View Full Version : Damn you Danny Frawley. Damn you.

itsintheblood
15 Aug 2005, 09:57
We've been saying this all year and now Plough has come out with a hint of what he thinks of the previous coaching panel. DAMN YOU SPUD.

Wallace cringes over Tigers' selection policy
By Michael Gleeson
August 15, 2005

The parade of talent that should be wearing the yellow and black but for some terrible trading decisions was cringeworthy, Terry Wallace admitted yesterday after Richmond's season all but ended when it lost to the Western Bulldogs.

Matthew Pavlich, Daniel Wells, James Kelly and Jude Bolton could and should have all been wearing Richmond jumpers and the fact they were not and the club traded away picks was one of the reasons it was struggling, Wallace said.

"Over a period of time, for whatever reason, this club traded away the blokes who would have been 23 and 24. They traded away the draft selections that would have had them the 23 and 24-year-olds now," he said, explaining his list was lopsided with either very old or very young players.

"I have done my analysis of it all and you would cringe if you saw some of the names that ought to be running around in yellow and black jumpers with exact draft picks," he said.

"That would give us the run and carry that we now don't have. But that's the lot, I knew the lot when I took on the team and knew it was going to be a long-term prospect and where the Western Bulldogs are now with their 23-year-olds, 24-year-olds we have a group of 20 blokes under 21 we have got to be there in two or three seasons.

"There are some good names amongst them," Wallace said of the talent the club had missed by either trading draft picks or, in the case of Matthew Pavlich, selecting Aaron Fiora in his stead one selection earlier.

"You can look at the selection that was used for Jude Bolton, you can look at the selection that was used for James Kelly, you can look at the selection that was used for Daniel Wells, you can look at one pick difference to having Matthew Pavlich representing the footy club.

"You add those four 24-year-olds running around today I reckon we might have been able to get the job done today, but that is past history and they are decisions that have been made and been made at the time for all the right reasons but what it has left is … a dearth of players in the age bracket that wins you premierships."

Wallace also lamented that statistics supported the notion of a stereotypical Richmond fade-out to the season.

"The disappointing thing about today's loss and the last couple of weeks is that this whole game is about image and the image of the Richmond Football Club is 'Oh! Here they go they are fading away again'. (But) I have seen none of that — I have seen us go over to Port Adelaide and put in a fantastic effort come up a little bit short; I have seen us go to Fremantle put in a fantastic effort last week and come up a little bit short and seen it again today."

Greg Tivendale reinjured his groin and missed most of the match. He is unlikely to play next week.

CoggaRules
15 Aug 2005, 10:10
read that blood, and there are tiger supporters out there that want to let the dud rest in peace.
Never!!!!!!!!

tigertime
15 Aug 2005, 10:13
Cop out.

Wallaces record has not been much better than frawleys this year.

Moving Bowden off murphy in the third quarter and leaving foley on the bench were very ordinary decisions. Contribute to that playing stafford and bringing graham on and he gave the dogs the lead on the weekend.

Next year will be better when the rest of these hacks retire. But that doesnt change the fact that Wallace really didnt do much better than Frawley this year.

Maybe he is going for draft concessions. In which case, lets hope we lose to hawthorn this week.

Tiger Survivor
15 Aug 2005, 10:36
[QUOTE=tigertime]Wallaces record has not been much better than frawleys this year.

But that doesnt change the fact that Wallace really didnt do much better than Frawley this year.[QUOTE]

No wonder everyone thinks you're a knob. Last year we ended up with the wooden spoon with four wins to our name and no hope in sight. This year we've won almost half of our matches, and been in the top eight for most of the year. Big bloody difference.

Are you actually a Richmond supporter, or just some troll from another team in disguise that comes on these boards when Richmond start to lose games and stir up sh1t?

tigertime
15 Aug 2005, 10:39
Yep, year before that under frawley. Started the season 7 wins 2 losses. Never looked like it after that.

Everyone thought we couldnt have such a big slide with wallace.

Well we have. Frawley was a dud. Wallace has had a poor year.

Lets just be honest about that.

[QUOTE=tigertime]Wallaces record has not been much better than frawleys this year.

But that doesnt change the fact that Wallace really didnt do much better than Frawley this year.[QUOTE]

No wonder everyone thinks you're a knob. Last year we ended up with the wooden spoon with four wins to our name and no hope in sight. This year we've won almost half of our matches, and been in the top eight for most of the year. Big bloody difference.

Are you actually a Richmond supporter, or just some troll from another team in disguise that comes on these boards when Richmond start to lose games and stir up sh1t?

itsintheblood
15 Aug 2005, 10:50
Yep, year before that under frawley. Started the season 7 wins 2 losses. Never looked like it after that.

Everyone thought we couldnt have such a big slide with wallace.

Well we have. Frawley was a dud. Wallace has had a poor year.

Lets just be honest about that.

[QUOTE=Tiger Survivor][QUOTE=tigertime]Wallaces record has not been much better than frawleys this year.

But that doesnt change the fact that Wallace really didnt do much better than Frawley this year.

You really are a di@khead sometimes. Wallace has had to start at the bottom after frawdley decimated our club with his stupidity. It will take him 3 years to build some of these kids up to AFL standard and really, we needed another year or 2 at the bottom to recruit the type of players we should have recruited 5 years ago.

tigertime
15 Aug 2005, 11:10
Lets just point the finger at frawley.

"start at the bottom after frawdley decimated our club with his stupidity"

We had a 7-2 record with this same team at the start of this year.

We had the same 2 years ago with frawley.

Yes frawley is an idiot. But frawley isnt coaching anymore.

Wallace is. To say we would be a great team if we had pavlich. The afl is littered with stories like this. Its a cop out. Its absolute crap.

We dont have pavlich. We have the players that we have. Foley and Tambling on the bench. Graham running around like a goose. Stafford, the immobile full forward. Campbell chugging along. Newman one out in marking contests. Bowden shifted off of murphy. Hilton kept only because they didnt want to pay him out because of injury. kraks 3 year deal for nothing. Simmonds 5 year deal. Knobel - 2 year deal - useless.

Wallace had been outcoached 5 weeks in a row.

Yes, we need a couple of years for our younger players to develop. But last years youngsters under frawley havent got very much game time.

We will be better in a year. We will be better in 2 years. This year we were crap. Pull your head out of the clouds and accept reality.

CoggaRules
15 Aug 2005, 11:24

what same team?? Man you are dellusional.

CoggaRules
15 Aug 2005, 11:26
Yes, we need a couple of years for our younger players to develop. But last years youngsters under frawley havent got very much game time.

I wonder why stupid??

Punt_Road_Roar
15 Aug 2005, 11:39
So tigertime what do you suggest?

Sack Wallace? LMAO

Sure our season could be compared to our last few but the reality is they are nothing like each other, the turn over of players since 2002/2003 has been massive.

I believe the real reason behind our fade out compared to previous years has been the length of a season on our players under the age of 21. They are kids not mature 23-24 year olds who are body hardened for a full season.

This is what I believe Terry is implying.

The Westcoast Eagles are the classic example of having a young team who for a few years played in bursts but faded badly at seasons end. The eagles only became a decent side since midway through last year, their seasons before that they also faded badly. The best thing the eagles did which we havent been able to do is make the eight in their fade out.

Sure Danny F cant be blamed entirely but he can inregards to the need for Richmond to do a massive clean out of our list over the past 2 seasons. It has stunk of mis-management on his behalf and the amount of duds we had was embarrassing.

tigertime
15 Aug 2005, 11:56
Dont be ridiculous.

Wallace definitely has his positives.

What I dont like is when people dont take responsibility for losing.

When they try to point the finger at others, rather than saying, I could have done better.

For the last 5 weeks, we have played the same insipid brand of football. We have gone for a tall slow team.

When will Wallace admit its not working and try giving the team some much needed speed.

Everyone wants to say how wonderful Wallace is. I think we need to be a lot more honest about his performance this year.

To finish 12th and say he has been wonderful is just rubbish.

So tigertime what do you suggest?

Sack Wallace? LMAO

Sure our season could be compared to our last few but the reality is they are nothing like each other, the turn over of players since 2002/2003 has been massive.

I believe the real reason behind our fade out compared to previous years has been the length of a season on our players under the age of 21. They are kids not mature 23-24 year olds who are body hardened for a full season.

This is what I believe Terry is implying.

The Westcoast Eagles are the classic example of having a young team who for a few years played in bursts but faded badly at seasons end. The eagles only became a decent side since midway through last year, their seasons before that they also faded badly. The best thing the eagles did which we havent been able to do is make the eight in their fade out.

Sure Danny F cant be blamed entirely but he can inregards to the need for Richmond to do a massive clean out of our list over the past 2 seasons. It has stunk of mis-management on his behalf and the amount of duds we had was embarrassing.

CoggaRules
15 Aug 2005, 12:01
Dont be ridiculous.

Wallace definitely has his positives.

What I dont like is when people dont take responsibility for losing.

When they try to point the finger at others, rather than saying, I could have done better.

For the last 5 weeks, we have played the same insipid brand of football. We have gone for a tall slow team.

When will Wallace admit its not working and try giving the team some much needed speed.

Everyone wants to say how wonderful Wallace is. I think we need to be a lot more honest about his performance this year.

To finish 12th and say he has been wonderful is just rubbish.

I have to agree with you on this one.
Stop selling the smoke screens Wallet each week. We lost Brownie and all the plans were toast after that. End of story.

itsintheblood
15 Aug 2005, 12:19
I have to agree with you on this one.
Stop selling the smoke screens Wallet each week. We lost Brownie and all the plans were toast after that. End of story.

You can start by stop calling our coach wallet. A true supporter would realise we have the best possible coach who WILL turn this club around. We all know our list is still mediocre thanks to the inept recruiting of the previous coaching comittee exchanging our important draft picks for short term fixes.

CoggaRules
15 Aug 2005, 12:25
You can start by stop calling our coach wallet. A true supporter would realise we have the best possible coach who WILL turn this club around. We all know our list is still mediocre thanks to the inept recruiting of the previous coaching comittee exchanging our important draft picks for short term fixes.

yeah and this year we havent had any short term fixes in our side have we?
graham, Hilton, Tiv, Chaffey etc are all part of the surge to the top? give me a break.

Yeah he might be the best available coach, but that doesnt nessecarily mean that he is the best coach, just the best available.

Darth_Tiger
15 Aug 2005, 12:27
this year the team has at least stuck at the task. terry has them playing competitively, and with the injuries we have had i think we have gone ok. the boys are fighting on this year unlike last year and the year before when the chips were down the troops just gave up and got belted week after week.

CoggaRules
15 Aug 2005, 12:30
this year the team has at least stuck at the task. terry has them playing competitively, and with the injuries we have had i think we have gone ok. the boys are fighting on this year unlike last year and the year before when the chips were down the troops just gave up and got belted week after week.

spot in the 8 makes life a little easier when trying to get a team to stick to its guns. The problem is we arent good enough to be in the 8, just like we havent been good enough for the last 4 years, with basically the same side.

tigertime
15 Aug 2005, 12:36
A true supporter would recognise that our list isnt mediocre by any stretch.

It has some deficiencies, but so does every team in the afl.

Its what you get out of the list you have that defines you as a coach.

We havent got very much out of our list this year. To blame the list for Wallaces poor coaching is just saying its ok to do crap again.

There have been half a dozen games in the second half of the season that we should have won and came close to winning. The fact that we came close in those games makes it pretty clear our list is not mediocre.

I dont hear Wallace saying we were wrong for recruiting Nathan Brown???

Its a smoke screen and its very dissapointing that he will not take responsibility. He whines about our draft picks. Yet he drafted a bunch of dud has beens last year and re-signed the biggest potential ticket player in the world, namely kraks. Now he is whining about not being given notice about the telstra dome being open.

How bout he focusses on coaching the club and stops trying to put a spin on what has been a very poor year.

itsintheblood
15 Aug 2005, 12:50

We havent got very much out of our list this year. To blame the list for Wallaces poor coaching is just saying its ok to do crap again.

There have been half a dozen games in the second half of the season that we should have won and came close to winning. The fact that we came close in those games makes it pretty clear our list is not mediocre.

Its a smoke screen and its very dissapointing that he will not take responsibility. He whines about our draft picks. Yet he drafted a bunch of dud has beens last year and re-signed the biggest potential ticket player in the world, namely kraks. Now he is whining about not being given notice about the telstra dome being open.

How bout he focusses on coaching the club and stops trying to put a spin on what has been a very poor year.

It's been a very poor year??? WTF are you smoking???? Fair dinkum. I've enjoyed this year a hell of a lot more than last year I can tell you and we're on the improve. Our kids have a heap of potential and with a couple of KPP's in this years draft the future looks ok.

Get a grip.

Punt_Road_Roar
15 Aug 2005, 12:53
Disappointing year? yes

Poor year? No

Your standards are unrealistic TT, yet you have the gall to have a crack at some supporters on this site for having their head in the clouds.

:rolleyes:

Weaver
15 Aug 2005, 13:24
Matthew Pavlich, Daniel Wells, James Kelly and Jude Bolton could and should have all been wearing Richmond jumpers and the fact they were not and the club traded away picks was one of the reasons it was struggling, Wallace said.

This is the worst part of Wallace, his willingness to corrupt facts to present himself as faultless.

We traded away the 22-23 year olds? Yep, he traded Ottens, Zantuck and Fiora out of that age group. No mention of that.

We missed out on Daniel Wells? Sure but we traded away the pick to get Kane Johnson ... no mention of that. Also ignores that we didn't know Carlton were going to lose their picks, so at the time we did the trade we were not trading pick 2.

Could we have had James Kelly? Only if we had kept Nick Daffy's contract for 2 years, risked salary cap breaches, and not gotten Greg Stafford.

We missed out on Jude Bolton because we traded our first two picks to get Rory Hilton (with Biddiscombe thrown in for free). Of course Hilton, a former number 3 pick, was meant to be our elite centreman and outperform Bolton ... but he has been happy being a back-pocket.

oxx
15 Aug 2005, 13:28
Dont even respond to the clown boys.

Weaver
15 Aug 2005, 13:35

Yes it is. A very mediocre list. We got lucky with our draw, and with the fact that there were some other very mediocre teams in the league this year.

Wallace is going to coach the 12th best team into 12th on the ladder. Just what you'd expect.

We need to hugely improve our playing list over the next few years if we hope to push for a top-4 finish, and acheive a consistant run of 4-5 finals appearances in a row which is crucial for the future viability of our club.

CoggaRules
15 Aug 2005, 13:43
Yes it is. A very mediocre list. We got lucky with our draw, and with the fact that there were some other very mediocre teams in the league this year.

Wallace is going to coach the 12th best team into 12th on the ladder. Just what you'd expect.

We need to hugely improve our playing list over the next few years if we hope to push for a top-4 finish, and acheive a consistant run of 4-5 finals appearances in a row which is crucial for the future viability of our club.

The understatemnt of the century, for those who dream and hope that what they see on the field now is the team that is going to take us places.

IDGAF
15 Aug 2005, 13:47

How bout he focusses on coaching the club and stops trying to put a spin on what has been a very poor year.You really are just a f..ken knob

IDGAF
15 Aug 2005, 13:56
This is the worst part of Wallace, his willingness to corrupt facts to present himself as faultless.

We traded away the 22-23 year olds? Yep, he traded Ottens, Zantuck and Fiora out of that age group. No mention of that.

We missed out on Daniel Wells? Sure but we traded away the pick to get Kane Johnson ... no mention of that. Also ignores that we didn't know Carlton were going to lose their picks, so at the time we did the trade we were not trading pick 2.

Could we have had James Kelly? Only if we had kept Nick Daffy's contract for 2 years, risked salary cap breaches, and not gotten Greg Stafford.

We missed out on Jude Bolton because we traded our first two picks to get Rory Hilton (with Biddiscombe thrown in for free). Of course Hilton, a former number 3 pick, was meant to be our elite centreman and outperform Bolton ... but he has been happy being a back-pocket.

Hinesight is a wonderful thing isn`t it .

Very easy to level criticism after the fact .

I am quite bemused at Plough mentioning the fact that we don`t have Wells and yet he appointed the bloke we got instead of him as Skipper ????

Is Wallace saying that he would definately prefer Wells on our list rather than KJ ? Wonder what sugar would make of this ?

Coaches and recruiters make decisions based on thier current situations and the status of thier current playing lists , every club makes errors of judgement and at the end of the day when you get past the first 10 - 15 selections in the draft it really does become a lottery . I would love to sit down and anylize ploughs recruiting form from his time at the dogs and see who he let go .....

His criticism is pretty poor form for mine and is a little worrying as regards to his character

tigertime
15 Aug 2005, 14:01
Our list isnt any worse than the below teams.

Fremantle, Western Bulldogs, Melbourne, Port Adelaide, Essendon, Hawthorn, Collingwood & Carlton.

Which I guess means they all have mediocre lists as well.

You would have to say Adelaide dont have the greatest list in the world. But getting rid of Ayres has brought them to 2nd spot on the ladder.

Its very easy to say the list is #12 in the competition when we finish 12th.

But its funny how when we were 4th on the ladder, many people said our list was a top 8 list that was overachieving.

Our list at the current stage of development compared to other clubs is somewhere between 6-10. Thats not mediocre. It is definitely not #12.

madtiger2005
15 Aug 2005, 14:05
Under Wallace, we have been much more competitive in most of our losses and we have a game plan that will score us an extra 4 goals than under Frawley. We have been great interstate this year. Out of our last 11 games, we have won 2, been a big chance in 5 losses and lost 4 games without really being competitive. If we got across WC and had the extra confidence from thaone more win to get over Port, Freo or Dogs or even played properly against Carlton, we would have been in the 8 now. Frawley treated our club like an Under 12's team. Tigertime you smell :D

itsintheblood
15 Aug 2005, 15:15

These guys were traded because one of them was chasing the $$$ and the other 2 were just crap and were part of the reason why we finished on the bottom last year.

True Thylacine
15 Aug 2005, 15:19
These guys were traded because one of them was chasing the $$$ and the other 2 were just crap and were part of the reason why we finished on the bottom last year.

And you would have to say on what all 3 have achieved this year to date....a pretty good decision!

tigertime
15 Aug 2005, 15:36
More competitive. A frawleyism if ever I heard one.

How many times did frawley say, we'll be cherry ripe, happy that the boys were competitive.

Its another way of saying. Its ok to lose.

If losing just about every interstate and docklands game is wonderful, then we have had a stellar year. Particularly considering most of these games were very winnable, had we not gone in with a big slow forward line.

With regards to the 22-24 age group. You cant trade all of these players and then say we dont have any players in this age group.

That is ridiculous.

I think the smell here is coming from your brown nosing madtiger. Your a bit too close to wallaces bum.

Under Wallace, we have been much more competitive in most of our losses and we have a game plan that will score us an extra 4 goals than under Frawley. We have been great interstate this year. Out of our last 11 games, we have won 2, been a big chance in 5 losses and lost 4 games without really being competitive. If we got across WC and had the extra confidence from thaone more win to get over Port, Freo or Dogs or even played properly against Carlton, we would have been in the 8 now. Frawley treated our club like an Under 12's team. Tigertime you smell :D

CoggaRules
15 Aug 2005, 15:43
And you would have to say on what all 3 have achieved this year to date....a pretty good decision!

there is still hope for the next wave of soon not to be tiger duds. Now fiora went purely on his potential that his high draft pick suggested. Same with the Ottens, but he showed somthing that made the pussies get him.
This time we are in a different situation, the usual nmaes that are bandied about with tiger fans, in regards to who should go and how, dont come with the gloss, the only ones that I cna thinkk of with the kind of high draft pick gloss that sells potential are Pets and Schulz. And the bonus is we have given Pet his head to show the world his outstanding skills and potential. Schulz still has the 6 goals againts the lions to his name also.
I for one have a feeling that unexpected things are going to happen over the trade period. Expect the unexpected, there is going to be a few raised eyebrows on tiger supporters faces come the close season. ;)

bluehouse
15 Aug 2005, 19:58
The truth about wallace's year is somewhere between the 2 extreme positions of madtiger on one side and tigertime on the other.

They may not like it but both of them are blinded by their overall opinion

Madtiger

Wallace player selection and management on match days in the second half of the season has not been perfect. He has done a remarkable job in putting a steely resolve into the team and to play a more attacking brand of football

Tigertime

The past does affect the present - and all things considering - this team has much more steel about it than the past 3 seasons - they do not give up and they have kicked more goals, taken more risks etc
your biggest criticism has been team selection and then covering the players you don't like on match days - this may be a fair criticism however he has made it clear that his philosophy a the moment is to give the senior players preference of game time over the youngsters
If this wasn't the case then players such as hilton, pettifer and tivendale wouldn't have been given the game time that they have. Pettifer has been a revelation this year - full credit to wallace

Madtiger's coaching rating of wallace - probably 9
Tigertime - probably 3

Bluehouse - 7

I am giving him 1 extra point for being new and getting to know the list

mighty tiges
15 Aug 2005, 20:46
I can't believe one Jeff Geischen has escaped blame. He was the one who gave up picks 8 and 24 (Bidders wasn't chucked in for free) for Hilton and Bidders not Spud.

My interpretation of what Wallace was saying is we traded away our future b/w 1998-2002 except for the 2000 draft. Even with Browny in 2003 we traded away a top 10 draft pick (Kepler Bradley). I don't know why Terry mentioned Pavlich as we didn't trade that pick away but chose Fiora over him although it was a example of us basing our selections on need at that time rather than picking up the best kid available. We wanted skilled runners back in 99 so went for Fiora.

A worse stat is that from the 97-99 and 2001-02 drafts (5 drafts equaling about 42 picks including rookies) we've ended up with just 6 players still at Punt Road. As coaches Geisch and Spud's stupidity left as soon as the door slammed shut behind them. However as recruiters their legacy will remain with us for at least a couple of years.

FrediKanoute
15 Aug 2005, 21:11

Wallace is. To say we would be a great team if we had pavlich. The afl is littered with stories like this. Its a cop out. Its absolute crap.

We dont have pavlich. We have the players that we have. Foley and Tambling on the bench. Graham running around like a goose. Stafford, the immobile full forward. Campbell chugging along. Newman one out in marking contests. Bowden shifted off of murphy. Hilton kept only because they didnt want to pay him out because of injury. kraks 3 year deal for nothing. Simmonds 5 year deal. Knobel - 2 year deal - useless.

We will be better in a year. We will be better in 2 years. This year we were crap. Pull your head out of the clouds and accept reality.

Just going to jump on board and butt in slightly. Wallace was quoted as saying when he left the doggies that he couldn't take the group any further and that essentially they lacked the talent to go anywhere. That same group (with a couple of additions) are still playing.

For Wallace to blame this season's slump on poor previous recruiting decisions is a cop out. After the start you guys had, to have a slide the way you have is disappointing. Your season like the doggies has been a rebuilding one. The loss of Brown has been a huge blow, but the disappointing fact for Tiger's fans is that the more experienced guys just haven't stepped up consistently. Simmonds, Knobel, Stafford have all been disappointing especially when the rot started to set in. Its these guys the coach should be turning to and saying pull your finger out and start playing good footy!!!!

Yze#13
15 Aug 2005, 22:42
perhaps their not good enough is the problem fredikanoute, that's why we are re-building our club with youngsters you see

tigerdan
15 Aug 2005, 22:56

Wallace may do it, but no more than Sheedy and Malthouse. Personally, I wasn't surprised because he is a manipulator of the media. Always putting 'spin' on news.

I'm sure you'd agree that the mess we find ourselves in stems from circa 2001 when we topped up on 'mature bodies' and the whole Frawley era where we drafted one genuine KPP with a low pick (Schulz).

It's going to be big players to replace Richardson and Gaspar that will determine how we go in the next few years. Our young onballers are as good as you could hope for with the picks we've had.

Dan

Yze#13
15 Aug 2005, 22:59
frawley has stated he didn't go for youth because he thought after 01' we were set to make a big run at a flag, boy was he wrong

smashm
15 Aug 2005, 23:19

Well Tigertime you must be the best coach and best recruiting officer in the caper you should come out of the closet and put your great talents to use and apply for all these positions that you seem to have the answers for. Imagine the money the club could save with you doing it all you to$$er

Bojangles17
15 Aug 2005, 23:42
ive gotta say i wasn't too keen on hearing this old re run and am surprised to say the least that TW wouldn't have been more diplomatic, for one our captain No 17 wouldn;t be running aroung if we had of picked up wells ....wonder how he feels right now!

Its old news, and there's f$^%^ all that can be done about it now. like complaining about your mother in law...just gotta live with it!

Sealen
15 Aug 2005, 23:57
Hindsight is a bitch, isn't it?

Weaver
16 Aug 2005, 00:22
I'm sure you'd agree that the mess we find ourselves in stems from circa 2001 when we topped up on 'mature bodies' and the whole Frawley era where we drafted one genuine KPP with a low pick (Schulz).

Yep we had two problems dovetailing into each other.

1. Too keep the fans happy, and to maintain some sense of 'respect' in the football world we wrote huge contracts for mediocre players (Daffy, Gaspar, Holland, Campbell, Richardson) and were heading for a salary cap nightmare.

2. Frawley didn't know what it took to be a premiership side and got it wrong two ways. Going for veteran bodies, and going for half-forwards.

Trading our way out of the 2001 draft was suicide. He wrote his own death warrant in that 2001 off season and we just left him to take the punches while we reshaped the team under him. He was kept on as a stooge for 2 years to take the heat.

Weaver
16 Aug 2005, 00:35
I can't believe one Jeff Geischen has escaped blame. He was the one who gave up picks 8 and 24 (Bidders wasn't chucked in for free) for Hilton and Bidders not Spud.

Bidders was chucked in for free. Under AFL rules every trade must include a player (can't be picks for picks) and so to make it happen we had to take a Geelong player. We had a look at the guys they were going to delist and got Bidders as the least worst of them.

The Hilton trade was nightmarish. Hilton was meant to be an elite centreman in the Coughlan style. He arrived at Richmond 10kg overweight (by his own admission) and never really got fit enough for the midfield.

Bentleigh
16 Aug 2005, 01:09
Bolton = gun
Kelly = gun
Pav = gun
Wells = gun

**shudder...**

tigertime
16 Aug 2005, 10:38
To take a different slant on what were really very sad excuses by wallace.

Lets say we did have pavlich instead of fiora.

Odds are he would have been delisted by now. The one thing richmond has done well over the last 10 years is take a good player with enormous potential and turn them into second rate hacks. We have had no player development over the last 10 years. Its too late for fiora, but what if when he was 18, he went to a good team. Who knows what a star he could have been with the right development.

1)Steely resolve?? We crumple at the first sign of opposition. We didnt last 2 seconds against st kilda. We collapsed against the western bulldogs of all teams? Not to mention wooden spoon carlton.

2)Senior players preference?? What a stupid philosophy. On one hand we are 1 year into a 5 year rebuilding phase. The next we are trying to help old hacks finish off their careers in the seniors.

3) Thats rubbish. All these players have earnt their spots. Their is no credit to Wallace regarding pettifer. He had a great year last year off the half back line. All credit goes to pettifer who has worked his but off.

I am a realist my rating is 5. -1 For his ridiculous insincere excuses as to why he couldnt get this team to perform to its potential.

Lets hope he does better next year. Anyone can coach a team of champions. Its what you do when you have a middle of the road list with some standouts that shows your real value as coach.

1) "He has done a remarkable job in putting a steely resolve into the team and to play a more attacking brand of football."

2) "his philosophy a the moment is to give the senior players preference of game time over the youngsters"

3) "If this wasn't the case then players such as hilton, pettifer and tivendale wouldn't have been given the game time that they have. Pettifer has been a revelation this year - full credit to wallace"

Madtiger's coaching rating of wallace - probably 9
Tigertime - probably 3

Bluehouse - 7

I am giving him 1 extra point for being new and getting to know the list

CoggaRules
16 Aug 2005, 14:25
frawley has stated he didn't go for youth because he thought after 01' we were set to make a big run at a flag, boy was he wrong

he was wrong witht he players "he" deemed as required, if it were TW in the drivers seat we would have had a flag in the bag.

Yze#13
16 Aug 2005, 16:12
i guess will never know that, considering it's in the past, but hopefully he leads us to one in the future:)

CoggaRules
16 Aug 2005, 16:25
i guess will never know that, considering it's in the past, but hopefully he leads us to one in the future:)

hopefully? looks like even the optimists are closet pessimists huh?

tigertRANCE
17 Aug 2005, 04:00
ive gotta say i wasn't too keen on hearing this old re run and am surprised to say the least that TW wouldn't have been more diplomatic, for one our captain No 17 wouldn;t be running aroung if we had of picked up wells ....wonder how he feels right now!

Its old news, and there's f$^%^ all that can be done about it now. like complaining about your mother in law...just gotta live with it!

and how upsetting that is. Having Johnson the hack instead of Wells. Johnson the great match winning, game-breaking gun of a captain that he is. Another beautiful legacy of spud the dud of duds of duds.

GO TIGES!!!

tiger of old
17 Aug 2005, 07:42
and how upsetting that is. Having Johnson the hack instead of Wells. Johnson the great match winning, game-breaking gun of a captain that he is. Another beautiful legacy of spud the dud of duds of duds.

GO TIGES!!!
Actually we could have had both Jonno and Wells playing at the club.

Yze#13
17 Aug 2005, 09:15
hopefully? looks like even the optimists are closet pessimists huh?

wtf? nothing the future is set in stone, can't guarantee will sucseed, but we've made a good start, go listen to some punk music and cry

Sedat!
17 Aug 2005, 19:25

Don't say we didn't warn you. Somewhere off in the distance, there are thousands of Bulldogs supporters nodding knowingly in sympathy, totally understanding your annoyed reaction to Teflon's remarkable ability to remember only the selective parts of history that paint him in the brightest possible light. He has his great points, but my word does he have some negatives as well. If it could absolve him of the merest skerrick of blame in front of a camera or microphone at any given moment, he would sell his Grandmother for a dollar.

17 Aug 2005, 19:52

GO TIGES!!!

Its worse than that my friend.

We could have traded Holland to the Crows the year before for Johnson but Frawley broke the deal. He went to Holland's house and begged him to stay and gave him a big salary increase as well.

Johnson deal was off as a result.

And what happened to Holland after that?

Frawley has to go down as having the absolute worst judgement in the history of league footy

oxx
17 Aug 2005, 19:58
Originally Posted by Weaver

Would have been great MAKING them all stay at the club against their own intentions,huh weaver?

lmao

JohnF
17 Aug 2005, 20:43
Our list at the moment is mediocre at best. Anyone that denies it is a tigertime (has their head, neck and torso up their clacker)

Wallace if anything has overachieved this year, not underachieved. On the whole he has been very good. Big deal that he came out in the media and said what every realistic supporter has been bit.ching about for the last 5 years.

Our drafting has been schithouse and that's why Frawley and Beck have been given the a.rse.

Barring more overachieving, don't be suprised if we end up bottom 4 next year as well, and possibly even the year after that. I think it's going to take Wallace a good 2 or 3 more years before we have a finals contending side.

Crumden
17 Aug 2005, 20:54
Its worse than that my friend.

We could have traded Holland to the Crows the year before for Johnson but Frawley broke the deal. He went to Holland's house and begged him to stay and gave him a big salary increase as well.

Johnson deal was off as a result.

And what happened to Holland after that?

Frawley has to go down as having the absolute worst judgement in the history of league footy
That one hurts 1980, but its not that simple either. Holland was the key to swinging the deal to get Brown to the club. Maybe we would have got Brown some other way, but who knows what would have happened.

1980GFVideo
17 Aug 2005, 20:59

No we do.

We hired the idiot to coach our club.

I wonder how many clubs were snickering when we announced him 6 years ago.

17 Aug 2005, 21:04
Our list at the moment is mediocre at best. Anyone that denies it is a tigertime (has their head, neck and torso up their clacker)

Wallace if anything has overachieved this year, not underachieved. On the whole he has been very good. Big deal that he came out in the media and said what every realistic supporter has been bit.ching about for the last 5 years.

Our drafting has been schithouse and that's why Frawley and Beck have been given the a.rse.

Barring more overachieving, don't be suprised if we end up bottom 4 next year as well, and possibly even the year after that. I think it's going to take Wallace a good 2 or 3 more years before we have a finals contending side.

here hear jf.

This is probably why your boy Wayne didnt play on for another year. The only ppl that think we can go straight from a wooden spoon to playing finals are those that dont know jack about footy or this footy club

17 Aug 2005, 21:06
No we do.

We hired the idiot to coach our club.

I wonder how many clubs were snickering when we announced him 6 years ago.

And how many were snickering when we made him the longest serving coach at the Richmond footy club.

I still shudder to think how many ppl on this board were saying we shouldnt sack him last year

17 Aug 2005, 21:08
That one hurts 1980, but its not that simple either. Holland was the key to swinging the deal to get Brown to the club. Maybe we would have got Brown some other way, but who knows what would have happened.

No it wasnt. What swung it was we paid Browny more than anyone else was prepared to and he nominated us as his preferred club. Irrespective, we had plenty of other duds to use instead of Holland

JohnF
17 Aug 2005, 21:15
here hear jf.

This is probably why your boy Wayne didnt play on for another year. The only ppl that think we can go straight from a wooden spoon to playing finals are those that dont know jack about footy or this footy club

Spot on.

And our situation is nothing like the Adelaide Crows who were crap last year and have shot up to the finals this year. Adelaide were underachieving and had blokes like McLeod disinterested and Goodwin injured. We on the otherhand have been fielding crap sides for a while and it has nothing to do with not maximising the player's potential. As we've seen with duds like Ottens, Fiora, Zantuck, they are duds no matter what environment they are placed in.

Our problem has been our bad drafting and bad drafting plans.

Wallace will correct this but it will take time.

Yze#13
17 Aug 2005, 21:18
Spot on.

And our situation is nothing like the Adelaide Crows who were crap last year and have shot up to the finals this year. Adelaide were underachieving and had blokes like McLeod disinterested and Goodwin injured. We on the otherhand have been fielding crap sides for a while and it has nothing to do with not maximising the player's potential. As we've seen with duds like Ottens, Fiora, Zantuck, they are duds no matter what environment they are placed in.

Our problem has been our bad drafting and bad drafting plans.

Wallace will correct this but it will take time.
ottens was meant to be something special and in his first 2 years showed some promise, boy ahs the train fallen off the tracks since tho

JohnF
17 Aug 2005, 21:22
ottens was meant to be something special and in his first 2 years showed some promise, boy ahs the train fallen off the tracks since tho

Yep, he has joined the multitude of others to go down as a one year wonder.

Yze#13
17 Aug 2005, 21:24
Yep, he has joined the multitude of others to go down as a one year wonder.
ohh well the tin man isn't our problem anymore, thanks for meyer and pattison geelong ahahaha

Truetiger
17 Aug 2005, 21:29
Wonder if this is why Krakouer is not as good. His mate and close friend Danny is no longer around.

and Andrew Krakouer ('he is going to be an absolute beauty') as two.

Danny were still waiting for this to Happen? Just goes to show how wrong you are once more!

Yze#13
17 Aug 2005, 21:31
******** coach, terrible commentator, makes robert walls look insightful

Crumden
17 Aug 2005, 21:35
No it wasnt. What swung it was we paid Browny more than anyone else was prepared to and he nominated us as his preferred club. Irrespective, we had plenty of other duds to use instead of Holland
Didn't matter how much we offered him, we still needed to swing the deal with the Bulldogs. While we had plenty of others duds, not many that clubs would have given pick 19 or 20 for. Hall was one shopped around, but he wouldn't go to Geelong. Anyway, it doesn't alter the fact that the decision to pay Holland heaps instead of swapping him for Johnson and a 2nd round draft pick was a poor one. It just shows there's a sliding doors effect that one decision may affect other future decisions, so all these 'what ifs' are ultimately pointless.

Yze#13
17 Aug 2005, 22:33
hall wanted to go to sydney, we couldn't find the right trade for him

bluehouse
18 Aug 2005, 00:36
John F i am a huge wallace fan but your dreamin mate

his match day coaching will have to improve next year

he is not giving players that are putting in more time than the duds in the team - because of seniority

frawley did this at his peril

the only difference is wallace has selected more youngsters

the use of foley has been poor - cost us both games imo

there is more depth in our list than you think - this will be proven in time and i think wallace's failure to utilise this in a ruthless manner has cost us a finals campaign this season

Truetiger
18 Aug 2005, 10:48

he is not giving players that are putting in more time than the duds in the team - because of seniority

there is more depth in our list than you think - this will be proven in time and i think wallace's failure to utilise this in a ruthless manner has cost us a finals campaign this season

I would of liked to see you do a better job. Like i have said many times even if we made the finals we would only be making up the numbers. With many players to be delisted at the end of this year. We will be better off for this over the next few years. Foley should have more game time yes? However we know this kid will be with us for awhile yet as he will be put on our list :D

Punt_Road_Roar
18 Aug 2005, 10:51
when someone keeps saying every year our list has more depth than they think or our list is much stronger than they have performed, eventually they will be right.

I have heard this for atleast the past 10 years and I'm still not convinced.

Our midfield will get better in time, our backline is still a concern but once the midfield starts improving it should have a flow on effect, but our forward line still isnt top 4 material and I still feel we rely on a few individuals too often.

Sure there is some positive things on the horizon but you only have to look at our past 10 years and just when you think its all turning around we land flat on our face.

I will give Wallace his full tenure before judging him, not sinking the boots in after 20 rounds like some people here want to do.

No wonder we get accused of eating our own.

CoggaRules
18 Aug 2005, 11:31
Sure there is some positive things on the horizon but you only have to look at our past 10 years and just when you think its all turning around we land flat on our face.

I will give Wallace his full tenure before judging him, not sinking the boots in after 20 rounds like some people here want to do.

No wonder we get accused of eating our own.

relax roar, it might be the case where there are tiger supporters that are smarting over, as you say, the last 10 years, and it might seem that they are bagging him, because we have had to endure culture change, and many have gone totally 100% the other way and think we need to tippy toe around, and others just want to keep the guy on his toes.
I am one of the latter, and i have said it before, if something doesnt quite fit the equation, in my thinking, then I feel I have to bring it to light, discuss it and maybe, just maybe, it might be positive, more likely be nothing, but it cant be a bad thing can it? You cant just give TW full and total acceptance until he has produced the goods can you?

Yes, we have 5 more games than last year, but that has come purely from the inclusion of a decent coach that brought plans and nouse to the table, as opposed to our last "coach". :rolleyes:
We have aquired 2 of the best youngsters on offer, a couple of ruckman, one of which has been giventhe keys to the city in Simmo, and pulled a couple of rabbits out of the hat, in Tuck, and although not as potent yet, Forcefield.
Its is a step inthe right direction yes, but we have made these kind of steps in the right direction before and all we want is for the next step to be in the same direction. Not the usual that has happened over the last decade or so.

IMO TW is open to scrutiny until he produces the goods.

Weaver
18 Aug 2005, 11:45
Would have been great MAKING them all stay at the club against their own intentions,huh weaver?

lmao

I have no problems with Zantuck, Ottens and Fiora being traded.

I do have a problem with Wallace saying that we have no 22-24 year olds. We chose to trade them. Wallace is trying to have it both ways. Boasting about the young draft picks, and moaning about missing the players we traded to get them.

You can't punch yourself in the head and complain that you have a headache, as I am sure you well know Ox.

Punt_Road_Roar
18 Aug 2005, 14:23
relax roar, it might be the case where there are tiger supporters that are smarting over, as you say, the last 10 years, and it might seem that they are bagging him, because we have had to endure culture change, and many have gone totally 100% the other way and think we need to tippy toe around, and others just want to keep the guy on his toes.
I am one of the latter, and i have said it before, if something doesnt quite fit the equation, in my thinking, then I feel I have to bring it to light, discuss it and maybe, just maybe, it might be positive, more likely be nothing, but it cant be a bad thing can it? You cant just give TW full and total acceptance until he has produced the goods can you?

Yes, we have 5 more games than last year, but that has come purely from the inclusion of a decent coach that brought plans and nouse to the table, as opposed to our last "coach". :rolleyes:
We have aquired 2 of the best youngsters on offer, a couple of ruckman, one of which has been giventhe keys to the city in Simmo, and pulled a couple of rabbits out of the hat, in Tuck, and although not as potent yet, Forcefield.
Its is a step inthe right direction yes, but we have made these kind of steps in the right direction before and all we want is for the next step to be in the same direction. Not the usual that has happened over the last decade or so.

IMO TW is open to scrutiny until he produces the goods.

Fair enough Cogga and you make some solid points.

But seriously before this season started where did you honestly think we would finish?

I had us down for bottom 4 and struggling. Perhaps our good first half to the season in hindsight was a bad thing inregards to inflating peoples expectations on where we are as a club.

Sure Wallace should be open to scrutiny, but is it really warranted after 20 weeks?

Unfortunately he makes silly comments such as as about having no mid aged players which he would have known about when taking the job, if he said it when he first walked into the place it wouldnt be an issue now would it? But tell me a coach who doesnt at some point make a silly or strange comment.

Look at Rodney Eade.... 6 weeks ago he said Fremantle were no good and not in the running for the finals, no matter how much i hate the Dorkers its the Dockers who the Dogs are now fighting for a place in the 8 with.

IMO its not tippy toeing around the issue its giving him a solid season which most of us had already written off before it had even started.

CoggaRules
18 Aug 2005, 14:43

But seriously before this season started where did you honestly think we would finish?

I had us down for bottom 4 and struggling. Perhaps our good first half to the season in hindsight was a bad thing inregards to inflating peoples expectations on where we are as a club.

Sure Wallace should be open to scrutiny, but is it really warranted after 20 weeks?

Unfortunately he makes silly comments such as as about having no mid aged players which he would have known about when taking the job, if he said it when he first walked into the place it wouldnt be an issue now would it?

Look at Rodney Eade.... 6 weeks ago he said Fremantle were no good and not in the running for the finals, no matter how much i hate the Dorkers its the Dockers who the Dogs are now fighting for a place in the 8 with.

IMO its not tippy toeing around the issue its giving him a solid season which most of us had already written off before it had even started.

To your first question, I am one of those that didnt care where we finished.
All i was interested in was who and where and when and how, who can dos and who cant dos, results didnt matter.

Which in effect for me, this season was, in the whole context of what I myself, was looking forward to, a little dissapointing, but thats for me personally.
There are surely the "cant do" variety in the side as we speak, but they are still there and i ask why are they there when whats the difference between a known "cant do" and a young kid that might trun out to be a "cant do" but might also turn out to be a "can do". I hope you follow my drift.

In answer to your Rocket look, I am totally with him on that, connelly is a protected species and for the type and quality of player that he has had to work with, during his tenure, he has made some monumental mistakes and forever and a day the dockers are "fighting" for 8th spot, instead of by now, cementing a top 4 spot. They are a reincarnation of us of 2001.

On the point about TW's comments about what ifs, apart from them being facts, it also might be that during the last few weeks,with injuries and missed opportunities in must win games, it most likley dawned on him that that is the exact player we needed. Who cares?? I dont.
All his politenesss towards the inept ex coachm, is purely that politeness, but over the year, if you listened closely to him, to me it seemed,there was always an underlying theme to TWs words, that spelt, "DUD"!!!!!!!

Truetiger
18 Aug 2005, 14:48
All we can say is we would not have Deledio If Frawley was not with us last season. So a SPECIAL thanks to Danny for stuffing up this club enough to get the best player in the draft.

Punt_Road_Roar
18 Aug 2005, 14:57
To your first question, I am one of those that didnt care where we finished.
All i was interested in was who and where and when and how, who can dos and who cant dos, results didnt matter.

Which in effect for me, this season was, in the whole context of what I myself, was looking forward to, a little dissapointing, but thats for me personally.
There are surely the "cant do" variety in the side as we speak, but they are still there and i ask why are they there when whats the difference between a known "cant do" and a young kid that might trun out to be a "cant do" but might also turn out to be a "can do". I hope you follow my drift.

In answer to your Rocket look, I am totally with him on that, connelly is a protected species and for the type and quality of player that he has had to work with, during his tenure, he has made some monumental mistakes and forever and a day the dockers are "fighting" for 8th spot, instead of by now, cementing a top 4 spot. They are a reincarnation of us of 2001.

On the point about TW's comments about what ifs, apart from them being facts, it also might be that during the last few weeks,with injuries and missed opportunities in must win games, it most likley dawned on him that that is the exact player we needed. Who cares?? I dont.
All his politenesss towards the inept ex coachm, is purely that politeness, but over the year, if you listened closely to him, to me it seemed,there was always an underlying theme to TWs words, that spelt, "DUD"!!!!!!!

:D excellent view.

I'm no way a supporter whose head is in the clouds, Hell I was one of the pricks whose foot was on frawleys head last year when everyone else was kicking him when he was down.

I guess after the past 3 years though I'm a bit more reserved in regards to expecting big things from the RFC, where you seem to be 'strange it may sound' more into seeing positives and improving on those and if you see a negative bring it up.

I'm just a stage now that I'm not going to get my hopes up until the club has proven itself and I'm not as hyped up when we stuff up. Sure I'll defend us when idiotic hawk and dog supporters invade our threads but I fear that we as a team are a good 4 years off from being a really good competitive side.

Which is basically what Wallace said when he first took the gig.

CoggaRules
18 Aug 2005, 15:07
I'm just a stage now that I'm not going to get my hopes up until the club has proven itself and I'm not as hyped up when we stuff up. Sure I'll defend us when idiotic hawk and dog supporters invade our threads but I fear that we as a team are a good 4 years off from being a really good competitive side.

Which is basically what Wallace said when he first took the gig.

yeah, but we all want things to happen yesterday, its the nature of the beast that is called a tiger supporter, and when you talk "culture change" you also have to talk what "culture change" brings out of impatient tiger supporters. Surely they didnt think that eveyone was going to sit back and watch politely? There is a thing called passion that is also part of that culture that they are looking to change, and that transforms into impatience.
Thats my take anyway.

18 Aug 2005, 16:35

Unfortunately he makes silly comments such as as about having no mid aged players which he would have known about when taking the job, if he said it when he first walked into the place it wouldnt be an issue now would it? But tell me a coach who doesnt at some point make a silly or strange comment.

Good point PRR. But Wallace has opened himself up to the ferals by making this claim now instead of at the start of the season.

I said as much a few weeks back that he wasnt dampening expectations when we were flogging Carlton and Collingwood and even the bombers and saying dont get too excited cause we are still 3 years away from where we need to be. You only get those comments from him when the Saints or Cats flog us.

For mine, being competitive this year against sides like your mates at the Eagles and coming from behind against Port are the signs i want to see from the club this year and next.

JohnF
18 Aug 2005, 17:01

On the whole he has been good in his selections and match day coaching.

Sure he's made some mistakes, but he's done way more good than bad. He has played a lot of senior guys that sometimes didn't deserve to be in the side, but the way I was looking at it, it was more to protect the kids and not feed them to the wolves when they weren't up to it as yet.

But I guess what's making me be kind to Wallace above everything else is that I don't rate our list that much. If I did, I would be disappointed with how the year has panned out and looking to blame Wallace. But I thought we were massively overachiving at the start of the year and I had us down for bottom four and so anything higher than that has been a bonus.

Crumden
18 Aug 2005, 18:14
No doubt he has been saying all year what a shambles the former regime left behind. Whenever the press bother to analyse what he is saying he just shrugs it off as "I was talking about the flaking paint on the ceiling". But the only one dumb enough to believe that's what he was really talking about is Frawley. Everyone else just nods in agreement.