View Full Version : Wimmera Football League
no wonder ararat 2s struggle for numbers when you have the likes of shaun smart who decides im not playing this week were got to travel to dimmy.
im not sure if its his slight case of chaff but he needs to stand up and show some leadership as he is fast approaching30.The travelling aspect in football doesnt bother me at all flatnose. Yes l didnt play this week but not why you think. It was due to the fact that l have to work for a living and it just so happened that l was rostered on to work this day. I rather like the luxuries of milk, bread and some red meat. Things worked out well for the Rats two on Saturday with a 14 goal victory (if l played they probably would have lost). As you would know boofhead l dont mind to travel for football unlike yourself. So in closing Paul do you have any remedies for my so called chaffing as l am sure you chaff everywhere from in between the legs, fat rolls on your stomach, the joints of your arm and most likely your lips as well as they would always be opening and shutting with all the crap that comes out of them.
GO DEES!!!!
Are you comparing Smarty to a super star like Brian Strauchan? What a compliment!!! He's not the only one that doesn't like to Travel though the ruckman doesn't do a great deal of it I hear! The RATS might need to bring back the great Mark Direen he loved the travel up the Western highway!Been bombing on anyone in the pool lately. Heard you could have pulled the boots on the other week when a two's side was short but opted not to due the fact that they had to wear white shorts and you were worried your behind might have been to large.
Wouldnt it be funny if Collingwood lost next week aswell. Would be good form going in to the finals losing to the two bottom sides.:D
getitindia
12 Aug 2007, 19:25
The travelling aspect in football doesnt bother me at all flatnose. Yes l didnt play this week but not why you think. It was due to the fact that l have to work for a living and it just so happened that l was rostered on to work this day. I rather like the luxuries of milk, bread and some red meat. Things worked out well for the Rats two on Saturday with a 14 goal victory (if l played they probably would have lost). As you would know boofhead l dont mind to travel for football unlike yourself. So in closing Paul do you have any remedies for my so called chaffing as l am sure you chaff everywhere from in between the legs, fat rolls on your stomach, the joints of your arm and most likely your lips as well as they would always be opening and shutting with all the crap that comes out of them.
GO DEES!!!!
good to see the younger rats step up an play two games ,that realy helped them out in the win
Boobluvva
12 Aug 2007, 22:21
Firstly i had all intentions on travelling to kalkee dont Lie and make up crap.A suspected achillies ive had a 3mm rupture since may you clown and i have played a couple of games in the 2s when they were short of numbers.As far as gobbin off at teammates your full of it nathan.
R u gonna have a crack at the way i look at least i dont look like ive swallowed a bean bag and have a head like a setelite dish.As for the Rats they are a great club and im happy at western playing with a good bunch of blokes when i do play which isnt to often this year,when the time comes when i play uninjured 2008 you wont be baggin me so much then.and say that i was Given a fair go how can i when ive payed 3 senior games (all injured)And helping out the 2s.
By the way beanbag if you think not getting a game due to being injured is your way saying im not good enough well you can think that.Dont talk utter trash and tell lies and make up statements that ive apparently said.
Ill remember next time 2 nathan when you ask me for a swap....
OOOOOOHHHHHH Budge!!! That's the sort of bite I was hoping to get from ya. Just like the blokes that bite at your poxy posts, I knew something like that would get that typical response from you. Now get back to work and earn our taxes. And toughen up a bit, it's nothin personal, I think you're a good bloke but sometimes ya typing fingers get a mind of their own and "THEY TYPE SH!T":thumbsu:
How is Jarrod Tyler going these days? i here he is killing them in the NCFL
FREDDIE13
13 Aug 2007, 22:01
good to see the younger rats step up an play two games ,that realy helped them out in the win
Young Lachie Hamilton was the only one to have an influence but good on the other boys for steppin up...
PIEFAN1978
14 Aug 2007, 09:10
Been bombing on anyone in the pool lately. Heard you could have pulled the boots on the other week when a two's side was short but opted not to due the fact that they had to wear white shorts and you were worried your behind might have been to large.
Wouldnt it be funny if Collingwood lost next week aswell. Would be good form going in to the finals losing to the two bottom sides.:D
Are you still upset for the hanger you reckon you took and the umpire called it in the back! Looked like a dwarf trying to mount a jockey!! The reason I never played that day as you very well know had nothing to do with white shorts, although they're not my colour, it was the fact that I was as crook as 10 men and I have a very dickie hamstring! As for the Pies and the Dees NO it wouldn't be funny at all but may well be on the cards
getitindia
14 Aug 2007, 21:19
Young Lachie Hamilton was the only one to have an influence but good on the other boys for steppin up...
FREDDIE have u bean fingered, did u watch the game ???
banganmash
14 Aug 2007, 22:02
no wonder ararat 2s struggle for numbers when you have the likes of shaun smart who decides im not playing this week were got to travel to dimmy.
im not sure if its his slight case of chaff but he needs to stand up and show some leadership as he is fast approaching30.
Babba, With a name like that it sounds like you are a baby? It sure seems like it, as in all of your posts you just seem to continuously keep bagging people, is that a lack in confidence, ability or majorly just one who gets off at other peoples expence?:cool:
Keep up the shit posts!:thumbsd:
roaring tiger
15 Aug 2007, 14:27
Football fest
by MEGAN HUSTWAITE
http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif
A LEADING Wimmera football official is confident an interleague carnival in Horsham next year will be a drawcard for players, sponsorship and supporters.
Wimmera Football League chief commissioner Gary Jones, speaking after confirmation Horsham would host Pool C of VCFL Worksafe country championships, said the May 24-25 carnival had potential to be one of the city's key attractions.
"We'll be trying to get more support from Horsham Rural City Council to make this one of next year's major events. It would be great to organise some functions to make the weekend a real drawcard," he said.
"Imagine the boost to the city's economy? The carnival would be bringing in about six bus loads of footballers and netballers as well as administrators, management staff and supporters into town for the weekend.
"This carnival has a lot of potential."
Mr Jones said the Wimmera's hospitality at 2004 and 2007 interleague fixtures had impressed VCFL officials.
"The VCFL mentioned to us that they were probably the best run carnivals they'd been to," he said.
"For them to allow us another one is a real feather in Wimmera League's cap.
"All credit must go to our football manager Barry McTaggart and the commission and of course the clubs involved who play such a big part."
Wimmera, Murray, Sunraysia and Bellarine leagues will contest the new- look Pool C carnival. Instead of each team playing three games they will now play two matches over two days.
Officials will create a draw to determine who plays on the Saturday. The two winners will play for the championship and pool promotion on the Sunday and the two losers will play off to avoid relegation.
The carnival will include senior and under-18 football and netball.
Mr Jones said he would be disappointed if players `weren't lining up' to represent the Big W on home turf.
"It's not going to be easy to get a game for the Wimmera League next year. I expect players to be putting their hands up for this opportunity and to make an absolute commitment to the jumper," he said.
"Hopefully it encourages players from other leagues to cross over to our competition to play a higher standard of football and try and make our interleague side."
Wimmera League played Western Border League in a stand-alone interleague match at Horsham City Oval in May. The Big W won by 40 points. In 2006, Wimmera played in Pool C of the VCFL country championships at Barooga where it won one of three games. Wimmera contested Pool B at Warrnambool in 2005. Wimmera hosted and won a 2004 Pool C carnival.
getitindia
15 Aug 2007, 21:23
hey FREDDIE have ya heard the big rumour about next year???
The footy show is coming to Ararat tomorrow, Billy Brownless and Big BT Taylor will be spinning the wheel for the Ararat and district Junior Football association. Come along and have a great night at Alexandra oval, there is a big marquee and music will be provided by the “BOURBON LEGENDS”. Do any of you blokes that played in the old ADJFA remember the old rooms, if so make sure you come along and lets see if the KIDS can win the car.:rolleyes::rolleyes:
PIEFAN1978
15 Aug 2007, 23:45
[quote=bigun;8420722][SIZE=2]The footy show is coming to Ararat tomorrow, Billy Brownless and Big BT Taylor will be spinning the wheel for the Ararat and district Junior Football association. Come along and have a great night at Alexandra oval, there is a big marquee and music will be provided by the “BOURBON LEGENDS”. Do any of you blokes that played in the old ADJFA remember the old rooms, if so make sure you come along and lets see if the KIDS can I remember them alright and I remember that the Mounties ones were in a lot better nick than the rest of ours MOONHEADS!!!!!!!!!
Leather Magnet
15 Aug 2007, 23:56
Spoken like a true Scum Valley Rover!
Does anyone rate ararats chances against horsham on satdy?
PIEFAN1978
17 Aug 2007, 01:24
Stranger thinhs have happened!!
PIEFAN1978
17 Aug 2007, 01:27
A lot of talent came out of the wrong side of the tracks down in Rover land, or the cow dung flat as it was known back in the day when ya mum used to cruise the streets for action! She loved gettin down and dirty at kokoda park under the old pines!!!!
Jack your a good bloke but dont spoil it by lieing.
Not once and i say it again NOT ONCE have i bagged any of the playing group or the club i played with last year.
Whats with this swifts thing what r u on about...
You must forget about about all the shit you actually write about BUDGIE!!!!!
banganmash
17 Aug 2007, 19:06
Why start being all nice guy now? Just because everybody has blown a cracker up ya arse for slagging off at all the time!
Any other time you would never have gave the young rats a chance, so dont start now. It would be great to see them get up but you know that its not going to happen!:cool:
Boobluvva
17 Aug 2007, 23:42
The footy show is coming to Ararat tomorrow, Billy Brownless and Big BT Taylor will be spinning the wheel for the Ararat and district Junior Football association. Come along and have a great night at Alexandra oval, there is a big marquee and music will be provided by the “BOURBON LEGENDS”. Do any of you blokes that played in the old ADJFA remember the old rooms, if so make sure you come along and lets see if the KIDS can win the car.:rolleyes::rolleyes:
Remember the old rooms???
I painted the bastards with Dad about 16 years ago, well the Warriors rooms anyway. They were old as sh!t then so they'd be rooted by now. Well done by Mark Robb and the gang for gettin on "The Wheel". good luck to them and lets hope the rooms get fixed up.:thumbsu:
FREDDIE13
20 Aug 2007, 19:29
hey FREDDIE have ya heard the big rumour about next year???
Which one is that india??
getitindia
20 Aug 2007, 20:42
Which one is that india??
that the topgun is gana coach the eagles next year
bomber_42
21 Aug 2007, 15:51
amogst all the bickering and personal attacks within the wimmera league forum, i think most people in here have forgotten the fact that this season is as exciting as its been for a few years in the WFL with three teams that have a genuine chance for the flag at the end of the year.
Also with just one round to go maybe some discussion could get back to what it is supposed to be and we could get some insight into any Toohey Medal prediction from those that regulalry attend some games as I'm sure the people on here do have some sensible points to put across in relation to this.
Here are some made up odds that could get the discussion back on track for the season:
Premiership
Horsham $1.25
Horsham Diggers $2.50
Stawell $2.70
Minyip-Murtoa $21
Dimboola $17
Toohey Medal (very hard to do but here is a go)
B. Tuckey $5
P. McFarlane $5.50
J. Mibus $7
D. Johns $8
N. Holloway $11
L. Carr $15
D. Krahe $15
L. Delahunty $21
P. Adlington $21
Any others I have forgotten for the Toohey, as I said, very hard to do this year with a more even competition and a lot of good players playing well.
Cameo King II
21 Aug 2007, 16:05
bomber42 you aren't a punter are you? Or are you a bookie, as you've got the percentage at 167% with your flag odds and tight with the odds.
So the Cameo King will help you out;
$1.30 - Horsham; four flags in a row is some sort of form. Hard to see them losing.
$5.00 - United; Who I'd like to see win, as they've had much heartbreak since '88 and it will be another case of close, but no cigar for the Diggers.
$8.00 - Stawell; the classic win over Horsham already seems so long ago. Tuck's could pull one out of the bag, but drifting in the market.
$15.00 - Dimboola; have pushed Horsham for a couple of years, still have some big guns but tough to do it from outside the top 3.
$500.00 - Minyip/Murtoa; No
The above with a much more punter friendly, and reasonable, 116% market.
banganmash
21 Aug 2007, 19:28
I believe that there will only be three in contention for the medal. McFarlane, Mibus and tuckey. McFarlane has had a very consistant season and with already winning a medal should help his chances. Mibus and tuckey have had very similar seasons, however i think when mibus played on big names like Tucks, Mibus had the better of the duals like he did with Ararats Fratin. So for my prediction i am chosing Mibus to win, just from McFarlane and Tucks right behind in third. There will definately only be 3 in contention!!! As for the flag Stawell have given it there best but aren't hitting form at the right end of the season, nearly getting beaton by the bottom 2 sides two weeks in a row. I believe that United are hitting form at the right stage of the year however injuries last week have been a huge blow for the tigers and therefore Horsham will runaway easy winners in the G/F by about 52 pts over the tigers.:p
brett-75
21 Aug 2007, 20:04
bomber42 you aren't a punter are you? Or are you a bookie, as you've got the percentage at 167% with your flag odds and tight with the odds.
$1.30 - Horsham; four flags in a row is some sort of form. Hard to see them losing.
$5.00 - United; Who I'd like to see win, as they've had much heartbreak since '88 and it will be another case of close, but no cigar for the Diggers.
$8.00 - Stawell; the classic win over Horsham already seems so long ago. Tuck's could pull one out of the bag, but drifting in the market.
$15.00 - Dimboola; have pushed Horsham for a couple of years, still have some big guns but tough to do it from outside the top 3.
Are Stawell the only team to beat Horsham this season? If so $8 seems a bit long, might be worth something on them cameo.
bomber_42
21 Aug 2007, 21:17
Ha you are quite right. Not the biggest punter going around and never tryed my hand at the bookie game. need to learn how work out the %'s like you have. united and stawell are at healthy odds there but your right about horsham being clear fav's. especially with uniteds injury worries at the wrong end of the season.
bomber_42
21 Aug 2007, 21:20
I believe that there will only be three in contention for the medal. McFarlane, Mibus and tuckey. McFarlane has had a very consistant season and with already winning a medal should help his chances. Mibus and tuckey have had very similar seasons, however i think when mibus played on big names like Tucks, Mibus had the better of the duals like he did with Ararats Fratin. So for my prediction i am chosing Mibus to win, just from McFarlane and Tucks right behind in third. There will definately only be 3 in contention!!! As for the flag Stawell have given it there best but aren't hitting form at the right end of the season, nearly getting beaton by the bottom 2 sides two weeks in a row. I believe that United are hitting form at the right stage of the year however injuries last week have been a huge blow for the tigers and therefore Horsham will runaway easy winners in the G/F by about 52 pts over the tigers.:p
just proves how handy good key position players are.
happydudehomer
22 Aug 2007, 11:17
I would have thought one J. Kosch from M/M might be still an outside chance even though he missed 4/5 matches he definately would have polled votes in the last 2 games//////:eek:
Can Kick A Goal
22 Aug 2007, 13:24
If Mibus wins the medal i will never play the game again! never seen such a soft scared skunk of a footballer running around thinking he is the greatest of all time! Leave me out of him!!
bomber_42
22 Aug 2007, 15:43
If Mibus wins the medal i will never play the game again! never seen such a soft scared skunk of a footballer running around thinking he is the greatest of all time! Leave me out of him!!
you may just have to hang up the boots then kickagoal. he is in very very good form this season. very surprised to hear someone say that mibus is scared as well. not with the way he has played the game this year.
roaring tiger
22 Aug 2007, 19:15
I think Kosch from MM will still have a great chance at winning the Thooey. Other main contenders in my opionon will be Mcfarlane ( a previous winner), Tuckey (a big name sure to attract votes) and Scotty Batchelor a previous winner also.
Horsham vs Stawell Grand Final as Horsham united have a few injuries from what i hear. If they are to make the grand final and win it Millar would have to kick 30 goals over the finals series. If Carr gets reported and suspended for the finals series this will bring the demons back to the fold and Stawell will win in my opionon.
It should be pretty close the finals series and which ever side has the least amount of injuries will win it.
banganmash
22 Aug 2007, 19:55
Your fukn kiddin arn't ya. you obviously don't know much about the game. He stands about 6ft 4" and plays on the best forwards in the comp. If he doesn't mark it he punches the *** out of it and pushes up to each contest all the time and runs off like a rover. You obviously arn't a big fan. I am not either but some times you have got to give credit when credit is due!!:p
Footyz Life
22 Aug 2007, 20:24
amogst all the bickering and personal attacks within the wimmera league forum, i think most people in here have forgotten the fact that this season is as exciting as its been for a few years in the WFL with three teams that have a genuine chance for the flag at the end of the year.
Also with just one round to go maybe some discussion could get back to what it is supposed to be and we could get some insight into any Toohey Medal prediction from those that regulalry attend some games as I'm sure the people on here do have some sensible points to put across in relation to this.
Here are some made up odds that could get the discussion back on track for the season:
Premiership
Horsham $1.25
Horsham Diggers $2.50
Stawell $2.70
Minyip-Murtoa $21
Dimboola $17
Toohey Medal (very hard to do but here is a go)
B. Tuckey $5
P. McFarlane $5.50
J. Mibus $7
D. Johns $8
N. Holloway $11
L. Carr $15
D. Krahe $15
L. Delahunty $21
P. Adlington $21
Any others I have forgotten for the Toohey, as I said, very hard to do this year with a more even competition and a lot of good players playing well.
Never been a big fan of mibus but has stepped up this year and deserves to be fav. ahead of tuckey who is an out right gun, i would put some money on adlington for value he is a young star and when he gets in the best it is usually the 3 votes and heard a whisper is sort after by glenelg for 2008. Any of the top 3 could win it, johns 2 weeks off for a freshen up could be the difference as he is firing once again.
roaring tiger
24 Aug 2007, 21:26
Interleague coup
Tim O'Connor
http://stawell.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif
Stawell has landed yet another footballing coup with confirmation coming on Wednesday that the VCFL Pool C Championships will be held in Stawell next year.
Despite reports that the carnival had been locked in at Horsham, Wimmera Football League Football Manager Barry McTaggart said Stawell's Central Park and North Park would be the venues for the 2008 championships.
Mr McTaggart said a proposal was lodged by the Northern Grampians Shire which was voted on at a board meeting on Tuesday night. The decision was unanimous.
"It (Central Park) is the best facility in the Wimmera at the moment, there is no doubt about that," Mr McTaggart said.
"Last year's grand final was magnificent and they have had a couple of big games that have also been fantastic."
It is just another tick in Stawell's corner after hosting the 2006 WFL grand final, a VFL clash between North Ballarat and Bendigo Bombers and the VCFL District League versus South Australia Country showdown in recent times.
The Pool C competition, featuring Wimmera, Murray, Sunraysia and Bellarine Football Leagues, will be held over the May 24 and 25 weekend.
A change to the format will see competition reverting to a pool system. Each league will play two matches, one on each day, with Saturday's winners fighting out the championship final on the Sunday, while the two losers will attempt to avoid relegation.
Mr McTaggart expected the matches to be played over four quarters of around 15 minutes each.
He said under 18 clashes would be played prior to senior matches and hoped a netball competition could be added to the weekend's schedule.
Northern Grampians Shire team leader community development Michael Bailey said it was a big coup for the community of Stawell.
"It's a big thing for the community, the end of May is a quiet time for businesses and this will bring new people to spend money," he said.
Mr Bailey expected around 300 footballers as well as officials, family and supporters of the teams to travel to Stawell and said it was a bonus that visitors would be staying for the entire weekend.
Council's proposal included an outline of the shire's possible contributions, its ability to accommodate a large influx of visitors and an outline on the facilities at Central Park, North Park and Great Western.
The proposal also detailed the opportunity to attract Northern Grampians Shire Council events funding of up to $2,000. An opportunity to provide group activities for family and other visitors may be organised through the shire's Tourism Development team.
Andyt31
26 Aug 2007, 18:52
Minyip/Murtoa Pushed Horsham for 3 and a bit Quarters
Horsham V Minyip Murtoa
Qt 1 7 13 2 2 14
Ht 4 9 33 7 6 48
3qt 9 16 70 8 7 55
4th 13 20 98 10 12 72
David Johns 5
bomber_42
29 Aug 2007, 15:58
Big weekend of football ahead. Early predictions for what should be a tight two games.
united V Stawell the diggers to cover the wide open spaces of ararat better to get up by 10 points
dimboola v minyip-murtoa dimboola to continue their up-and-down season to get bombed out in the first round. the burras by less than a kick
does anyone know what has happened with the carr v weir incident? anything that may have an impact on the demons tilt at a 5th straight flag?
heard tuckey towelled up mibus early saturday and they had to move him to chf, anyone their that can explain further
Can Kick A Goal
3 Sep 2007, 13:16
heard tuckey towelled up mibus early saturday and they had to move him to chf, anyone their that can explain further
Yes you are spot on there! went down to watch this so called star in Mibus that everyone reckons is a great chance to win the league B&F and what i saw was Tuckey give him a Bath! an old fashion footballing lesson! tuckey finished the first Quarter with 8 grabs and 2 different opponents! Mibus was left hunched over gasping for air! On a number of occasions Tuckey would lead up the ground out to the wing, back to CHF and then another 2 or 3 leads after that! Mibus was no where to be seen, didn't have the motor or the heart to go with tuckey! When Mibus went to CHF he should have went to the bench cos he was worth nothing all day! got a couple of cheap goals but never once got the hard ball! My 3 votes goes to Tuckey! If mibus was to go on and win the B&F it would be a disgrace to the past winners to have him in the same fold as them!
banganmash
3 Sep 2007, 19:49
Yes you are spot on there! went down to watch this so called star in Mibus that everyone reckons is a great chance to win the league B&F and what i saw was Tuckey give him a Bath! an old fashion footballing lesson! tuckey finished the first Quarter with 8 grabs and 2 different opponents! Mibus was left hunched over gasping for air! On a number of occasions Tuckey would lead up the ground out to the wing, back to CHF and then another 2 or 3 leads after that! Mibus was no where to be seen, didn't have the motor or the heart to go with tuckey! When Mibus went to CHF he should have went to the bench cos he was worth nothing all day! got a couple of cheap goals but never once got the hard ball! My 3 votes goes to Tuckey! If mibus was to go on and win the B&F it would be a disgrace to the past winners to have him in the same fold as them!
What a load of shit. For you to say if he wins the medal, would be a disgrace. how can you comment on one game. I was actually in the United rooms before the game and he was instructed that if Tuckey ran past CHF for a lead to just let him go and help out down back. Reason being that it doesn't matter if Tucks takes 200 marks around the centre or centre wing, cos you don't kick goals from there can ya kicka!:thumbsd:
getitindia
3 Sep 2007, 21:23
mibus give him a break didnt c the game but have watched tuckey many times he didnt play AFL for no reason he is good an he will go on to win the metal this year
Sockit151
4 Sep 2007, 09:23
What a load of shit. For you to say if he wins the medal, would be a disgrace. how can you comment on one game. I was actually in the United rooms before the game and he was instructed that if Tuckey ran past CHF for a lead to just let him go and help out down back. Reason being that it doesn't matter if Tucks takes 200 marks around the centre or centre wing, cos you don't kick goals from there can ya kicka!:thumbsd:
Why did he get taken off him then? If he was doing such a good job??
Can Kick A Goal
4 Sep 2007, 10:38
So he was instructed to let the most dangerous player on the field do what ever he wanted out side of the forward 50?! he was ment to go down back and help out yet he was standing on a flank hands on knee's gasping for air cos he had been given the run around and couldn't keep up! Any other excuses you wanna pull out for him? I am sick of people making excuses for Mibus, thats all i heard last year when he didn't get a kick at Donald.
banganmash
4 Sep 2007, 14:08
Why did he get taken off him then? If he was doing such a good job??
Just goes to show how versatile he is. Don't get me wrong, cos i don't think much of him either but has played some great footy this year and gave Tucks a hiding last time dont forget. And by the way Tucks won't will the medal!:cool:
Caught with the ball
4 Sep 2007, 17:03
Just goes to show how versatile he is. Don't get me wrong, cos i don't think much of him either but has played some great footy this year and gave Tucks a hiding last time dont forget. And by the way Tucks won't will the medal!:cool:
Thats because Dean 'tommy' Gunn from the Warrack Eagles will. Had a great year what a superstar!
1st Semi Final is At Stawell and
2nd Semi Final is at Ararart
wonder why Ararat has a 2nd final in a week ?
week after will be interesting where preliminary final will be played at
Time to rise Blues!
5 Sep 2007, 23:54
Maybe Mibus got moved to CHF because Kearney was out with a knee injury! If jake was up and running they would have won the game. United missed him on the weekend!:(
PIEFAN1978
6 Sep 2007, 12:13
1st Semi Final is At Stawell and
2nd Semi Final is at Ararart
wonder why Ararat has a 2nd final in a week ?
week after will be interesting where preliminary final will be played at
Because it has been and still is the best ground in the league lepper!!!
Moonhead
6 Sep 2007, 16:42
Well said Piefan! Word is that if stawell and Horsham play off in the GF Alexandra Oval may be used again. Any thoughts on that Andyt???
Drop_Punt
6 Sep 2007, 16:43
i heard it was meant to be played at st micks but horsham went and had a look at it and said no way jose. esp after the carr weir ordeal.can anyone confirm this?
anyone know when the appeal is and what is an expected outcome?
Drop_Punt
6 Sep 2007, 16:45
Well said Piefan! Word is that if stawell and Horsham play off in the GF Alexandra Oval may be used again. Any thoughts on that Andyt???
my money is if warrak has a rain and the ground is good the GF will be there.
but if it dont rain then ararat is looking more and more likely if it is those two teams in it.
bomber_42
6 Sep 2007, 20:52
i heard it was meant to be played at st micks but horsham went and had a look at it and said no way jose. esp after the carr weir ordeal.can anyone confirm this?
anyone know when the appeal is and what is an expected outcome?
can confirm. the saints spent a fair bit of $$$ in order to try and get their ground up to scratch for a final but after a request from the dees the league decided against it.
also the dimmy united match was first scheduled for murtoa a few weeks ago (except if the burras had have beaten dimmy last weekend) so they also forked out some $$$ only for the league to say the oval was not in good enough nick and the match was moved to stawell.
not many other options for the league at the moment with dimboola's gorund fair from up to scratch and the hardness of the city oval plus two horsham teams still in the finals. the league would probably be saving warrack's oval for one of the prelim or grand finals, it has generally got one of those matches in the past
i heard at umpire training could be at Stawell again
their not oftern Wrong don't know how Ararart Got 2 finals in arow hope next year they plan it better eg Dimboola v Minyip/Murtoa at Nhill why didn't Warracknabeal get the Elimination Final would been more easier for Minyip/Murtoa & Dimboola nothing Wrong With Anzac Park Surface last time i looked. Wimmera Football League should follow other leagues and have the one Venue eg Goulburn Valley who uses Shepparton main ground,
and Horsham being the central Location for the Wimmera
From umpiring at Coughlin Parks not the best ground for finals the way the ground is Especally when it rains north end the Water just lays there be dangerous driving south end when ball get kicked over the fence.
Drop_Punt
7 Sep 2007, 12:14
i heard a report that Carr got off last night and is set to play this w/e. Anyone able to dimiss or confirm what i have heard?
And i cant see any problem with going to warrak for the GF like a couple of years ago, its a good ground and they do a good job of it.
i heard a report that Carr got off last night and is set to play this w/e. Anyone able to dimiss or confirm what i have heard?
And i cant see any problem with going to warrak for the GF like a couple of years ago, its a good ground and they do a good job of it.
what you heard about Carr is Correct he got off someone at training got a sms saying Carr got off so he's free to play this weekend. also Warrack will be after a new Coach for 2008 season as Marc Greig going back to North Ballarat
need a local coach rather then someone who has to travel so far for training and playing
WFL Needs to orgonise Final venues better from next Year
with the pipeline going through hopefully next year WFL wont have to move games
last time i checked ANzac Park looks fine
WFL said if they had a choice city oval and Central Park
if its Horsham V Horsham United, and if its any side it would be at Stawell every time
cheers
McCleanMagic
7 Sep 2007, 13:46
Heard Scott Turner is going to coach ararat next year maybe he could change things around
Rat_attack
7 Sep 2007, 14:09
Heard Scott Turner is going to coach ararat next year maybe he could change things around
And we have all heard this for the last how many years???
Drop_Punt
7 Sep 2007, 14:23
is a horsham v united GF likely to be held at city oval? cant see any reason why not as there is no advantage for either club.
The Big W
7 Sep 2007, 16:26
my money is if warrak has a rain and the ground is good the GF will be there.
but if it dont rain then ararat is looking more and more likely if it is those two teams in it.
Ararat might have the best ground but noone would turn up to waatch the game. They had stawell play who is only just down the road and still struggled to get anyone at the ground. The fact that wimmera hierachy played two finals there in two weeks has nothing to do with the state of the ground but the fact that ararat is threatening to leave the wimmera league and go to ballarat. Nhill had a bigger gate for dimmy vmin/mur and nhills population is less than a 5th of ararat. I say let them go to ballarat if they want. They'll soon come crawling back after they realise they'd get flogged by 50 goals a week rather than 50 points. Ararats facilities are below par and are a disgrace for the size of the town. Dimboola anzac or city will b the gf location.
Stawell looming at the right end of the season tuckey firing, horsham with a few missing. potential stawell diggers final with the absence of carr. Horsham will become very 1 dimensional without him and johns not fit enough tto shoulder all the goalkicking resposibilities.
Would be great for the comp for ararat to go away, invite harrow-balmoral or kalkee to join the wimmera league. Teams that are strong and have a way better supporter base than ararat.
Drop_Punt
7 Sep 2007, 16:56
Stawell looming at the right end of the season tuckey firing, horsham with a few missing. potential stawell diggers final with the absence of carr. Horsham will become very 1 dimensional without him and johns not fit enough tto shoulder all the goalkicking resposibilities.
carr will be playing all finals as he got off at the appeal last night so what your take now?
also who are horsham missing looking at there team in the paper they look to near full strengh?? if not at full strengh
Drop_Punt
7 Sep 2007, 17:02
Rooms are sub standard though. i agree with big w on that one.
Flick Pass
7 Sep 2007, 17:03
Warrack to get the prelim and if hsm demons & united make the granny it will be at the city oval if its hsm and stawell back to warrack if its dimmy similar thing. Ararats ground was a bit hard last saturday will need some water for sunday.
Flick Pass
7 Sep 2007, 18:29
For a Horsham V United Grand Final United would have to improve a heap played ordinary last week. game was pretty average.
Swimming_Turtle
9 Sep 2007, 00:00
Does anyone have an idea at this early stage who the Eagles are chasing for 08? Are they going to encourage past players to return?
Moonhead
9 Sep 2007, 22:51
Does anyone have an idea at this early stage who the Eagles are chasing for 08? Are they going to encourage past players to return?
past players wont help them, Greig leaving the club will leave a huge hole..... Eagles to finish bottom two 2008
Moonhead
9 Sep 2007, 23:11
Ararat might have the best ground but noone would turn up to waatch the game. They had stawell play who is only just down the road and still struggled to get anyone at the ground. The fact that wimmera hierachy played two finals there in two weeks has nothing to do with the state of the ground but the fact that ararat is threatening to leave the wimmera league and go to ballarat. Nhill had a bigger gate for dimmy vmin/mur and nhills population is less than a 5th of ararat. I say let them go to ballarat if they want. They'll soon come crawling back after they realise they'd get flogged by 50 goals a week rather than 50 points. Ararats facilities are below par and are a disgrace for the size of the town. Dimboola anzac or city will b the gf location.
Would be great for the comp for ararat to go away, invite harrow-balmoral or kalkee to join the wimmera league. Teams that are strong and have a way better supporter base than ararat.
Big W Pull your head in, obviously an uneducated statement. Its parasites like you that F@#K this site up by talking utter rubbish instead of having something possitive to say about Wimmera League Football. Wasn't to many years ago Ararat FC were a major Power, and wont be to long before you eat your words BIG W. D!#$@ead.
topgunrat
9 Sep 2007, 23:16
Big W Pull your head in, obviously an uneducated statement. Its parasites like you that F@#K this site up by talking utter rubbish instead of having something possitive to say about Wimmera League Football. Wasn't to many years ago Ararat FC were a major Power, and wont be to long before you eat your words BIG W. D!#$@ead.
Well said MOONHEAD!!! Big W Talk sense if your going to post on this site
Drop_Punt
10 Sep 2007, 17:52
Stawellv's United by 6 goals
HorshamV's United by 10 points
Aarat V's Dimmy? By 10 goals
not sure who the saints play in the under 14's
what does everyone else think??
Footyz Life
10 Sep 2007, 19:25
Stawellv's United by 6 goals
HorshamV's United by 10 points
Aarat V's Dimmy? By 10 goals
not sure who the saints play in the under 14's
what does everyone else think??
Stawell v United, stawell by 3gls
Horsham v United, Hsm by 7pts
Ararat v Dim, Ararat by 7 gls
Saints v Stawell, Stawell by 3pts
The Ferm
10 Sep 2007, 20:43
heart breaking loss to the ararat u/17.. im sure the boys felt the pink of reality after the pumpiing horsham took to them on the w/e..
was anyone there to hear the coach's reactions after the game? do you think it was abit over the top for under 17 footy?
all and all, the grand final will be one to remember in 2007..
Andyt30
10 Sep 2007, 20:46
Warrack to get the prelim and if hsm demons & united make the granny it will be at the city oval if its hsm and stawell back to warrack if its dimmy similar thing. Ararats ground was a bit hard last saturday will need some water for sunday.
North end looks like ya at the beach i heard their going to rip up the whole surface and lay a new surface the surface looked really patchy in places
if Ararat got 2 finals in 2 weeks, hope Stawell wins so Warrack could get The Prelim & The Grand Final
at the ht Break they said they were keep sharing around the venues for finals. never seen a goal area so bad as ararat they wouldn't even the Goal Line after being asked to do so which could cost a side a win .
The Ferm
11 Sep 2007, 21:31
where is the semi and grand finals being played?
PIEFAN1978
12 Sep 2007, 13:14
Well said big Moon you are an absolute knob Big W when the new rooms go up, Ararat will be a be the premier ground and facility to play in Western Victoria, I agree with the rooms not being much chop but the ground is the best in the Wimmera by a street, the rest of the grounds in the league are rubbish and whoever said Anzac Park was good is talking crap, the surface is shit and you couldn't swing a cat in the visitors rooms!! Speaking of town size have a look at the population of Horsham and they can't by water to put on that shit heap, drop off Big W!
Andyt31
12 Sep 2007, 14:41
past players wont help them, Greig leaving the club will leave a huge hole..... Eagles to finish bottom two 2008
I tip the Eagles to finish in the top 5 and Horsham going for their 6th Premiership in arow And Saints to finish last again
Andyt31
12 Sep 2007, 14:44
[quote=Andyt31;8736666]I tip the Eagles to finish in the top 5 and Horsham going for their 6th Premiership in arow And Saints to finish last again last time the Eagles finished bottom winless was 1997 4 years before we merged with Warracknabeal and made the Mallee grand final in 2000
Drop_Punt
12 Sep 2007, 16:03
have heard that the two ward boys, watson and burdett have signed or close to signing with the saints for 08. that would give them a major boost with the few young blokes coming through and zac taggart coming back from a knee reco. if they are going back you would think that they would attract a few others to the club.
anyone one else heard this or any thoughts on it?
Andyt31
12 Sep 2007, 22:17
Well said big Moon you are an absolute knob Big W when the new rooms go up, Ararat will be a be the premier ground and facility to play in Western Victoria, I agree with the rooms not being much chop but the ground is the best in the Wimmera by a street, the rest of the grounds in the league are rubbish and whoever said Anzac Park was good is talking crap, the surface is shit and you couldn't swing a cat in the visitors rooms!! Speaking of town size have a look at the population of Horsham and they can't by water to put on that shit heap, drop off Big W!
have ya seen Alexander oval did someone dump a load of sand down the north end goal square? looks like a beach with out Water also the ground is very Patchy
least Anzac park dosn't look like a beach with sand
prepare for stawell to beat united and play the granny at Anzac Park :)
heart breaking loss to the ararat u/17.. im sure the boys felt the pink of reality after the pumpiing horsham took to them on the w/e..
was anyone there to hear the coach's reactions after the game? do you think it was abit over the top for under 17 footy?
all and all, the grand final will be one to remember in 2007..
Couldnt make it to the game. It would have hurt the boys but they will bounce back. What did the coach have to say that was so bad for under 17,s.
Moonhead
14 Sep 2007, 10:49
have ya seen Alexander oval did someone dump a load of sand down the north end goal square? looks like a beach with out Water also the ground is very Patchy
least Anzac park dosn't look like a beach with sand
prepare for stawell to beat united and play the granny at Anzac Park :)
Andyt obviously you don't play the game and are one of these puppets who have very little knowledge, if all you can do is bag grounds when we are in one of our worst droughts in history then please talk your rubbish somewhere else. Be thankfull we have grounds to play on at all, Im sure if you speak to players who actually run around on these grounds you won't hear to many complaints about Ararats ground even considering it gets trained on 4 nights a week and played on every week.
PIEFAN1978
14 Sep 2007, 13:33
Andyt obviously you don't play the game and are one of these puppets who have very little knowledge, if all you can do is bag grounds when we are in one of our worst droughts in history then please talk your rubbish somewhere else. Be thankfull we have grounds to play on at all, Im sure if you speak to players who actually run around on these grounds you won't hear to many complaints about Ararats ground even considering it gets trained on 4 nights a week and played on every week.
Can't believe I got yellow card for calling someone a knob head and telling him to drop off!!!!
The Ferm
14 Sep 2007, 17:52
Couldnt make it to the game. It would have hurt the boys but they will bounce back. What did the coach have to say that was so bad for under 17,s.
the coach pretty much went nuts at the team for not listening to him, playing their own game, dissrespecting him..
hard for a young team to left when the coach is frequently looking for the negatives and not the posiatives.. yes i do admit they boys played the worsed game of their season but clearly there should have been some positives out of the game he could have delivered!
topgunrat
14 Sep 2007, 23:17
Why do they always have to bag Ararat the ground is in very good nic. Could be a bit better but still the best in the wimmera.
wallyon
15 Sep 2007, 10:54
have heard that the two ward boys, watson and burdett have signed or close to signing with the saints for 08. that would give them a major boost with the few young blokes coming through and zac taggart coming back from a knee reco. if they are going back you would think that they would attract a few others to the club.
anyone one else heard this or any thoughts on it?
Think you'l find clint curdett is extremely happy at pimp and is staying there, dont know about the others but doubt the saints could match the southern roos coin.
Andyt31
15 Sep 2007, 21:42
Why do they always have to bag Ararat the ground is in very good nic. Could be a bit better but still the best in the wimmera.
Horsham would have to be the best at the moment horsham lucky so far with the state of the ground not having to move games on 3wm they said if we don't get Rain soon before 2008 season trhe ground may no be playable
could have similar problems in 2008 if we have repeat of this year
likes Of Kalkee and Natimuk lost their preliminary final to City Oval
Ararat should be happy to get 2 Finals in 2 weeks
I'm tipping stawell just 20 pts
Andyt31
16 Sep 2007, 19:13
Seniors
Stawell 8:12 60 d Horsham Diggers 4.8 32
Res
Horhsam Demons 9 .9 63 lt Horsham unitrdd 10.11 71
in extra time after the scores were locks in as 8.9 each at th e end of regular time the ball was in the air when the siren went .
U17's Ararat 22.12 144 d Dimboola 4.7 31
u14's Saints 5.10 40 d Stawell 1.5 11
in the Seniors no goals were kicked west end towards Scott St only 3 pts
Gate at Anzac Park $9800
next Week Grand Final At Anzac Park
Seniors: Horsham v Stawell
Reserves Stawell V Horsham United
Under 17 Horsham v Ararat
Under 14's Ararat v Horsham Saints
had nice bit of Rain during the Seniors
and very windy .
Breaking News!!
Saxton Rural Supplies now have a sponser a footballer program due to a crayfish ban on a local member the dimboola football club can no longer pay there players. for the last three years its believed dimboola have found a 'money tree' its rumoured that 3 clubs close to dimboola being nhill jeparit-rainbow and warrack have been searching for this money tree when 2pm yesterday arvo a young nhill man found it during a working bee. He commented 'the tree is dead, dried up, there is nothing left of it' could this be the end of Dimboola???
Any early news on departures or possible signings in the WFL in '08'???
I tip the Eagles to finish in the top 5 and Horsham going for their 6th Premiership in arow And Saints to finish last again
Bit early for a statement like that anydyt horsham havnt even one there 5th in a row yet. Find it hard to see stawell beating them this week tho. Horsham will not be as strong next year tho thats my early tip.
Been floating around on other leagues pages with some people keen to make a team of the year. Anyone got an ideas for '07' in the wimmera
Andyt31
17 Sep 2007, 19:01
Bit early for a statement like that anydyt horsham havnt even one there 5th in a row yet. Find it hard to see stawell beating them this week tho. Horsham will not be as strong next year tho thats my early tip.
Stawell the only side to beat horsham once and fell 6 pts short in the Second Semi.
and Warrack had their chance to knock off Horsham at Brim big turn around from the 101 pt flogging from Horsham Rd 3 to just losing by 33 pts even getting to 1 goal behind a big turn around
i was barracking for Stawell to beat United :)
the only one sided game yesterday was the under 17's ararat managed to kick 20 + goals more then the other grades could manage.
Seniors no goals were kicked towards Scott St end
other grades could kick goals but Seniors couldn't
not even when the sun came out after ht.
its good that sides are Pushing Horsham all the way
especally 2nd half of the year.
Andyt31
17 Sep 2007, 23:05
i caught the last 3 rounds of the Wimmera medal Count on 3wm
and they had a tie Peter McFarlane of Dimboola & Brent Tucky of Stawell finished on 18 votes each
and John Kosch From Minyip/Murtoa Runners Up
Rookie under 21 player 3 way tie is Aaron Barnett (Horsham), Tyran Bell(United) Danny Krahe(Warrack Eagles)
cheers
babba80
19 Sep 2007, 14:29
i caught the last 3 rounds of the Wimmera medal Count on 3wm
and they had a tie Peter McFarlane of Dimboola & Brent Tucky of Stawell finished on 18 votes each
and John Kosch From Minyip/Murtoa Runners Up
Rookie under 21 player 3 way tie is Aaron Barnett (Horsham), Tyran Bell(United) Danny Krahe(Warrack Eagles)
cheers
both deserving winners as they are by far the best 2 players in the league,lets see if tuckey can lead stawell and knock off those arrogant mob from horsham lets hope so.as for the GF at WARRACK thats a shame it will porbalbly cost the gate 10 K -should have been at horsham city they are the minor premieres thay had it there 2 years ago.if not play it at ararat it is by far the best park for players and supporters.rooms probslbly cost the ground from hosting an afl pre season game in 2008.
topgunrat
20 Sep 2007, 02:45
both deserving winners as they are by far the best 2 players in the league,lets see if tuckey can lead stawell and knock off those arrogant mob from horsham lets hope so.as for the GF at WARRACK thats a shame it will porbalbly cost the gate 10 K -should have been at horsham city they are the minor premieres thay had it there 2 years ago.if not play it at ararat it is by far the best park for players and supporters.rooms probslbly cost the ground from hosting an afl pre season game in 2008.
babba great post agree with every thing you say. Just wish the fools at the ararat city council would put some money towards a new set of change rooms insted of spending milions of rate payers money on a chinees white elephant. The ground then could get grade cricket games and vfl games as well. All of the things bring people to the town and this bringing outs side money into the town. That ground is a great aset to the town endless water all year round.
banganmash
20 Sep 2007, 20:12
On a serious note. News on the grape vine is that the Ararat Gason Rats held the "It take two" charity ball at the weekend, which was hosted by Mr Money (Murray Jensen). Murray said that he would save the best for last, which murray was too close the night with a song of his own. I heard that the night was a great success until the end of the night when Mr Money was escorted into the back of a divvy van by police. People were walking around astonnished, and could not believe at what was taking place. Police later revealed that Murray was on a Murder charge. A man from the crowd yelled out " what murder, who is dead " the police replied, " Murray murded that song!!!!:p:eek:
wallyon
20 Sep 2007, 21:00
have heard that after saturdays granny horsham could lose a few. Farr is heading off , running out of work in horsham and hid pub ban hasn/t helped, terry arnel is considering going back to birchip, johnsy is set to retire after coming very close this year and batchelor is going to coach minyip/murtoa. On the bright side skurrie is set to return.
Time to rise Blues!
20 Sep 2007, 21:56
have heard that after saturdays granny horsham could lose a few. Farr is heading off , running out of work in horsham and hid pub ban hasn/t helped, terry arnel is considering going back to birchip, johnsy is set to retire after coming very close this year and batchelor is going to coach minyip/murtoa. On the bright side skurrie is set to return.
I heard Batch promised Min/murtoa a year before he retires. He was close to going there this year!
roaring tiger
21 Sep 2007, 12:17
Bunworth to coach Laharum Next Year?? Its about time the demons got rid of farr. Is a good player but his actions off the field would have to be pissing off the horsham heirachy.
I also hear 1 of Dimboola's high profile recruits this year is in a spot of bother with the law over an incident a week or 2 ago.
There was talk around Nhill that former carlton rookie Daniel Batson would play in 2008 but these rumours have been quashed. I would expect Nhill to be going all out to get the 5 or 6 players they require to be a contender next year.
Will be interesting to see what watson and the 2 ward boys announce tonight at the harrow B and F count. it said in the mail times today that they will announce where they are playing next year.
Grand final tip: Stawell to win a close grand final by 5 points to end horshams reign. Tuckey to be best on by a mile. If horsham win Johns would have to kick close to 10 for the match.
Sockit151
21 Sep 2007, 12:29
Good luck to the "redlegs".. Would be good to see the Horsham run come to an end.
Andyt31
22 Sep 2007, 20:00
Horsham DEF STAWELL
Qt 7 . 3 = 45 - 5 . 2 = 32
HT 12 . 5 =77 _ 10 . 7 = 67
3Qt 16 . 9 = 105 _ 11 . 10 =76
4th 20 . 13 = 133 _ 13 . 12 = 90
David Johns 9
Gate beats Distict League by 5,000 (30,000)
and Anzac Park had $35,000
should be being a very nice day not a cloud in the Sky
Reserves won by Stawell
stawell 12 . 17 = 89 d H-United 10 . 5 = 65
Under 17's won by Ararat
Ararat 13 . 4 = 82 d Horsham Demons 8 . 12 = 60
biggest upset of the year
Horsham saints 5 . 12 = 42 def Ararat 6 . 4 = 40
After Ararat being undefeated all year
a 50 metre Penalty cost Ararat the Game
you could HArdly move with so many there .
The Ferm
23 Sep 2007, 11:09
congrats to all the winning teams on the weekend.. some fantastic, exciting footyball was played and was top quality.
there is one person i specially would like to congradulate and that was the coach of the ararat thirds who has coped some flat the last few weeks by alot of people including myself, but it is diffeniently clear that this man has the respect of ararat and the exspecially the boys who he coached.
good on him for standing up and delivering.