View Full Version : Wimmera Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24

Nardoo
4 Aug 2008, 11:53
bad rsult 4 the rats yesty goin down to nhill few injuries as well bligh willl be a huge gap 2 fill.
i heard nhills ground was in fantastic conditon if u like playing footy on the beach its a disgrace and also i hear they host a final in week 1.how about those gooses who allocate finals look at reports at the quality of the surfaces b4 giving finals to grounds that dont have hardly no grass growing .all finals should be played at hprsham,ararat and stawell all other grounds r pathetic.

I agree with the grounds for finals except for Ararat. Stawell, Dimboola & Horsham only. Ararat is too big and cold and not central enough to the Wimmera for good gate numbers and the changerooms are a disgrace with the last upgrade happening in 1983!
Cant believe the young rats dropped a game against a side third from the bottom. If there is a finals game that the Rats have to play in Nhill Dimboola or Warracknabeal then it is goodbye to season 08 as they cannot perform on the road! How long is Bligh out for and what did he do?

Tex_21
4 Aug 2008, 14:13
The boys seemed well down, and were injury depleted also. The injury to dale (broken arm-i think) happened in the first 5 minutes or so (second hand info as I was still in the rooms affter the seconds game) was followed a couple of minutes later by Ben Newson re-injuring his ankle badly. Add this to Lachie Hamilton, Tom Cashin, Matt Smith and other on the sidelines and there is a bit of a hole to fill for the boys. Good to see Toby Reid make a great fist of his first senior game, at the age of 14! Star in the making. Also-some of the treatment dished out to Al Batchelor,, especially in the first half was disgraceful-at one stage being punched in the head, with not even a free kick resulting.

MightyRoar
4 Aug 2008, 17:45
I agree with the grounds for finals except for Ararat. Stawell, Dimboola & Horsham only. Ararat is too big and cold and not central enough to the Wimmera for good gate numbers and the changerooms are a disgrace with the last upgrade happening in 1983!
Cant believe the young rats dropped a game against a side third from the bottom. If there is a finals game that the Rats have to play in Nhill Dimboola or Warracknabeal then it is goodbye to season 08 as they cannot perform on the road! How long is Bligh out for and what did he do?

Blighsy did break his arm.......the good one too and had a plate inserted in it so he's season and possibly his future is over, not quite sure on whether he will play on beyond this year!!

BIGHAWK30
5 Aug 2008, 00:03
Noted a few weeks back that Stawell got over the line against the Demons, dishing out their only loss for the year. Not much said about it on this thread... Are the Redlegs (oops, sorry Warriors) are serious challenger for the flag this year? They seem to have the best defence in the league having conceeded 20 goals fewer than Horsham. Having not been in the district to see a game this year, I'm interested in their chances...

BETON5
5 Aug 2008, 00:34

Fair enough however last years gf at warrack real central for horsham v stawell .Alexander oval has by far the best playing surface goin around.2ndly it is a winter sport nardoo u tossa and ararat is usually 1 or 2 degrees lower than horsham so come on mate stop talking shit.
the changerooms are far from a disgrace compared to other facilities in the wimmera they would be acceptable for a gf and would get a massive gate.
Ararat is well and truly worthy of hosting the GF sounds central 2 me if its stawell v horsham...

diggers
5 Aug 2008, 18:41
Diggers for the Flag:D

Bumbles
6 Aug 2008, 16:21

Ararat hosted two finals last year, both with very good gate takings and many good reports!!
Also hosted two VFL practice matches earlier in the year along with Rebels games and again the surface was commended!!
Not the greatest facilities but definitely shits on some others around the league..
As for Horsham and Dimboola?
Horsham City Oval is in the worst knick i have seen it in a very long time, a lengthened cricket season means the centre wicket area is absolutely rock hard with no grass cover whatsoever!
The rest of the ground is also patchy!!
Dimboola? very uneven surface and very patchy covering - wouldnt think they will get a final this year!!
Stawell and Ararat are clearly the best surfaces in the Wimmera at the moment and either of these should be given the GF in my opinion...

Bumbles
6 Aug 2008, 16:36
Noted a few weeks back that Stawell got over the line against the Demons, dishing out their only loss for the year. Not much said about it on this thread... Are the Redlegs (oops, sorry Warriors) are serious challenger for the flag this year? They seem to have the best defence in the league having conceeded 20 goals fewer than Horsham. Having not been in the district to see a game this year, I'm interested in their chances...

Most certainly a contender, was a fine effort to defeat Horsham however the Demons are beginning to look ominous at the right time of the season...
Seem to be just cruising along and are doing it with a minimum of fuss!!
Stawell a dangerous looking line-up but would have thought their forwards were the more threating part of the side!!
Ben Williamson leads a tight defence however Tuckey, Carr, Anyon and by throwing in Hanns as a crumber and u have some serious firepower down forward!!
May have lost young ruckman Jorah Margetson with kidney damage for a couple of weeks, the big fella has been good all season for Stawell and will be missed!!
Considering Stawell have dropped a game to Warrack and dont seem to have the same form as the Dees i would say horsham are still favourites..
However will be an interesting finals series and look forward to seeing how it unfolds!

croweater 41
6 Aug 2008, 17:09
Most certainly a contender, was a fine effort to defeat Horsham however the Demons are beginning to look ominous at the right time of the season...
Seem to be just cruising along and are doing it with a minimum of fuss!!
Stawell a dangerous looking line-up but would have thought their forwards were the more threating part of the side!!
Ben Williamson leads a tight defence however Tuckey, Carr, Anyon and by throwing in Hanns as a crumber and u have some serious firepower down forward!!
May have lost young ruckman Jorah Margetson with kidney damage for a couple of weeks, the big fella has been good all season for Stawell and will be missed!!
Considering Stawell have dropped a game to Warrack and dont seem to have the same form as the Dees i would say horsham are still favourites..
However will be an interesting finals series and look forward to seeing how it unfolds!
Yes jorah is out for a couple of weeks. Also youngster cam kimber may be stepping up for his first seniors game this week against MM

New skip 08
7 Aug 2008, 11:07
Fair enough however last years gf at warrack real central for horsham v stawell .Alexander oval has by far the best playing surface goin around.2ndly it is a winter sport nardoo u tossa and ararat is usually 1 or 2 degrees lower than horsham so come on mate stop talking shit.
the changerooms are far from a disgrace compared to other facilities in the wimmera they would be acceptable for a gf and would get a massive gate.
Ararat is well and truly worthy of hosting the GF sounds central 2 me if its stawell v horsham...

Yeah i second that theory because last year stawell tarvelled an hour to play in a grand final and Horsham travelled a half an hour and that was played in warracknabil, and this year it would be the other way around if the grand final was to be played at ararat and if horsham and stawell are of course in it. Horsham would travel the hour and stawell travel the half. So i dont think there should be any problems with the grand fnal being played at ararat. If its got to do with the travel time, the ground has great facilities and should be used

New skip 08
7 Aug 2008, 11:11
Yes jorah is out for a couple of weeks. Also youngster cam kimber may be stepping up for his first seniors game this week against MM

Hey bairdy is it true that Brent tucky has told the club he wants to leave the club at the end of the year.

Tex_21
7 Aug 2008, 11:15
Hey bairdy is it true that Brent tucky has told the club he wants to leave the club at the end of the year.
Its been in the local paper that the travelling aspect has been too much for him as he travels with his job as well. He has said he could end up doing close to 1000km a week if its a further away game such as Dimboola or Nhill. Fair enough reasoning I thought.

New skip 08
7 Aug 2008, 11:23
Its been in the local paper that the travelling aspect has been too much for him as he travels with his job as well. He has said he could end up doing close to 1000km a week if its a further away game such as Dimboola or Nhill. Fair enough reasoning I thought.

yeah it sure is and with the price of fuel these days its probaly a fair choice as well. Will it leave a big whole in stawell's line up will it

Tex_21
7 Aug 2008, 12:37
yeah it sure is and with the price of fuel these days its probaly a fair choice as well. Will it leave a big whole in stawell's line up will it
I'd say the club might cover his fuel costs for footy, and with a decent pay cheque on top but it still adds up. Dunno bout the whole-maybe one of the stawell boys on here could fill us in?

New skip 08
7 Aug 2008, 12:55
I'd say the club might cover his fuel costs for footy, and with a decent pay cheque on top but it still adds up. Dunno bout the whole-maybe one of the stawell boys on here could fill us in?

Yeah i dont know either but with a player of his talent, he would obviously add alot to there team and would be sorly missed

Tex_21
7 Aug 2008, 13:11
Yeah i dont know either but with a player of his talent, he would obviously add alot to there team and would be sorly missed
True-a player like him will be missed in any team

Nardoo
9 Aug 2008, 17:48

Well Creton5 seems like you are again speaking without thinking and resorting to your little sooky personal insults for want of lacking an intelligent comment. There will never be a record gate at Ararat. Minyip and Murtoa rooms are on a par with Ararat. How many finals have they had recently? End of story!
Lucky cars can park at Ararat because the gate would be even lower each game as it is always too cold and barren for supporters to stand and watch. We all know it is a winter game Creton5 Duh! It is the gate that makes a GF successfull for the league. Watering the Ararat turf with reclaimed sewerage does not help your cause Creton5!!
Horsham City surface is struggling at the minute because of too much footy. Poor move to allow a full day soccer tournament on it the other weekend. Ban the round ball! GF will be at City Oval or Central Park this is a fact.

Purrfect Pussies
10 Aug 2008, 11:39
Can anyone give details on the Saints upset win againist the Demons yesterday? 18.5 113 - 9.13 67.

big bubba
10 Aug 2008, 23:06
Well Creton5 seems like you are again speaking without thinking and resorting to your little sooky personal insults for want of lacking an intelligent comment. There will never be a record gate at Ararat. Minyip and Murtoa rooms are on a par with Ararat. How many finals have they had recently? End of story!
Lucky cars can park at Ararat because the gate would be even lower each game as it is always too cold and barren for supporters to stand and watch. We all know it is a winter game Creton5 Duh! It is the gate that makes a GF successfull for the league. Watering the Ararat turf with reclaimed sewerage does not help your cause Creton5!!
Horsham City surface is struggling at the minute because of too much footy. Poor move to allow a full day soccer tournament on it the other weekend. Ban the round ball! GF will be at City Oval or Central Park this is a fact.\

thats bullshit
wfl have already booked alexandra oval

croweater 41
11 Aug 2008, 15:49
\[/b]

thats bullshit
wfl have already booked alexandra oval
From what i have heard it will be alexandra if the GF is between Horsham and Stawell

BETON5
11 Aug 2008, 19:10
Horsham City surface is struggling at the minute because of too much footy. Poor move to allow a full day soccer tournament on it the other weekend. Ban the round ball! GF will be at City Oval or Central Park this is a fact.
THE ONLY FACT I KNOW NARDOO IS YOU ARE A FAIR DINKUM DUDBROTHER.
Ararat gets no colder than stawell or horsham maybe 1 or 2 degrees u twit,Let me guess NARDOO WHY THERE WONT BE A RECORD GATE AT ARARAT???UM ITS BECAUSE U DONT LIKE ARARAT YOU TOSSA THATS THE ONLY REASON.u have no idea about alexander ovals facilitys the only view u had of the ground was when u were in J WARD up on the hill,u poor excuse for a human....
The grand final will be at ararat get that through your thick head .

Its not my fault NARDOO that your a dirty rotten ass bandit who prey on old men around horsham city oval,its well over due that the GF should be moved around 2 other clubs in the league...

Onelastbounce
11 Aug 2008, 22:20
[quote=Nardoo;12007365]Well Creton5 seems like you are again speaking without thinking and resorting to your little sooky personal insults for want of lacking an intelligent comment. There will never be a record gate at Ararat. Minyip and Murtoa rooms are on a par with Ararat. How many finals have they had recently? End of story!

U r a total Fukwit Nardoo Nodo's!!! Go n av a coffee break. Nothin u post is ov fact! come up with something u can bak up!! Loser!!!!:thumbsd:

Mad Dog
11 Aug 2008, 23:41
abuse such as the crap above will attract red cards

Fat Lady Singing
12 Aug 2008, 15:26
just wondering if anybody in the league remembers a bloke called Phil Bunn?? currently coaching the Murray Bushrangers!! i believe he played at horsham and horsham united, just wondering what sort of player he was, was he any good, and was he a good bloke....

ClarkeM
12 Aug 2008, 18:37
Coached United to their last premiership i think. Will be in Horsham Saturday night for a United Function.

babba80
12 Aug 2008, 19:55
THE ONLY FACT I KNOW NARDOO IS YOU ARE A FAIR DINKUM DUDBROTHER.
Ararat gets no colder than stawell or horsham maybe 1 or 2 degrees u twit,Let me guess NARDOO WHY THERE WONT BE A RECORD GATE AT ARARAT???UM ITS BECAUSE U DONT LIKE ARARAT YOU TOSSA THATS THE ONLY REASON.u have no idea about alexander ovals facilitys the only view u had of the ground was when u were in J WARD up on the hill,u poor excuse for a human....
The grand final will be at ararat get that through your thick head .

Its not my fault NARDOO that your a dirty rotten ass bandit who prey on old men around horsham city oval,its well over due that the GF should be moved around 2 other clubs in the league...

Great post BETON pity u got red carded for giving it to that moron NARDOO.EVEN THOUGH HE IS A TAMP.

Grimmett
13 Aug 2008, 18:12
Aaah, the joy of multiple User ID's, eh Budge?

The Dawes
14 Aug 2008, 13:36
just wondering if anybody in the league remembers a bloke called Phil Bunn?? currently coaching the Murray Bushrangers!! i believe he played at horsham and horsham united, just wondering what sort of player he was, was he any good, and was he a good bloke....

When I was a kid he payed full forward for Horsham - top class forward in those days who kicked a stack of goals.

May have even had a season at Melbourne in the early to mid 1980's.

Purrfect Pussies
16 Aug 2008, 23:18
Any Scores to post guys??? Have Horsham or Stawell finished top?

croweater 41
17 Aug 2008, 18:17
Any Scores to post guys??? Have Horsham or Stawell finished top?
demons take top as stawell lost to rats today by 2 points

Sockit151
18 Aug 2008, 13:27
demons take top as stawell lost to rats today by 2 points
Must have been a ripper game at Ararat Sunday?
Can any1 report further??

Bumbles
18 Aug 2008, 17:16
Must have been a ripper game at Ararat Sunday?
Can any1 report further??

Great game of footy...
Stawell missing several key players as was Ararat...
Young legs of the Rats stood out, ran the ball really well and applied great pressure to Stawell. Fratin and Turner probably the difference in the Rats forward line, both played very well!!

BETON5
19 Aug 2008, 18:45
Great game of footy...
Stawell missing several key players as was Ararat...
Young legs of the Rats stood out, ran the ball really well and applied great pressure to Stawell. Fratin and Turner probably the difference in the Rats forward line, both played very well!!

Well let the real footy begin!!!

Qualifying Final
Stawell v warrack eagles

Stawell should have a host of players back and easily beat warrack by 40pts.

Elimination Final
Ararat v horsham Saints

Ararat will still be on a high from last weeks gutsy win over stawell and if they can get Dale(dirk diggler)bligh back they will be to fast and polished for horsham saints..

Any Thoughts........

zimasquize
20 Aug 2008, 09:47
warrack got the better of stawell last time they met and will prob have andrew bell and aj mckenzie back for the game think it will b alot closer than 40 points.Does anyone know if tuckey will play?

Bumbles
20 Aug 2008, 18:02
Well let the real footy begin!!!

Qualifying Final
Stawell v warrack eagles

Stawell should have a host of players back and easily beat warrack by 40pts.

Elimination Final
Ararat v horsham Saints

Ararat will still be on a high from last weeks gutsy win over stawell and if they can get Dale(dirk diggler)bligh back they will be to fast and polished for horsham saints..

Any Thoughts........

Not so sure that Stawell will reagin a lot of players, probably a couple..
Big doubts on Tuckey which obviously throws out their structure somewhat and Carr also has to be doubtful...
Still think Stawell will win the game, Warrack did win earlier in the season but i think last years finals experience will hold Stawell in good stead..

Rats played well against Saints last time, had a couple missing and sustained some injuries during the game
Back to form against Stawell last week so should have some confidence..
Saints obviously played well to knock off Horsham the other week so should be a closely contested game i would think..

Interesting to see how it all pans out!!

Bumbles
21 Aug 2008, 18:02
Getting to that time of the year where we could debate a team of the year... Ill chuck my team i roughed out down and feel free to comment, or better, make ur own team!!
Based mine on simply this season's form, in the position the player usually plays... Tried not to pick players out of position bcoz of reputation or whatever...

B: Pete Thompson (A) Ben Williamson (S) B Harricks (A)
HB: Shannon Argall (HU) Andrew Bell (W) Sean Bayzand (N)
C: Dan Krahe (W) Marcus Anson (HD) Nathan Clough (HS)
HF: Aaron Barnett (HD) Brent Tuckey (S) Luke Carr (HD)
F: Jarred Combe (HU) Clint Midgley (MM) Gavin Kelm (HS)
R: Tim Wade (HU) Karl Lohde (D) Alan Batchelor (A)
Int: BJ Burton (A) Jorah Margetson (S) Al McKinnon (D)

Legend: Rucks in red, Ruck Rovers in green, Rovers in blue

big bubba
21 Aug 2008, 20:46
Has any one been reading the wimmera mail lately and getting sick of reading bout johnsy bitching and whinging? Like his latest column having a sook about the GF being in ararat, the only reason he would be against this is bcoz horsham demons probably have the smallest supporter group of any wimmera team and thinks they wont get any supporters there!!
Moron!! In both 2006 and 2007 the Wimmera League has hosted finals at Alexandra Oval and both years Horsham Demons have been well represented in both football and netball, as they will be this year most likely!! In both years the Demons have attracted good support!! Maybe he is just embarrassed about cracking the shits against Ararat earlier this year and running off the ground to abuse the crowd?? He then proceeded to kick a water bottle which fell down on his fat head!! Great stuff Johnsy you really deserve a column!!
As for the travel factor, what about Ararat and Stawell when they have held GF in Dimmy and Warrack over the last few years? Are we not a legitimate part of the league?
If any club has a half decent fan base they will travel anywhere to watch their team play, and the same goes for footy supporters in general who want to watch the big game!!
Make me sick Johnsy!!

croweater 41
21 Aug 2008, 23:16
Getting to that time of the year where we could debate a team of the year... Ill chuck my team i roughed out down and feel free to comment, or better, make ur own team!!
Based mine on simply this season's form, in the position the player usually plays... Tried not to pick players out of position bcoz of reputation or whatever...

B: Pete Thompson (A) Ben Williamson (S) B Harricks (A)
HB: Shannon Argall (HU) Andrew Bell (W) Sean Bayzand (N)
C: Dan Krahe (W) Marcus Anson (HD) Nathan Clough (HS)
HF: Aaron Barnett (HD) Brent Tuckey (S) Luke Carr (HD)
F: Jarred Combe (HU) Clint Midgley (MM) Gavin Kelm (HS)
R: Tim Wade (HU) Karl Lohde (D) Alan Batchelor (A)
Int: BJ Burton (A) Jorah Margetson (S) Al McKinnon (D)

Legend: Rucks in red, Ruck Rovers in green, Rovers in blue
couldnt find a spot for paul hanns or ben scott both very very good midfeilders/foward line players both being known to kick a bag

Has any one been reading the wimmera mail lately and getting sick of reading bout johnsy bitching and whinging? Like his latest column having a sook about the GF being in ararat, the only reason he would be against this is bcoz horsham demons probably have the smallest supporter group of any wimmera team and thinks they wont get any supporters there!!
Moron!! In both 2006 and 2007 the Wimmera League has hosted finals at Alexandra Oval and both years Horsham Demons have been well represented in both football and netball, as they will be this year most likely!! In both years the Demons have attracted good support!! Maybe he is just embarrassed about cracking the shits against Ararat earlier this year and running off the ground to abuse the crowd?? He then proceeded to kick a water bottle which fell down on his fat head!! Great stuff Johnsy you really deserve a column!!
As for the travel factor, what about Ararat and Stawell when they have held GF in Dimmy and Warrack over the last few years? Are we not a legitimate part of the league?
If any club has a half decent fan base they will travel anywhere to watch their team play, and the same goes for footy supporters in general who want to watch the big game!!
Make me sick Johnsy!!
i applaud BB *clap clap* :thumbsu:

Betterthenbencoon
22 Aug 2008, 10:20
Make me sick Johnsy!!

I reckon there's probably a few people who agree with Johnsy on this point there. I don't know too many people in the Wimmera League who enjoy travelling to Ararat to play. The ground lacks atmosphere and facilities, simply as that. I'd much rather go to Dimboola or Warracknabeal for the GF, but in saying that, good on the WFL for sharing it around, it can get a touch monotonous playing the same ground each year (bit like the same team in it every year!)

Bring on the year Horsham aren't in the GF, then we can get it back at the City Oval where it should be!

Bumbles
22 Aug 2008, 11:47
[quote=croweater 41;12151114]couldnt find a spot for paul hanns or ben scott both very very good midfeilders/foward line players both being known to kick a bag

Both were in the mix, however I think Hanns form has been down slightly on last year and with Scott - I thought there were other midfielders who deserved their spot ahead of him...

croweater 41
22 Aug 2008, 11:54
Both were in the mix, however I think Hanns form has been down slightly on last year and with Scott - I thought there were other midfielders who deserved their spot ahead of him...[/quote]
Fair enuf then

Bumbles
22 Aug 2008, 11:56
Anyone else have some thoughts about their own team?
Croweater?

croweater 41
22 Aug 2008, 16:18
that team would be fine for me couldnt fault it

Purrfect Pussies
22 Aug 2008, 20:46
Make me sick Johnsy!!

Couldn't agree more!!! The bloke has been taking crap all year. In this weeks paper he states the Wimmera League GF can't be at City Oval due to the netball courts (fact), then proceeds to say the District GF should be played there??????

croweater 41
23 Aug 2008, 20:04
next weeks games are at
2nd Semi at Coughlin Park Horsham on saturday between Horsham Demons and Stawell Warriors in seniors and in the ressies Stawell and Horsham again
1st semi at Central Park Stawell on Sunday between Warrack Eagles and TBC and Warrack and TBC in ressies

Purrfect Pussies
24 Aug 2008, 19:18
Great win to the Saints today againist Ararat 132 - 94
Close physical game, with Saints kicking away late, G Kelm kicking 7.

New skip 08
25 Aug 2008, 18:17
Great win to the Saints today againist Ararat 132 - 94
Close physical game, with Saints kicking away late, G Kelm kicking 7.

what went wrong with ararat then, i thought they had the team to push some teams all the way

Purrfect Pussies
25 Aug 2008, 20:29
what went wrong with ararat then, i thought they had the team to push some teams all the way

The game was close early with Turner looking like being the difference, too big and strong. Fratin was well held by Brennan. Both sides younger brigades were applying plenty of pressure until there were a few contentious umpiring decisions (both ways). The Ararat kids seemed to get sucked in giving away a heap of 50's resulting in goals to Kelm, Klemm and Combe. That was probably the difference in the end.

croweater 41
25 Aug 2008, 21:44
The game was close early with Turner looking like being the difference, too big and strong. Fratin was well held by Brennan. Both sides younger brigades were applying plenty of pressure until there were a few contentious umpiring decisions (both ways). The Ararat kids seemed to get sucked in giving away a heap of 50's resulting in goals to Kelm, Klemm and Combe. That was probably the difference in the end.
Is it true there was a fight in this game or not

Purrfect Pussies
25 Aug 2008, 23:02
Is it true there was a fight in this game or not

Yeah, fight in the third quarter, Ararat had 2 sent off, Fratin and another, the Saints lost Craig Klemm for 15 mins, Mainly just kids trying to throw their weight around. Ararat's youngester seemed to loose the plot after that.

Bumbles
26 Aug 2008, 12:35
Has been confirmed that the GF will be played at Ararat.
Prelim at Murtoa, with 2nd Semi at Coughlin on Saturday and 1st Semi at Stawell on Sunday this weekend...

Rabbito
27 Aug 2008, 14:31
Hi all,

Just chasing some info,

Aaron Barnett, who he go? coaching? is he leaving the district?

Cheers.

Bumbles
27 Aug 2008, 14:34
Hi all,

Just chasing some info,

Cheers.

Gun. Spent some time in the SANFL although unsure if it was seniors or reserves.
Very quick onballer, great skills and pushes forward to kick plenty of goals..
Played at Horsham Demons this year under Stuey Farr, got no idea of his intentions for next year!!
Hope that helps...

Rabbito
27 Aug 2008, 16:36
Gun. Spent some time in the SANFL although unsure if it was seniors or reserves.
Very quick onballer, great skills and pushes forward to kick plenty of goals..
Played at Horsham Demons this year under Stuey Farr, got no idea of his intentions for next year!!
Hope that helps...

Thanks Man!

I believe he has recently moved/ in the process of moving to Mildura, football club will be jumping over eachother to get at him no doubt.
Meat market says he'll attract good coin then?
Local to Horsham?

Bumbles
27 Aug 2008, 16:43
Thanks Man!

I believe he has recently moved/ in the process of moving to Mildura, football club will be jumping over eachother to get at him no doubt.
Meat market says he'll attract good coin then?
Local to Horsham?

Yep, unsure of the standard up there but i think regardless he will attract reasonable coin..
Played juniors at Horsham im 95% sure!! Went for a stint in the SANFL then came back..

wallyon
27 Aug 2008, 19:52
Hi all,

Just chasing some info,

Cheers.

Very good player, spent 2 years at West Adelaide. Extremely quick and skillfull, has started to have hammy trouble. Would be very worth your while to chase him a gun player and good lad too. Was on $700 a game at horsham so will expect some decent coin

Rabbito
28 Aug 2008, 10:00
Very good player, spent 2 years at West Adelaide. Extremely quick and skillfull, has started to have hammy trouble. Would be very worth your while to chase him a gun player and good lad too. Was on $700 a game at horsham so will expect some decent coin

Wouldn't image any club up here would shell out $700 to anyone, I believe his got family connection to Imp's footy club.
Forgot to ask, how old? has he coached b4?

Bumbles
28 Aug 2008, 10:04
Wouldn't image any club up here would shell out $700 to anyone, I believe his got family connection to Imp's footy club.
Forgot to ask, how old? has he coached b4?

Hasn't coached, is only about 21 or 22!

Rabbito
28 Aug 2008, 10:34
Hasn't coached, is only about 21 or 22!

You punters are "red hot" on your replies, that one took all of 4 minutes!!
Hammy's at 21/22 doesn't sound crash hot.

Bumbles
28 Aug 2008, 12:19
Looks like the Demons may have the services of young forward Dylan Parish this weekend for the big clash with Stawell...
Not confirmed yet but don't be surprised if he runs out with the Demons rather than the North Ballarat Rebels...
Will be a handy in for the Dees, has kicked plenty this year and been a reliable target alongside Johns, Carr etc..

Rabbito
29 Aug 2008, 09:45
Hi all,

Just chasing some info,

Cheers.

Might have the bull by the horns! Maybe the wrong bloke!

Have you's got a Clint Bratram running around down there? He might be how I'm on about.
I had Aaron moving to Mildura, soory bout that!
Would have put the wind up the club he plays 4!
Anyway any info on a Clint Bratram? I thinkin' thats his name.
Thanks.

bighawk_23
29 Aug 2008, 12:30
You punters are "red hot" on your replies, that one took all of 4 minutes!!
Hammy's at 21/22 doesn't sound crash hot.

I tore a hammy at 15.. not a pleasant experience!

Feel sorry for the poor bugger!

Purrfect Pussies
29 Aug 2008, 20:28
Yeah, Clint Burdett your talking about. Just moved up there for work. Ripper player, super quick rover type, old man played for Bombers.
Played Wimmera League for Horsham Saints for a few years more than holding his own againist league best on ballers, then went back to his home club Hoptoun in the Mallee league coaching. Has coached Pimpinio in Horsham District League for the last few years. Never missed a game through injury, worth every cent. Has a family tie with Imps up there i think.

ClarkeM
29 Aug 2008, 20:34
Thoughts on this weeks games?

croweater 41
30 Aug 2008, 00:11
Thoughts on this weeks games?
Stawell over Horsham in a great game by under a goal (tuckey expected to return)
And Eagles over Saints by 20 points

ClarkeM
30 Aug 2008, 09:22
Stawell and Horsham both have the double chance right?
I think Stawell will lose just this week but come back in the Grand final and win.

croweater 41
30 Aug 2008, 11:05
Stawell and Horsham both have the double chance right?
I think Stawell will lose just this week but come back in the Grand final and win.
Yes double chance

ClarkeM
30 Aug 2008, 14:39
Just my prediction mate.

Purrfect Pussies
31 Aug 2008, 20:49
Saints by 46 points v Eagles. Draw at halftime, Saints kicked away with breeze in 3rd quarter for comfortable win.
Stawell v Saints @ Murtoa next Saturday. Tuckey in doubt.

croweater 41
31 Aug 2008, 22:23
Saints by 46 points v Eagles. Draw at halftime, Saints kicked away with breeze in 3rd quarter for comfortable win.
Stawell v Saints @ Murtoa next Saturday. Tuckey in doubt.
Warrack lost run and momentum when lincoln peters was sent off reported for striking in the 3rd and thats when saints kicked away with the wind

croweater 41
1 Sep 2008, 17:39
Heard an old name from the past by the name of peter plugger homden is he still in the stawell area?
Heard he was involved with stawell swifts is this true?
Apparently in his day he was a state country rep in softball<could really throw the ball down.....
I dnt think he would go near swifts with two sons playing at the warriors (one in the 2's and one in the 1's)

Wazza Footballer
1 Sep 2008, 23:15
On Saturday I witnessed the Wimmera Football League and the umpires lose a considerable amount of credibility.
Football fans descended on Coghlan Park anticipating an enthralling battle between Horsham and Stawell, two evenly matched teams.
These teams had during the year dominated the competition and with one win apiece were all expecting an exciting match even under the atrocious weather conditions that prevailed during the match.
How disappointed we were when as the game unfolded we realised that the umpires had already determined who the winner was to be - even before the players ran onto the ground.
This is my only explanation to explain the quality of umpiring and the decisions that they made during this match.
Five Horsham goals as a result of free kicks and dubious 50 metre penalties is too much for any team to overcome.
Horsham is a fantastic football side with pace, skill and courage all over the field and to beat them is a monumental task - five premierships in a row is testament to this. However no team is entitled to be given such an advantage and all we ask is that whoever plays Horsham in the Grand Final be given a fair and equal opportunity of winning.
It appears that the appointment of neutral umpires from another league is the only way of ensuring that umpiring bias can be overcome.
The Wimmera League Commission would have been disappointed with the standard of umpiring and I know they would love to introduce neutral umpires but l am not confident that they have the balls to stand up and make it happen.
Assuming Wimmera association umpires will be used for the remaining finals I implore those in power to weed out the bad eggs and reward those that are honest and give their best. Bad umpiring is acceptable - biased umpiring is not acceptable to anyone. The credibility of the Umpiring association and the Wimmera League is at stake - all teams deserve equal opportunity of winning - all teams should win on their own merit.:(

Grimmett
1 Sep 2008, 23:32
Oh ok stawell warriors.
But still was a fantastic softball player?rep in his day.
I think Charlie Baird played in the same rep side with plugger homden.

Pathetic Budge. Hope you fish better on water than you do on these boards.

croweater 41
1 Sep 2008, 23:53
Pathetic Budge. Hope you fish better on water than you do on these boards.
Thank god there is some intelligence on this board:D

Grimmett
2 Sep 2008, 16:59
Very well thanks. Enjoy it very much.

Not many posts as Head Office actually requests that we refrain from posting on public forums. Still check in to see who's bullshitting who however!

Get a kick yourself this year? Body holding up?

Purrfect Pussies
2 Sep 2008, 19:52
On Saturday I witnessed the Wimmera Football League and the umpires lose a considerable amount of credibility.
Football fans descended on Coghlan Park anticipating an enthralling battle between Horsham and Stawell, two evenly matched teams.
These teams had during the year dominated the competition and with one win apiece were all expecting an exciting match even under the atrocious weather conditions that prevailed during the match.
How disappointed we were when as the game unfolded we realised that the umpires had already determined who the winner was to be - even before the players ran onto the ground.
This is my only explanation to explain the quality of umpiring and the decisions that they made during this match.
Five Horsham goals as a result of free kicks and dubious 50 metre penalties is too much for any team to overcome.
Horsham is a fantastic football side with pace, skill and courage all over the field and to beat them is a monumental task - five premierships in a row is testament to this. However no team is entitled to be given such an advantage and all we ask is that whoever plays Horsham in the Grand Final be given a fair and equal opportunity of winning.
It appears that the appointment of neutral umpires from another league is the only way of ensuring that umpiring bias can be overcome.
The Wimmera League Commission would have been disappointed with the standard of umpiring and I know they would love to introduce neutral umpires but l am not confident that they have the balls to stand up and make it happen.
Assuming Wimmera association umpires will be used for the remaining finals I implore those in power to weed out the bad eggs and reward those that are honest and give their best. Bad umpiring is acceptable - biased umpiring is not acceptable to anyone. The credibility of the Umpiring association and the Wimmera League is at stake - all teams deserve equal opportunity of winning - all teams should win on their own merit.:(

Well said Wazza. l don't think the poor umpiring in the finals has been confined to the Horsham games. It will interesting to see the appointments for this weeks Preliminary Final, Horsham Saints v Stawell. Could the umpires please take note that we supporters go not go the footy to watch them perform their theatrics, just two footy sides having a red hot crack at breaking the Demons Wimmera League dominance.

BETON5
4 Sep 2008, 10:49
Great to see the standard of the umpiring being scrutinised again and again in the wimmera,its a bloody joke.
Im sure the umpires have 2 premireship cups horsham won in the past 5 years have there names on the cup.I just hope the Wimmera wake up in time b4 the GF and allocate nuetral umps for the big day or it will be ground hog day again.Horsham will just beat stawell with the help of some local umpires(mates).

Goong
4 Sep 2008, 17:52
Thank god there is some intelligence on this board:D

What are everyone's tips for the Toohey on Monday night?

croweater 41
4 Sep 2008, 18:04
What are everyone's tips for the Toohey on Monday night?
Karl Lohde played unreal footy all year will win be a truck load

footyfan08
4 Sep 2008, 19:49

ditto... shoe in.

not sure bout the rest. pretty open i reckon.

barnett will prob have a few best on's imo

Goong
5 Sep 2008, 12:09

Yet his side won just 6 games throughout the year, and some of Dimboola's losses were very big defeats!!
As history has shown it is difficult for people playing in losing sides to get the 3 votes... Think this will affect his chances?
Anyone got a smokey?

Caught with the ball
5 Sep 2008, 16:18
Yet his side won just 6 games throughout the year, and some of Dimboola's losses were very big defeats!!
As history has shown it is difficult for people playing in losing sides to get the 3 votes... Think this will affect his chances?
Anyone got a smokey?

Dean Gunn Warrack Eagles

croweater 41
5 Sep 2008, 23:47
Anyone got a smokey?
It might now that u mention it
A smokey maybe Dan Krahe from warrack

Purrfect Pussies
6 Sep 2008, 19:16
Great win to the saints today over Stawell by 30 points. 9.1 to 0.5 in the first quarter set up the win. All the kids stood up. 3 goals to Nathan Clough in the first quarter where instrumental in establishing the lead. Interesting to see what the League does with the Grand Final next week. The Legaue looks to have jumped the gun giving the GF to Ararat. 4 years ago the Saints agreed to play Horsham at City Oval instead of Central Park at Stawell. Not sure if the weak Demons leaders would agree to play the game at Coughlin Park.

croweater 41
6 Sep 2008, 19:27
Great win to the saints today over Stawell by 30 points. 9.1 to 0.5 in the first quarter set up the win. All the kids stood up. 3 goals to Nathan Clough in the first quarter where instrumental in establishing the lead. Interesting to see what the League does with the Grand Final next week. The Legaue looks to have jumped the gun giving the GF to Ararat. 4 years ago the Saints agreed to play Horsham at City Oval instead of Central Park at Stawell. Not sure if the weak Demons leaders would agree to play the game at Coughlin Park.
If the grand final was played at Coughlin that would be plain stupid
After being there for the game the other week when it poured rain you had to be an olympic rower to make it to your car and there was no grandstand or anything there for people to sit in. I heard that there were to older ladies slipped and fell in thee mud/water the other week now what happens if its the same this week pouring rain coughlin would be a terrible choice to play footy.
At ararat yes one side is dirt and rock and crap but at least there is a granstand and some cover and its got a better run off there imo straight onto the oval not like coughlin where it sits there
THE WIMMERA DOES NOT REVOLVE AROUND HORSHAM give everyone a go for once

ClarkeM
6 Sep 2008, 22:14
After being there for the game the other week when it poured rain you had to be an olympic rower to make it to your car and there was no grandstand or anything there for people to sit in. I heard that there were to older ladies slipped and fell in thee mud/water the other week now what happens if its the same this week pouring rain coughlin would be a terrible choice to play footy.
At ararat yes one side is dirt and rock and crap but at least there is a granstand and some cover and its got a better run off there imo straight onto the oval not like coughlin where it sits there
You can't argue with that to be honest but look at the GF games...

Fourths
Horsham vs. Stawell

Thirds
Horsham vs. Ararat

Seconds
Horsham vs. Stawell

Firsts
Horsham vs. Horsham Saints.

5 Horsham teams.
2 Stawell
1 Ararat.

It would be better if it was in Horsham as there are 5 teams that are playing on Saturday. It makes sense in a way.

Stawell would be the best option when we talk about condition but with travelling and etc., Horsham would be ideal.

croweater 41
6 Sep 2008, 22:20
You can't argue with that to be honest but look at the GF games...

Fourths
Horsham vs. Stawell

Thirds
Horsham vs. Ararat

Seconds
Horsham vs. Stawell

Firsts
Horsham vs. Horsham Saints.

5 Horsham teams.
2 Stawell
1 Ararat.

It would be better if it was in Horsham as there are 5 teams that are playing on Saturday. It makes sense in a way.

Stawell would be the best option when we talk about condition but with travelling and etc., Horsham would be ideal.
Not arguing that point about all the horsham teams but city ovals netball courts can not be played on due to the surface of it and coughlin park would be a terrible choice for the reasons mentioned aboved
Im not saying the grand final has to be in Stawell but i would just like to see spread around a bit and ararat have more then likely got everything organised (food etc)

Purrfect Pussies
6 Sep 2008, 22:25
Not arguing that point about all the horsham teams but city ovals netball courts can not be played on due to the surface of it and coughlin park would be a terrible choice for the reasons mentioned aboved
Im not saying the grand final has to be in Stawell but i would just like to see spread around a bit and ararat have more then likely got everything organised (food etc)

Just a bit of tounge in check stuff, I agree the game Gf would never be played at Coughlin Park. Ordinary facilities. Just a bit of a dig the Wimmera League and Horsham:p The Saints would be happy to play on the moon

croweater 41
6 Sep 2008, 22:29
Just a bit of tounge in check stuff, I agree the game Gf would never be played at Coughlin Park. Ordinary facilities. Just a bit of a dig the Wimmera League and Horsham:p The Saints would be happy to play on the moon
Thats very true after knocking off stawell today

ClarkeM
7 Sep 2008, 01:14
Important
Everyone must look!!
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=490743
Grand Final poll! Vote for Horsham or the Saints.

A must-do.

diggers
7 Sep 2008, 21:38
would be good for saints to win :thumbsu:

ohmygod
7 Sep 2008, 21:45
WELL DONE SAINTS:thumbsu: BEATING THOSE STAWELL BLOKES LET ME TELL YOU THAT YOU BLOKES HAVE MADE EVERY OTHER TEAM IN STAWELL VERY HAPPY THAT YOU BEAT THOSE UP EM SELVES LOSERS. GOES TO SHOW YOU THAT JUST BECAUSE YOU SPEND BULK LOADS OF MONEY IT WILL NOT ALWAYS GET YOU PLACES. BAD LUCK WOZZAS. HA HA HA HA!!!!!!!!:):):)

Moonhead
7 Sep 2008, 22:14

Well said croweater... Cant really understand why all the carry on over the GF being played in Ararat, best surface in the league by far, I bet Horsham Saints arn't complaining about playing there, will suit their young side on the open expanses of Alexandra oval as appose to the ageing legs of the Demons. As for Johnsy's articles in the Wimmera Mail about getting it moved..Won't happen David, maybe you just need to worry about getting a kick on Saturday not where it is being played, oh and if Horsham people dont like the travelling aspect I suggest they go and support the Horsham District league.

wombo
7 Sep 2008, 23:13
Great effort from the saints on the weekend
They seem to be on a fair roll
Who do they have to shut down in order to win next week

Nardoo
8 Sep 2008, 14:56
If the Wimmera League wants to get serious about being successfull then they should be holding the GF at the ground where there is the best possible chance to maximise crowds and revenue.
The WFL Grand Final needs to be held at Central Park Stawell
WHY?- 2 grandstands if the rain hits, good surface, central to the teams in the GF (no need to worry about home ground advantage for 4ths & ressies) the best netball facilities and a great family set up. Bad decision on Ararat ground so early, seems the league were not expecting Saints to knock off Stawell and now they are too proud to say we got it wrong and change. Dimboola is the second choice ground. Still not to late to change things. Central Park would bring in an extra $2-$3k and 500+ people. Poor move Wimmera League but when you see the type of blokes rolling about in the WFL officials jackets at games then you can understand why there is not alot of smart moves being made!!

TipEcat
8 Sep 2008, 23:22
So who won the Touhey Medal?

croweater 41
8 Sep 2008, 23:31
So who won the Touhey Medal?
Alan Batchelor from rats with Lohde runner up

BETON5
9 Sep 2008, 09:38
If the Wimmera League wants to get serious about being successfull then they should be holding the GF at the ground where there is the best possible chance to maximise crowds and revenue.
The WFL Grand Final needs to be held at Central Park Stawell
WHY?- 2 grandstands if the rain hits, good surface, central to the teams in the GF (no need to worry about home ground advantage for 4ths & ressies) the best netball facilities and a great family set up. Bad decision on Ararat ground so early, seems the league were not expecting Saints to knock off Stawell and now they are too proud to say we got it wrong and change. Dimboola is the second choice ground. Still not to late to change things. Central Park would bring in an extra $2-$3k and 500+ people. Poor move Wimmera League but when you see the type of blokes rolling about in the WFL officials jackets at games then you can understand why there is not alot of smart moves being made!!
Typical response from a dead set loser!Ararat is a worthy recipient of hosting the GF.They will get a huge crowd and the the atmosphere will be better than expected(pending weather).Dont bother comin down NARDOO you just up there in your shearing shed with your sisters and brothers and hide behind your computer.
The standard must have dropped off more for horsham saints to make the GF.On paper HORSHAM should win by 50pts plus,however saints have shown they can beat anyone in the comp,and results dont lie so i m tipping horsham saints by 9 pts.

Slenko
9 Sep 2008, 16:24
Totally agree with you on "blokes rolling about in the WFL officials jackets". They are a disgrace.

Anyone know a website that are taking bets on WFL GF?

Bumbles
9 Sep 2008, 16:59
Great effort from the saints on the weekend
They seem to be on a fair roll
Who do they have to shut down in order to win next week

The obvious one would be Johns and Carr, but they need to be wary of young Dylan Parish who has bobbed up for Demons all year..
I think the most important thing really is to not let Batchy and Barney grab it and stream forward from the midfield, very dangerous when they do this...
Midfield battle will be a ripper, Clough, Pumphrey, Hoey, Knott etc are all in good form and will need to win against Batch, Barnett, Anson and co.

On another note well done to Alan Batchelor from Ararat for winning the Toohey, only 21 years of age, gets belted every week but just keeps getting back up and sticking his head on the footy...
Great player, and a very deserving winner!!