View Full Version : VFL Round 16

MRobbo
24th July 2005, 08:57
SENIORS
Geelong 1.5 5.8 12.8 16.13 (109)
Port Melbourne 2.4 8.10 12.10 17.12 (114)

BEST:
Geelong: Byrne Byrne Byrnes Haynes Blake Thompson
Port Melbourne: Le Cras McIntosh Perkins Smith Pitt Perry

GOALS:
Geelong: Haynes 6 Gardiner 2 Byrne 2 Byrne Ablett Torney Lonergan Blake Byrnes
Port Melbourne: Le Cras 6 Pitt 4 Cotchett Hazell Robbins Perkins Trotter McMahon Alexander

Williamstown 5.0 8.4 9.7 12.12 (84)
Bendigo Bombers 2.2 4.4 8.8 10.9 (69)

BEST:
Williamstown: Lloyd Swan Davies Lawry Cranage Tallis
Bendigo Bombers: Henneman Blumfield Doering Slattery Murphy Bullen

GOALS:
Williamstown: Lloyd 3 Tallis 2 Dukes 2 Jarrad Rowe Lawry Cranage Lokan
Bendigo Bombers: Zantuck 2 Alvey 2 Watson 2 Wilson Pendlebury Haynes Rosa

RESERVES
Williamstown 7.5 12.7 19.15 22.17 (149)
Bendigo Bombers 0.2 1.5 2.7 5.12 (42)

BEST:
Williamstown: Pearce Rose Proctor Galea Davidson McArdle
Bendigo Bombers: Robson Frew Gash Young Marsh Taylor

GOALS:
Williamstown: Pearce 5 Maghamez 4 Rose 3 Cook 3 Galea 2 McArdle 2 Proctor Davidson Stretton
Bendigo Bombers: Maddern Culpitt Hallam Barnes Young

CarnthePies
24th July 2005, 11:06
Yes good stuff there Williamstown

You could still make the finals!

And the goal that won the match for them was great! Great stuff

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 15:00
http://www4.tpgi.com.au/users/gozebs/zeblogorev.JPG V http://www.southernfootball.com.au/images/devilsfc.jpg

Half-Time at Trevor Barker Oval
TFC Devils 10.5.65 - Sandringham 7.8.50

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 15:06
3rd Quarter: 5 mins
TFC Devils 10.7.67 - Sandringham 8.8.56

Sauntner goaled for Sandringham from a free-kick in front.

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 15:11
3rd Quarter: 10 mins
TFC Devils 10.9.69 - Sandringham 8.8.56

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 15:16
3rd Quarter: 15 mins
TFC Devils 12.10.82 - Sandringham 8.8.56

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 15:23
3rd Quarter: 20 mins
TFC Devils 14.11.95 - Sandringham 8.8.56

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 15:29
3rd Quarter: 27 mins
TFC Devils 16.12.108 - Sandringham 8.8.56

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 15:45
4th Quarter: 7 mins
TFC Devils 17.13.115 - Sandringham 9.10.64

WCL
24th July 2005, 15:54
Dammit, now the Devils will surely make the finals and take the gloss off what should be an interesting finals series for the SFL and NTFL.

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 15:55
4th Quarter: 17 mins
TFC Devils 17.13.115 - Sandringham 12.13.85

cub
24th July 2005, 15:56
Any around the ground scores by any chance. ;)

cub
24th July 2005, 15:59
Yes good stuff there Williamstown

You could still make the finals!

And the goal that won the match for them was great! Great stuff

Enjoy your big stay in the 8 willy - go devils. :D

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 16:01
4th Quarter: 20 mins
TFC Devils 17.15.117 - Sandringham 12.13.85

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 16:06
4th Quarter: 27 mins
TFC Devils 17.15.117 - Sandringham 13.15.93

WCL
24th July 2005, 16:08
A case of to little to late for Sandy. Oh well at least the teams below the Devils had some resonable wins/performances, still hope for them yet.

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 16:11
4th Quarter: 29 mins
TFC Devils 17.15.117 - Sandringham 14.15.99

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 16:17
Full-Time
TFC Devils 17.16.118 - Sandringham 15.15.105

WCL
24th July 2005, 16:22
That sucks, if the game went for 3 more minutes, I would have backed the Zebs in.

Kingpin
24th July 2005, 16:32
That sucks, if the game went for 3 more minutes, I would have backed the Zebs in.
Quite a strong wind advantage to one end apparently.
Mind you, it would've been almost impossible to play good footy if it had been held down here in Tassie, pouring rain and 60 knot winds all afternoon.

Rockdj1966
24th July 2005, 17:38
2005 TRUenergy VFL Seniors

Northern Bullants 1.0 6.1 6.3 13.7 (85)
Coburg Tigers 2.5 3.6 6.7 7.7 (49)

BEST:
Northern Bullants: Clarke Wiggins Bannister Morrell Prendergast Bowyer
Coburg Tigers: Rix Silvester Raines Young Hartigan Randello

GOALS:
Northern Bullants: Wiggins 3 Morrell 3 Becker 2 Clarke Bowyer Prendergast Young Johnson
Coburg Tigers: Jorgensen 2 Kuret Gilmour Schultz Randello Jackson

WCL
24th July 2005, 17:56
Yeah I saw on the news that the conditions were discracfull in Hobart.

ben.carbonaro
24th July 2005, 19:07
The game you are talking about wasn't played in Hobart, it was played at Trevor Barker Oval which backs onto the beach at Sandrigham.

Longy413
24th July 2005, 20:42
The game you are talking about wasn't played in Hobart, it was played at Trevor Barker Oval which backs onto the beach at Sandrigham.

Which is probably why his first post said played at Trevor Barker Oval.

Kegs44
24th July 2005, 20:46
Go Williamstown. Great game. They have now beaten Bendigo twice and Werribee, yet lose to coburg and geelong

footyman
24th July 2005, 21:40
Go Williamstown. Great game. They have now beaten Bendigo twice and Werribee, yet lose to coburg and geelong Amazing weekend of results really. Willy did Bendigo over for the second time this season. Tasmania have beaten Sandringham twice as well this year. Devils were awesome today.

Completely f***ed my tips up this weekend.

One thing remains the same - Coburg are s**t. They'd get rolled by Port or Williamstown reserves sides I reckon.

Motty
24th July 2005, 22:07
One thing that irks me about the VFL is that a side can have such a mediocre season and make the finals (a la American sports).

I think it was last week that eighth had a win-loss record of 5-8 as did ninth and tenth and they have a chance of making the finals :confused:

At least proper grass roots footy rewards the good sides with a final 4, 5 or 6 - instead of giving 8 out of 13 a finals berth.

WCL
25th July 2005, 18:50

I know that's what Tigers said and I was just agreeing that it would have been shocking if i was played there because the weather was so bad.

ben.carbonaro
25th July 2005, 18:58
Oh ok, yeah we played over in Tassie earlier this year and those support staff who went over said it was a shocker of a day.

Unfortunately, I couldn't go due to some financial issues.

pazza
25th July 2005, 20:20
The results this week have made things VERY interesting in regards as to who will play in the finals and in what position each side will be in.

Take the top 4. The Bullants now have half a game lead over Bendigo and Werribee, whilst Sandringham are a game further back in 4th.

The bottom half of the 8 is also very tight. Port Melbourne are just about safe in 5th with 8 wins, but, that percentage is a worry! Frankston are 1 and 1/2 games behind the Borough in 6th, but, they are heading a very tight battle which sees 1 and 1/2 games covering them to the Scorpions down in 11th. Box Hill, Williamstown, Tasmania and North Ballarat are the others in that fight. 3 have to miss out..but which 3?

ben.carbonaro
25th July 2005, 20:21
Thanks for all the info, Pazza.

The last few weeks of the season will be pretty exciting.