View Full Version : Nth Gippsland Football League

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Groenwegen
22nd August 2005, 20:06
With finals coming up and living in the west its very hard to get info on whats happening with country footy in Vic. I intend to start a few threads where I have an interest to get some idea whats happening come finals time.

I believe NGFL finals start this weekend. Anyone willing to predict the premiers. I think the final five was Cowarr, Heyfield, Churchill, Rosedale, Gormandale.

Early this year on BF someone posted that Heyfield would struggle, I thought that was early call, it looks as though they have a bit of form coming into Finals. Is Mark Stevens going to play in finals? An interesting feature, a AFL player returning to a minor league and playing finals the same year as played AFL.

I believe Cowarr has been on top all year, they wouldnt have won a flag for a long time and if get up it would be a huge effort by a small rown. I think they are coached by a guy who played in 4 premierships with Heyfield, so could be a bit of rivalry between 2 clubs. Watched a cowarr and heyfield game in early 90's that was very physical.

Has Churchill last years premiers got a chance. What about Rosedale and Gormandale.

Any predictions for premier

harsh, but fair
23rd August 2005, 20:06
Heyfield knocked over Churchill in the qualifying final last Saturday to set up a clash with Cowwarr this week.
No love lost between these two teams I can assure you.
The Roos are peaking nicely for another crack at a flag and last weekend Mark Stevens booted seven from chf.
He is determined to play in a flag with one of his brothers, I think Andrew is his name.
Mark loves the club and has never forgotten where he started out.
Cowwarr is coached by David Ivey who did play for Heyfield, yes.
He would have been a been a bit nervous watching Stevo bang a couple through from beyond 50m on the weekend.

Doona2
23rd August 2005, 22:04
My club (Yea) picked up a bloke from Stratford, Mark Nicholls in June. Do any NGFL followers know much about him. Nicho has slotted nicely into our midefield and has been a great clubman both on and off the field since him and the family moved to Yea. Also David Ivey - any relation to the Ivey's from Yea?

Stafford678
23rd August 2005, 22:17
nicholls is a good cricketer too, he wouldnt have looked very good playing at stratford as they are crap, they get done by a lot everytime a win for them is to get probably under a 70-50 point loss

Stoney
24th August 2005, 17:16
Sale City will win the flag next season - it's a hottip that Damien Birss and co. will retire from Heyfield next season and Mark Stevens will be gone, Szabo is gettin' older and has less of an influence each season and Burrage isn't having an influence that made him such a good player...

Sale City have proven they can mix it with Churchil (beat them by 4-5goals round 1, lost by 6 points second time we played them down there) and Rosedale (lost by 5 goals missing 8 of our best 10 players, then beating them by 5 or so the second time we played them).

Considering the City had the average youngest senior team in the comp, the Bulldogs will go very close in 2006!

Stafford678
24th August 2005, 19:13
birssy wont be retiring anytime soon, he's been saying he is going to play on for a while more, Stevens is back for another year i think

Groenwegen
24th August 2005, 21:28
Sale City will win the flag next season - it's a hottip that Damien Birss and co. will retire from Heyfield next season and Mark Stevens will be gone, Szabo is gettin' older and has less of an influence each season and Burrage isn't having an influence that made him such a good player...

Sale City have proven they can mix it with Churchil (beat them by 4-5goals round 1, lost by 6 points second time we played them down there) and Rosedale (lost by 5 goals missing 8 of our best 10 players, then beating them by 5 or so the second time we played them).

Considering the City had the average youngest senior team in the comp, the Bulldogs will go very close in 2006!

Big call at this time of the year, where did they finish this year, who is the coach and whats his background.

Stoney
26th August 2005, 09:54
City finished 6th, however we mixed it with all top teams this yr except for Heyfield who are getting older and slower every season ... the games they lost were against teams that were taken very lightly (ie - TTU, Gormondale, Rosedale etc.) - as soon as the magic switch is turned on and the boys concentrate against teams who arnt as significant as Heyfield and co. they will go very close.

Coach is Ken Holmes ... led Heyfield to a threepeat in the late 90's, that itself should say enough.

Groenwegen
26th August 2005, 10:27
City finished 6th, however we mixed it with all top teams this yr except for Heyfield who are getting older and slower every season ... the games they lost were against teams that were taken very lightly (ie - TTU, Gormondale, Rosedale etc.) - as soon as the magic switch is turned on and the boys concentrate against teams who arnt as significant as Heyfield and co. they will go very close.

Coach is Ken Holmes ... led Heyfield to a threepeat in the late 90's, that itself should say enough.

Is this the same Ken Holmes who got the sack from Myrtleford half way through season a couple of years back, from memory I dont think he was to popular there and led Myrtleford to being the chopping block of O&M for a couple of years. I think he has coached a number of clubs, but not many long term.

Your post also seems a bit arrogant saying they didnt concentrate against teams as significant as Heyfield, could the other clubs say the same thing. My sources tell me Sale City spent big on players this year and would be very disappointed with the return they got from their outlay.

Stoney
26th August 2005, 11:16
Arrogant? how is that arrogant, dude im just telling it like it is ... we didn't switch on for the games where we played off against teams, if we did we would be sitting in a much healither position this yr - the games we were expected to win we didn't, and thats why im sitting here stuffing around on bigfooty boards rather than preparing to play finals footy in 05

Groenwegen
11th April 2006, 21:11

ATTN STONEY, just wondering whether you want to update on the above prediction. My sources tell me that Sale City will be lucky to make finals and there is rumblins re coach as per his past his experiences.

joshooaa
18th April 2006, 14:35
ATTN STONEY, just wondering whether you want to update on the above prediction. My sources tell me that Sale City will be lucky to make finals and there is rumblins re coach as per his past his experiences.

Cowwar with some very good pick ups to win the flag from Rosedale

Stoney
24th April 2006, 13:26
Hahah - yeh well what can i say? everyone is optimistic the week after the season finishes!!!

now that we're through the pre season and into the action i can confirm that sale city just dont have what it takes with this group of players win the flag.

after a dissappointing loss to G'dale in week 1, the Bulldogs bounced back to defeat Churchill by 15 points on Saturday.

Losses of Ryan Murphy, Kade Murphy and Ryan Heywood (past 2 B&F's winner/last yr's leading goal kicker) hurt the club in the off season.

Sale City still a good chance to play finals football, but difficult to tell whether we can mix it with the powerhouses - Cowaarr, Rosedale and Heyfield.

Rumours Adrian Cox may be doing the "Mark Stevens" ... qualifying for finals then winning the flag for Heyfield - would be good to see another Ex-AFL player in the league - hopefully this rumour has some truth.

grayza
24th April 2006, 13:32
Cox coming back would be the only chance Heyfield has

Cowwarr have the flag wrapped up almost

and good to see Stratford showing a bit more competitiveness so far this season under Nick Anderson

joshooaa
24th April 2006, 15:47
Hahah - yeh well what can i say? everyone is optimistic the week after the season finishes!!!

now that we're through the pre season and into the action i can confirm that sale city just dont have what it takes with this group of players win the flag.

after a dissappointing loss to G'dale in week 1, the Bulldogs bounced back to defeat Churchill by 15 points on Saturday.

Losses of Ryan Murphy, Kade Murphy and Ryan Heywood (past 2 B&F's winner/last yr's leading goal kicker) hurt the club in the off season.

Sale City still a good chance to play finals football, but difficult to tell whether we can mix it with the powerhouses - Cowaarr, Rosedale and Heyfield.

Rumours Adrian Cox may be doing the "Mark Stevens" ... qualifying for finals then winning the flag for Heyfield - would be good to see another Ex-AFL player in the league - hopefully this rumour has some truth.

Cox is playing at Lilydale. I saw him play against Eltham in a practice match a few weeks back. He is fat.

swans12
25th February 2007, 13:46
A guy transfered to our region from Boisdale in your league.

Nick Bedgood.

Any playing info? Position ability size age etc

Hows he go?

Mobbenfuhrer
19th April 2007, 16:51
What's the status with NGFL, started? Starting? Who's up there? Churchill? Cowarr? TTU? Haven't heard a word.

Stafford678
25th April 2007, 01:11
2 rounds have been completed

Heyfield has beaten both TTU and Rosedale

Churchill and Sale City both have 2 wins

wingnut1969
27th April 2007, 18:47
heyfield will win flag in 1sts & 2nds

Mobbenfuhrer
28th April 2007, 10:16
Sale City back and doing ok, eh?

bomberlegend2007
28th April 2007, 16:08
Mobbenfuhrer what do you think of Glengarry and TTU

Mobbenfuhrer
28th April 2007, 16:28
Mobbenfuhrer what do you think of Glengarry and TTU

Asking the wrong bloke! I just once read a Cowwarr FC history book!

Mobbenfuhrer
29th April 2007, 13:56
Just grabbing this off the herald sun website

NORTH GIPPSLAND:
Cowwarr 14.11 d Glengarry 12.11
Churchill 14.14 d Sale City 5.5
Traralgon Tyers United 11.9 d Stratford 9.11
Heyfield 18.12 d Boisdale Briagolong 8.9
Gormandale 10.10 d Rosedale 7.10

Cowwarr 13.15 d Glengarry 3.7
Churchill 7.14 d Sale City 4.7
Traralgon Tyers United 23.14 d Stratford 3.2
Heyfield 17.12 d Boisdale Briagolong 10.5
Gormandale 11.9 d Rosedale 6.9

U-18:
Glengarry 15.13 d Cowwarr 1.12
Sale City 14.13 d Churchill 2.5
Traralgon Tyers United 9.5 d Stratford 4.4
Boisdale Briagolong 12.4 d Heyfield 6.3
Rosedale 12.10 d Gormandale 4.6.

jcraw1
1st May 2007, 21:16
is Brett Szabo still at Heyfield? He's too good for that league

bomberlegend2007
13th May 2007, 18:19
Nth Gippsland

Cowwarr 23.13 d Sale City 4.14,
Churchill 17.15 d Traralgon Tyers Utd 3.4,
Heyfield 19.24 d Stratford 2.6,
Rosedale 20.17 d Boisdale Briagolong 5.9,
Gormandale 18.15 d Glengarry 6.8

crackerjacks
24th May 2007, 20:58
There is a young bloke playing with glengarry named Dean brooks does anyone know how he is going ?

spudley14
31st May 2007, 19:15
is Brett Szabo still at Heyfield? He's too good for that league
nah he retired

spudley14
31st May 2007, 19:18
A guy transfered to our region from Boisdale in your league.

Nick Bedgood.

Any playing info? Position ability size age etc

Hows he go?
i think he plays in the ruck and up forward, he mostly plays in the 2nds but has played games in the 1sts. about 23 or 24 years old

pol06
10th June 2007, 10:37
a weak competition. if sale city was to play the sale magpies reserves the maggies would win by 5-10 goals

TOKE
12th June 2007, 17:09
been watching this young champ, brenton hodge from heyfield, deffently a new rising star for the year. back from an ankle injury i'm sure he will dominate all round the gound. will he be the difference in wiing the flag.
any thoughts....?

spudley14
12th June 2007, 18:20
been watching this young champ, brenton hodge from heyfield, deffently a new rising star for the year. back from an ankle injury i'm sure he will dominate all round the gound. will he be the difference in wiing the flag.
any thoughts....?
hes playing 2nds i think mate, unless thats what your talking about

Cameo King II
13th June 2007, 22:18
Met a bloke on the weekend, tall guy, wiry, big mop of hair. Called himself "The Squizz". His real name was Geoff Taylor. Reckons he played in 2 of Heyfield's flags?!?! Seemed like a nice bloke and all but a footballer? Can anyone confirm. Thanks

spudley14
14th June 2007, 14:55
Met a bloke on the weekend, tall guy, wiry, big mop of hair. Called himself "The Squizz". His real name was Geoff Taylor. Reckons he played in 2 of Heyfield's flags?!?! Seemed like a nice bloke and all but a footballer? Can anyone confirm. Thanks
Squizzy Taylor, he did play in 2 of the flags was a ruckman i think

bomberlegend2007
14th August 2007, 18:47
Churchill 17 16 1 0 1746 829 210.62% 64
Heyfield 17 15 2 0 1766 876 201.60% 60
Rosedale 17 12 5 0 1807 853 211.84% 48
Cowwarr 17 12 5 0 1761 1237 142.36% 48
Gormandale 17 11 6 0 1557 1006 154.77% 44
Sale City 17 6 11 0 1121 1437 78.01% 24
TTU 17 6 11 0 958 1668 57.43% 24
Glengarry 17 4 13 0 1016 1536 66.15% 16
Bois/Briag 17 3 14 0 972 1787 54.39% 12
Stratford 17 0 17 0 688 2163 31.81% 0

bigpapagman
15th August 2007, 08:06
well that was a bit out of the blue.

bomberlegend2007
16th August 2007, 19:01
well that was a bit out of the blue.
So was that:D

bigpapagman
17th August 2007, 08:09
nah, just i meant no-one has posted in here for ages?

bomberlegend2007
17th August 2007, 15:58
nah, just i meant no-one has posted in here for ages?
Your right it needs to get up and running again

bigpapagman
17th August 2007, 16:03
i love all the gippsland forums equally.

especially the one i named after myself.

Budda 230
17th August 2007, 16:17
Bigpapagman, you gotta stop owning the Gippsland board!

bigpapagman
17th August 2007, 16:38
cant help it. i love it way too much......addiction.

bomberlegend2007
17th August 2007, 18:27
Round 18 My Tips

Churchill vCowwarr Churchill
Stratford vGormandale Stratford
Bois/Briag vGlengarry Boisdale/Briagolong
Heyfield vSale City Heyfield
TTU vRosedale Tyers

bigpapagman
17th August 2007, 20:11
is heyfield vs. sale city a big game?

bomberlegend2007
18th August 2007, 13:54
is heyfield vs. sale city a big game?

No not really the game between Churchill Vs Cowwarr is a massive game

bomberlegend2007
18th August 2007, 18:26
Churchill 15.14 (104) v Cowwarr 7.10 (52)
Stratford 5.5 (35) v Gormandale 20.14 (134)
Bois/Briag 17.8 (110) v Glengarry 9.12 (66)
Heyfield 24.14 (158) v Sale City 6.9 (45)
TTU 5.7 (37) v Rosedale 21.11 (137)

bomberlegend2007
18th August 2007, 18:31
The Final Ladder
Churchill 18 17 1 0 1850 881 209.99% 68
Heyfield 18 16 2 0 1924 921 208.90% 64
Rosedale 18 13 5 0 1944 890 218.43% 52
Gormandale 18 12 6 0 1691 1041 162.44% 48
Cowwarr 18 12 6 0 1813 1341 135.20% 48
Sale City 18 6 12 0 1166 1595 73.10% 24
TTU 18 6 12 0 995 1805 55.12% 24
Glengarry 18 4 14 0 1082 1646 65.74% 16
Bois/Briag 18 4 14 0 1082 1853 58.39% 16
Stratford 18 0 18 0 723 2297 31.48% 0

2nds
Churchill 18 18 0 0 1815 618 293.69% 72
Heyfield 18 13 5 0 1940 869 223.25% 52
Sale City 18 11 6 1 1430 1032 138.57% 46
Gormandale 18 11 7 0 1383 1148 120.47% 44
Cowwarr 18 10 8 0 1361 1233 110.38% 40
Rosedale 18 9 8 1 1314 1086 120.99% 38
Bois/Briag 18 8 10 0 1393 1461 95.35% 32
Glengarry 18 4 14 0 895 1600 55.94% 16
TTU 18 4 14 0 945 1850 51.08% 16
Stratford 18 1 17 0 690 2269 30.41% 4

3rds
TTU 18 15 3 0 1257 704 178.55% 60
Rosedale 18 14 4 0 1435 670 214.18% 56
Glengarry 18 13 5 0 1499 916 163.65% 52
Gormandale 18 12 6 0 1324 824 160.68% 48
Sale City 18 12 6 0 1210 794 152.39% 48
Bois/Briag 18 11 7 0 1321 864 152.89% 44
Stratford 18 6 12 0 850 1214 70.02% 24
Heyfield 18 3 15 0 774 1419 54.55% 12
Cowwarr 18 2 16 0 693 1671 41.47% 8
Churchill 18 2 16 0 589 1876 31.40% 8

bomberlegend2007
18th August 2007, 19:10
The Finals anr Next Weekend and heres a preview of what the teams are for the finals

Churchill- They finished on top of the ladder with a massive 209.99% and tore up all year. They are probably the favorites to win the flag.

Heyfield- The most likely team to knock off Churchill this year. Close behind in 2nd with 208.90% and with 16 wins watch for them in the finals.

Rosedale- Very good this year and can make the Grand Final but need to play well to get in there

Gormandale- Making up the numbers this year. Played very well this year and will struggle to make the next round of finals

Cowwarr- Like Gormandale making up the numbers.The reining premiers are in for a good battle to make the next round of finals.

This Week-Heyfield Vs Rosedale

My Tip- Even though Churchill have been dominant all year, I think that Heyfield will take out the flag.

bigpapagman
20th August 2007, 08:34
bl2007 backs it up!

bomberlegend2007
20th August 2007, 12:19
bl2007 backs it up!
Who do you think will win it

bigpapagman
20th August 2007, 12:54
chuchill.....but as you say, heyfield are almost as good.

bomberlegend2007
20th August 2007, 13:58
chuchill.....but as you say, heyfield are almost as good.
I saw them both play Glengarry and even though Glengarry arnt very good Heyfield looked like a better team

bigpapagman
20th August 2007, 14:17
dont follow the NGFL all that closely, but from what i hear churchill are quite impressive.

spudley14
20th August 2007, 15:58
Heyfield have a fairly young side, and i dont think they have what it takes to win the flag this year,

bigpapagman
20th August 2007, 16:00
peak next year?

spudley14
20th August 2007, 16:21
yeah maybe next year, if not the year after, they have half a dozen players aged between 16-21

bigpapagman
20th August 2007, 16:43
fair enough. i'll hold you to it. :p

bomberlegend2007
21st August 2007, 15:59
Watch for Glengarry next year young side mixed with some good old players

bigpapagman
24th August 2007, 09:12
does newry still have a side?

bigpapagman
24th August 2007, 09:13
what about nambrok?

Budda 230
27th August 2007, 14:39
does newry still have a side?

No they don't.

Budda 230
27th August 2007, 14:40
what about nambrok?

I think they do. Not 100%. They could've folded though now I think about it.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 15:10
why not? population base too small? or just no-one can play football.

Budda 230
27th August 2007, 15:22
A bit of both apparently.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 16:26
yarragon board.

bomberlegend2007
30th August 2007, 17:36
I think they do. Not 100%. They could've folded though now I think about it.

They folded a few years ago along with Toontown

chaddles
30th August 2007, 23:01
Is Heyfield going to win the flag this year, or is Churchill still the fave?
Rosedale just making up the numbers by the look of it.

bomberlegend2007
1st September 2007, 20:17
Is Heyfield going to win the flag this year, or is Churchill still the fave?
Rosedale just making up the numbers by the look of it.

I think Heyfield will win it

spudley14
1st September 2007, 22:01
I think Heyfield will win it
yer i agree, the other week i said they wouldnt win it but i think they will after beating Churchill again today. but with Heyfield having next week off they might loose their momentum.

bomberlegend2007
2nd September 2007, 17:50
Rosedale 16.16 (112) vGormandale 10.10 (70

This Week Churchill Vs Rosedale winner playes Heyfiled in the Grand Final

bigpapagman
6th September 2007, 09:05
should be a big granny. wheres it held?

chaddles
6th September 2007, 09:36
should be a big granny. wheres it held?

Traralgon- great venue for the granny too.

Should be a cracking Grand Final- hope Rosedale get up over Churchill.

bigpapagman
6th September 2007, 09:50
as in west gippy traralgon ground?

chaddles
6th September 2007, 10:03
as in west gippy traralgon ground?

Yep thats the one- is it the Showgrounds?? Cant remember the correct name but its the one with the bar and the Deck.

bigpapagman
6th September 2007, 10:05
yeah thats a sweet ground for footy.

spudley14
6th September 2007, 12:55
the club rooms are excellent aswell

chaddles
6th September 2007, 12:57
Be close if not the best facilities in Gippsland.

Great spectators venue as well.

bigpapagman
6th September 2007, 14:45
and that sweet bar/decking thing.

Budda 230
6th September 2007, 14:52
and that sweet bar/decking thing.

It is a nice ground. Power should play their home games there in my opinion.

bigpapagman
6th September 2007, 15:27
morwell has a better surface.

chaddles
6th September 2007, 15:36
Love the deck and drinking area, always a good day at the NGFL Granny- get a pretty big vocal crowd. Last years crowd was great, the Rosedale fans really had a dig but they were unfortunate that there boys didn't turn up to play that day.

Haven't seen Morwell's ground, I know that Power seem to play a lot there. Are the facilities pretty good out there too?

bigpapagman
6th September 2007, 15:39
Love the deck and drinking area, always a good day at the NGFL Granny- get a pretty big vocal crowd. Last years crowd was great, the Rosedale fans really had a dig but they were unfortunate that there boys didn't turn up to play that day.

Haven't seen Morwell's ground, I know that Power seem to play a lot there. Are the facilities pretty good out there too?

would expect better, but they're the best i've seen in country footy as far as the rooms etc. go.

pol06
6th September 2007, 16:34
maffra home rooms would have to be the best in gippsland. way better than the kangaroos in the afl. trarlgons away rooms suck, what you guys on about. morwells are good

bigpapagman
6th September 2007, 16:46
morwells away rooms are excellent.

traralgon are your standard away rooms.

tooradin are good.

Hoggwash
6th September 2007, 16:51
Both rooms at warragul are good, best in the edfl i reckon.

bigpapagman
7th September 2007, 08:15
biggest anyway.

bomberlegend2007
14th September 2007, 10:22
The Grand Final
Heyfiled Vs Churchill

bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 10:46
well theres a turn up for the books.....:rolleyes:

Budda 230
14th September 2007, 10:56
The Grand Final
Heyfiled Vs Churchill

Is Mark Stevens playing?

bomberlegend2007
14th September 2007, 12:15
Is Mark Stevens playing?
Not sure i would think so

chaddles
14th September 2007, 12:19
Watched him play that final series in 2005- he just blitzed the 2nd semi and Grand Final. I think he kicked 7 in both games and was just a level above everyone else, especially considering he had a standard regular season.
If he plays Heyfield will win by 8-10 goals.

Budda 230
14th September 2007, 13:17
Watched him play that final series in 2005- he just blitzed the 2nd semi and Grand Final. I think he kicked 7 in both games and was just a level above everyone else, especially considering he had a standard regular season.
If he plays Heyfield will win by 8-10 goals.

Yeah, I was at that Grand Final. He was fantastic as you would expect from a bloke who had just finished his AFL career 2 months earlier.

chaddles
14th September 2007, 13:33
Yeah, I was at that Grand Final. He was fantastic as you would expect from a bloke who had just finished his AFL career 2 months earlier.

Thats right, but if you watched him play earlier in the year he was no where near that sort of form. Maybe he just wasn't trying??

Budda 230
14th September 2007, 13:39
Thats right, but if you watched him play earlier in the year he was no where near that sort of form. Maybe he just wasn't trying??

Apparently earlier on he was playing injured and wasn't as effective. He also still had business arrangements in Adelaide and would fly in every weekend to play for Heyfield which would have been tiring.

bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 14:13
ex afl players always come in handy.

spudley14
14th September 2007, 14:52
Is Mark Stevens playing?
yeah he is playing, named at Centre Half Back in the Gippsland Times

Budda 230
14th September 2007, 15:16
yeah he is playing, named at Centre Half Back in the Gippsland Times

CHB? Has he been playing there all year? What's his form been like?

bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 15:21
all ex-afl players should play full forward in lower leagues.

Budda 230
14th September 2007, 15:26
all ex-afl players should play full forward in lower leagues.

Did you see Craig Kelly made his comeback with Mansfield and kicked 8 goals!!!!:eek:

bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 15:29
my point exactly.

Budda 230
14th September 2007, 15:40
my point exactly.

Would you be happy if Craig Kelly took your spot in the forward line and shunted you to Full Back when he was an AFL full back?