View Full Version : Wimmera Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Grimmett
6 Oct 2006, 16:43
As big as Stephenson sounds !? is he a fast leading f'forward or is he a marking forward, does he move around...

He's happy to lead. He's not super quick but he'll play from in front and lead making him bloody hard to get around. I reckon he is only comfortable kicking from a maximum of about 40m out though. Any further tests him IMO.

BIGANT
6 Oct 2006, 16:53
He's happy to lead. He's not super quick but he'll play from in front and lead making him bloody hard to get around. I reckon he is only comfortable kicking from a maximum of about 40m out though. Any further tests him IMO. Does he have a big tank in him or is his fitness non existent !

Grimmett
6 Oct 2006, 17:16
Does he have a big tank in him or is his fitness non existent !

He's fit. Spelled Brent Liddle in the ruck.

Kanaka22
7 Oct 2006, 13:43
He's happy to lead. He's not super quick but he'll play from in front and lead making him bloody hard to get around. I reckon he is only comfortable kicking from a maximum of about 40m out though. Any further tests him IMO.

Spoke to a Dimboola supporter in Melbourne and he said Stephensen was the quickest at the club even over 100 and 200 meters!

kdiddle
8 Oct 2006, 14:44
just heard on the grape vine that justin clarke is returning to the Warrack eagles in 07 and taking a few handy beulah mates with him...anyone else heard these whispers...? would many beulah players cut it in the big league?

footyfan001
8 Oct 2006, 16:36
I dont think that he would be that quick.. He can move pretty well for his size but isnt lightning...

There would be a few beulah players that could play wfl easy... It depends on who he takes though...

kdiddle
8 Oct 2006, 16:46
heard the name hallam but found out their is two of them for beulah..not sure which one..also a mate from woomelang cats think his name is warren..lived with him in darwin...also heard that stephensen is the quickest bloke in the NTFL while up at darwin

journeyman
9 Oct 2006, 13:00
Heard from a good source that three-time Horsham premiership coach Guy Smith will be appointed coach of Noradjuha-Quantong on Tuesday night. Simon Dandy is meant to be his assistant.

Not sure how Bunga and Farry will find this.

Good to see Davidson got the job at Nhill although I hear they are going to lose a few and with Beddison and Burdett coaching Pimp, I doubt he will get many to follow him.

Skurrie back for the Demons.

footyfan001
9 Oct 2006, 13:05
I am pretty sure that none of the Hallams will be leaving Beulah... They could both play WFL though... It will be interesting to see if Clarke goes back to Warrack, is he playing in Darwin at the moment?

Warrack Eagles
9 Oct 2006, 14:58
I am pretty sure that none of the Hallams will be leaving Beulah... They could both play WFL though... It will be interesting to see if Clarke goes back to Warrack, is he playing in Darwin at the moment?

Clicka has gone over to Perth I think and is gonna see what happens next year, Dont be surpised if he plays for eagles next year.

Warrack Eagles
9 Oct 2006, 14:59
Is that so

footyfan001
9 Oct 2006, 15:19
I doubt it, you wouldnt leave a successful club like Beulah to go to Warrack... He would want to be getting mega bucks if that is the case. I dont think that he will take anyone with him though...

roaring tiger
9 Oct 2006, 22:21
Heard from a good source that three-time Horsham premiership coach Guy Smith will be appointed coach of Noradjuha-Quantong on Tuesday night. Simon Dandy is meant to be his assistant.

Not sure how Bunga and Farry will find this.

Good to see Davidson got the job at Nhill although I hear they are going to lose a few and with Beddison and Burdett coaching Pimp, I doubt he will get many to follow him.

Heard over the weekend that Schumann wasn;t impressed that he didn't get the coaching gig again for 2007 and is going to take Price and Wilsch with him to wherever he goes. This would hurt the tigers big time with there ruckman and key forward to move on. Also heard that nhill want davidson to play but he only wants to coach from the sidelines. Nhill want some value for all the $$$ hes costing them!

If smith is appointed coach of Nor-Quanny you would think he target a lot of the demons fringe players to go with him.

Grimmett
9 Oct 2006, 22:47
........If smith is appointed coach of Nor-Quanny you would think he target a lot of the demons fringe players to go with him.

And the rest of the WFL will be hoping that happens. Something has to weaken the Demons.

footyfan001
10 Oct 2006, 16:13
[quote=roaring tiger]Heard over the weekend that Schumann wasn;t impressed that he didn't get the coaching gig again for 2007 and is going to take Price and Wilsch with him to wherever he goes. This would hurt the tigers big time with there ruckman and key forward to move on.]

Where are they all going? How do you know this are you associated with the NFC???

kdiddle
10 Oct 2006, 18:54

Why wont the hallams leave beulah... are they on good money...what are they worth... does beulah really feed all thier players good cash?

brilliantnick
10 Oct 2006, 19:27
[QUOTE=journo06]`Very true the saints are trying to get Shane Hutchison as caoch with Jordan to come along with him'

trust me you've got no chance of that ever happening, those boys are well and truly stuck at east point. Plus who would play for saints, they're the worst club in WFL

Andyt30
10 Oct 2006, 21:30
Horsham no doubt will come back to earth from high Heaven with a loud thud :D
they can;t keep this up for ever even Beulah not as good as they once were where they use to be a hard side to beat Horsham will one day struggle when they loose alot of their good players eg retirement their older players

wonder how long it will be before the eagles either a can;t compete with wfl Standard or be pick up some decent players or c Be like Jeparit and relocate back north :D

footyfan001
11 Oct 2006, 00:31
I dont think the Hallams would be on big money but they have a close relationship with the club and would find it hard to get a clearance when they both work for their old man who puts a lot into the club....

footyfan001
11 Oct 2006, 00:33
Beulah are similar to Horsham as they have a lot of their kids come through and hang around. Pay the odd players a bit of cash no doubt but what club doesnt???

master21
11 Oct 2006, 12:16
Very true the saints are trying to get Shane Hutchison as caoch with Jordan to come along with him. They should know by the end of next week. From what i hear they would need to offer huge coin to get them to sign but if the $$$$ are right they will sign from what im told.

Hutchinson a chance...jordan, never!throw some money to the man and theres your chance to see hutchinson at the saints...herd if the saints threw in a minny bus to get to training and games then he would bring 12 more quality BFL players with him!!
The saints would have been missing the likes of classy onballers mckinnon and giampolo this year wouldnt they??

X Man
11 Oct 2006, 17:01
Hutchinson a chance...jordan, never!throw some money to the man and theres your chance to see hutchinson at the saints...herd if the saints threw in a minny bus to get to training and games then he would bring 12 more quality BFL players with him!!
The saints would have been missing the likes of classy onballers mckinnon and giampolo this year wouldnt they??

Saints must have good coin in there bank balance trying to chase jordan. Just read on another thread that he is on 90k ( 30k for footy and 60k with the job they got him)

kdiddle
11 Oct 2006, 18:23
update on clarke... confirms he is going over to the west... apparently is trying to get a clearance for a team over there so that he won't need to be cleared from beulah to warrack when he plans to return in the middle of the year... alot of information is spilled when your drunk at the races...

BLUES25
12 Oct 2006, 21:26
update on clarke... confirms he is going over to the west... apparently is trying to get a clearance for a team over there so that he won't need to be cleared from beulah to warrack when he plans to return in the middle of the year... alot of information is spilled when your drunk at the races...

beulah will still have to clear him.

BLUES25
12 Oct 2006, 21:29
Beulah are similar to Horsham as they have a lot of their kids come through and hang around. Pay the odd players a bit of cash no doubt but what club doesnt???
if you want some $$$$$$ write to me on private message
woomelang in the malllee league

Grimmett
12 Oct 2006, 21:31
if you want some $$$$$$ write to me on private message
woomelang in the malllee league

****ing trolls are getting thick on the ground in here, eh?

big heap
16 Oct 2006, 20:36

i also had a chat with him at the track did lean towards going back to warrack doesn't mind letting people know whats going on . . . . . . . . . .
don't know if he was worth the money beulah was paying him?

BIGANT
16 Oct 2006, 20:43
i also had a chat with him at the track did lean towards going back to warrack doesn't mind letting people know whats going on . . . . . . . . . .
don't know if he was worth the money beulah was paying him?
Is he still going to venture to Darwin in the off season !?

Kanaka22
19 Oct 2006, 15:12
Just heard Dimboola CHB Josh Cook is playing for Wanderers up in the NTFL this season. Will be playing with Brad Stephensen, Harold Calma and Shane Thorne who all played with the Roos this season. Theres also ex AFL players Shannon Motlop, Tyson Lane and Victorians Tom and Brad McCabe, Glenn Dundavic and Shaun Gilbert!

footyfan001
19 Oct 2006, 15:49
Just heard Dimboola CHB Josh Cook is playing for Wanderers up in the NTFL this season. Will be playing with Brad Stephensen, Harold Calma and Shane Thorne who all played with the Roos this season. Theres also ex AFL players Shannon Motlop, Tyson Lane and Victorians Tom and Brad McCabe, Glenn Dundavic and Shaun Gilbert!

Josh has not actually committed to a club yet. Is in talks with St Marys and Wanderers... ;)

Grimmett
23 Oct 2006, 12:10
Ararat looking for a new coach.

http://araratfc.vcfl.com.au

Sockit151
23 Oct 2006, 12:12

What happened to Law?
No longer required, unable, or unwilling to continue?
He seems to have done a good job in last two years?

Warrack Eagles
23 Oct 2006, 12:41

whats happened there Grimmett i thought he was your man??

Grimmett
23 Oct 2006, 12:51
whats happened there Grimmett i thought he was your man??

David Law is most definitely the man all of the current Board would like to coach the club in the new season. The management structure of the club is gutted to be looking for a coach when we think we had the best in the league with us for the past two years.
Unfortunately the reigning WRCA Coach of the Year has a terminally ill sister in Melbourne and he has decided to commit himself to his family for 2007. He had agreed to extend his tenure by another year during the finals campaign but advised of his changed circumstances just after the AFL GF.

Sockit151
23 Oct 2006, 13:08
David Law is most definitely the man all of the current Board would like to coach the club in the new season. The management structure of the club is gutted to be looking for a coach when we think we had the best in the league with us for the past two years.
Unfortunately the reigning WRCA Coach of the Year has a terminally ill sister in Melbourne and he has decided to commit himself to his family for 2007. He had agreed to extend his tenure by another year during the finals campaign but advised of his changed circumstances just after the AFL GF.
Has Turner moved back to Ararat yet, he would be an ideal option if he is??

Grimmett
23 Oct 2006, 13:55

He's sold his business and is in the process of moving back. At this stage he has indicated a desire to scale back his football commitments for family reasons. Football has been the main job and/or source of income in his life for 18 years or so.

Probably will train regularly and attend matches at Alexandra Oval only.

Rat_attack
23 Oct 2006, 14:19

Turner not interested in coaching, has been there and done that with 2 back to back flags with Warrnambool, has indicated that he is happy to help at training but thats all

roaring tiger
25 Oct 2006, 21:53
Nhill have just announced that Travis Lannin from Kaniva Leeor will be there Assistant coach for 2007 season as long as he gets cleared. Should be a very handy recruit if he can stay fit. Has had big injury troubles over the last 2 years but would be a very good CHF CHB.

They have also got a new committee which will hopefully change the culture at the club and get them on the right track. They should also make sure the kick out all the **** heads that cause trouble around the club.

Will still need a few more players to make them a finals threat. I also don't know where they are getting all there $$$$$ from. They would be spending 15 on Davidson at least 8 on both price and lannin + a couple of more.

Will be interestin.

Any other coaching appointments to be annaounced Grimmett. Would Matt Jackson or Dougie Walton put there hand up to coach your rats???

Grimmett
25 Oct 2006, 23:07
Doubt Jacko would. He openly states he doesn't bother with coaches and just plays his own game.
I'd expect Doug Walton will apply as local rumours suggest he may have worn out his welcome at Tatyoon despite winning the flag this year.

Warrack Eagles
31 Oct 2006, 09:49
Doubt Jacko would. He openly states he doesn't bother with coaches and just plays his own game.
I'd expect Doug Walton will apply as local rumours suggest he may have worn out his welcome at Tatyoon despite winning the flag this year.

Any News on Coaching yet Grimmet?? Any New players coming into the Rats team next season??

Grimmett
31 Oct 2006, 09:57
It’s that quiet on the football front down here at the moment you can hear the cockies out Tatyoon way stacking up their cash piles getting ready for another raid in town……..

Warrack Eagles
31 Oct 2006, 11:02
It’s that quiet on the football front down here at the moment you can hear the cockies out Tatyoon way stacking up their cash piles getting ready for another raid in town……..
Hahaha really. Is Big turner gonna line up again, What about Micky Fratan ??

Grimmett
31 Oct 2006, 12:42
Fish is probably a no, Frats is a possible yes.

Sockit151
3 Nov 2006, 10:58
What is Ararat's thoughts on news that Law may now be considering a move to Tasmania or NT to further his coaching career??
Seems like a bit of a backflip on earlier story??

Grimmett
3 Nov 2006, 14:02
Ararat's thoughts won't be released on an internet forum but David has kept the club fully apprised of his position throughout the period since the season finished.

roaring tiger
5 Nov 2006, 20:43
I hear that Price, Schumann and Wilsckh are all heading to Jeparit Rainbow next year. This will be major losses for nhill especially the ruckman price cause nhill wont have anyone to cover his absence in the ruck.

Nhill are also trying to get bryce warner back from perth after having played the whole year in the South Fremantle Reseves. Nhill are also hoping to get Al Fristsch and a few other home grown players who have left back for a season but Al probably wont line up there i would think.

Big News that Mal Coutts is going to coach Bordertown in the KNTFL next year and is going to Take Peter MacFarlane and a couple of others from Dim with him. While on the KNTFL would Chris Walsh from Minyip Murtoa be a chance of playing at Kaniva Leeor after shifting to Kaniva for work? Kaniva are also on the look out for a coach after last years coach has left the area.

Also hear that Scott Batchelor was going to Dimboola but since horsham have signed up a gun Ruckman from the Western Border league he will be staying put at horsham ensight of 5th flag.

Grimmett
5 Nov 2006, 21:37
I hear that Price, Schumann and Wilsckh are all heading to Jeparit Rainbow next year. This will be major losses for nhill especially the ruckman price cause nhill wont have anyone to cover his absence in the ruck.

Nhill are also trying to get bryce warner back from perth after having played the whole year in the South Fremantle Reseves. Nhill are also hoping to get Al Fristsch and a few other home grown players who have left back for a season but Al probably wont line up there i would think.

Big News that Mal Coutts is going to coach Bordertown in the KNTFL next year and is going to Take Peter MacFarlane and a couple of others from Dim with him. While on the KNTFL would Chris Walsh from Minyip Murtoa be a chance of playing at Kaniva Leeor after shifting to Kaniva for work? Kaniva are also on the look out for a coach after last years coach has left the area.

Also hear that Scott Batchelor was going to Dimboola but since horsham have signed up a gun Ruckman from the Western Border league he will be staying put at horsham ensight of 5th flag.

Sensational set of rumours RT. Be interesting to see which come to fruition during the next few weeks.

BIGANT
5 Nov 2006, 22:01

IS THE MONEY TRAIN COMING AJAR AT DIMMY !? Would that be a major coo for Bordertown, without being ignorant what is Coutts history !? it does sound a very familiar name in the wim.
Having seen MacFarlane play in recent years especially in Darwin I WOULD SUGGEST TO MACFARLANE & "OTHERS" NOT TO BOTHER WITH KNTFL ! it would be a major drop in standard going to the Kowrie Naracoorte from the wim, it's definately below W.F.L & the W.B.F.L ! especially for Macfarlane.
Who are those "others" from Dim that are supposedly linked w Bordertown !?
Is that gun ruckman that has signed w Horsham is'nt CLINT LANCASTER from Portland is it.If it is he'll be a big plus for the reigning premiers.

budwinkle
6 Nov 2006, 21:34
I'm not sure if you've seen any KNTFL footy BIGANT ?? Because there isn't much of a difference between it and the WFL, as i've seen a few WFL games the last couple of years and play in the KNTFL.
I doubt they would make a big difference.......However that being said, Bordertown have struggled on feild for the last few seasons and would have a lot of money in the bank to spend, they would need quite a few of Dimboola's & wanderers players to become a force.
Before Dimboola Mal Coutts has had a stint at Nhill, and Kaniva as coach & ass over the last decade, has a lot of footy smarts and contacts.

roaring tiger
7 Nov 2006, 15:48
I'm not sure if you've seen any KNTFL footy BIGANT ?? Because there isn't much of a difference between it and the WFL, as i've seen a few WFL games the last couple of years and play in the KNTFL.
I doubt they would make a big difference.......However that being said, Bordertown have struggled on feild for the last few seasons and would have a lot of money in the bank to spend, they would need quite a few of Dimboola's & wanderers players to become a force.
Before Dimboola Mal Coutts has had a stint at Nhill, and Kaniva as coach & ass over the last decade, has a lot of footy smarts and contacts.

I agree budwinkle. I have played in both the KNTFL and WFl and the good teams in the KNTFL would well and truly mix it with the wimmera leagues teams. Players like Cooper, Copping, Smith, Smart, Gould, Adams, Carberry, Hartree, Curnow, Makin, Mocks, Dodson etc etc etc The list goes on.

Mal has been around to a lot of clubs thats for sure and brings and takes players with him where ever he goes so i wouldn't be surprised to see him take at least 3 or 4 players with him to Bordertwon. He has coached Kaniva, Gerang Kiata, Nhill, Kaniva Leeor and Dimboola. He is a level 2 or 3 coach as well i think. Certainly has the contacts in the top end at Darwin.

BIGANT
7 Nov 2006, 19:23

It is a interesting point bud !?....and yes i have seen KNTFL footy, i saw a gf up that way @ n'coorte a few yrs back !? - Penola's 1st under Daniel Clark i think !?.I've got no hesitation in saying & agreeing that ur top 3-4 sides in K & T would match it w WFL & WBFL sides. but they would'nt beat them !
Although i've never seen a WFL game i could'nt see the Naracoorte's, Lucindale's & Penola's gf sides getting within a cooee of WFL powersides of the past 5-10 yrs such as the Horsham's, Dimboola's & Warrack Eag's teams.
Also including WBFL sides (premiership sides/top 3) the Portland, definately South Gamb, Hamilton sides & throw in sides as far down as top 6 in wbfl.There is no way Naracoorte (Kntfl premiers) would have got close to Portland (Wbfl prems), same as South & Hamilton over the good Lucindales sides of late.
I think football has changed in the past 15 - 25 years & i may be right in saying that although the standard may have dropped in those 3 competitions from the 80's i'd be confident in saying that the WFL & WBFL would be still a class above the K & tfl.
That's no putdown on the KNTFL, coz it is a good comp, i just think it would be a waste of talent on Macfarlane & 'others' to play in the KNTFL !
Who are those 'others' from Dimmy anyway !

Kanaka22
7 Nov 2006, 20:26
I rekon it would be great for the competion having the class of Peter Macfarlane, Harold Calma, Brad Stephensen, Shane Thorne and Colin Wilson playing in the KNTFL! Mal Coutts would be a great fit also for players who want a fresh start from other KNTFL teams and others around country VIC!

BIGANT
7 Nov 2006, 20:57
I rekon it would be great for the competion having the class of Peter Macfarlane, Harold Calma, Brad Stephensen, Shane Thorne and Colin Wilson playing in the KNTFL! Mal Coutts would be a great fit also for players who want a fresh start from other KNTFL teams and others around country VIC!
Is that an assumption that those players are going down to Bordertown !? or is it a fact that there heading there...

Kanaka22
7 Nov 2006, 22:23
Is that an assumption that those players are going down to Bordertown !? or is it a fact that there heading there...
Just an assuption at the moment! But you would think the Indiginous boys would follow if they cant get a run in the VFL or SANFL next season after Mal Coutts was the one that got them down there threw he's NT connections!

Lightning McQueen
15 Nov 2006, 18:47

Know for a fact that peter macfarlane is back in Darwin and after that has signed up with his home town Sale. Also don't rate Mal Coutts as a coach or as the blokes at Dimboola call him 'name dropper'. Has a very high opinion of his coaching abilities.

BIGANT
15 Nov 2006, 18:56
Know for a fact that peter macfarlane is back in Darwin and after that has signed up with his home town Sale. Also don't rate Mal Coutts as a coach or as the blokes at Dimboola call him 'name dropper'. Has a very high opinion of his coaching abilities.
That must be a worry for Dimmy.....Is the exedous starting to happen now !?

Lightning McQueen
15 Nov 2006, 19:01
That must be a worry for Dimmy.....Is the exedous starting to happen now !?

Also heard of a good source that Karl Lohde has signed up with a WAFL team. And that Matt Everitt will coach in 07.

BIGANT
15 Nov 2006, 19:14
Also heard of a good source that Karl Lohde has signed up with a WAFL team. And that Matt Everitt will coach in 07. It gets worse for dimboola, it maybe a yr (or two) of rebuilding !?

Lightning McQueen
15 Nov 2006, 19:46
It gets worse for dimboola, it maybe a yr (or two) of rebuilding !?

Heard they still have a bit and Everitt has a alot of connections so dont ride them of yet!

footyfan001
15 Nov 2006, 23:22
Lohde will go to WA... Dimboola are apparently in debt and this has come from the man at the top!!! ;)

Grimmett
16 Nov 2006, 07:42
Lohde will go to WA... Dimboola are apparently in debt and this has come from the man at the top!!! ;)

********. You could knock me over with a feather. :eek:

[/sarcasm]

Warrack Eagles
16 Nov 2006, 08:10
:D Poor Dimmi gotta feel abit sorry for them!! :D I spose its there own fault having a toss for a president!!!!:thumbsu:

saucehead
16 Nov 2006, 09:29
any news on horshams unbeatable team??? have they lost or gained anyone???

footyfan001
16 Nov 2006, 10:15
********. You could knock me over with a feather. :eek:
[/sarcasm]

Every1 knows it but if its coming from the people in charge than its worth some value isnt it?

Grimmett
16 Nov 2006, 10:36
any news on horshams unbeatable team??? have they lost or gained anyone???

Cam Penny heading to Melbourne possibly in the VFL.
Guy Smith to coach in the HDFL but he didn't play this year anyway.
Tim Pickert back to basketball cos he's bored with winning so easily all the time.

Grimmett
16 Nov 2006, 10:38
Every1 knows it but if its coming from the people in charge than its worth some value isnt it?

Man at the top is responsible for the debt, no?
Therefore he should hardly be surprised his expensive tilt at the flag has left his club in the red.
Zero sympathy.

footyfan001
16 Nov 2006, 11:00
Therefore he should hardly be surprised his expensive tilt at the flag has left his club in the red.
Zero sympathy.

I totally agree... I believe that Dimboola will struggle next year. I was just adding to the conversation thats all. The info u just put on was in the mail times so u could knock me over with a feather....

Warrack Eagles
16 Nov 2006, 11:00
Zero sympathy.

:thumbsu: Agreed Totally.

journeyman
16 Nov 2006, 11:28
Cam Penny heading to Melbourne possibly in the VFL.
Guy Smith to coach in the HDFL but he didn't play this year anyway.
Tim Pickert back to basketball cos he's bored with winning so easily all the time.

Horsham look set for another flag, especially if Dimmy are falling apart.

Don't write off Horsham being Penny's second club, playing enough games during the year to qualify for finals.

Skurrie is 100% right, Jarrod Wright will be back and Adlington is with them full time after a year in the rebels.

They have also picked up a ruckman from Marybrough but I don't know his name.

At this stage they look 10 goals better than any other team.

Grimmett
16 Nov 2006, 12:16
I totally agree... I believe that Dimboola will struggle next year. I was just adding to the conversation thats all. The info u just put on was in the mail times so u could knock me over with a feather....

Ha ha. No probs. Wasn't sure where you were and if you saw the local rag or not.
'Tis all good, eh.

Grimmett
16 Nov 2006, 12:17
Horsham look set for another flag, especially if Dimmy are falling apart.

Don't write off Horsham being Penny's second club, playing enough games during the year to qualify for finals.

Skurrie is 100% right, Jarrod Wright will be back and Adlington is with them full time after a year in the rebels.

They have also picked up a ruckman from Marybrough but I don't know his name.

At this stage they look 10 goals better than any other team.

Only 10? Which team is supposed to be improving then? ;)

sdmlions12
16 Nov 2006, 12:23
Ha ha. No probs. Wasn't sure where you were and if you saw the local rag or not.
'Tis all good, eh.
Being a fair way away and haven no access to the local rag(s), I love to hear the news blokes. Keep up the good work. Any news from the 'other' Horsham teams, and the Tiges from out west?

footyfan001
16 Nov 2006, 12:41
Being a fair way away and haven no access to the local rag(s), I love to hear the news blokes. Keep up the good work. Any news from the 'other' Horsham teams, and the Tiges from out west?

Not sure about the tigers.. Schumann, Price, Wilksch are all heading to Jeparit-Rainbow in the Mallee League. A few of their kids are also rumoured to be leaving. Will be interesting to c what happens. Davidson wont take any1 from pimp i dont think....

Warrack Eagles
16 Nov 2006, 12:53
I think its quite funny that nhill have lost all there gun players to jepart rainbow:rolleyes: Nhill were big imporvers last season too. Rumors going around warrack is Jip Quick maybe a Starter nect year for the eagles. Gun onballer!!!! Hope there true

Lightning McQueen
16 Nov 2006, 16:20
Heard today that dim is going to have another crack, but its hard to see them get a better side than what they have had the last couple of years or a side thats going to beat horsham.

roaring tiger
16 Nov 2006, 20:52
Not sure about the tigers.. Schumann, Price, Wilksch are all heading to Jeparit-Rainbow in the Mallee League. A few of their kids are also rumoured to be leaving. Will be interesting to c what happens. Davidson wont take any1 from pimp i dont think....

Nhill will have a tough year and davidson will wish he didn't take the job on by mid year i would suggest. Nhill didn't want to fork out the coin for the three going to j/r although Schuman was never going to be there. He Was never going to be coach. The committee wanted him gone by mid year even if he took them to the finals.
Players who i believe will not play at nhill next year: Schuman, Wilksch, Price, Fritsch, Williamson, Cramer, Ryan and maybe Dodds.
Big trouble at Tigerland i would think.

Dimmy are going to have another good crack next year from what i have heard. Talking to Coutts Mcfarlane is going to Sale and Everitt will coach Dimmy. Coutts to be Team Manager.

If the eagles get J Quick that would be a huge pick up. I though he was BOG in there p'ship year a few years ago now. I think he player at Mt Pleasent a couple of years ago to.

footyfan001
16 Nov 2006, 21:22
Nhill will have a tough year and davidson will wish he didn't take the job on by mid year i would suggest. Nhill didn't want to fork out the coin for the three going to j/r although Schuman was never going to be there. He Was never going to be coach. The committee wanted him gone by mid year even if he took them to the finals.
Players who i believe will not play at nhill next year: Schuman, Wilksch, Price, Fritsch, Williamson, Cramer, Ryan and maybe Dodds.

Dimmy are going to have another good crack next year from what i have heard. Talking to Coutts Mcfarlane is going to Sale and Everitt will coach Dimmy. Coutts to be Team Manager.

If the eagles get J Quick that would be a huge pick up. I though he was BOG in there p'ship year a few years ago now. I think he player at Mt Pleasent a couple of years ago to.

Well it will be interesting to see if they clear them than... They are in a lot of trouble by the sounds of it than... What sort of coin were those boys on anyway? Must have been a bit if they cant afford to pay em 4 next year???

BIGANT
16 Nov 2006, 23:05

Theres alot of good scouts around though, MCfarlane's gone....St Mary's crew are gone....talk is dimmy might b ok coz of the coach...A change might be as good as a holiday !

Warrack Eagles
21 Nov 2006, 08:06
Any news on new players around the legue or big recruits To any teams?

Kanaka22
21 Nov 2006, 09:35
Theres alot of good scouts around though, MCfarlane's gone....St Mary's crew are gone....talk is dimmy might b ok coz of the coach...A change might be as good as a holiday !
Colin Wilson and Happy Calma most likely out of the Darwin boys who will come back!

Grimmett
21 Nov 2006, 09:56
Colin Wilson and Happy Calma most likely out of the Darwin boys who will come back!

Good to hear Colin Wilson is happy to return to the Wimmera as he and his wife had to deal with some unsavoury off-field issues during the year.

Grimmett
21 Nov 2006, 10:33
Hes such a top bloke on the felid the dirty little ******** hits from behind and the runs away, SOOK!!!!!:D

Never said I rated his personal approach. ;)
He couldn't beat Scott Batchelor on the three occasions I saw them play as Batch just ran harder to the next contest every time Wilson whacked him behind play.

BIGANT
21 Nov 2006, 10:40
Never said I rated his personal approach. ;)
He couldn't beat Scott Batchelor on the three occasions I saw them play as Batch just ran harder to the next contest every time Wilson whacked him behind play.
So the aboriginal boys - Wilson, Calma, Thorne & Stephenson, are still a question mark over there comings and goings for Dimmy next season !?

Kanaka22
21 Nov 2006, 13:00
So the aboriginal boys - Wilson, Calma, Thorne & Stephenson, are still a question mark over there comings and goings for Dimmy next season !?
Wilson a certainly while Calma and Stephensen are still waiting there options! Most likely go somewhere together as they have done for the last couple of years! Thorne is staying put in Darwin also!

Grimmett
21 Nov 2006, 13:32
League too physical for Thorne?

Warrack Eagles
21 Nov 2006, 13:57
League too physical for Thorne?
I agree, When we played them i never seen anyone head butt so good in my life, Thorne head butted Travis Walder and i thought Trav was going to kill the little s**t, Hope dimmi get Noone along with :thumbsd: Horsham:thumbsd: Go Eagles:D

Lightning McQueen
21 Nov 2006, 14:33
I agree, When we played them i never seen anyone head butt so good in my life, Thorne head butted Travis Walder and i thought Trav was going to kill the little s**t, Hope dimmi get Noone along with :thumbsd: Horsham:thumbsd: Go Eagles:D

Sounds like you guys had a good day when you played Dimboola!

BIGANT
21 Nov 2006, 15:25
So the boys were hard & physical then !?

Kanaka22
21 Nov 2006, 15:35
I was at the game that day! The only reason why Walder didnt do anything was cause Stephensen was standing waiting for something to happen!

BIGANT
21 Nov 2006, 15:53
I was at the game that day! The only reason why Walder didnt do anything was cause Stephensen was standing waiting for something to happen!
Surely Wilson can handle himself, the other two Thorne & Calma just pot stirers are they...

Andyt30
21 Nov 2006, 18:56
Horsham can't keep it up forever they aint Beulah who in a special league of their own ;)

Grimmett
21 Nov 2006, 21:55
Surely Wilson can handle himself, the other two Thorne & Calma just pot stirers are they...

Wilson is a stirrer who just tries to bait opposition players into reacting to his snide, behind the play crap. The better players ignore him and he becomes a liability when the opposition play through his direct opponent.
Thorne is an outside player who wants to razzle-dazzle with baulks, feints etc. Better suited to blowouts against weaker teams than the tight pressure of finals against Horsham. Would be fairly handy in a league like the NTFL that would be a more open style than Wimmera.
Happy was injured whenever the Rats played the Roos.

Kanaka22
21 Nov 2006, 21:58
Wilson is a stirrer who just tries to bait opposition players into reacting to his snide, behind the play crap. The better players ignore him and he becomes a liability when the opposition play through his direct opponent.
Thorne is an outside player who wants to razzle-dazzle with baulks, feints etc. Better suited to blowouts against weaker teams than the tight pressure of finals against Horsham. Would be fairly handy in a league like the NTFL that would be a more open style than Wimmera.
Happy was injured whenever the Rats played the Roos.
What was Stephensen like? Did he stir up the Ararat boys?

Grimmett
21 Nov 2006, 22:02
Strong aerial presence. Didn't appear to be the longest kick I've seen from a 190cms plus guy. Enjoyed matching up against Scott Turner during one of the games. Didn't need to show any menace so not aware if he has a mean streak or not.

Warrack Eagles
22 Nov 2006, 08:05
Stephanson dosnt say much, Just goes about his business!! Thorne is a razel dazel player dances around players and makes them look stupid. Wilson reminds me of a player Eagles use to have Danial PK Parfett. Happy was good he never did anything stupid just played his game, Stephanson is just a big unit anyone in his way would get bumped out of the way.:D

BIGANT
22 Nov 2006, 12:39
Stephanson dosnt say much, Just goes about his business!! Thorne is a razel dazel player dances around players and makes them look stupid. Wilson reminds me of a player Eagles use to have Danial PK Parfett. Happy was good he never did anything stupid just played his game, Stephanson is just a big unit anyone in his way would get bumped out of the way.:D
What position did they use Calma, overall how would you describe Wilson....inside player that plays it hard also known for niggle !?

Kanaka22
22 Nov 2006, 13:00
What position did they use Calma, overall how would you describe Wilson....inside player that plays it hard also known for niggle !?
Mainly Forward Pocket but used him as a loose man in defence during the finals! Wilson is a player who doesnt say much on the field but lets he's actions take care of that! Very hard for a player who is around 170cm tall and also has excellent skills and vision! One of the best ball users and hands of seen! Very passionate!

BIGANT
22 Nov 2006, 13:55
Mainly Forward Pocket but used him as a loose man in defence during the finals! Wilson is a player who doesnt say much on the field but lets he's actions take care of that! Very hard for a player who is around 170cm tall and also has excellent skills and vision! One of the best ball users and hands of seen! Very passionate! Have'nt seen much of his name (Wilson) in the Green Machines' team lists or bp's last fortnight or so...is/has he been injured !?!?

number5
22 Nov 2006, 16:16
just wondering if anyone can give me an update on movements of wimmera league clubs so far, in particular Nhill. Hear they have signed lannin from kaniva. he can really play.

Flick Pass
23 Nov 2006, 15:28
just wondering if anyone can give me an update on movements of wimmera league clubs so far, in particular Nhill. Hear they have signed lannin from kaniva. he can really play.

Big rumor that Mal Coutts is coaching Bordertown not much interest shown by Dimboola to after he signed with Bordertown