View Full Version : Tasmanian Football Results: August 12-13-14.

Kingpin
13th August 2005, 17:09
VFL
TFC Devils 18.4.112 - Coburg 13.6.84 Att: 4094 at Aurora Stadium

SFL Premier League
Glenorchy 12.12.84 - New Norfolk 10.18.78 at KGV Football Park
Clarence 23.17.155 - Kingborough 12.3.75 at Bellerive Oval
Hobart Lions 20.14.134 - Brighton 10.5.65 at Pontville Oval
Nth Hobart 24.21.165 - Lauderdale 8.8.56 at North Hobart Oval

SFL Regional League
Qualifying Final
Kermandie 15.9.99 - Dodges Ferry 13.10.88 at Shark Park
Elimination Final
Huonville Lions 15.9.99 - Sorell 11.12.78 at Huonville Rec.Ground

NTFL
Burnie 23.15.153 - Devonport 11.12.78 at West Park
Sth Launceston 19.9.123 - East Devonport 12.5.77 at Girdlestone Park
Launceston 33.23.221 - Penguin 7.7.49 at Penguin Sports Ground
Ulverstone 23.17.155 - Latrobe 15.14.104 at Ulverstone Rec.Ground
Nth Launceston 18.17.125 - Wynyard 8.14.62 at Aurora Stadium
Bye: Smithton.

NTFA - Division One
Longford 11.8.74 - Deloraine 9.12.66 at Longford Oval
Scottsdale Magpies 21.13.139 - Hillwood 8.6.54 at Scottsdale Rec.Ground
Bridgenorth 19.17.131 - Bracknell 11.5.71 at Bracknell Rec.Ground
George Town 19.9.123 - Rocherlea 5.7.37 at Rocherlea Oval

NTFA - Division Two
Qualifying Final
Campbell Town 14.16.100 - Perth 12.17.89 at Youngtown Oval (Saturday)
Elimination Final
St Patricks 16.16.112 - Fingal 7.11.53 at Youngtown Oval (Sunday)

ODFA
Triabunna 18.11.119 - Oatlands 12.10.82 at Triabunna Rec.Ground
Bothwell 20.17.137 - Swansea 4.5.29 at Bothwell Oval
Bye: Mt Pleasant.

OSFA
St Virgil's 35.16.226 - Friends' 5.5.35 at TCA Ground
Richmond 17.14.116 - University 13.12.90 at Richmond Oval
DOSA 29.17.191 - Hutchins 8.4.52 at Dominic Oval
Bye: OHA.

NEFU
Bridport 23.11.149 - St.Helens 10.15.75 at Bridport Rec.Ground
Branxholm 17.17.119 - Lilydale 13.9.87 at Branxholm Rec.Ground
Winnaleah 40.19.259 - Ringarooma 3.7.25 at Ringarooma Rec.Ground
Bye: Scottsdale Crows.

NWFA
Motton-Preston 17.7.109 - Sheffield 8.20.68 at Sheffield Rec.Ground
Wesley Vale 15.16.106 - Spreyton 3.10.28 at Wesley Vale Oval
East Ulverstone 32.15.207 - Rosebery-Toorak 2.4.16 at East Ulverstone Rec.Ground
Forth 31.19.205 - West Ulverstone 5.5.35 at Forth Rec.Ground
Bye: Turners Beach.

Darwin FA
Sth Burnie 22.21.153 - Ridgley 4.8.32 at Wivenhoe Sports Ground
Somerset 24.11.155 - Cuprona 15.15.105 at Cuprona Rec.Ground
Queenstown 12.13.85 - Yeoman 11.12.78 at Yeoman Rec.Ground
Yolla 11.14.80 - Myalla 4.6.30 at Myalla Rec.Ground
Bye: Natone.

Circular Head FA
Second Semi Final
Redpa 11.9.75 - Forest-Stanley 7.9.51 at Redpa Rec.Ground

Leven FA
First Semi Final
Castra 9.11.65 - Latrobe Saints 5.5.35 at Castra Football Ground
Second Semi Final
Railton 15.15.105 - Mole Creek 9.5.59 at Railton Rec.Ground

King Island FL
Grassy 40.36.276 - Currie 5.7.37 at Grassy Rec.Ground

WCL
13th August 2005, 17:15
C'mon you mighty Magpies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pies 4 the Premiership!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

New Norfolk's streak comes to an end one week before the finals.

TigerFan
13th August 2005, 17:32
I umpired the Regional League Colts Knockout Final this morning...

WHAT. A. GAME.

Kermandie - 7.6.48
Lindisfarne - 6.9.45

Lindisfarne had the polish, but Kermandie simply wanted it more :)

Motty
13th August 2005, 19:21
I'm assuming that Kingpin is footy's answer to "Prince" judging by his posts and new moniker!

There's always the umpires to follow :eek: - they never lose! :rolleyes:

Such a shame about the ODFA - a ludicrous situation, one hell of a bloody minded decision (it's as good as done and dusted) by job-saving souls at AFLT.

Ozguy
13th August 2005, 20:56
I'm assuming that Kingpin is footy's answer to "Prince" judging by his posts and new moniker!

Such a shame about the ODFA - a ludicrous situation, one hell of a bloody minded decision (it's as good as done and dusted) by job-saving souls at AFLT.

Would you like to provide the facts to back up why this was a bloody minded decision?

Kingpin
13th August 2005, 22:45

???????? :confused:

The Majestic
14th August 2005, 14:14
David Kameric held Sean Salter goaless after he booted home 4, in Todays paper they have Kermandie beating Dodges, which is another great tuff up by our local paper.

Back on Disco, it's great that he has found a spot in the side, he was really struggling as a forward option for the Pies, almost reminds me of Justin O'Dwyer, he was a forward, but couldn't goal, went down back, and became a very good player.

I bet you enjoyed the beanies at the TCA Ground eh Kingpin? ;)

Kingpin
14th August 2005, 16:19
David Kameric held Sean Salter goaless after he booted home 4, in Todays paper they have Kermandie beating Dodges, which is another great tuff up by our local paper.
The ABC and WIN made monumental stuff up's with the final scores from yesterday's matches. I had to edit eight of them, plus they said Dodges had won when Kermandie had in fact won.
I take it, that the results in the Muckery today are right - but then who'd know.

I bet you enjoyed the beanies at the TCA Ground eh Kingpin? ;)
I think they only wore them for the first quarter, would've been a bit unwieldy wearing them for a whole match.
Went to a good cause though and apparently they had some kind of gathering in the Brighton Clubrooms after the match to auction them off or something, apparently there weren't too many people there, but they would've raised a fair few bucks for the cause, so that's a good thing. :)

Kingpin
14th August 2005, 16:39
http://www.themercury.news.com.au/images/masthead.gif
August 14th 2005: Footy Boss Charged In Clash
By Margaretta Pos.

Police were called to Bellerive Oval yesterday after an alleged violent clash between the President of Kingborough Football Club and a Clarence football player.
Police subsequently charged Kingborough president Rodney Herweynan.
Mr Herweynan declined to comment last night.

"I can't speak about it, it's before the courts," he said.
"He has a story and I have a story."

The alleged incident between Mr Herweynan and Clarence player Justin Muskett occurred during a Southern Premier League match between Clarence and Kingborough.

During the game, Mr Muskett was taken off the field by his coach after two penalties were given against him by the umpire.
The alleged clash took place at the interchange area as Mr Muskett was leaving the oval.
Police were later called to the scene.
Mr Muskett later lodged charges against Mr Herweynan.

http://www.southernfootball.com.au/Kingston/Rodney_Herweynen.JPG
Kingborough President - Rodney Herweynan

Surprise!! Surprise!! :rolleyes:

Kingpin
14th August 2005, 16:57
August 13th 2005: Grounded DOSA Out In The Cold
By David Stockdale.

The future of the Old Scholars Football Association could be in jeopardy because of a lack of grounds for clubs.
The latest club to feel the squeeze is DOSA, which has been told by Dominic College it will no longer be able to use the ground at its Tolosa Street, Glenorchy, campus after this season.

DOSA comitteeman Phil Whitmore said yesterday a letter received from the College gave notice this would apply to playing and training.
"We've been here since 1977 and now they tell us we've got to leave." Whitmore said.

DOSA is the most successful club in the competition, having won six senior premierships between 1984 and 1999.
The Friends' club has been without its own home for some time after being denied the use of the Friends' School ground (Bell Street). It shifted to North Hobart Oval and is now at the TCA Ground.

And there are concerns if compulsory union fees are scrapped, then the University of Tasmania ground could be lost the University club because its upkeep comes from funds provided by such fees.

That old chestnut strikes again. The direct relationship between the Colleges and thier Old Scholars teams becomes more and more distant by the year, which is pretty sad.
No doubt these grounds will be turned into soccer grounds. It's happening everwhere now.
But the head-in-the-sand attitude of AFL Tasmania will no doubt continue, we'll continue to hear that "football is in the greatest shape it's ever been in" and other such pearls of wisdom.

The OSFA clubs might have to start groundsharing I think, or they'll go too.

tassieswan
14th August 2005, 17:10
I umpired the Regional League Colts Knockout Final this morning...

WHAT. A. GAME.

Kermandie - 7.6.48
Lindisfarne - 6.9.45

Lindisfarne had the polish, but Kermandie simply wanted it more :)

i played for lindisfarne in that game

The Majestic
15th August 2005, 00:02
The ABC and WIN made monumental stuff up's with the final scores from yesterday's matches. I had to edit eight of them, plus they said Dodges had won when Kermandie had in fact won.
I take it, that the results in the Muckery today are right - but then who'd know.

Southern Cross also said that Dodges had won the game, personally I couldn't say, I was going to goto KGV Oval, but it was very cold got stuck at the Tasmanian Hockey Centre in the bloody rain, it was coming down, we had pondered going to KGV, but we figured it would of been raining there too, so we left the Hockey centre and went home.

I got told there was a poor crowd there.

I think they only wore them for the first quarter, would've been a bit unwieldy wearing them for a whole match.
Went to a good cause though and apparently they had some kind of gathering in the Brighton Clubrooms after the match to auction them off or something, apparently there weren't too many people there, but they would've raised a fair few bucks for the cause, so that's a good thing. :)

They (Brighton) and I think Hobart may have as well, awarded the end of season awards, I could be wrong I read somewhere they did.

I cannot believe I said TCA, d'oh, I think I had a few too many cold ones during the day. Good to see both teams working for charity. :cool:

Kingpin
15th August 2005, 03:57
14th August 2005: Eagles' Wings Clipped
By David Stockdale.

Finally, New Norfolk has lost a battle - to a bunch of talented teenage soldiers under an inspirational little general named David Newett.
In yesterday's inaugural Peter Hudson Cup clash at KGV, Glenorchy ended the Eagles' 17-match winning streak with a thrilling last-round win, 12.12 (84) to 10.18 (78).
It was the perfect build-up for next Saturday when Glenorchy hosts the elimination final against Kingborough and North Hobart crosses swords with Clarence in the qualifying final at North Hobart Oval.
The KGV result was just the breath of fresh air the league needed going into a finals series which had looked like becoming a benefit for the premiership-starved faithful of the Derwent Valley.
New Norfolk's first defeat wasn't so much caused by inaccuracy as the unrelenting pressure Glenorchy applied.
Early on it seemed as though the Eagles were set to wing their way to yet another win when they led 6.5 to 4.1 at quarter-time.
But after that the young Magpies followed Newett's example of winning the hard ball and finding a teammate with it by adding 4.5 to 1.2 to grab a five-point lead at half-time.
Despite trailing by two points at three-quarter time, they finished their work better to add 2.2 to 0.6 and prove New Norfolk isn't the invincible force other teams were beginning to believe.
"We have total confidence in our young fellas and they backed themselves today against the top side and came out winners,'' said Newett, whose first half especially was outstanding.
Glenorchy had many good contributors, few better than onballer-cum-forward Nathan Foale. Brodie Moles, who won the Robbie Dykes Medal, was a livewire, Jessie Crouch had the better of a keen duel with Jon Murray and of the Eagles' onballers, only Roger Belcher excelled.
Of the older brigade, none was better than David Kamaric, who snuffed out the league's top goalkicker Sean Salter after he had been an early threat with four goals.
Similarly, Brad Curran did well on Adrian Burdon to ration him to one. But the Eagles had no one to contain livewire Glenorchy full-forward Dean Millhouse, who finished with five goals.
North Hobart's hopes of a good pre-finals hit-out against Lauderdale were dashed. It blew the Bombers out away, kicking 24.21 (165) to 8.8 (56).
Ben Clark kicked seven goals, Tom James five and Evan Wilkinson four.
It was much the same story at Bellerive Oval, Clarence, belting Kingborough 23.17 (155) to 12.3 (75).
It rained goals for the Roos, Nick Paine booting six, Tim Geappen five and veteran Gavin Cooney four.
Hobart ended a disappointing season on a positive note by demolishing a winless Brighton at Pontville, 20.14 (134) to 10.5 (65).

Kingpin
15th August 2005, 04:00
14th August 2005: Kermandie Stands Tall In Shark Park Shootout
By James Bresnehan.

It was like a shootout between two angry gun-slingers in an old western movie.
Kermandie strolled into town and Dodges Ferry stepped out on to the main street to repel the unwelcome intruder.
Unfortunately for the home side, Kermandie wrote the script for the country football blockbuster and strutted away with a thrilling victory in the qualifying final of the Southern Regional League.
The 15.9 (99) to 13.10 (88) win advanced Kermandie to the second semi-final against minor premier Cygnet next Saturday, at Cygnet.
Dodges will use its second chance to face Huonville in the cut-throat first semi-final at Shark Park next Saturday.
Many of Cygnet's players were on hand yesterday to see Kermandie spear the Sharks in the heart.
"Overall, I'm really happy with our intensity at the ball,'' Kermandie coach Adam Henley said.
"We're looking forward to playing Cygnet. The last time we played down there, the game could have gone either way.
"The boys have got some confidence, so we need to carry that into next week's game.
"If we play the style of footy we played today, we can beat anyone.''
Dodges, which finished second on the ladder, had the home advantage
but Kermandie led all day - though not by much.
The Robins could not shake the determined Sharks despite a 23-point lead late in the third term.
With eight minutes left in the final quarter, only three points separated the two sides.
When the game moved into red time, bench-warmer Maric Matuszek ran on to a lose ball deep in the right pocket and snapped a beauty to win the game for Kermandie.
Henley said he was wary of Dodges Ferry's firepower after his side got swamped last time out at Shark Park, in round 15.
"They jumped us by 50 points in the first quarter last time, so we wanted to get off to a good start,'' Henley said.
Much of yesterday's success can be attributed to a hard-working back line, led by Shane Thompson and Andrew Fehlberg.
Kermandie's big forwards also contributed well, Damien Harrison a solid target at centre half-forward and strong-marking Kieron Nichols with five goals at full-forward.
At Huonville, the Lions were given an almighty scare by Sorell. Huonville led by 34 points at half-time but dozed off in the third quarter.
Sorell snatched the lead in the last quarter and the two sides went score for score until Huonville's match-winning five-goal blitz in the last seven minutes.
"We lost the lead but the boys responded with a couple of good goals, so it was an excellent effort,'' said Lions coach Michael McGregor.
Huonville travels on Saturday and the last time it played at Shark Park, Dodges won by a point.

Motty
15th August 2005, 17:15
Ozguy

* The ODFA is unfortunately forced into recess from 2006.
* There is now something like eight "short trips" from the Midlands to Hobart and the Huon Valley for country folk "just for a game of footy".

Surely not in the best interests for midlanders, with considerable travel (and RL teams who now have to travel 150-odd kms a few times a year) when football clubs are struggling north of Brighton.

Methinks that there will be a drop-off in interest with the excessive travel and there will be no chance for footy to experience an upsurge again, as it will be too late to re-generate footy in the district.

Motty
15th August 2005, 17:18
I'm only jokin' about the umpire thing Kingpin! ;)

Piranha_Fish
15th August 2005, 18:09
I was at the Burnie v Devonport match at West park, and I really hope that Devonport were just having a bad day. If not, then the state of the NTFL is in poor shape if one team (burnie) can be so superior to everybody else. Before the game, I rated Devonport as a good chance to win with many of Burnie's best missing, but to lose by 70 points was just pitful.

Ozguy
15th August 2005, 20:52
Ozguy

* There is now something like eight "short trips" from the Midlands to Hobart and the Huon Valley for country folk "just for a game of footy".

Surely not in the best interests for midlanders, with considerable travel (and RL teams who now have to travel 150-odd kms a few times a year) when football clubs are struggling north of Brighton.

Methinks that there will be a drop-off in interest with the excessive travel and there will be no chance for footy to experience an upsurge again, as it will be too late to re-generate footy in the district.

I will reply when I have a bit more time, and try to outline the exact reasons the decisions were made. But the travelling argument is false in reality. Bothwell to Swansea is 45 minutes further than Bothwell to Kermandie.

Barge
15th August 2005, 21:24
Ah yes, the situation at Bellerive Saturday between "Barra" Herweynen and Muskett from Clarence. Was most surprised when I read this in the Sunday Tas!

Having played against Barra years ago, must say that whilst being a behemoth of a man had found him to be quite harmless for his size.

A witness to the clash said as Muskett was dragged Barra stuck his big melon over the fence and said something to which Muskett said "what did you say?" Barra apparently said it again and headbutted him. Then before you could blink Muskett has hit him with a quick left right which from my witness' report "knocked his sunglasses up in the air"! Ya reckon I didn't laugh much when I was told that!

Upon this happening, The Human Chequebook then put his tail between his legs and walked away!

Then his Tiger Boys were thumped by the Mighty Roos!

Not a good day for our Rodney!

You don't like him much do ya, Pinner?!

Kingpin
15th August 2005, 22:25
Ah yes, the situation at Bellerive Saturday between "Barra" Herweynen and Muskett from Clarence. Was most surprised when I read this in the Sunday Tas!

Having played against Barra years ago, must say that whilst being a behemoth of a man had found him to be quite harmless for his size.

A witness to the clash said as Muskett was dragged Barra stuck his big melon over the fence and said something to which Muskett said "what did you say?" Barra apparently said it again and headbutted him. Then before you could blink Muskett has hit him with a quick left right which from my witness' report "knocked his sunglasses up in the air"! Ya reckon I didn't laugh much when I was told that!

Upon this happening, The Human Chequebook then put his tail between his legs and walked away!

Then his Tiger Boys were thumped by the Mighty Roos!

Not a good day for our Rodney!

You don't like him much do ya, Pinner?!
I can't stand him Barge :cool:
Reminds me of the time he stood in front of the Hobart bar at the TCA and Hobart had been circulating a newsletter for club supporters at the gate with a large Tiger head on the top.
A mate of mine stood in front of him reading it, and turned around to Barra and Jim Evans and said "have you seen that? Pretty professional isn't it?"
To which big Barra gets the sh*ts up and goes "I think it looks like sh*t!!" and storms off, later threatening belt another Hobart supporter during the match.
Then he complains about Hobart having Tiger memorabilia in the clubrooms and wants it removed, then he whines about Hobart supporters calling Hobart the Tigers. Next thing there is a big investigation, and the SFL is threatening to strip Hobart's points for the season for calling themselves Tigers. :rolleyes:

I think it only fair that as Herweynan has brought the club, league and game into disrepute that Kingborough should lose all points accrued for the season, and he be barred from attending games. :p

But the good old Huon boys will justify it somehow, you watch how Morro will sugar-coat it.
Needs a reminder, it's not the Huon FA anymore.

Captain Charisma
16th August 2005, 18:52
I was at the Burnie v Devonport match at West park, and I really hope that Devonport were just having a bad day. If not, then the state of the NTFL is in poor shape if one team (burnie) can be so superior to everybody else. Before the game, I rated Devonport as a good chance to win with many of Burnie's best missing, but to lose by 70 points was just pitful.
Yeah Burnie is that much better than any team although i would expected a better effort from the devo's, from what i here alot of there players played pretty crap and had a down day. But burnie is not as good as it was and have been exposed, but in saying that they are still 60% better than any other team in state, YES the state.

TigerFan
16th August 2005, 19:47
i played for lindisfarne in that game

ah yes, if you remember the younger of the two goal umpires - who was about 20m away, laughing his arse off at your coach's antics at every break, you would know who I am ;)

do anything of note?

tassieswan
16th August 2005, 20:50
ah yes, if you remember the younger of the two goal umpires - who was about 20m away, laughing his arse off at your coach's antics at every break, you would know who I am ;)

do anything of note?

i was no.57, not one of my most memorable games :(

bsg7
16th August 2005, 22:53
but in saying that they are still 60% better than any other team in state, YES the state.

And what evidence would you use to support that theory????

Captain Charisma
17th August 2005, 17:53
simply go watch them play, you'll see. I've seen New Norfolk and Glenorchy matches. and Burnie are just that much better. there ball movement there commitment there fitness everything. the NTFL is the best league in the state and when they can go through and lose 4-6 matches in 3-4 years something tells me there good.

bsg7
17th August 2005, 20:02
simply go watch them play, you'll see. I've seen New Norfolk and Glenorchy matches. and Burnie are just that much better. there ball movement there commitment there fitness everything. the NTFL is the best league in the state and when they can go through and lose 4-6 matches in 3-4 years something tells me there good.

When was the last time you saw a SFL game that involved two sides in the top 4?

Captain Charisma
17th August 2005, 20:05
Start of the year. maybe they should have a game NTFL Premiers vs SFL premiers? play it at york park(cannot remember what its called now)

Barge
17th August 2005, 21:29
Yeah yeah yeah, don't worry about this nonsensical debate, hands up who saw the Mercury today, and in particular the story on beloved Huonville coach Michael "Jock" McGregor. I trust my colleague Kingpin did.

Poor him and his missus are struggling to cope with the rising cost of fuel living in far away Ranelagh driving to Hobart each day for work. The story was so sad I nearly cried!

She works at Aurora and he works for the Ports Authority so I thought "They must be on a pittance."

Then I thought of a solution which will save them from all their financial hardship.......

HOW ABOUT USING SOME OF THE $21,000 HUONVILLE ARE PAYING HIM THIS YEAR!

There. Problem Solved!

Captain Charisma
17th August 2005, 21:53
ah Shadap.......

Blues_Man
18th August 2005, 00:24
And what evidence would you use to support that theory????
knowledge of football ...most NTFL teams would destroy the top SFL teams

bakerman
18th August 2005, 10:55
Barra, What a ******** of a president. Whoe doe's he think he is.
He should resign as club president and if not be pushed by the league. He is not in the Huon now.
He wants the club to be professional and elite but then he goes and heat butts a player from the oposing side.

Work that out

bakerman
18th August 2005, 11:01
C'mon you mighty Magpies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pies 4 the Premiership!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

New Norfolk's streak comes to an end one week before the finals.

Which I think is good, but they will win the flag, easy

bakerman
18th August 2005, 11:05
Ozguy

I agree in some ways but I think the Mdland community will come out for some games and could boost some $$$$ into these clubs so they can secure some good players. They should be alowd more $$$ over the salery cap and the league should look after them.

TigerFan
18th August 2005, 11:21

having seen both leagues at close hand, I must say that the NTFL is a class above - and the Burnie Dockers are another step up again.

why do you think the SFL won't play rep games against them anymore? :p

Kingpin
18th August 2005, 12:45
Yeah yeah yeah, don't worry about this nonsensical debate, hands up who saw the Mercury today, and in particular the story on beloved Huonville coach Michael "Jock" McGregor. I trust my colleague Kingpin did.

Poor him and his missus are struggling to cope with the rising cost of fuel living in far away Ranelagh driving to Hobart each day for work. The story was so sad I nearly cried!

She works at Aurora and he works for the Ports Authority so I thought "They must be on a pittance."

Then I thought of a solution which will save them from all their financial hardship.......

HOW ABOUT USING SOME OF THE $21,000 HUONVILLE ARE PAYING HIM THIS YEAR!

There. Problem Solved!

Hehehe yes I saw that Barge :p
My first thought was get a smaller car!!
My ex-gf had a Berlina which used to cost 26-arms and 34-legs to run, and she ditched that for a little Barina, problem solved - and she used to get everywhere in the little Barina and it used to cost sweet-fa to run.

Poor 'ol Jock might have to auction off a few of his jumpers on ebay to pay the fuel costs.
Having said all that, it throws up a few little conundrum's in bringing Bothwell-Oatlands and Triabunna in to the Regional League with cost of travel now.
I can't see a lot people travelling around next year, especially when fuel hits $1.40 a litre by Christmas.

They may have to re-jig the whole thing in another couple of years if travel costs become an even greater burden to clubs and supporters won't travel.
Make things even more localised - dunno, it may work, but it'd need to watched closely.

Kingpin
18th August 2005, 13:05
Barra, What a ******** of a president. Whoe doe's he think he is.
He should resign as club president and if not be pushed by the league. He is not in the Huon now.
He wants the club to be professional and elite but then he goes and heat butts a player from the oposing side.

Work that out

Yeah I was amazed myself, but not entirely surprised when I heard about it.
He's been too big for his boots for a long time, his standover tactics he uses at SFL meetings to get the Regional club directors to vote in favourable ways towards Kingborough shouldn't be allowed to continue.
The Huon clubs' directors will unanamously back him everytime because of his financial clout down that way - money and politics, quite simply.

I doubt that they'll ever get rid of him though Bakes, he virtually bankrolls Kingborough footy club on his own - and you are right about how he wants them to be more elite and professional, but from what I've seen of them over the years, they need a change of thinking and attitude to take that step forward.
They're still way to Huon FA in thier approach to things - petty and narrow-minded.
Having said that, Hobart are just as lousy, and have been for a long, long time.
There's a significant number of people up at Hobart (players included) that are finally starting to realise that this Lions business was a giant con, and now they're having to pull the few remaining supporters they have left off the hill or out of the stand to do jobs for them, because the club's emptying faster than a brothel full of politicians during a police raid.

Kingpin
18th August 2005, 13:23
having seen both leagues at close hand, I must say that the NTFL is a class above - and the Burnie Dockers are another step up again.

Agreed. NTFL seem more professional and passionate about the game than the SFL does.
The SFL can't even deal with colour, emblem & jumper issues with any degree of professionalism - let alone actually beat the NTFL in a rep game.

Besides which, the SFL only cares about the Regional League, well at least the Huon clubs anyway.

Just on another topic: Having a good chat yesterday to a former Hobart & North Hobart player who gave me the tip that Brighton are also looking to get into the Regional League when they can.
There is absolutely no way known that Brighton should be in the top division, can't field a colts side, totally out of thier depth at Senior and Reserves level, most of thier following has left them, and thier professionalism is non-existant.

Hopefully we'll worm our way down to six clubs in the PL, those six make a complete break away from the SFL and reform the TANFL in the coming years.

Ozguy
18th August 2005, 14:51
I agree in some ways but I think the Mdland community will come out for some games and could boost some $$$$ into these clubs so they can secure some good players. They should be alowd more $$$ over the salery cap and the league should look after them.

The Bothwell/Oatlands club is actually hoping to be competitive by spending considerably less than the Salary Cap figure if it is admitted.

bsg7
18th August 2005, 15:27

How can you say that when it was the NTFL that refused to play rep games against the SFL and instead wanted to play the NTFA probably just to give us the impression their league is better than it is by smashing an inferior opponent each year????

The Majestic
18th August 2005, 15:32

It was the other way around actually, and it wasn't because of the scoreline it was travel costs to Hobart. The NTFL made mention it cost them $10k to bring the team down from the North to play.

The Majestic
18th August 2005, 15:34
How can you say that when it was the NTFL that refused to play rep games against the SFL and instead wanted to play the NTFA probably just to give us the impression their league is better than it is by smashing an inferior opponent each year????
The NTFL would be happy to smash the South every year, in the North, but travelling to do so is something they refuse to do.

Apparently.

Captain Charisma
18th August 2005, 17:31
According to the local paper, SFL have decided they will be part of a rep match. Its going to be a Triangular Series thing, With NTFL, NTFA and The SFL.

TigerFan
18th August 2005, 19:29
the South-centric ways of the Devils might actually be detrimental to Southern Football.

think about it - if the Devils take a player from the South that rates, say, 8/10, but passes up a player of similar value from the North, then it can only increase the quality of the NTFL.

Captain Charisma
18th August 2005, 19:50
The North Loses players to, Wager Grima Bros, Luke Shackleton, Brett Robinson. there the only ones i know as i really hate the devils.

mighty magpie 05
19th August 2005, 11:24

The only reason why the sfl dont play rep games anymore is because ur buch of soft c*ck footballers up north were 2 scared to come and play down here :p . if ya gunna talk on here m8 make sure its not always crap comin out of ur mouth, u f**kin tool.
ohh btw go and ask newstead college how soft us southern boys r :p

TigerFan
19th August 2005, 12:39
The only reason why the sfl dont play rep games anymore is because ur buch of soft c*ck footballers up north were 2 scared to come and play down here :p . if ya gunna talk on here m8 make sure its not always crap comin out of ur mouth, u f**kin tool.

jesus, who let you out of your cage?

three things

one - 'soft c*ck football' won't get you a game in either league
two - I don't remember calling Southern Football 'soft'
three - I doubt smacking a couple of Newstead kids behind the play makes you a hero. that said, do what you like to Newstead kids, I DON'T CARE.

Captain Charisma
19th August 2005, 14:40
North **********s all over south, simple. You wanna see tough footy come play the big guys up here!

TigerFan
19th August 2005, 15:17
North **********s all over south, simple. You wanna see tough footy come play the big guys up here!

don't be so bloody immature.

having played in the NTFA, followed the NTFL and umpired the SFL, I can't say the gap is that big.

take out the Tasmanian Devils and I'd go so far to say that they'd be on an even keel.

WCL
19th August 2005, 17:55
Magpies 05, it's good to see Clarence still have some support, I thought you all went and joined the Devils Bandwagon. See you in the Finals Mate.

Go Pies!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Glenorchy)

Barge
19th August 2005, 21:24
Don't get too excited Boy. They'll win tomorrow but I'm saddened to say that'll be the last time they sing their silly little song as whoever loses out of Clarence and North Hobart will send them packing into 2005 oblivion!

Onto the side that we all love - The Devils - here is a story that will possibly leave you shaking your head but at the same time won't surprise you at all.

In fairness to the young man in question I won't mention his name, but a fringe player of the Devils was told last night by Armstrong that he was being left out of the side to play Williamstown (Go you Seasgulls!) because they were Quote "Going for height" Unquote.

Which the player didn't have a problem with. He then asked "Who has come in to the side?"

Can you imagine his disgust and surprise when he was told "Matthew Wade!"

Yep. 174cm 74kg or thereabouts Matthew Wade.

I'll open the floor for your comments, Gentlemen!

The Majestic
19th August 2005, 23:04
Magpies 05, it's good to see Clarence still have some support, I thought you all went and joined the Devils Bandwagon. See you in the Finals Mate.

Go Pies!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Glenorchy)
Clarence Vs New Norfolk...or North Hobart Vs New Norfolk grand final.

The Majestic
19th August 2005, 23:05
According to the local paper, SFL have decided they will be part of a rep match. Its going to be a Triangular Series thing, With NTFL, NTFA and The SFL.
I'd like to see both leagues join and play a mainland league.

Kingpin
19th August 2005, 23:25
Don't get too excited Boy. They'll win tomorrow but I'm saddened to say that'll be the last time they sing their silly little song as whoever loses out of Clarence and North Hobart will send them packing into 2005 oblivion!

Onto the side that we all love - The Devils - here is a story that will possibly leave you shaking your head but at the same time won't surprise you at all.

In fairness to the young man in question I won't mention his name, but a fringe player of the Devils was told last night by Armstrong that he was being left out of the side to play Williamstown (Go you Seasgulls!) because they were Quote "Going for height" Unquote.

Which the player didn't have a problem with. He then asked "Who has come in to the side?"

Can you imagine his disgust and surprise when he was told "Matthew Wade!"

Yep. 174cm 74kg or thereabouts Matthew Wade.

I'll open the floor for your comments, Gentlemen!

Doesn't entirely surprise me Barge.... in fact, No, it doesn't surprise me at all.
I'm sure daddy was more than influential in that decision.
There's actually a thread on this guy (Matthew Wade) on the Drafts & Trades Board - located here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=190384)

Piranha_Fish
19th August 2005, 23:46
So is this kid any good or was it just daddy's influence?

Kingpin
20th August 2005, 00:00
August 14th 2005: Footy Boss Charged In Clash
By Margaretta Pos.

Police were called to Bellerive Oval yesterday after an alleged violent clash between the President of Kingborough Football Club and a Clarence football player.
Police subsequently charged Kingborough president Rodney Herweynan.
Mr Herweynan declined to comment last night.

"I can't speak about it, it's before the courts," he said.
"He has a story and I have a story."

The alleged incident between Mr Herweynan and Clarence player Justin Muskett occurred during a Southern Premier League match between Clarence and Kingborough.

During the game, Mr Muskett was taken off the field by his coach after two penalties were given against him by the umpire.
The alleged clash took place at the interchange area as Mr Muskett was leaving the oval.
Police were later called to the scene.
Mr Muskett later lodged charges against Mr Herweynan.

http://www.southernfootball.com.au/Kingston/Rodney_Herweynen.JPG
Kingborough President - Rodney Herweynan

He got off scot free :rolleyes:
Charges withdrawn, and is allowed to be at the Elimination Final tomorrow.
Any other club and they would've been banned!!

Kingpin
20th August 2005, 00:03
So is this kid any good or was it just daddy's influence?
The kid can play. Got a long way to go yet though.
Bit of a difference between being good at junior footy and SFL level and making it big at VFL though. Then there's another three or four steps above that to make it AFL level.
Be interesting to see though.

BTW: All results now updated.

Blues_Man
20th August 2005, 00:30
well you for one would be soft as butter left in the midday sun ..thats a given

The Majestic
21st August 2005, 17:38
In the North or the South? Or will they rotate? I believe the main reason the rep games were scrapped was the travelling costs.

mighty magpie 05
21st August 2005, 20:15
jesus, who let you out of your cage?

three things

one - 'soft c*ck football' won't get you a game in either league
two - I don't remember calling Southern Football 'soft'
three - I doubt smacking a couple of Newstead kids behind the play makes you a hero. that said, do what you like to Newstead kids, I DON'T CARE.

Jumped out of my cage cobber coz im sik of u talking cr*p in every post ya put on here.
Jeeez m8 talkin bout me whacking blokes behind the play. whacking blokes behind the play is wat the ntfl is built on isnt it F***head.
And as for u WCL we'll see how cocky u r when ya season finishes next weekend. Honestly u played a bunch of spastics on the weekend m8

Benny_
21st August 2005, 20:18
Yeah rip into them Mighty Magpie the are all ****************s who have no bloody idea what there talking about. Keep up the good work

TigerFan
21st August 2005, 20:47
Jumped out of my cage cobber coz im sik of u talking cr*p in every post ya put on here.

dude, you joined last month, I doubt you have sufficient material to form an opinion on anyone, let alone a rival club supporter who you'd rarely encounter.

Jeeez m8 talkin bout me whacking blokes behind the play. whacking blokes behind the play is wat the ntfl is built on isnt it F***head.

is it?

The Majestic
22nd August 2005, 13:28
And as for u WCL we'll see how cocky u r when ya season finishes next weekend. Honestly u played a bunch of spastics on the weekend m8
You seem to be forgetting Darren Winter, he had been doing that for years, so I wouldn't complain about the NTFL. How about Danny Noonan's little shot in the Grand final against North Launceston a few years back? You Clarence supporters, never should argue about players king hitting others, because I can name a lot of former Clarence players that would do that :)

New Norfolk will win the flag, and I hope they do.

WCL
22nd August 2005, 15:49
Magpies 05, Clarence ar just a team that feeds off the Devils and promote themselves as the best way to get into the devils, this is why they have so much talent. Unlike the "real" Mighty Magpies, who are built on team spirit and the fact they would all bleed for the jumper, we will see after this week, hope you beat Norfolk this weekend and we meet you in the GF and beat you with a kick after the siren, I might even come down and watch if that happens. :D

tassieswan
22nd August 2005, 16:16
Magpies 05, Clarence ar just a team that feeds off the Devils and promote themselves as the best way to get into the devils, this is why they have so much talent. Unlike the "real" Mighty Magpies, who are built on team spirit and the fact they would all bleed for the jumper, we will see after this week, hope you beat Norfolk this weekend and we meet you in the GF and beat you with a kick after the siren, I might even come down and watch if that happens. :D

Good onya WCL ;) I'm on the Glenorchy bandwagon now for the rest of the finals. I've been to their past 2 games at KGV and they seem to really play well as a team and play for each other. It'd be nice to see them play Clarence in the GF and give them a touch up. :D

The Majestic
22nd August 2005, 16:49
Good onya WCL ;) I'm on the Glenorchy bandwagon now for the rest of the finals. I've been to their past 2 games at KGV and they seem to really play well as a team and play for each other. It'd be nice to see them play Clarence in the GF and give them a touch up. :D
That would be a Magpie supporters dream.

Benny_
22nd August 2005, 18:28
Majestic you are a complete ********er mate

Benny_
22nd August 2005, 18:30
You seem to be forgetting Darren Winter, he had been doing that for years, so I wouldn't complain about the NTFL. How about Danny Noonan's little shot in the Grand final against North Launceston a few years back? You Clarence supporters, never should argue about players king hitting others, because I can name a lot of former Clarence players that would do that :)

New Norfolk will win the flag, and I hope they do.

You have got to put that Noonan one into context. Noonan was getting man handled all day, scragged and unfairly tagged and gave Marcus Todman plenty of warning to let go so he deserved everything he got and even more.

bsg7
22nd August 2005, 19:58
Clarence ar just a team that feeds off the Devils and promote themselves as the best way to get into the devils, this is why they have so much talent. :D

How can u say that??? Name me 3 players that have left their club to come to clarence and try and play devils????

WCL
22nd August 2005, 21:49
How can u say that??? Name me 3 players that have left their club to come to clarence and try and play devils????

I'm talking about Juniors, they all want to be at the "best club" which is now portrayed as Clarence, they say they provide a flawless pathway to VFL football.

You have got to put that Noonan one into context. Noonan was getting man handled all day, scragged and unfairly tagged and gave Marcus Todman plenty of warning to let go so he deserved everything he got and even more.

I never liked Todman much, but I hated Winter more. :D

That would be a Magpie supporters dream.

Oh Yeah. :)

The Majestic
23rd August 2005, 14:09
Okay take Noonan out, the club still had a massive load players that attacked players behind play. I think the worst was Peter Divenuto for Sandy Bay.

The Majestic
23rd August 2005, 14:12
Majestic you are a complete ********er mate
Why? Glenorchy, Clarence and North Hobart share a hatred for one and other have done for years. The supporters hate each other as well, I am not sure how much the rivalry is now, but it used to be full on.

Every time the teams clashed it was always an important win, Glenorchy supporters went nuts when they beat Clarence in the final round of 1999. It was almost like they had won the flag, though a few weeks later they did, but that was the feeling there.

WCL
23rd August 2005, 18:38
Every time the teams clashed it was always an important win, Glenorchy supporters went nuts when they beat Clarence in the final round of 1999. It was almost like they had won the flag, though a few weeks later they did, but that was the feeling there.

I think you are talking about the Qualifying final, Clarence supporters were going around saying how they were going to take Kapplers head off and a few others, all while giving us a belting on the scoreboard. Well, Kappler missed the plane and didn't play, Benny Atkin concussed Jarrod Read (got off to :D ) and Glenorchy kicked 10 goals in the 1st quarter. Boy did we give it to those Roos supporters, good crowd too, 4,247.

The Majestic
24th August 2005, 04:49
I think you are talking about the Qualifying final, Clarence supporters were going around saying how they were going to take Kapplers head off and a few others, all while giving us a belting on the scoreboard. Well, Kappler missed the plane and didn't play, Benny Atkin concussed Jarrod Read (got off to :D ) and Glenorchy kicked 10 goals in the 1st quarter. Boy did we give it to those Roos supporters, good crowd too, 4,247.
Final round 1999, Glenorchy were being beaten most of the day, Hamilton made some changes and Glenorchy came back in the 3rd Quarter, siren sounded to end the 3rd Glenorchy supporters started to get the sniff of a win. Earlier in the hear Clarence walked all over Glenorchy, so this was a must win.

In the final Quarter the Pies came home with a wet sail :)

WCL
24th August 2005, 08:07
Ah yes I remember now, I only saw the results and highlights as I only arrived in hobart that day. Watched a fantastic finals series that year, one of the best.

The Majestic
24th August 2005, 17:54
Qualfying Final was funny as hell standing there listening to the Clarence supporters gloating, we all knew Kappler wasn't there, but they didn't, so they wanted to take him but were down by 10 goals :) I will always remember the final at York Park against the Bombers, in the wet Ryan's goal :)

WCL
24th August 2005, 20:40
That York Park final in the wet was a beauty, Ryan kicked 4 of the pies 5 goals for the day and we got up by 7 points.

In that series there were some really tight games.
Week 1
Elim Final:
Burnie def North Hobart by 6pts
Week 2
Semi Final:
Glenorchy def Bombers by 7pts
Semi Final 2:
Clarence def Burnie by 7pts (after being 53pts up at 1/2 time)
Prelim Final:
Bombers def Roos by 3pts (this game had everything, it was a cracker!!)
GF:
Magpies def Bombers by 46pts

The GF wouldn't of been a blowout had Adam Aherne not been suspended from pile driving a roos player into the fence in the Prelim.

The Majestic
24th August 2005, 21:27
It also took Glenorchy a half of football to settle down and start to play.

WCL
24th August 2005, 21:44
Yeah the pies started like a house on fire, then the bombers crawled back, then stevo broke it open in the second 1/4 only to see the bombers kick the last of the half to stay in touch, 11pts down at 1/2 time.

"Banger" (Matty Bernes) tore the game apart early in the 3rd when he kicked 3 goals on Bolton within 7mins. Only to see a brawl which seemed to fire up the Bombers and Mclean and Trevena kicked goals to get back to 16pts. Then with 30secs left in the term, Curtis gave away a down the field free kick when he hit stevo, Ryan bagged the goal and Glenorchy held a 22pt margin at 3/4 time. The last quarter saw Brendon Parker (bro of Shane) kick the sealer within 2mins of the resumption, the rest of the quarter was going through the motions with the only highlight Kapplers mark, Sanders going to hospital with concussion summed up the Bombers.

bsg7
24th August 2005, 22:49
What is Trevena doing these days????/

Kingpin
25th August 2005, 06:39
That York Park final in the wet was a beauty, Ryan kicked 4 of the pies 5 goals for the day and we got up by 7 points.
I remember watching that match on the telly, it was the third worst ground conditions I have ever seen for footy anywhere in Tassie.

Worst was the 1992 Preliminary Final at North Hobart (Hobart 5.5.35 - Nth Launceston 3.5.23 - where it bucketed down from about 1am onwards and p*ssed from a great height for the next 18 hours)
I was out with a few mates that night and got caught in the rain coming home. it was absolutely hosing it down.
North Hobart Oval did not have one speck of green grass on it that day.
Hobart played well that day, but got very lucky with umpires, 4 of the Tigers 5 goals were from frees.

The second worst was in the same year up at Boyer where New Norfolk played North Launceston and never even kicked a goal up until time on in the last quarter and still almost won (Nth Launceston 4.4.28 - New Norfolk 2.14.26). I think Micky Eiszele kicked them both from memory, and the Robins kicked 2 points in the second half and still hung on.

Quite a wet year was 1992.

But the '99 game at York Park was very exciting and the Pies worked very hard to win that, and to go on and win the lot after playing in that slog was a great achievement.
I believe the disgraceful ground conditions at York Park that day was the catalyst for the massive renovation to the whole stadium into what it is today.

WCL
25th August 2005, 14:45
I think the fact that the Bombers had to play in 2 tough games in a row, with the slog at York Park and the Prelim V Clarence, made them a little leg weary going into the GF.

The Majestic
25th August 2005, 16:26
I think North were a little bit older which really worked against them, Glenrochy being a young side had more legs and also Glenorchy had the week off. But I believe whoever would of won the game between Glenorchy/North at York Park had the flag won.

Barge
25th August 2005, 19:04
Newsflash Jabronies - it's August 25th 2005, it aint 1999!

Stop reminiscing - get with reality - NEW NORFOLK WILL SH*T THE GRAND FINAL IN!

We now resume Normal Transmission!

Captain Charisma
25th August 2005, 19:16
Newsflash Jabronies - it's August 25th 2005, it aint 1999!

Stop reminiscing - get with reality - NEW NORFOLK WILL SH*T THE GRAND FINAL IN!

We now resume Normal Transmission!
That was crap, you said it was good. Liar