View Full Version : Wimmera Football League
macedonian marvl
10 Dec 2007, 23:53
ah kakkapo it has everything to do with wimmera league as brearley is an ex nhill boy and wouldve probly taken the coaching job if he knew davidson was resigning
I can tell you for sure that brearley would never have taken the coaching job at nhill. he has 1 year left at uni and was always going to play in ballarat with his uni mates. as its turned out, that is at dunnstown where there are about 6 guys from his course. apparently he had met with davinson and another committee member and was very impressed by davinson but was tired of travelling. who knows what could happen when he finishes uni next year tho.
Horsham - Stuart Farr
Stawell - Dale Power
Horsham United - Guy Smith
Dimboola - Matt Everitt
Minyip-Murtoa - Craig Wilson
Nhill - TBA
Warracknabeal - Harvey Lang
Ararat - Scott Turner
St Michaels - B Broadbent
I think these are close to the mark Ringo.
Thanks roaring tiger-did Lang ever coch Leeton in the riverina league??
roaring tiger
13 Dec 2007, 13:12
Thanks roaring tiger-did Lang ever coch Leeton in the riverina league??
I don't think so ringo. Orginally from Finely in the MFL. Has coached a lot of clubs in the wimmera area as well as the wimmer interleague team.
roaring tiger
13 Dec 2007, 13:14
Perhaps you would like to return and become coach roaring tiger?
Maybe 1day tige
jenkalenko45
13 Dec 2007, 15:46
how does everyone think ben scott will go a gun in the hdfl will he be in the top 5 wfl players or will he struggle a bit
macedonian marvl
13 Dec 2007, 15:49
Maybe 1day tige
I hear that 2009 is going to be the year of the tiger. apparently wayne schultz has indicated he is keen to return after 1 more year in the VFL. brearley finishes uni at te end of the year as well. if they could grab those two it would go a long way towards signing the bloke around their age (fritsch, bones, walters, meyer etc.) Might make the tigers competetors if that happens. wat do you think roaring??
Rocky Hutchison
13 Dec 2007, 17:09
Im sure alot will depend where Brearley goes for work. Im sure hed love to head Horsham way, or maybe even stay in the cold town of Ballarat where all the action is... :eek: :eek:
babba80
14 Dec 2007, 06:54
how does everyone think ben scott will go a gun in the hdfl will he be in the top 5 wfl players or will he struggle a bit
I wouldnt think he would be in the top 15 or so however can play and will go pretty good for stawell.
Was he a gun in the HDFL i didnt think he had won the medal...
ClarkeM
14 Dec 2007, 08:37
Will scott davidson come back this year?
The mighty tiger
14 Dec 2007, 11:59
Will scott davidson come back this year?
wat come back and play for united in under 17s and get tanned
ClarkeM
14 Dec 2007, 13:16
racist
Leather Magnet
14 Dec 2007, 14:07
Twit
Swimming_Turtle
16 Dec 2007, 13:47
Horsham - Stuart Farr
Stawell - Dale Power
Horsham United - Guy Smith
Dimboola - Matt Everitt
Minyip-Murtoa - Craig Wilson
Nhill - TBA
Warracknabeal - Harvey Lang
Ararat - Scott Turner
St Michaels - B Broadbent
I think these are close to the mark Ringo.
Will H. Lang have any pulling power to get some decent recruits to the Eagles?
How can a dirty rotten TAMP as HARVEY LANG who defiantly CHEATED in the grand final of the U/14 have any pulling power.
Seriously any RESPECT OR OPINIONS i had of him had changed since he cheated and lied ...
it maybe an U/14 GF but it shows his true colours what he is and for warrack eagles to sign him as coach,the committee of warrack must be on some serious mushy,s
Twit
After my last little birst i would like to say i will be resighning from this website as from now.I know i deserve some abuse and other shit but overall i have enjoyed posting on bigfooty and i hope HORSHAM will be beaten in 2008 however they have been the benchmark over the past 5 years and they deserve every bit of praise they get.
I do hope that the standard of football does pick up in the wimmera as there is a huge gap between the top 2,3 to the rest and im talking 100pts plus the difference.
If you say that money can buys you flags,think of this dimboola spent $115000 in 2006 and lost the GF by 6 goals,In 2007 Stawell had spent over 70000 plus to go from 8th to 2nd an lose buy the same margin ,but i think tuckey is worth every cent as he draws the crowd,so i am willing to say that this eRA .horsham is the GREATEST OF ALL TEAMS IN THE HISTORY OF THE WIMMERA.you can debate this but they have won 5 in a row,and there side would have beaten any side over the past 20 years.
On closing i would like to pay tribute to the leagues finest players that i have played with,against and watched.Players like the following make people come and watch the game and support ther respecful clubs.
david johns,peter mcfarlane,brent tuckey,mark greig,dale bligh,mal adams,ashley clugston,matt jackson,paul addlington and liam offer who i think will win a tooheys in the near future...
MERRY XMAS EVERY ONE AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR.
BETON5 SIGNING OFF......
P.S EVERYONE IS ENTITLED TO THERE OWN OPINION..
ClarkeM
16 Dec 2007, 21:21
Cheers Beton5. Cya
roaringRAT
17 Dec 2007, 17:39
Well said Beton5...good effort!!
Horsham have won the last 5 flags in the Wimmera league which is great but against what kind of opposition???
The current Horsham sides especially the last two years would have got towled by Wimmera League teams from the not so recent past. Horsham teams of the early 80's under Peter Light and Dicky Morrison were way better than Farrs little boys. Stawell of 1987 and 1995 would have seen the current Horsham team losing flags. United teams from the late 80's and mid 90's, Ararat teams from the late 90's Dimboola teams from the mid 80's .... all these teams would have swept current Horsham teams under the carpet no worries. Take out about 3 players especially Johns and Horsham are on a par with the rest, problem is the rest cant match up against key positions properly. Johns would not have had it so easy had he been playing senior Wimmera League footy 10-15 years ago. Look at all the Horsham games they win. When he dominates they do well and the only real backman who could match up properly is his teammate-Arnel!!
If district league teams from Horsham District & Miniera stopped throwing farming dollars at blokes who should be playing the highest standard then you would find WFL would get back to some all round competitive strength. Take note Harrow Balmoral/Tatyoon/Kalkee to name just a few who should give up some class footballers and let them prove themselves at the highest standard.
Wedderburner
18 Dec 2007, 19:21
So you expect sides like Harrow, Kalkee, etc etc NOT to strive to get the best result (during the off season) BECAUSE they are a District/Minor league?
Alot to learn!
Take a look at the CHFL teams for instance. The likes of Waubra and Daylesford would absolutely cream many Major league sides!
twinkle toes
19 Dec 2007, 13:25
Horsham have won the last 5 flags in the Wimmera league which is great but against what kind of opposition???
The current Horsham sides especially the last two years would have got towled by Wimmera League teams from the not so recent past. Horsham teams of the early 80's under Peter Light and Dicky Morrison were way better than Farrs little boys. Stawell of 1987 and 1995 would have seen the current Horsham team losing flags. United teams from the late 80's and mid 90's, Ararat teams from the late 90's Dimboola teams from the mid 80's .... all these teams would have swept current Horsham teams under the carpet no worries. Take out about 3 players especially Johns and Horsham are on a par with the rest, problem is the rest cant match up against key positions properly. Johns would not have had it so easy had he been playing senior Wimmera League footy 10-15 years ago. Look at all the Horsham games they win. When he dominates they do well and the only real backman who could match up properly is his teammate-Arnel!!
If district league teams from Horsham District & Miniera stopped throwing farming dollars at blokes who should be playing the highest standard then you would find WFL would get back to some all round competitive strength. Take note Harrow Balmoral/Tatyoon/Kalkee to name just a few who should give up some class footballers and let them prove themselves at the highest standard.
The burra's of the mid to late 90's would also have beaten them i think, hotker, funcke, carter, petering, paul baker etc the list goes on for them
CornyCollins
20 Dec 2007, 07:05
Not always all about the money, a fair few teams in the ammos would smash all Wimmera League Teams (and even give Horsham a bit of a touch up). There they play because they want to play at a high standard and with their mates and don't receive one red cent. Clubs need to encourage that rather than going out and chasing the big names for the big bucks and associating the biggest recruiting coups with the best prospects for the season.
Time to rise Blues!
20 Dec 2007, 14:13
Unfortunately Corny it is all about thew money these days as loyalty has long gone out the window. I have nearly racked up 200 games and have never asked for one single dollar! I think it sucks that footballers chase the $$$$$. But, hey, thats footy nowdays and we have to put up with it!
wallyon
20 Dec 2007, 17:01
Seems harvey lang has attracted one recruit already! Shannon Argall , key position player from united , pretty raw but will develop into a ripper.
Moonhead
20 Dec 2007, 23:22
Not always all about the money, a fair few teams in the ammos would smash all Wimmera League Teams (and even give Horsham a bit of a touch up). There they play because they want to play at a high standard and with their mates and don't receive one red cent. Clubs need to encourage that rather than going out and chasing the big names for the big bucks and associating the biggest recruiting coups with the best prospects for the season.
Mate don't talk the ammatures up against Wimmera league, Ammature Football have the luxury of a huge poulation in which to draw footballers from.
McCleanMagic
21 Dec 2007, 08:17
Doug Walton is heading out to Tatyoon to coach again in 08. Maybe bring some of his team from the rats last year?
BIGHAWK30
21 Dec 2007, 08:58
Must agree Langs nothin but a DOG!!!!! There was nothin better than runnin through him on the footy field and smashing up that shoulder!!
Andyt31
21 Dec 2007, 09:49
Warrack Have Picked up 2 Todd George son of Wayne George Of Beulah odd who been playing with beulah for many years
and also Heath son of Wendy Schultz Of Warracknabeal and the Late Rob.
roaringRAT
22 Dec 2007, 12:42
Doug Walton is heading out to Tatyoon to coach again in 08. Maybe bring some of his team from the rats last year?
Have u heard of any names yet...?
roaring tiger
22 Dec 2007, 14:44
Maybe 1day tige
I hear that 2009 is going to be the year of the tiger. apparently wayne schultz has indicated he is keen to return after 1 more year in the VFL. brearley finishes uni at te end of the year as well. if they could grab those two it would go a long way towards signing the bloke around their age (fritsch, bones, walters, meyer etc.) Might make the tigers competetors if that happens. wat do you think roaring??
I heard the same rumour about schultz and brealry at nhill in 09 about 4 weeks ago. I also hear schulzt is trying out with the coll'wood two's side. If nhill could keep what they have and get all these players along with a good full forward and ruckman daniel batson home from sanfl i think the would go close to sercuring there first flag since 81.
Moonhead
23 Dec 2007, 01:57
I heard the same rumour about schultz and brealry at nhill in 09 about 4 weeks ago. I also hear schulzt is trying out with the coll'wood two's side. If nhill could keep what they have and get all these players along with a good full forward and ruckman daniel batson home from sanfl i think the would go close to sercuring there first flag since 81.[/quote]
Roaring Tiger its great to speculate about 2009 but we still have 2008 to play yet, Good to see you Nhill guys living the dream and talking your hopes up for two years time but reality is that with even those signings Nhill FC would be still way off the mark battling to play finals.... great club but sadly lacking quality players.....
The mighty tiger
24 Dec 2007, 13:10
Roaring Tiger its great to speculate about 2009 but we still have 2008 to play yet, Good to see you Nhill guys living the dream and talking your hopes up for two years time but reality is that with even those signings Nhill FC would be still way off the mark battling to play finals.... great club but sadly lacking quality players.....[/quote]
i think hes sayin how great the tiges are goin to be in 2009 because 2008 atm isnt looking very good as the club doesnt have a coach yet and havent signed any big recruits yet
Swimming_Turtle
25 Dec 2007, 11:52
Warrack Have Picked up 2 Todd George son of Wayne George Of Beulah odd who been playing with beulah for many years
Andy where did you get this information from? Has it been confirmed in any local papers? Or are you getting this from the club itself?
macedonian marvl
27 Dec 2007, 00:44
Seems harvey lang has attracted one recruit already! Shannon Argall , key position player from united , pretty raw but will develop into a ripper.
Interesting you say that because i know for a fact that big shan argall has been sighted at training with dunnstown and had indicated some interest to play there along side his uni mates sidebottom, brearley, sawyers etc. perhaps harveys powers on convincing have swayed him though.
rocket17
28 Dec 2007, 10:29
Interesting you say that because i know for a fact that big shan argall has been sighted at training with dunnstown and had indicated some interest to play there along side his uni mates sidebottom, brearley, sawyers etc. perhaps harveys powers on convincing have swayed him though.
argall will be stayin at united
Andyt31
28 Dec 2007, 21:21
Andy where did you get this information from? Has it been confirmed in any local papers? Or are you getting this from the club itself?
It was in the Warrack Herald back page
with David Stewart and the New Coach
was in same article i meant to say i read it from the
Warrack Herald, i use to go down to trainign alot pre merger days but mostly read the Paper
and going to Practice Matches ya usally know whos new and who isnt from the previous year.
Andyt31
28 Dec 2007, 21:27
Did anyone see the 2008 Wimmera draw was in Mondays mail times
Rd 1
Stawell v Warrack Eagles
Nhill V Horsham United
Horsham v Ararat
Horsham Saints v Minyip/Murtoa
Dimbooa Bye
Horsham has to Wait til Rd 9 the last Rd of the first Half
thats a bit late to unfurl the flag ;)
its usally either rd 1 or 2 not halfway through the season ;)
thegame
31 Dec 2007, 17:37
Any chance of Dimboola getting Harold Calma and Brad Stephensen this year seeing that they stayed home in Darwin last year?
Have they picked up anyone yet?
loveakick
6 Jan 2008, 18:23
Can anyone tell me when and where Warrack start up pre season this year. Looking to come down for a run?
zimasquize
6 Jan 2008, 21:40
Warrack start jan 21st they will have a great pre season behind them at the start of the year there new coach is a personal trainer. there training wil be at anzac park
smasher316
7 Jan 2008, 19:44
Stawell seem to be the team to beat in 2008 with alot of handy pick ups. Horsham have been very quite on the recruiting side of things and will need to pick up a few players to challenge stawell. Any Sugestions this could be completly wrong, open for critisism and a dictionary to learn how to spell that word.
dunkarob
8 Jan 2008, 06:24
Hope heath can play. have heard that george is a bit slow and hammys are worse than his old mans, might go well in the two's though....:p
footyisthelife
8 Jan 2008, 14:57
Stawell seem to be the team to beat in 2008 with alot of handy pick ups. Horsham have been very quite on the recruiting side of things and will need to pick up a few players to challenge stawell. Any Sugestions this could be completly wrong, open for critisism and a dictionary to learn how to spell that word.
who have Stawell picked up and what sort of players are they? quality and position wise?
switch the play
10 Jan 2008, 13:26
Did a Nick Hallam play in this league last year?If so some info on him would be appreciated?:thumbsu:
loveakick
14 Jan 2008, 16:53
can anyone give me a description on luke abrahams from stawell. size, quality etc...
jenkalenko45
15 Jan 2008, 11:09
can anyone give me a description on luke abrahams from stawell. size, quality etc...
Abraham is about 6" very solid and a gun, injury cost himself and stawell this year and will definitly be good for between 60 to 100 every season bar injury. any club would be stupid if they didn't chase him!!!
Footyz Life
15 Jan 2008, 19:27
United losing Mal adams and jye smith to Laharum, signed sealed and also tim friend big chance of going aswell. Just to add about luke abraham, he is certainly worth getting he is a definite gun.
wallyon
15 Jan 2008, 19:40
United losing Mal adams and jye smith to Laharum, signed sealed and also tim friend big chance of going aswell. Just to add about luke abraham, he is certainly worth getting he is a definite gun.
With the departures from united is it becoz of the new coach?? Also can anyone confirm brad millers plans this year.
Sad to see two quality footballers going out to the district league once again. Can understand mal's reasoning. But thought Jye may have wanted to play the best football possible in the area at least while he is still young. Hope he dosnt regret this decision.
Laharum are throwing the big dollars around to try and buy a premiership. That is the problem with the District League too much money which sees quality footballers playing second rate standard on cow paddocks!
Jye Smith orumored to be offered about $8-10k and Mal Adams more. Smith was playing for the love of it at United but just could not say no to the coin. No way United could match it. Adams has been loyal and looking for an easier road into retirement. Tim Friend has family connections out at the mount so he may go out. A few Noradjuha Quantong boys following Guy Smith to United such as Marcus Anson and Aaron Emmerson and maybe Shane Oakley. Good to see some quality coming into the Wimmera League. Guy Smith will be pulling on the boots also. Horsham Saints struggling with a number of Junior players wanting out. Ararat would love that one! Keep on eye on the Warrack Eagles runner this year just in case. Harrow Balmoral Kalkee and Laharum will be vying for the district league flag this year. Natimuk & Taylors Lake for the spoon. Stawell will win the Wimmera League with Saints & Nhill for the spoon.
zimasquize
16 Jan 2008, 18:03
what do mean about the warrack eagles runner
rocket17
17 Jan 2008, 15:31
yeah fair enogh they offered them coin they have to do something to get other than ********s playin for them , but y would u want to play for laharum ? sorry but seen a few of there home games and very ordinary the way the supporters swear at anything and everything (the womenare the worst) but i spsoe a young bloke gettin offered that much its ahrd to refuse
Footyz Life
17 Jan 2008, 16:20
Laharum are throwing the big dollars around to try and buy a premiership. That is the problem with the District League too much money which sees quality footballers playing second rate standard on cow paddocks!
Jye Smith orumored to be offered about $8-10k and Mal Adams more. Smith was playing for the love of it at United but just could not say no to the coin. No way United could match it. Adams has been loyal and looking for an easier road into retirement. Tim Friend has family connections out at the mount so he may go out. A few Noradjuha Quantong boys following Guy Smith to United such as Marcus Anson and Aaron Emmerson and maybe Shane Oakley. Good to see some quality coming into the Wimmera League. Guy Smith will be pulling on the boots also. Horsham Saints struggling with a number of Junior players wanting out. Ararat would love that one! Keep on eye on the Warrack Eagles runner this year just in case. Harrow Balmoral Kalkee and Laharum will be vying for the district league flag this year. Natimuk & Taylors Lake for the spoon. Stawell will win the Wimmera League with Saints & Nhill for the spoon.
Better check ya mail there Nardoo, Jye smith was a paid player at united and marcus Muddy anson has signed with horsham who have a few more in the pipeline from reports.
ClarkeM
17 Jan 2008, 16:28
Anyone know when the United is next training?
Better check ya mail there Nardoo, Jye smith was a paid player at united and marcus Muddy anson has signed with horsham who have a few more in the pipeline from reports.
Not half the coin laharum would have thrown at him tho!
dunkarob
19 Jan 2008, 21:02
Is there any truth that the great clicka clarke is following his lover toddy to brim south this year (warrack sorry).:)
Warrack Eagles
20 Jan 2008, 18:10
Not happening mate!
dunkarob
20 Jan 2008, 20:48
Not happening mate!
well at least clarke will be playing a better level by staying in the mallee, george should be able to handle the drop in level to the wimmera from the mallee.
Leather Magnet
21 Jan 2008, 09:10
well at least clarke will be playing a better level by staying in the mallee, george should be able to handle the drop in level to the wimmera from the mallee.
Oh, what's the matter dunky? No water in your area so ya have to go fishing on the BF boards?
Need to be more subtle than that.
Good One! And Clarke can check the rabbit traps in the forward pocket when the balls not down his end
smasher316
21 Jan 2008, 16:57
Who are these players. Quailty or wat? have heard they are chassing a few duds.
Footyz Life
21 Jan 2008, 19:04
Who are these players. Quailty or wat? have heard they are chassing a few duds.
Have u had a call smasher? good to see the spelling is on track.:D Muddy anson has won a few b and f`s at norad/quanny and has a league medal to i think, if not he was r/up. The same as recruiting anyone u only will know when they hit the park how they go but at least his steppin up to have a crack.
dunkarob
21 Jan 2008, 19:53
Oh, what's the matter dunky? No water in your area so ya have to go fishing on the BF boards?
Need to be more subtle than that.
seems i caught a couple floating down stream tonight. possibly all carp though, only suckers.
wallyon
21 Jan 2008, 20:23
United Departures
-mal adams
-jye smith
-tim friend
-brad miller
-andrew carter
-tyran bell
-liam offer
Wonder if they put a double page spread in the paper again and whinge. Especially with more to leave!!
zimasquize
22 Jan 2008, 07:03
warrack eagles have picked up a few players this year fairly big turnout at training lincoln peters and heath schults r both returning to play. Todd george from buelah and andrew bell who played in geelong last year but used to play for narage/quanny.Aparently some big names in the pipeline but who knows. does any one know if dimmy are retaining most of there quality players from the past few years
Time to rise Blues!
22 Jan 2008, 18:31
United Departures
-mal adams
-jye smith
-tim friend
-brad miller
-andrew carter
-tyran bell
-liam offer
Wonder if they put a double page spread in the paper again and whinge. Especially with more to leave!!
Where has Carter and Offer gone too?
United Departures
-mal adams
-jye smith
-tim friend
-brad miller
-andrew carter
-tyran bell
-liam offer
Where is young tyran Bell going??? And Liam offer?? Or is this just rumour!
napoleon
23 Jan 2008, 07:31
Just wondering how two players from Warrack Eagles go? Scott Adams and a bloke Germano.
wallyon
23 Jan 2008, 15:34
Where is young tyran Bell going??? And Liam offer?? Or is this just rumour!
Young bell is playing in melbourne and liam offer is playing in ballarat.
Feel sorry for the blokes like bill lovel at United. They do a top job to keep the diggers up and running with a tiny supporter base and yet the players go through the club like a revolving door must make it hard for them and also be disheartening.
Navy2005
23 Jan 2008, 16:14
Has Nhill FC got a coach yet?
dunkarob
23 Jan 2008, 20:36
brim south started training on monday, apparently todd george not seen for two days afterwards, still stuck in pie stand probably, go eagles:p
Third Man Up
23 Jan 2008, 21:58
Read in the Mail-Times where the WFL has finally got up the guts to employ a full time administrator.
Any ideas on who would best fill the role? Steve McQueen from the HDFL? Tony Dark from Stawell Warriors?
Has Nhill FC got a coach yet?
Heard a rumour they are likely to sign a non-playing local buisnessman with major football creditials.
He puts a hell of a lot into the club and the league. And will definatly carry on well from Gary Davidson, i would still say they will struggle due to the lateness of the appointment an they will loose a few but i think the club will still go forward and slowly build.
Young bell is playing in melbourne and liam offer is playing in ballarat.
Feel sorry for the blokes like bill lovel at United. They do a top job to keep the diggers up and running with a tiny supporter base and yet the players go through the club like a revolving door must make it hard for them and also be disheartening.
You dont happen to know the club Offer is playing for by any chance?
Heard on the grapevine that Germano will be playing football in Ballarat this year as he is working there
Talent Spotter
24 Jan 2008, 11:00
Read in the Mail-Times where the WFL has finally got up the guts to employ a full time administrator.
Any ideas on who would best fill the role? Steve McQueen from the HDFL? Tony Dark from Stawell Warriors?
Has to be big, bad Barry McTaggart doesn't it. He knows where all the bodies are buried. An awesome administrator.
zimasquize
24 Jan 2008, 19:20
germanano was going to play in ballarat but now two of his good mates Andrew Bell and Lincoln Peters are coming back from geelong he is going to travel back as well
roaring tiger
24 Jan 2008, 19:40
Heard a rumour they are likely to sign a non-playing local buisnessman with major football creditials.
He puts a hell of a lot into the club and the league. And will definatly carry on well from Gary Davidson, i would still say they will struggle due to the lateness of the appointment an they will loose a few but i think the club will still go forward and slowly build.
The local business man wouldn't be Gary Driscoll would it animal?
number5
25 Jan 2008, 10:02
The local business man wouldn't be Gary Driscoll would it animal?
That was my initial thought too RT. If that is the case, how would you see the tigers season going? Gary has done a lot for the club and league, but with his business commitments, would he have enough time to put 100% into the job? I vividly remember, as i'm sure you do, the controversy that surrounded Stephen Bell when his business priorities started hampering his commitment to his coaching roleat Nhill
Warrack Eagles runner will be taking mesages from the coach who was the Saints U14 runner in the 07 GF (excpet when he told the Ump he was the runner from Ararat) so yes keep on eye on the running at Warrack. Tyran Bell and Liam Offer have not left Diggers for no reason - they are going to University and the Wimmera does not have one! Becuase if they did then they would definently be staying at United. Diggers pulled off a recruiting coup from Saints who spat it. Too bad for the Alter Boys but if you backstab good people and future stars and mess about in your little clicky groups then it is maybe back to the district league for the brotherhood sorry no wins this year again Sainters!!
Navarre keen to get in to the Horsham District League to save them trips to the other side of the state to play unknows like Rokewood. Who thought up that league? No one from Navarre has anything to do with the south side of Beaufort!
Keep on eye on at least three U17 Diggers players who will have major impacts on Wimmera Leage this year.
Natimuk need to merge with Noradjuha and Quantong to form the Arapiles Eagles. They should have gone with Goroke but missed a good chance there. Cellar dwellers again you cant keep topping up the teams with Horshams juniors who get shfted at Demon land and German rock spiders.
The mighty tiger
26 Jan 2008, 21:23
Warrack Eagles runner will be taking mesages from the coach who was the Saints U14 runner in the 07 GF (excpet when he told the Ump he was the runner from Ararat) so yes keep on eye on the running at Warrack. Tyran Bell and Liam Offer have not left Diggers for no reason - they are going to University and the Wimmera does not have one! Becuase if they did then they would definently be staying at United. Diggers pulled off a recruiting coup from Saints who spat it. Too bad for the Alter Boys but if you backstab good people and future stars and mess about in your little clicky groups then it is maybe back to the district league for the brotherhood sorry no wins this year again Sainters!!
Navarre keen to get in to the Horsham District League to save them trips to the other side of the state to play unknows like Rokewood. Who thought up that league? No one from Navarre has anything to do with the south side of Beaufort!
Keep on eye on at least three U17 Diggers players who will have major impacts on Wimmera Leage this year.
Natimuk need to merge with Noradjuha and Quantong to form the Arapiles Eagles. They should have gone with Goroke but missed a good chance there. Cellar dwellers again you cant keep topping up the teams with Horshams juniors who get shfted at Demon land and German rock spiders.
i agree with just about everything u said there except for the three united under 17s that will have an impact on the league wat a load of rubbish!!
thegame
27 Jan 2008, 19:10
Heard ex Dimboola player Karl Lohde has put pen to paper and sined with the Shep Swans in the GVFL next year!
I'd have to say Peter Macfarlane will also follow as the coach at the swans is Lucus White who they both played with in Darwin!
Is Matty Everitt coaching Dimi next year?
blog guru
30 Jan 2008, 21:46
In relation to the issue raised by Bill Lovell concerning salary capping and so forth.
http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/footy-salary-cap-plea/1164761.html (http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/footy-salary-cap-plea/1164761.html)
My view is any player playing for bucks, good luck to them, but what I want to touch on is self respect. A proud loyal servant to a club is going to get more respect as a footballer than money hungry footballers moving clubs within the same region. Looking back on their careers I bet their going to have better memories and better mates than the ones shifting round for money. I don’t believe in buying a premiership, no doubt cash can help but getting bought players to play for the team cause versus loyal players who really want to win for their club and community could be a tough task. Salary Capping can’t be controlled unless it’s a zero tolerance like Amateurs but even then there are loop holes. Point systems I don’t believe will work either because contrary to some belief, clubs can attract players for reasons other than money.
Mr Lovell- How can you say being in the city is a disadvantage, I think Horsham’s success show’s what can be achieved in that town in particular. Saying so many of United’s players would leave if offered money obviously doesn’t say much about the clubs pride does it? The attitude saying this public in particular won’t make prospective players get excited about the type of players United attracts. I’ll give you some advice, setting up a good club environment, having general good club management can often be worth its weight in gold in attracting and keeping players over purely being the highest bidder. I agree with the idea it would be better if the league could be more even at times but I’m yet to hear a realistic and fair way the league can make a change for this to be possible.
Leather Magnet
30 Jan 2008, 21:55
Those with a long memory may recall the United flag won in 1988 was not considered cheap at the time.......................
roaring tiger
3 Feb 2008, 19:38
That was my initial thought too RT. If that is the case, how would you see the tigers season going? Gary has done a lot for the club and league, but with his business commitments, would he have enough time to put 100% into the job? I vividly remember, as i'm sure you do, the controversy that surrounded Stephen Bell when his business priorities started hampering his commitment to his coaching roleat Nhill
I think Gary will be a good coach and will be big on disciplin something that has been lacking at Nhill prior to 2007. I have heard over the weekend that he has been appointed caretaker coach for the moment while Nhill are talking to a couple of potential coaches 1 being a former afl and sanfl full forward. I also heard that the coaching job was Simon Brearley's if he wanted it but he declined.
Nhill will need to recruit very well over the next 2 months otherwise they might be in for a long old year. I hear A Beer has left for WA, B meyer back to KL and Ben Fritsch to the roosters just to name a few.
What are your thoughts number 5?
roaring tiger
3 Feb 2008, 19:45
In relation to the issue raised by Bill Lovell concerning salary capping and so forth.
http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/footy-salary-cap-plea/1164761.html (http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/footy-salary-cap-plea/1164761.html)
My view is any player playing for bucks, good luck to them, but what I want to touch on is self respect. A proud loyal servant to a club is going to get more respect as a footballer than money hungry footballers moving clubs within the same region. Looking back on their careers I bet their going to have better memories and better mates than the ones shifting round for money. I don’t believe in buying a premiership, no doubt cash can help but getting bought players to play for the team cause versus loyal players who really want to win for their club and community could be a tough task. Salary Capping can’t be controlled unless it’s a zero tolerance like Amateurs but even then there are loop holes. Point systems I don’t believe will work either because contrary to some belief, clubs can attract players for reasons other than money.
Mr Lovell- How can you say being in the city is a disadvantage, I think Horsham’s success show’s what can be achieved in that town in particular. Saying so many of United’s players would leave if offered money obviously doesn’t say much about the clubs pride does it? The attitude saying this public in particular won’t make prospective players get excited about the type of players United attracts. I’ll give you some advice, setting up a good club environment, having general good club management can often be worth its weight in gold in attracting and keeping players over purely being the highest bidder. I agree with the idea it would be better if the league could be more even at times but I’m yet to hear a realistic and fair way the league can make a change for this to be possible.
I think the points system is the answer.
I think Gary will be a good coach and will be big on disciplin something that has been lacking at Nhill prior to 2007. I have heard over the weekend that he has been appointed caretaker coach for the moment while Nhill are talking to a couple of potential coaches 1 being a former afl and sanfl full forward. I also heard that the coaching job was Simon Brearley's if he wanted it but he declined.
Nhill will need to recruit very well over the next 2 months otherwise they might be in for a long old year. I hear A Beer has left for WA, B meyer back to KL and Ben Fritsch to the roosters just to name a few.
What are your thoughts number 5?
Add to that Josh leyonjhelm (somewhere in ballarat)
maybe jarryd graham depending on how he goes with the sanfl.
There goes another of nhills Generation of players.
W.Batson having a stint overseas is another blow.
Not lookly good for the tigers in 08.
Will we see Johnny Muller finally make the longawaited move to the 1's??
budwinkle
8 Feb 2008, 21:18
It's funny how quick country footy changes for struggling clubs, at the end of last season, there was a lot of talk from Nhill, how they were just about to become a major improver in the league and that mob up the road Kaniva Leeor were folding....... according to posts on this board.
All of a sudden it looks like the Cougars will be improvers with good numbers on the track, past players returning, quality playing coachs appointed (& moved into town),retained their playing list & had a few star recruits signed.
Seems to be the flip side down the road all of sudden, maybe it's time for both these teams to stop playing against the big boys in the major leagues and both join the Horsham district ??
The one positive for Nhill is having good committed players such as Johnny Muller, without the Johnny Muller's no struggling country club can survive !!
Hopefully he does get the chance to line up in the one's from the goal square this season !!
roaring tiger
9 Feb 2008, 13:17
It's funny how quick country footy changes for struggling clubs, at the end of last season, there was a lot of talk from Nhill, how they were just about to become a major improver in the league and that mob up the road Kaniva Leeor were folding....... according to posts on this board.
All of a sudden it looks like the Cougars will be improvers with good numbers on the track, past players returning, quality playing coachs appointed (& moved into town),retained their playing list & had a few star recruits signed.
Seems to be the flip side down the road all of sudden, maybe it's time for both these teams to stop playing against the big boys in the major leagues and both join the Horsham district ??
The one positive for Nhill is having good committed players such as Johnny Muller, without the Johnny Muller's no struggling country club can survive !!
Hopefully he does get the chance to line up in the one's from the goal square this season !!
Your on the money budwinkle things can change very quickly in football. I think it would be a good idea for both Nhill and the cougers to join the horsham and district league as this would improve both clubs chances of winning a flag. The only way Nhill will ever win a flag in the WFL is by spending $200,000 on players for a season. Nhill goes on about having a good junior structure etc but what good is that when you can't retain those players once they mature (20+yrs old) into good senior footballers. Clubs in bigger towns like horsham and stawell can get past this but clubs like Nhill,Dimmy, Minyip-murtoa, Warrack wont be able to as there aren't the employment opprotunities in the smaller towns and its to far to travel back from uni.
I think Dimboola and Nhill have only won 2 flags between them since 1981. Horsham on the other hand would of won at least 10or 11 since then.
Your on the money budwinkle things can change very quickly in football. I think it would be a good idea for both Nhill and the cougers to join the horsham and district league as this would improve both clubs chances of winning a flag. The only way Nhill will ever win a flag in the WFL is by spending $200,000 on players for a season. Nhill goes on about having a good junior structure etc but what good is that when you can't retain those players once they mature (20+yrs old) into good senior footballers. Clubs in bigger towns like horsham and stawell can get past this but clubs like Nhill,Dimmy, Minyip-murtoa, Warrack wont be able to as there aren't the employment opprotunities in the smaller towns and its to far to travel back from uni.
I think Dimboola and Nhill have only won 2 flags between them since 1981. Horsham on the other hand would of won at least 10or 11 since then.
Nhill does have a great junior structure roaring tiger. And it has possibly the best facilites in the league. It is just in a really bad geographical location to recruit and retain players. only people commited to the town and the club as well as people willing to sacrafice work oppourtunities would stay at the club and continue to stay...
i know a number of ppl at nhill who would rather miss finals and play good footy then rock up on a saturday and play in a cow paddock SCREW THE MINER LEAGUE!
Nhill does have a great junior structure roaring tiger. And it has possibly the best facilites in the league. It is just in a really bad geographical location to recruit and retain players. only people commited to the town and the club as well as people willing to sacrafice work oppourtunities would stay at the club and continue to stay...
i know a number of ppl at nhill who would rather miss finals and play good footy then rock up on a saturday and play in a cow paddock SCREW THE MINER LEAGUE!
There are probalbly 3 sides definately 2 laharum and harrow who would belt nhill any day of the week so dont go baggin other leagues tige.
Time to rise Blues!
9 Feb 2008, 16:14
Miner league, is that an underground league? Well Edenhope/Apsley are in the same position as Nhill. Can't get good recruits because of the lack of employment and the area they are in. Plus they have to battle Harrow/Balmoral for players and they always will play for the better team. At least we still have a crack and don't go whinging about it! We are all happy there is still a football club to play for, if there wasn't a club it would be a pretty dull football season with nothing to do on a Saturday arvo! I played in a major league with Edenhope/Apsley and have found that the minor league is more enjoyable and has better people playing in the comp. Before you bag the minor league, pull on the boots for a game and i bet you wouldn't handle it. You wouldn't get a kick!
roaring tiger
9 Feb 2008, 19:16
As i said before tige, Nhill could have the best junior structure in Australia but it doens't count for anything unless you can keep those players playing at the club. Nhill had a great junior strucutre in 97-98 (2 x under 16 grand finals for 1 flag, 1 premilm and 1 grand final for under 13's) and where are all those players now tige? The majority have all left the area for work. All Nhills good young players over the last 10 years have left the town because of work opportunities, footy isn't everything and some people like to better themselves. Why have you left Nhill Tige? For work opportunities or footy? Does that mean your not committed to Nhill now??
The only reason i think Nhill should go to the district league is to actually have some success. Nhill have played finals football in WFl twice (93 i think and 2002) in probably the last 15-20 years. That says enough in my book. I like most other former Nhill players would love to see them have some success but i just can't see it happening in the WFL in short term unless they are prepared to spend big $$$$ or find a way of attracting a lot of good players back to the town and find some jobs for the young up and coming players so they stay in the town.
As i said before tige, Nhill could have the best junior structure in Australia but it doens't count for anything unless you can keep those players playing at the club. Nhill had a great junior strucutre in 97-98 (2 x under 16 grand finals for 1 flag, 1 premilm and 1 grand final for under 13's) and where are all those players now tige? The majority have all left the area for work. All Nhills good young players over the last 10 years have left the town because of work opportunities, footy isn't everything and some people like to better themselves. Why have you left Nhill Tige? For work opportunities or footy? Does that mean your not committed to Nhill now??
The only reason i think Nhill should go to the district league is to actually have some success. Nhill have played finals football in WFl twice (93 i think and 2002) in probably the last 15-20 years. That says enough in my book. I like most other former Nhill players would love to see them have some success but i just can't see it happening in the WFL in short term unless they are prepared to spend big $$$$ or find a way of attracting a lot of good players back to the town and find some jobs for the young up and coming players so they stay in the town.
I totally agree with everything you said roaring tiger. I am not bagging the minor leagues or ppl that move away and play at other clubs. i am just stating an opinion , which does not mean it is right. Yes ive moved for work just as you did. . Maybe you are right in saying nhill will never wim a flag in the wfl again. I just feel that moving to the HDFL may be the answer for a flag, but not player development... WOuld you play at nhill again if they moved to the HDFL or rather play better footy somewhere else? Thoughts??
Panther Pete
12 Feb 2008, 19:25
How are the Warriors recruiting?
BIGHAWK30
13 Feb 2008, 21:44
Having played in both leagues, I would have to say that there is a fair argument for a relegation system between the HDFL & WFL. To get it started properly, would need to bring up perhaps just the premier from the HDFL in the first year, removing the bye from both leagues. Then each year there after, the 2 sides who played off in the HDFL grand final go up to the WFL and the bottom 2 from the WFL go down to the HDFL.
Works a treat in the ameatures, and many other comps. Gives all teams something to fight for right to the end of the season ading a fair bit of spice to otherwise dead games, would even out the leagues, and would once and for all kill this argument of the better sides in the HDFL thinking that they are up to WFL....
Perhaps someone up there could put it to the likes of David Berry for consideration.....
It could be tough to get through but Im sure would be of great benefit for all... And might force some of the HDFL sides to turn their cow paddocks into footy grounds, and invest in some decent hot water services!!!!!!!
roaring tiger
14 Feb 2008, 11:35
Having played in both leagues, I would have to say that there is a fair argument for a relegation system between the HDFL & WFL. To get it started properly, would need to bring up perhaps just the premier from the HDFL in the first year, removing the bye from both leagues. Then each year there after, the 2 sides who played off in the HDFL grand final go up to the WFL and the bottom 2 from the WFL go down to the HDFL.
Works a treat in the ameatures, and many other comps. Gives all teams something to fight for right to the end of the season ading a fair bit of spice to otherwise dead games, would even out the leagues, and would once and for all kill this argument of the better sides in the HDFL thinking that they are up to WFL....
Perhaps someone up there could put it to the likes of David Berry for consideration.....
It could be tough to get through but Im sure would be of great benefit for all... And might force some of the HDFL sides to turn their cow paddocks into footy grounds, and invest in some decent hot water services!!!!!!!
I think your right bighawk for football to get better in the wimmera area i think the WFL and HDFl need to join forces and have 2 divisions with a promotion and relegation system.
Example
Div 1
Horsham Demons Horsham united Horsham Saints Nhill Dimboola Minyip-Murtoa Warrack Eagles Stawell Donald Ararat St Arnaud
Div 2 Lahaurm Pimpino Kalkee Stawell Swifts Great Western Taylors Lake Natimuk Nor-Quanny Rupanyup Edenhope Apsley Jeparit Rainbow Kaniva Leeor Beulah Harrow Balmoral
Both Divisions top 6 With Grand Finalists to win promotion from div 2 and 2 bootom teams of Div 1 to be relegated.
Plenty of extra Traveling but thats the way footy has become these days with less clubs in existance.
Possible mergers in the near future: Minyip-Murtoa and Rupanyup, natimuk and Nor-Quanny, Stawell Swifts and ??, Dimboola and??
roaring tiger
14 Feb 2008, 11:47
I totally agree with everything you said roaring tiger. I am not bagging the minor leagues or ppl that move away and play at other clubs. i am just stating an opinion , which does not mean it is right. Yes ive moved for work just as you did. . Maybe you are right in saying nhill will never wim a flag in the wfl again. I just feel that moving to the HDFL may be the answer for a flag, but not player development... WOuld you play at nhill again if they moved to the HDFL or rather play better footy somewhere else? Thoughts??
I would play in what ever league they were in tige if i was still playing for Nhill. Both leagues play interleague footy so if you want to play at a higher standard and are good enough to get picked in the interleague team you can test yourself there. In my opinon player development wouldn't be a problem in either comp it comes back to the coaches.
melbdocker
14 Feb 2008, 20:24
is anyone hear from dimboola footy club? is there a new guy from hurstbridge footy club training there atm?
roaringRAT
15 Feb 2008, 19:38
Rumor going round is that the ararat eagles might be heading towards folding.... Will help out the Rat's if they can recruit some of the better players..... although it's a shame that now there may only be one ararat club!
North Ballarat roosters to play a practise match at alexandria oval Ararat on the 1st of march against Frankston. Will be a good day of footy reserves 11:10 and one's at 2