View Full Version : Tasmania Results: August 6th & 7th.
Kingpin
6th August 2005, 17:15
SFL Premier League
New Norfolk 15.15.105 - Clarence 10.11.71 at Bellerive Oval
Nth Hobart 15.12.102 - Hobart Lions 12.13.85 at TCA Ground
Glenorchy 23.17.155 - Kingborough 15.5.95 at Kingston Beach Oval
Lauderdale 14.12.96 - Brighton 13.9.87 at Pontville Oval
SFL Regional League
Cygnet 16.14.110 - Huonville Lions 11.8.74 at Huonville Rec.Ground
Kermandie 30.17.197 - Claremont 1.5.11 at Abbotsfield Park
Dodges Ferry 26.13.169 - Lindisfarne 11.10.76 at Shark Park
Sorell 26.11.167 - Channel 6.7.43 at Pembroke Park
NTFL
Latrobe 10.12.72 - Wynyard 7.9.51 at Latrobe Rec.Ground
Burnie 12.14.86 - Smithton 5.6.36 at Smithton Football Ground
Devonport 20.12.132 - Nth Launceston 15.3.93 at Aurora Stadium
Launceston 3.7.25 - Ulverstone 3.5.23 at Ulverstone Rec.Ground
Bye: East Devonport, Penguin & Sth Launceston.
NTFA - Division One
Deloraine 16.12.108 - Hillwood 8.12.60 at Deloraine Racecourse Ground
Scottsdale Magpies 6.10.46 - Bridgenorth 3.6.24 at Scottsdale Rec.Ground
George Town 25.16.166 - Bracknell 12.3.75 at Bracknell Rec.Ground
Longford 10.14.74 - Rocherlea 7.9.51 at Longford Oval
NTFA - Division Two
University-Mowbray 16.21.117 - Tamar Cats 2.4.16 at Beauty Point Oval
Fingal Valley 15.13.103 - Old Launcestonians 8.3.51 at Fingal Rec.Ground
Campbell Town 12.12.84 - Evandale 10.12.72 at Evandale Rec.Ground
St Patrick's 7.9.51 - Old Scotch 5.7.37 at St Patrick's Oval
OSFA
St Virgils - DOSA at New Town Oval
University - Friends' at University Ground
OHA - Hutchins at Geilston Bay Oval
ODFA
Mt Pleasant 19.15.129 - Oatlands 6.13.49 at Oatlands Oval
Triabunna 13.9.87 - Swansea 12.9.81 at Triabunna Rec.Ground
NWFA
Sheffield 11.18.84 - Spreyton 2.4.16 at Spreyton Rec.Ground
Motton-Preston 17.20.122 - Turners Beach 1.4.10 at Motton Football Ground
Forth 9.13.67 - Rosebery-Toorak 7.3.45 at Rosebery Park
East Ulverstone 17.9.111 - West Ulverstone 5.8.38 at West Ulverstone Football Ground
Bye: Wesley Vale.
NEFU
Winnaleah 20.11.131 - Bridport 6.2.38 at Winnaleah Rec.Ground
Branxholm 8.17.65 - St Helens 6.5.41 at St Helens Rec.Ground
Scottsdale Crows 10.13.73 - Lilydale 6.11.47 at Lilydale Rec.Ground
Bye: Ringarooma.
Darwin FA
Yeoman 10.17.77 - Somerset 3.4.22 at Somerset Rec.Ground
Queenstown 17.14.116 - Sth Burnie 14.10.94 at Queenstown Oval
Yolla 24.23.167 - Cuprona 1.0.6 at Yolla Rec.Ground
Myalla 12.10.82 - Natone 2.6.18 at Myalla Rec.Ground
Bye: Ridgley.
Leven FA
Mole Creek 7.4.46 - Railton 6.6.42 at Railton Rec.Ground
Castra 8.11.59 - Latrobe Saints 1.4.10 at Castra Football Ground
Circular Head FA
First Semi Final
Scotchtown 12.16.88 - Irishtown 7.6.48 at Scotchtown Rec.Ground
King Island FL
Currie 14.10.94 - North 4.10.34 at Currie Rec.Ground
Bye: Grassy.
Piranha_Fish
6th August 2005, 17:19
Any idea why the Girldestone Park match is on tomorrow, Tigers?
WCL
6th August 2005, 17:25
The Pies are starting to fly! Clarence has lost some composure and Brighton will not win this year.
Glenorchy 4 the Premiership. :D
Kingpin
6th August 2005, 17:26
Any idea why the Girldestone Park match is on tomorrow, Tigers?
Nah mate, no idea why.
I'll do a bit more sussing out on this one.
Edit: Did some more checking and found the fixture list I went by had them as playing.
NTFL website has them plus South as having the bye. I'll go by that one.
Results edited.
Kingpin
6th August 2005, 17:37
The Pies are starting to fly! Clarence has lost some composure and Brighton will not win this year.
Glenorchy 4 the Premiership. :D
Quite a wet afternoon around the state, especially up on the NW coast.
The Eagles won at Bellerive pretty well, the Pies had a good win in the wet at Kingston Beach, North held out the Lions at the TCA in the rain and Lauderdale only just held out Brighton by 9-points.
Cygnet finished minor-premiers (again) with a good win over Huonville, Kermandie annihilated Claremont out at Abbotsfield Park, Sorell thumped a pathetic Channel at Sorell and Dodges finished off a disappointing Lindisfarne by 93-points.
Ozguy
6th August 2005, 17:37
Mt Pleasant 19.15.129 d Oatlands 6.13.49
Triabunna 13.9.87 d Swansea 12.9.81
Marklar_33
6th August 2005, 21:39
NTFA Div 2 H&A season has finished and it looks as if next week will be Campbell Town vs Perth in the Qualifying and Fingal vs St Pats in the Elim, depending on %age, Fingal needed to gain 9% to pass Perth for 3rd. Uni-Mowbray have the week off in both seniors and ressies.
Kingpin
6th August 2005, 21:55
*Eight reports from the Hobart Lions - North Hobart game at the TCA this afternoon, apparently 5 Liarns were reported in the incident which was started by Robbie Devine.
*Sad news too with elderly Tiger supporter, the Scotsman Murdoch "Macka" McLean dying shortly before todays match.
*An all-time low 220 people at the Hobart Lions - North Hobart match.
Lowest ever crowd involving these two clubs - need I say anymore :rolleyes:
*OzGuy: Thanks for the ODFA update. :)
The Majestic
6th August 2005, 23:00
Not many people at Bellerive Oval today, quite a poor crowd for a game of such a high importance to the final outcome to the ladder. Quite sad really, wouldn't pf been many down the at bog.
I'd suggest next weeks game at KGV Oval could be an interesting one.
Motty
6th August 2005, 23:26
Tigers
I note the logo has gone and a few more changes with it. Resigned to disillusionment?
Maybe football administrators should listed to the masses and not the voices in their heads in order to create a personal legacy!
Captain Charisma
7th August 2005, 00:26
yeah East, Penguin and South Launny had a bye for the reasons of the fixture is half mangled there is 11 teams why not have 22 round everyone plays each other twice and has a bye twice but no.......
Kingpin
7th August 2005, 02:17
Tigers
I note the logo has gone and a few more changes with it. Resigned to disillusionment?
Maybe football administrators should listed to the masses and not the voices in their heads in order to create a personal legacy!
Yeah Motty I'm now totally disillusioned with the current goings on in Tasmanian football, and to be honest, football in general.
I still maintain these threads but that's the limit of my involvement now, and like a good yack about the history of the game here, and a few drinks at some of the Old Players & Officials functions now and then.
I cannot see any light at the end of the tunnel for local football here with the current administration and current mindset.
I still keep in contact with a few of the local burghers up at the Lions and lets just say I can't see it lasting another two years.
They either take on the league and Kingborough for thier survival or they die - simple.
Even then they'll be lucky to have very many go to the games (like the rest of the clubs) but at least they'll have a chance at survival.
Interestingly, today Hobart's reserves beat North Hobart and sung "Tigers" in thier victory song after the match on the ground :confused:
What Majestic said was right too about the crowd at Bellerive, very small crowd for such a big match from the footage on the news - probably only 400-500 at the most.
Kingston Beach would've had about 300 at the game and Pontville about 200.
AFL Tasmania really need to create interest in this product or else it'll disappear alltogether.
WCL
7th August 2005, 18:35
In relation to the crowd numbers, to be fair, you did say the weather was pretty bad, so 400-500 is still a fair effort, had it been a fine day, I am sure you would get close to 800-1,000. I mean this league would be great if more publicity was pumped into it, I assure you, if it was put in the publics eye it would draw.
Piranha_Fish
7th August 2005, 19:36
The NTFL attracted fair crowds yesterday considering the rain all over the north (which explains why only 6 goals were scored in the Launceston v Ulverstone game). I think there were close to 900 at Smithon, well over 600 at Aurora, and the other games averaged about 600, which is fantastic considering.
The Majestic
8th August 2005, 15:26
In relation to the crowd numbers, to be fair, you did say the weather was pretty bad, so 400-500 is still a fair effort, had it been a fine day, I am sure you would get close to 800-1,000. I mean this league would be great if more publicity was pumped into it, I assure you, if it was put in the publics eye it would draw.
The problem is, in the old days of the TFL/TANFL they were getting at least 1,000 in the rain, there should of been a better turn out. I am lead to believe that there weren't many down Kingston as well, due to it being wet down there. Though that is what I was told that it was wet down there.
WCL
8th August 2005, 15:42
I know in the old TFL days they were getting 1,000 in the rain, but considering next to no media is interestd in such a potentially viable comp. I' am sure that if it was publicised correctly or as much as the devils get publicised then you would be getting big crowds again. I still think the standard of the SFL Prem League is better than the ACTAFL, QAFL, (Sydney) SFL and many country vic leagues, so it all comes down to the media it basically holds the destiny of local football in Tassie in it's hands.
The Majestic
8th August 2005, 15:43
The NTFL attracted fair crowds yesterday considering the rain all over the north (which explains why only 6 goals were scored in the Launceston v Ulverstone game). I think there were close to 900 at Smithon, well over 600 at Aurora, and the other games averaged about 600, which is fantastic considering.
I saw highlights of the Devonport/North game and saw how wet it was up that way, poor old Bombers got a wacking though.
Kingpin
9th August 2005, 01:25
http://www.themercury.news.com.au/images/masthead.gif
7th August 2005: Eagles Pluck Premiers For Third Time
By David Stockdale
Is any side capable of beating New Norfolk for this season's Southern Premier League premiership?
Even reigning premier Clarence, which has dominated the competition in recent years, yesterday fell prey to the soaring Eagles for the third time this season.
The young Roos threw everything at New Norfolk bar Bellerive's Southern Stand, and still New Norfolk ran away with the game to win 15.15 (105) to 10.11 (71) and chalk up its 17th consecutive win.
Eagles coach Matthew Smith, who survived an early scare that he may have broken his ribs again, was pleased his side had finished so full of running.
"They came out very physical, but we knew if we played good, hard, disciplined footy we would come out on top in the end," Smith said.
"We've got Glenorchy away next weekend, and having a tough run home is just what we wanted, so we don't go off the boil going into the finals."
The one negative was a knee injury to defender Shane Bonnitcha, which could sideline him for two or three weeks.
Matthew Martin and Gavin Hanlon were dominant big men who fed their smalls, Jeremy Parker rebounded well off half-back and Jade Hodge closed down Tim Geappen, who had presented an early threat up forward.
Despite the loss, Clarence coach Nick Davey remains optimistic his side is capable of toppling New Norfolk, as it did in last year's grand final.
"If we can make the most of our opportunities and get back to something like full strength then I think we can," Davey said.
"We had our chances today but really cost ourselves dearly in the third quarter by kicking 1.8.
"We've also got players like Brad Dutton, Gavin Cooney, Jarrod Read and Andrew Triffett to come back from injury."
Of the Roos, no one was more impressive than Sam Iles, who had plenty of the ball and used it well, which would have pleased the Collingwood talent scout who flew over to watch him.
Nick Paine had the better of rival on-baller Roger Belcher, Stewart Beechey presented well at centre half-forward, Joel Doyle and Stuart Whitelaw provided drive off the wings, and young Heath Neville impressed by restricting key forward Michael Thompson to one goal.
North Hobart moved into second place at the expense of Clarence with a hard-earned 17-point win over Hobart at the TCA Ground.
Glenorchy sewed up fourth spot with a 60-point demolition of fifth-placed Kingborough at Kingston Beach Oval, 23.17 (155) to 15.5 (95).
On-baller Brodie Moles, who was best afield, and Dean Millhouse each kicked five goals for the Magpies.
At Pontville, Lauderdale was kept honest by bottom side Brighton before winning 14.12 (96) to 13.9 (87) in what was the Robins' best performance of the season.
Kingpin
9th August 2005, 01:26
7th August 2005: Cygnet Issues Warning With Mauling Of Lions.
By Janes Bresnehan
Reigning champion Cygnet issued a strong warning to its four Southern Regional League finals rivals yesterday after a six-goal demolition of the Huonville Lions at Huonville - we can still improve.
That's what Port coach Anthony Cole believes, despite cementing the minor premiership with a comprehensive mauling of the Lions, who were third until yesterday's 16.14 (110) to 11.8 (74) loss in the final round of roster matches.
As a result, Huonville has been demoted to fourth on the ladder and will host last year's grand finalist Sorell in the do-or-die elimination final on Saturday.
Kermandie's commanding win over Claremont - 30.17 (197) to 1.5 (11) - elevated it to third on the ladder and into the qualifying final against second-placed Dodges Ferry at Shark Park.
Cygnet, hunting for its fourth consecutive premiership, can put its feet up and watch the qualifying finalists slug it out for the right to meet it in the second semi-final the following week.
Judging by their commitment yesterday, the Cygnet players are ready to chase the premiership cup quadrella.
"We can't wait for the finals," Cole said. "The boys know we've achieved nothing yet this season. We are chasing success and until we get it we are not going to be happy."
Cygnet tackled the match with a convincing style of finals football. Huonville was in the contest at half-time when it trailed by seven points.
But it was always going to be tough after coach and ace goal-shooter Michael McGregor limped off early with a knee injury.
Port stretched its lead to 27 points by the third change and worked hard to keep the home side under the thumb.
"We did some undisciplined things that probably kept them in the game for a while," Cole said.
"When we lifted our workrate in the second half we ran away with a comfortable victory.
"We've still got room to improve, but at this stage you've got to try not to change things too much because the team is going okay."
Cygnet full-forward Michael Darcy was in ominous form, kicking six goals and missing as many.
With McGregor's injury restricting him to two goals, big blond forward Scott Dickson stepped up and bagged four and showed the potential to be a big-time player in the finals for Huonville.
The Lions' backline will have to be at its best in the elimination final to curb Sorell duo Sam Bowering and Alan Haw, who kicked eight and seven goals respectively in the Eagles' huge 26.11 (167) to 6.7 (43) win over Channel.
Dodges Ferry warmed up for the finals with a massive win over Lindisfarne at Shark Park, 26.13 (169) to 11.10 (76).
Kingpin
9th August 2005, 01:27
8th August 2005: DOSA Home In Thriller - St Virgil's Late Rally Just Fails
In a thrilling finish at New Town, DOSA was able to hold on and win a tight contest against St Virgil's in the Old Scholars Football Association on Saturday.
DOSA started the best early in the first quarter but St Virgil's fought back and at quarter time DOSA led by 18 points.
The second quarter was dominated by St Virgil's but some easy misses, where it managed only four goals from 15 scoring shots, proved costly while DOSA added two goals for the quarter and at half- time the difference was two points in favour of St Virgil's.
DOSA came out full of running in the third quarter, outscoring St Virgil's by three goals to one and in the conditions held a handy 13- point lead at three-quarter time.
In a thrilling final quarter DOSA went out to an 18-point lead and, with all players looking weary, the margin seemed enough.
But St Virgil's had other ideas as it gradually pegged back the deficit but ultimately fell short, DOSA victors by four points. Brendan Loveless and Jason Coad were great in defence for DOSA with on-baller Ben Dance and Peter Jelkic with six goals, and midfielders Joel Nielsen and Jason Green other great contributors.
Defender Karl Clark, Troy Williams, Damian Lowe and Rohan Monk, Damian Hill on the wing, Nicko Riley at centre half-forward and Shane Donaghue around the ground stood out for St Virgil's.
University went a step closer to finals football action after scoring a comfortable win over Friends' at University.
An accurate University had the better of the first quarter and led Friends' by 20 points at the change.
The second quarter an even affair as both teams traded goals, and at half-time University led by 31 points.
University continued its dominance in the third quarter, kicking five goals to two to hold a match-winning lead of 52 points at three-quarter time which they increased to 77 points at the final siren.
Cameron Burgess was dominant in midfield for University with four goals, forward Dwaine Jacobson with six goals and Gavin Shaw, on-ballers Dennis Danaher and Nicko Aird in support while Ben Parremore, Matthew ********, Jason Frawley, Adrian Pensilfini, Angelo Pavlides and Craig Ribbon with four goals were best for Friends'.
An eight-goal first quarter by Hutchins set up its win over OHA at Geilston Bay.
Hutchins led by 32 points at quarter time and 26 points at half-time.
OHA had its chances to make up the leeway but could not convert and trailed by 27 points at the last break. With both teams trading goals in the final quarter, Hutchins maintained its advantage to win by 21 points.
Jack Madden, Dion McKay, Michael Pollard, Finn Dorney, Andrew Deane and Guy Ellis were best for Hutchins while Warrick Dawson, Gavin Quirk, Stuart James, Adam Kaufman, Heath Jamisen and Craig Grace played well for OHA.
Kingpin
9th August 2005, 01:28
8th August 2005: Mounties Make Sure Of Double Chance
Mt Pleasant wrapped up a finals double chance in the Oatlands District football Association after what amounted to an extended training run in its 80-point victory over Oatlands at the weekend.
The difference in commitment and effort between the two sides was all too apparent, with one team playing like a serious premiership contender while the other seemed eager for the season to end in the 19.15 (129) to 6.13 (49) win to Mt Pleasant.
Ruck-rover Damien Wilson was outstanding for Mt Pleasant, taking plenty of marks around the ground, and gathering plenty of the ball in general play.
Marcus Owen led a watertight defence playing from full-back, while coach Darren Kaye continued his resurgence with another excellent display at centre half-forward.
In a strong showing in front of goal, 11 players kicked majors with John Rainbird leading the way with five and Ryan Thomas adding three. Oatlands ruck-rover Dean Clark was simply superb. He ran himself into the ground for his side.
He showed the determination to win the ball that many of his teammates lacked, as well as kicking two good goals.
Luke Johns was in top form in the ruck, winning plenty of taps, while Josh Burrill, Brent Cartledge and Leigh Wilson in the backline, and Sam Burrill on a wing were among few players who could be satisfied with their performances.
Swansea nearly caused the upset of the season as it went down to an in-form Triabunna side by just one straight kick, 13.9 (87) to 12.9 (81).
The home side actually led by 10 points at the opening change, and scores were locked at 46 apiece at the main change.
Triabunna established a winning break with a five goals to two third term, but rather than dropping their heads, the Swansea players kicked three goals in the final term to fall just short.
Triabunna on-baller Trent Graham provided his team with plenty of drive around the ground, while Matt Cruse and Tim Outram held their nerve in the backline throughout a tense final quarter.
Ryan Blyth was at his opportunistic best in front of goal with four, while Damien Hodgson and Adrian Hobden each contributed three goals.
Swansea veteran Patrick Cusick was sensational out of the centre of the ground, while Vorne Graham finally seems to have returned to his best, giving a hard running display in a ruck-roving role.
The Doctor '73
9th August 2005, 10:59
Interestingly, today Hobart's reserves beat North Hobart and sung "Tigers" in thier victory song after the match on the ground
Yes I can confirm that did happen after the reserves win. Whilst I don't think all the players used the term "Tigers" in their victory song the majority certainly did. Many people up the HFC hate the North Hobart Football club even more than Clarance these days due to what happened in the pre-season in regards to them being the only former TFL voting against Hobart to retain their original colours whilst they have actively tried to get their's reinstated. I wouldn't be suprised if it was sung as a bit of an "F U" to them. Many people up at the club still haven't forgiven them for stealing the "Hobart" name for a while, whilst we were in a different competition back in the early 2000's.
I thought there were more people up at the TCA than the 220 that was stated, but I could be wrong.
Kingpin
9th August 2005, 13:48
Interestingly, today Hobart's reserves beat North Hobart and sung "Tigers" in thier victory song after the match on the ground
Yes I can confirm that did happen after the reserves win. Whilst I don't think all the players used the term "Tigers" in their victory song the majority certainly did. Many people up the HFC hate the North Hobart Football club even more than Clarance these days due to what happened in the pre-season in regards to them being the only former TFL voting against Hobart to retain their original colours whilst they have actively tried to get their's reinstated. I wouldn't be suprised if it was sung as a bit of an "F U" to them. Many people up at the club still haven't forgiven them for stealing the "Hobart" name for a while, whilst we were in a different competition back in the early 2000's.
I thought there were more people up at the TCA than the 220 that was stated, but I could be wrong.
There is two school's of thought on that situation that you have described there (in bold).
1) Phillip Baker told the Hobart members that particular statement at the AGM this year, as well as the 1/12/04 meeting.
Myself and another person accosted that particular person from North Hobart Football Club who would've been the voter on this (Paul Curtain) at a match at Boyer Oval three or four months ago and he claimed no knowledge of this.
Subsequently a month ago, another friend of ours (who has extremely good contacts within football circles here) spoke to both John Leedham (who is a lifelong friend of this particular gentleman) and also with Curtain in regard to this particular issue, and they both stated that Hobart supporters had made mention of it during a recent match and had heard that Phillip Baker had started what they stated as "false and incorrect rumour and innuendo".
Curtain was clearly unhappy with Phillip Baker.
2) Another colleague of mine has been tied up with the NHFC for many years and stated that "he's heard both sides of that story (that they did vote against Hobart, and that they didn't vote against Hobart) floating about the North Hobart Football Club"
So it is interesting to know who's lying and who isn't. Given the way things have been handled by Baker in the last two years or so, I know who I think is lying.
The Hobart Demons was an absolute joke that backfired badly on North Hobart when they lost 75% of thier membership over the name change.
They had more sponsorship dollars and support as North Hobart than they ever did as "Hobart Demons".
It used to anger me majorly seeing a "Hobart" playing in the SWL getting pumped by 100+ points almost every week, while the real Hobart was winning a premiership and getting no coverage at all.
It also confused casual followers of the game, many used to think we still played in the SWL (TFL), and don't get me started on the media, especially that dumbc*** from the ABC (Peter Newlands) who once referred to us as "the other Hobart". :mad:
All these fools who go against tradition come unstuck in one way or another eventually, give it time, they eventually implode.