View Full Version : Changes for R19 vs Bulldogs
Gunnar Longshanks
31 Jul 2005, 00:20
This game will be a massive test for us. We've been very patchy over the last month. We played one great quarter against the Lions, but haven't hit many high-notes in our past 5 matches otherwise.
This could be our last opportunity to give some fringe players a run before really knuckling down in the run home.
What changes do people expect to see this week?
IN: Gardiner, Morton, Hansen (?)
Out: Sampi, Rosa, McDougall (?)
Gardiner and Sampi are pretty certain, I reckon.
Morton has been in good form and Rosa has been afforded the customary two-game window. I reckon we're better off giving Morton a quick run than bringing Butler straight back in.
Then it depends on Hansen's fitness. McDougall could easily get dropped for Gardiner, but if Hansen is ready to go he's surely gone.
coasting
31 Jul 2005, 00:27
For once Gunnar, I agree with everything you say.
Ruddiger
31 Jul 2005, 03:15
IN: Gardiner (will be fired up), Morton (give him a crack at goal kicking), Hansen (if he is fit)
Out: Sampi (suspension), Rosa, McDougall (only if Hansen is fit)
Bulldog defence is short, which we can exploit with another tall like Gardi.
Their midfield is quick, though I'm confident we can beat them in that area.
Defensively, we can put Glass on Chris Grant, Chick on Brad Johnson, Banners on Rohan Smith, Brett Jones on Mitch Hahn.
I'd back Cox against Minson in the ruck.
They will go for a shoot-out like the last few matches they've played and it will take a switched on West Coast to win.
imonebadddman
31 Jul 2005, 10:58
IN: Gardiner (will be fired up), Morton (give him a crack at goal kicking), Hansen (if he is fit)
Out: Sampi (suspension), Rosa, McDougall (only if Hansen is fit)
Bulldog defence is short, which we can exploit with another tall like Gardi.
Their midfield is quick, though I'm confident we can beat them in that area.
Defensively, we can put Glass on Chris Grant, Chick on Brad Johnson, Banners on Rohan Smith, Brett Jones on Mitch Hahn.
I'd back Cox against Minson in the ruck.
They will go for a shoot-out like the last few matches they've played and it will take a switched on West Coast to win.
Would be tempted to bring in McConnell (if he played alright in the WAFL) instead of Morton as we will need to cover there small and mid sized forwards. Happy with the current matchups but still have Murphy and Giansiracusa to cover. Though Morton's form does warrant selection
sdb4884
31 Jul 2005, 13:05
You'd think Lynch would be treading on borrowed time, especially with Gardy at FF. Would love to see Morton in, would hold down a spot. Gee McDougall's career at West Coast could be over now huh?
Gunnar Longshanks
31 Jul 2005, 13:24
You'd think Lynch would be treading on borrowed time, especially with Gardy at FF. Would love to see Morton in, would hold down a spot. Gee McDougall's career at West Coast could be over now huh?
Are you suggesting we should drop Lynch and trade/delist McDougall? That's a bit of a knee-jerk reaction.
I reckon there remains a spot for Lynch in our side. With Gardiner, Embley and Hansen in the side, his job is far easier. At the moment, Lynch is playing a lone hand and is suffering from slow, wasteful ball movement that plays into the hands of opposition flooding tactics.
McDougall will be given another full season to come good.
The end of 2006 will be when hard decisions are made on a handful of our young KPPs.
crazzzy_grrl
31 Jul 2005, 13:26
Would be tempted to bring in McConnell (if he played alright in the WAFL) instead of Morton as we will need to cover there small and mid sized forwards. Happy with the current matchups but still have Murphy and Giansiracusa to cover. Though Morton's form does warrant selection
McConnell has glandular fever and a groin problem so he wont be playing for the eagles this year unfortunally
Debaser
31 Jul 2005, 19:58
Gee McDougall's career at West Coast could be over now huh?
Why? He's had an injury interupted season and hasn't played more than 1 consecutive game all year.
Happy with the current matchups but still have Murphy and Giansiracusa to cover.I'm gonna take an educated guess and say Murphy will miss the Eagles game next round through injury. So that's probably one less player you'll have to worry about.
Benno From Berwick
1 Aug 2005, 12:15
I'm gonna take an educated guess and say Murphy will miss the Eagles game next round through injury. So that's probably one less player you'll have to worry about.
Where was it you were educated?
Chris Bond said this morning Bobby would most likely play!
News is that Hansen is very likely to return this week. He will have a fitness test before they fly out, but he is pretty certain to pass and play. They want Hansen to have another run on MCG before the finals. His form on that ground hasnt been that great and needs to get used to the dimensions of the ground.
IN : Gardiner, Morton/Butler, Hansen
OUT : Rosa, McDougall, Sampi
Pack our forward line with as many talls as possible i think. Set up with Lynch, Staker, Hansen and Gardy in our forward. With Brian Harris likely to take Phil Matera, we could really stretch there defence forcing Grant down back. Hunter should get Rob Murphy with Glass on Skipper or whoever else they have down there. Brett Jones is a good match up for Mitch Hahn, as is Chick for Johnson. Wirra should play on Robbins, with Banners on Rohan Smith. Tag Cooney out of the game.
Id be tempted to bring in Butler before Morton cos he is a bit more experienced and was unlucky to be dropped in the first place.
For you, it's about stretching our defence and giving your forwards as many chances as you can. Gardiner is the danger man IMO, playing inside 50. Harris will get Lynch and if Hansen plays, Shaggy might pick him up (giving away some centimetres though), leaving maybe Rawlings on Gardiner?
How are you guys going for small defenders? God knows you're going to need them!
Our small defenders are probably the best in the league. Chick and Wirra are on AA form, Jones and Banners are both more then handy and Hunter has the speed to pick up a player like Rob Murphy for sure. We also have the option of sending Stenglein, Selwood down back. Stenglein is quite good as a small defender as he showed when he took 6 marks and saved us the game vs North Melbourne.
I still expect Harris on Phil Matera, he is the only real option for him down there. I cant see McMahon on Morris matching Phils speed and he is in career best form lately. Harris picked up Medhurst, i dont see why he wouldnt pick up a much better player in Phil Matera too.
scooter600x
1 Aug 2005, 16:34
Our small defenders are probably the best in the league. Chick and Wirra are on AA form, Jones and Banners are both more then handy and Hunter has the speed to pick up a player like Rob Murphy for sure. We also have the option of sending Stenglein, Selwood down back. Stenglein is quite good as a small defender as he showed when he took 6 marks and saved us the game vs North Melbourne.
I still expect Harris on Phil Matera, he is the only real option for him down there. I cant see McMahon on Morris matching Phils speed and he is in career best form lately. Harris picked up Medhurst, i dont see why he wouldnt pick up a much better player in Phil Matera too.
Morris will pick up Matera, McMahon is used as an attacking half back.
Harris played on Medhurst because Eade was ********ing round and wanted to give Cam Wight a go on McFarlane.
Can't see Harris on Matera... think Morris will get the job and if he started going crazy, Bob Murphy. We'll need harris to play tall.
Can't see Harris on Matera...
Neither can I. I mean if Lynch, Gardiner, McDougall and Staker rotating through the forward line the Bulldogs would be nuts to play their best key defender on Matera.
With Hansen likely to miss I expect the changes to be something like this:
IN: Gardiner, Morton
OUT: Sampi (susp), Rosa
I dont think there is any doubt Samps will get at least a couple of weeks. Would have been good to have him out there against the team he loves to play well against (the doggies) but hopefully this gives Gardy or even Roawn Jones another chance. I would bring in a couple of talls coz the dogs struggle down back against talls. Hopefully the boys can win coz I would like to once and for all get the corws off our tails!
imonebadddman
1 Aug 2005, 20:26
Only one change i would say as i would give Hansen an extra week off.
In: Gardiner
Out:Rosa
Hansen is a near certainty to play, i would include him in the team of changes. Why doesnt anyone think he will play for?
otis_david
1 Aug 2005, 20:56
Rowan Jones must surely get a game ahead of Morton after 48 disposals in the WAFL.
sinepari
1 Aug 2005, 23:59
Rowan Jones must surely get a game ahead of Morton after 48 disposals in the WAFL.
But if it is to replace sampi (now purely on form given that he got off), it would have to be Morton. He has kicked bags of 5,5,2,4 (approx) over the past month or so.
If it's a small forward we are looking for, surely it would go to him.
However i do agree that we should consider rewarding Jones for his excellent form and hard work.
docker_johnno
2 Aug 2005, 00:38
Wirrpunda won't play
94_Eagles
2 Aug 2005, 02:53
Rosa out, Jones in.
Wirrpunda won't play
Are you serious? - Hopefully not. Wirra has been a rock in defence! It would have been good to see him rebounding out of the doggies defence. Its gonna be tough now if he is out. I wouldnt mind if they gave Morton a go. I saw a replayof the Claremont game last night and he looked pretty good. Although East Freo werent that great. But yeah hopefully Wirra gets through and plays.
The Unbrain
2 Aug 2005, 14:58
I want to see Wil Minson and The Big Q have a run in. That'd be worth the ticket price alone.
stinger05
2 Aug 2005, 16:30
To all the people out there who think R Jones will get a game this week and any other week. "SHUT UP" its not going to happen.
bulldogrob
2 Aug 2005, 18:36
Who would of thought the doggies and weagles would be playing in such a high profile game. i reckon it will be a ripper and am confident that we will win seeing it is at the G and we play better there than at the Dome. It will be a shootout for sure. May the best team win (hopefully us,lol). I seriously havent been this excited about a game for years. We get a chance to play against teh best team in the league and are a realistic chance of winning.
Sampi is cleared to play and will keep his place.
Gardy and Ghost in for Rosa and McDougall IMO.
94_Eagles
2 Aug 2005, 20:29
Leave Hansen out for another week. We need him 100% for the finals.
otis_david
2 Aug 2005, 20:36
Outs: Rosa,
In: Gardiner/Jones
Gardy may be given time in the WAFL if so Jones should come in as he deserves it more than any other WAFL Eagles listed player. 48 disposals is the best I have ever heard of in a high standard of competition. It just shows the strength of character of Jones that a week after being dropped he comes out with a monster effort like this. A true leader.
Harris will take Lynch and Morris will take Matera. It would be great for the Bulldogs not to have Wirrpunda running the ball out of the Eagles' defence. I'm very worried about your midfield - Cousins, Judd, Cox, Fletcher, Kerr, Braun, etc - but I'm hoping that the Bulldogs have the smarts, skills and pace to at least draw even with the ladder leaders.
If Hansen plays it will stretch our defence and it will be a possible match up for perhaps Rawlings or Morgan. If not, then I'll give Hargrave the job on him. Note, neither of these two (Rawlings or Morgan) have played for a while, so it will be a good match up for Hansen if he has one of these two playing on him.
I can't see Grant playing as a defender again, so he will be used in attack where I expect him to be taken by either Glass or Hunter.
Gardiner playing forward is probably going to hurt us real bad. To be honest, I can't really find a match up for him - he'll be way too strong for Rawlings or Morgan, and Harris needs to play on the tall, strong and mobile Lynch.
We have to be very, very switched on to come away with the four points. I have a feeling that you guys will just get over the line in this one - it will be our fifth close loss of the season and you will all but end our finals chances.
Then again, if it is played in wet conditions, then I might swing the pendulum the other way and give the edge to the Bulldogs.
Question: Is there any chance at all that you guys may not go in as hard as you normally would given the fact that you play the derby the following week, which I know is extremely important for all Perth residents?
Black JuJu
2 Aug 2005, 23:36
Question: Is there any chance at all that you guys may not go in as hard as you normally would given the fact that you play the derby the following week, which I know is extremely important for all Perth residents?
Nah I doubt that mate, they'll be looking for a quality run on the G before September I'd suggest.
Not going to list match ups and such for this one, I think if the Eagles are switched on and play close to their best they can handle the Dogs put up.
smilingassassin
3 Aug 2005, 11:21
John Worsfold told 6PR on Monday night that A Hansen will probably need another week before they bring him in.
I too am worried about Wirra - and not because of the previous troll from the Dockers doodle - but because calf muscle injuries often take a bit of time.
Woosha also said the good news was that Humm has recovered. I wonder if they would bring Jeremy in if Wira doesn't come up.?
I look forward to checking out Mitch if he gets his first run.
sinepari
3 Aug 2005, 18:32
Woosha also said the good news was that Humm has recovered. I wonder if they would bring Jeremy in if Wira doesn't come up.?
Highly unlikely. They would want some game time under his belt. He has been out for a while now.
any updates? Wirra? Gardiner?
Gunnar Longshanks
4 Aug 2005, 16:53
Why don't we re-draft Trent Carroll while we're at it?
TheReason
4 Aug 2005, 18:44
any updates? Wirra? Gardiner?
EFH says Gardiner didn't board the plane and unlikely to play in the WAFL either.
Thanks mate...
I'd say that's good for the dogs. He could've hurt us.
Gunnar Longshanks
4 Aug 2005, 19:20
If Gardiner doesn't play, could it be:
IN: Morton
OUT: Rosa
How about:
IN: Gaspar
Most likely:
IN: Butler
I'd love the second one to happen, but Butler will probably be brought back in.
otis_david
4 Aug 2005, 19:28
If Gardiner doesn't play, could it be:
IN: Morton
How about:
IN: Gaspar
Most likely:
IN: Butler
I'd love the second one to happen, but Butler will probably be brought back in.
Do you know if Gaspar or Rosa or Buts took the trip over?
The Unbrain
4 Aug 2005, 20:36
Morton is in, Gardy and Wirra didn't pull up.
Gunnar Longshanks
4 Aug 2005, 20:57
Morton is in, Gardy and Wirra didn't pull up.
Wirrpunda has been named.
If he's a late withdrawal, will RoJo get another crack?
I think Chicky confirmed on radio this morning that Wirra will play. Apparently he's had some family issues to sort out but will be right to play this weekend :-)
I must say, out of your three emergencies, Rowan Jones scares me the most. Still, I'd definitely rather that he plays instead of Wirrpunda.
Punda is damaging. Thats for sure. Always seems to give our defence an edge that makes it competitive :-)