View Full Version : Changes for the showdown
Stiffy_18
4 Sep 2005, 20:43
I don't think NC and the match committee will over-react like some supporters around this joint.
Obviously we have Roo to come back in and most probably Bock. One would think that Van Berlo and Massie will make way for them.
The question is, do we bring in Jason Torney?????? Played for South Adelaide yesterday and got around 20 touches in a side that got SMASHED. All he needed was a bit of a hitout and match fitness.
If he is right to go, I would bring him straight back in. Another experienced, tough campaigner wouldn't go astray in the biggest final this state has ever hosted.
Thoughts??????
Why not weild the axe? We've been carrying a few players and we've only got one chance left.
IN: Ricciuto, Bock, Torney. Jericho
OUT: Van Berlo, Massie, Doughty, Skipworth
Stiffy_18
4 Sep 2005, 20:49
I can guarantee you that NC won't weild the axe hard. 2 changes at most 3 will be his go this week. He backs his players in especially after a heartbreaking loss where they didn't perform well.
I don't think NC and the match committee will over-react like some supporters around this joint.
Obviously we have Roo to come back in and most probably Bock. One would think that Van Berlo and Massie will make way for them.
The question is, do we bring in Jason Torney?????? Played for South Adelaide yesterday and got around 20 touches in a side that got SMASHED. All he needed was a bit of a hitout and match fitness.
If he is right to go, I would bring him straight back in. Another experienced, tough campaigner wouldn't go astray in the biggest final this state has ever hosted.
Thoughts??????
There won't be too many changes Stiffy.
Ricciuto and Bock are a given, in lieu of Massie and Van Berlo.
Torney would be in my best 22 every day of the week and twice on Sunday. If he had played this weekend it may have been enough to tip the scales in our favour.
If Torney plays, it also releases Macca for bursts in the mid-field and Johncock to go up forward.
Who goes out if Torney goes in?
Burton is injury suspect IMO and may or may not play.
If Burton does play, then it's one of Reilly or Doughty to go IMO
Roo and Bock in are no brainers and I guess Massie and Van Berlo would be the logical outs.
As to Torney , it would depend on what other matchups you have and what you have planned for Johncock and McLeod.
birdmanptr
4 Sep 2005, 21:05
Why not weild the axe? We've been carrying a few players and we've only got one chance left.
IN: Ricciuto, Bock, Torney. Jericho
Now if i had wrote this geeeez
Drummond
4 Sep 2005, 21:09
IN: Ricciuto, Bock, Torney, Jericho
JERICHO :eek:
Please NO WAY NOT JERICHO. We're playing to win here, not to gain priority picks :)
My Changes:
IN: Ricciuto, Bock, Torney
OUT: Doughty, Massie, VB
Reilly and Burton JUST hang on to their spots.
SpringChoke
4 Sep 2005, 21:11
Thoughts??????
I don't know if getting angry when your team loses a home final, after finishing top, to an undermanned Saints side is an overreaction.
INS:
Roo, Bock, Thorney
OUTS:
Massie ( never again ), Doughty ( never again unless substantial injuries ), VB ( good prospect ).
I would seriously consider brining in Knights for Skipworth and sitting him on the bench. Bring him into the game, once the initial heat is off.
birdmanptr
4 Sep 2005, 21:13
I would seriously consider brining in Knights for Skipworth and sitting him on the bench. Bring him into the game, once the initial heat is off.
Here here
Kane McGoodwin
4 Sep 2005, 21:17
Geez, I thought we had won 10 games in a row prior to this week?
Keep the changes to a minimum:
Ins: Ricciuto, Bock
Outs: Massie, Van Berlo
If Burton does not pull up OK, then I would consider JT.
I don't know if getting angry when your team loses a home final, after finishing top, to an undermanned Saints side is an overreaction. Agreed. But you dont make changes to punish a player. You make changes because you know the player coming in is better than the player you are omitting. These players know they are under the pump and they know their cards keep getting ticked or not. This is not the time to bring in untested players. Redemption is a good thing and hopefully Skippy and Doughty and co understand that time is running out.
The players like Knights Jericho and Van Berlo will all get a chance next year
Drummond
4 Sep 2005, 21:24
True, but you can't keep carrying players (Doughty, Skipworth, VB, Massie) when there are better replacements available.
SpringChoke
4 Sep 2005, 21:27
Keep the changes to a minimum:
Ins: Ricciuto, Bock
Outs: Massie, Van Berlo
If Burton does not pull up OK, then I would consider JT.
I would bring him in regardless. Will need his toughness/courage.
True, but you can't keep carrying players (Doughty, Skipworth, VB, Massie) when there are better replacements available.
Has been very good this year. I don't think Doughty has been terrible either.
VB's time will come.
Stiffy_18
4 Sep 2005, 21:32
Agreed. But you dont make changes to punish a player. You make changes because you know the player coming in is better than the player you are omitting. These players know they are under the pump and they know their cards keep getting ticked or not. This is not the time to bring in untested players. Redemption is a good thing and hopefully Skippy and Doughty and co understand that time is running out.
The players like Knights Jericho and Van Berlo will all get a chance next year
Nail. Hammer. Head.
Kane McGoodwin
4 Sep 2005, 21:36
Since when have we been carrying Skippy & Dogga? They have been performing their roles most weeks. The problem we saw on the WE is that they struggle to perform a major role than a minor one, with Roo missing & our wingmen struggling back from injury. Hopefully things will return to normal this WE.
Drummond
4 Sep 2005, 21:39
Has been very good this year. I don't think Doughty has been terrible either.
VB's time will come.
VB is the future, not the present.
Doughty is an average footballer, should be playing with South Adelaide. Skipworth's form has been falling away.
JERICHO :eek:
Please NO WAY NOT JERICHO. We're playing to win here, not to gain priority picks :)
I think Jericho has a future. I was tossing up between him and Ladhams as a forward line replacement for Skipworth.
Skippy just lost me completely with his atrociously limited kicking distance on display last night.
SpringChoke
4 Sep 2005, 22:03
I think Jericho has a future. I was tossing up between him and Ladhams as a forward line replacement for Skipworth.
Skippy just lost me completely with his atrociously limited kicking distance on display last night.
Jericho, no way. This is going to be very physical, hard game and Jericho has shown on numerous occasions that he is left wanting in this area.
If Skippy does go out, bring in Knights.
Out: Van Berlo, Massie, Reilly
In: Bock, Ricciuto, Torney
Stick with experience for this crucial final!
IN, Roo, Bock, Torney, Watts.
OUT, VB, Xmas, Dogga, Skippy.
A gift from above
4 Sep 2005, 23:05
IN, Roo, Bock, Torney, Watts.
OUT, VB, Xmas, Dogga, Skippy.
so funny, it watts your own personal opinion, or what you think will happen?
atm we have too many hbf's playing in the middle, you can only have 1 max or it takes a toll, like atm we’ve got VB who is a rookie and a outside wingman atm, doughty who's decision making is not at afl standard in the middle and massie who is not afl standard full stop. I think there will be two, with roo and bock to come in, but i would like to see torney come in too, and we dump massie, VB and (doughty or reilly) more inclined to go with reilly actually he is just so soft. And someone said Jericho, oh dear..... :D Think skippy is alright value cause he can do in the middle, but certainly hope to see knights get his spot next yr.
A gift from above
4 Sep 2005, 23:08
Stick with experience for this crucial final!
this isnt what MB did all those yrs ago. Ports resurgence has happened cause they played the kids too. Think NC has been caught out not playing VB and knights more in the season, now we have a few players out and VB looks totally out of place in finals footy. Its like playing with a three man bench really.
I thank god that no member of the Adelaide BigFooty Board, including myself, is (to our knowledge) also a member of the AFC Match Committee.
Drummond
4 Sep 2005, 23:45
I thank god that no member of the Adelaide BigFooty Board, including myself, is (to our knowledge) also a member of the AFC Match Committee.
WOW Earth shattering statement :rolleyes:
so funny, it watts your own personal opinion, or what you think will happen?
atm we have too many hbf's playing in the middle, you can only have 1 max or it takes a toll, like atm we’ve got VB who is a rookie and a outside wingman atm, doughty who's decision making is not at afl standard in the middle and massie who is not afl standard full stop. I think there will be two, with roo and bock to come in, but i would like to see torney come in too, and we dump massie, VB and (doughty or reilly) more inclined to go with reilly actually he is just so soft. And someone said Jericho, oh dear..... :D Think skippy is alright value cause he can do in the middle, but certainly hope to see knights get his spot next yr.
Just My Opinion :)
The way I see it atm is we are great at creating vast space but lack the long leading CHF to make the most of that space. Watts enter stage left.
That done it for me as well.
In = Roo, Bock & definitely Torney if fitness is ok.
out = Massie, the Count & Skippy.
Keep the faith people we will win this week. :thumbsu:
SpringChoke
5 Sep 2005, 10:08
That done it for me as well.
In = Roo, Bock & definitely Torney if fitness is ok.
out = Massie, the Count & Skippy.
Keep the faith people we will win this week. :thumbsu:
I don't want to put pressure on them, but I have a feeling Roo is going to play an absolute blinder this week and a little birdie tells me Trent will be the difference.
Markthirtytwo
5 Sep 2005, 10:10
It was one bad game from most of the backbone kids, so even though it's a final, the match committee will still go with them IMO.
Ins: Roo and Bock
Outs: Massie and DB.
If Birdman doesnt come up then Skippy, cause his lack of kicking penetration is being shown up and we need someone who can kick over a thimble.
Markthirtytwo
5 Sep 2005, 10:13
Think NC has been caught out not playing VB and knights more in the season, now we have a few players out and VB looks totally out of place in finals footy. Its like playing with a three man bench really.
Utter, utter, utter garbage as usual. VB is better already than one other first round pic we are playing at the minute and will be a very good player for us.
Usual trolling effort.
Changes -
Ins:
Roo, Bock, Torney
Outs:
VB, Skippy, Mass
mymansyd
5 Sep 2005, 10:50
Changes -
Ins:
Roo, Bock, Torney
Outs:
VB, Skippy, Mass
I'd keep Skippy and drop Doughty.
In Roo Bock Knights Torney
out Van Berlo Massie Doughty Reilly
Go with smoe pace and hardness.
Reilly was terrible.
In Roo Bock Knights Torney
out Van Berlo Massie Doughty Reilly
Go with smoe pace and hardness.
Reilly was terrible.
Lots of players were terrible vas St Kilda but that is virtually the group of player that got the AFC to a top spot finish, IMO they can not through the baby out with the bath water simply after one bad game.
In: Ricciuto, Bock and Torney
Out: Massie, Van Berlo, ??
If Jason Torney were to get selected the player would have to come from one of three M Doughty, Brent Reilly, and Hayden Skipworth. None of them deserve to be dropped but the decision has to be made in the best interest of winning a game of football for the right to play West Cost in a preliminary final.
Question to all the knowledgeable football brains out there (you know who you are)? Does the AFC have any players that are there any serial player that fail to perform in a showdowns? If there are theses may be the player that have to be looked at this week, as there is no tomorrow.
SpringChoke
5 Sep 2005, 11:25
Lots of players were terrible vas St Kilda but that is virtually the group of player that got the AFC to a top spot finish, IMO they can not through the baby out with the bath water simply after one bad game.
In: Ricciuto, Bock and Torney
Out: Massie, Van Berlo, ??
If Jason Torney were to get selected the player would have to come from one of three M Doughty, Brent Reilly, and Hayden Skipworth. None of them deserve to be dropped but the decision has to be made in the best interest of winning a game of football for the right to play West Cost in a preliminary final.
Question to all the knowledgeable football brains out there (you know who you are)? Does the AFC have any players that are there any serial player that fail to perform in a showdowns? If there are theses may be the player that have to be looked at this week, as there is no tomorrow.
If Thorney is fit and ready to go, how could any of the three you have mentioned be picked ahead of him. Thorney is tougher and more couragous then the above 3, a pre-requisite when playing Port.
Changes -
Ins:
Roo, Bock, Torney
Outs:
VB, Skippy, Mass
Bingo.
Over the years, teams have proven, that the experienced match hardened tough players are the ones that you need on your team. Hence Torney should be included.
If Thorney is fit and ready to go, how could any of the three you have mentioned be picked ahead of him. Thorney is tougher and more couragous then the above 3, a pre-requisite when playing Port.
A pre requisite when playing finals.
I'm inclined to keep Skipworth. He at least provides something in the forward lines. True he doesn't kick far, but he is capable of getting the ball and can have periods where he snags a couple of goals.
Torney is a MUST. He is clearly in our best 22, has had a run and should be brought back in. As someone else said, it also gives us the chance to free somebody else (Macca, Stiffy etc..) up to move forward/midfield.
IN: Roo, Bock, Torney
OUT: Massie (just not up to it), VB (not ready for this type of finals pressure but will be a player of the future) and either Doughty or Reilly. Doughty played a shocker on the weekend (he wasn't Pat Malone!) but this season he has tended to back up a shocker with a good game. As for Reilly, what exactly is it he offers the team??
Oh and any chance we can play without Clarke? He is simply the dumbest footballer I have ever seen!
Dumber than Thompson? I cant see how you can say this about Clarke.
SpringChoke
5 Sep 2005, 13:05
A pre requisite when playing finals.
Can't argue with that.
SpringChoke
5 Sep 2005, 13:09
Dumber than Thompson? I cant see how you can say this about Clarke.
In what way do you think Thompson is dumb???? Is it becuase of the way he gave away silly free kicks and the impact it had on the side? If it is, then if you are going to say Thompson is dumb then you would have to say our captain is RAINMAN. His unecessary and ill-disciplined act against WC cost us much more than anything Thompson did on Sat night.
mymansyd
5 Sep 2005, 13:15
In what way do you think Thompson is dumb???? Is it becuase of the way he gave away silly free kicks and the impact it had on the said? If it is, then if you are going to say Thompson is dumb then you would have to say our captain is RAINMAN. His unecessary and ill-disciplined cost us much more than anything Thompson did on Sat night.
Hole in one. :thumbsu:
Thompson, is only 22 and will hopefully learn from his shocker on Saturday night. Let's hope both Roo and Thommo redeem themselves and play blinders this weekend!
Do you actually have an opinion John or are you just gonna pick over the carcass when it's all done and dusted (like a true journalist). You obviously have a point of view, so let's have it.
FWIW, I think we need to include a wildcard. We have no more chances and we are about to face the arrogance of a side with nothing to lose and everything to gain. Ladhams maybe, Jericho maybe, but out of the blue I would be tempted to go for Schuback. Why? Strong body, goal sense and may be the spark he needs. He is obviously talented, but is wasting away at the Bays. I would definitely omit Skipworth as his upside is outweighed by his limitations.
SpringChoke
5 Sep 2005, 13:35
Hole in one. :thumbsu:
Thompson, is only 22 and will hopefully learn from his shocker on Saturday night. Let's hope both Roo and Thommo redeem themselves and play blinders this weekend!
I have a sneaking suspision they both will. ;)
In what way do you think Thompson is dumb???? Is it becuase of the way he gave away silly free kicks and the impact it had on the side? He has given away a LOT of free kicks ALL year... I can only think of one that Roo has done.
Thompson has to learn the difference between controlled aggression and uncontrolled acts of ill discipline. Be aggressive at the man for sure... but learn to let go once the ball is spilled or loose. ''Flying the Flag'' only works if there is a flag to fly. I have said this all year about Thompson so its nothing new.
I also still dont understand the Clarke is Dumb comment.
He has given away a LOT of free kicks ALL year... I can only think of one that Roo has done.
Thompson has to learn the difference between controlled aggression and uncontrolled acts of ill discipline. Be aggressive at the man for sure... but learn to let go once the ball is spilled or loose. ''Flying the Flag'' only works if there is a flag to fly. I have said this all year about Thompson so its nothing new.
I also still dont understand the Clarke is Dumb comment.
Spot on. You don't need to 'fly the flag' when you're in a strong position and should be focused on the game.
As for Clarke, I thought he played quite well and was far from being our worst contributor. I saw him do some good hard work and he put his body on the line. I was more disappointed in Biglands as we seemed to lose momentum as soon as he went into the ruck each time. Basically the whole midfield was out of step and that can happen when the general is out. The players would be used to having Roo set up the play and they seemed lost when setting up at clearances. Bottom line was that we only lost by 8 points to a good team and now we get a crack at winning the first ever showdown final. Not the ideal scenario, but that's the cost of losing a final.
maccas_no1
5 Sep 2005, 14:05
Thoughts??????
Agree, with this Torney's hardness around the footy will be invaluble against the Power.
In's: Ricciuto, Torney and Bock.
Out's: Massie, Van Berlo and Skipworth.
Dandy_GO
5 Sep 2005, 14:11
I'd drop Reilly before Skipworth or Doughty. He's been in the side the whole year. He's almost played 50 games over his career. Yet he still hasn't impressed me at all. He's only had one game, from memory, where he's gathered more than 20 disposals this year. Sure he hasn't played full games, but after 43 games or whatever he should be at the stage where we can afford to let him play full games. He's a passenger and he cracks under pressure big time.
Doughty often plays horrible games, but at least he has been improving, and Skipworth has proven that he can be a handy goalsneak (when within 40 metres). I'm not at all a fan of any of these players, but Reilly is a stinker and I'm sick of waiting for him to suddenly come good. He's been given far too much time already.
In: Roo, Bock, Torney
Out: VB, Massie, Reilly
Stiffy_18
5 Sep 2005, 14:50
OK after a LOT of thought I have come to the conclusion who I would drop and the reasons why.
Firstly, there are some whispers that Burton has injured a calf or hammy against St. Kilda and is in some doubt. If he is not 100% then don't pick him
Scenario 1: Burton is not fit enough to play
IN: Mark Ricciuto, Nathan Bock, Jason Torney
OUT: Nathan Van Berlo, Kris Massie, Brett Burton
_F: _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 37. Trent Hentschel _ 5. Scott Thompson
HF: _ 9. Tyson Edwards _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 22. Ian Perrie
_C: _ 18. Graham Johncock _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 39. Martin Mattner
HB: _ 23. Andrew McLeod _ 44. Nathan Bock _ 34. Ben Hart
_B: _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 25. Ben Rutten _ 15. Jason Torney
1R: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 12. Robert Shirley
INT: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 11. Michael Doughty _ 14. Hayden Skipworth _ 33. Brent Reilly
I replaced Burton with Torney. Experienced player for experienced player. Bringing in Torney gives us a bit more flexibility. I would play Torney from BP, taking Johncock's spot. I would play Johncock on the wing, taking Burton's role. A couple of years ago Johncock played on the wing and picked up a showdown medal to go with his 30 touches. He would give us some run and he has the baility to break tackles which is beneficial throught he middle of the ground.
Scenario 2: Burton is fit to play.
IN: Mark Ricciuto, Nathan Bock, Jason Torney
OUT: Nathan Van Berlo, Kris Massie, Hayden Skipworth
_F: _ 17. Scott Welsh _ 37. Trent Hentschel _ 5. Scott Thompson
HF: _ 18. Graham Johncock _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 22. Ian Perrie
_C: _ 24. Brett Burton _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 39. Martin Mattner
HB: _ 23. Andrew McLeod _ 44. Nathan Bock _ 36. Simon Goodwin
_B: _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 25. Ben Rutten _ 34. Ben Hart
1R: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 9. Tyson Edwards _ 12. Robert Shirley
INT: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 11. Michael Doughty _ 15. Jason Torney _ 33. Brent Reilly
Despite popular belief, I think Skippy has a place in the side BUT I had to pick someone to drop and he was the unlucky one. My reasoning is the following. Bringing in Torney brings in touchness and experience. Torney can play accross HB and he can also be given a run in the middle. Torney was also stiff not to be Showdown medalist when we met Port for the first time this year. Bringing in Torney gives us a chance to play Johncock accross HF. I thought he gave us something when he was moved forward in the last quarter against St. Kilda. Another thing I like about this move is his pace and tackling. He can be someone who will apply even bigger forward line pressure and with his pace he could provide that pressure on Shaun Burgoyne who killed us last time we played them.
Personally, I think Johncock is the wildcard, the X-factor who is our potential match winner. We need that bit extra bite from crumbers in the forward line. Johncock could be that player. Bringing in Torney and replacing Johncock with him in the backline, you don't lose much there.
Sorry the post is so long :o
Punchy Bassett
5 Sep 2005, 15:03
Three for me in Roo, Bock, Torney Out VB, Massie, Dogga. No offence to Dogga it is just that he has been playing HBF a lot this year which is JT's natural spot hence why I believe Dogga is the unfortunate one to miss.
Kane McGoodwin
5 Sep 2005, 15:09
I don't believe Stiffy's best spot is for a wing if Burton doesn't play. I prefer him in a flanker role - either back or forward. IMO, we would be better off playing Reilly/Doughty combo.
If Burton & Torney both play, then for me it is a choice between Skipworth & Reilly making way (depending on how we structure the side).
Kane McGoodwin
5 Sep 2005, 15:10
Three for me in Roo, Bock, Torney Out VB, Massie, Dogga. No offence to Dogga it is just that he has been playing HBF a lot this year which is JT's natural spot hence why I believe Dogga is the unfortunate one to miss.
Dogga has been our utility sub off the bench, who has relieved Shirley, a wingman or a HBF. We need to keep his versatility IMO.
FWIW, I think we need to include a wildcard.
out of the blue I would be tempted to go for Schuback.
That's not a wild card - unless you're playing joker's wild. ;)
Schuback would be my 2nd last choice - Smith would be the last.
Stiffy_18
5 Sep 2005, 15:13
I don't believe Stiffy's best spot is for a wing if Burton doesn't play. I prefer him in a flanker role - either back or forward. IMO, we would be better off playing Reilly/Doughty combo.
If Burton & Torney both play, then for me it is a choice between Skipworth & Reilly making way (depending on how we structure the side).
Kane he won a showdown medal on the wing a couple of years ago. His engine would be bigger now and he would be able to do the job IMHO. He would have freedom to move and IMHO he is deadly in space. He breaks the lines and carries the ball. He also has pace. The wing combo of Johncock and Mattner would be better than the wing combo of Reilly/Doughty and Mattner. With Stiffy and Mattner you have 2, quick, ball-carriers that break the lines.
Stiffy has played on the wing before and done very well there.
Kane McGoodwin
5 Sep 2005, 15:15
Kane he won a showdown medal on the wing a couple of years ago. His engine would be bigger now and he would be able to do the job IMHO. He would have freedom to move and IMHO he is deadly in space. He breaks the lines and carries the ball. He also has pace. The wing combo of Johncock and Mattner would be better than the wing combo of Reilly/Doughty and Mattner. With Stiffy and Mattner you have 2, quick, ball-carriers that break the lines.
Stiffy has played on the wing before and done very well there.
I though I recall Stiffy playing as a goal-kicking forward when he won the Showdown medal. IMO, we are more in need of forward crumbers than wingmen.
Kane McGoodwin
5 Sep 2005, 15:16
Yep.
* shakes head in disbelief*
Stiffy_18
5 Sep 2005, 15:26
I though I recall Stiffy playing as a goal-kicking forward when he won the Showdown medal. IMO, we are more in need of forward crumbers than wingmen.
He played that game on the wing Kane. He got 30 touches and I remember us here discussing that we should play him there more often which of course never happened under Ayres.
bass_drum
5 Sep 2005, 15:28
It's been said, but..
In - Roo, Bock, Torney
Out - Massie, Van Berlo, Reilly
Massie and VB can't be expected to be (physically) ready for AFL finals, and Reilly is just the one I see going for Torney. He's been ok this year, but not established himself as we probably expected.
Missing Bock killed us on Saturday. I got The Fear as soon as I heard he was out. He gives our structure muscle that we're gonna need.
Stiffy_18
5 Sep 2005, 15:36
Do you guys realise that if we drop Reilly he has no where to play this weekend. He hasn't played a game for Sturt this year which means he hasn't qualified for SANFL finals.
Schuback would be my 2nd last choice - Smith would be the last. Each to their own, but I don't think sticking with Skipworth, a second string midfielder at best and a poor kicking forward at worst, is going to provide much challenge to a Port opponent. I'd rather go with a wildcard off the bench, than to play a familiar, but losing hand in a final. Skippy has done well, but he, Doughty and Thompson were exposed on Saturday night. I have faith that Thommo will come back, Doughty can kick, which leaves Skippy as a definite out.
I've seen the interested version of Schuback on a couple of occasions this year and he has great goal sense and a good kick. I'd rather take that chance than get another 'tried hard' performance from a guy with heart.
Drummond
5 Sep 2005, 18:09
Yeh Schuback, a great talent! :thumbsu:
To be honest, I would like to see the following players dropped:
Doughty, Massie, Reilly, Burton, Skipworth, VB.
However, we all know it's finals time and you need a settled line-up. So I would only drop Mass, Doughty and VB. In comes Roo, Bock & Torney.
A gift from above
5 Sep 2005, 18:19
Utter, utter, utter garbage as usual. VB is better already than one other first round pic we are playing at the minute and will be a very good player for us.
Usual trolling effort.
becoming rather predictable marky sparky, completely missing the point as usual. VB will be a player in the future, but anyone can tell you he had little impact on sat night. He is a rookie. Not that was the point being made anyway.
Crow-mosone
5 Sep 2005, 20:47
am awful lot of knee jerk, overly dramatic changes being proposed.
let's say with us down by 1 point, macca bombs and as you would usually expect he nails it. we are up by 5pts, not level. we probably go on to win.
if that had happened, and it easily could have, would we be calling for such drastic measures at the selection table?
Stiffy_18
5 Sep 2005, 20:51
let's say with us down by 1 point, macca bombs and as you would usually expect he nails it. we are up by 5pts, not level. we probably go on to win.
if that had happened, and it easily could have, would we be calling for such drastic measures at the selection table?
I would still be calling for 3 changes. I would want Roo, Bock and Torney back in the side regardless.
I believe that 2 changes is the way to go. BUT the way some people are posting you would think we have lost 10 in a row, i did call for Reilly to be dropped a few weeks back and i still believe we are carrying him... Skipworth has had one bad game, he was important against west coast, but everyone seems to think he has playted 4-5 shockers in a row. People it just one loss, yes in a final, we only lost by 8 points without the All Australian Captain and our Centre Half Back, we had a make shift centre half back who has been playing well as a key forward lately. i think we will beat port easily, i dont think that win was good for them.... lets just calm down a bit and think rationally.
Not really Cro-mo.
2 changes are automatic, and would have happened even if we won. Roo and Bock in and Massie and VB out.
Torney is in our best 22 when fit so his inclusion would not be surprising.
Any more changes than that are being fanciful though and won't even get a second's thought at the selection table.
Not really Cro-mo.
2 changes are automatic, and would have happened even if we won. Roo and Bock in and Massie and VB out.
Any more changes than that are being fanciful though and won't even get a second's thought at the selection table.Your both right. Win and we would be celebrating and making 2 changes. We won against West Coast and noone questioned Burton/Mattner changes... I think the Torney option is one to be looked at. I dont think it is a panic move but one to strengthen the backline which allows Johncock to go forward.
Crow-mosone
6 Sep 2005, 00:40
Not really Cro-mo.
Any more changes than that are being fanciful though and won't even get a second's thought at the selection table.
I agree that 2 changes are needed, but some of the names being thrown about...
Stiffy_18
6 Sep 2005, 00:43
I agree that 2 changes are needed, but some of the names being thrown about...
Which ones do you disagree with?
Crow-mosone
6 Sep 2005, 01:39
Which ones do you disagree with?
ladhams, schuback et al
Do you guys realise that if we drop Reilly he has no where to play this weekend. He hasn't played a game for Sturt this year which means he hasn't qualified for SANFL finals.
He can still play for Sturt while Adelaide are alive in the finals.
birdmanptr
6 Sep 2005, 02:00
He can still play for Sturt while Adelaide are alive in the finals.
HE HAD TO HAVE PLAYED 3 FOR STURT IN ORDER TO PLAY FINALS FOR THEM
Only if Adelaide are no longer playing in the finals. The same rules as the minor round apply if the AFL team is still competing. Port have had a few non-qualified players play SANFL finals in the last couple of years.
SpringChoke
6 Sep 2005, 09:48
Question:
I thought last Sat night Bock was a huge out for us. Especially when Trent had to go back after looking very dangerous as a forward in the last few weeks. That being said, if Bock doesn't recover from the flu in time for Sat night do we pull a smokey and bring in another tall so Trent can stay up forward - Watts anyone???? I reckon it would be huge disadvantage to use if Trent had to start down back again to cover the loss of Bock.
Thoughts?
Stiffy_18
6 Sep 2005, 13:05
ladhams, schuback et al
That I do agree but I think bringing in Bock, Roo and Torney is not an over-reaction. Its just improving your side.
Stiffy_18
6 Sep 2005, 13:06
Question:
I thought last Sat night Bock was a huge out for us. Especially when Trent had to go back after looking very dangerous as a forward in the last few weeks. That being said, if Bock doesn't recover from the flu in time for Sat night do we pull a smokey and bring in another tall so Trent can stay up forward - Watts anyone???? I reckon it would be huge disadvantage to use if Trent had to start down back again to cover the loss of Bock.
Thoughts?
I think Bock will come up but I would be tempted to bring Watts in anyway so Hentschel can have a run with role on Chad. I think he is the only one from our team that can at least go with Chad when he goes into the midfield.
SpringChoke
6 Sep 2005, 13:25
I think Bock will come up but I would be tempted to bring Watts in anyway so Hentschel can have a run with role on Chad. I think he is the only one from our team that can at least go with Chad when he goes into the midfield.
I think we are becoming a little Chad conscious. As Rod Jameson said in an artcile today, the real worry for the AFC is,if we conecntrate too much on nullifying Port and forget about our own game. I think we look alot more dangerous with a forward including Trent, then one without him. We should be throwing all our big guns ino the forward line and make them move the FIGJAM back into the backline.
Stiffy_18
6 Sep 2005, 13:36
I think we are becoming a little Chad conscious. As Rod Jameson said in an artcile today, the real worry for the AFC is,if we conecntrate too much on nullifying Port and forget about our own game. I think we look alot more dangerous with a forward including Trent, then one without him. We should be throwing all our big guns ino the forward line and make them move the FIGJAM back into the backline.
Well according to knuckles Kerley, who was sitting a couple of seats in from of Neil Craig at TD for the Port Vs Kangaroos final, said that NC admitted that Chad Cornes presents us with a huge challenge because we don't have a clear option on who can negate him.
IMHO, Chad is port's X-factor. Lets him run around without a tag and they win. Negate his influence on the game and we win.
SpringChoke
6 Sep 2005, 14:01
Well according to knuckles Kerley, who was sitting a couple of seats in from of Neil Craig at TD for the Port Vs Kangaroos final, said that NC admitted that Chad Cornes presents us with a huge challenge because we don't have a clear option on who can negate him.
IMHO, Chad is port's X-factor. Lets him run around without a tag and they win. Negate his influence on the game and we win.
But do you waste a potential match winner in Trent on tagging the FIGJAM. It's a pity we didn't get some more gametime into someone like Hinge. Give us another option for a run with roll.
McLeod23
6 Sep 2005, 14:26
We sorely missed having Kenny and Trent in the forward line for the whole match.
We dominated early with Kenny up front, and then threw our advantage away by double-teaming Riewoldt.
IMHO, Perrie was terrible against the Saints. He dropped a couple of basic chest marks under barely any pressure close to goal. And when he took marks leading up outside 50, he kicked it twice straight to a St.Kilda defender - he couldn't even hit a target with a 20 metre stab pass. Cost us badly on a couple of occasions.
We should win this weekend, however.
Remember we have beaten Port twice this year, and we finished minor premiers. We missed a few gettable shots at goal and lost to a red-hot St.Kilda team by 8 points. We are not out of contention yet.
Agreed, Cornes definitely needs to be stopped. He is not noted as a big game player and he struggles one on one with an opponent, so it is definitely worth having a player run closely with him. I would also have a number of the guys softening him up at the clearances as he doesn't like that either. Frustration and an opponent to make him accountable is the best option.
Wakelin, Chaplin, Bishop and Pettigrew if needed, not to mention Shaun Burgoyne who is 185cm as well.
So unless you have enough tall stocks to throw up forward...ie more than 5 talls in ur forward 50, and also cover Tredders and Lade up forward... i think we could keep chad in the middle
Brogan could also drop back, and Monty plays tall quiet nicely. I dont think the idea of "stretching" the port defence for talls will work
Kane McGoodwin
6 Sep 2005, 15:47
I agree that there is an over-concern with Chad. Whoever lines up on him just needs to make him accountable, as we have shown in the past. If he plays in defence, our talls have a good record against him. If he goes forward, either Hart or Bassett could matchup on him. If he goes on ball, then Roo, Goody, Burton or Mattner could be options.