View Full Version : Tongala Football Club

Flat Track Bully
8th September 2005, 22:16
You heard it here first...

Tongala Football Club will apply to join the Murray Football league in 2006.

80 percent of members of the GVFL wooden spooners have given the proposal the green light in a meeting tonight at the Tongala Recreation Reserve.

Best of luck blues...now about that clash with Numurkah...I suggest a change of name to the Tongala Golden Cows

bradrowe#32
8th September 2005, 22:47
Love the 'Golden Cows' nickname.

I'm actually a bit suprised by this. I thought the members would've been keen to stick to the GV and hope things turn around, but 80% is a very overwhelming result.

I wonder what the players will do?

Doona2
9th September 2005, 06:46
I know several blokes down this way were thinking about playing at Tonny next year for the GV experience, but Id be surprised if they go there now.

DekkaRoo
9th September 2005, 10:52
Good luck to the Tongala Football Netball club. I hope they can do well and get that winning feeling back in the community.

They are a great bunch of blokes there in Tonny town and I wish them all the best!! I hope all the boys stick together and stay on board!!!

Travvy43
9th September 2005, 10:56
As a player with TFC over the last two years it has been a tough time. Last night was a big decision for the club to make and hopefully now with the decision made the club can move forward.

It will be interesting to see how the blues go. A new coach is the number one priority and it should be one that can bring players to the club. More players will be required as i think the move to the Murray League will prevent melbounre based players playing with the club.

Time will tell though.

Go Blues!!

fat back pocket
9th September 2005, 12:14
I know several blokes down this way were thinking about playing at Tonny next year for the GV experience, but Id be surprised if they go there now.

Few Broadford blokes hey doona?

What do you think will be the outcome for yea. Is it confirmed they will go to KD? Do you think you will lose players, gain players, or it won't really affect the player list?

Will you coach next year?

Doona2
9th September 2005, 23:05
Few Broadford blokes hey doona?

What do you think will be the outcome for yea. Is it confirmed they will go to KD? Do you think you will lose players, gain players, or it won't really affect the player list?

Will you coach next year?

Looks likely Yea will b eback in the KDFL from 2006. As for the coaching gig mate I guess it is up to the new committee to decide what direction they want to go with coaches etc. Had we gone to Picola Id say a lot of players would've left, but many are now talking of mates for next year. Let's get over tomorrow first!!!

fat back pocket
10th September 2005, 05:10
Looks likely Yea will b eback in the KDFL from 2006. As for the coaching gig mate I guess it is up to the new committee to decide what direction they want to go with coaches etc. Had we gone to Picola Id say a lot of players would've left, but many are now talking of mates for next year. Let's get over tomorrow first!!!

Good luck to you and your team in this weekends grand final.

Did your injured friend Inness cut his cast off?

Wayde Petersen
10th September 2005, 21:02
I wonder what uniform tonny will don next season, due to thier jumper clash with Numurkah?, they'll probably wear a two blue uniform similar to thier cricket team, but we'll wait and see (although the Crows jumper would be a good fit).

Anyway, do you think that Tonny will lose players (from both Football & Netball) due to its move into the Murray League ?, and how well do you think they will go compared to Rumbalara (who are also moving into the MFL next season), and in the league in general ?, will thier games against Echuca United & Moama be a start of a strong local rivalry, similar toi thier matches against Kyabram ?, and furthermore, will the GVFL let them go (they've been a member for over 70 years) ?.

Anyway, I hope that this move goes well for them (personally the KDFL would've been a better move though, considering several economic factors at play), and I hope that for the town's sake that the club can find its feet again, and become the great side that it was back in the mid 1980's.

Wayde Petersen
10th September 2005, 21:05
BTW, Congratulations to Yea for winning the CGFL Premiership, and welcome back into the KDFL, (although you do have to do something about the clash of colours you have with Rushworth).

Doona2
12th September 2005, 18:54
and how well do you think they will go compared to Rumbalara (who are also moving into the MFL next season), and in the league in general

Heard at our CGFL grand final on Saturday that Murray FL clubs still have to vote on whether they want Rumba, and in fact Tongala to enter it's comp. Tongala are sweet but there's a strong word many don't want Rumba. And fair enough too if they can't beat little old Yea they've got no hope in the MFL :)

Doona2
12th September 2005, 18:59
BTW, Congratulations to Yea for winning the CGFL Premiership, and welcome back into the KDFL, (although you do have to do something about the clash of colours you have with Rushworth).

Thanks Wade, was very satisfying, especially the way several of our players were targetted. Our boys just copped the blows and then ran them off their feet in the last term. We all knew they weren't as fit, and mentally they go to water when challenged!!! Im tipping if the whole KDFL things go ahead (and it's still up in the air) the VCFL will help us out with an alternate strip for Rushy games. There is still a fair push for a league consisting of Murch, Nagambie, Avenel, Violet Town, Yea, Alex, Thonton and possibly Broadford Im lead to believe, with many more meetings scheduled before this is all resolved.

GO TIGERS

TuskenRaider
13th September 2005, 09:32
Thanks Wade, was very satisfying, especially the way several of our players were targetted. Our boys just copped the blows and then ran them off their feet in the last term. We all knew they weren't as fit, and mentally they go to water when challenged!!! Im tipping if the whole KDFL things go ahead (and it's still up in the air) the VCFL will help us out with an alternate strip for Rushy games. There is still a fair push for a league consisting of Murch, Nagambie, Avenel, Violet Town, Yea, Alex, Thonton and possibly Broadford Im lead to believe, with many more meetings scheduled before this is all resolved.

GO TIGERS
If the clubs could organise a league like you've suggested above, that would be sensational. Hope something can be worked out. Avoid the VCFL & just break away. The only problem I could see with the above suggestion is too much common sense!

The Picola league would be happier as well.

AJ ZUB
13th September 2005, 11:33
You heard it here first...

Tongala Football Club will apply to join the Murray Football league in 2006.

80 percent of members of the GVFL wooden spooners have given the proposal the green light in a meeting tonight at the Tongala Recreation Reserve.

Best of luck blues...now about that clash with Numurkah...I suggest a change of name to the Tongala Golden Cows

You've always had your finger on the pulse flat track, I can see you having your own local footy show on WIN in the near future. :thumbsu:

Flat Track Bully
13th September 2005, 13:09
You've always had your finger on the pulse flat track, I can see you having your own local footy show on WIN in the near future. :thumbsu:

AJ...I'm a very unattractive man...A show with a G rating will go to an R rating very qucikly with my head on it...

AJ ZUB
13th September 2005, 13:25
AJ...I'm a very unattractive man...A show with a G rating will go to an R rating very qucikly with my head on it...

Make up is a wonderful thing.

Flat Track Bully
14th September 2005, 11:11
Make up is a wonderful thing.

Not that wonderful...you seem to have your finger on the pulse AJ Zub....would like to know your identity...

AJ ZUB
14th September 2005, 15:13
Not that wonderful...you seem to have your finger on the pulse AJ Zub....would like to know your identity...

I'm about 180cm with short dark hear, that should narrow it down a little. I have had the pleasure of meeting you.

Flat Track Bully
14th September 2005, 16:57
I'm about 180cm with short dark hear, that should narrow it down a little. I have had the pleasure of meeting you.

Who's pleasure, yours or mine!!!! You know the leahy's well... i know they had a mate who travelled with them that played 2's at Leopold...Glenn or soemthing I think his name was...help me out here....

Wayde Petersen
19th September 2005, 21:16
Thanks, Doona, and congratulations yet again, although your suggestion about a reformed WNEFL is a good idea, but we're (Murchison), pretty happy where we are, and I don't think that we would be at all happy about joining the WNEFL (even though we were a founding member of the league), but if the VCFL had any sense, they would put in Seymour, Euroa & Mansfield with Yea, Broadford, Alexandra, Thornton, Avenel, Kilmore & Nagambie to make a brand new WNEFL, but of course common sense within the VCFL is alarmingly uncommon, this will never happen and that is a pity.

Doona2
19th September 2005, 22:40
Thanks, Doona, and congratulations yet again, although your suggestion about a reformed WNEFL is a good idea, but we're (Murchison), pretty happy where we are, and I don't think that we would be at all happy about joining the WNEFL (even though we were a founding member of the league), but if the VCFL had any sense, they would put in Seymour, Euroa & Mansfield with Yea, Broadford, Alexandra, Thornton, Avenel, Kilmore & Nagambie to make a brand new WNEFL, but of course common sense within the VCFL is alarmingly uncommon, this will never happen and that is a pity.

The VCFL has well and truly stuffed this one up, many great theories on what should happen, but none seem to be gathering momentum. Latest mail suggests Yea will more than likely be back in the KDFL, a challenge our premiership side is looking forward to.

Travvy43
20th September 2005, 09:04
but if the VCFL had any sense, they would put in Seymour, Euroa & Mansfield with Yea, Broadford, Alexandra, Thornton, Avenel, Kilmore & Nagambie to make a brand new WNEFL.

Wayde comon, this comment is a bit unrealistic dont you think. Could you imagine Euroa playing nagambie this year? Girgarre nearly rolled nagambie this year didn't they??

jmain14
20th September 2005, 09:35
Wayde comon, this comment is a bit unrealistic dont you think. Could you imagine Euroa playing nagambie this year? Girgarre nearly rolled nagambie this year didn't they??
yeah they did. wayde - you could not possibly of been serious with that call could you??

Wayde Petersen
21st September 2005, 22:57
Euroa, Mansfield & Seymour will have to run out money sooner or later, really you would think that they couldn't consistently pay the money that they are paying for their Melbourne based players ?, they will go down sooner than most people think.

And the reason why Nagambie's struggling at the moment is that they tried to buy a flag, succeeded and have been paying the price for it ever since, but they (and Avenel) do have a lot of good kids coming up, and they're not that far away if they can pick up a few good players (local blokes on the fringes at Seymour for instance), and there's a bit of money around that area, so i'm sure that they will be back in contention.

But, at the present time, that league would look a bit disjointed, but when these three southern GVFL teams start to fall down the ladder (which they will), then it would look like a better prospect, and a far as the other grades go (Reseves, Under 18's & Netball), the gap between the sides is quite narrow, which is something that also must be taken into account

fat back pocket
23rd September 2005, 07:53
Euroa, Mansfield & Seymour will have to run out money sooner or later, really you would think that they couldn't consistently pay the money that they are paying for their Melbourne based players ?, they will go down sooner than most people think.

And the reason why Nagambie's struggling at the moment is that they tried to buy a flag, succeeded and have been paying the price for it ever since, but they (and Avenel) do have a lot of good kids coming up, and they're not that far away if they can pick up a few good players (local blokes on the fringes at Seymour for instance), and there's a bit of money around that area, so i'm sure that they will be back in contention.

But, at the present time, that league would look a bit disjointed, but when these three southern GVFL teams start to fall down the ladder (which they will), then it would look like a better prospect, and a far as the other grades go (Reseves, Under 18's & Netball), the gap between the sides is quite narrow, which is something that also must be taken into account

Won't happen champ, Mansfield will be ok in regards to money, the footy season is in the midst of the towns biggest time - winter, where the rich families from Melb spend money in the town, which then gets passed on as good sponsorships to the footy club.

Couldn't tell ya where Euroa and Seymour will be in 5 years, you are probably right in terms of down the GV ladder, but Tatura is down there at the minute after playing off in a GF last year, and they have a past record or bouncing up and down the ladder when the money comes in and then runs out. Seymour and Euroa will be the same. both of them won't be able to sustain it. But i think in the long run Seymour and Euroa will have a better chance of getting melbourne based players for cheaper than Tat and other GV clubs because the proximity to Melb.

Anyway, who knows what will happen, this break up of CGFL will send teams to other leagues, they aren't going to want to swap and change every five minutes, they will want structure, to settle down and find their place in that league.

willo1
28th September 2005, 13:54
Heard at our CGFL grand final on Saturday that Murray FL clubs still have to vote on whether they want Rumba, and in fact Tongala to enter it's comp. Tongala are sweet but there's a strong word many don't want Rumba. And fair enough too if they can't beat little old Yea they've got no hope in the MFL :)

i play for echuca united and i would not be suprised if the MFL and all the clubs do not allow Rumbalara into our league. no-one wants them, and i am not sure that Yea is good or not Doona2 ;-) but i believe if they (rumba) did come into our league next year they will perform well, the Collingwood Football Club gave Rumbalara FC $500,000 because they got Richard Cole Chris Egan and from Rumba. it will be like a supermarket. the rumba selectors will go to the GV League and other leagues, and will basically hand pick good players and pay them massive amounts of money to play for them...

Doona2
28th September 2005, 14:34
i play for echuca united and i would not be suprised if the MFL and all the clubs do not allow Rumbalara into our league. no-one wants them, and i am not sure that Yea is good or not Doona2 ;-) but i believe if they (rumba) did come into our league next year they will perform well, the Collingwood Football Club gave Rumbalara FC $500,000 because they got Richard Cole Chris Egan and from Rumba. it will be like a supermarket. the rumba selectors will go to the GV League and other leagues, and will basically hand pick good players and pay them massive amounts of money to play for them...

The CGFL standard aint rated highly by many football folk, so Yea was good enough to beat Rumba at a district level that's all. Im not denying what will happen once the $500k becomes accessible. I just think you gotta build success and not buy your way in - it's not like they've dominated the CGFL by 20 goals week in week out for 3-4 seasons. Im aware of the Egan connection, but I thought Richie Cole was from W.A.

jmain14
28th September 2005, 15:16
Im aware of the Egan connection, but I thought Richie Cole was from W.A.
correct.

Andyt30
28th September 2005, 19:23
I've got the Central Goulburn grand final dvd :) a collectors item i recond being no more central Goulburn anymore, yea can still have the same song, some clubs have the same song they were alright last time since Rushworth came in to the kDFL after Yea left
if yea had stayed in the KDFL originaly then Rushworth would been the side to change
in the Horsham & District league their a few jumper classes, so they use alternate strip
so why can't yea have a alternate strip for Rushworth games ?

cheers

Doona2
28th September 2005, 22:13
I've got the Central Goulburn grand final dvd :) a collectors item i recond being no more central Goulburn anymore, yea can still have the same song, some clubs have the same song they were alright last time since Rushworth came in to the kDFL after Yea left
if yea had stayed in the KDFL originaly then Rushworth would been the side to change in the Horsham & District league their a few jumper classes, so they use alternate strip so why can't yea have a alternate strip for Rushworth games? cheers

Who said Yea was changing their colours? An alternate strip is what will occur whenever Yea meets Rushy, and I reckon after the balls up by the VCFL there's a chance they'll be chipping in for a new kit.

Andyt30
4th October 2005, 19:19
or yea can have the same but maby redesign it dose rushworth have a Gold stripe or a tiger head on it ? eg Horsham district clubs Rupanyup and kalkee jumpers classed to much so Rupanyup gone to carlton Jumper but with a Panther on front

cosby
4th October 2005, 19:41
rushworth have a gold band about a third the hieght of the jumper goin around the middle of the jumper horizontally.

Wayde Petersen
4th October 2005, 22:30
Or what about Black & Gold Vertical stripes with a Gold back, with Black shorts & Socks (like Cobram), that would make more sense for someone like Yea to wear against Rushy.

Doona2
8th October 2005, 14:41
Nice notice on the Murray FL website . . . .

Tongala F.N.C.

The Murray Football League was ecstatic this morning when we received a call from the Tongala President Mick Hare to advise me they had accepted our invitation to join the MFL.

The members met last night 8-9-05, the vote was overwhelming in favour of a move to the M.F.L.

We will be having a meeting with their executive committee this Tuesday Night to work together and achieve what we hope will be a smooth transition to the MFL.

This is a big step by Tongala F.N.C. we wish them all the best in their new venture and I'm sure I speak for all clubs in saying that we welcome them and look forward to competing against both the football and netball teams
in 2006.

Doona2
12th October 2005, 09:44
Clubs meet to decide Tongala's future

By Christie Peucker

October 12 2005
Shepparton News

Tongala's fate in Goulburn Valley Football League will be decided tonight when its clearance application is tabled before the league's club delegates.
The GVFL's 13 clubs must sanction the clearance before the Blues can officially apply to join the neighbouring Murray Football League next year.

If successful, Tongala will cease its 76-year affiliation with the GVFL, which began in 1924.

Blues president Michael Hare said he was confident the other clubs would release Tongala from the GVFL.

"I am confident they will do it," Hare said.

"If not we will appeal to the Victorian Country Football League."

Hare said he believed the club's future lay in the MFL, which he said would re-energise the club back to its former success.

"I've always said that we should be in the GVFL but being a realist I don't believe we can at the moment," Hare said.

"Sponsorship is hard to get in the town."

Tongala's push to flee the GVFL comes after the club's failure to win a senior match since 2003, during which it has battled to remain competitive in what is widely accepted as Victoria's strongest country football league.

GVFL general manager Eric Bott said while he was unsure how the clubs would vote, they had recognised Tongala's position following the closure of the town's dairy factory.

"These's been a degree of sympathy for Tongala's situation, what with the drought and Nestle," Bott said.

"But certainly the preferred option is not to see Tongala fall by the wayside."

The Blues' financial and life members voted to sever ties with the GVFL on September 8, with 70 per cent supporting the switch.

The MFL is likely to approve Tongala's application.

Doona2
13th October 2005, 09:27
Tongala cleared to play in MFL

October 13 2005
Shepparton News

Tongala Football Club was last night given a green light to end its 76-year affiliation with the Goulburn Valley Football League.
The league's other clubs voted 11-1 in favour of allowing the struggling Blues to seek their future elsewhere.

Only the Shepparton Swans opposed the move, but drew no support in moving a motion to deny the transfer.

All that stands between Tongala and the MFL now is an approval by the Blues' adopted league, which is likely to be a mere formality.

Tongala president Michael Hare said he was thrilled with the decision, which brought to an end one of the most difficult periods in the club's history.

"The process we've been through in the past few months is heartbreaking; it's been very difficult, and we hope that none of the other clubs here tonight ever has to go through the same thing," Hare told last night's assembly.

Hare said the closure of the town's Nestle dairy factory - which sacked 150 workers earlier this year - had a particular impact on the football club, both in terms of sourcing players, and obtaining sponsorship.

"We're relieved that it's over," he said.

"The pressure's off in one area now, but now we have to organise coaches and a board."

Hare said the club was "taken aback" by the weight of the vote in its favour, and thanked the other GVFL clubs for seeing Tongala's point of view.

He said the club would now contact Murray Football League officials as soon as possible, and start putting in place new measures to fit with the MFL's different junior structure.

Hare said the club was also pleased that all of its football and netball would now most likely be played on Saturdays, rather than across the weekend as it had been in the GVFL.

Tongala last won a GVFL match in 2003, and has barely been competitive in what is recognised as regional Victoria's top football competition.

On September 8, 70 per cent of the club's financial and life members voted in favour of the switch.

Milky9
10th November 2005, 13:24
TFC will loose many footballers and also Netballers not to mention many possible pick ups who were already committed last year. Unfortunate but true.

willo1
11th November 2005, 07:40
does anyone have any idea of what jumper tonny will wear next season??, because the blues design will clash with numurkah...

hank1
11th November 2005, 14:34
does anyone have any idea of what jumper tonny will wear next season??, because the blues design will clash with numurkah...

Believe they will keep there jumpers but have an alternate strip against Numurkah.

Andyt30
12th November 2005, 16:21
alternate Jumpers are good, only need to be once or twice a year depening how the draw will work out