View Full Version : Wimmera Football League

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Jock Clark 2
5 May 2006, 20:46
:) Sorry Grimmett ... been busy with family matters the last day and a half.
Rosa was very good, especially at CHB for the Square against South last Sunday. Even though the Square suffered from a 7 day break compared with South's eight, I thought he was in the Bulldogs' best 4 or 5.
There's no doubt he will be considered for inter-league selection with a couple more games under his belt, including tomorrow's home game vs. Eaglehawk.

Kick_it_2_me
5 May 2006, 20:59
Should be a good round for footy this weekend all teams about matched evenly Eagles should have a tough game but after last week anything can happen. Ararat should win at home id think and horsham and dimmi should win easy. Match of the round minyip and warrack, the old enemies go head to head cant wait.

GO EAGLES

eagles to go down fairly easily to the combine
ararst are a bunch of pretenders and will be beaten in front of their home crowd
horsham in a close 1
dimboola if they can play to their potential and get their heads right

roaring tiger
5 May 2006, 21:13
I hate to say it but i think by the look of the Big W squad for this years championships i reckon they might find the going a bit tough up at barooga. Have been watching the Murray League closely and they will win the carnival by a heap under hte guidance of 4 time premiership coach of the deni-rams Garry Parsons.

roaring tiger
5 May 2006, 21:18
eagles to go down fairly easily to the combine
ararst are a bunch of pretenders and will be beaten in front of their home crowd
horsham in a close 1
dimboola if they can play to their potential and get their heads right

Tips for this weekends games:

Minyip-Murtoa by 50 odd points after dropping a game last week that they would of marked down for a win.
Horsham to demolish the diggers by 70 points. Just dont think the diggers are the real deal.
Ararat and Nhill in the game of the round. If its wet Ararat to win if dry Nhill to win.
Dimboola to account for stawell very easily probably around the 40 to 50 point mark.

Kick_it_2_me
6 May 2006, 10:32
I hate to say it but i think by the look of the Big W squad for this years championships i reckon they might find the going a bit tough up at barooga. Have been watching the Murray League closely and they will win the carnival by a heap under hte guidance of 4 time premiership coach of the deni-rams Garry Parsons.

just a quick question who is garry parsons? also murray league is very over rated in my books

Andyt30
6 May 2006, 19:58
Dimboola demolished Stawell 19-19=133 d Stawell 8-12=60 (73 pts)
qt Dimboola 5.4 34 to Stawell 2.2=14
Ht Dimboola 7.8=50 to Stawell 3.8=26
3qt Dimboola 12.16=88 v Stawell 4.9-33
4th Dimboola 19.19=133 d Stawell 8.12=60

stawell kicked them selves out of it they missed easy chances
and Dimboola should have had it won by ht

Minyip/Murtoa won by 31 pts the Only Game the won for the Day
MM 17.14=116 d Warrack 13.7.85
Reserves Warrack 12.14=86 d minyip/Murtoa 4.35=27
Under 17's Warrack 11.10=76 d Minyip/Murtoa 2.0=12
Under 14's Warrack 4.6=30 d Minyip/Murtoa 2.3=15

not bad 3 out of 4 wins

brilliantnick
7 May 2006, 14:04
I've heard some rumours that have been floating around over here in south australia that jeremy clayton and timmy inkster have signed for the warrack eagles in 2007. Whats the go? does anyone know anything? They carve it up over here in SANFL

Warrack Eagles
8 May 2006, 10:01
If thats rumor is true and i hope it is that would be Awsume for the eagles, Theres been talk about it the last couple of years but nothing come from it.

Warrack Eagles
9 May 2006, 10:40
ROUND 5 PREVIEW

WIMMERA LEAGUE PREVIEW ROUND 5
KFC Diggers v Nhill @ City Oval
The KFC Diggers will be out to return to the winner?s list when they welcome the Nhill Tigers to the City Oval. Both teams are coming off losses, giving this game greater importance, as the Diggers don?t want to drop off the competition pacesetters, while the Tigers want to get off the bottom of the ladder and keep in touch with the five. The Diggers weren?t that bad against the Demons, at one stage during the third quarter they were within five goals and looking to get back into the contest, and this was without Brad Cassidy, Luke Chamberlain, Alistair Jackson, Matt Said and Steve Anson, while they missed the hard running of Matt Williams who suffered a knee injury, enabling Scott Batchelor to exert an influence for the Demons. The Tigers were brave in defeat against the Rats, hanging on as long as possible against the tide after going in at three quarter time with a four goal lead. Coach Dean Schumann says the Tigers will hit the City Oval this week a more confident outfit. ?After playing the top two teams in successive weeks, the boy?s confidence was down, and this reflected in their disposal, which cost us dearly against the Rats. We?ll get a few players back, regroup and give the Diggers a real contest.? Schumann will return, along with half forward Andy Watson, tall Rob Bell and running James Phillip. Diggers coach Brian Cassidy would have to be pleased with the way Brendan McDonald, Luke McCallum and Luke Bacon are playing. The return of Jonathan Lovel gives the Diggers an extra tall in defence, thus freeing up Bacon to be more damaging around the ground. Steve Edgerton is rucking like the seasoned veteran he is, and his match up with Robert Price will be pivotal. With the impending return of Cassidy and Jackson the Diggers will be a better outfit and should chalk up a win by 51 points.
Minyip Murtoa Kik Kookaburras v Ararat Gason Rats @ Minyip Recreation Reserve
Michael Hynes? Kookaburras welcome David Law?s Rats to Minyip, with both teams going into the match on the back of winning form. The Kookaburras responded the way a good team should after their loss to Dimboola the previous week, bouncing out of the blocks against the Eagles, with a five goal first quarter, then holding them at bay for the remainder of the game. The Rats were gutsy in a win coach Law described as messy but good. ?With a howling gale blowing to one end, it is always going to make the game not as attractive as one would like. But our boys dug deep to get their win last week, which I?m happy about moreso for the players, as they have worked hard to get their rewards.? The Kookaburras have Nathan Hinch in the ruck in good form at present, and he will have a good duel with man mountain Craig Cooper. Shane Pidgeon continues to be a consistently good player for the Kookaburras, and his work around the goals adds another string to the Kookaburra?s bow. Clinton Midgley slotted into Craig Wilson?s spot in front of the sticks last week and kicked six, while Jordan Ruwoldt, John Kosch and Joe Milgate are dangerous players in the Kookaburra camp. The Rats will look to Joe Waring to keep Midgley quiet, Richard Tucker to do likewise on Adam Carter, while they should benefit for the return of Matt Jackson, giving them first use of the ball around the stoppages. The Rats young guns are improving as each week goes by with Tom Cashin the latest to get a taste of senior footy, and being a good contributor for Law, who is not afraid to give his kids a go. ?Clubs get to the stage where they can?t spend big dollars on players, so they have to look to their kids to be the next generation of key players for the club. For example it looks like Pat Kelly could have suffered a career ending injury, so rather than dwell on the negative, we looked at it from a positive point of view, and said well let?s start one.? The Rats will nip at the heels of the Kookaburras all day, but the experience of players like Hynes, Carter, Midgley, Walsh and Pidgeon should enable the Kookaburras to win by 32 points.
Stawell Mitre 10 Warriors v Morrow Nissan Demons @ Central Park
The Stawell Warriors are the next line to face the juggernaut that is the Horsham Demons, and if they were given a lesson by the Roos last week, be prepared for another one this week. The classroom will be Central Park and the teachers will be the monolith David Johns, nippy Scott Batchelor, rock of Gibraltar Terry Arnel and the sublime Damien Bunworth. The Demons move the ball as quick as any in the League, by had and foot, getting the ball quickly into attack, through an arsenal of runners in the midfield including Tim Pickert, Jarrod Wright, Stuart Farr, Steve Both and Josh Rentsch. The Warriors will probably win in the ruck where James Delahunty continues to play well, and he will have a good contest against young Tom Crabtree and Luke Spasic for the Demons, should Zach Holmes not return. Jack Duke has been a revelation for the Warriors, as a non-stop runner in the midfield, while the Abraham boys will need to be at their very best to have an influence for the Warriors. The Warriors appear to have the hard nuts to break even with the Demons in the middle of the ground. Scott Nicholson, Dale Power, Aiden Potter and Simon Jones, but appear to have no answers for the talented Luke Carr, Johns and Joel Geue up forward. The Demons are still finding their form, as joint coach Stuart Farr pointed out to them after the win last week. They were at times guilty of lifting the foot off the pedal against the Diggers, and Farr will ensure they keep their minds on the job at hand during the week. The Diggers were successful in keeping Bunworth and Batchelor quiet in the first half last week through close checking from Simon Dandy and Matt Williams respectively, so maybe Jason Radley and Daniel Thomas could be given specific jobs for the Warriors this week. Whatever Dale Power comes up with it won?t be enough, and the Demons will roll on towards a huge clash with Dimboola next week, and run out 75 point winners.
Horsham Saints v Warrack Eagles @ Coughlin Park
The Saints will be fresh and ready to bounce back into the winner?s list when they host the Warrack Eagles, with the winner of this match likely to jump into the five. The Saints will look to Josh Burgess to kick a bag, with Mighty Mick Evans his likely first up opponent. At the other end of the ground Nathan Clough will probably go to Nick Germano, who has been consistent for the Eagles across half forward. With the North Ballarat Rebels having the bye this week expect to see Nick Peters and Kyle Cheney back in the Eagles side, giving coach Marc Greig possibly his strongest Eagles team for the year, with Peters likely to go to a wing, and Cheney onto a back flank, providing run and rebound for the Eagles. The Saints desperately need Adrian Pilgrim to exert an influence around the ground. The big man doesn?t take enough marks for one so tall, which would be concerning for coach Mark O?Beirne. This game will be Pilgrim?s chance to show Saints supporter?s and Wimmera League watchers his ability, as the Eagles only major worry is the lack of genuine big men. On the other hand O?Beirne would be rapt with the way Adam Way is contesting in the ruck and around the ground, Tom Robertson belies his light frame and experience by standing tall in defence, and Brad Couch?s hardness at the contest. Throw in Gavin Kelm and Jason Weir?s experience and ball finding ability and the Saints will give the Eagles a real headache. What the Saints don?t have is the spirit the Eagles display for the full 120 minutes. No matter what the situation, the Eagles will go all day, and fight hard, something that has been evident in all their games this season. The Eagles appear to be better served for class with Jason and Clayton Hinkley, Greig, Cheney and Peters? boys Lincoln and Nick. This should enable them to get over the line by 15 points.

GO YOU EAGLES:cool:

Destination A Grade
9 May 2006, 14:59
Is there any truth to the rumour that Brent Tuckey is about to, or has signed with Stawell??

Grimmett
9 May 2006, 16:17
Is there any truth to the rumour that Brent Tuckey is about to, or has signed with Stawell??

Stawell have been trying to get him cleared from South Adelaide in the SANFL since the start of the year. He signed a two year contract at the start of 2005 and the Panthers will not relinquish their rights to him for the second year of that deal.
Tuckey claims they did not satisfy their contractual obligations. Something along the lines of not finding his partner a suitable job as agreed is the whisper.
The other strong rumour is that there are two contracts in play. The one lodged with the SANFL for salary cap purposes and the one that Tuckey and South really signed off on.
The strong rumour from Stawell is that they have in fact given up trying to get him as South Adelaide are prepared to take the issue to court and the Warriors are not keen to spend money in that manner.

ringo1
9 May 2006, 16:25
I was wondering how Jason Weir goes-i think he plays for horsham and could be a/c-used to play at Nth Ballarat a few years ago.

Grimmett
9 May 2006, 16:40
I was wondering how Jason Weir goes-i think he plays for horsham and could be a/c-used to play at Nth Ballarat a few years ago.

Plays like a bull at a gate. Crash and bash. Not much polish to his game. Wears a helmet these days cos of how he approaches things I think.

Warrack Eagles
10 May 2006, 10:44
We play the saints this weekend then ill tell ya how he goes, Gavin Kelm is a gun!!!

Jock Clark 2
10 May 2006, 15:20
LUKE Rosa in Golden Square's best again, Grimmett.
The Dogs belted Eaglehawk 11.9 to zip in the 3rd quarter after conceding a four-goal deficit at half-tinme,
Advertiser scribes here described the turnaround as one of the most amazing in BFL history. U may have read the yarn on-line already.
So Rosa must be getting closer to consideration by the inter-league selectors.
My missus is accompanying me, Grimmett, just as she did in May last year to Mt Gambier.
Have already booked in at a Barooga accommodation spot and looking forward to 2 1/2 excellent days !!

ringo1
10 May 2006, 16:07
Thanks for that Grimmet!:thumbsu:

Grimmett
10 May 2006, 17:00
Cheers Jocko. Hadn't read the report but have now on the back of your advice. Heck of a game by the Square it seems. Hell, heck of a game in general. Are the Hawks finals material also?

DOCKERS
10 May 2006, 21:06
how much will ararat lose by this weekend? those guys suck:thumbsd:

Jock Clark 2
11 May 2006, 13:13
MOST pundits would have slipped Hawks in their Top 5's back in March, Grimmett.
Not so sure if they still would. Eaglehawk has slipped to 7th on the ladder and there could be some internal bickering out there. Some of the troops not happy about match payments ....their own and the $$$$$ paid to others.
Kain Robins started off like the Michelsen medal favourite but has been tagged out of play since Rd. 2 and has barely had a possession.
Losing 3 quality midfielders in the off-season didn't do them much good, either.

Grimmett
11 May 2006, 17:42
how much will ararat lose by this weekend? those guys suck:thumbsd:

Poor attempt. You'll need to bring better bait than that to hook me. :)

Warrack Eagles
12 May 2006, 15:48
Anyone Got Tips For Tomorrows Round???:d

Andyt30
13 May 2006, 20:21
Warrack Eagles 21.7:133 d Horsham Saints 12.7.79 by 54 pts
Horsham Demons 31.16:202 d Stawell 17.12=114 by 88pts
Ararat Gason Rats 12.11:83 D Minyip/Murtoa 10.8:68 by 18 pts
Horsham United 16. 8:104 D Nhill Tigers 10.10:70 by 34pts
what a big rebound by the Eagles and MM lost to Ararat

roaring tiger
15 May 2006, 22:18
Grimmett,

Any big name players to already make themselves unavilable for interleague duties this week. How is the side going to shape up. I still think The murray league on there home turf will be hard to stop?

Any surprise selections for the wfl interleague side this year??

It will be interesting to see if Michael Stevens brother of Anthony who plays for Mulwala plays this week. Has been out injured.

Warrack Eagles
16 May 2006, 13:45
Any Thought on this weeks rounds (Dean) :D

Andyt30
16 May 2006, 19:42
Dimboola V Horsham dees by 80pts
United v Minyip-Murtoa united by 40 pts
Ararat v Saints Saints by 15pts
Nhill v Stawell Stawell by 20pts
Eagles bye
Eagles will want United to belt the Burras by 30+ to mess up burras %
then after Interleague Minyip/Murtoa tavels to Horsham
and warrack v Stawell, a Must win as week after is against Horsham
minyip/murtoa v Nhill
so some good games coming up next few weeks before and after Interleague
warrack should at least win against the Warriors

bossco
18 May 2006, 19:57
Just Interested to know roughly how much money a bloke like Peter MacFarlane would be getting paid at Dimboola?

roaring tiger
18 May 2006, 20:33
Just Interested to know roughly how much money a bloke like Peter MacFarlane would be getting paid at Dimboola?

would of thought around about $800-$1000 per game especially after winning the leagues thooey medal last year.

Rumours are that dimmy are paying out heaps of money again this year. Maybe even as high as 70 grand. I hear from a good source that dimmy are close to signing a qulaity centre half back and another tall forward.

roaring tiger
18 May 2006, 21:16
I think for country footy to keep going in the wimmera area there needs to be a majopr restructure of both the horsham and district and wimmera leagues. I suggest there should be just a wimmera league that has a division 1 and a division 2 section. Clubs that play off in the grand final in div 2 would go up the next year to div 1. The bottom 2 sides in div 1 would go go down to div 2. With a restructure i would of thought there would be a great chance to attract a lot of new clubs.

Div 1
Horsham demons
horsham saints
horsham united
ararat
stawell
nhill
warrack eagles
dimboola
minyip murtoa
beulah
donald
st arnaud

Div 2
Kaniva leeor
edenhope apsley
harrow balmoral
kalkee
stawell swifts
great wetern
pimpinio
laharum
natimuk
rupanyup
nar-quanny
taylors lake
jeparit rainbow

Andyt30
18 May 2006, 23:12
for a start Beulah or Donald would have to change their Jumper both royal Blue both with a monogram, if that ever happend

would need to get more goal umpires to cover them all we only got 10 & a few emergancy fill ins who are mainly field umpires
maby offical for div 1 and Club goalies div 2

Warrack Eagles
19 May 2006, 10:00
I think for country footy to keep going in the wimmera area there needs to be a majopr restructure of both the horsham and district and wimmera leagues. I suggest there should be just a wimmera league that has a division 1 and a division 2 section. Clubs that play off in the grand final in div 2 would go up the next year to div 1. The bottom 2 sides in div 1 would go go down to div 2. With a restructure i would of thought there would be a great chance to attract a lot of new clubs.

Div 1
Horsham demons
horsham saints
horsham united
ararat
stawell
nhill
warrack eagles
dimboola
minyip murtoa
beulah
donald
st arnaud

Div 2
Kaniva leeor
edenhope apsley
harrow balmoral
kalkee
stawell swifts
great wetern
pimpinio
laharum
natimuk
rupanyup
nar-quanny
taylors lake
jeparit rainbow

I reckon thats not a bad idea sounds pretty good to me as long as eagles can stay up in that div 1pool should be good!!

journeyman
19 May 2006, 15:33

Div 1
Horsham demons
horsham saints
horsham united
ararat
stawell
nhill
warrack eagles
dimboola
minyip murtoa
beulah
donald
st arnaud

Div 2
Kaniva leeor
edenhope apsley
harrow balmoral
kalkee
stawell swifts
great wetern
pimpinio
laharum
natimuk
rupanyup
nar-quanny
taylors lake
jeparit rainbow

You're right Roaring Tiger that there needs to be a major shake up in the Wimmera-Mallee area for footy to survive. At theminute there are three ok competitions (WFL, MFL and NCFL) and the Horsham dist ispretty ordinary. They've got to do something before the VCFL step in as they did a pretty poor job of restructuring in the Goulburn-Murray region.

The Wimmera League needs at least 10 clubs. Donald and St Arnaud would be there first targets and maybe Beulah but they are a fair way from Ararat. I don't think it makes much sense to have the Nth Central and Mallee Leagues with only 7 teams each.
There are also just too many clubs in the region for the population. It's hard for clubs to let go but there needs to be mergers.

Andyt30
19 May 2006, 18:13
Ararart & Stawell wouldn't wanna travel up to Beulah they probly would go else where if that happend their excuses would be Beulahs too Far to Travel ;)

Grimmett
23 May 2006, 00:35
Dimboola V Horsham dees by 80pts
United v Minyip-Murtoa united by 40 pts
Ararat v Saints Saints by 15pts
Nhill v Stawell Stawell by 20pts
Eagles bye
Eagles will want United to belt the Burras by 30+ to mess up burras %
then after Interleague Minyip/Murtoa tavels to Horsham
and warrack v Stawell, a Must win as week after is against Horsham
minyip/murtoa v Nhill
so some good games coming up next few weeks before and after Interleague
warrack should at least win against the Warriors

First tip was pretty good Andy. Most tipsters thought Horsham by a small margin or even a Dimmy win but the 90 points belting the Demons dished out was only just past your selection.
However you went downhill from there old boy as Minyip-Murtoa, Ararat and Nhill all got up and knocked over your tip.
Keep at it old mate cos the seven sides not named Horsham or Dimboola are evenly balanced it would seem and all are capable of beating each other on any given day.

Gotta say I'm enjoying the lofty heights of third on the ladder for the Rats while I can. :thumbsu:

Andyt30
23 May 2006, 13:53
ya can't be 100% perfect all the time like Ararat & Minyip murtoa have up and down days i knew i'd get Horsham i'd probly get them right all games
i goal umpired at Ararart saints had their chances they were missing Josh Burgess if he played they could have won
Saints missed some pretty easy shots for goal
most were pressure kicks
the Kids on the Scoreboard were hopless we warned them do it properly or get someone else to do it they were wrong all day

brilliantnick
23 May 2006, 16:25
I can see where you are all coming from with this new league idea, but think about it. Where would Aarat and Stawell go? no where to go. Jumpers are the least of the worries for Donald and Beulah Andyt30....you egg. If there was a league with divisions like you are all raving on about, it is only going to encourage clubs to do what they have to do to survive because there is no competition from other leagues because under this proposal there is only one league, players wouldn't be able to swap (unless they are that unloyal). Just dont think it would work. Towns have to work together to keep the sporting teams. It should be a joint contribution from local business and sporting club managements to work together to attract and retain players through jobs and incentives other wise we are going to have 3 or 4 leagues (including wimmera) all of the pacetic standard that the mallee league is showing us.

TURTLE6
23 May 2006, 21:05
I can see where you are all coming from with this new league idea, but think about it. Where would Aarat and Stawell go? no where to go. Jumpers are the least of the worries for Donald and Beulah Andyt30....you egg. If there was a league with divisions like you are all raving on about, it is only going to encourage clubs to do what they have to do to survive because there is no competition from other leagues because under this proposal there is only one league, players wouldn't be able to swap (unless they are that unloyal). Just dont think it would work. Towns have to work together to keep the sporting teams. It should be a joint contribution from local business and sporting club managements to work together to attract and retain players through jobs and incentives other wise we are going to have 3 or 4 leagues (including wimmera) all of the pacetic standard that the mallee league is showing us. Am not sure if you are the man to talk about loyalty. If you are a loyal man why are you not travelling back and playing for your beloved warrack eagles? Maybe this proposal would be good it would bring back good old fashion morals probably not to high on your agenda though.

Grimmett
23 May 2006, 23:30
Ouch!

Riewoldt12
24 May 2006, 11:03
How does the raging bull, Jason Weir, go in the Wimmera league. Was a star at Echuca United and in Ballarat, but sometimes went a bit too hard. Seen him knock out his own player before, because the poor bloke got into his way as he came bursting through.
One of the nicest blokes I have had the pleasure of meeting, though.

journeyman
24 May 2006, 14:42
Not much talk on here about Horsham's flogging of Dimmy on weekend. Will any team get close?
Apparently they had Penny, Wright and two blokes that got called up to play Rebels (I think Ross and Adlington) out.

Dumsney is also not far away and I've heard of reliable source that Skuzz is starting to get keen.

Their dominance probably not good for the league.

Also, after having a look at Wimmera inter league side, I reckon they might struggle at Barooga.
Thoughts???

Jock Clark 2
24 May 2006, 16:42
:thumbsu: GRIMMETT -- Luke Rosa added to BFL team. Big blokes Duff-Tytler (Sri Lankan ethnicity, plays 4 Gisborne) and C'maine ruckman Guy Marshall along with former Ben. Pioneer Wes Pye (G. Square) are all out injured.
Bendigo coach Brett Fitzpatrick mentions Rosa's versatility to play down back or in attack in today's Addy.
You may have logged on and read it. Along with Rosa, Bendigo's best in 2005 at Mt. Gambier Leigh Rees is another added to squad.
Now at South Ben. Rees suffered a season-ending injury last year in inter-league. Bet South officials don't want a repeat at Barooga.
Final 28 named after training at Eaglehawk tonight.
Bendigo vs. Wimmera on Sunday morning.

Grimmett
24 May 2006, 23:29
Good to hear Jock. If you blokes didn't want him I was considering a 'league of origin' claim on Rosa. I'll be keen to hear results from the Bendigo/Wimmera clash.
Disagree with journeyman about the WFL struggling at Barooga. Seems as if all four leagues are having issues getting top-strength squads on the park. I know the Big W boys will be keen and probably underrated by the opposition.
Hoping for a good showing.

roaring tiger
25 May 2006, 20:29
Not much talk on here about Horsham's flogging of Dimmy on weekend. Will any team get close?
Apparently they had Penny, Wright and two blokes that got called up to play Rebels (I think Ross and Adlington) out.

Dumsney is also not far away and I've heard of reliable source that Skuzz is starting to get keen.

Their dominance probably not good for the league.

Also, after having a look at Wimmera inter league side, I reckon they might struggle at Barooga.
Thoughts???

Journeyman i think your on the right track about your old league. I think they will win it easily with bendigo there main challengers. They have a great forward linw with guy campbell, duane hueston, phil guthrie, jason sanderson. Ex kangaroo michael stevens is also playing. Big raps on defender turned on baller david farrell from toc as well. Ex dimboola player luke eldridge is also in the side. Will be interesting to see how he goes against some of his old teammates. I also see that the old marvel damien sexton is playing to journeyman. Did you every play against him? Good luck to the wimmera league though, i think they will need it.

journeyman
26 May 2006, 16:00
Journeyman i think your on the right track about your old league. I think they will win it easily with bendigo there main challengers. They have a great forward linw with guy campbell, duane hueston, phil guthrie, jason sanderson. Ex kangaroo michael stevens is also playing. Big raps on defender turned on baller david farrell from toc as well. Ex dimboola player luke eldridge is also in the side. Will be interesting to see how he goes against some of his old teammates. I also see that the old marvel damien sexton is playing to journeyman. Did you every play against him? Good luck to the wimmera league though, i think they will need it.

Sexton was out at Blighty for about 4 years. He would be one of most decorated footballers going around. He is a ball magnet.

The home side in the these carnivals is always in the best position to win them. I'm tipping the Murray League. The Wimmera league on paper doesn't look as strong but they still have Carr, Grieg, Farr, Bligh who are (although I have read your earlier post about Farr Roaring Tiger) as good as any players going around.

Grimmett
28 May 2006, 00:34
Dale Bligh withdrew on the eve of the competition.

Wimmera currently at 1-1 before playing Bendigo tomorrow morning. Could finish anywhere from first to fourth depending on results.

Andyt30
28 May 2006, 15:36
Yesterday results Seniors
Wimmera FL 14.3 (87) v Central Murray FL 10.7 (67)
Wimmera FL 4.10 (34) v Murray FL 8.7 (55)

Under 18's
Wimmera FL 5.4 (34) v Central Murray FL 6.5 (41)
Wimmera FL 4.6 (30) v Murray FL 2.2 (14)

Today
Bendigo FL 15.4 (94) v Wimmera FL 8.3 (51)

Under 18's
Bendigo FL 5.4 (34) v Wimmera FL 3.2 (20)

Bendigo only team to win all 3 games Senior Ladder
» Bendigo FL 12
» Murray FL 4
» Wimmera FL 4
» Central Murray FL 4

Under18s Ladder
» Bendigo FL 12
» Central Murray FL 8
» Wimmera FL 4
» Murray FL 0

Bendigo should win it fairly easy by the Looks

Andyt30
30 May 2006, 00:53
I tipp this weekend

Warrack Eagles be far to big and strong for Stawell
the Eagles are on the Rise will make the 8 if they win and Horsham beats
Minyip Murtoa by a good margin
Dimboola Travel to Coughlan park to Play The Horsham Saints
Dimboola should bounce back to win by 30 pts
Ararat to make it 4 in a row when they will down Horsham Digger at Alexander Oval
Minyip Murtoa Travels to City oval to Play top of the Ladder Horsham who got some injurys to Farr, Johns & Bunworth both coaches out
I tip Horsham, by 30 pts Minyip Murtoa will make em earn it
5th Minyip Murtoa 101.28% 12
6th Warrack Eagles 93.88% 12
a must win for the Eagles and a Horsham must Win

Warrack got a chance to move up the ladder if results go their way horsham wins and either ararat or United wins hope the Eagles makes the Finals this year in all 4 grades be a first never happend when we were Brim
and yet to happen under the warrack Eagles Eagles got abig test in the under 17's when we Play Horsham, , stawell who are just below us we have to win that game then Dimboola a winnable game dimmy just won 1 game
hope to win next 2 before we play Horsham :thumbsu:

roaring tiger
30 May 2006, 20:28
I tipp this weekend

Warrack Eagles be far to big and strong for Stawell
the Eagles are on the Rise will make the 8 if they win and Horsham beats
Minyip Murtoa by a good margin
Dimboola Travel to Coughlan park to Play The Horsham Saints
Dimboola should bounce back to win by 30 pts
Ararat to make it 4 in a row when they will down Horsham Digger at Alexander Oval
Minyip Murtoa Travels to City oval to Play top of the Ladder Horsham who got some injurys to Farr, Johns & Bunworth both coaches out
I tip Horsham, by 30 pts Minyip Murtoa will make em earn it
5th Minyip Murtoa 101.28% 12
6th Warrack Eagles 93.88% 12
a must win for the Eagles and a Horsham must Win

Warrack got a chance to move up the ladder if results go their way horsham wins and either ararat or United wins hope the Eagles makes the Finals this year in all 4 grades be a first never happend when we were Brim
and yet to happen under the warrack Eagles Eagles got abig test in the under 17's when we Play Horsham, , stawell who are just below us we have to win that game then Dimboola a winnable game dimmy just won 1 game
hope to win next 2 before we play Horsham :thumbsu:

Would agree andy30 about warrak making the top 8 as thats only one spot higher than last place which will probably go to either horsham saints or stawell.
Horsham to flog minyip murtoa by about 80 points,

United to beat ararat by 47 points

Dimboola to flog the saints by 100 points

and in the match of the round warrack to beat stawell by 5 points.

Andyt30
30 May 2006, 22:46
Roaring Tiger be intesting to see whos got it right or close to it :)
i'm a goal Umpire for the wimmera football Umpires association
last week i did Ararat v Saints, and saints had their chances to Win
missed easy shots most were pressure kicks
Ararat margins been 24 pts 15 pts & 2 pts
Ararat are hard to beat on wide alexander Oval first half of the rats & Saints game was sloggy no one seem to take control their was some fluky goals at least it didnt rain which is unpredictable down there ,
i'll either be at city oval, Coughlan park, Alexander oval or Anzac Park
Warrack has 2 home games, next Week They Play Dimboola at Brim
what should be a good game
Warrack under 17's should win next 2 be good if they make it 3 premierships in a row the test is against unbeaten Horsham who' on top in all Grades undefeated we beat Horsham Last year at Anzac Park
Horsham would love some Revenge they kept us Goaless first Quarter then
warrack hit back i did the under 17;s Grand final
so this year hope to do the reserves then Seniors next Year :)
which is more important then any other game through the Year
we do all grades in the finals not H & A just Seniors

Riewoldt12
31 May 2006, 13:02
Jason Weir? Can someone let me know how he is going for the Horsham Saints, who sound like they are struggling.

Warrack Eagles
2 Jun 2006, 09:56
Any Tips for the weekend people!!! Deeno you got any for me?:D

DOCKERS
2 Jun 2006, 14:01
Any Tips for the weekend people!!! Deeno you got any for me?:D

yeah palski, tom crabtree for the demons has arguably the biggest head in the league!:thumbsu: :D

Warrack Eagles
2 Jun 2006, 14:58
yeah palski, tom crabtree for the demons has arguably the biggest head in the league!:thumbsu: :D

Hahahahaha Fu*k Yeah its huge man

Andyt30
2 Jun 2006, 21:23
If warrack wins and Minyip/Murtoa and Ararat Loose we could end up 3rd and hope Dimboola looses to Saints, then we could go for 2nd spot if we beat Dimmy next week 2 important wins before we play Horsham a big test lets Put pressure on Top 3 sides :) especally Horsham in all grades make sure we get a double chance in all grades :)

The said Barooga was a Disgrace very poor Hospitality and they had to change in tents and were made to play on gound 2 not ground 1

Andyt30
5 Jun 2006, 19:31
Horsham Saints 9.10 (64) v Dimboola 29.22 (196)
Warrack Eagles 18.6 (114) v Stawell 16.11 (107)
Horsham Demons 24.16 (160) v Minyip Murtoa 9.6 (60)
Ararat 13.10 (88) v Horsham Diggers 10.13 (73)
Nhill & District Sporting Club Bye

Warrack score on Win News and Wimmera MAil Time is In Correct god knows where they got that from :thumbsd:

fifth quarter
6 Jun 2006, 13:50
grimmett --- any repacussions in the local paper or on local radio about wimmeras poor inter-leag form at barooga
they only won 1 game and bendigo gave them a pizzling in the third game on the sunday
did the league officials or maybe the coaching staff have much to say when they got back

FOOZ
6 Jun 2006, 17:37
can someone please tell me who clinton midgley is playing for this year and how is the young lad going??

Warrack Eagles
7 Jun 2006, 10:12
Playing for Minyip murtoa playing ok footy carved in the interlegue i think:D

Andyt30
7 Jun 2006, 12:26
NorthCentral/MAllee Shocking performance makes Wimmera look good
they got smashed in all games ;)

X Man
7 Jun 2006, 13:11
NorthCentral/MAllee Shocking performance makes Wimmera look good
they got smashed in all games ;)

Yeah you not wrong there andy they did get pumped. Interesting to see that ex Wimmera players Jay Tucker and Josh Mibus were among the best in 2 out of 3 games.
Wimmera complained about getting changed in a tent, North Central Mallee players have said that there accomodation was the same as having to camp the night out in a tent it was that bad. Would have thought if you were representing the league you should get accomadation that is of a higher standard than what they had.

Grimmett
7 Jun 2006, 16:06
grimmett --- any repacussions in the local paper or on local radio about wimmeras poor inter-leag form at barooga
they only won 1 game and bendigo gave them a pizzling in the third game on the sunday
did the league officials or maybe the coaching staff have much to say when they got back

No repercussions about the performance. I think our league officials went knowing that we didn't have a full strength squad capable of winning it all. All teams were pizzled by Bendigo to some extent which if you have seen the posts by Greenman in the Bendigo thread is clearly because they are a superior league and the other three leagues were 'two bit district' leagues, according to him.
Injuries over the course of the weekend didn't help the cause and several U/18 players had to help out. I personally think Pool C is about right for the WFL currently.
Marc Greig, former Victorian rep from the VFL and current coach of Warrack Eagles, has blasted the organisation of the weekend however. He felt it was disrespectful and disgraceful that Wimmera was forced to play all their games on the No.2 oval and to get changed in a tent.

fifth quarter
7 Jun 2006, 21:32
on central Vic. radio this evening luke rosa said the wimmera boys had mentioned to him they had to play all 3 games at barooga on the number two oval
they had to change for all games in a tent .... pretty ordinary scheuling he sed

Grimmett
7 Jun 2006, 23:21
The Wimmera boys were happy to see Luke over the weekend as a former regular with the Big W. Big week for the family with litle brother Matt being announced as the AFL Rising Star for this week.

Central Vic radio? Has a footy show on it I guess. What's the range of the broadcast, might not make it to Ararat.

Rat_attack
8 Jun 2006, 12:55
Good to see on the weekend 2 of ararat's favourite sons were back playing in Turner and Gibson, Turned kicked 6 and helped steer the rats to a great victory over United while Gibson was a little quiet coming back from Injury and only playing 2 games for the season.

Jock Clark 2
8 Jun 2006, 13:58
YEP, Grimmett, 89.5 on the FM band.
Started life as 3CCC, then call sign was altered to Triple C and now beams to the punters as the Fresh FM.
Wed. nites the 5-7 pm show is One Week At A Time. Last 2 Wednesdays Terry Wallace and Rodney Eade were the marquee guests. Other interviewees include Bendigo, Loddon Valley, Maryboro-C'maine and Heathcote District League personalities. Lukie Rosa was the 2nd guest on Wed. this week, just before Rocket Eade.
Saturday mornings the breakfast show starts at 7.30 with the Bendigo juniors and goes through to 11 am. The 8.30 - 10 am segment is BFL. The Heathcote league segment rounds it out from 10.30 - 11 am.

geofferysmith
8 Jun 2006, 13:58
watch for min/murtoa to bounce back in the upcoming weeks. look for young gun bowen thomas to fire and forward flanker jordan ruwoldt to produce the goods. ruwoldt has been working hard in the gym recently and with more match fitness you could see some more goals coming.

gault
8 Jun 2006, 14:05
watch for min/murtoa to bounce back in the upcoming weeks. look for young gun bowen thomas to fire and forward flanker jordan ruwoldt to produce the goods. ruwoldt has been working hard in the gym recently and with more match fitness you could see some more goals coming.

i totally agree geoffry have heard Jordan has settled into uni now and back in the gym and on the track. he'll kick 40 goals from now to the end of the season

roosta07
8 Jun 2006, 14:15
i totally agree geoffry have heard Jordan has settled into uni now and back in the gym and on the track. he'll kick 40 goals from now to the end of the season

any chance of them trying to get young Brad Vallance on board from Donald for the remainder of the season? that would surely help the guys out

geofferysmith
8 Jun 2006, 14:47
any chance of them trying to get young Brad Vallance on board from Donald for the remainder of the season? that would surely help the guys out

dont think so roosta. think he's pretty happy playing at donald under the guidance of the fagina (moot). on a good thing there. undefeated atm. things are finally looking good for them apparently. don't quote me on that tho
:D

monger123
8 Jun 2006, 14:51
dont think so roosta. think he's pretty happy playing at donald under the guidance of the fagina (moot). on a good thing there. undefeated atm. things are finally looking good for them apparently. don't quote me on that tho
:D

brad vallance was one of the best juniors i saw running around a few years back... any side would be all the better for it if they had him running around

geofferysmith
8 Jun 2006, 14:56
with ruwoldt on board with the burras and at uni has the min/mutoa board looked at recruiting from uni of ballarat. some good young talent going around. the likes of big man stew broussard who is a key player with ultima this year would surley follow for the right price. would be a great back up ruck for them to give hinchy a rest and free up walshy to play up ground where he does his best work. just a suggestion to think about guys...:thumbsu: ruwoldt for prime minister 06. *GO DANGERMOUSE!*

Warrack Eagles
8 Jun 2006, 15:00
I thought Rooy Played half back for mm ?? Not this year then,

monger123
8 Jun 2006, 15:01
broussard worst footballer to pull on a footy jumper...

roosta07
8 Jun 2006, 15:02
with ruwoldt on board with the burras and at uni has the min/mutoa board looked at recruiting from uni of ballarat. some good young talent going around. the likes of big man stew broussard who is a key player with ultima this year would surley follow for the right price. would be a great back up ruck for them to give hinchy a rest and free up walshy to play up ground where he does his best work. just a suggestion to think about guys...:thumbsu: ruwoldt for prime minister 06. *GO DANGERMOUSE!*

far from a key player.... price doesnt matter, plays for the love of the game and the jumper... eat a d.i.c.k monger

geofferysmith
8 Jun 2006, 15:09
broussard worst footballer to pull on a footy jumper...

BIG call monger. has played seniors since he was 5. i hear he was born as big as he is now. could slot into most teams with ease. a few premierships under his belt too, not too many can say that at his age!!!!!!

roosta07
8 Jun 2006, 15:11
BIG call monger. has played seniors since he was 5. i hear he was born as big as he is now. could slot into most teams with ease. a few premierships under his belt too, not too many can say that at his age!!!!!!

wow, thats amazing...

Warrack Eagles
8 Jun 2006, 15:13
You people are so angry!!! wont matter Eagles will knock mm off next any way lol :confused:

gault
8 Jun 2006, 16:44

i agree very big call. Brousard got 2 best on's in the uni football team which had a star studded line up such as Matt dwyer and Brendan peace (both O&M and Ballarat FL interleague players) , Jeff Smith Golden Square on baller and many more to name. i think the big stew really show his stuff in a quality side and with great coaching he could prove his worth at higher levels and demand the money he deserves. he's a top bloke to so would be great around a football club

TURTLE6
8 Jun 2006, 22:13
i agree very big call. Brousard got 2 best on's in the uni football team which had a star studded line up such as Matt dwyer and Brendan peace (both O&M and Ballarat FL interleague players) , Jeff Smith Golden Square on baller and many more to name. i think the big stew really show his stuff in a quality side and with great coaching he could prove his worth at higher levels and demand the money he deserves. he's a top bloke to so would be great around a football clubRes footy is **** and players shouldn't ask for money they should be grateful that clubs offer them money unless you guys all know which tree it is growing off. Peace is a f*&^ing awesome player and you can't even put broussard in the same category. Peace is probably one of the best players in the Ballarat football league. Dwyer only looks good if players make him look good. What good is a sheep dog without a master? Think it is about time to think about what you guys are saying. Rooy for prime minister awesome kid but maybe too quiet. Broussard is good don't get me wrong but comparisons should be kept real.

Andyt30
8 Jun 2006, 23:15
I heard a rumor a fellow umpire heard on Win News Ararat Wants Out of the Wimmera next year they wanna go to the Ballarat Football league has anyone seen Win news will watch win Late news don't wanna end up with 8 clubs don;t wanna go backwards hope Donald and st.arnaud eventually leaves North Central and come our way better competition for em give em more competition
wimmera's a far better competition more likly bee around alot longer then north Central

Grimmett
8 Jun 2006, 23:44
WIN TV came to Ararat today to interview coach David Law for a preview of the big derby with Stawell on Sunday. David loves to talk and got right into it while they were filming. He threw out his hypothetical theory that Ararat would be better off in the Ballarat FL long term as many of our former players living, working and/or studying in Ballarat, Melbourne and Geelong would be able to return to or continue playing for the Rats.
WIN TV cut all references to the Sunday game and turned the news piece into a sensationalist report of "Ararat wants to join the BFL" and rushed back to Ballarat to interview BFL CEO Rod Ward.
Rod Ward rang Barry McTaggart to warn him what was about to be broadcast and advise him that no approaches ahd been made by either Ararat or the BFL over the issue.
McTaggart rang me and I was able to advise him that it is not currently on the agenda at Ararat. We had a board meeting on Tuesday and it was not discussed. Relocation has not been discussed by an Ararat board meeting for at least five years since the Hampden FL sounded the club out unofficially.

Is David Law on the right track though?
Personally I think that if nothing is done to strengthen the health of the Wimmera FL and some of it's struggling teams in the next few years then he is right. During my time at the club as a player the playing group was asked to consider a move to the BFL on three occasions and each time they voted to support the idea. Each time the committee backed out when the crunch came as the old timers put pressure on about all the history and tradition of Ararat and Wimmera football. I acknowledge that Ararat would struggle initially if they joined the BFL but currently they would beat both Bacchus Marsh and Sebastopol. In time the club would become stronger and competitive. The distances travelled in the league would be no worse than currently put up with in the Wimmera and the roads are probably better. The opportunity would also exist for the club to attract Wimmera talent to play for them in the BFL while still working in the region.
I'd be nervous if I was a Wimmera commissioner because every time this gets raised in Ararat it becomes a seriously discussed issue and it will only need for an amenable committee to be in control and it will happen. While clubs further north throw huge amounts of cash at imports in the vain pursuit of Horsham they don't consider the full ramifications of their policies. The locals get squeezed into the reserves or out altogether. When they leave they take their passion for the club with them. The imports eventually leave because they get a better offer elsewhere or the money dries up. Then with less local support the club struggles, folds or drops down to the district oleague. Then the Wimmera FL is jeopardised. These issues make Ararat consider their long term future. Rest assured that although this issue was not on the agenda at the last board meeting, David Law has voiced an opinion on an ongoing issue for the Rats. It will become a bigger story as the season progresses.
Stay tuned folks cos this one is bound to get interesting.

Andyt30
9 Jun 2006, 00:38
& Plus the would need aprovement from all other 8 clubs and the League
their been talk of Ararat wanted to go to BFL for last few years
it would be more benifical for as you said Grimett less travel for the Ararat Players located in Ballarat half would have to travel a hell of a long way
leagues around the area needs a revamp or face alot of clubs merging or folding like in horsham district, eg Natimuk getting belted week in and week
imagin ararat would have to travel to Subury, Melton. Bacchus Marsh
defently make sence for Ballararat or melbourne Ararat based players
who rather travel Ballarat way rather then to Horshasm,Nhill Warrack etc

Warrack Eagles
9 Jun 2006, 11:07
ANY TIPS THIS WEEKEND Deano!!!!!:rolleyes:

Andyt30
9 Jun 2006, 11:22
Minyip-Murtoa V Nhill (Minyip-Murtoa by 30 pts
Warrack Eagles v Dimboola (Eagles by 10 pts )
Sunday
Stawell v Ararat Rats by 45 pts
Horsham Saints v Horsham, demons by 100pts\

Horsham will be way to big and strong for Horsham saints
johns will kick a dozen or more :thumbsu:

roaring tiger
9 Jun 2006, 17:50
Minyip-Murtoa V Nhill (Minyip-Murtoa by 30 pts
Warrack Eagles v Dimboola (Eagles by 10 pts )
Sunday
Stawell v Ararat Rats by 45 pts
Horsham Saints v Horsham, demons by 100pts\

Horsham will be way to big and strong for Horsham saints
johns will kick a dozen or more :thumbsu:

I think its about time ararat leaves the Wimmera league anyway. There is nothing worse than having to go to ararat and play in the cold wet and most times foggy conditions. I think football in the wimmera should be made up of 2 divisions anyway.

Tips for the weekend:

In an upset Nhill to beat Minyip Murtoa by 10 points,
Dimboola to beat warrack eagles by 100 points,
Ararat by 20 points over stawell
and Dimboola by 100 points if conditions are fine. 15 goals to johnnys

Andyt30
9 Jun 2006, 20:10
i'll goal umpiring here at Brim Tomorrow , after what Warrack did to Stawell don't be at all surprised if Warrack dosnt beat them i will post the score tomorrow night lets see whos correct ;) The Eagles always good on their old main oval still counting Brim as the main oval some of the eagles would have played for Brim before we merged with warrack, would would been lucky if they had a side today they were the ones who approached us
back end of 2000 we made the Mallee 2000 grand final and warracknabeal finished Last Brim & Warracknabeal never played in a grand final for their respective leagues in the same year if brim makes the finals warracknabeal woud lbeen near the Bottom and vice virsa

The kids up my end were a disgrace they were were a bunch of moorons when i was goal umpiring at warrack last week throwing stones at me so i put in a complaint to the club at ht i said next time that happens i'll get the central Umpire to STOP The Game and get them kicked out because thats dangrous how they like it if someone threw stones when their playing footy
they nearly copped one of their own players so hope they got a nice roasting i would have loved what our president said to them
We rate the supports, officials etc after that they be given a 2 they spoil it for everyone else

deano1
10 Jun 2006, 11:41
Here's an interesting article on the Wimmera league from the Age.
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/06/09/1149815318320.html
Demons cast spell over Wimmera league
Paul Daffey
June 10, 2006

THE return of former Richmond defender Scott Turner to his home-town club has injected life into the Wimmera Football League. Before last week's round, in which Turner kicked six goals in his first game for Ararat in 15 years, Wimmera fans would have been forgiven for losing interest.
Horsham Demons dominate to such an extent that country football followers are wondering whether the Demons should move into a stronger competition, such as the Ballarat league. After winning the past three premierships, the Demons this year are undefeated and have an average winning margin of 99 points.
Horsham Diggers, the Demons' co-tenant at the Horsham City Oval, have come closest to the Demons with a 74-point loss. Second-placed Dimboola lost by 90 points. While Dimboola has a healthy percentage of 176, due largely to its impressive band of recruits from Darwin, all teams below Dimboola have percentages of less than 100.
The key to Horsham Demons' dominance is strong administration and an emphasis on junior development. Being the oldest and strongest club in the biggest city in the region, they have a distinct advantage. Since falling over and almost dying a decade ago, the Demons have utilised that advantage.

Horsham, which is 300 kilometres from Melbourne, has a population of 14,000, far more than outlying towns. In theory, the three clubs from Horsham have an edge over clubs from smaller towns, especially Nhill, which is 75 kilometres along the Western Highway and unable to draw players to match its rivals.

Horsham Saints, until recently known as St Michael's Football Club, always have been in finals consideration since stepping up from the Horsham and District league in 1993, but this year find themselves at the bottom of the ladder.
The loss of key players to district-league clubs such as Harrow-Balmoral has denuded the Saints of talent.
The Diggers, until recently known as Horsham United, have lost key players to North Central league club Donald. Nonetheless, they should be able to mount a strong challenge for the finals.
The Diggers' main rivals for the finals appear to be Warrack Eagles, a recent merger of the Warracknabeal and Brim football clubs, and Minyip-Murtoa, which won three consecutive premierships after Minyip and Murtoa merged in 1995.
Eagles coach Marc Greig, a forward with North Ballarat for several years, lives in Ballarat. His assistants take training on Tuesday evenings but he drives more than 200 kilometres to take training on Thursdays.
Minyip-Murtoa pair Clint Midgley, a fast-leading full-forward, and midfielder John Kosch are among the competition's best players after returning this season to their home town club.
Kosch drives from Melbourne every weekend.
The league's southern-most clubs, Ararat and Stawell, care little about the rest of the competition. As two of football's fiercest rivals, their main concern is beating each other.
The pair play tomorrow at Stawell's Central Reserve, the home of the Stawell Gift, in a match that should be suitably rugged. Stawell, a regular finalist, is performing badly, while Ararat has improved greatly after winning a rare wooden spoon last season.
Former Richmond backman Scott Turner, 36, said before last weekend that he was especially looking forward to playing against Stawell. Such is the feeling engendered by a rivalry stretching back to the 1870s.

Andyt30
10 Jun 2006, 12:03
Roaring Tiger_ the conditions now is not freezing cold just nice and overcast so can't see warrack v Dimboola game be a high scoring game could be wrong ;) hope its goal shooting :D got 3 hours 20 for the weather to Improve cheers if we beat Dimboola & Rats loose we could end up in 3rd
unless Stawell causes a big upset Warrack will make Dimboola really Earn the 4 pts today

4ths Warrack 4.9=33 d Dimboola 3.3.=21 what a start for the day :)

it be good if all grades makes the Finals :)
could warrack under 17's play Horsham in consecutive Grandfinal :)
i'm sure Horsham would love to have a rematch
lets see who wins next week and again rd 18 could be a grand final preview :)

Andyt30
10 Jun 2006, 12:20
hope Warrack can do what anyother side couldn;t do and beat the Demons next week, Horshams due for a loss

Andyt30
10 Jun 2006, 19:01
Warrack v Dimboola

qt 0.2.2 7.3=45 (43pts)
ht 6.4.40 10.5.65 (25pts)
3qt 7.6.48 11.8.74 (26pts)

warrack Eagles 13.12=90 Lt Dimboola 18.10=118 (28pts)

Eagles Played very well that makes Horsham good :thumbsu:
at Least the Eagles didn't let it become a blow out they made Dimboola earn every goal their was at least 15 50 meter Penelties , 2 that resulted in eagles goals
it was a windy day favouring the North End Goals

w

roaring tiger
10 Jun 2006, 20:58
Well andyt30 you are one up in the tips mate as nhill got beat by the burras out minyip way. Very surprised by the dimboola eagles score line.
So was it dimboola giving away all the 50 meter penalaties? How did there new ruckman stephenson go?? I see he kicked 4 goals. I think he played for edenhope apsley a few years ago.
Is there 2 games tomorrow??

w[/quote]

Andyt30
10 Jun 2006, 23:04
well 2 of warrack goals were from 50's opposite end to me
dimmy wanted to fight more then win the game

at least we didn't get belted like dimmy did to The saints
proves were a top 5 side

tomorrow stawell v Ararat & Horsham Saints v Horsham
Warrack in the under 17's was walk in the park
Warrack Eagles 10.6 (66) v Dimboola 0.1 (1)

Grimmett
10 Jun 2006, 23:29
I think its about time ararat leaves the Wimmera league anyway. There is nothing worse than having to go to ararat and play in the cold wet and most times foggy conditions. I think football in the wimmera should be made up of 2 divisions anyway.

Fair enough roarin'.
Trips to Nhill are always a barrel of laughs in comparison, what with the wind, dust and partisan local support. [/sarcasm]
Will Nhill be in the second division when your grand plan comes to fruition? ;)

Good result for the entire league today with Warrack Eagles getting within five goals of Dimboola I reckon. Great to see one of the clubs promoting youth and development from within pushing the Roos and their imports to the limit.

Andyt30
11 Jun 2006, 01:19
also a dimmy Player got booked for striking a nice punch to the side of the warrack players head nearly knocked him clean out lucky he managed to finish the game,

roaring tiger
11 Jun 2006, 13:48
Fair enough roarin'.
Trips to Nhill are always a barrel of laughs in comparison, what with the wind, dust and partisan local support. [/sarcasm]
Will Nhill be in the second division when your grand plan comes to fruition? ;)

Good result for the entire league today with Warrack Eagles getting within five goals of Dimboola I reckon. Great to see one of the clubs promoting youth and development from within pushing the Roos and their imports to the limit.

Grimmett i would of thought Nhill would be in the second division. They have a huge off field problem within there committe. I think nhill are going to find it very difficult to remain in the wimmera league anyway. I hear from a good source that they are spending are fair bit of coin this year and for what benefit. They are still struggling.

The one thing nhill would have over ararat though grimmett would be that they can actually get a half decent crowd to a game. Ararat would have to have the worst following in the league.

Grimmett
12 Jun 2006, 00:01
Grimmett i would of thought Nhill would be in the second division. They have a huge off field problem within there committe. I think nhill are going to find it very difficult to remain in the wimmera league anyway. I hear from a good source that they are spending are fair bit of coin this year and for what benefit. They are still struggling.

The one thing nhill would have over ararat though grimmett would be that they can actually get a half decent crowd to a game. Ararat would have to have the worst following in the league.

Can't argue that except I reckon we might have United covered. As you are aware we are 1000 miles from anywhere in relation to the rest of the league so we have bugger all travelling support until finals. Once the other leagues and/or clubs in our area finish we have a quite healthy support base. Today's $4000 gate at Central Park was not purely Stawell locals dropping in for a look.

roaring tiger
12 Jun 2006, 21:11
Can't argue that except I reckon we might have United covered. As you are aware we are 1000 miles from anywhere in relation to the rest of the league so we have bugger all travelling support until finals. Once the other leagues and/or clubs in our area finish we have a quite healthy support base. Today's $4000 gate at Central Park was not purely Stawell locals dropping in for a look.

Would agree that you have a bigger supporter base than united. I just can't believe how they keep on attracting players to their club and keep on forking out the coin. Would of thought united are in the same if not worse position than nhill when looking at there clubs long term future. And how long can dimmy keep on forking out all the coin? Not for to much longer i would think. If dimmy doesn't win the flag this year it will have missed the boat i would think.

monger123
13 Jun 2006, 01:23
Res footy is **** and players shouldn't ask for money they should be grateful that clubs offer them money unless you guys all know which tree it is growing off. Peace is a f*&^ing awesome player and you can't even put broussard in the same category. Peace is probably one of the best players in the Ballarat football league. Dwyer only looks good if players make him look good. What good is a sheep dog without a master? Think it is about time to think about what you guys are saying. Rooy for prime minister awesome kid but maybe too quiet. Broussard is good don't get me wrong but comparisons should be kept real.

where have you seen Broussard play turtle6? he get a kick? good luck at uni games too mate...

Andyt30
13 Jun 2006, 15:36
The Gates at Brim & Anzac Park are from rd 1

Rd 1 n/a(Anzac Park
Rd 4 $2200 ( Brim)
Rd 7 $2315 (Anzac Park)
Rd 8 $2665 (Brim)

Warrack coach Marc Greig was out ill so hope warrack pushes Horsham all the Way Horshams due for a loss
Well warrack did water the ground wasn't dry its was soft when i was walking on it when i was goal umpiring it was soft i'd rather play on that then a rock hard surface soft or hard ya can still get Injured so theirs no win win situation all grounds are rock hard early in the year :thumbsu:

TURTLE6
13 Jun 2006, 23:20
where have you seen Broussard play turtle6? he get a kick? good luck at uni games too mate...Seen him have a kick at woomelang did alright not many big men around in those comps adds value to the players being tall. cheers for uni games but i'm not playing in them.

monger123
14 Jun 2006, 00:26
Seen him have a kick at woomelang did alright not many big men around in those comps adds value to the players being tall. cheers for uni games but i'm not playing in them.

you play out that way mate? where abouts do you play?