View Full Version : Lynchy's book
roostersgal4eva
4 Aug 2005, 17:57
I just got a copy of Lynchy's new book - Taking Nothing For Granted: From Chronic Fatigue to the MCG
The heald sun did a story on it too :D
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,16107889%255E19746,00.html
only got up to chaperter 3 :p but its a great read so far and he has done a bloody good job of it!
Tim the Toolman
7 Aug 2005, 13:31
Read it in one go last night. Okay book, and in all honesty I think it looks like it was written in a hurry, so I was disappointed by the lack of content.
Lynchy could've gone a bit further into his days at Fitzroy and some of the goings on around the Bears and the Lions. It seemed he wasn't party to much going on around the club as a Captain and part of the Leadership group as he's very straight down the line sort of bloke.
I started reading the first chapter and it brought a tear to my eye whilst I was sitting at the coffee shop near the bookstore. The way he spoke about that premiership and what he had gone through reminded me as a supporter what we all must have felt that day. I just think he's either held back some stuff or maybe his musings were edited to keep the book down. To be able to read a book in one night tells me it's not long enough.
Great effort though Lynchy.
I reckon a book by Craig McCraie or Pikey would be a more fun read.
I was at that coffee shop Tim, after the signing.
Lynchy is such an approachable bloke.
Tim the Toolman
8 Aug 2005, 12:35
Nah, nah. I was at a coffee shop in Melbourne (Fountain Gate) after buying the book. I wasn't in Brisbane!
To be able to read a book in one night tells me it's not long enough...Too much colouring in ...
Tim the Toolman
8 Aug 2005, 15:18
Lost my crayons! :o
vosstheboss
9 Aug 2005, 16:01
Haven't got a copy yet but I reckon the story about why he went off his nut would be a ripper. I was watching sports tonight a few weeks ago and he was talking why he did. The reason why he did it was in the first 10 minutes of the 1st Quarter he realised he done an injured but play on and then something DW said was enough for just go bang into a exchanges of punches.