View Full Version : Sell your house and get down to the bookies right now!

The Dice Man
26th July 2005, 01:18
And put your life savings on Ben Cousin for the Brownlow as the AFL have all but admitted he has it in the bag after 17 rounds.

Private jet for medal favourite Cousins

26 July 2005 Herald Sun
Damian Barrett

THE AFL will offer to fly West Coast captain Ben Cousins to and from Melbourne in a private jet to ensure he attends the Brownlow Medal count.

If the Eagles, as expected, make the Grand Final, Brownlow favourite Cousins will be offered a flight back to Perth minutes after the count.

West Coast did not allow its players to attend the function when it reached the 1991, '92 and '94 Grand Finals.

AFL general manager commercial operations Gillon McLachlan said last night a range of options would be presented to the Eagles.

"If the constraints of the domestic scheduling meant they couldn't get back in time and weren't able to fit in to a schedule that made sense to them, we would look at every possible initiative, including a plane, if that was the appropriate measure," McLachlan said.

"We would take in all circumstances. Obviously in Perth travel is an issue. If you can't get any jets out of here to go to Perth at that time of night, well, we think it is important to have all our players and all the favourites at the Brownlow."

If the charter left Melbourne about midnight, Cousins would be home by approximately 2am Perth time.

A representative of a leading Australian plane charter company estimated hiring a jet with at least 15 seats would cost "$40,000, give or take possibly several thousand dollars".

"We will do everything we possibly can to ensure players attend from all teams," McLachlan said.

The Brownlow Medal, at the Palladium at Crown casino, is held the Monday before the Grand Final.

As an event, it has lost some of its lustre when the winner was not in attendance.

The Lions' Jason Akermanis and Simon Black attended functions in Brisbane when they won their Brownlows, respectively in 2001 and 2002, with live crosses made throughout the count and on presentation of the awards.

West Coast chief executive Trevor Nisbett said last night his club would be open to discussing travel options, should it reach the Grand Final.

"I haven't discussed it with the coach or the players, but if we had players in contention we would certainly look at it depending on what the arrangements were for early in the week and also late in the week (official Grand Final parade through the Melbourne CBD)," Nisbett said.

`You don't know until the week before anyway, because you still have to make it."

Nisbett said nothing should be read in to the Eagles' record on Brownlow attendance should they make the Grand Final.

"That was 10 years ago, if there is an opportunity to go (this year) and it fits in with the coach's view, we will consider it," Nisbett said.

"It is a long way off, something we don't have to worry about for a while.

"If we make it, it will be a nice issue to have to think about."

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,16047240%255E20322,00.html

Vic Crow
26th July 2005, 01:57
I'm not sure how strictly they follow the procedure, but I'm pretty sure they count the Brownlow votes on the day of the count.
I interpret that article to say that the AFL want the overwhelming favourite to be there, not the winner as that is not assured.
Just so there's no misinterpretation I think Cousins has it in the bag but I don't think the AFL would know what the vote count is right now.

The Magenius
26th July 2005, 02:21
I'm not sure how strictly they follow the procedure, but I'm pretty sure they count the Brownlow votes on the day of the count.
I interpret that article to say that the AFL want the overwhelming favourite to be there, not the winner as that is not assured.
Just so there's no misinterpretation I think Cousins has it in the bag but I don't think the AFL would know what the vote count is right now.
Well the AFL are betting over $40,000 on him winning. U reckon they might do the same for goodwin or the roo, I don't think so.

Unwritten_Law
26th July 2005, 02:29
Well the AFL are betting over $40,000 on him winning. U reckon they might do the same for goodwin or the roo, I don't think so.

Pick em up on the way ;)

- PC -
26th July 2005, 03:31
Then why didnt they make sure Black or Akermanis were there? Just a beat up on a slow news day.

Cousins wont win it

Go you Goodwin :)

The Dice Man
26th July 2005, 09:26
Then why didnt they make sure Black or Akermanis were there? Just a beat up on a slow news day.

Cousins wont win it

Go you Goodwin :)

Err, perhaps they've learnt from their mistakes (Insert derr Fred smilie here).

arrowman
26th July 2005, 10:03
Pick em up on the way :) Nah, it's like the Royal Family - they can't all travel on the same plane :)

Rawhead
26th July 2005, 10:16
Havent the TAB suspended all betting on Cousins?

Porthos
26th July 2005, 10:17
Note to AFL, host the Brownlow in Perth or Adelaide.

Swifty_446
26th July 2005, 10:18
West Coast have won everything before the season's over......what next? Matera for Coleman?

arrowman
26th July 2005, 10:25
At first I thought this was a completely ridiculous idea - then I re-read the article, it's not about Cousins, it's about the WCE team.

So the AFL is willing to fork out $ to make sure every club attends the Brownlow count, fair enough. And if the club decides not to attend, fair enough too.

Storm in a teacup.

Swifty_446
26th July 2005, 11:35
Storm in a teacup.

4 words that epitomise the Herald Sun.

Schneiderman
26th July 2005, 11:37
Now just imagine the Round 22 clash. With the Crows dominating and pushing hard to secure that second spot, the Birdman takes a speccie from the shoulders of Cousins. Cuz is furious at the close checking he has endured all game, and livid at the remark Burton has just whispered in his ear as he removes his studs from his back. Suddenly Cousins lashes out at the Birdman and connects with a heavy forearm to Burton's head... :eek:

arrowman
26th July 2005, 11:38
4 words that epitomise the Herald Sun.
STORM IN A TEACUP!
NEIGHBOURS STAR HOMELESS!

Vic Crow
26th July 2005, 12:45
Well, no I don't. But where did I say I thought either of them were gonna win it?

arrowman
26th July 2005, 12:47
Well the AFL are betting over $40,000 on him winning...No they're not. Read the article again.

stinger05
26th July 2005, 14:06
Note to AFL, host the Brownlow in Perth or Adelaide.

Your right Victorian teams never make the Grand Final anyway.

Mead
26th July 2005, 14:11
I don't think the private jet would make one jot of difference if we make the grand final- no player in their right mind would go.

Given that this same issue occurs whenever -an interstate team makes the GF, and -that team has a brownlow medal favourite, two things which are very likely occurences, what I wonder is why doesn't the AFL make the mindblowingly obvious decision to reschedule the brownlow night to a more sensible time?

I think either straight after rd 22 (they could also do a minor premier presentation, and all the other goal/mark/coach/rookie of the year presentations), or after the grand final would be a lot more sensible for everyone.

Why pack the two biggest events on the football calendar into the one week?!

Dutch Wink
26th July 2005, 14:20
I don't think the private jet would make one jot of difference if we make the grand final- no player in their right mind would go.

Given that this same issue occurs whenever -an interstate team makes the GF, and -that team has a brownlow medal favourite, two things which are very likely occurences, what I wonder is why doesn't the AFL make the mindblowingly obvious decision to reschedule the brownlow night to a more sensible time?

I think either straight after rd 22 (they could also do a minor premier presentation, and all the other goal/mark/coach/rookie of the year presentations), or after the grand final would be a lot more sensible for everyone.

Why pack the two biggest events on the football calendar into the one week?!
yeah i'd agree with that, putting the brownlow off until the week after the GF

NikkiNoo
26th July 2005, 14:47
There was no comment made about the adelaide players as adelaide attended the brownlow night both in 1997 and in 1998 (now if they make the GF this year craigy may not want them to go or he may, but precedent has been set and they have attended). WC has an issue as it is a longer trip over and back and cuts into their preparation.

pazza
26th July 2005, 14:59
Hahaha! Cart before horse again?

FWIW, Cousins will probably end up in a Brownlow Medal tie...with Jason Akermanis.

MaccasNeighbour
26th July 2005, 15:13
I think it was CC who suggested this recently:

24 Round season
Scrap pre-season
week off between Rnd 24 and finals
host Brownlow during week off and make attendance compulsory

PowerKat
26th July 2005, 15:34
Last year the AFL tried everything possible to lure Tredrea (who was raging favourite - amazing eh), so this is not a 'first' for the AFL. It's hard to recall but they certainly offered flights to suit. Tredders/Port refused. They had it wrong anyway....

arrowman
26th July 2005, 15:44
Last year the AFL tried everything possible to lure Tredrea (who was raging favourite - amazing eh), so this is not a 'first' for the AFL. It's hard to recall but they certainly offered flights to suit. Tredders/Port refused. They had it wrong anyway....It was Port they were trying to get to the event, not Tredrea. This story has nothing to do with trying to get particular players to the count.

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 15:30
Dice Man, on the money again :thumbsu: :)

Total Power
1st June 2006, 15:31
I thought you were putting your balls on the line again, TDM :p

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 15:39
I thought you were putting your balls on the line again, TDM :p

I think this thread, the Deledio Rising Star thread, and my numerous and assorted Essendon Really Are Crap threads give indication that when I put my balls on the line, people should listen.

My balls are safely tucked away at the moment and aren't prepared to make any ballsy predictions at this particular time.

Total Power
1st June 2006, 15:44
I think this thread, the Deledio Rising Star thread, and my numerous and assorted Essendon Really Are Crap threads give indication that when I put my balls on the line, people should listen.

My balls are safely tucked away at the moment and aren't prepared to make any ballsy predictions at this particular time.
How about a Richmond beat Fremantle thread? :D :o

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 15:47
How about a Richmond beat Fremantle thread? :D :o

I think it's on (the win) but no bold predictions this week.

Total Power
1st June 2006, 15:49
I think it's on (the win) but no bold predictions this week.
Come on TDM, i am hoping to see another "Richmond will be 4:3" like thread, its always fun! i am brave enough to predict Port will finish 12th :(

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 15:51
Come on TDM, i am hoping to see another "Richmond will be 4:3" like thread, its always fun! i am brave enough to predict Port will finish 12th :(

I was pretty close on that one after we were 0-3 when I made it. I tipped 3 wins in a row when no-one gave us a chance but missed on the Syd game.

But I think it's pretty obvious to everyone here that when I make a prediction, it's correct around 75-80% of the time, MINIMUM!!!!!

Total Power
1st June 2006, 15:52
I was pretty close on that one after we were 0-3 when I made it. I tipped 3 wins in a row when no-one gave us a chance but missed on the Syd game.

But I think it's pretty obvious to everyone here that when I make a prediction, it's correct around 75-80% of the time, MINIMUM!!!!!
So when do we expect to see another bold prediction thread?? come on richmond are sure to beat freo, kangas and hawks! :D and then probably lose to pies!

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 15:56
So when do we expect to see another bold prediction thread?? come on richmond are sure to beat freo, kangas and hawks! :D and then probably lose to pies!

Actually think we'll beat the Pies... its Freo Kangas and the Hawks which are our danger games.

Ok just for you I will make a prediction, and the question is what quarter will Greg Stafford break Aaron Sandilands jaw?

Im prediciting the:thumbsu: second qtr

Total Power
1st June 2006, 15:59
Actually think we'll beat the Pies... its Freo Kangas and the Hawks which are our danger games.

Ok just for you I will make a prediction, and the question is what quarter will Greg Stafford break Aaron Sandilands jaw?

Im prediciting the:thumbsu: second qtr
Are you serious? Richmond to beat the Pies? if that happens i will be really surprised! come on dicey, make a prediction thread :D :D

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 16:01
Are you serious? Richmond to beat the Pies? if that happens i will be really surprised! come on dicey, make a prediction thread :D :D

Yep 100% seriousness. Dawks, North and Freo are bigger chances against us.

Count Zero
1st June 2006, 16:02
Now just imagine the Round 22 clash. With the Crows dominating and pushing hard to secure that second spot, the Birdman takes a speccie from the shoulders of Cousins. Cuz is furious at the close checking he has endured all game, and livid at the remark Burton has just whispered in his ear as he removes his studs from his back. Suddenly Cousins lashes out at the Birdman and connects with a heavy forearm to Burton's head... :eek:
I'm loving the story so far. Don't leave me suspended, what happens next? Ooh oooh let me guess.... it's tribunal night, everyone is waiting with baited breath to see if the Brownlow favourite will be rubbed out. Burton approaches the witness box and speaks "He hit me, he hit me good, and it hurt me, suspend him... now. Suspend him I said, he hit me".:)

Grimreepah
1st June 2006, 16:20

You got this (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=208040) one wrong!

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 16:22
You got this (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=208040) one wrong!

Err, which part did I get wrong? BTW It's not the end of the season yet you know ;)

Also, I did say I only get around 75-80% correct, so occasionaly Im going to slightly miss my mark, but more often than not, Im pretty much on the mark :)

Ron
1st June 2006, 16:26
Actually think we'll beat the Pies...
lol
Your mob wouldn't get within 10 goals of Williamstown.

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 16:32
lol
Your mob wouldn't get within 10 goals of Williamstown.

lol
Your mob wouldn't get within 10 points of the Crows. :)

Grimreepah
1st June 2006, 16:39
Err, which part did I get wrong? BTW It's not the end of the season yet you know ;)

"Basically this is a designed thread to prove the Nathan Brown doubters wrong. I am adding this to my faves and plan on bringing this thread up after every champion game teh champion plays in 06."

"I think the only thing that may hold Brown back is his mind, but I also think he has a very strong and determined head, so Im confident he will overcome that, and sooner rather than later."

Which part did you get wrong? 2006 is not a good year for Nathan Brown, you have not proved the doubters wrong, he has not played any champion games (yet), Brown's problems are more than just in his mind, and it is later rather than sooner.

But credit where credit is due, not many people were expecting Cousins to win the Brownlow so that was a good call. And who would have thought Deledio would win the rising star?:)

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 16:42
"Basically this is a designed thread to prove the Nathan Brown doubters wrong. I am adding this to my faves and plan on bringing this thread up after every champion game teh champion plays in 06."

"I think the only thing that may hold Brown back is his mind, but I also think he has a very strong and determined head, so Im confident he will overcome that, and sooner rather than later."

Which part did you get wrong? 2006 is not a good year for Nathan Brown, you have not proved the doubters wrong, he has not played any champion games (yet), Brown's problems are more than just in his mind, and it is later rather than sooner.

But credit where credit is due, not many people were expecting Cousins to win the Brownlow so that was a good call. And who would have thought Deledio would win the rising star?:)

Brown's season isnt exactly over yet.. I mean sheesh!!! HE dont play for Essendon!!!!! :D

He's only had 2 games BTW... so expect that thread to be bought up later in the year;)

p.s. wish I took my own advice and put someone else's house on Cousins for Chas:(

local
1st June 2006, 16:46
Dice Man, on the money again :thumbsu: :)

Question is... did you put your house on it?

Boris_Bewick
1st June 2006, 16:46

Haha top work (by Grim).

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 16:48
Haha top work.

Thanks mate, and agreed... If I dont say so myself :thumbsu:

Grimreepah
1st June 2006, 16:52

You got this (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=172027) one wrong.

The Dice Man
1st June 2006, 16:54
You got this (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=172027) one wrong.

So he's had 3 or 4 excellent games in almost 2 years. I wouldnt say I was correct, but I wouldn't say I was wrong yet either. He is over-rated at this stage, and has done nothing to prove he is a consistent matchwinner.

(Oh and Ive also predicted we'd beat the Lions in Brissie the last 2 times too;))