View Full Version : Sydney AFL

DHSTMM
3rd August 2005, 20:04
Seeing as I can't find the original I thought I'd bring this thread back to life.
Sydney AFL fans have gone quiet the past few weeks, what's happened?

Saw a great match on Saturday at Pennant Hills between the Demons and the East Coast Eagles - definitely worth a look on Friday night.

Also saw Barnaby Howarth and, while he has a fair way to go, it was great to see him back at the footy and enjoying himself.

PS: I am on the Nor-West Jets' bandwagon in Division 2 and am adopting them as my team in Sydney seeing as they are the local boys.
Be good if they could get some sort of coverage in the Hawkesbury Gazette though.

Glory and Fame
3rd August 2005, 21:15
Seeing as I can't find the original I thought I'd bring this thread back to life.
Sydney AFL fans have gone quiet the past few weeks, what's happened?First post using my new ID... And always good to have some Sydney AFL talk on here.
Most of the Sydney AFL fans now are using the message board at www.redandwhiteonline.com . I write the feature article every week, based around a Premier Division match, and also do the preview column in the footy Record.
Unfortunately I didn't make it to the Penno v Eagles game, but from all reports it was a beauty. It's the Fox Footy game this week, so definately worth tuning in on Friday night. This week's Wests v ECE game looks like a critical one for how the rest of the season could unfold.
In Division 2, NorWest Jets have a huge game this round; playing for top spot against UTS at Trumper Park.

DHSTMM
3rd August 2005, 21:31
How far is Trumper Park from Alan Davidson? - might try and get there first if I can

Glory and Fame
3rd August 2005, 21:38
Trumper Park is in Paddington, a couple of blocks from Edgecliff Station. It'd take about 15-20 minutes to drive from there to Alan Davidson.

arceri
4th August 2005, 17:37
was listening to the new guy on the Sydney commentary team the other day and I have never heard a bloke improve as much as him.

Brett Rhodes I'm told his name is.

DHSTMM
4th August 2005, 19:39
Keep working on it, you're getting closer.

Glory and Fame
8th August 2005, 21:56
Another great TV game this week - East Coast and Wests played a shootout. Only a kick in it at the last change before Wests pulled away in the last.

arceri
9th August 2005, 08:52
how was the commentary?

Here It Is
9th August 2005, 23:20
They were absolutely sensational.

Mappa
10th August 2005, 09:30
Perhaps the commentators should take over the running of the AFL in Sydney then, if they are sensational.

Footy in Sydney is an embarrassment to the code, and has been, ever since the AFL took over from the old SFL and SFA. The sooner they have a clear out and get some people in their who care about the game, and not just about how many little kids play Auskick, the better it will be

tara
10th August 2005, 12:49
Perhaps the commentators should take over the running of the AFL in Sydney then, if they are sensational.

Footy in Sydney is an embarrassment to the code, and has been, ever since the AFL took over from the old SFL and SFA. The sooner they have a clear out and get some people in their who care about the game, and not just about how many little kids play Auskick, the better it will be

Yep Im in full agreement. Actually better still why dont we let the Auskick kids run it.

Flat Track Bully
10th August 2005, 13:15
was listening to the new guy on the Sydney commentary team the other day and I have never heard a bloke improve as much as him.

Brett Rhodes I'm told his name is.

Brendan Rhodes...he has spent the last few years heading up the OAKFM team which called Ovens and Murray games...

Has also called a couple of GVFL Grand Finals on 3SR

arceri
10th August 2005, 13:20
I think I heard him once when I travelled from Barooga for a Corowa match to watch a mate of mine Corey Munson play.

If I'm correct, Rhodes was the stand-out..heaps better than a bloke they called Gammo or something like that.

Flat Track Bully
10th August 2005, 13:26
I think I heard him once when I travelled from Barooga for a Corowa match to watch a mate of mine Corey Munson play.

If I'm correct, Rhodes was the stand-out..heaps better than a bloke they called Gammo or something like that.

Ian Gambold...he's the special comments man...1982 Reserves B and F winner in the O and M...

arceri
10th August 2005, 13:50
don't like being critical, but I think he left his best performances on the football ground..

The rest of the team seemed okay.

Chandra
10th August 2005, 20:41
[QUOTE=arceri]I think I heard him once when I travelled from Barooga for a Corowa match to watch a mate of mine Corey Munson play.

Arceri, was trying to find out this year where Corey Munson is playing now. Had him in the state team back in U15's with Schneider, Roberts-Thomson, Elstone and some other handy footballers. Any help?

pekay-norwest
11th August 2005, 10:21
found this thread before i went back to work....ill be back...to all those new Jets fans out there,we knocked off UTS 20.12 to 3.5,with Luke Ayling kicking 7 to take his season tally to 65.

ben.carbonaro
11th August 2005, 10:29
[QUOTE=arceri]I think I heard him once when I travelled from Barooga for a Corowa match to watch a mate of mine Corey Munson play.

Arceri, was trying to find out this year where Corey Munson is playing now. Had him in the state team back in U15's with Schneider, Roberts-Thomson, Elstone and some other handy footballers. Any help?'

Is that Daniel Elstone who was on Hawthorn's list and is now over in SA, plying his trade in the SANFL ?

Chandra
11th August 2005, 11:36
Yep, Daniel was down here playing for Hawks, on the fringe then moved interstate. Daniel was Captain of taht NSW U 15 side. Besides big Lewy and Adam Schneider, Aaron Rogers played as well. I see Mark Livy who was in that group goes allright up there.

desie
11th August 2005, 12:08
found this thread before i went back to work....ill be back...to all those new Jets fans out there,we knocked off UTS 20.12 to 3.5,with Luke Ayling kicking 7 to take his season tally to 65.

Looks like an undefeated premiership headed out Richmond way..... Are the Division 2 finals at Kelso Oval? Might see you down there with the Penrith boys in a couple of weeks if that is the case ;)

arceri
11th August 2005, 15:25
Chandra, Corey's playing at Labrador in Qld.

hasn't had his best year

Glory and Fame
11th August 2005, 18:06
Looks like an undefeated premiership headed out Richmond way..... Are the Division 2 finals at Kelso Oval? Yep. Fixtures are up at http://www.sydneyafl.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=96536 - Division 1 & 2 grand finals are 3rd September.

Here It Is
11th August 2005, 23:28
What's this shi*t about playing the first and second semi finals on consecutive days?????? :confused:

PS - Arceri, not a Gambo fan I take it?

pekay-norwest
12th August 2005, 13:10
Looks like an undefeated premiership headed out Richmond way..... Are the Division 2 finals at Kelso Oval? Might see you down there with the Penrith boys in a couple of weeks if that is the case ;)
we're definitely aiming for it,but the granny hasnt been thought of or mentioned at Bensons yet,we still have a red hot Sydney Uni Blue and an improving UNSW/ES,not to mention a sore and angry bunch of Bats seeking atonement for last weeks game.i'll use a few gems-"we're taking it one week at a time" and "a weeks a long time in footy" but at the same time,those teams i mentioned also have us to contend with,we are peaking at the right time,and come 1st Semi,ITS ON LIKE DONKEY KONG.also good to see Penrith in finals contention,or have they secured their place already?

desie
12th August 2005, 16:02
also good to see Penrith in finals contention,or have they secured their place already?

Yep, secured fourth spot on Saturday after beating Manly at Dukes, who had lost just the one game for the year before that. Beat Cronulla the week before who were equal with us in fourth spot on the ladder at the time as well.

Looking at the draw, you blokes will be playing on the Saturday at Kelso and we'll be there on the Sunday, fronting up to Manly again probably. Good luck in any case, hope the Jets win it. I'm sure it would be a great boost for the club.

Here It Is
14th August 2005, 20:19
Went to NorWest Jets training last week.
******** it's cold down there.
Having said that, they looked pretty sharp and on the job ahead of the finals.
Go Jets, bring it home.

benny_w
16th August 2005, 21:05
Hey Desie

Best of luck for the Penrith Football Club in it's upcoming finals series. I have been keeping a close eye on my old club and are elated to see the club in the finals for the first time since 2000. It's been a long road hasn't it.

Benny_w
(Chairman of Greater Western Power)

arceri
17th August 2005, 09:58
Gabbo lacks excitement..

I big bloke with fuzzy hair did a lot better job on OAK.

whythelongface
17th August 2005, 15:22
What has happened to the Kookas? Ever since the navy boys have left they seem to have fallen in a whole.

pekay-norwest
18th August 2005, 09:37
What has happened to the Kookas? Ever since the navy boys have left they seem to have fallen in a whole. pretty sure all the Navy blokes go to Balmain,with David Beauchamp head coach there and coach of Australian Defence Force team.i know first hand,thats why we lost a good handful of RAAF to Tigerland this year..i'll be stuffed if he's getting anymore tho!!even if they could fly to Drummoyne they still wouldnt!

whythelongface
18th August 2005, 11:49
pretty sure all the Navy blokes go to Balmain,with David Beauchamp head coach there and coach of Australian Defence Force team.i know first hand,thats why we lost a good handful of RAAF to Tigerland this year..i'll be stuffed if he's getting anymore tho!!even if they could fly to Drummoyne they still wouldnt!

Is David Beauchamps nickname Beechie - he didn't do to well at the Kookas after Mick finished up. How are Balmain going?

desie
18th August 2005, 13:43
Hey Desie

Best of luck for the Penrith Football Club in it's upcoming finals series. I have been keeping a close eye on my old club and are elated to see the club in the finals for the first time since 2000. It's been a long road hasn't it.

Benny_w
(Chairman of Greater Western Power)

It sure has Benny, three wins in three years before this so it is most welcome. Given that though, the standard seems to be down a bit with Wollongong, UNSW and the Jets not around. A few of the other clubs such as South West and Parramatta seem to be having a tough time of it too at the minute.

jmain14
19th August 2005, 11:47
pretty sure all the Navy blokes go to Balmain,with David Beauchamp head coach there and coach of Australian Defence Force team.i know first hand,thats why we lost a good handful of RAAF to Tigerland this year..i'll be stuffed if he's getting anymore tho!!even if they could fly to Drummoyne they still wouldnt!
sorry to get completely off the sydney afl subject boys, but pekay... do you know micky loughman do ya - the one from finley (I think??) and is playing for rochy in the gv now??