View Full Version : Marc Murphy will be at Carlton.

Pages : [1] 2

TheClokes
8 Sep 2005, 20:06
Marc has agreed.

sinepari
8 Sep 2005, 20:07
What if Carlton don't want him?

:p

spanky ham
8 Sep 2005, 20:11
Wasn't he at the footy with Craig Lambert just last weekend?

gandaal
8 Sep 2005, 20:12
Katchup?

TheClokes
8 Sep 2005, 20:12
the deal is done.

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:13
I woouldn't want to be Carlton if HE HAS AGREED.

Against AFL regs for them to even be speaking to him.

oops I can see another huge fine and loss of draft picks coming up.

gandaal
8 Sep 2005, 20:14

I seriously doubt that.

spanky ham
8 Sep 2005, 20:17

So recruiters aren't allowed to interview potential draftees ;)

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:18
I seriously doubt that.

Under AFL regs, NO club is allowed to talk to a player who could be a father son draftee, until that player has made a decision, and that has not happened yet.So Carlton are up the ********ter for even ringing him on the phone, let alone anything else.
This is Vlads term remember.

Althought rules and regs are to be broken according to Carlton.

Tony Francis
8 Sep 2005, 20:18
What's your source theclokes?

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:19
So recruiters aren't allowed to interview potential draftees ;)

Father/son is totally different.

No other AFL is allowed to even ring him , let alone wine and dine him prior to a decsion being made by that player.

gandaal
8 Sep 2005, 20:19
Under AFL regs, NO club is allowed to talk to a player who could be a father son draftee, until that player has made a decision, and that has not happened yet.So Carlton are up the ********ter for even ringing him on the phone, let alone anything else.
This is Vlads term remember.

Althought rules and regs are to be broken according to Carlton.
Again I seriously doubt that.

TheClokes
8 Sep 2005, 20:21
whats it matter... its a done deal.

Collingwood and Brisbane done everything they could to get him over
but he agreed to Carlton

end of story.

Welcome to Collingwood Xavier Ellis.

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:22
Again I seriously doubt that.

You are kidding right, the rule is set in concrete.Can easily be proven by an investigation that Carlton are breaking the rule.They are screwed bigtime,plus Murphy is as well.

DO you actually know the AFL regs?

spanky ham
8 Sep 2005, 20:22
Father/son is totally different.

No other AFL is allowed to even ring him , let alone wine and dine him prior to a decsion being made by that player.

Who's been wining and dining him? I seriously doubt with the draft penalties and fines that we've already incurred that the club would take the chance.

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:24
Who's been wining and dining him? I seriously doubt with the draft penalties and fines that we've already incurred that the club would take the chance.

Cartlon are dills, you don't be seen in Lygon Street, with Club admininistrators, having dinner with Murphy and family on more than 1 occasion.

The Shag
8 Sep 2005, 20:27
i would like proof of this "written in concrete rule"

spanky ham
8 Sep 2005, 20:30
Cartlon are dills, you don't be seen in Lygon Street, with Club admininistrators, having dinner with Murphy and family on more than 1 occasion.

Who saw them?

campbell
i would like proof of this "written in concrete rule"

Just ring the AFl.It is there for a reason.

Imagine in a few eyars time, if one od SOS sons was umming and arring about going to Calrton and some other club was throughing the kitchen sink at him to go to them,prior to his making a decision?You guys would be spitting chips,

Thats why the rules are there, to stop draft tampering.

gandaal
Since you know the regs so well why don't you quote us the exact rule that states that potential father/sons can't be talked to by other clubs?

I seriously doubt such a daft rule exists. The negative impact on father/sons who aren't picked up by their father's old club would be enormous.

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:32
Who saw them?

My sister saw them for one but its widely been reported that they have been seen.

Imagine if Collingwood pulled out all stopd for one of sos's kids, or Whitnalls .You get the drift.

The rules is the rules. Easy to prove as well.Ever heard of audits, and investigations.You have run foul of a few of them in the past.

silverphoenix
8 Sep 2005, 20:35
I think its more of a case of carlton have said, if you go into the draft we will take you at number 1. You wont have to leave melbourne and can stay with your family blah blah blah...

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:41
It was the AFL’s view the father-son had to be maintained as fans strongly identify with the sons of former champions.
You can't have clubs obstructing or trying to influence a child prior to his decsion to either nominate for the draft or go father/son.

TheClokes
8 Sep 2005, 20:43
campbell who cares the deals done, move on

spanky ham
8 Sep 2005, 20:43
My sister saw them for one but its widely been reported that they have been seen.

Imagine if Collingwood pulled out all stopd for one of sos's kids, or Whitnalls .You get the drift.

The rules is the rules. Easy to prove as well.Ever heard of audits, and investigations.You have run foul of a few of them in the past.

It hasn't been widely reported down in Melbourne but if we've done it before we must be guilty :rolleyes:

mojo31
8 Sep 2005, 20:44

Lets have a guess at things.
You are a Brisbane supporter?

Accusing Carlton of draft tampering. Based on your sister seeing him with Carlton officials out to dinner in public. What officials? Malouf? Collins has been in hospital. Denis has been at Noosa recently. Any dates forthcoming on this 'Elvis' sighting?
It has been widely rumoured also has it?
So has Fevola being interviewed by Hawthorn 2 weeks ago and being traded. The problem with these rumours is that 99.9% of them are garbage.

If a nobody like you thinks he knows something then the AFL would also. So would Brisbane. So would a few journalists.

Tony Francis
8 Sep 2005, 20:45
You can't just get on here and say the deals done mate, you need to back it up. Tell us where you heard it or stop wasting our time with your bull********.

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:48

Accusing Carlton of draft tampering. Based on your sister seeing him with Carlton officials out to dinner in public. What officials? Malouf? Collins has been in hospital. Denis has been at Noosa recently. Any dates forthcoming on this 'Elvis' sighting?
So has Fevola being interviewed by Hawthorn 2 weeks ago and being traded. The problem with these rumours is that 99.9% of them are garbage.

If a nobody like you thinks he knows something then the AFL would also. So would Brisbane. So would a few journalists.

I am sure the coach wasn't in Noosa in July/August.Maybe thats why you did so well, those midweek hols in the sun.

Personally I don't give a toss where he goes.If he wants to stay in melbourne good on him, but let him make the choice himself.No outside pressures.He is doing HSC, a huge year for the kid, and he is only a kid.Not an adult just yet.

I have kids the same age, and think its wrong to put so much pressure on kids.Footy playing, school, etc is way enough.

leave him be, All clubs, including Brissie.

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 20:49

My sister and her hubbie live in Carlton and are ture Blues.

1.AW
8 Sep 2005, 21:05
My sister and her hubbie live in Carlton and are ture Blues.

Thats it then it's set in concrete, Murphy will be at Carlton :eek:

cfc05
8 Sep 2005, 21:33
Any of you boys watch the footy show 4 weeks back, Eddie openly said they had just had a talk to the boy when sammy was probing him bout the rumour - so if carlton are screwed, so are collingwood under this little reg that u boys r spitting out (although none of you can qoute it!!) there are also many other reg's that are no longer strictly adhered to, so go dig them all up and start spinning ******** on them aswell mate. BTW what is your source, you must have heard this news the murph is coming to Carlton somewhere??

The Shag
8 Sep 2005, 21:34
i cant see why this rule would be in place. Clubs are allowed to negotiate if they have the opportunity of taking the youngster in question. still, you havent given any effidence of this....

Vidman
8 Sep 2005, 21:34

If the deal with carlton has been done, as the thread alludes to, then by definition they must have broken the rules. Murphy has not declared either way yet, if he's agreed with Carlton he must have talked to them to reach that decision, therefor Carlton have broken the rule that you cant talk to a father son before he declares whether he is going f/s.

And no I cant quote the rulebook, but it has been widely reported in the press. FWIW

KnaveyBlue
8 Sep 2005, 21:35
Perhaps they invited him to lunch and asked him how he'd feel about a move to Carlton in 2 years time?

Can't call it draft tampering if we're dealing based on the fact that he's going to Brisbane.

But hey, if he likes what we could offer in 2 years time so much that he decides to come to us now, then technically we've done nothing wrong.

Basically: "Hi Murph. We could offer you LOADS in two years time when you're done with Brisbane ;) ;) "

mojo31
8 Sep 2005, 21:35
I am sure the coach wasn't in Noosa in July/August.Maybe thats why you did so well, those midweek hols in the sun.

Personally I don't give a toss where he goes.If he wants to stay in melbourne good on him, but let him make the choice himself.No outside pressures.He is doing HSC, a huge year for the kid, and he is only a kid.Not an adult just yet.

I have kids the same age, and think its wrong to put so much pressure on kids.Footy playing, school, etc is way enough.

leave him be, All clubs, including Brissie.

Club officials has changed to Denis now has it?
July/August? That narrows it down doesn't it. Your story has more holes than Swiss cheese.

You do sound nice and bitter. Build a bridge and get over it.

Magpie
8 Sep 2005, 21:36
Why would he go to Brisbane then back to Melbourne,fool?

Vidman
8 Sep 2005, 21:38
i cant see why this rule would be in place. Clubs are allowed to negotiate if they have the opportunity of taking the youngster in question. still, you havent given any effidence of this....

Lions up offer for gun teen
Darren Cartwright
01sep05

BRISBANE has upped the ante in its desperate bid to gain the signature of teenager Marc Murphy by offering him a lucrative five-season contract to join the club as a father/son selection.

Lions football manager Graeme Allan is believed to have made the offer last week to Murphy, whose father John Murphy played 214 games with Fitzroy and was a five-time club champion.

Several Victorian clubs would be delighted if Murphy snubbed the Lions and placed himself in the November national draft where he would be a certain first-round choice.

He would probably be taken by Carlton, Collingwood or Hawthorn, which have the first six picks.

All Brisbane would have to forfeit to secure Murphy is a third-round selection.

But no clubs are allowed to approach or offer Murphy any inducements other than the Lions, who have first access to his services under the father/son criteria.

Brisbane chief executive Michael Bowers yesterday would not confirm or deny the Lions' huge offer.

"We don't talk about player contracts," Bowers said.

KnaveyBlue
8 Sep 2005, 21:39
Why would he go to Brisbane then back to Melbourne,fool?

...he wouldn't GO to Brisbane, fool! They'd just negotiate a non-draft related contract, even though all parties involved would know exactly what was really on the table.

mojo31
8 Sep 2005, 21:39
If the deal with carlton has been done, as the thread alludes to, then by definition they must have broken the rules. Murphy has not declared either way yet, if he's agreed with Carlton he must have talked to them to reach that decision, therefor Carlton have broken the rule that you cant talk to a father son before he declares whether he is going f/s.

And no I cant quote the rulebook, but it has been widely reported in the press. FWIW

How do you get to that result. All that Marc can do is to say he is going to nominate for the draft. Carlton would not say they were going to take him. They would not 100% know in there mind that he is there top pick if available. They would wait for draft camp and for interviewing him and seeing the other prospects. Imagine if Marc did his knee or something freakish happened to hi between now and November. It is 2 months away.

This thread makes little sense. He might have knocked back the father/son pick and that would be all.

TheClokes
8 Sep 2005, 21:41
Vidman
the deals done move on.

it was agreed this evening

gandaal
8 Sep 2005, 21:44

No it hasn't. I can't recall it being said once that it's against the rules for Clubs to talk to father/son potentials, quite the opposite actually. There have been plenty of suggestions from the media that Carlton and Collingwood are talking to Marc and none of them made even the slightest hint that they were doing something dodgey.

You Queenslanders are making this crap up.

KnaveyBlue
8 Sep 2005, 21:44
This thread makes little sense. He might have knocked back the father/son pick and that would be all.

Correct.

More to the point, if Murphy doesn't know that Carlton are keen on him and have adequate $ to throw around, then he must have had his head in the sand for the past few months.

He'd know exactly where he's going if doesn't go f/s.

tapestry
8 Sep 2005, 21:49
Vidman
the deals done move on.

it was agreed this evening

I don't think you understand the process TheClokes, either that or your definition of a 'deal' is that of a 'discussion about intent'.

No club (with the exception of a father/son situation) can make a formal offer to a player that is eligible to nominate for the draft.

Clubs can meet with the players, have informal/get to know you/us/our club type discussions.

Clubs can advise a player that should he nominate for the draft it would be the club's intention to select him with their first round pick or if they are still available at whatever round.

What they cannot do, is make a deal/offer/agree to contract terms etc.

Marc might or might not have rejected the offer by the Lions. That however doesn't preclude the Lions from making another offer. And at this stage they are still the ONLY club allowed to formalise their intentions. ANY other club that makes a formal offer, or enters even into an agreement that formalises their intentions would be in breach.

gandaal
8 Sep 2005, 21:53
I don't think you understand the process TheClokes, either that or your definition of a 'deal' is that of a 'discussion about intent'.

No club (with the exception of a father/son situation) can make a formal offer to a player that is eligible to nominate for the draft.

Clubs can meet with the players, have informal/get to know you/us/our club type discussions.

Clubs can advise a player that should he nominate for the draft it would be the club's intention to select him with their first round pick or if they are still available at whatever round.

What they cannot do, is make a deal/offer/agree to contract terms etc.

Marc might or might not have rejected the offer by the Lions. That however doesn't preclude the Lions from making another offer. And at this stage they are still the ONLY club allowed to formalise their intentions. ANY other club that makes a formal offer, or enters even into an agreement that formalises their intentions would be in breach.
Now that's 100% true. Any club can talk to Murphy but Brisbane are the only club that can make the kid any contractual offers.

Nightwolf
8 Sep 2005, 21:56
Dont be suprised if Murphy is stretchered off in his first match against the Lions...

campbell
8 Sep 2005, 22:00
Don't be surprised if he had done a deal with ANY other club, that he won't be playing next season.

Thats club and Murphy will be in a heap of ********.

Powers manager
8 Sep 2005, 22:12
Xav Ellis is the lucky one. Anyone who avoids going to The Blues ought to be happy. I just hope young Varcoe falls into second pick and Ellis goes to the Mighty Hawks.

TheGeneral
8 Sep 2005, 22:12
Say Marc Murphy wants to stay in Melbourne, that can't be draft tampering anymore than Brisbane offering a 5 year deal.

Can draftees nominate a price? I think there are two categories, the draftees can nominate a price or they just go into the draft on the base contract for a first round pick.
Who was the last draftee to nominate a price on his head? Gaspar?:
Andrew McKay and I think Robert Pyman were fined for sending notes to clubs they didn't want to go to.
So nothing will come of it! :D

TheGeneral
8 Sep 2005, 22:13
Xav Ellis is the lucky one. Anyone who avoids going to The Blues ought to be happy. I just hope young Varcoe falls into second pick and Ellis goes to the Mighty Hawks.
Ryan Griffen was lucky he didn't end up at Hawthorn under the worst coach in the league after you overlooked him. :D

FIGJAM
8 Sep 2005, 22:19
But no clubs are allowed to approach or offer Murphy any inducements other than the Lions, who have first access to his services under the father/son criteria.
I said it once and I'll say it again, only morons would create such a rule and would be even dumber if they think that they can police it.

I personally reckon Carlton are well within their rights to talk to him, and I hate them more than I hate Brisvegas. I reckon we're well within our rights to talk to him.

I reckon last year, the bottom three teams could have approached Smith, or even Cloke.

If the rule exists, it shouldn't. And if the rule exists, it doesn't in reality!

The Shag
8 Sep 2005, 22:20
i think some people are just plain stupid. the rule is simply stating that you cant offer him a contract to sway his decision...you are still allowed to talk...

dipper86
8 Sep 2005, 22:34
Ryan Griffen was lucky he didn't end up at Hawthorn under the worst coach in the league after you overlooked him. :D

Worst coach?? I think your 2005 Wooden spoon says other wise. Pagans paddock is a real winner without Carey. :D

L84AD8
8 Sep 2005, 22:35
You are kidding right, the rule is set in concrete.Can easily be proven by an investigation that Carlton are breaking the rule.They are screwed bigtime,plus Murphy is as well.

DO you actually know the AFL regs?

Dude, I guess when players are courted during the year to jump ship like Nick Davis was at the pies or when the pies courted J Brown this year that this is also against AFL regs yeah???Absolutely is..but hell knows it happens but no one gets done.....

waspy
8 Sep 2005, 22:43
Eddie mentioned something at the start of the show tonight, probably to do with this.

1.AW
8 Sep 2005, 22:44
What did he say exactly?

TheGeneral
8 Sep 2005, 22:47
Worst coach?? I think your 2005 Wooden spoon says other wise. Pagans paddock is a real winner without Carey. :D
And you're still in PP territory with as many PPs as Carlton, more 1st and 2nd round picks than Carlton and a change of a coach. :D

Vidman
8 Sep 2005, 22:47
No it hasn't. I can't recall it being said once that it's against the rules for Clubs to talk to father/son potentials, quite the opposite actually. There have been plenty of suggestions from the media that Carlton and Collingwood are talking to Marc and none of them made even the slightest hint that they were doing something dodgey.

You Queenslanders are making this crap up.

Was in the press up here, and on afl.com IIRC. Look back a few posts and you'll see I found the article that I was refering too. mmm intereseting you would say i made it up , when had already given you the source.

waspy
8 Sep 2005, 22:48
What did he say exactly?
something like "Carlton set to gain one of the hottest young talents in the country", could mean something else though....i mean this is the Footy Show.

irish
8 Sep 2005, 22:50
what a complete load of crap isnt it a wonder how pies know when mark murphy goes to the toilet !! give it a rest

munsonned
8 Sep 2005, 22:50
what abuot if Murphy approached carlton to get a better understanding of their position on a possible drafting.

Too many outs for there to be any follow up.

deck
8 Sep 2005, 22:51
Say Marc Murphy wants to stay in Melbourne, that can't be draft tampering anymore than Brisbane offering a 5 year deal.

Can draftees nominate a price? I think there are two categories, the draftees can nominate a price or they just go into the draft on the base contract for a first round pick.
Who was the last draftee to nominate a price on his head? Gaspar?:
Andrew McKay and I think Robert Pyman were fined for sending notes to clubs they didn't want to go to.
So nothing will come of it! :D

Brett chambers and collingwood were fined and he was banned from playing for collingwood for 4 years and suspended from AFL for 1 year. He told other clubs that he won't play for them if drafted and ended up with collingwood at pick 10 when touted to go top 5. Richmond was the club who stated the would draft him but didn't because of the letters.

dipper86
8 Sep 2005, 23:05
And you're still in PP territory with as many PPs as Carlton, more 1st and 2nd round picks than Carlton and a change of a coach. :D

Your side has had more seasoned bodies and they have a foward line and still they cant manage to finish higher than a Hawthorn side thats just playing kids. :D

TheGeneral
8 Sep 2005, 23:08
Your side has had more seasoned bodies and they have a foward line and still they cant manage to finish higher than Hawthorn side just playing kids. :D
But our seasoned bodies are crap without access to quality kids which you've had or traded away. :D

TheGeneral
8 Sep 2005, 23:10
Brett chambers and collingwood were fined and he was banned from playing for collingwood for 4 years and suspended from AFL for 1 year. He told other clubs that he won't play for them if drafted and ended up with collingwood at pick 10 when touted to go top 5. Richmond was the club who stated the would draft him but didn't because of the letters.
Brett Chalmers, that was the one. :o Not Pyman and there won't be a repeat of it since Cousins and McIntosh were free to walk from the Cats and Saints respectively. ;)

dipper86
8 Sep 2005, 23:13
But our seasoned bodies are crap without access to quality kids which you've had or traded away. :D

Pagan didn't seem to think they were crap. :D

deck
8 Sep 2005, 23:41
Brett Chalmers, that was the one. :o Not Pyman and there won't be a repeat of it since Cousins and McIntosh were free to walk from the Cats and Saints respectively. ;)

Pyman was involved at the same time with draft tampering but not to the same extent that chalmers was.

Dazman
9 Sep 2005, 00:13
My understanding is clubs are allowed to meet, greet and talk to potential draftees, but are not allowed to offer contracts, give financial insentives etc. Carlton would be in the clear for dining Murphy but i would expect some strife if it is proven that Carlton have offered a 3 year contract to the young fella.

WaLkEr_ThE_StAr
9 Sep 2005, 00:25
but i would expect some strife if it is proven that Carlton have offered a 3 year contract to the young fella.

Not if Carlton offered him a contract AFTER Murphy made up his mind on nominating for the draft. Therefore no pursuasion techniques were involved.

saintlynewby
9 Sep 2005, 00:36
whats it matter... its a done deal.

Collingwood and Brisbane done everything they could to get him over
but he agreed to Carlton

end of story.

Welcome to Collingwood Xavier Ellis.
Actually I heard last week that one of the Power boys was going to Collingwood, but couldn't find out who!!! Now we know :)

saintlynewby
9 Sep 2005, 00:45
What did he say exactly?
Eddie just said at the end of the show "Marc Murphy is going to Carlton next year...That's what he said on national TV, that's all he said also.

Magpie Mick
9 Sep 2005, 01:12
Any of you boys watch the footy show 4 weeks back, Eddie openly said they had just had a talk to the boy when sammy was probing him bout the rumour - so if carlton are screwed, so are collingwood under this little reg that u boys r spitting out (although none of you can qoute it!!) there are also many other reg's that are no longer strictly adhered to, so go dig them all up and start spinning ******** on them aswell mate. BTW what is your source, you must have heard this news the murph is coming to Carlton somewhere??

I'm sure teams are able to speak to their managers etc, just not directly to the young blokes.

Blues_Man
9 Sep 2005, 01:19
It was the AFL’s view the father-son had to be maintained as fans strongly identify with the sons of former champions.
You can't have clubs obstructing or trying to influence a child prior to his decsion to either nominate for the draft or go father/son.
lol Marc Murphys a child now ...in your previous posts you were saying his parents had no right to influence where the young MAN plays ...talk about changing tact to suit your own agenda :rolleyes:

79Vintage
9 Sep 2005, 02:45
The whole ********ing draft system is illegal, full stop.

I'm a footballer but I can't ply my trade where I want to, only where ever in Australia I'm told I have to go. As long as the players union is getting their share of the money for the players then it will stay intact, that's the legal 'strength' of the AFL draft system, of course, until one individual decides otherwise and goes to court, then the whole thing falls apart because it is a blatant restraint of trade.

Murphy will go to Carlton or to whatever Melbourne club decides they want him, after another club decides they don't want him.

1.AW
9 Sep 2005, 03:06
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,16539286%255E19742,00.html

Funkalicous
9 Sep 2005, 04:37
This thread is quite funny.... but also pathetic.

The only way the AFL can force a club's officials to not talk to Murphy is by getting a retraining order. That's a federal law. If you don't like it.. tough. But it's a free country, so STFU and get on with it...

TheClokes
9 Sep 2005, 09:05
you can all thank me now
i was correct all along :)

The Flying Belgian
9 Sep 2005, 09:51

Potential draftees can apply to an indepedent artibtrator if they want to earn more in their first two years, otherwise it's a base salary plus match payments,bonuses, etc.. That whole thing is a restraint-of-trade thing. Any contracts offered to potential draftees (and I guess that sort of limits it to f/s) are usually back-ended til the 3rd year or longer. But I think the whole thing is such a fiddly process and most likely a turn-off to most clubs that no-one bothers. Can't remeber who the last player to do it was.

I'm not sure about the whole "Carlton not allowed to talk to Murphy" thing. It's hard at the best of times to find rules and regulations of the AFL. The best place is usually the aflpa site but there's no mention of it there. Doens't mean it doesn't exist though. However, it would as hard to police as stopping clubs from talking trades before the trade period. The alleged "rule" was raised by Darren Cartwright in the C-M, and many of us know that Darren's "mail" has sometimes been tampered with.

Anyway, if Marc has decided, good luck to him - he seems like a nice kid.

Weaver
9 Sep 2005, 12:37
I'm not sure about the whole "Carlton not allowed to talk to Murphy" thing. It's hard at the best of times to find rules and regulations of the AFL.

Also would depend on the fine print. The rule might ban inducements but Carlton may not have offered an inducement, just said that yes they would be interested in taking him if he was available.

Second Murphy might not have put in his nomination form yet. Difficult to see how he can be bound by AFL regulations when he is essentially a civilian.

Good result for the rest of the league if true. Bumps everyone one place up the draft order.

irish_setanta
9 Sep 2005, 12:41

Well looks like you got your fact wrong cambell, he has nominated for the draft, so weather or not he is father son you can still talk to him, and collingwood have also talked to him what they wrong as well????????????

The Flying Belgian
9 Sep 2005, 12:52
Also would depend on the fine print. The rule might ban inducements but Carlton may not have offered an inducement, just said that yes they would be interested in taking him if he was available.

Second Murphy might not have put in his nomination form yet. Difficult to see how he can be bound by AFL regulations when he is essentially a civilian.

Good result for the rest of the league if true. Bumps everyone one place up the draft order.

First point: Spot on. I have the feeling this is more or less the "spirit" of any regulations. As you said, it depends on the wording.

Second point: In that case Marc wouldn't be bound by AFL regulation, but the clubs still are and any action would be against them.

Third point: Very true. imagine if murphy had gone f/s and ellis doesn't nominate.

Some of my fellow supporters may do well not to take as gospel everything they read in the papers.

GOALden Hawk
9 Sep 2005, 12:54
Some Brisbane supporters talking total bollocks in this thread.

Great result for all clubs bar Brisbane - be interesting to see the reception he gets the first time he plays against the Lions.

jmerino
9 Sep 2005, 12:56
Well looks like you got your fact wrong cambell, he has nominated for the draft, so weather or not he is father son you can still talk to him, and collingwood have also talked to him what they wrong as well????????????

Draft nominations aren't being accepted yet are they?

pieman1
9 Sep 2005, 13:06
you can all thank me now
Love ya work Clokes. You broke the story in cyberspace 24 hours before the newspapers, your source was impeccable. I reported several months ago that Murphy did not want to leave and was bombarded by posters telling me a 'deal was done' with the Lions. It seems you and I were both right on the money, It's not what you know, it's who you know, eh! :)

Jimbeam
9 Sep 2005, 13:09
Great result for all clubs bar Brisbane - be interesting to see the reception he gets the first time he plays against the Lions.

I'am sure they will try and take to poor kids head off, i woundnt expect anything less from Brions.. But that era is almost over and the cap can be readjusted soon.. Just hope they dont loose all thier supporters in 1 bad year.. AFL is going to have to consider this, as we cannot have QLD football loosing out again.. hard nut, but they need something fair.. and great news for Football in general about marc good on the kid..

TheClokes
9 Sep 2005, 13:53
very true "pieman1" :)

tara
9 Sep 2005, 14:00
I'am sure they will try and take to poor kids head off, i woundnt expect anything less from Brions.. But that era is almost over and the cap can be readjusted soon.. Just hope they dont loose all thier supporters in 1 bad year.. AFL is going to have to consider this, as we cannot have QLD football loosing out again.. hard nut, but they need something fair.. and great news for Football in general about marc good on the kid..

With reference to taking his head of who cares. Players who snipe are gutless pricks something their beloved coach is an expert in.

I was playing footy with a very talent but skinnny kid a few years ago who was always targeted. It was amazing how many times the thug came off second best.

Weaver
9 Sep 2005, 14:34

Richmond drafted Brett Chalmers with a very late pick. He refused to play for us. A draft pick is the 'rights' to a player and even if a player doesn't sign a club maintains the rights for 3 years. He was young and so Richmond were prepared to sit on the selection.

Collingwood got involved. Told him not to come to Richmond. Said they would pick him up in the draft. Told every other club that if they were to take him before Collingwood's pick that Chalmers would continue to sit out of football.

Collingwood got done for draft tampering partly because they were guilty and partly because actually interfering with a player on someone else's list crosses a line and Richmond got cranky. Richmond got cash compensation IIRC.

Turned out pretty well for Richmond, we ended up getting a pretty good deal for a guy who was average at best and Collingwood really suffered.

Robert Pyman and Andrew McKay distributed letters saying they would only play for certain clubs. Both were fined. McKay hadn't wanted to go to Carlton but was happy enough. Pyman spat the dummy but money talks and he went to the Roos.

SMOO
9 Sep 2005, 14:47
Well if Carlton get done, which i highly doubt, it would be open slather then.
The whole draft system and salary cap is flawed and if challenged in courts would throw the whole afl into chaos. Every club knows this but dont do anything tio keep the peace. But start a rumbmle,,,... then see what happens

LukeHodge15
9 Sep 2005, 15:02
murphy declaring he isnt going to brisbane is great news 4 the hawks :D

and cypher, i know whos list i would rather have , and it aint carltons.... ;)

we passed on griffen, more than happy with roughy :eek: key position contested marking forwards r just so easy 2 come across now days....lol

TheGeneral
9 Sep 2005, 15:05
you can all thank me now
Lingsface was wrong, it was Damian Barrett not Sheehan.

no. 4
10 Sep 2005, 17:33
Welcome to Carlton Marc Murphy.

chewy-on-your-boot
10 Sep 2005, 18:18
mmmmm..........

Marc Murphy and Matty White in Carlton's midfield. When they get their bodies up to scratch the opposition will not be able to stop them delivering to Eddie Betts crumbing at full forward.

Blue Boyz
10 Sep 2005, 19:08
mmmmm..........

Marc Murphy and Matty White in Carlton's midfield. When they get their bodies up to scratch the opposition will not be able to stop them delivering to Eddie Betts crumbing at full forward.

BTW who Matty White??

Blue Boyz
10 Sep 2005, 19:09
mmmmm..........

Edit.

chewy-on-your-boot
10 Sep 2005, 19:18
BTW who is Matty White??

Ask Adam Bentick and Eddie Betts.

Blue Boyz
10 Sep 2005, 19:57
Ask Adam Bentick and Eddie Betts.

Sorry this must an in joke as I don't get your sense of humour.

chewy-on-your-boot
10 Sep 2005, 19:59
Sorry this must an in joke as I don't get your sense of humour.

You can't be much of a Blues supporter if you don't know AB and Eddie.

Lajon
10 Sep 2005, 20:06
played at calder together ... though you have failed to make a point

chewy-on-your-boot
10 Sep 2005, 20:10
played at calder together ... though you have failed to make a point

Put all the Cannon's premiership players at Carlton and they will win three in a row, maybe four in a row.

Better still put them at Richmond and the Mighty Tigers will rein supreme again, for many years.

Blue Boyz
10 Sep 2005, 20:39
You can't be much of a Blues supporter if you don't know AB and Eddie.

I know who Bentick and Eddie Betts but that wasn't my question obviously.

I take it that Matty White is a Calder Cannon's player. Is he any good and will get drafted this year??