View Full Version : Our club is *****ed in the head!!!!
Today's goings on are an absolute disgrace!!! I am ashamed to be an a member of a club that treats its players (and former club champions) with such contempt!! Dimma has served our club with distinction and this is how we repay him?? I am *****ing pissed off with the whole club. We continue to pay the likes of McAllister et al. but get rid of our heart and soul!!
Dimma bleeds red and black...and what did we get in return?? Didley SQUAT!!! *****en draft pick!! ***** that right off!!!
I am mad!!! They can all go and get *****ed!!! :mad:
Dimma...you were my favourite player, a loyal servent, and you will be sorely missed. I wish you well in your future endevours at the Port Adelaide Football Club! :(
As for the Essendon Football Club... :mad::mad:
Same Old's
9 Oct 2001, 18:33
Hardwick's at least worth a first round draft pick! And we should have got French.
Not happy. Why is daniel mcalister still around? Can't the sheep ****er just piss off.
its disgusting how they treated him,they get rid of a great clubman and keep the crap like mcalister.......its not right at all:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
windyhill
9 Oct 2001, 18:57
I will be watching the two boys we draft from these picks very closely.I will give them a chance,time to develop.....
Very p!ssed off,
What really annoys me is, clubs constantly preach the importance of players showing loyalty. Very rarely do clubs show it to players like Dimma, champions who do everything their club asks of them. Some people have short f*ckin' memories, Dimma bled for us and is shown the door, f*ckin' disgrace!
Absolutely f*ckin' disgusted the way this...not to mention the Misiti ballsup...has been handled. The Essendon Footy Club needs to have a GHLAI. Letter on it's way to club.
The whole "trading period" thing has to be seriously looked at, it's a f*ckin' blot on the game.
:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
where's wally?
That bites! I love the Essendon Football club, but there are times when I get extremely pissed off with it!
Can anyone tell me what we got for him (I haven't had any news today), were there any other trades involving Essendon?
Originally posted by aggels
That bites! I love the Essendon Football club, but there are times when I get extremely pissed off with it!
Can anyone tell me what we got for him
picks 31 and 47 in the national draft
Originally posted by Macca19
picks 31 and 47 in the national draft
Thanks Macca.
That's an absolute disgrace!
Umm, is Misiti going to enter the National draft? Could be handy for WC.
walshy1993
9 Oct 2001, 22:33
Originally posted by jod23
Umm, is Misiti going to enter the National draft? Could be handy for WC.
hands off
here is an idea, develop your own local talent
Pornstar
9 Oct 2001, 23:42
I agree with you all 100%. Hardwick in my opinion was the player with the most heart and soul at the club that would put his body on the line every single time without fail. Definitely the one guy you would pick out of the team to have with you in the trenches. To see him not only get traded, but to an interstate club, where he has to pack up and leave his home really makes me sick to my stomach.
Hate to say this but i hope Dimma plays a *****en blinder when Port play Essendon next year and makes the co(kheads that thought his time at the club was up cringe at just how *****en stupid they are.
A sad, sad day.:(
Same Old's
10 Oct 2001, 00:29
Didn't Richmond give pick No. 17 for Stafford? If that's correct, Hardwick should have been worth a No.1 draft pick! He's alot better than Stafford.
Originally posted by walshy1993
hands off
here is an idea, develop your own local talent
Yeah ok because we all know all your Essendon players are strictly from the suburb of Essendon :rolleyes:
Smokin is ;)
Adrian, whilst I share your frustration at what's happened and am pissed off to see Dimma leaving, what else could the club do? With the salary cap restraints we were never going to keep everyone.
Originally posted by Same Old's
Didn't Richmond give pick No. 17 for Stafford? If that's correct, Hardwick should have been worth a No.1 draft pick! He's alot better than Stafford.
Yes, but that deal also saw Sydney take Nick Daffy and his contract over from Richmond. As he's on about 400K a year pick 17 was compensation for having to do that.
Stealth bomber
10 Oct 2001, 08:40
What a disaster.
Doesn't bode well for a team that has just lost a Grand Final which is trying to build a dynasty.
It's no secret to anyone that some players have to go for salary cap reasons, but I had always pegged Hardwick as an "untouchable", Guess I was wrong.
Has McAlister done anything worthwhile at the club? I watched him in a VFL match and he got a bath.
Bloodstained Angel
10 Oct 2001, 09:17
Daffy is not getting 400 thousand a year at Sydney
In fact he will be on slightly less than half that.
Please do not think that if it is written in the Herald Sun it is the truth.
cheers
So he agreed to a pay cut? I'm going on what a tiger fans I work with have said btw, not the HUN ;)
BUBBALOUIS
10 Oct 2001, 11:04
Originally posted by Dave
So he agreed to a pay cut? I'm going on what a tiger fans I work with have said btw, not the HUN ;)
Dave, Richmond are paying the shortfall in his contract next season from what the Swans are paying ... reprtedly $200k pa and what his original contract was , reportedly $400k .... the Swans wouldnt have taken him otherwise .....
OK, the guys here reckon they aren't paying anything. Is there a website I can point them to that will disabuse them of their folly? ;)
In any case, he's not worth anywhere near 400K. If he is I'm worth at least 50 cents.
BUBBALOUIS
10 Oct 2001, 12:25
Originally posted by Dave
OK, the guys here reckon they aren't paying anything. Is there a website I can point them to that will disabuse them of their folly? ;)
In any case, he's not worth anywhere near 400K. If he is I'm worth at least 50 cents.
Dave ill pay a buck for ya, but you have to wear a brown and gold footy jumper with an i love Crawf badge ...... deal?
LOL! When hell freezes over I'll consider it ;)
eastaugh36
10 Oct 2001, 14:59
Originally posted by topdon
Today's goings on are an absolute disgrace!!! I am ashamed to be an a member of a club that treats its players (and former club champions) with such contempt!! Dimma has served our club with distinction and this is how we repay him?? I am *****ing pissed off with the whole club. We continue to pay the likes of McAllister et al. but get rid of our heart and soul!!
Dimma bleeds red and black...and what did we get in return?? Didley SQUAT!!! *****en draft pick!! ***** that right off!!!
I am mad!!! They can all go and get *****ed!!! :mad:
Dimma...you were my favourite player, a loyal servent, and you will be sorely missed. I wish you well in your future endevours at the Port Adelaide Football Club! :(
As for the Essendon Football Club... :mad::mad:
Its not the clubs fault ! What are you on about ????
The fact is that they had to let one star player go to stay under the salary cap, it has been highlighted for the past few months that it was going to happen, blame the AFL, we build up a strong list and then we have to get rid of players, the reason hardwick went is because he is on a high salary compared to a guy like mcallister who will probably be delisted anyway, just dont blame the club !!!!!!!!!
Easty...i'm disappointed with the Essendon Football Club in the way they acted throughout the trading and pre-trading period. They were throwing names up left, right and centre and have turned their back on the loyalty that those players have shown (by agreeing to contracts for less etc).
I understand the situation re: salary cap, but that doesn't excuse the way that the EFC has acted during this period! :(
Santos L Helper
10 Oct 2001, 23:38
I feel sorry for you guys, but I'm over the moon to see Dimma at Port. I've been telling my mates for a couple of seasons that I'd kill to see him in a Power jumper and now I get my wish (and without having to kill anybody).
The Advertiser had a story today where Dimma states that he knows how much he can bring to Port and that his acquisition will free up more midfielders for us. Reading between the lines, it seems like he's coming over here with something to prove, which makes him even more valuable.
I'm also surprised he didn't cost us more.
Yeah well we were over a barrel with the salary cap. According to our ceo "the other clubs didn't do us any favours" so it doesn't surprise me. Of course two rookies on minimum wage are probably better than a player on 200K.....
What goes around comes around though. I'm sure the club will remember what happened this year should other clubs find themselves (and they will) in similar situations in the future.
eastaugh36
11 Oct 2001, 09:15
Originally posted by topdon
Easty...i'm disappointed with the Essendon Football Club in the way they acted throughout the trading and pre-trading period. They were throwing names up left, right and centre and have turned their back on the loyalty that those players have shown (by agreeing to contracts for less etc).
I understand the situation re: salary cap, but that doesn't excuse the way that the EFC has acted during this period! :(
yeah but the fact was that we had to let go either a hardwick,misiti or mercuri etc. they bandied the names around to try and get a good trade in exchange which didnt happen because other clubs made life hard, but what goes around comes around.
My concern is there was no ruckman traded for and sheedy said he would get faster midfielders to help out blake,heffernan etc. we didnt get those either !
Topdon.
:mad:
Think about it for a minute. It is not Essendon's fault. We didn't want to get rid of Hardwick. But the system (i.e the salary cap) stipulated that we had to or cop another fine. We pick up two draft picks for a 29 year old.
You seem to be criticising the club for staying within the rules. What do you want us to do? Cheat?
I'm sure the club would love to have all the top players on our list but that isn't possible. You should realise that. The club no doubt, had a difficult decision to make, and it isn't their fault. Blame the AFL, not Essendon.
It's easy to be critical from the outsdie, but often, we need to imagine what the club is going through. Think from their point of view Topdon. Hardwick is a quality player but, at 29, he may only have 2 good years left.
Even though I wanted to keep Hardwick, I am not critical of the club for the decision, because the decison was partly made for them, via the salary cap. There's not much Essendon can do ... it's all about damage control, and generally we came out of it okay.
Porthos
11 Oct 2001, 14:54
Picks 31 and 47 aren't a terrible deal for Essendon, but not a great one either. If you remember....Che Cockatoo-Collins for pick #23 (I think) looked like a good deal for Port.....its taken three years for it to come ripe.....maybe Essendon know something about Hardwick's physical condition that Port don't.
That said, Hardwick's been my 2nd fave Essendon player (Lloyd the fave) for years, and its great to have him at Port. Thanks guys ;)
Grave Danger
11 Oct 2001, 16:48
You can't blame it on the AFL! Sure, they impose the salary cap, but it's the same for all clubs. No, blame the players and their managers for asking for more than can be delivered and the Essendon FC heirarchy for giving in to them.
They must know when they settle on contracts that pay more in the later years that if all the players remain at the club then they will blow the salary cap. They just gamble on one or more of them being traded away before their contract expires.
And for all the wailing about their mates by the likes of Hird and Lloyd, they are the ones cuasing the squeeze. Sure, they are being paid their 'market value' (Hird probably less), but their money comes straight out of the pockets of their team mates.
Mouldy Oldie
13 Oct 2001, 11:48
Damien Hardwicke goes to Port. Upshot of that is Port gains one the hardest players in football. I'm a Lions supporter, but also a fan of Damien Hardwicke. Plays tough week in, week out. Never gets the accolades he deserves, although after reading the posts on this thread, there is obviously a lot of support for the man. IMO it will make Port that much stronger next year, therefore that much tougher to beat. Good luck to the guy & I'm sure he will be just as tough & loyal to Port as he was to the Bombers.
Stegelator
13 Oct 2001, 12:11
I am disappointed that Hardwick is going to Port. But that dosen't stop the fact that if we want to trade we have to trade good players! it's as simple as that! McAllister will probably get the sack.
Please don't reply saying why Dima? Cause I am thinking the same thing! But The Club will move on! And you should as well
Originally posted by Grave Danger
You can't blame it on the AFL! Sure, they impose the salary cap, but it's the same for all clubs. No, blame the players and their managers for asking for more than can be delivered and the Essendon FC heirarchy for giving in to them.
They must know when they settle on contracts that pay more in the later years that if all the players remain at the club then they will blow the salary cap. They just gamble on one or more of them being traded away before their contract expires.
And for all the wailing about their mates by the likes of Hird and Lloyd, they are the ones cuasing the squeeze. Sure, they are being paid their 'market value' (Hird probably less), but their money comes straight out of the pockets of their team mates.
Love the Hafey quote...but check out that last year Hird did a deal to get less up front to ease the cap as did LLoyd I think and this year almost all agreed to take less. {I know they are still making heaps and If I never hear the name Weinburg again it will be too soon!]
It burns me that this is going on with the Tiges too and this year Brisbane gets 550,000 to a mill more to keep together. I know a coupla players here in Sydney and they say they have "no worries mate" when it comes to salaries.
Porthos
15 Oct 2001, 15:58
10% extra in the salary cap sure is a sizeable bonus to Sydney & Brisbane, combined with the other perks.
walshy1993
15 Oct 2001, 16:08
Originally posted by Porthos
If you remember....Che Cockatoo-Collins for pick #23 (I think) looked like a good deal for Port.....its taken three years for it to come ripe.....
that wasnt a great deal for essendon though
if i remember correctly, essendon and in particular kevin sheedy wanted jarrod schofield who you had just traded for scott cummings that week
but port didnt want to let him go
with the draft pick we got for che, i think we drafted chris ladhams, who did nothing at essendon and is now at the crows
Porthos
15 Oct 2001, 16:25
that wasnt a great deal for essendon though
if i remember correctly, essendon and in particular kevin sheedy wanted jarrod schofield who you had just traded for scott cummings that week
but port didnt want to let him go
with the draft pick we got for che, i think we drafted chris ladhams, who did nothing at essendon and is now at the crows
You can't actually on-trade players....by the time we had Schofield, that was it, he was at Port. As for the Che deal not being good for Essendon, it was still pretty good at the time, considering his inconsistency for Essendon.....of course, at the end of this year, Port are looking like winners ;)
walshy1993
15 Oct 2001, 22:15
Originally posted by Porthos
You can't actually on-trade players....by the time we had Schofield, that was it, he was at Port. As for the Che deal not being good for Essendon, it was still pretty good at the time, considering his inconsistency for Essendon.....of course, at the end of this year, Port are looking like winners ;)
i didnt mean it as port ontrading schofield, i worded it wrong
the three way deal was, cummings to wce, schofield to ess and che to port
but port pulled out and took a straight swap for cummings
leaving essendon to take what was left for che
Porthos
16 Oct 2001, 00:35
geez, I'm glad they did. :)
Tredders#16
16 Oct 2001, 17:07
Easy to say this in hindsight, but u can't really blame the trade for the Bombers getting Ladhams. The draft can be a lottery at times.
Che has been good for us this year, but he could have been playing country footy somewhere as Port were gonna delist him at the end of last season. I guess u win some, u lose some. I'm just happy that we seem to win more than we lose as far as trading and drafting goes!
By the way, did everyone kick up as much of a stink over Ilia Grgic at Essendon as they do over McAlister??? I can't say I've ever seen the latter play, but surely he is better for the club than the other hack!?!
Tredders#16
Originally posted by Tredders#16
By the way, did everyone kick up as much of a stink over Ilia Grgic at Essendon as they do over McAlister??? I can't say I've ever seen the latter play, but surely he is better for the club than the other hack!?!
Tredders#16
Grgic was around for about a year and was ****ed off. McAlister has been here for a few years and done sweet **** all. He should be shown the door. Useless footballer.
blakesgal33
23 Oct 2001, 09:08
Originally posted by Dan25
Topdon.
:mad:
Think about it for a minute. It is not Essendon's fault. We didn't want to get rid of Hardwick. But the system (i.e the salary cap) stipulated that we had to or cop another fine. We pick up two draft picks for a 29 year old.
You seem to be criticising the club for staying within the rules. What do you want us to do? Cheat?
I'm sure the club would love to have all the top players on our list but that isn't possible. You should realise that. The club no doubt, had a difficult decision to make, and it isn't their fault. Blame the AFL, not Essendon.
It's easy to be critical from the outsdie, but often, we need to imagine what the club is going through. Think from their point of view Topdon. Hardwick is a quality player but, at 29, he may only have 2 good years left.
Even though I wanted to keep Hardwick, I am not critical of the club for the decision, because the decison was partly made for them, via the salary cap. There's not much Essendon can do ... it's all about damage control, and generally we came out of it okay.
I totally agree with you once again Dan25 but I am not getting annoyed at Topdon though. You just made a good point that's all :)
blakesgal33
23 Oct 2001, 09:11
Originally posted by M29
Grgic was around for about a year and was ****ed off. McAlister has been here for a few years and done sweet **** all. He should be shown the door. Useless footballer.
Now that isn't nice M29. If Macca only got the chance to play in the seniors he'd be a good player. You shouldn't bag him because it isn't his fault.
Has anyone got an update on the Misiti situation, the Bombers site hasn't got anything new about it, not knowing if he is staying with the Bombers is killing me. :(
Yeah i can update you Sandie. :)
Joe has asked for an extra day to decide whether to accept the deal offered by the Bombers, or nominate for the draft.
Hope his choice is the former.
Thanks for that Adrian,
Why the hell does he need another day, doesn't he know what torture he is putting us fans through.:(
Please stay Joey we love you.:D
Originally posted by blakesgal33
Now that isn't nice M29. If Macca only got the chance to play in the seniors he'd be a good player. You shouldn't bag him because it isn't his fault.
McAlister has had how many years to crack about 3 senior games?
The guy is a dud. An epitome of the word "USELESS".
gPhonque
24 Oct 2001, 18:00
Originally posted by M29
McAlister has had how many years to crack about 3 senior games?
The guy is a dud. An epitome of the word "USELESS".
Yeah, so was Kevin Walsh........
Christ, give the kid a bloody chance. It's not the easiest side in the country to walk into.....
Originally posted by gPhonque
Christ, give the kid a bloody chance. It's not the easiest side in the country to walk into.....
He can't even get it right in the VFL side. He was comming up for selection again this season, but fortunately, he did the right thing by us and got himself suspended for 2 matches. He's had his chances and should be dropped off.
blakesgal33
25 Oct 2001, 16:19
Originally posted by gPhonque
I totally agree with you gPhonque.. At last someone sees things how I see them..