View Full Version : Wimmera Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24

RAZZAMATAZZ
21 Feb 2008, 07:54
North Ballarat roosters to play a practise match at alexandria oval Ararat on the 1st of march against Frankston. Will be a good day of footy reserves 11:10 and one's at 2

I am pretty sure you will find that it is Reserves at 12 and Seniors at 3. They are playing Frankston, which ararat will be a solid drive for them!
Good to see best ground in the Wimmera is getting used. Maybe The wimmera league might think of this when it comes around to GF time!

Tige
21 Feb 2008, 09:03
I am pretty sure you will find that it is Reserves at 12 and Seniors at 3. They are playing Frankston, which ararat will be a solid drive for them!
Good to see best ground in the Wimmera is getting used. Maybe The wimmera league might think of this when it comes around to GF time!

Those times may be correct actually... Will be good to see a few wimmera boys playing back in the area. Such as Marc Greig after coaching warrack last year

Tige
21 Feb 2008, 13:20
Can anyone tell me wat date the interleague is to be held this year. And is it going back to the round robin style?? Wat teams against?

ClarkeM
21 Feb 2008, 20:54
Horsham united Under 17s look pretty good this year....few talls and good players coming over from other teams and after a year off etc. 25-30 players by the looks of it.

Andyt31
22 Feb 2008, 19:36

And The Ballarat Rebals are playing there as well
in the TAC Practice game at 11am

cheers

BIGHAWK30
22 Feb 2008, 20:52

Get your hand off it Razz. It took them 30 to years to finally wake up to the fact that Central Park is easily the best ground (both on and off field) and that the GF should be played there. And what should happen, oh yes thats right thay had a record crowd!! Alexander Oval is hardly a place to play a GF, it lacks quality facilities and atmosphere!!

Long live Central Park for all WFL GF's!!

Grimmett
22 Feb 2008, 21:36
Get your hand off it Razz. It took them 30 to years to finally wake up to the fact that Central Park is easily the best ground (both on and off field) and that the GF should be played there. And what should happen, oh yes thats right thay had a record crowd!! Alexander Oval is hardly a place to play a GF, it lacks quality facilities and atmosphere!!

Long live Central Park for all WFL GF's!!

Hands off it for all I reckon Andrew.
It's Alexandra Oval for a start and I'll grant you that the facilities are shithouse but don't knock the atmosphere. You should know how good the atmosphere can be there when the embankment is full of cars, the hill near the rotunda is chockers and the grandstand is well populated. Didn't you play in some of those big Sunday arvo clashes of the early part of this decade? What about the Second Semi Final against Horsham a few years back when Sam Anyon dragged you hapless Stawell bastards back into the contest almost single-handedly in the third quarter? You blokes have never liked playing on the big oval and bear the scars of too many beatings to be objective.
On the other hand, I'll acknowledge that Central Park is the best setup in the entire region. Two quality grandstands, improved oval with a great surface these days, decent changerooms and superb social facility. You are right that the WFL GF should be held there every year.
Sure beats travelling to Warracknabeal every second year!

BIGHAWK30
22 Feb 2008, 21:45
Hands off it for all I reckon Andrew.
It's Alexandra Oval for a start and I'll grant you that the facilities are shithouse but don't knock the atmosphere. You should know how good the atmosphere can be there when the embankment is full of cars, the hill near the rotunda is chockers and the grandstand is well populated. Didn't you play in some of those big Sunday arvo clashes of the early part of this decade? What about the Second Semi Final against Horsham a few years back when Sam Anyon dragged you hapless Stawell bastards back into the contest almost single-handedly in the third quarter? You blokes have never liked playing on the big oval and bear the scars of too many beatings to be objective.
On the other hand, I'll acknowledge that Central Park is the best setup in the entire region. Two quality grandstands, improved oval with a great surface these days, decent changerooms and superb social facility. You are right that the WFL GF should be held there every year.
Sure beats travelling to Warracknabeal every second year!

Appreciate your banter!! And your right, the bloody thing was way too big to lug my old bones around on, much prefer the smaller ground at Central Park. But u still cant beat the atmosphere of it when packed!!! Have played a lot of years now, both in Adelaide and country VIC, and would have to rate as my favourite ground of all time!!!

Andyt31
23 Feb 2008, 10:41

should be a good day tomorrow at Ararat :)

Animal
24 Feb 2008, 21:00
Nhill has signed a coach!
Cant give you a name but he has played for the murray bushrangers,north adelaide and in the ovens an murray league and is coming from the league that Sydney swans reserves play in the same one Matty Walder is/was in i believe. I am told he's around 25 an that he is a Midfielder/Forward.
Gary davidson will be chairman of selectors i also heard with Gary driscoll also in the mix there as well.

Also in the nhill news Josh Leyonjhelm has signed for Learmonth in the Central Highlands FL.
Nhill have a core of young senior players who at this stage have not decided to play this yr hopefully the new coach may persuede them, except its now pretty much march so no pre-season. Are the Tigers going into 08 too underdone?? If so is it to do with the late appointment of a coach?
They had 6 at training one night last week(one was the caretaker coach).

Coach08
25 Feb 2008, 19:06
Rumor going round is that the ararat eagles might be heading towards folding.... Will help out the Rat's if they can recruit some of the better players..... although it's a shame that now there may only be one ararat club!
Sorry to say mate i went down to take alook at eagles training tonight and they had 40senior players and 18 juniors out on the track cant see them folding this year but it would of been good for the rats to pick up some young talent...

roaring tiger
25 Feb 2008, 20:20
Nhill has signed a coach!
Cant give you a name but he has played for the murray bushrangers,north adelaide and in the ovens an murray league and is coming from the league that Sydney swans reserves play in the same one Matty Walder is/was in i believe. I am told he's around 25 an that he is a Midfielder/Forward.
Gary davidson will be chairman of selectors i also heard with Gary driscoll also in the mix there as well.

Also in the nhill news Josh Leyonjhelm has signed for Learmonth in the Central Highlands FL.
Nhill have a core of young senior players who at this stage have not decided to play this yr hopefully the new coach may persuede them, except its now pretty much march so no pre-season. Are the Tigers going into 08 too underdone?? If so is it to do with the late appointment of a coach?
They had 6 at training one night last week(one was the caretaker coach).

Joel price wouldn't be his name would it animal?? If they are only getting 6 to training he may be thinking in a couple of weeks why did he take the job on!

Animal
26 Feb 2008, 00:12
Joel price wouldn't be his name would it animal?? If they are only getting 6 to training he may be thinking in a couple of weeks why did he take the job on!

Yeah thats it RT.
Apparently he has no previous coaching expierence but hopefully he pulls the tigers through and brings a few players with him. Im sure with the Backing of gary davidson an gary driscoll he can sort the tigers pre-season or whats left of it out.

Grimmett
26 Feb 2008, 21:49
Tuesday, 26 February 2008
Two Blues coup - Young gun back at Penguin but Devils in the detail
By CHLOE HOPE

IN A surprise move, Penguin's gun midfielder Chris McDonald has returned from Queensland to play with the Two Blues this season and may also play with the Tassie Devils.
It is a major boost to Penguin's NTFL finals chances, on top of the signing of five TAC Cup players.
McDonald left Tasmania at the end of last season and signed with the QAFL.
He was at the centre of a row between Penguin and AFL Tasmania because he attracted a $5000 clearance fee payable to AFL Tasmania as he was on the Devils' list - although he did not play a single game for the Devils due to an elbow injury.
Penguin was to receive none of that money.
AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade said the money had not yet been paid when McDonald returned to Penguin.
Penguin coach David Law said he was happy to have the "outstanding bloke" and respected player back in the side.
McDonald missed 12 rounds of last year's NTFL season with the broken elbow but Law said he is fitter than ever.
When asked if McDonald would pursue his Devils career or play at home, Law said: "I'm sure he'll play some games for Penguin ... he'll play for Penguin."
Wade said he doubted McDonald would play for the Devils this season.
"Chris has got some talent, but needs to play (train) with the group. If he's going to play with Penguin, that would make it very difficult to be selected for the Devils," Wade said.
However, Devils coach Daryn Cresswell said McDonald will train with the Devils this week and attend the Devils' training camp in Scottsdale this weekend.
He was pleased to have McDonald back in the State.
"We'll probably take the risk (of playing him) this season," Cresswell said.
The talented young star will slot back into the Penguin midfield and impart some of his maturity to the even younger players in Penguin's centre, many of whom were blooded last season.
McDonald will join fellow injury returnee Nick Good in the team, which will soon boast a number of players from the North Ballarat Rebels.
Coach David Law said he had recruited five players from the TAC Cup club, including a tall player who might fill some of the hole left by Justin Cotton's absence.

http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/other/two-blues-coup-young-gun-back-at-penguin-but-devils-in-the-detail/1190044.html

Lifted this from the Tassie Footy thread dedicated to Northern and Coastal online news. Seems David Law is up to usual form when on the recruiting trail. Anybody able to name the five Rebels?
Anybody think there is actually five Rebels?

Big_Chill
27 Feb 2008, 10:38
It appears like Navarre must be running a bus from Stawell this year with 4 coming from Stawell (WFL) and a further 4 from the Swifts.

Anyone in the know can you give me a brief run down on the following;

Brenton Potter, Nathan Ringin, Jarrod Bibby, Ben Martin,

Animal
27 Feb 2008, 12:58
Lifted this from the Tassie Footy thread dedicated to Northern and Coastal online news. Seems David Law is up to usual form when on the recruiting trail. Anybody able to name the five Rebels?

Justin Hardy is one i know he's moved over there.

BIGHAWK30
27 Feb 2008, 18:56
It appears like Navarre must be running a bus from Stawell this year with 4 coming from Stawell (WFL) and a further 4 from the Swifts.

Anyone in the know can you give me a brief run down on the following;

Brenton Potter, Nathan Ringin, Jarrod Bibby, Ben Martin,

Ben Martin, originally came to Stawell from Navare just out of juniors I think. Has developed into the senior ruckmen for Stawell over the 5 or so years. Going back to Navare 10 x the better player.

Jarrod Bibby, Navare man through and through has flirted the odd year with Stawell when his best was behind him. A very classy footballer, super smooth skills on both sides of the body. Injuries cause him probs though, mainlyt the knee I think.

Brenton Potter, only seen a couple of his games in the ones, a very good junior footballer, and by all accounts was standing up to senior footy, and developing nicely.

Nathan Ringin ????

RAZZAMATAZZ
28 Feb 2008, 09:35
Justin Hardy is one i know he's moved over there.

Justin Hardy has gone over to play VFL not waste his time kicking around under David Law!

number5
28 Feb 2008, 15:11
As i said before tige, Nhill could have the best junior structure in Australia but it doens't count for anything unless you can keep those players playing at the club. Nhill had a great junior strucutre in 97-98 (2 x under 16 grand finals for 1 flag, 1 premilm and 1 grand final for under 13's) and where are all those players now tige? The majority have all left the area for work. All Nhills good young players over the last 10 years have left the town because of work opportunities, footy isn't everything and some people like to better themselves. Why have you left Nhill Tige? For work opportunities or footy? Does that mean your not committed to Nhill now??

The only reason i think Nhill should go to the district league is to actually have some success. Nhill have played finals football in WFl twice (93 i think and 2002) in probably the last 15-20 years. That says enough in my book. I like most other former Nhill players would love to see them have some success but i just can't see it happening in the WFL in short term unless they are prepared to spend big $$$$ or find a way of attracting a lot of good players back to the town and find some jobs for the young up and coming players so they stay in the town.

Some very good points there RT. I think the main difference between the junior structure in the 97/98 (which was great to be a part of) and the current junior structure, is that the current one starts a lot younger. There were around 40-50 kids that played in the youngest age group each of the last few year and this is starting to filter up to the higher age groups. With the increasing numbers of footballers that the town is producing, it is fair to assume that they will produce more talented footballer who are prepareed to remain in the town. If you look at the likes of the current young senior players, Riley Dickinson, Simon Dufty etc, these guys are farmers through and through and are likely to remain. All the children of the 81 premiership side are starting to come of age and I know that a lot of that side are farmers.

But who knows? I think the best bet for the club is to try to attract teachers to the town as they will earn as much money in Nhill as anywhere else.
Where are you playing this year RT?

number5
28 Feb 2008, 15:21
I think Gary will be a good coach and will be big on disciplin something that has been lacking at Nhill prior to 2007. I have heard over the weekend that he has been appointed caretaker coach for the moment while Nhill are talking to a couple of potential coaches 1 being a former afl and sanfl full forward. I also heard that the coaching job was Simon Brearley's if he wanted it but he declined.

Nhill will need to recruit very well over the next 2 months otherwise they might be in for a long old year. I hear A Beer has left for WA, B meyer back to KL and Ben Fritsch to the roosters just to name a few.

What are your thoughts number 5?

With Brearley in his final year of Uni it would have been crazy for him to take on the coaching job. Now that Nhill have apponited Joel Price (is that right), things might start to improve a little. It is hard however, to see the tigers being able to match it with most teams if the departures are correct. Beery has definately been trying his hand with WAFL team South Fremantle, but i dont know the result of that. For Nhill's sake, i hope that they can find a few players in the coming month.

topgunrat
28 Feb 2008, 21:37
Maybe he means Leo Bell he was on the development list at the rebels. Another guy to go from ararat is Matt Smith.

Can Kick A Goal
28 Feb 2008, 22:23
Maybe he means Leo Bell he was on the development list at the rebels. Another guy to go from ararat is Matt Smith.

The closest those 2 got to the rebels was seeing geoff burdett drive through Ararat with a rebels sticker on his car!!

Coach08
1 Mar 2008, 08:51
Justin Hardy has gone over to play VFL not waste his time kicking around under David Law!

Who is Justin Hardy and whats wrong with David Law...the rats have gone backwards since he left the club...

thegame
2 Mar 2008, 15:04
Is there much hope for Dimboola this season after the lose of key players Peter Macfarlane, Ash Clugston, Karl Lohde and a few more?

DADDY44
4 Mar 2008, 20:40
OMG!!!
Wimmera league pages are so boring.................. i am falllllllllllllling asleep!!!!
District league far more exciting and more high quality footy!

ClarkeM
5 Mar 2008, 20:16
OMG!!!
Wimmera league pages are so boring.................. i am falllllllllllllling asleep!!!!
District league far more exciting and more high quality footy!
Don't make me laugh

Animal
5 Mar 2008, 22:06
Don't make me laugh
I think he just got you hook line an sinker mate.

Nardoo
13 Mar 2008, 16:00
Wonder if Horsham Demons will be paying the $700 for Farr's little punch up at the Royal last year? Maybe they should take it out of his payments instead but cant see that happening. Good to see it was in the same paper as his wedding shot!!
Hopefully last year that Ararat are in the comp as a town that size that can only field one footy side deserves to be shown the door to major leage and join the crap western plains league. With the recruits that Navarre have pulled from Stawell it just shows they should be playing in the HDFL. Nice to see footballs most loyal player now pulling on the Kalkee jumper. Dont get to excited Kees Tucker will only be there for a year until he gets thrown some more dollars from some other club who mistankingly think he is worth it. Did nothing at Edenhope Apsley anyway. Maybe we should be encouraging Horsham Saints to have a stint back in the HDFL and give Harrow Balmoral a go. They would be far more competitive and boast some ready made Wimmera boys plus the ground is grassed up and ready to go unlike the dung heap over at the alter boys paddock.

BIGHAWK30
17 Mar 2008, 00:18
Wonder if Horsham Demons will be paying the $700 for Farr's little punch up at the Royal last year? Maybe they should take it out of his payments instead but cant see that happening. Good to see it was in the same paper as his wedding shot!!
Hopefully last year that Ararat are in the comp as a town that size that can only field one footy side deserves to be shown the door to major leage and join the crap western plains league. With the recruits that Navarre have pulled from Stawell it just shows they should be playing in the HDFL. Nice to see footballs most loyal player now pulling on the Kalkee jumper. Dont get to excited Kees Tucker will only be there for a year until he gets thrown some more dollars from some other club who mistankingly think he is worth it. Did nothing at Edenhope Apsley anyway. Maybe we should be encouraging Horsham Saints to have a stint back in the HDFL and give Harrow Balmoral a go. They would be far more competitive and boast some ready made Wimmera boys plus the ground is grassed up and ready to go unlike the dung heap over at the alter boys paddock.

Anyone else you want to have a crack at Nardoo (or is that Nardon't). Didn't I read on these pages only 2 months ago that you picked Stawell to win the flag this year, now you reckon they should get the flick coz a few blokes have head out to the Grasshoppers.

Have to agree that the saints ground is a cow paddock, but surely the league has to take some blame and put a bit of pressure back on these clubs to produce quality grounds AND facilities, instead of rewarding them with finals games!

Still reckon the best thing for WFL & HDFL is to have a relegation system between the 2. Would answer a lot of questions around the traps when the deabte comes up bout HDFL clubs who reckon they are up to WFL.

I'm no fan of the Ararat FC, but it wasn't that longt ago that they were the dominant force in the WFL, a proud club that will bounce back, unfortunately!

Andyt31
18 Mar 2008, 18:43
did anyone Travel to Hopetoun on the weekend when the Game Between Warrack Eagles v Red Cliffs Had to be transfered to Hopetoun due to the Dry conditions of Anzac Park they only got weeks to get it upto scratch
i havn't actually been past it but i saw it intodays Herald Sun
they never even advertised the game someone should have put a advertisment in the Warrack herald you be lucky to have anyone there if they don't know its on unless ya hear whispers around
very poor effort :thumbsd: least we know the next games at Donald on the 29th when they had about the game on saturday
they use to always have it in the paper someones a bit slack

Onelastbounce
22 Mar 2008, 22:31
Just wondering who is looking fit and firing for each club this year. Any standouts !!!!!!!!!!!!b:cool:

The mighty tiger
26 Mar 2008, 16:46
Any predictions on premiership favourites or where abouts each team will finish on the premiership table and the toohey medal?

ghudda
26 Mar 2008, 19:10
Stawell are primed to have a big year, Horsham as always will be the one to beat but expect big things from the Warriors. Could pick anyone of 5 or 6 from the side that could get the Toohey.

RAZZAMATAZZ
27 Mar 2008, 12:22
Any predictions on premiership favourites or where abouts each team will finish on the premiership table and the toohey medal?

Tuckey Back to Back! Has too big of a motor for any1 player to go with him for a whole game! Showed this when he towled Mibus up in the final last year at Ararat, Mibus couldn't even go a full quarter with him, Just backs up how much of a dud he is! Horsham City Oval suits his lazy game.

Tuckey by 8 votes

rocket17
27 Mar 2008, 13:50
sounds like u might suck him off afterwards aswell , as he should towell everyone up in the league

croweater 41
28 Mar 2008, 14:11
Any one know how the UNDER 17's are shaping around the league. Many new names around clubs?
Stawell alright alot of new kids from under 14's and a couple of kids back from playing for swifts for a couple of years.
possibly lost a stronger player to Navaree and a couple others left town.
Responsibility will lie with 6 players i believe. Tom Price who is likely to line up down back, Jesse Eckle who will probably start down foward to give his collor bone a rest. Jacob Seeary who will play where needed. Jack Fraser who is likely to line up a centre half back. Cam Kimber who will play all year in the midfield. and Nic Baird who is also likely to start down foward. All very capable players just not big and strong enough to be playing against 17 year olds.

ClarkeM
28 Mar 2008, 15:25
Any one know how the UNDER 17's are shaping around the league. Many new names around clubs?
Stawell alright alot of new kids from under 14's and a couple of kids back from playing for swifts for a couple of years.
possibly lost a stronger player to Navaree and a couple others left town.
Horsham Saints have lost a few to the Diggers but they still have 3 main stars. Mitch Creek, Jayden King and Pat Knott all proved they could play in their practise match against Kalkee on Wednesday Night.

Horsham Demons lost a few players and have a full side from what i hear. They will play Pimpinio on Thursday night at City Oval.

Horsham United after many short listed years have the most players in the under 17's. They have done quite well getting Tom Ballinger and Jarrod Khan. Brodie and Ayden Mines come across from the Saints with their dad as the United 3rds coach.

The Diggers will play St. Arnaud at City oval tomorrow morning in their first practise match for the year.

MasterOfRoc
28 Mar 2008, 19:21
Scotty, what time does the U17/16's match start? and U15/13's match too if ur aware

Footyz Life
28 Mar 2008, 19:50

Stawell- go thru undefeated
Horsham- come back to the field
Dimboola- Mcfarlane and Lohde
Min/mUR- Still got Quality without Kosch and Walsh
Ararat- Youth and Pace + big ground will help.
United- Lost half a senior side
Nhill- Rebuilding, may cause an upset.
W/eagles- ditto nhill.
Saints- Winless.

Toohey- Tuckey. Smokey- Barnett if injury free, Polls well (07- 5/6 games for 3 Three votes.)

Andyt31
28 Mar 2008, 20:07
Anzac Park is Closed to Sporting events for the Next 4 Weeks as stated front page of todays Warrack herald so rd 2 Match against Nhill will be played at Nhill so other word draw reverse when i went down recently it looks quite bad close to really dying off and they used up all the water in the tanks

they are going to reseed it this week coming so lets prey for more rain between now and rd 2 and some nice days as well

ClarkeM
28 Mar 2008, 20:21
Scotty, what time does the U17/16's match start? and U15/13's match too if ur aware
The U17s match starts at 11:15 approximately.
Not sure about the U14s... before 10 I'm sure.

I'll have tape on my knees and be wearing either 19 or 21 I'd say so I might see you there.

ClarkeM
28 Mar 2008, 20:22
A Huge Blow for Horsham United U17s
Adam Taylor, the kid who can play, at just 16 years old turned, will be playing his season through the United Seniors. No doubt the boy can play and trained well with them tonight in light session. Looks to be in the midfield, Wing I would say.

croweater 41
28 Mar 2008, 22:47
Thats big for a kid that age i know he has torn us up in some games even when the side he was playing for has lost. Big loss the the diggers 17's.

ClarkeM
29 Mar 2008, 08:53
Yer it is but we have a lot more players this year and should do well.
he may play a few games for us if things in the seniors don't work out

ClarkeM
29 Mar 2008, 19:06
United smashed the saints in the U17s. 32 Goals and 32 points.
Was a good game.

Kicked 2 goals in my first game back i pulled through the game. Got injured at the end but the team was just outstanding.

it has been a few rough years but we have a great team now.

MasterOfRoc
29 Mar 2008, 22:41
Dont forget the fact that your kids are built like brick sh*thouses! something must be flowin in the wimmera river, because theres definately something in the water!!

as for the senior/reserve game... first two quarters we played our 2's, we were down 7 goals or so at that time, played our senior list in the 3rd and 4th, pegged em right back well and truly, in the 5th and 6th we played a mixed side, (mainly 2's in the 6th) and held right on. as far as Seniors go, St Arnaud were well on top, but Horsham looked good while we weren't playing our seniors. Solyom ended up with a lazy 7 goals from 2 and a bit quarters

ClarkeM
29 Mar 2008, 22:59
We had only one overage player and he was from USA. He was 46. Rucked for a bits.

croweater 41
30 Mar 2008, 00:07
Not taking any thing from the win but have the saints become real bad losing some of their better players?
And United picked up some better players as well? I have played against some of these names and they werent the best but certinly not the worst. Have they improved?

ClarkeM
30 Mar 2008, 01:23
Shit yer. With a new coach, we just play like a team and not like teams within a team.

Tige
30 Mar 2008, 10:04
Nhill got up by a few points against mundalla. Good hit out new coach joel price played well.

croweater 41
30 Mar 2008, 14:09
Stawell Seniors also had a good hit out against Altona. Losing by a couple of goals was not a low light considering the younger players (jorah margetsen jacob davis plus others) all playing 4 out of 6 quaters and playin very well a good sign stawell has some good juniors and older players aswell.

BIGHAWK30
30 Mar 2008, 22:14
Dont forget the fact that your kids are built like brick sh*thouses! something must be flowin in the wimmera river, because theres definately something in the water!!

as for the senior/reserve game... first two quarters we played our 2's, we were down 7 goals or so at that time, played our senior list in the 3rd and 4th, pegged em right back well and truly, in the 5th and 6th we played a mixed side, (mainly 2's in the 6th) and held right on. as far as Seniors go, St Arnaud were well on top, but Horsham looked good while we weren't playing our seniors. Solyom ended up with a lazy 7 goals from 2 and a bit quarters

Great to hear Soly still going strong and kickin a bag! Felt that he never really hit his straps whilst at Stawell with a few injuries holding him back. Good luck to him and St Arnaud for the year.

Nardoo
31 Mar 2008, 22:16
Had a sneek peek at the United St Arnaud match on the weekend. Great to see the U17 boys kick 32 goals to zip! Was nice to see them dominate a game even though St Arnuad were only U16's. The Diggers U17's are looking forward to a big year in WFL with some great talent and size about this team even without Adam Taylor (with still two years left at U17 level!) who may play the bulk of the year in the ones. Credit must go for sure to the U17 and U14 junior coaching staff over the last three years who I have been told have worked hard to get the juniors into a competitive concept with heaps of work into the development of some now very handy Diggers boys who have come up through the club means all the hard work is finally going to pay off for them. This along with some effective recruiting from other WFL teams over the past two seasons means the club also is proving to be on track with the support for the juniors making kids want to play for the Diggers rather than just Demons or Saints. Hear they are playing NQ this weekend and should give the U17 Bombers a towling. A 6 quarter (ones&twos) match for the seniors due to a lack of numbers did not give us a real indication of how United will perform as yet.

Betterthenbencoon
1 Apr 2008, 10:03
32 big ones in the U17's from United? Wow thats a big score, ,must be some handy players. It wasn't all that long ago i was playing U17's back home, and the comp seemed a lot more even back then compared to how it's shaping now. That's a good effort by United though, getting a group of kids together like that, now the challenge will be keeping them at the club as they keep progressing, as other clubs start throwing the dollars.

Nardoo, any standouts in the Seniors game? Did Jarred Combe have a run?

ClarkeM
1 Apr 2008, 10:04
Adam Taylor might be playing in the under 17s this week against Noradj....

Tige
1 Apr 2008, 19:00
Adam Taylor might be playing in the under 17s this week against Noradj....

Who cares . . .

The mighty tiger
1 Apr 2008, 21:49
Who cares . . .
good call tige. all this hype for an under 17s side

past panther
1 Apr 2008, 23:34
Stawell Seniors also had a good hit out against Altona. Losing by a couple of goals was not a low light considering the younger players (jorah margetsen jacob davis plus others) all playing 4 out of 6 quaters and playin very well a good sign stawell has some good juniors and older players aswell.

On behalf of the Altona Football Club, thank you to Stawell Football Club for the weekend.
Great game played in good spirits, even if a few boy's looked a bit crook Sunday morning. Hope I didnt wake you to early! Chicken buckets stunk though and to many half drunk Bundy cans. I thought you country boys could handle it, or did the $50 blondes in King Street wipe you out.
Anyway good luck for the year and thanks again. you are welcolme anytime. see you next year and get your eyes off A. Freeland. he aint going nowhere. ( Alias da pres):thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

macedonian marvl
2 Apr 2008, 13:09
Hey guys, i'm just wondering if i could get some information on how the Nhill tigers are looking for the year. I hear the signed a coach quite late and am interested to hear if they've recruited anyone.

BIGHAWK30
2 Apr 2008, 16:02
On behalf of the Altona Football Club, thank you to Stawell Football Club for the weekend.
Great game played in good spirits, even if a few boy's looked a bit crook Sunday morning. Hope I didnt wake you to early! Chicken buckets stunk though and to many half drunk Bundy cans. I thought you country boys could handle it, or did the $50 blondes in King Street wipe you out.
Anyway good luck for the year and thanks again. you are welcolme anytime. see you next year and get your eyes off A. Freeland. he aint going nowhere. ( Alias da pres):thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Is Sammy Ellis still playing down there with Freelo? Would be great to see the both of them back playing in the red & black!!

Animal
3 Apr 2008, 01:56
Hey guys, i'm just wondering if i could get some information on how the Nhill tigers are looking for the year. I hear the signed a coach quite late and am interested to hear if they've recruited anyone.
recruited - no
moved to the town - yes

they put all there eggs in the joel price and daniel hargreaves bucket an got price an look to see hargreaves pull on the tiger guernsy in 09 rumour has it.

price has some great ideas on what he's gonna do with the squad his got gary davidson will definately be a good thing price on field , davidson off field.
the tigers know price wont get them from where they were to top 3 but they do know he will be doing all his ground work this yr to set them up.
Look to see them perform the same as last yr but show signs of structure and ticker.
Also tigers have lost there BnF from last yr Jarryd Graham to S.A an Josh leyonjhelm and from all reports Fritsch will play back at nhill when nnot selected at the roosters.

past panther
4 Apr 2008, 16:32
Is Sammy Ellis still playing down there with Freelo? Would be great to see the both of them back playing in the red & black!!

Sammy is having a year off, though he was at training on Tuesday. Body seems to struggle to get up week after week. As you know he plays it hard and it has taken its toll.

As far as Freeza is concerned the only way he is going to play in red and black while im president is if we change our jumpers.

I know he would love to head back to at least play one year at his old club.

sdmlions12
13 Apr 2008, 00:53
Couple of surprise results from the first round. Horsham and Stawell comfortable winners was to be expected but the Saints belted the Burras which has to be a huge surprise and Nhill had a fast finish to get over the top of United. Could the Horsham Saints be a huge improver this year as their young list has one more year of experience?

The mighty tiger
13 Apr 2008, 11:09
how did united under 17s go on the w/e scottyd? thought you said use were gunna go big this year! cant be too flash if u lose to nhill by over 100 which has a few of there better players playin seniors too!

Animal
14 Apr 2008, 01:14
how did united under 17s go on the w/e scottyd? thought you said use were gunna go big this year! cant be too flash if u lose to nhill by over 100 which has a few of there better players playin seniors too!
yeah back in your box scottyd stop talking up the Horsham united under 17's.
i bet your excuse will be your senoirs had a heap out so they poached your unders.
Who cares they got smashed FULL STOP.

Betterthenbencoon
14 Apr 2008, 10:48
Im absolutely stunned by the Sainters. I trained with the boys for a few weeks while i was on holidays back in Feb and they were very fit, but i didn't expect them to improve much on last year, the skills on the track weren't that flash, however it was Feb. It's great to see the boys returning to the old days and handing out 100 point hidings. Hopefully they can continue to improve this year and get the Saints up to where they should be again.

BIGHAWK30
14 Apr 2008, 11:05
Im absolutely stunned by the Sainters. I trained with the boys for a few weeks while i was on holidays back in Feb and they were very fit, but i didn't expect them to improve much on last year, the skills on the track weren't that flash, however it was Feb. It's great to see the boys returning to the old days and handing out 100 point hidings. Hopefully they can continue to improve this year and get the Saints up to where they should be again.

Can anyone tell me how Matt Combe went on the weekend?

Animal
14 Apr 2008, 14:59
Can anyone tell me how Matt Combe went on the weekend?
Who cares he's a knob.
Probley kicked a few goals usually does because he's a sh|tscraper.

Betterthenbencoon
14 Apr 2008, 17:22
Who cares he's a knob.
Probley kicked a few goals usually does because he's a sh|tscraper.

I was going to ask how Melon's went as well, but that's a pretty ordinary response Animal, perhaps ur a backman and he's kicked a few on u before?? There must be a reason for ur animosity towards Matty?

the pay out
14 Apr 2008, 21:46
how did ararat get within 50 points of horsham? have the recruited well? what i have heard the team is young..
well what ever it is the must be in on the up after last years efforts against horsham..

BIGHAWK30
14 Apr 2008, 21:47
I was going to ask how Melon's went as well, but that's a pretty ordinary response Animal, perhaps ur a backman and he's kicked a few on u before?? There must be a reason for ur animosity towards Matty?

Cant work it out either. What I know of him he's not a bad young lad!

Cats_29
14 Apr 2008, 21:53
Ararat was within 4 points of Horsham half way through the last quarter before they kicked away

Purrfect Pussies
14 Apr 2008, 21:54
The Saints did look good on Saturday, got quite a few good kids coming through. Will give them a bit of confidence for the rest of the year. Burras were pretty weak though. Looked like the Under 17's didn't need the united traitors!

Tige
15 Apr 2008, 10:11
[quote=BIGHAWK30;

Betterthenbencoon
15 Apr 2008, 10:18
Yeah Bighawk, Melons is a top bloke, but i could also see how people wouldn't like him if they weren't mates, has a fiery side to him and a lip to match.

As for the Saints, they are going to need blokes like Hoey, Cloughy, Melons, those sort of blokes to stay together for the next few years and really build the club. As far as i know, Gavo Kelm is the oldest bloke at the club, and with Heater Kelm back adding a bit of experience and polish, the young Saints should go alright.

Dodgeyknee
16 Apr 2008, 17:13
Kelmy is a great player but is getting slower and will need the young kids to step up every week if the saints are to make the finals. Not sure if that will happen this year.

Betterthenbencoon
16 Apr 2008, 17:49
Yeah ur spot on Dodgey, i wouldn't be surprised if the younger blokes ran out of puff this season. There will be stronger opposition for the rest of the season, so as great as the first win was, i don't think they will figure in September. Hopefully im wrong, but it is a long year, it might take a couple more years together to regain their finals place.

Pat The Hat
16 Apr 2008, 19:30
Liam Newell the youngster from the burras carved up for his 1st game of senior footy!

sdmlions12
17 Apr 2008, 15:03
Few interesting games this week, should give us a bit more of an idea where teams stack up for the season. Here are my tips:

Warrack Eagles vs Nhill
Horsham Diggers vs Horsham Demons
Ararat vs Horsham Saints
Minyip Murtoa vs Dimboola

After some big surprises last week looking forward to round 2 of Wimmera League action.

Betterthenbencoon
17 Apr 2008, 15:45
I reckon u've got 4 out of 4 there lions, can't see too many upsets this week. The only possible, based on last week, is the Saints over a supposedly young Rats, but i think they'll be too strong, especially at home and 'only' going down by 50 points to Horsham

Tige
17 Apr 2008, 16:13
Few interesting games this week, should give us a bit more of an idea where teams stack up for the season. Here are my tips:

Warrack Eagles vs Nhill
Horsham Diggers vs Horsham Demons
Ararat vs Horsham Saints
Minyip Murtoa vs Dimboola

After some big surprises last week looking forward to round 2 of Wimmera League action.

Ahk so it is a lot even playing field this year so up sets a plenty.

My tips

Nhill by 30 points
Demons by 10+ goals
Ararat if played there..
Dimboola to accont for min murt depending on if Mcfarlane plays margin could vary

zimasquize
17 Apr 2008, 16:48
i watched warrack play on the weekend against stawell and they look like they have somthing to prove this year. they will be a team to look out for this year mark my words.
they will beat nhill by 10+ goals this week im sure of it.

IRENE
17 Apr 2008, 17:50
Liam Newell the youngster from the burras carved up for his 1st game of senior footy!

too bad the rest of his team mates didn't turn up. What's the storey down at Burra land? R they really that bad? Who's running the show there and how come they don't seem to be able to attract any outside tallent to the club?

ClarkeM
17 Apr 2008, 22:07
New Star!!

Sockit151
18 Apr 2008, 15:15
How did Locky Woodward rate in this comp??

golden state
18 Apr 2008, 19:44
Ahk so it is a lot even playing field this year so up sets a plenty.

My tips

Nhill by 30 points
Demons by 10+ goals
Ararat if played there..
Dimboola to accont for min murt depending on if Mcfarlane plays margin could vary

Is Everett still coaching Dimboola?
Don't think Noodles will line up for them tis year as he has an Apprenticeship in Darwin!
Karl Lohde also staying in Darwin!

Tige
19 Apr 2008, 09:27
Is Everett still coaching Dimboola?
Don't think Noodles will line up for them tis year as he has an Apprenticeship in Darwin!
Karl Lohde also staying in Darwin!

Where do you get ya information from???

Noodles is flying in every 2nd week
And Lohde is driving up from geelong every week... not in Darwin

Tige
19 Apr 2008, 09:28
How did Locky Woodward rate in this comp??

You would have him in your team due to his height. Does talk the talk about himself tho

roaring tiger
20 Apr 2008, 19:52
You would have him in your team due to his height. Does talk the talk about himself tho

I see you got in the best yesty tige. you guys would of been disappointed to lose after beating united last week. looking at your selected side you still have a couple of blokes out as some regular reserves players were in the side. What is the go with your Ass Coach from Last year Trav Lannin. Has played the first 2 games in the reserves. Surley a bloke getting paid the amount he was last year and with his abilitiy should be playing in the seniors. How did you rate the eagles tige?

I see Dimmy had a great start to the year, the burras might be in for a long old year and the horsham saints on a roll early with a big win over ararat. Horsham still looking strong with Johns looking good for another 100 goal season.

Purrfect Pussies
20 Apr 2008, 22:38
The young sainters have started really well. Again opposition average, but a better test this Friday in the Anzac Day clash with the Diggers. Broady and Pump have all the kids playing with great confidence.

Betterthenbencoon
21 Apr 2008, 11:38
The sainters have stunned me again. I got word through Saturday night they demolished Ararat by 93 points and nearly fell off my chair. A top effort by the boys. Anyone catch the game? Standout performers? I heard Pumps made a difference?

BiG KinG
21 Apr 2008, 13:34
Kelm was cleary a dominant force and stood out in my eyes. Not sure who saints onballers were but they carved it all day. Credit to aarat there mids are still very wet behind the ears with none being over 20 years old. The score board definatly reflected how the saints dominated all day and ararat seemed to have no flare. How can old pal say, "the young sainters started well" when they got there behinds handed to em on a pletter by the under 17's. Look forward to seeing the saints horsham match:thumbsu:

Betterthenbencoon
21 Apr 2008, 16:00
Do u mean Heater Kelm, or Gavo? I heard Heater has been dominating since he returned home, and with Hoey, Pumps, and i think Cloughy too running through the middle, it's not a bad young midfield.
The Saints v Horsham sounds like it should be a good match, but i think it may just be a reality check for the Saints, and they will have a tougher test this week on Anzac Day too.

It's an interesting start to the WFL season for sure.

Purrfect Pussies
21 Apr 2008, 21:06
The "young saints" being the senior team. Not too many blokes over 22. Heater, Pump and Patty Knott have made a difference, plus a bit more fitness and experience from Hoey, Cloughy and Couch etc.
I don't know about pushing Horsham & Stawell, but should be a great match Friday againist the Diggers!

Tige
21 Apr 2008, 21:38
I see you got in the best yesty tige. you guys would of been disappointed to lose after beating united last week. looking at your selected side you still have a couple of blokes out as some regular reserves players were in the side. What is the go with your Ass Coach from Last year Trav Lannin. Has played the first 2 games in the reserves. Surley a bloke getting paid the amount he was last year and with his abilitiy should be playing in the seniors. How did you rate the eagles tige?

I see Dimmy had a great start to the year, the burras might be in for a long old year and the horsham saints on a roll early with a big win over ararat. Horsham still looking strong with Johns looking good for another 100 goal season.

Yeah was very disapointing RT didnt play there Rd1 but from all reports the boys ran and carried well and got over the line. There was a simple reason for the loss saturday.. ya cant hide behind the "we had a heap of kids playing" excuse anymore, all WFL teams do. Our skills were terrible and that was the difference in the to teams. Wasnt a pretty game. Eagles were ok, hard to say reckon they played under themselves a bit as well. Trav done his shoulder bowling a cricket ball. Out all year i think. Not sure when he goes under the knife.

Yes seems like an even comp this year always interesting early on in the year though.

The Dawes
23 Apr 2008, 13:54
Where do you get ya information from???

Noodles is flying in every 2nd week
And Lohde is driving up from geelong every week... not in Darwin

Who else do Dimmy have aside from these two that can have them challenging Horsham again?

Lost Clugston obviously, but have they brought anyone else in?

Nardoo
23 Apr 2008, 14:04
Footy is sturggling in the Grampians area! How can Ararat get thumped by Horsham Saints? Swifts are no good and can take the wooden spoon home now if they like. Great Western are average, Ararat Eagles are useless again and further south down the Grampains Rd even Moyston/Willaura and Glenthompson/Dunkeld are looking for the bottom of the ladder again. Thank goodness for Stawell & Tatyoon and it seems Navarre are on the way up finally but not strong enough to do well in the geographically stupid Lexton Plains league. Where have all the footballers gone??? Only in the mid 90's we had Warriors and Swifts and powerful Stawell Redlegs all doing well, strong teams out of Ararat such as St Mary's and Caledonians along with Prestige, Trinity & Miners with Ararat being a force, Navarre doing well and even Marnoo and Landsborough fielding sides along with Moyston & Tatyoon getting fed by Ararat and Great Western pulling palyers from the district. Now in 2008 the Ararat & District league is gone, the Lexton league gone, heaps of mergers and then mergers with mergers (Ararat Eagles) with probaly more to come (Swifts & Geat Western merging to become the 'Western Swifts' or the 'Deep Lead Dung Beetles' and now only two teams in the region any good (Stawell and Tatyoon with the generous wallets) with Navarre maybe pulling a game in the finals. Footy in the Stawell and Ararat region is on the big slide downhill unless they can get more players on the grass.

Sockit151
24 Apr 2008, 10:04
Footy is sturggling in the Grampians area! How can Ararat get thumped by Horsham Saints? Swifts are no good and can take the wooden spoon home now if they like. Great Western are average, Ararat Eagles are useless again and further south down the Grampains Rd even Moyston/Willaura and Glenthompson/Dunkeld are looking for the bottom of the ladder again. Thank goodness for Stawell & Tatyoon and it seems Navarre are on the way up finally but not strong enough to do well in the geographically stupid Lexton Plains league. Where have all the footballers gone??? Only in the mid 90's we had Warriors and Swifts and powerful Stawell Redlegs all doing well, strong teams out of Ararat such as St Mary's and Caledonians along with Prestige, Trinity & Miners with Ararat being a force, Navarre doing well and even Marnoo and Landsborough fielding sides along with Moyston & Tatyoon getting fed by Ararat and Great Western pulling palyers from the district. Now in 2008 the Ararat & District league is gone, the Lexton league gone, heaps of mergers and then mergers with mergers (Ararat Eagles) with probaly more to come (Swifts & Geat Western merging to become the 'Western Swifts' or the 'Deep Lead Dung Beetles' and now only two teams in the region any good (Stawell and Tatyoon with the generous wallets) with Navarre maybe pulling a game in the finals. Footy in the Stawell and Ararat region is on the big slide downhill unless they can get more players on the grass.
Agree with most of you post Nardoo it is hard to believe the change in under 10 years!!
But, IMO it would be a sad sad day if the mighty Lions ever merged with Swifts.. But in saying that i don't have a hands on knowledge of what happens anymore, but i would hope that GW could stay strong and keep its identity!!

Tex_21
24 Apr 2008, 14:29
Definitly agree with the two posts above-and it is not just the football struggling around the Stawell/Ararat area. As the population in and around Stawell continues to decrease, this problem will only get worse-it can be seen now that the stronger clubs are those which have the $$ to recruit from larger centres like Ballarat and Melb. Would a restructure help this problem at all?

sdmlions12
27 Apr 2008, 01:10
Definitly agree with the two posts above-and it is not just the football struggling around the Stawell/Ararat area. As the population in and around Stawell continues to decrease, this problem will only get worse-it can be seen now that the stronger clubs are those which have the $$ to recruit from larger centres like Ballarat and Melb. Would a restructure help this problem at all?
Interesting to see the Rats top Dimmy over the weekend who would've been a favorite going in. Dimmy must've slipped quite a bit this season or has Ararat improved? Top effort by the young Sainters on Anzac Day as well as they keep marching on. They sit on top of the ladder after 3 rounds, who would've thought?