View Full Version : Wimmera Football League
Rat_attack
10 Mar 2007, 09:29
Thats right i am just trying to say that kids leaving arent dropping that much in standard. Look at Tatyoon some players that played senior football for Ararat when they were stronger are: Jason James, Andrew Ward, Sonny Walton, Doug Walton, Chris Milne, Shane Hitchcock, Ash Bryant, Zander McDougall, Danny Patton, Rich King. Andrew Healy played years for Stawell in the Wimmera. Damian Cameron and Sean McDougall have both played football for North Ballarat. That just goes to show that the depth is there in the lower leagues.
Jame's Ward Hitchcock and the waltons cut it at senior level when ararat were strong but as for the others, milne, Mcdougall,Patton,King and bryant only played a hanful of senior games and spent most of there time in the ararat 2's! hence some of those blokes playing in a 2's flag for ararat! As for Cameron and Mcdougall cameron only played a couple ofgames for the rebels and same with Mcdougall who played later in the year, but he could make a name for himself signing with the VFL side Rooster this year! hope he gets over his ankle injury and has a good year
RAZZAMATAZZ
13 Mar 2007, 10:57
Did anyone happen to catch fridays Ararat Advertiser? what a load of rot that was put in the paper! who comes out and says all that stuff and more to the point who would write it in there in the first place! do they want to see there local footy side fold! this Henry Dalkin who writes in the paper is a fool! If only he would use his head before writing articles that help destroy clubs more! All this has done has made the club more unpopular which is what it doesn't need at the moment!!
Leather Magnet
13 Mar 2007, 11:07
Henry is no fan of Ararat.
journeyman
13 Mar 2007, 11:25
Did anyone happen to catch fridays Ararat Advertiser? what a load of rot that was put in the paper! who comes out and says all that stuff and more to the point who would write it in there in the first place! do they want to see there local footy side fold! this Henry Dalkin who writes in the paper is a fool! If only he would use his head before writing articles that help destroy clubs more! All this has done has made the club more unpopular which is what it doesn't need at the moment!!
What was said???
RAZZAMATAZZ
13 Mar 2007, 12:48
What was said???
Henry Interviewed a bloke from the ararat footy club that has been there 5min with no credibility at all, They went on to bag other local clubs around ararat and about how many players are leaving ararat, with some of the players that have been named to be leaving not even leaving at all! This henry bloke needs to leave his own opinion out of the paper and write the facts! he has done this for a while and it needs to stop! Give the club a break!
McCleanMagic
13 Mar 2007, 13:34
Jame's Ward Hitchcock and the waltons cut it at senior level when ararat were strong but as for the others, milne, Mcdougall,Patton,King and bryant only played a hanful of senior games and spent most of there time in the ararat 2's! hence some of those blokes playing in a 2's flag for ararat! As for Cameron and Mcdougall cameron only played a couple ofgames for the rebels and same with Mcdougall who played later in the year, but he could make a name for himself signing with the VFL side Rooster this year! hope he gets over his ankle injury and has a good year
Hey Rat Attack, hows thing goin!! Well mate you should know that Patton and McDougall both played more seniors than reserves and King would of been half and half. So you cant say that they only played a handful of ones games and mostly in the two's. I think you would of seen d. cameron run around and you could say he is one of the best young footballers in the region. Sean Mcdougall would of played rebels finals but an injury ruined that. I hope he has a good year too.
Rat_attack
13 Mar 2007, 13:55
Hey Rat Attack, hows thing goin!! Well mate you should know that Patton and McDougall both played more seniors than reserves and King would of been half and half. So you cant say that they only played a handful of ones games and mostly in the two's. I think you would of seen d. cameron run around and you could say he is one of the best young footballers in the region. Sean Mcdougall would of played rebels finals but an injury ruined that. I hope he has a good year too.
Patton played half and half cos he had alot of injuries and when he did play 1's he did spend a lot of time on the pine! good player though! and as for McDougall he wasnt at ararat when they were strong!
Hi all, nice forum you’ve got here
Ararat Football Club has a few issues, the biggest one is that they seem to have trouble showing each player on their list the same respect they show their stars.
Ararat’s problems are the biggest sporting news in town at the moment, of course the paper is going to cover them.
The opinions about players leaving were that of Ararat general manager Graham Jones and the chairman Trevor McKinnis. Don’t shoot the messenger!!!
Yep, I’m the one who wrote the story but I was simply putting across the comments that the Ararat Football Club wanted in the paper.
" " quotation marks RAZZAMATAZZ - we use them to show that someone else is talking.
I’ll emphasize that again – THE CLUB WANTED TO PUT ITS OPINION IN THE PAPER.
To RAZZAMATAZZ – Which part of the story was my own opinion? None of it mate, I just quoted them on the things they said, right or wrong.
Just remember chairman Trevor McKinnis said some controversial stuff too and he’s been there for 40 years.
The Rats pay Mr Jones a lot of money to be GM so obviously the committee thinks he’s important.
Jones and McKinnis could have easily said "everything will sort itself out" and left it at that but instead they wanted to rant and rave about players leaving and blaming everyone else but themselves.
I have heard dozens of Ararat footballers over the past few years complain about how they don’t feel appreciated at Ararat. For example, several members of the Ararat reserve premiership side of 2006 have said president McKinnis and most of the committee never offered them any congratulations, I’ve heard the same from under-17 2006 premiers.
I know its small but these guys are a bit cut up now that McKinnis and co are telling them they can’t leave the club when last year they didn’t even know their names.
Its just an example, there’s 1001 other reasons for players wanting to leave, and as much as Ararat claims its about money - most of it isn’t from what I can gather.
Henry Dalkin isn’t a fan of Ararat?
I’ve held a club membership for the past three seasons, a lot of my family has played football with the club, and The Ararat Advertiser is one of the club’s biggest financial sponsors.
Like most other Ararat residents, I happen to be very proud of Ararat Football Club’s history and achievements,
I hope the backlash to Friday’s coverage will make Ararat FC think a bit harder about making life hard for players coming up through the ranks who decide to try their luck elsewhere.
Clubs don’t own players – Ararat officials decided they wanted to go on the record in the hope they could somehow dictate players’ decisions…They could have put things completely differently but that was the line they wanted to take and now the club is suffering.
I just hope the people around Ararat who actually care about the club will stand up and tell these officials to make some changes and tell them its not OK to sit at Alexandra Oval waving a big stick saying "you cant leave but players can leave other clubs to play here."
An interesting side note: Graham Jones’ son Ben has put in for a clearance from Moyston/Willaura to Ararat…I wonder if the Pumas will clear him?
RAZZAMATAZZ wrote: "Henry Interviewed a bloke from the ararat footy club that has been there 5min with no credibility at all, They went on to bag other local clubs around ararat and about how many players are leaving ararat, with some of the players that have been named to be leaving not even leaving at all! This henry bloke needs to leave his own opinion out of the paper and write the facts! he has done this for a while and it needs to stop! Give the club a break!"
Again, none of that story was my opinion, all I write is the info clubs give me.
The players who I said might be leaving were players Ararat confirmed might be leaving.
If they want to bag clubs, alienate players and annoy people that’s their problem…don’t get their opinion confused with mine. I personally think some of the things Graham Jones said were not really thought out and I urged him to reconsider a few of his comments but he wanted to do things his way – power to him, now he's in hot water.
Here’s a thought RAZZAMATAZZ – don’t attack me for relaying Ararat FCs comments to the public. You sound a bit like the Rats blaming everyone else when Ararat FC is who is doing the silly stuff.
Here’s another thought – Perhaps you could take on the role of Ararat president next year and come introduce yourself to me and see if you want to pay me out then.
McCleanMagic
13 Mar 2007, 14:38
Your right mate ararat has gone the wrong way about everything. Your only recognised when your playing seniors and their is a large part of their culture that needs changing now!!! Graham Jones is just adding wood to the fire by bagging the other teams. Maybe Ararat should take some notice of these smaller clubs and learn a thing or two. Ararat have some very hard working people that are great blokes it is just a pitty there are a few idiots that bring them all down
Flick Pass
13 Mar 2007, 15:56
Henry Interviewed a bloke from the ararat footy club that has been there 5min with no credibility at all, They went on to bag other local clubs around ararat and about how many players are leaving ararat, with some of the players that have been named to be leaving not even leaving at all! This henry bloke needs to leave his own opinion out of the paper and write the facts! he has done this for a while and it needs to stop! Give the club a break!
Interesting reading Henry's reply, the article and other information placed on the thread. If a club was to loose that number of players the club would need to have a good hard look at itself, for a club to be successful they need to get it right off field and with some of the comments in the Ararat Addy maybe the club have it wrong.But there is something very wrong.
RAZZAMATAZZ
14 Mar 2007, 10:42
Mr Dalkin, thanks for your input, if you are such a fan of ararat football club why would you put details in the article that are incorrect and make them look bad! i think we both no that a young footballer leaving ararat to go to tatyoon wont effect his chances of playing with the north ballarat rebels, You being the main sports journalist at the ararat advertiser should no that this is incorrect, why put it in if you know it is not true, thought you would have the power to edit comments to at least try and help the club out a little bit, all that has done has made the club look worse, Yes the club is in trouble at the moment and there needs to be some changes but why continue to kick them while they are down?? Take some responsibility for the articles you write instead of just saying you put what those people say! Use your head Mr Dalkin! Dont put it in there if it isn't true, just causes more trouble, as a result this time it has made the rebels come out and have a crack at the club!!!!
McCleanMagic
14 Mar 2007, 10:47
So after all that has been said about the club how are they moving forward? Who have they signed? They are playing against modewarre in a praccy match arent they? will they fill a two's side?
Rat_attack
14 Mar 2007, 11:08
Would have to agree with Razzamatazz here Dalks!
Mr Dalkin, thanks for your input, if you are such a fan of ararat football club why would you put details in the article that are incorrect and make them look bad! i think we both no that a young footballer leaving ararat to go to tatyoon wont effect his chances of playing with the north ballarat rebels, You being the main sports journalist at the ararat advertiser should no that this is incorrect, why put it in if you know it is not true, thought you would have the power to edit comments to at least try and help the club out a little bit, all that has done has made the club look worse, Yes the club is in trouble at the moment and there needs to be some changes but why continue to kick them while they are down?? Take some responsibility for the articles you write instead of just saying you put what those people say! Use your head Mr Dalkin! Dont put it in there if it isn't true, just causes more trouble, as a result this time it has made the rebels come out and have a crack at the club!!!!
I had to do a story about the huge number of players who are considering leaving Ararat, like I said it is the most talked about thing in sport at the moment.
So how do you a do a story about it? I decided to ask AFC officials the reasons for the exodus, thats what they gave me. I can't make up reasons for them if their reasons suck.
I can't write a story saying "AFC is going great guns" when they're clearly not.
The article didn't make untrue statements, it made true statements about the feelings of Ararat officials.
I have a responsibility to report the news, it was Ararat's responsibility to handle the situation properly.
Yep the Rebels have come out and had a crack at the club. Are you going to tell me I shouldn't have published that too?
Again I'll say - The details of the story aren't incorrect, they are correct representations of what Ararat officials believed to be true.
I think people who didn't understand why players wanted to leave Ararat would now have a pretty good idea why after reading the officials' statements.
Why would I leave out comments that show Mr Jones and Mr McKinnis' true feelings? I don't see how that would help the club at all, it would just leave the club's problems there to fester instead of having light shone upon them for people to do something about.
RAZZAMATAZZ
14 Mar 2007, 12:06
If you hadn't of stated incorrect information about the young footballer leaving to tatyoon effecting his chances of playing with the rebels then the North Ballarat Football club wouldn't have to reply and have a crack at the club! But in reading your articles this is what you like to do, stir up trouble! Where did that McAloon bloke go?? Bring him back
McClean Magic,
Doug Walton told me last night he wants some coverage in a few weeks time about a few recruits at Ararat.
While its no secret, Mick Fratin will be announcing his return to the club along with Jake Strafehl and Garry Smith.
Redan footballer Mitch Welsh has put in for a clearance to the Rats and a few other boys have been sniffing around which is promising for Ararat.
Reserve coach Dennis Bell has told me a few local identities will come out of retirement if 2s numbers are low, incldung local pizza guru Sayed Bourizk of Ararat United fame.
I've had some very positive feedback from people at AFC about last Friday's publicity, they see it as something that will make a few players rethink the effect of them leaving might have on the club, as well as making a few officials rethink their approch to running a football club.
The Rats are also playing a practice match against Fratto and Spit Graham's old team Whitehorse Pioneers I think, not sure when though.
If you hadn't of stated incorrect information about the young footballer leaving to tatyoon effecting his chances of playing with the rebels then the North Ballarat Football club wouldn't have to reply and have a crack at the club! But in reading your articles this is what you like to do, stir up trouble! Where did that McAloon bloke go?? Bring him back
But that was they whole key to Jones' arguement, that was what we wanted to have a rant about in the first place.
And I didn't state incorrect info, he might have, i didn't.
Ararat have been using the old "You wont get a game with the Rebels" line with dozens of young guys who have tried to leave over the years so I think most people would agree its about time they got a kick in the arse for that one!
RAZZAMATAZZ
14 Mar 2007, 12:21
But that was they whole key to Jones' arguement, that was what we wanted to have a rant about in the first place.
And I didn't state incorrect info, he might have, i didn't.
Ararat have been using the old "You wont get a game with the Rebels" line with dozens of young guys who have tried to leave over the years so I think most people would agree its about time they got a kick in the arse for that one!
So you are out to see them get a kick in the arse? that comment proved that! very professional of you! You knew that it was incorrect and would cause trouble so why put it in there?? And you say your a big fan of the club! You talk utter rubbish and i am sick of hearing it! stick to the paper and stay out of the forum with your Crap
McCleanMagic
14 Mar 2007, 12:28
Hey guys how about we just leave it there and talk about the positives things. We know ararat havent done much right the last few years. They can only improve. So who are these 6 guys from geelong and 2 from ballarat?
So you are out to see them get a kick in the arse? that comment proved that! very professional of you! You knew that it was incorrect and would cause trouble so why put it in there?? And you say your a big fan of the club! You talk utter rubbish and i am sick of hearing it! stick to the paper and stay out of the forum with your Crap
You sound like a bit of a trouble maker mate, you're hearing what you want to hear and taking things out of context.
I put the Rebels comment from Graham Jones in the story because it illustrated AFC's position on young players leaving the club - That way the reader can make up their own mind as to whether or not Ararat is handling the situation the right way.
I doubt you even understand the story, you probably can't even read properly.
Clearly your problem is me and not the story because you're looking for any reason to discredit me instead of actually talking about whether or not Ararat is at all to blame for its own unfavourable publicity.
Hey guys how about we just leave it there and talk about the positives things. We know ararat havent done much right the last few years. They can only improve. So who are these 6 guys from geelong and 2 from ballarat?
Not sure who the six from Geelong talked about in the Mail Times are - There is a few ex-Ararat players running around down there but I haven't heard about any returning.
Actually now I think about it, Brad Roberts - Who some might remember had a bit of talent as a forward, he talked at Christmas about maybe coming back to have a run with the Rats.
What I'd like someone to tell me is that there's a team who will stop Horsham bettering Ararat's four flags in a row..but I bet there'll be no takers for that one
RAZZAMATAZZ
14 Mar 2007, 12:42
You sound like a bit of a trouble maker mate, you're hearing what you want to hear and taking things out of context.
I put the Rebels comment from Graham Jones in the story because it illustrated AFC's position on young players leaving the club - That way the reader can make up their own mind as to whether or not Ararat is handling the situation the right way.
I doubt you even understand the story, you probably can't even read properly.
Clearly your problem is me and not the story because you're looking for any reason to discredit me instead of actually talking about whether or not Ararat is at all to blame for its own unfavourable publicity.
I do have a problem with you, i am sick of reading your rubbish! if the 2 local papers never joined then i wouldn't have to hear the crap you write. We have different views on this matter and we will never see eye to eye so i am ending this, just hope you give ararat the same write ups when they achieve things, because your pretty quick to get into them when the chips are down. Look forward to seeing your next article
Funny, the Rats stories didn't go to the Stawell end of the paper as far as I know so I don't think the merger has anything to do with it....
Oh and I have a scrapbook of all the stories I've done for the Rats for the past, so as a final note I invite you to have a look and count for all of our forum friends the positive vs negative publicity for Ararat - I have gone out of my way to pump things up for them but the only time anyone comments on the paper is when they complain...For the 100s of stories I write I only ever hear about the few that people want to complain about.
RAZZAMATAZZ
14 Mar 2007, 12:53
Funny, the Rats stories didn't go to the Stawell end of the paper as far as I know so I don't think the merger has anything to do with it....
Oh and I have a scrapbook of all the stories I've done for the Rats for the past, so as a final note I invite you to have a look and count for all of our forum friends the positive vs negative publicity for Ararat - I have gone out of my way to pump things up for them but the only time anyone comments on the paper is when they complain...For the 100s of stories I write I only ever hear about the few that people want to complain about.
Do you want a box of tissues??
If you could hook me up with some RAZZAMATAZZ that would be great
hawks&proud
14 Mar 2007, 13:16
If you could hook me up with some RAZZAMATAZZ that would be great
will you 2 piss off and find another site to vent your love for each other just kiss and hug and shut up:D
journeyman
14 Mar 2007, 13:39
Sorry to butt in but thought I'd give my view... The role of a newspaper is to sell newspapers, it is not a community service. If Ararat officials go off the air about players leaving that makes for great reading and will sell more newspapers.
It's the job of the Ararat officials to keep their emotions in check when things go bad. If they've said something to the journo and it's "on the record", then the paper has the right to publish it.
It's fair to have a go at the paper if they've published wrong information that isn't attributed to someone.... As in "The Ararat Advertisier believes...." but if it's a quote from Gary Jones then it's his opinion and will be attributed to him.
Sorry to butt in but thought I'd give my view... The role of a newspaper is to sell newspapers, it is not a community service. If Ararat officials go off the air about players leaving that makes for great reading and will sell more newspapers.
It's the job of the Ararat officials to keep their emotions in check when things go bad. If they've said something to the journo and it's "on the record", then the paper has the right to publish it.
It's fair to have a go at the paper if they've published wrong information that isn't attributed to someone.... As in "The Ararat Advertisier believes...." but if it's a quote from Gary Jones then it's his opinion and will be attributed to him.
Its as simple as this fellas.The rats are going to struggle regardless of whats put in the local rag.henry has a job to do and hes only reporting relevant info which he thinks is what the public need to hear.Good luck rats for the 07 season.:rolleyes:
Leather Magnet
14 Mar 2007, 14:25
My apology to Henry D. as I didn't realise you were a Rats member.
RAZZAMATAZZ
14 Mar 2007, 14:57
My apology to Henry D. as I didn't realise you were a Rats member.
Only because the Paper gets memberships for being a sponsor of the ararat football club! wouldn't be out of his own pocket!
Actually RAZZAMATAZZ this year I'm a paid up member of three football clubs, and I'm in discussions about a sponsorship deal where my music business would raise a hefty sum of cash for a local club this year (possibly more than its major sponsor). But I'll give you a tip right now, its clowns like you that make other people think twice about sticking their neck out to lend a hand to clubs...why would anyone bother if they're just going to get crapped on for everything they do?
roaring tiger
15 Mar 2007, 14:03
You Journo's stick together don't you!! But your right your job is to sell news papers and people will buy them if there is something interesting to read.
Leather Magnet
16 Mar 2007, 14:05
Todays Addie
Absolutely furious
HENRY DALKIN
http://www.ararat.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif
The family of a promising junior footballer has expressed its disappointment with Ararat Football Club's lack of respect for its players.
Ararat FC general manager Graham Jones and club president Trevor McKinnis commented on the Rats' player crisis in last Friday's edition of the Ararat Advertiser.
Central to Mr Jones case defending his club's view on why young players were walking out on the club was an example about an under-17 footballer who had been lured to a Mininera and District Football League club for $150 per game.
Mr Jones also said the player had lost his chance to play with the North Ballarat Rebels under-18 TAC Cup side because he was not going to play in the Wimmera Football League.
"He was 100 per cent wrong," the boy's father said on Tuesday.
"He just wants a change, he's sick of seeing a lack of respect towards players at the club."
The dismayed parent demanded Ararat Football Club and particularly Mr Jones issue a public apology to his son for turning him off the game he loves to suit their own agenda.
"My son hasn't done anything wrong to deserve this, he wore the red and white with pride," he said.
"He was a best-and-fairest winner in under 14s and under-17s, and gave his best in the seniors when he was required.
"The Rats just aren't showing their players any respect."
As for the claim his son was offered $150 per game by a club, the player's father said Mr Jones was completely wrong.
"He's only a kid, he's there to learn," he said.
"Mr Jones' comments haven't done the club any favours, he should learn the facts before he opens his mouth.
"My son is training every week with the Rebels and he's working hard to achieve his goals."
He said Ararat Football Club's attitude towards players was reflected in the number of players looking to leave them this season, and that Mr Jones was doing nothing to change the situation. "If the Ararat club had any go in them they'd sack him."
Leather Magnet
16 Mar 2007, 14:06
And the young fellas auntie has written a letter in the paper today too!
Certainly stirred a few up Henry, lol.
And the young fellas auntie has written a letter in the paper today too!
Certainly stirred a few up Henry, lol.
It seems to be the hottest topic in town doesn't it? I'm told Mixx FM/Weekly Advertiser will be chatting to Jonesy too, I wonder if he'll take the same stance?
I got a call from one of the Ararat boys who moved to Tassie today. He was after the GMs phone number to have a chat about his reference to last year's pledges/contracts for promising players that about a dozen players signed...I don't think he was very happy about it.
He did tell me Joe Waring has been invited to play a practice game with the Tassie Devils this weekend. Those who know Joe will know he deserves every opportunity he gets for his hard work and determination.
Here's hoping Ararat can resolve the matter with the young fella's family asap and focus on the season ahead.
A new Rats' recruit told me this afternoon that he thinks last Friday's coverage has made a few players think twice about leaving, I think one even withdrew his clearance application to leave so I guess it hasn't been all bad for the Rats
So folks, can Ararat finish top five this year? I think they have a chance but I don't think there'll be another reserve flag waiting for them
Time to rise Blues!
16 Mar 2007, 16:35
For footballs sake i hope every team can be competitive this year and make it an even competition. As strong as Horsham is we would like to see every team be able to put a competitive team onto the park. Does anyone know what Andy Carter, Horsham United is doing this year?
Time to rise Blues!
16 Mar 2007, 16:38
Also i am wondering if anyone knows how Edenhope/Apsley will go this year?
roaring tiger
16 Mar 2007, 19:06
It seems to be the hottest topic in town doesn't it? I'm told Mixx FM/Weekly Advertiser will be chatting to Jonesy too, I wonder if he'll take the same stance?
I got a call from one of the Ararat boys who moved to Tassie today. He was after the GMs phone number to have a chat about his reference to last year's pledges/contracts for promising players that about a dozen players signed...I don't think he was very happy about it.
He did tell me Joe Waring has been invited to play a practice game with the Tassie Devils this weekend. Those who know Joe will know he deserves every opportunity he gets for his hard work and determination.
Here's hoping Ararat can resolve the matter with the young fella's family asap and focus on the season ahead.
A new Rats' recruit told me this afternoon that he thinks last Friday's coverage has made a few players think twice about leaving, I think one even withdrew his clearance application to leave so I guess it hasn't been all bad for the Rats
So folks, can Ararat finish top five this year? I think they have a chance but I don't think there'll be another reserve flag waiting for them
Ararat will not make the top 5 Henry. They will be in for a long year i think. They probably over achieved last year.
Joe Waring must of improved a fair bit since a few years ago to be getting close to getting a game with the Tassie Devils.
carrot top
17 Mar 2007, 10:04
Can anyone tell me what Bo Thomas is like as a player? any good? and bloke?
Word on the street is clinton midgley will kick very few goals this year as he has a new love interest and has been sighted at family functions, this is from a credable source and i am led to believe he has been missing training to hang with this lovely lass, can anyone confirm this?
kdiddle
18 Mar 2007, 17:01
Word on the street is clinton midgley will kick very few goals this year as he has a new love interest and has been sighted at family functions, this is from a credable source and i am led to believe he has been missing training to hang with this lovely lass, can anyone confirm this?
i heard that his nick name is clint smidgley.... because his p enis is a smidgion larger than Ron Jeremys... can anyone conFIRM this?
big cigar
18 Mar 2007, 17:37
Has anyone any info on how great western recruit Shane Field is traveling? I seen him kick a bag of 12 goals in the Maryborough Castlemaine league a few seasons ago and just wondered how he will go in the WFL..
Grimmett
18 Mar 2007, 21:00
Has anyone any info on how great western recruit Shane Field is traveling? I seen him kick a bag of 12 goals in the Maryborough Castlemaine league a few seasons ago and just wondered how he will go in the WFL..
When Great Western win their fourth HDFL premiership in a row and are accepted into the WFL we'll let you know....check back in about a millenium or two....unless you are wondering if he'll get a kick in the Warriors or Rats magoos...
Flick Pass
19 Mar 2007, 07:28
For footballs sake i hope every team can be competitive this year and make it an even competition. As strong as Horsham is we would like to see every team be able to put a competitive team onto the park. Does anyone know what Andy Carter, Horsham United is doing this year?
Has gone up to Qld not sure where his knee still isn't all that great
Perry18
20 Mar 2007, 10:54
Just wonderin how that ruckman from the demons goes? Zac Holmes i think it is?
twinkle toes
20 Mar 2007, 10:54
This is apparently correct, also heard the big man was looking at his options to re-locate to warrak and work for elders, also possibility of being one of mark greigs gun recruits in a bid to consolidate his love for this young lass!!!!!!!
RAZZAMATAZZ
20 Mar 2007, 11:06
This is apparently correct, also heard the big man was looking at his options to re-locate to warrak and work for elders, also possibility of being one of mark greigs gun recruits in a bid to consolidate his love for this young lass!!!!!!!
I remember hearing about young clinton being in action with a radio personailty from 103.1 power FM, and if the stories are correct he did perform like the Italian Stallion
Ararat will not make the top 5 Henry. They will be in for a long year i think. They probably over achieved last year.
Joe Waring must of improved a fair bit since a few years ago to be getting close to getting a game with the Tassie Devils.
they probalbly wont make the 5 this year however stating that they overachieved last year confirms you no nothing what your on about.
Ararats best 22 last year werent that far off horsham and dimmy the only problem was getting everyone on the track and fit.
just wondering how the burras are going to shape up this year. Have they any big recruits.
Footyz Life
20 Mar 2007, 15:50
they probalbly wont make the 5 this year however stating that they overachieved last year confirms you no nothing what your on about.
Ararats best 22 last year werent that far off horsham and dimmy the only problem was getting everyone on the track and fit.
Sorry Beton5 but Ararats best 22 not far behind Hsm and Dim is a bit far off, like about 100pts they beat them by both times.:confused:
RetiredYoung
20 Mar 2007, 18:53
Gday just wanting to know if Rowdy is going to pull on the boots again for the rats?
Rat_attack
21 Mar 2007, 07:42
Gday just wanting to know if Rowdy is going to pull on the boots again for the rats?
Nope no he is not! Big loss for the rats! star player
RetiredYoung
21 Mar 2007, 08:12
Thats a real shame, absolute gun and one of the greatest people you will ever meet. Clearly the best regional footballer I have ever seen.
Has he retired or is just taking another year off because he is reasonably young still (31?). I hope he pulls the boots on again and I catch him playing.
Rat_attack
21 Mar 2007, 10:05
Thats a real shame, absolute gun and one of the greatest people you will ever meet. Clearly the best regional footballer I have ever seen.
Has he retired or is just taking another year off because he is reasonably young still (31?). I hope he pulls the boots on again and I catch him playing.
I think this is just another year off that could turn in to permanant retirement, He is one of the best country footballer's and if not the best ararat has had, and is a awesome bloke! If you think watching him play is good, you should try playing along side him!! FANTASTIC
McCleanMagic
21 Mar 2007, 12:22
Can anyone tell me how Robyn kuhne goes for dimboola? Ive heard ararat have only been getting 6 players on the track most nights. Long season ahead
Andyt30
21 Mar 2007, 17:31
I saw a intersting Article in todays Mail Times
Sixteen strikes and you are out
Matthew Hillard and Megan hustwaite
WIMMERA footballers who regularly misbehave could be forced out of the game for life under a new AFL Victoria policy.
The policy, rubber stamped by Victorian Country Football League, rules that once a player has accumulated 16 matches worth of suspensions, they will be banned from the sport forever.
The radical new move will count retrospectively.
This means if a player has already been banned for 16 matches throughout their senior football career, they would be advised if they are suspended again, their football career, either as a player, coach, or administrator, is over.
The new policy has drawn a mixed reaction from Wimmera football administrators.
Horsham District Football League chairman Grant Kuchel said while he wasn't sure whether any of its players would be in immediate trouble from the ruling, there would be some players no longer in the league that would be borderline.
"We certainly will be sending something to the clubs advising them of the change in the rule," Mr Kuchel said.
Club representatives voted at the last league presidents and secretaries meeting to write to the VCFL about the rule change.
"We will be sending a letter expressing our disappointment that the decision was made without any consultation from the leagues," Mr Kuchel said.
But Wimmera League chief commissioner Gary Jones said the rule had merit.
"I'm all for it," Mr Jones said.
"We want to be able to guarantee our players are protected.
"I can understand where they are coming from; there's people around who may be able to intimidate or win games by doing the wrong thing," he said.
"They are trying to take that out of the game and make them a bit more responsible."
Wimmera players, coaches and administrators have divided opinions on the new policy.
New Nhill coach Gary Davidson, who has also led Cairns, Beulah and Pimpinio teams, said he had mixed thoughts on the ruling.
"It's a bit harsh to say once you've struck 16 you can never play again. Especially when you consider the fact that we don't have video evidence at the tribunal to provide conclusive evidence of incidents," he said.
"Perhaps the real issue is finding suitable penalties for different offences.
"I must admit I haven't been reported before so I can't talk about controlling yourself or temper flaring in a situation on the ground, however, it seems a bit harsh to me."
Warrack Eagles playing coach and Wimmera League representative Marc Greig described the new ruling as a `bold move'.
"I know why they're bringing it in because we want to get rid of thugs thumping blokes left, right and centre," he said.
"Especially when we've got juniors coming through and we're trying to promote senior football, you want to rule it out.
"I think it's a good idea.
"I just think the penalty raises questions."
Greig offered his thoughts on an alternate solution.
"I think if a bloke has been suspended for 16 matches during a period of eight to 10 years then ban him, but not during a career," he said.
"Look at the lifespan of a country footballer; some guys start playing senior footy at 15 and play until they are old blokes filling in in the reserves. If you get suspended for minor offences, say once a year, they soon add up."
Wimmera Umpires Association president Graeme Cox said he was unsure how his members felt on the issue.
He said he was yet to discuss the ruling with other umpires but would raise the topic before the start of the season.
"From our point of view I haven't had the chance to speak to our coaches, umpires and executive yet, but it will be something we discuss," he said.
VCFL operations manager Brett Connell said the country football peak body were fully supportive of the policy.
"We see no problems at all with it," he said.
--
What do you think is it a good idea or a bad idea?
would certainly cut down on the abusing towards Umpires
which i support Players shouldn't abuse umpires or they may find they won;t have any umpires to umpire the games . actually They should be Suspended like any other incident
Flick Pass
22 Mar 2007, 06:31
Maybe the go would be like the current Motor Vehicle Act you start with so many points and lose you VCFL registration for 2 many suspensions. For example you lose 1 point for abuse,2 points for swearing, 4 points for striking and so on if you lose your total points within a period then your VCFL rego is revoked.
Sockit151
22 Mar 2007, 07:29
Maybe the go would be like the current Motor Vehicle Act you start with so many points and lose you VCFL registration for 2 many suspensions. For example you lose 1 point for abuse,2 points for swearing, 4 points for striking and so on if you lose your total points within a period then your VCFL rego is revoked.
good suggestion
hawks&proud
22 Mar 2007, 10:41
good suggestion
good idea but not sure about the back dating of the suspensions:confused: and also agree about points system but without video will open a big can of worms if it happens:thumbsu:
Andyt30
22 Mar 2007, 12:37
next they wil bring cameras to the games to catch any incidence or the Umpire will just do as normal and make reports Players & Supporters should accept the Umpires Decisions wonder how if any players or supporters takes up Umpiring see how they like coping abuse ;) might make em think twice before saying anything
make em do Goal umpiring to show em its not a easy job many migth think it is i can tell you and others who do it. It isn't a lot of concetrating and ya gotta prepare to move
its hard when theirs players in your personal area
what a nice rain we had On Tuesday a few more like that before rd 1 would improve all grounds even if their ok make em even Better :thumbsu:
likes Warracknabeal so brown when i drove past recently to have a look needs alot of Rain to Green it up least their not at home rd 1 so gives it more time
so hope they won't have to revese our Home games which could happen if we don't get more rain in next few weeks
times running out fast
i noticed city oval looks decent not sure about saints ground i was going to have a look Yesterday but fogot to look how long be before were like bendigo and have to push our start to a later start
as long as next year dosn't get Worser then this year
MasterOfRoc
22 Mar 2007, 12:39
SOooooo the Guys who get 16 weeks over 25 years (ages 15>40 or so) get the same severe penalty as the hot heads who get an average of 4 weeks a year...thats just wrong
Have heard that Shaun NUGGET Smart is packing up his tent and heading west to be by his brother.Good luck to him is a good player.
hawks&proud
22 Mar 2007, 14:19
next they wil bring cameras to the games to catch any incidence or the Umpire will just do as normal and make reports Players & Supporters should accept the Umpires Decisions wonder how if any players or supporters takes up Umpiring see how they like coping abuse ;) might make em think twice before saying anything
make em do Goal umpiring to show em its not a easy job many migth think it is i can tell you and others who do it. It isn't a lot of concetrating and ya gotta prepare to move
its hard when theirs players in your personal area
what a nice rain we had On Tuesday a few more like that before rd 1 would improve all grounds even if their ok make em even Better :thumbsu:
likes Warracknabeal so brown when i drove past recently to have a look needs alot of Rain to Green it up least their not at home rd 1 so gives it more time
so hope they won't have to revese our Home games which could happen if we don't get more rain in next few weeks
times running out fast
i noticed city oval looks decent not sure about saints ground i was going to have a look Yesterday but fogot to look how long be before were like bendigo and have to push our start to a later start
as long as next year dosn't get Worser then this year
bery good engerish andyt30 :D
Grimmett
22 Mar 2007, 14:20
Just types it as he hears it in his 'ead, eh.
Andyt30
22 Mar 2007, 15:12
bery good engerish andyt30 :D
yeah taking it all in from reading Posts :thumbsu:
you got very good English too Hawks&Proud :D
Boobluvva
22 Mar 2007, 15:16
Hawks&proud, I didn't know you had a doctorate in English Literature.
You youself have been known to speak a whole new language yourself after a few drinks!!!
Will the Wimmera league have to move many games to Sundays to utilise the better grounds like Ararats oval???
Any comments from anyone??
hawks&proud
23 Mar 2007, 07:27
Hawks&proud, I didn't know you had a doctorate in English Literature.
You youself have been known to speak a whole new language yourself after a few drinks!!!
Will the Wimmera league have to move many games to Sundays to utilise the better grounds like Ararats oval???
Any comments from anyone??
that's rich coming from you mr luvva:o i heard the taps are getting turned off at ararat oval this weekend,:( will be interesting to see how it holds up from then on:thumbsu:
Flick Pass
23 Mar 2007, 16:44
The Bid V where the Horsham Hornets basketball side plays have been video taping all games for the last five 5 and probably longer I know the court size is smaller but it is part of being in the Big V affiliation. Not video cannot play you even have to provide stats
wallyon
24 Mar 2007, 10:32
Has anybody heard the rumour that uniteds J Combe has done his knee and needs a reco.
Also wondering wether mick fratin is actually returning to ararat or they club are just talking it up to try and recruit more players so they can field a ressies team?
See that stawell are travelling along alright, think they might suprise a few teams this season.
The burras will alos be strenghtend with the inclusion of the mercurial Garth Mckenzie joing his borther fatty on there recruit list. Dont think they picked anyone else up but heard ruckman nathan hinch is know staying put.
Footyz Life
24 Mar 2007, 10:55
Has anybody heard the rumour that uniteds J Combe has done his knee and needs a reco.
Also wondering wether mick fratin is actually returning to ararat or they club are just talking it up to try and recruit more players so they can field a ressies team?
See that stawell are travelling along alright, think they might suprise a few teams this season.
The burras will alos be strenghtend with the inclusion of the mercurial Garth Mckenzie joing his borther fatty on there recruit list. Dont think they picked anyone else up but heard ruckman nathan hinch is know staying put.
Haven`t heard anything about combe but i know Jye Smith came off a motorbike last weekend and hurt his knee not sure of severity.
The Mad Hawker
24 Mar 2007, 12:16
Just starting the Rumour that past players Stewart Williamson of the Ararat / St mary's fame and Colin Thompson of the Moyston / Ararat fame are in secret training to make a come back to help the struggling side field a team
Thompson has been seen putting in the hard yards at the pool and Williamson has been on the treadmill......
Must be true....
The Mad Hawker
24 Mar 2007, 13:14
Hot news off the press.......
Ararat FC have just signed a new sponsorship deal from Heinz Pumpkin soup on the back of the press release that Brendan "Pumpkin Head" Scott has agreed to pull the boots on again.
It is thought that he will play full back and stand in the goal square and put his head in the road.... if only they could get Shaun "Notso" Smart to reconsider and they would have the perfect pair.....:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
MightyRoar
26 Mar 2007, 11:41
Have heard that Shaun NUGGET Smart is packing up his tent and heading west to be by his brother.Good luck to him is a good player.
Yes I have also heard this rumour too, however not quite sure who his brother is out there that you made mention of!! :confused:
Mumbles
footyfan001
26 Mar 2007, 12:35
This is quite possibly the most boring thread....
hawks&proud
26 Mar 2007, 14:09
This is quite possibly the most boring thread....
well goodbye then :eek:
freakonaleash
27 Mar 2007, 10:03
Any details on the lass, body type? Eye colour? Dimensions? This would be a diamond in the rough for Clinton after some of his efforts in Western Australia
Footyz Life
27 Mar 2007, 12:41
Any Practice Match news Fellas?
hawks&proud
27 Mar 2007, 14:57
stawell had a praccy on saturday against altona, got up by about 7 goals
they were very impressed with new recruit from navarre nathan hollaway also ex junior paul hanns in the guts. also talk of new recruit simon gardener who played for them and liked what he seen at the club apparently living with luke abraham down in melbourne good fullback big plans for him apparently:thumbsu:
Flick Pass
27 Mar 2007, 16:22
Report is Grade 2 Medial tear cost him 7 to 8 weeks
Andyt30
28 Mar 2007, 20:45
Donald v Warrack Eagles at Donald
Under 17's 2pm
and mix Reserves and Seniors at 4.30
not sure if it be the normal 4 quarter or be 6 being a mix team
Onelastbounce
28 Mar 2007, 21:21
Good 2 hear that the local rat boys ova in Tazzy r doin well. Pat n Jo apparently played well n both featured in awards and that the state selectors were impressed. Both got great paying jobs aswell. Hommy 2 is workin hard and earning good dollar plasterin aswell, and from all accounts Jo's younger brother Tyron is a Colt figgure ova there. They all luv im. His New nickname is apparently Teddy, the dirty old tutcha off Prison Break!!!! :cool:.
good luck to the boys joey and pk are top blokes and should play seniorsat Penguin.
Any news on how Laharum went against horsham have heard that prizbilla has pulled the pin for 07 legs cant run anymore.
Any news on any other trials.
rabbitlad
29 Mar 2007, 09:52
Can anyone confirm the movements of clinton midgley i find it hard to believe that he would leave the burra for the eagles over a female?
Footyz Life
29 Mar 2007, 12:25
Any news on how Laharum went against horsham have heard that prizbilla has pulled the pin for 07 legs cant run anymore.
Any news on any other trials.
Horsham play Laharum this saturday. juniors, res. and seniors.
Flick Pass
29 Mar 2007, 16:22
United play St.Arnaud Min/Mur play Nor/Quanny
Andyt30
29 Mar 2007, 16:47
United play St.Arnaud Min/Mur play Nor/Quanny
then i think the following weekend Min/Murtoa travles to Ballarat to play Ballarat city
Drop_Punt
1 Apr 2007, 17:57
Min/Mur beat Nor/Quanny in from wat i hear was a very close game. unsure as how close but have from good source that either min/mur will struggle this year or nor/quanny are lookin at been in the top 3 at least if not be on top.
Horsham and Laharum had a good game with horsham running out easy winners in the end they were just to consistant, Laharum had times when they would be on top for 5 minutes but they couldnt maintain it due to horshams constant pressure. Was only one game played that went for 4 quaters
Horsham look young and fit very fit and will be very hard to beat again this year. i was wondering on ppl's thoughts on who will match them this yr, based on the local rags back page on friday Dimmy will be good again and from word around the place stawell have picked up a few and will do well.
Just a couple of pre season tips
Flag Horahm
Runner up Stawell
Biggest improver united
biggest fall ararat
League B&F Aaron Barrnet (horsham)
Footyz Life
1 Apr 2007, 19:21
Min/Mur beat Nor/Quanny in from wat i hear was a very close game. unsure as how close but have from good source that either min/mur will struggle this year or nor/quanny are lookin at been in the top 3 at least if not be on top.
Horsham and Laharum had a good game with horsham running out easy winners in the end they were just to consistant, Laharum had times when they would be on top for 5 minutes but they couldnt maintain it due to horshams constant pressure. Was only one game played that went for 4 quaters
Horsham look young and fit very fit and will be very hard to beat again this year. i was wondering on ppl's thoughts on who will match them this yr, based on the local rags back page on friday Dimmy will be good again and from word around the place stawell have picked up a few and will do well.
Flag Horahm
Runner up Stawell
Biggest improver united
biggest fall ararat
Sounds about right drop punt but if stawell end up r/up then surely they would be biggest improver, i have heard they will be pretty strong aswell and i think dimmy will be alright again but there depth will be average.
[quote=Drop_Punt;7092316]Min/Mur beat Nor/Quanny in from wat i hear was a very close game. unsure as how close but have from good source that either min/mur will struggle this year or nor/quanny are lookin at been in the top 3 at least if not be on top.
I also heard from a good source M/M won comfortably (about 8 goals) however, apparently in general play it was quite even. Which would sound about right if the rumours true they fronted without Carter, Wilson, Smith (all club b&f winners) Hynes, McKenzie, Rouwoldt, J.Newell, Delahunty, Storey and a few other names that dont come to mind that will be in their starting 18 come round 1.
Grimhawka
2 Apr 2007, 12:28
How all the recruits for Stawell going to go this year?
Dimboola will be stronger than they were last year so it should be a cracker of a year.
Flag Horahm
Runner up Stawell
Biggest improver united
biggest fall ararat
Any of the top 3 could win this year.
DIMBOOLA
horsham
united
hawks&proud
2 Apr 2007, 16:45
they should be up there if they can keep everyone on the track with the likes of tuckey, hollaway, hanns and the full back they are trying to get
Grimhawka
2 Apr 2007, 16:54
they should be up there if they can keep everyone on the track with the likes of tuckey, hollaway, hanns and the full back they are trying to get
Heard anything about the bloke McConnell thats signed with em this year?
Boobluvva
2 Apr 2007, 19:28
Does anyone remember way back when Ryan Gardner played for Stawell???
He is a big, red haired bloke.
Apparantly he is fit and firing at Great Western this year.
Does anyone know how or where he plays??
I'm just an interested onlooker these days.:thumbsu:
hawks&proud
3 Apr 2007, 11:04
Does anyone remember way back when Ryan Gardner played for Stawell???
He is a big, red haired bloke.
Apparantly he is fit and firing at Great Western this year.
Does anyone know how or where he plays??
I'm just an interested onlooker these days.:thumbsu:
no worries ringo
Unless stawell have recruited 10-15 senior players they wont blow wind up dimboola or horsham.
If stawell play to there potential they should finish on par with minyip murtoa 4th and 5th respectively.
Stawell is the only team in the league who has an overated coach:D
hawks&proud
3 Apr 2007, 13:28
Unless stawell have recruited 10-15 senior players they wont blow wind up dimboola or horsham.
If stawell play to there potential they should finish on par with minyip murtoa 4th and 5th respectively.
don't think many rate him do they:confused:
Not Happy Rat
3 Apr 2007, 16:33
Any More News On The Boys In Tazzy ?
Onelastbounce
3 Apr 2007, 16:33
Stawell have picked up around a dozen players, which they had 2. Quallity players aswel i might add. Why do you call their senior coach as overated!!!!. He is a prolific ball getter and a non fuss player. And has the respect from his troops.:cool: