View Full Version : Are you happy to have Holland back?

ozgeek
7 Oct 2001, 20:07
We are a bit stunned at the news that Holland has changed his mind and re-signed with The Tiges. What did the club do to him - put on the thumb screws???
Seriously, does anyone know what changed his mind?
How does the postee feel who told the Crows fans how poorly Holland performed for your club and that Adelaide had got a bad deal.

kretchy
7 Oct 2001, 20:45
I'm reasonably happy to have Holland back the second half of the year he started to develop into a fairly reliable key position defender.

The crows and the media over here in south australia seem to think Holland was going to be the answer to their forward problems but he isn't that greater forward and is much more suited down back. I'm not sure why the crows were so desperate to pick him up.

The Doctor
7 Oct 2001, 20:53
Originally posted by kretchy
I'm reasonably happy to have Holland back the second half of the year he started to develop into a fairly reliable key position defender.

The crows and the media over here in south australia seem to think Holland was going to be the answer to their forward problems but he isn't that greater forward and is much more suited down back. I'm not sure why the crows were so desperate to pick him up.

I don't think anyone should have a problem with Ben Holland. I think he's the innocent party in all this. However his agent has a bit to answer for. Seems to me player agents are running amok and only care for the$$$ and not the players welfare.

I think Frawley getting together with the player and his father was a terrific move. A bit of old fashioned player negotiation. There should be more of it.

dogboy23
7 Oct 2001, 21:10
If i was Holland I wouldnt let Frawley near me after Spud questioned his honesty and integrity.:eek:

ant
7 Oct 2001, 21:46
Originally posted by kretchy

No one here in SA thought he was going to be the answer to our forward problems, but he is a young, key position player, preferably at CHB. If he had come to our side, he would have enabled us to play Stevens forward, while strengthening our defence. Now, we have the dilemma of whether to play Stevens forward and decimate the defence or play him back and struggle to score goals. We're on a hiding to nothing.

Holland's acquisition would have been a real coup for us and would have solved this problem.

CJH
7 Oct 2001, 22:00
I understand that his manager has/had some involvement with Adelaide at the board level? Was he moreso acting in his own interests rather than those of his client?

ant
7 Oct 2001, 23:49
Well, you know agents CJH, they only have the players' interests at heart ;)

I mean, if you get offered $400,000 to come back home and play at the great Adelaide Crows football club, why wouldn't he be anxious to persuade Ben to agree?? :D :)

sandeano
7 Oct 2001, 23:54
Evenin' all.

I'm new here and I hope you don't mind me jumping right on in to the discussion.

Y'know, I really do believe that Spud Frawley is one of the canniest blokes in the game. He might come across as a down to Earth country boy who holds old fashioned values dear to his heart and yes, I honestly reckon he is fair dinkum in that respect - it is no act. However he no fool either, far from it. He knew damn well that Holland the younger was wavering on the Adelaide deal, or at leat not 100% certain of it, and put all his options on a final throw of the dice, by palying the "honesty, loyalty and integrity" card (my apologies for badly mixing two gambling metaphors). Because at the end of the day, when the career is over, all the money is spent and memories of your own and of football fans is all that remain, Holland would not want to be remembered as a mercenary, soldier-of-fortune footballer.

Frawley himself was probably offered and no doubt considered huge amounts of cashola to change clubs during his playing days but stuck with the Sainters throughout. And although he has no premierships to his name he, as a footballer, will be remembered by ALL footy supporters as not only a tough and fair player, but a decent, honest and loyal one. By instilling those values in the players he is coaching he is doing a fine job. One thing for Spud - he could never be called a hyporite in that regard and if he has to play on that aspect to keep his current crop in the yellow & black then good on him.

I also get the impression that Holland does not actually believe he is worth what the Crows were offering him. It has taken him 6 years to reach the status of being an important Tiger player and the weight of being one of Adelaide's "stars" may have been beyond him. Personally, for the first five years he was at Punt Road I thought Holland was a doubtlessly talented lad, but kind of a "square peg in a round hole" sort of player. Finally, this year, he found his niche and proved his worth.

Anyway, I've bored you to death already in my first post, so I'll wrap it up now. Toady there were winners all round. Richmond kept a good, mid-range player. Frawley's ploy worked. Holland does not have to worry about the weight of expectation and Adelaide have not made the mistake of trying to create a star out of a man who was not made for the role.

Tigerbob
8 Oct 2001, 11:58
No you didn't bore me.

Well said!! I hope the opposition supporters who bag Danny see this.

He is incredible, and to keep Dutchy is a bonus for the club as he is a terrific CHB and our backline will again be strong.

Aqaka
8 Oct 2001, 14:31
Hi, Im also new and hope you will welcome me. :)

Im glad we have Holland back at Richmond, He is a very key player at Richmond and is needed.

CJH
8 Oct 2001, 17:04
That is very well said sandeano, very perceptive.

CJH
8 Oct 2001, 17:05
oh, and welcome to yourself and Aqaka!

Richmondfan#1
8 Oct 2001, 17:14
I'm very happy to have him back. I think his strength is wonderful and great to have in the side. Hopefully next year he will progress that little bit further though.

rfctigerarmy
8 Oct 2001, 19:29
Yes he should.

Look if he wernt, who would go HB? Hall you might say but then who would go in the ruck? Otto needs to stay where he is in the Forward line and if Gas went too we would have real problems.

http://rfctigerarmy.ipfox.com

RichmondEmma
18 Oct 2001, 17:25
i'm very happy to have Holland back he is a good player and is going to become and even better one

rfctigerarmy
18 Oct 2001, 18:40
yeah

Beausgirl43
30 Oct 2001, 17:14
Hmmm Benny Holland.

Wouldn't mind him at the Lions.

cheers... :D