View Full Version : Wimmera Football League
Onelastbounce
3 Apr 2007, 17:42
Min/Mur beat Nor/Quanny in from wat i hear was a very close game. unsure as how close but have from good source that either min/mur will struggle this year or nor/quanny are lookin at been in the top 3 at least if not be on top.
Horsham and Laharum had a good game with horsham running out easy winners in the end they were just to consistant, Laharum had times when they would be on top for 5 minutes but they couldnt maintain it due to horshams constant pressure. Was only one game played that went for 4 quaters
Horsham look young and fit very fit and will be very hard to beat again this year. i was wondering on ppl's thoughts on who will match them this yr, based on the local rags back page on friday Dimmy will be good again and from word around the place stawell have picked up a few and will do well.
Just a couple of pre season tips
Flag Horahm
Runner up Stawell
Biggest improver united
biggest fall ararat
League B&F Aaron Barrnet (horsham)
How can u say that united will be the big improvers if Stawell finnish 2nd. What a stupid thing 2 say when United finnished 3rd last year and Stawell were down the bottom. Obviously you don't follow the footy 2 close although u predicted Ararat 2 b the biggest fall. Not rocket science there though!! And By the way, who the bloody hell is Aaron Barrnet!!!! Must be a gr8 player for a no name to win a Toohey in his first year.
Footyz Life
3 Apr 2007, 21:19
How can u say that united will be the big improvers if Stawell finnish 2nd. What a stupid thing 2 say when United finnished 3rd last year and Stawell were down the bottom. Obviously you don't follow the footy 2 close although u predicted Ararat 2 b the biggest fall. Not rocket science there though!! And By the way, who the bloody hell is Aaron Barrnet!!!! Must be a gr8 player for a no name to win a Toohey in his first year.
Not to bad on most of it there but how much do you follow it, Aaron Barnett got the Binns Medal in the 2004 Horsham premiership as a 17yr old and has spent the last two years at west adel. and by the way it was a prediction.
Onelastbounce
3 Apr 2007, 23:28
Not to bad on most of it there but how much do you follow it, Aaron Barnett got the Binns Medal in the 2004 Horsham premiership as a 17yr old and has spent the last two years at west adel. and by the way it was a prediction.
We'll c how he goes!!
Sockit151
4 Apr 2007, 17:09
Why is C.Cooper heading straight back to the rats after finally being cleared at the 3rd attempt??
Onelastbounce
4 Apr 2007, 19:23
Why is C.Cooper heading straight back to the rats after finally being cleared at the 3rd attempt??
That is an interesting question. Would it be because he had a falling out with Ararat !! NO, because he had a falling out with Great Western!! NO, or because he played his cards close to his chest and waited for the right opportunity 4 Ararat officials to hit him with an open check book because of player shortages!! I think so. I heard the he isn't that bad of a person but he is just a constant whinger. Anybody elses thoughts!!!:cool:
hawks&proud
5 Apr 2007, 09:42
That is an interesting question. Would it be because he had a falling out with Ararat !! NO, because he had a falling out with Great Western!! NO, or because he played his cards close to his chest and waited for the right opportunity 4 Ararat officials to hit him with an open check book because of player shortages!! I think so. I heard the he isn't that bad of a person but he is just a constant whinger. Anybody elses thoughts!!!:cool:
hit the nail on the head:thumbsu:
MightyRoar
5 Apr 2007, 13:03
hit the nail on the head:thumbsu:
Originally Posted by Onelastbounce http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7125293#post7125293)
The frustrating thing is the fact that he has Fu@#ed both clubs around, for one club they are only 2 weeks out from their first game and for the other about 3 weeks. As for the situation the Ararat Football Club are in with a lack of player numbers, the last thing they want is another player, albeit a senior player playing two clubs off against one another just for a few more quid. Maybe he wants more money to make it look like he is a better player than he is or in the same respect wants clubs to chase him. No respect for either of the 2 clubs there I would say. As for the club that he was cleard too, well here they are thinking that they have gained a big ruckman, then the day he is cleared well he turns around and F@#ks them over too by saying that he wants to stay at the club he has been cleared from!!
As for him being not a bad person, well most I would say would think that too but how are people going to portray him now!!
I think he has made the right choice on a personal level in the club he has decided to choose in the fact that he doesn't want to be a LION this season but he wants to remain a RAT!!
This is not a stab at the Ararat Football Club either or any of their players!! :eek:
from this season right across every League full back no longer have to wait for the goal umpire to finish waving for a pt same as whats happening in the AFL so that means spare footys at both ends going to get alot quicker this year
Boobluvva
6 Apr 2007, 15:16
from this season right across every League full back no longer have to wait for the goal umpire to finish waving for a pt same as whats happening in the AFL so that means spare footys at both ends going to get alot quicker this year
I'd say it's about time this rule came in to the regional leagues.
Having been a player that has kicked out from fullback for a few years, this is great news. At grounds like Pimpinio, Harrow, Balmoral, etc that have vast areas or trees behind the goals, it can take a while to retrieve the ball if it's been kicked a long way, it also gives the attacking side a chance to man up, leaving the fullback with stuffall options, therefore holding up play or kicking to a contest.
Good luck to all sides this year.
Should be a close year.
I'd say it's about time this rule came in to the regional leagues.
Having been a player that has kicked out from fullback for a few years, this is great news. At grounds like Pimpinio, Harrow, Balmoral, etc that have vast areas or trees behind the goals, it can take a while to retrieve the ball if it's been kicked a long way, it also gives the attacking side a chance to man up, leaving the fullback with stuffall options, therefore holding up play or kicking to a contest.
Good luck to all sides this year.
Should be a close year.
its in every grade from under 14's right through
it be hard at any ground so i'd say they would have at least one spare ball at both ends like AFL dose
thats the only way it will be interesting
you will also notice goal umpires will no longer mirror
say other end the ball goes to the right hand side post you go to the same post and a differnt possition for shots at 45 degree angle close to centre rather then back to where they were last year so be less using of pt flag on left hand goal Post unless its a pt on that side
either end
going have get use to the change in position about 3 steps from goal line now now when they kick left or right you move a few steps either way
footyfan001
7 Apr 2007, 11:55
Your only allowed to use the game ball and are not allowed to have a spare ball at each end, would cost a dikload to use 3 footys a game...
Originally Posted by Onelastbounce http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7125293#post7125293)
The frustrating thing is the fact that he has Fu@#ed both clubs around, for one club they are only 2 weeks out from their first game and for the other about 3 weeks. As for the situation the Ararat Football Club are in with a lack of player numbers, the last thing they want is another player, albeit a senior player playing two clubs off against one another just for a few more quid. Maybe he wants more money to make it look like he is a better player than he is or in the same respect wants clubs to chase him. No respect for either of the 2 clubs there I would say. As for the club that he was cleard too, well here they are thinking that they have gained a big ruckman, then the day he is cleared well he turns around and F@#ks them over too by saying that he wants to stay at the club he has been cleared from!!
As for him being not a bad person, well most I would say would think that too but how are people going to portray him now!!
I think he has made the right choice on a personal level in the club he has decided to choose in the fact that he doesn't want to be a LION this season but he wants to remain a RAT!!
This is not a stab at the Ararat Football Club either or any of their players!! :eek:
HAVE TO AGREE WITH U MIGHTY ROAR 100% HE CAN STAY A RAT!GOOD LUCK TO HIM IN THE WIMMERA HE LOOKS PRETTY FIT
Beton 5 I also agree with the Great Mighty Roar,Its a pity that this player appears to have played both clubs. Good luck to the Rats in 2007 and for the future .
Just wandering wat the go is with the arrarat football club.. Talking to some blokes involved in the club and they reckon they cant play practise games due to sheer lack of numbers..Any truth in this??
Drop_Punt
8 Apr 2007, 20:04
Sounds about right drop punt but if stawell end up r/up then surely they would be biggest improver, i have heard they will be pretty strong aswell and i think dimmy will be alright again but there depth will be average.
Yer your right on the biggest improver bit, i went on where united should have finished which was in the bottom 5 but yer made a stuff up there. I am glad that someone on thios forum remembers Arron Barnett, and i'd be sure to say that after seeing him play this year everyone will remember him for a while to come.
Also would be intrested to see others predictions on my topics rather than just knocking one of mine without offering one of there own, all i'm tryin to do is create a healthy debate.
Footyz Life
8 Apr 2007, 20:57
Yer your right on the biggest improver bit, i went on where united should have finished which was in the bottom 5 but yer made a stuff up there. I am glad that someone on thios forum remembers Arron Barnett, and i'd be sure to say that after seeing him play this year everyone will remember him for a while to come.
Also would be intrested to see others predictions on my topics rather than just knocking one of mine without offering one of there own, all i'm tryin to do is create a healthy debate.
Only Two Weeks to go Lets see some predictions and margins for rd 1,
Saints vs min/mur- burras by 15gls
Demons vs Diggers- Dees by 8gls
Dimmy vs Stawell-Dimmy by 6gls
Nhill vs Warrack-Eagles by 2gls
Onelastbounce
8 Apr 2007, 21:08
Only Two Weeks to go Lets see some predictions and margins for rd 1,
Saints vs min/mur- burras by 15gls
Demons vs Diggers- Dees by 8gls
Dimmy vs Stawell-Dimmy by 6gls
Nhill vs Warrack-Eagles by 2gls
My predictions 4 round 1 are:
Min/Murtoa by 68pts
Horsham by 37pts
Dimboola by 14pts
Eagles by 17pts
C how we go!!
:cool: :D :cool: :D :cool:
Drop_Punt
8 Apr 2007, 21:32
My predictions 4 round 1 are:
Min/Murtoa by 68pts
Horsham by 37pts
Dimboola by 14pts
Eagles by 17pts
C how we go!!
:cool: :D :cool: :D :cool:
MM by 60pts
Horsham By 15+ goals
Dimmy by 35 pts
Eagles by 5pts
first round, who knows wat will hapen cant wait to see some action.
MM by 60pts
Horsham By 15+ goals
Dimmy by 35 pts
Eagles by 5pts
first round, who knows wat will hapen cant wait to see some action.
My predictions
minyip murtoa by 67 points
Horsham by 29 points
Dimboola by less than two kicks
Nhill by 11 points
I would also like to get any early tips for the toohey. There are always the top handfull of names that get trown round this time of year but maybe there are some different suggestions??
Your only allowed to use the game ball and are not allowed to have a spare ball at each end, would cost a dikload to use 3 footys a game...
they would have to for the Rule to work or you find the full back be chasing the ball himself or get someone to get the ball back as qick as Possible like i use to do back before started umpiring away games back for the Eagles back in the old southern mallee /Mallee days. and you will notice the Goal umpires new positioning from last year
if The Fullback has to get the ball expect the umpire to tell him to hurry it up
Onelastbounce
9 Apr 2007, 14:10
I would also like to get any early tips for the toohey. There are always the top handfull of names that get trown round this time of year but maybe there are some different suggestions??[/quote]
My early prediction for the medal would have 2 b John Kosch from M/M. Gets loads ov the pill and is quite a delight 2 watch. Very hard runner.
Having been an ex-local from the ararat district I have a mild interest in the Wimmera League and Ararat as a club having spent a season there. From these posts I suggest two things: One that Razzamatazz grow up show some maturity and lose the chip on your shoulder you are exactly the kind of person that makes Ararats culture what it is and Dalks maybe you should gain some professionalism and stay off these types of sites and just keep your writing to the paper.
It does not surprise me in one bit of the massive player exodus at the rats. Why would you play for a club like that when you have quality clubs such as Tatyoon, Moyston and Gt Western just down the road. All these clubs have a magnificent culture where the emphasis around each place is about being a club, and family clubs. How many Rats players in the past could name a majority of players in the U/14's?
Also the problem seems to stem directly from the big headed board at the club who create more problems then they solve with their arrogant pretentious attitudes. I found it somewhat ironic that the GM had ago at a 17 year old kid for leaving the club for money when he gets paid $8000pa to do a job that people volunteer to do in all three of the clubs I mentioned.
Grimmett
10 Apr 2007, 11:27
Been a payrise at Ararat recently then.
RetiredYoung
10 Apr 2007, 18:51
Any kids from the league into the rebals squad? Especially interested in any Ararat kids. Cheers.
Kanaka22
10 Apr 2007, 19:00
Just wondering if theres any news on Harold Calma, Colin Wilson, Brad Stephensen and Shane Thorne comming back to Dimboola this year?
Grimmett
10 Apr 2007, 23:03
Any kids from the league into the rebals squad? Especially interested in any Ararat kids. Cheers.
From an Ararat perspective Tom Cashin and Trent Fiscalini made the Rebels squad. Adrian Buncle and BJ Burton, now departed for Tatyoon, are in the Development squad.
roaring tiger
10 Apr 2007, 23:42
Just wondering if theres any news on Harold Calma, Colin Wilson, Brad Stephensen and Shane Thorne comming back to Dimboola this year?
Shane Thorne has signed with Euroa in the GVFL over the weekend it was reported in the Shepp News today. Will be interesting to see how he goes as the GVFL is a couple of steps higher than the wimmera league footy.
roaring tiger
10 Apr 2007, 23:44
I would also like to get any early tips for the toohey. There are always the top handfull of names that get trown round this time of year but maybe there are some different suggestions??
My early prediction for the medal would have 2 b John Kosch from M/M. Gets loads ov the pill and is quite a delight 2 watch. Very hard runner.[/quote]
My tip for the Thooey this year would be Peter Mcfarlane to make it 2 medals in 3 years with Aaron Barnett to come runner up. Should perform well in a side where players like farr,carr and bunworth and co will feed the ball out to him all day.
RetiredYoung
11 Apr 2007, 13:06
From an Ararat perspective Tom Cashin and Trent Fiscalini made the Rebels squad. Adrian Buncle and BJ Burton, now departed for Tatyoon, are in the Development squad.
Cheers, Cashin can play (funny bloke too). Fisca made a Vic squad last year didnt he? He should go pretty far.
BJ is a legend, good luck to the kid.
Scottyrat
11 Apr 2007, 19:34
Having been an ex-local from the ararat district I have a mild interest in the Wimmera League and Ararat as a club having spent a season there. From these posts I suggest two things: One that Razzamatazz grow up show some maturity and lose the chip on your shoulder you are exactly the kind of person that makes Ararats culture what it is and Dalks maybe you should gain some professionalism and stay off these types of sites and just keep your writing to the paper.
It does not surprise me in one bit of the massive player exodus at the rats. Why would you play for a club like that when you have quality clubs such as Tatyoon, Moyston and Gt Western just down the road. All these clubs have a magnificent culture where the emphasis around each place is about being a club, and family clubs. How many Rats players in the past could name a majority of players in the U/14's?
Also the problem seems to stem directly from the big headed board at the club who create more problems then they solve with their arrogant pretentious attitudes. I found it somewhat ironic that the GM had ago at a 17 year old kid for leaving the club for money when he gets paid $8000pa to do a job that people volunteer to do in all three of the clubs I mentioned.
I haven't been driven to reply to any of the past crap that has been written on this forum but I can't leave this one alone.
Whilst I agree with the first part of the message the rest just sounds like some bitterness, I suggest you get all your facts right before commenting about Ararat payments and what other clubs pay. Some of the previous board members that I presume you are talking about actually did a lot of hard work during the late 1990's and 2000's and helped make the club a successful and professional club. Having come from a club in a small farming community not unlike Tatyoon, G/Western and Moysten the cultures certainly are different as these clubs games are a community gathering for the people and at the end of the day the kids stay around on game day as they have no other place to go as do the parents after a game as they just can't duck home as involves a bit of travel.
At Ararat (and other bigger towns) the kids tend to go to other places after the game such as Macca's, someones house etc as they can walk there, this I believe can makes it harder to create a positive club/team culture.
In the last few years Ararat has put as much if not more time and effort into its Junior football program than any other club in the area. Such things as the scholarship program, mentoring program and other such schemes have created a positive role model for other clubs that have taken up similiar schemes.
But after all this yes we have lost players from our 2nds preimership team which is disappointing this coupled with quite a few retirements from the seniors makes the numbers a bit short........................ but sometimes there is just no pleasing some people.
Sorry to everyone that this so long
Kanaka22
12 Apr 2007, 12:34
Shane Thorne has signed with Euroa in the GVFL over the weekend it was reported in the Shepp News today. Will be interesting to see how he goes as the GVFL is a couple of steps higher than the wimmera league footy.
Would be good to see how Thorne goes over there!
How bout the other fellas from Darwin? Are they comming back to Dimboola?
I haven't been driven to reply to any of the past crap that has been written on this forum but I can't leave this one alone.
Whilst I agree with the first part of the message the rest just sounds like some bitterness, I suggest you get all your facts right before commenting about Ararat payments and what other clubs pay. Some of the previous board members that I presume you are talking about actually did a lot of hard work during the late 1990's and 2000's and helped make the club a successful and professional club. Having come from a club in a small farming community not unlike Tatyoon, G/Western and Moysten the cultures certainly are different as these clubs games are a community gathering for the people and at the end of the day the kids stay around on game day as they have no other place to go as do the parents after a game as they just can't duck home as involves a bit of travel.
At Ararat (and other bigger towns) the kids tend to go to other places after the game such as Macca's, someones house etc as they can walk there, this I believe can makes it harder to create a positive club/team culture.
In the last few years Ararat has put as much if not more time and effort into its Junior football program than any other club in the area. Such things as the scholarship program, mentoring program and other such schemes have created a positive role model for other clubs that have taken up similiar schemes.
But after all this yes we have lost players from our 2nds preimership team which is disappointing this coupled with quite a few retirements from the seniors makes the numbers a bit short........................ but sometimes there is just no pleasing some people.
Sorry to everyone that this so long
I myself come from a small town where being apart of a football club is a part of being involved in the community. If everyone is involved then there is no need to run off and do other things, this would make it tough in larger areas such as arrarat. But leaving a game to go to maccas... It is dissapointing going to have a drink at the rooms with the opposition after the game and the only people there are the volunteers behind the bar who hav probably been there for the last 30 years. These scholorships are a great idea but maybe the younger generation arnt the problem. It is hard to change the young blokes when there older role models are arnt being "role models"
My Pre-season Predictions -
Toohey - Kosch or Mcfarlane
Goalkicking - Johns
Rising Star - Liam Offer
Premiers - Horsham (Still Too Good)
Runners Up - Dimboola (H.U will give them a good run in the prelim but the roo's midfield will step up)
3rd Horsham United(Lacks defence)
4th Stawell(Will give the top 3 a run)
5th Minyip Murtoa(Dark Horses could make 3rd if they turn it on in Finals)
6th Nhill(Lacks Expierence but has a good youth base)
7th Warrack Eagles(Big loss in T.Walder -No recruits will struggle. 3 good youngsters will play rebels all year)
8th Ararat(Too many clearences but have the ability to be good on any given day)
9th Horsham Saints(Missing a generation of players will struggle)
RAZZAMATAZZ
12 Apr 2007, 17:28
Some 1 sounds bitter towards ararat, maybe cos the one year they stayed at the club they couldn't cut the mustard!!??!!
Razzamatazz,
Can u do everyone a favour and just eat **** and die cause you have no idea what your on about:D
The Mad Hawker
14 Apr 2007, 18:16
Cutting the Mustard is the problem at Ararat.... if you arent in the 5 best players at the club then some dont want to know you.....
BUT
At the moment I think (and not just at Ararat) anyone can cut the mustard as there is a huge shortage of numbers for a lot of teams.
What happened to the day when Ararat (the city) supported 10 clubs around the district and that included seniors and reserves.....
Maybe the VCFL need to have a good hard look at what they have done previously with the restructure and demolishing the A.D.F.L...
no local interclub rivalry nor sharing a beer with the opposition after the game
Kids and families dont want to get up at 7 oclock on a saturday morning and have to travel for 2 hours to have their kids play.
There is also a lot of weekend employment for these kids who would rather earn a quid at Macca's
Regional footy costs a $hit load more these days its at least a $100 a day pastime now with 50 -60 bucks for fuel, 20 to get in the gate club memberships these days are expensive, boots shorts etc food and drinks for the family and a couple of beers at the end (or during if you play two's) of the day
combine all this and no wonder there is a shortage.
roaring tiger
16 Apr 2007, 17:35
Just interested to hear other wimmera league followers views on how the Wimmera league is going in relation to standard and general improvement? I don't think the league is progressive enough which leads to the league not attracting top line footballers which in turn create a better standard of football as well as attracting more football followers.
I have played in a few leagues and i think the best so far would be the murray league. This year our first game was on good friday and there was an estimated 3000 or more spectators with the gate approx $11,000. It was like a final.
Why couldn't the wimmera league do something similiar to the following:
Nhill Vs Dimboola Good Friday Dimmy or City oval
Ararat Vs Stawell Good Friday Alexandra Oval
Horsham Vs United Easter Saturday City Oval
Warrack Vs Minyip-mUrtoa Easter Saturday under lights at Brim or Coughlan Park
Saints the bye
This may lead to more interest for the league and help it attract better players.
journeyman
17 Apr 2007, 14:40
Just interested to hear other wimmera league followers views on how the Wimmera league is going in relation to standard and general improvement? I don't think the league is progressive enough which leads to the league not attracting top line footballers which in turn create a better standard of football as well as attracting more football followers.
I have played in a few leagues and i think the best so far would be the murray league. This year our first game was on good friday and there was an estimated 3000 or more spectators with the gate approx $11,000. It was like a final.
Saints the bye
This may lead to more interest for the league and help it attract better players.
Couldn't agree more. The Wimmera League and its clubs are behind the times. The anzac day clash between Saints and United is the only match which is a bit different.
The Wimmera doesn't have a big population base so they've got to see Easter as an opportunity to get more people through the gate. Good Friday footy would spark up a bit of discussion too
twinkle toes
17 Apr 2007, 14:49
Saints the bye
What about those who dont want to play at easter and would much rather enjoy the easter festivities of the stawell gift, warrack races etc, these are great days that everyone enjoys and i know one side that would have struggled to pull a side cause there gun players were smashed and enjoying the day
journeyman
17 Apr 2007, 16:15
What about those who dont want to play at easter and would much rather enjoy the easter festivities of the stawell gift, warrack races etc, these are great days that everyone enjoys and i know one side that would have struggled to pull a side cause there gun players were smashed and enjoying the day
Then the Wimmera League will continue to be struggling major league because they wont make changes which will benefit clubs and get more people to the games.
I'm sure if a club wanted to play over Easter their players would play footy instead of getting smashed at the races.
Anyway, you could nearly play all of the games (maybe except for Horsham v United) on either Thursday night or Good Friday which still gives players/officials a long weekend.
Andyt30
18 Apr 2007, 20:03
The Horsham saints v Minyip Murtoa transferd from coughlin Park to Murtoa as coughlin Park is not up to Scratch
Mobbenfuhrer
20 Apr 2007, 13:06
Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!
(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)
METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench
VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)
Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)
Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)
WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)
Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)
Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)
Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]
Good to see Stawell playing to there full potential only going down to Dimmy by 5 goals who were only missing 6 of there best.Must have been money spent well on Tuckey kicking 1 major for the day.
See if the big fella can earn his $1000 a game against horsham next week?
maybe if Stawell can kick straight they might get somewhere instead of talking up themselves!!!!!:p
Andyt30
22 Apr 2007, 22:18
Good to see Stawell playing to there full potential only going down to Dimmy by 5 goals who were only missing 6 of there best.Must have been money spent well on Tuckey kicking 1 major for the day.
maybe if Stawell can kick straight they might get somewhere instead of talking up themselves!!!!!:p
could been a closer game never seen so many 50 meter penelties
Andyt30
22 Apr 2007, 22:23
Dimboola jumped em first Qtr
Dimboola Stawell
7.3 45 1.4.10 Qt
11 .6. 72 5.6 36 HT
11.10 76 6.9 45 3qt
14.10 90 d 8.15 63
stawell under 17's got smashed
i was there about ht of under 17s
anyone who noticed Back arm bands Umpires wore in the Seniors who lost a Umpire Scum to Cancer :'(
not impressed with the state of the ground especally where they dug long trenches. i had a good look at it on saturday
could be quite Dangerous but the ground looks fantastic just where trhey dug long trenches
and with Kalkee playing Home Games there and dimboola and training there how will the Ground hold up being used every week . We'll see quite a few Sunday games involving Kalkee when Dimboolas home on Saturday
Depending when kalkee ground becomes available .
Kalkees lucky Dimboola lets then use the ground which I think is very good of them. :)
how many games warrack will have to transfer Rd 2 warrack transfered to Dimboola
hawks&proud
23 Apr 2007, 12:58
heard Brent played well had 3 or 4 guys on him all day playing several positions so a bit harsh beton :( where were you on saturday:rolleyes:
Very hard to believe dimmy would put 3 or 4 on him considering Stawell were blown away early.When a player is on that type of money you can be critical especially when your side kicks 8 goals with the likes of tuckey,Abraham and clayton up forward...
Is that alright with u Hawks and Proud....:cool:
Sorry mate i forgot you were from stawell hows that second head of yours still putting you off balance.:D
Onelastbounce
24 Apr 2007, 01:08
1000$ a game is a bit harsh m8. If ya gonna make these statements make sure ya get them right. He is on 25,000$ in 15 games = 1,666$ a game. And by the way i heard that he has dun his groin. Don't no the extent but i no that he could hardly move after the game!! Lot a money 2 spend. The big question is where will he b next year. He still lives in melbourne and i don't think they (stawell) will b able 2 afford him again!!:rolleyes:
hawks&proud
24 Apr 2007, 10:44
Very hard to believe dimmy would put 3 or 4 on him considering Stawell were blown away early.When a player is on that type of money you can be critical especially when your side kicks 8 goals with the likes of tuckey,Abraham and clayton up forward...
Is that alright with u Hawks and Proud....:cool:
Sorry mate i forgot you were from stawell hows that second head of yours still putting you off balance.:D
the second head was gone as soon as we moved from rat town when i was 8 buddy good to see that you ararat boys have learned to live with them as your balance is extroardinary
McCleanMagic
24 Apr 2007, 11:49
Can anyone tell me if ararat are going to fill a reserves team this weekend? and if so you do they have playing?
What are these stories in the Horsham paper about footballers in fights in the pub and being banned for 12 months...it says prominent local Horsham footballers..anyone heard anything about this?
MightyRoar
24 Apr 2007, 15:08
Can anyone tell me if ararat are going to fill a reserves team this weekend? and if so you do they have playing?
From all reports they will get a side together. Not quite sure what the whole make of their side will be, however I know the 2 pumpkin heads will be donning the red & white jumper again for yet another season together!! Good to see their loyalty towards their club which is a very distant thing nowadays in footy! :thumbsu:
bomber_42
24 Apr 2007, 18:26
What are these stories in the Horsham paper about footballers in fights in the pub and being banned for 12 months...it says prominent local Horsham footballers..anyone heard anything about this?
stuart farr recieved a 12 month ban from the pub. Joel geue and jarrod wright are banned from horshams nightlife for 6 months due to an altercation with some disctrict league players (the rumours say they were united but none of them play at the diggers anymore) on a sunday morning outside a pub at about 3.30. The incident also left geue momentarily (about 10-15 seconds) unconscuios on the pavement. All these players are Horsham senior players.
hey heard nick germano has made a good start to the year booting 3 majors in the eagles loss to nhill the bloke has always had talent just needs to get fit any one else feel the same?
how does everyone rate warracks chance in 07 might slip into the 5 if their lucky i reckon get nick (gutso) germano fit and they will be right
roaring tiger
24 Apr 2007, 21:44
how does everyone rate warracks chance in 07 might slip into the 5 if their lucky i reckon get nick (gutso) germano fit and they will be right
Warrack have as much of a chnace of making the five as Nhill/Ararat do, not much!! The problem for warrack is all there good young players are playing in the rebels. I think there is about 3 or 4. Like all of the other teams they have a couple of super players like marc greig but there depth would be there biggest problem. As for Germano does have a bit of ability but i think he would be more suited to a flank than in the middle of the ground.
roaring tiger
24 Apr 2007, 21:46
stuart farr recieved a 12 month ban from the pub. Joel geue and jarrod wright are banned from horshams nightlife for 6 months due to an altercation with some disctrict league players (the rumours say they were united but none of them play at the diggers anymore) on a sunday morning outside a pub at about 3.30. The incident also left geue momentarily (about 10-15 seconds) unconscuios on the pavement. All these players are Horsham senior players.
If stuart farr was 1 of the players involved it wouldn't suprise me. Is a good bloke when off the piss but when on it is a mad man. I wouldn't of thought Bruce Hartigan and the rest of the board at Horsham would be that happy if he was involved with farr being there coach.
Maybe Journeyman knows the fall story??
Footyz Life
24 Apr 2007, 21:47
The other blokes involved were Glenn Pohlner who plays at laharum 2`s,Adrian Wade ex united and horsham now at noradjuha/quantong and ryan jeffries ex united 2`s and played district league with a couple of clubs. The three are mates same as the other boys. Word is farr had words with pohlner and then pohlner came back with back up.
Grimmett
24 Apr 2007, 22:18
Gary Jones and his WFL Commission might have to follow Andy Demetriou's lead and summons the Demons hierarchy to HQ for a little sit down......:p
Let's see, Harty you can sit there, Mark Williams on his right please, Stuey next to Mark, Johnsy can go there and Bunga on the end thanks fellas....now, where should we start...:D
Throw the book at 'em, they've been belting the crap out of the opposition for the past four years and now they've moved into the pubs...can't be good for football can it?
[/sarcasm]
Geez we need some footy to discuss don't we......
ImaBeliever!
25 Apr 2007, 21:14
I was at the game, Tuckey played mostly CHF and did very well in the making department (gave Dimmy new guy Cam McKinnon the run around), but wasn't close enough to goal to make a difference. What i saw of his kicking, it isn't his strength.
Was double-teamed on occasion, but didn't have 3-4 blokes on him as claimed.
He should play closer to goal if he is to make a real impact this year, as he can mark the ball like few others.
Dimmy will go alright this year, but is lacking a ruckman (to release McFarlane to KP); a good FF; and a decent FB to cover the likes of Johns. Apparently getting some more recruits (apart from Calma & Thorne), so maybe they can address these deficiencies - otherwise Dimmy will be playing off against United to get beaten in the GF by the Demons .
Grimmett
25 Apr 2007, 23:13
I think Thorne has signed elsewhere in country Vic. Murray FL of Goulburn Valley FL maybe?
Edit: Kanaka posted on April 12 that Thorne signed with Euroa in the GVFL.
Fists of Rage
26 Apr 2007, 10:20
If stuart farr was 1 of the players involved it wouldn't suprise me. Is a good bloke when off the piss but when on it is a mad man. I wouldn't of thought Bruce Hartigan and the rest of the board at Horsham would be that happy if he was involved with farr being there coach.
Maybe Journeyman knows the fall story??
Who does he think he is, Horshams version of west coast's Ben Cousins? Everytime he goes out he try's to blew someone, have heard the cops have escorted him home numerous times from partee's and night clubs, not a good look for the club, perhaps he should be stripped of teh inter league captaincy? wat do others think....
frankie.dettori
26 Apr 2007, 11:01
Who does he think he is, Horshams version of west coast's Ben Cousins? Everytime he goes out he try's to blew someone, have heard the cops have escorted him home numerous times from partee's and night clubs, not a good look for the club, perhaps he should be stripped of teh inter league captaincy? wat do others think....
i think that ur a ********.
Rat_attack
26 Apr 2007, 12:36
Why that comment?? I thought it was a fair enough post!
Fists of Rage
26 Apr 2007, 14:37
Gee thats a bit harsh, just seeing what others thought, no need for that buddy....
Warrack have as much of a chnace of making the five as Nhill/Ararat do, not much!! The problem for warrack is all there good young players are playing in the rebels. I think there is about 3 or 4. Like all of the other teams they have a couple of super players like marc greig but there depth would be there biggest problem. As for Germano does have a bit of ability but i think he would be more suited to a flank than in the middle of the ground.
I agree partly with you roaring tiger.. Would like to no how much warrack pay Greig. Is a super player but maybe Wimmera is not for him. Watching him last year and against nhill round one hasnt been influential at all. But on the same token was Wimmeras best player in my opinion at Barooga in the interleague.. As for arrarat making finals, it will tough for them this year with the amount of players lost. And nhill well i was suprised on the way they played last week. Davidson has his head screwed on. Nhill dosnt have any super stars but if he can teach his players to play his game as well as four quaters of good footy as they did on the weekend they will be a challenger to the teams they come up against.
roaring tiger
26 Apr 2007, 16:04
I think Thorne has signed elsewhere in country Vic. Murray FL of Goulburn Valley FL maybe?
Edit: Kanaka posted on April 12 that Thorne signed with Euroa in the GVFL.
Euroa Gimmett it was reported in the Shepp news 3 weeks ago. Hasn't played a game yet though.
Footyz Life
26 Apr 2007, 21:53
Ben Cousins! his not a druggy. Stripped of the captaincy you have to be kidding. As far as FOOTBALL is concerned he would be wanted by any club in the district and the way he handles himself ON the football field is first rate that is why he is capt. of interleague. I am sure every player in the comp. would put there hand up to play along side Stuey Farr if it were possible.Off field he could pull his head in when his on the squirt but his not on his own there i wouldn`t think.
roaring tiger
27 Apr 2007, 11:15
Ben Cousins! his not a druggy. Stripped of the captaincy you have to be kidding. As far as FOOTBALL is concerned he would be wanted by any club in the district and the way he handles himself ON the football field is first rate that is why he is capt. of interleague. I am sure every player in the comp. would put there hand up to play along side Stuey Farr if it were possible.Off field he could pull his head in when his on the squirt but his not on his own there i wouldn`t think.
There are many other players in the league that would be as good a captain if not better than Farr. He does lead from the front though and has a great record playing for Horsham. He does play at bit dirty at times and likes to intimidate smaller players from oposition teams.
hawks&proud
27 Apr 2007, 11:48
no one said anything about drugs cousins was stripped of the captaincy last year due to his off field antics ie; getting in the s*%# when he was on the piss:rolleyes:
MightyRoar
27 Apr 2007, 12:05
no one said anything about drugs cousins was stripped of the captaincy last year due to his off field antics ie; getting in the s*%# when he was on the piss:rolleyes:
Fair point made there Big Kossi!! :D
Footyz Life
27 Apr 2007, 13:28
There are many other players in the league that would be as good a captain if not better than Farr. He does lead from the front though and has a great record playing for Horsham. He does play at bit dirty at times and likes to intimidate smaller players from oposition teams.
Do yourself a favour and get a copy of the last four grand finals especially 2003 against stawell when they targeted him and guy smith and you will see what i mean about leading from the front. intimidating smaller players! i`m guessing you haven`t watched him 2 often.
Yeah Gerno could be a freakish player.. Would love to see him fit again, Because he really wasnt influential against nhill. He kicked three goals but, in my opinion any average WFL player should be able to do that if they sit at Full forward all day.
roaring tiger
27 Apr 2007, 15:25
Do yourself a favour and get a copy of the last four grand finals especially 2003 against stawell when they targeted him and guy smith and you will see what i mean about leading from the front. intimidating smaller players! i`m guessing you haven`t watched him 2 often.
I agreed that he leads from the front. I have played along side him in 2 interleague campains including the 2004 winning games when he was captain. I have also played against him for 4 years in senior footy and in some junior footy. He does target younger smaller players and can bit a bit dirty at times which i have seen first hand.
Fair point made there Big Kossi!! :D
Evey thing to you is a point big fella! how about you come out from behind the shadow and tell us the latest goss..:D :D sorry brian
MightyRoar
27 Apr 2007, 16:21
Evey thing to you is a point big fella! how about you come out from behind the shadow and tell us the latest goss..:D :D sorry brian
How about you do to me what Cartman wanted Mr Garrison to do to him!! :D :D :D
Footyz Life
27 Apr 2007, 21:15
I agreed that he leads from the front. I have played along side him in 2 interleague campains including the 2004 winning games when he was captain. I have also played against him for 4 years in senior footy and in some junior footy. He does target younger smaller players and can bit a bit dirty at times which i have seen first hand.
Must have to say roaring tiger you have changed it to YOUNGER smaller players now! I think we have different interpretations on what dirty is. For the record have played alongside the man also. Good to see u have an opinon though instead of just agreeing and disagreeing like others.
would be interesting to hear journeymans thoughts!
ClarkeM
28 Apr 2007, 15:48
go the diggers
FREDDIE13
29 Apr 2007, 17:39
Whatwere the rats like on the weekend? gonna struggle?
journeyman
29 Apr 2007, 23:38
Must have to say roaring tiger you have changed it to YOUNGER smaller players now! I think we have different interpretations on what dirty is. For the record have played alongside the man also. Good to see u have an opinon though instead of just agreeing and disagreeing like others.
would be interesting to hear journeymans thoughts!
From my limited experience at Horsham Farrie was the heart and soul of the club. He's so passionate about the club and his leadership qualities are brilliant.
He was a good leader in other ways too. Even when he was assistant coach he didn't get paid which meant that blokes could hardly demand big money when he was getting nothing. Even as coach he gets paid stuff all because he wants to coach Horsham.
On the piss is where he gets into trouble. I thought that as coach he'd wouldn't get himself in those situations. He is rated so highly as a coach - I hope he doesn't stuff it up through bad choices at the Royal or Wilsons.
hey lads anyone here how that dirty pig (according to roaring tiger) germano went on the week end roaring tiger prob would no you class him as dirty prob tackled you too hard one day soft mate very soft!
heard clicker clarke headed west he is killing it over there as well (from all reports) hope to see him back in the area soon he is a good egg! Prob cut it at WAFL level if he wanted too.
roaring tiger
30 Apr 2007, 13:07
hey lads anyone here how that dirty pig (according to roaring tiger) germano went on the week end roaring tiger prob would no you class him as dirty prob tackled you too hard one day soft mate very soft!
Why don't you have a look at www.wfl.vcfl.com.au (http://www.wfl.vcfl.com.au) under competitions and you will find out. I never once stated he was a dirty pig either Keeta, perhaps you should get some glasses to help you read next time.
Fists of Rage
30 Apr 2007, 16:21
From my limited experience at Horsham Farrie was the heart and soul of the club. He's so passionate about the club and his leadership qualities are brilliant.
He was a good leader in other ways too. Even when he was assistant coach he didn't get paid which meant that blokes could hardly demand big money when he was getting nothing. Even as coach he gets paid stuff all because he wants to coach Horsham.
On the piss is where he gets into trouble. I thought that as coach he'd wouldn't get himself in those situations. He is rated so highly as a coach - I hope he doesn't stuff it up through bad choices at the Royal or Wilsons.
I would think it would be in his best interests not to drink at all, as he only seems to be a problem to others when drinking, have seen him try a pick 18 yr olds several times before in the same places he regularly attends isn;t the royal a sponsor of horsham, that cant be a good look for the club the coach banned from the sponsers establishment. As a great man once said alcohol is the cause and solution to all of lifes problems, thankyou homer j simpson...
freddiefenster
30 Apr 2007, 16:51
Every club has bad apples. Just Horsham FC have generally had more than their fair share. They win flags, but not respect.
But Freddie...not more than the moonheads down at stinkville? (where rats live!)
Footyz Life
30 Apr 2007, 18:00
I would think it would be in his best interests not to drink at all, as he only seems to be a problem to others when drinking, have seen him try a pick 18 yr olds several times before in the same places he regularly attends isn;t the royal a sponsor of horsham, that cant be a good look for the club the coach banned from the sponsers establishment. As a great man once said alcohol is the cause and solution to all of lifes problems, thankyou homer j simpson...
the royal isn`t a sponsor of horsham so get the facts right:D and in response to freddie farta..e I would think the Horsham footy club is respected and would be the envy of most clubs in the area the way they have their club set up from juniors right thru.
freddiefenster
30 Apr 2007, 18:12
the royal isn`t a sponsor of horsham so get the facts right:D and in response to freddie farta..e I would think the Horsham footy club is respected and would be the envy of most clubs in the area the way they have their club set up from juniors right thru.
Great set up, great playing list, great junior program, great home ground.
But a lot of bad apples.
thanks for the advice roaring tiger you are a little edgy is your time of the month. you egg!
young horsham united footballer Scott Davidson has broken his leg on 29th August, 2006, he will miss the whole season and maybe half of nest season. the star who came runnersup b&f last year has started walking and now kicking the ball. he broke his femur just centimetres above the knee and has been warned on making his comeback
Who is this S Davidson and where does he play???
scott davidson ... united...
broke it during school state semi finals last year in melbourne
utilitie for united under 14s
scott davidson ... united...
broke it during school state semi finals last year in melbourne
utilitie for united under 14s
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif
You can blame umpires, bag their players, curse your team's bad luck but the bottom line is they've won the past four premierships. That makes them probaly the most successful team in country Vic.
Agree with you journeyman.. They are a very sucesfull team on the field. But there supporter base is extremely small for a team that is so succesfull. This I find strange. No idea wat the reasoning for this is??
MightyRoar
1 May 2007, 16:12
now now nothing wrong with a turning circle of a mac truck is there mighty roar;)
And you too Big Kossi can do to me what Cartman wants Mr Garison to do to him!! :D
hawks&proud
1 May 2007, 16:35
And you too Big Kossi can do to me what Cartman wants Mr Garison to do to him!! :D
i was speaking on behalf of myself and the many others at treaining including yourself:thumbsu: :p
Footyz Life
1 May 2007, 22:07
Agree with you journeyman.. They are a very sucesfull team on the field. But there supporter base is extremely small for a team that is so succesfull. This I find strange. No idea wat the reasoning for this is??
What are u on about:confused: I have been to many games at city oval and there is nothing wrong with the supporter base aswell as thurs nights when there is about 100 kids runnin around all wanting to wear the demons jumper and there is a lot of parents and SUPPORTERS there.
hey fellas obviously the truth hurts cause what i posted today was not offensive or derogotory but it has been erased any idea what that was moderator..
Warrack Eagles
2 May 2007, 13:39
big rumor is that aj mckenzie is coming back to warrack this year sometime should be a good pick up for the mighty eagles
yeah heard the bloke moves well will be interested to see if he can find a spot in such a strong eagles line up!