoth
29 Jul 2005, 15:48
Houlihan is as soft as butter. And just watch his game carefully, all of this silky skill he is supposed to have is evident in VERY small doses. From what I see he is slow, cannot tackle, has a fairly short kicking range, and makes a lot of mistakes. His slowness sees him losing the ball often as he tries to saunter upfield but is grabbed by the opposition. Get rid of him...

Any chance we could clone the hyphen? Good old Rhys-Jones

He appeared slow and laconic, but his disposal was awesome and he was as hard as nails :) just the type of midfielder/defender we need now :)