View Full Version : Anyone had a hit yet?
walshy1993
14 Oct 2001, 17:18
anyone actually been able to play a game this season?
if so, how have you gone?
our first game was washed out due to rain
and yesterday the pitch was unplayable so we ended up training
how have the rest of you gone?
Victor Trumper
14 Oct 2001, 19:24
We played on Saturday at Como park, the deck was very good considering the weather we have had. It was a one dayer because the first day was washed out. We won in the last over of the day in near dark conditions. South Yarra 8/142 V Clayton Districts 5/144.
Fat Red
15 Oct 2001, 13:08
Yes---but do not want to talk about it:(
Briedis
15 Oct 2001, 14:17
Yeah, we are into our third match. I'm averaging 27 with the bat (pretty happy!!) but I have had no luck with the ball yet. I bowled 0/30 off 12 overs on Saturday. 2 dropped catches:mad:
walshy1993
16 Oct 2001, 17:29
Originally posted by Fat Red
Yes---but do not want to talk about it:(
that good hey
im really struggling for a game of cricket
first two weeks called off
and on sunday at indoor cricket the opposition didnt turn up
doing real well
1st game was against Plenty and it was a washout but i took 2/14 off 6 but we lost the 2nd game against monty by 3 wickets and i took 2/19 off 8 with 3* batting at 9. Ask piespremiers how he's been going!!!:D
Esperito
18 Oct 2001, 00:50
Oh yes it's been a stellar start to the season...
I've been borrowing a mate's bat since the start of the year because it's way better than mine... I promptly threw this bat back in his face after last weekend's match...
Why?
Two innings...two GOLDEN DUCKS!
In fact...the cricket ball hadn't even made contact with the bat whilst I borrowed it!!! (although I was given out caught behind on one occasion[made interesting when the opposing side was actually appealing for a stumping...])
Briedis
22 Oct 2001, 12:53
I scored 40 last week! They were bowling with a fierce breeze accross the ground so it was swinging all over the place - so I'm happy with 40...my average is up to 33.5 now! (Better than the 6.66 I averaged last year:eek: )
Hit a huuuuuge 6 too. My first this year!
walshy1993
22 Oct 2001, 16:08
finally got a game on sat
first game in two seasons and straight into a grade, which is good
we bowled them out for 221
took a blinder in third slip,
then dropped one in the same position, diving to my right into about 5th slip position, flew off the bat, bout half a meter off the ground, got a hand to it and saved 4, but couldnt hold on to it
we were 3/50 odd at stumps
im batting at 6
Victor Trumper
22 Oct 2001, 17:15
We are chasing 220 next week, we had them 5 for 90 at tea and they rallied. We had to face one over at the end of the day and are 0/0 with yours truly a magnificent 0*.
Top Dog
22 Oct 2001, 17:19
Played on the early morning of saturday(with a hangover:() and got 0 fa 27 of 11 overs 2 dropped catches though I did bowl very **** and in seniors made 4 with the bat :mad: and got 1 fa 17 of 11 which im pretty happy with and one dropped catch :(
Beausgirl43
22 Oct 2001, 20:08
You da man Walshy!!!
:D
How's the thigh?
:(
cheers... :confused:
dogboy23
22 Oct 2001, 21:43
Im making my long awaited come back this week from my footy season ending knee injury:( Hope I can just play long enough to have a bit of fun this season and get serious again next season.;)
Esperito
22 Oct 2001, 21:53
Argh!!! Top Dog, who is that in your avatar??!! I reckon even Kingsley Hunter would deem her worthy of being his girlfriend! (And we know how picky someone of Kingsley's beauty is)
And relating to this thread, I managed to avoid my 3rd golden duck in a row on the weekend, scoring 16 n.o.
It was cause for huge celebration...I got a rousing applause when I got off the mark.
Top Dog
23 Oct 2001, 17:13
Originally posted by Esperito
Argh!!! Top Dog, who is that in your avatar??!! I reckon even Kingsley Hunter would deem her worthy of being his girlfriend! (And we know how picky someone of Kingsley's beauty is)
And relating to this thread, I managed to avoid my 3rd golden duck in a row on the weekend, scoring 16 n.o.
It was cause for huge celebration...I got a rousing applause when I got off the mark.
Mate shes my girlfriend............Didnt do to badly for myself eh :D and comon esp, she has standards :D :p
BTW - Esp I was on a 2 golden trot as well last year but only made 1 :(
Stegelator
24 Oct 2001, 16:50
I haven't joined a Local Team But WE have a a School comp. going, They still haven't made the teams yet! I hope I get in!
Top Dog
28 Oct 2001, 10:02
u/16's was washed out too much friken water on the ground :mad: though in seniors we had already lost(we only made 75) so they made 175 and sent us in for outright and I batted no.9 which was last place cause 2 players didnt show and in the pressure packed environment I made a 6n.o and saved the outright :D ;)