View Full Version : Wimmera Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Flick Pass
23 Nov 2006, 15:28
just wondering if anyone can give me an update on movements of wimmera league clubs so far, in particular Nhill. Hear they have signed lannin from kaniva. he can really play.

Big rumor that Mal Coutts is coaching Bordertown not much interest shown by Dimboola to after he signed with Bordertown

roaring tiger
23 Nov 2006, 19:59
just wondering if anyone can give me an update on movements of wimmera league clubs so far, in particular Nhill. Hear they have signed lannin from kaniva. he can really play.

Yep he has signed as far as i know. He may be wishing he didn't with the amount of players nhill are losing or are going to lose.

They are also having a fair bit of trouble on the recruiting front from what i hear. As i have said earlier on bigfooty i expect them to be closer to the bottom of the ladder than the top unless they recruit 8 quaility players between now and the 1st game.

For your info i expect schumann, wilksch, price, cramer, ryan, fritsch and maybe williamson to not be at nhill next year.

roaring tiger
23 Nov 2006, 20:01
Big rumor that Mal Coutts is coaching Bordertown not much interest shown by Dimboola to after he signed with Bordertown

Talking to Mal and he indicated that he would be staying on at the roos as football manager with everitt the coach. He has had a chat to Bordertown though. He saif Mcfarlane was defaintly going back to sale.

8ightball
23 Nov 2006, 20:20
Talking to Mal and he indicated that he would be staying on at the roos as football manager with everitt the coach. He has had a chat to Bordertown though. He saif Mcfarlane was defaintly going back to sale.

Sounds like Nhill are gunna be strugglers and theres heaps of talk about the roos. What are the other clubs doing! Any new faces in the league?

Drop_Punt
23 Nov 2006, 21:29
another player that prob wont be at Nhill next year is Jarryd Graham... He will head for the big smoke to play a higher standard of footy..

Grimmett
23 Nov 2006, 21:34
another player that prob wont be at Nhill next year is Jarryd Graham... He will head for the big smoke to play a higher standard of footy..

The big smoke or Ballarat? Training with the Roosters isn't he?

quentinlynchthethumper
24 Nov 2006, 08:32
The big smoke or Ballarat? Training with the Roosters isn't he?

He is thinking about playing Roosters but he will most likely stay at Nhill. Will probably take a year off at home after finishing yr 12 in ballarat. Good young player though wouldn't be surprised if he got a Rooster's berth after a few impressive Rebels games last year.

Grimmett
24 Nov 2006, 09:31
From today's Ararat Advertiser:

Rats sign coaching tag-team
By HENRY DALKIN

Football's silly season is alive and well after Ararat Football Club president Trevor McKinnis yesterday announced the Rats had signed joint coaches for 2007.
McKinnis confirmed Tatyoon's 2006 premiership coach Doug Walton would leave the Mininera and District Football League to pursue his long-held ambition to coach the Rats in the Wimmera Football League.
Walton will share Ararat's top job with two-time WFL premiership teammate Matt Jackson.
McKinnis was delighted to announced his club's signings and said he was glad to have the senior coaching role sorted out.
He said Walton will be a huge asset to the club after his successful time coaching at Tatyoon.
"He has proven himself as a very capable coach," said McKinnis.
"He went to Tatyoon with our best wishes so hopefully he'll have their best wishes in his new role."
McKinnis said Jackson had indicated interest in the senior coaching job but was unsure whether he could commit enough time to the role, which made a joint role with a proven coach the perfect option.
The signing of joint-senior coaches came as a huge relief to the Rats after struggling to generate interest when they advertised the job.
Walton said he and Jackson had officially approached the Rats about coaching on Wednesday and that the club has been impressed with what they had to offer.
"We wanted to take on the role together," said Walton.
"We had talked about it before but it wasn't until this week that we decided not to let the opportunity slip."
Walton said he was certain there will be no animosity coming his way from Tatyoon after coaching the Hawks to two grand finals including last year's premiership.
"They aren't the sort of people to hold a grudge, I don't think there will be any ill feelings.
"They're a strong club and I can't see why they can't push for back-to-back flags, it'll just be under a different coach."
He said the players, officials and supporters at Tatyoon had all contributed to his success in 2005-06, and that he was proud to have coached the Hawks.
"The last two seasons have been the best years of my career," he said.
Walton plans to participate in Ararat's full pre-season training program and will be aiming to play in the red-and-white next year.
"I don't want to take a young guy's spot if I'm not up to it," he said.
"But if I get through a full pre-season and the body is feeling good then I'll definitely be aiming to play."
Walton and Jackson take the reins from David Law who had spent the past two seasons transforming the club into a family-oriented environment.
Law has landed a role coaching Penguin Football Club in the Northern Tasmania Football League.
McKinnis said the Rats will miss having Law around and that the coaches and committee will be working to continue Law's good work.
"David did so much for the entire club," said McKinnis.
"We wish him the best of luck for the future."
Ararat's focus now shifts to retaining its 2006 playing list and recruiting some new faces.

Sockit151
24 Nov 2006, 09:43
Doubt Jacko would. He openly states he doesn't bother with coaches and just plays his own game.
I'd expect Doug Walton will apply as local rumours suggest he may have worn out his welcome at Tatyoon despite winning the flag this year.

50/50 on that one!!

Warrack Eagles
24 Nov 2006, 10:06
good signs grimmit

Grimmett
24 Nov 2006, 11:07
Doubt Jacko would. He openly states he doesn't bother with coaches and just plays his own game.
I'd expect Doug Walton will apply as local rumours suggest he may have worn out his welcome at Tatyoon despite winning the flag this year.

50/50 on that one!!

Half right or half wrong depending on your viewpoint I suppose.
Jacko will have to pay attention to the coaching staff now!

It is good to know we are back on track though. Looking forward to challenging you Eagles guys again Warrack.

Warrack Eagles
24 Nov 2006, 11:21
Yes should be good Looking frwd to the coming season. Hope Eagles can pick a few more players up b4 the season starts:)

Drop_Punt
24 Nov 2006, 19:31
Grimmitt, graham has plans to head to adelaide with dan batson (if bato doesnt get redrafted). Or maybe try out with the roosters.. I cant really see him staying around at nhill as he is looking for work, loves the city lifestyle and nhill are not going to be that good next year by the looks of things.. he will want to continue the winng culture that he has grown to enjoy while playing for the rebals..

Drop_Punt
24 Nov 2006, 19:33
Yes should be good Looking frwd to the coming season. Hope Eagles can pick a few more players up b4 the season starts:)
I have heard that as a result of Gerald Fitzgerald becoming the new coach of the roosters that not many players will be leaving there for the next season.. do you know if that means that Greig wont be able to get some of his mates back to warrak???? like everyone was hoping so that the league would become stronger

Drop_Punt
24 Nov 2006, 19:36
Goodluck to ararat with walton as the new coach, have heard he his a top coach but may have worn out his welcome at taty evrn after taking them to 2 GF's and a flag in the last 2 years.. Be interesting to see if he plays or is a non playing coach also

Grimmett
24 Nov 2006, 21:38
Goodluck to ararat with walton as the new coach, have heard he his a top coach but may have worn out his welcome at taty evrn after taking them to 2 GF's and a flag in the last 2 years.. Be interesting to see if he plays or is a non playing coach also

Initial reports out of Tatyoon were that Dougie had upset the apple cart in the post-premiership celebrations and would not be re-appointed.
However, I believe that he had agreed to coach Taty again in '07 and that his move back to the Rats will have the Hawks on the hunt for a coach once again. They won't be too happy about it either cos there first target would have been Matt Jackson.
At this stage Doug will train with the intention of playing. Will depend on injuries and the form of the young guys whether he does play or not.

Grimmett
27 Nov 2006, 22:28
Trawling around some footy sites and came across posts about two former WFL players in Marcus Burdett and Brad Miller.

Burdett spent much of the season in the Glenelg seconds and is rumoured to be high on the coaching wishlist for a few Victorian teams. Anybody else think that his old club St Micks would be keen on him? Would certainly fit their desire to attract a 'big' name.

Miller is listed by Perth fans as 'returning to Victoria'. Any suggestions whether it's back to the Diggers or elsewhere?

Flick Pass
28 Nov 2006, 08:19
Miller has returned to Victoria and he will play with the Diggers seems a bit stronger and bigger will be worth watching and hopefully brings some more people thru the gate as Tuckey and Turner do for their respective clubs.

journeyman
28 Nov 2006, 10:40
Miller has returned to Victoria and he will play with the Diggers seems a bit stronger and bigger will be worth watching and hopefully brings some more people thru the gate as Tuckey and Turner do for their respective clubs.

Big coup for United getting Miller. He's showing a lot of desire to knock off Horsham by travelling up there from Melbourne each week.

Even if they get the Donald blokes back I still think they are a few goals behind Horsham.

saucehead
28 Nov 2006, 13:21
any news on where cam penny will be playing in 07?

quentinlynchthethumper
28 Nov 2006, 19:24
Trawling around some footy sites and came across posts about two former WFL players in Marcus Burdett and Brad Miller.

Burdett spent much of the season in the Glenelg seconds and is rumoured to be high on the coaching wishlist for a few Victorian teams. Anybody else think that his old club St Micks would be keen on him? Would certainly fit their desire to attract a 'big' name.

Miller is listed by Perth fans as 'returning to Victoria'. Any suggestions whether it's back to the Diggers or elsewhere?

Marcus Burdett has signed at Glenelg again.

Grimmett
28 Nov 2006, 22:09
I'm pleased to hear it. He can coach country Vic sides whenever he wants but he can only play state level footy while he's of the right age and ability level. Gotta make the most of his opportunity while he can IMO.

zanderm
1 Dec 2006, 13:24
Has Ararat recruited anyone with their new coaches? How are they shaping up?

Warrack Eagles
8 Dec 2006, 10:36
I see Mibus back for united next year. Looking alright The diggers:thumbsd:

Flick Pass
11 Dec 2006, 16:38
I see Mibus back for united next year. Looking alright The diggers:thumbsd:
Need a few more guys have signed Wade,Tim Friend and Jai Rabone from Kaniva Leeor all are talls but they need a few more to match Horsham

footyfan001
13 Dec 2006, 08:33
2007 LADDER
Horsham
Horsham diggers
Minyip Murtoa
Dimboola
Ararat
Warrack Eagles
Stawell
Horsham Saints
Nhill

THOUGHTS?????

Sockit151
13 Dec 2006, 09:11
2007 LADDER
Horsham
Horsham diggers
Minyip Murtoa
Dimboola
Ararat
Warrack Eagles
Stawell
Horsham Saints
Nhill

THOUGHTS?????
From the little bits of news i've seen, Stawell is looking a bit better than that, i would rate them for top 5..

footyfan001
13 Dec 2006, 09:29
From the little bits of news i've seen, Stawell is looking a bit better than that, i would rate them for top 5..

Havent heard much about them, who have they recruited?

Sockit151
13 Dec 2006, 09:52
Havent heard much about them, who have they recruited?
Tuckey, i assume is still going there.. He will add plenty..
a few from Great Western are crossing over this year, Nicholson and a few from Navarre maybe returning, and have kept last years list mostly intact, so should be quite strong if all true??

Warrack Eagles
13 Dec 2006, 10:16
Yes Stawell will be a good side this year!! They were ok last year but didnt have the big men. Tuckey will be a huge assit to them. :D

roaring tiger
13 Dec 2006, 19:48
2007 LADDER
Horsham
Horsham diggers
Minyip Murtoa
Dimboola
Ararat
Warrack Eagles
Stawell
Horsham Saints
Nhill

THOUGHTS?????

Horsham
stawell
Diggers
Dimboola
Minyip Murtoa
Ararat
Warrack Eagles
Saints
Nhill

wallyon
15 Dec 2006, 15:37
Rumour is rife that Lenny Clark who was recently delsited from the brisbane lions rookie list is set to join his former club Minyip/Murtoa and his signing could result in the signing of some other major recruits.

have also heard that terrry arnel could be returning to birchip watchem and ruckman Zac Holmes will go there as well.

MightyRoar
18 Dec 2006, 11:26
Tuckey, i assume is still going there.. He will add plenty..
a few from Great Western are crossing over this year, Nicholson and a few from Navarre maybe returning, and have kept last years list mostly intact, so should be quite strong if all true??

I just happened to be glancing thru this forum and came across peoples thoughts on Stawell next season. I think they will be a better outfit and ecspecially with the inclusion of Tuckey. However like every other year they keep talking the talk but dont deliver and I really believe that next season will be pretty much the same, however they will be a more competitive outfit. In relation to them getting a few Great Western players well I believe that only Boonga has come across at this stage and aren't aware of any others as yet.

Mozus
19 Dec 2006, 13:28
Yes Stawell will be a good side this year!! They were ok last year but didnt have the big men. Tuckey will be a huge assit to them. :D

You still on here talking ******** Warrack Eagles.

Grimmett
19 Dec 2006, 13:45

Somebody's mate just found BF me thinks....

Warrack Eagles
19 Dec 2006, 14:06

Ha hes back the co*k smoking Poofter haha howz them knees going wimp

Mozus
19 Dec 2006, 14:10
Ha hes back the co*k smoking Poofter haha howz them knees going wimp

ya good thanks for asking. So what bullS*** you got for us today?

Warrack Eagles
19 Dec 2006, 14:13
ya good thanks for asking. So what bullS*** you got for us today?

Nah none really dont talk any mate. The only person around here that does that is you mate. Get on the end of it. Pis* off cheif:D

Mozus
19 Dec 2006, 14:17
Nah none really dont talk any mate. The only person around here that does that is you mate. Get on the end of it. Pis* off cheif:D

I can see you haven't taking your medication today, hope them nurses are treating you well at the woodbine. Ha Ha

Warrack Eagles
19 Dec 2006, 14:18
I can see you haven't taking your medication today, hope them nurses are treating you well at the woodbine. Ha Ha
HAHA Righto cheif you take care now ok. Be a good boy for Mum and Dad. Peace:D

footyfan001
19 Dec 2006, 14:24
Mosuz your a bit of a ******** mate....

Mozus
19 Dec 2006, 14:37

Whats your fuc*** problem you snot nosed fuc* weed. Get a dictionary mate and learn to spell. It's Mozus!

Mozus
19 Dec 2006, 14:39

Looks like your about as gifted as your mate with the English Language

footyfan001
19 Dec 2006, 14:52
Looks like your about as gifted as your mate with the English Language
I wouldve thought it would be Moses??? Anyway its your ********** name so whatever mate... Your just a washed up old hack mate. Are your knees sore from footy or carpet burn from rooting too much a r s e?

Mozus
19 Dec 2006, 14:54
I wouldve thought it would be Moses??? Anyway its your ********** name so whatever mate... Your just a washed up old hack mate. Are your knees sore from footy or carpet burn from rooting too much a r s e?

Just ask your mum she'll tell ya.

Warrack Eagles
20 Dec 2006, 14:05
Just ask your mum she'll tell ya.

Old mozus cant make any friends anywhere. How does it feel to be the woody of the town mate. HAHAHA f*ck Head:D

THE_BEAST
20 Dec 2006, 20:02
this is a disgracful thread.. talk about things other than abusing each other with most of the comments being ******, shows the low intellect of you all

smasher316
20 Dec 2006, 21:18
Jay Tucker to Murtoa? any1 else heard this one?:confused:

Grimmett
20 Dec 2006, 21:46
this is a disgracful thread.. talk about things other than abusing each other with most of the comments being ******, shows the low intellect of you all

Don't bother to read it then. :thumbsd:
Or do something about it by posting a footy related comment instead of just carping about some blokes banging away at each other.

Grimmett
20 Dec 2006, 21:48
Jay Tucker to Murtoa? any1 else heard this one?:confused:

Jay Tucker to the Burras? Haven't heard it but wouldn't be too surprised as the Tucker family has significant history with the old black and whites.

smasher316
20 Dec 2006, 21:56
Jay Tucker to the Burras? Haven't heard it but wouldn't be too surprised as the Tucker family has significant history with the old black and whites.
I always see him n midgley together. Ive heard from i dont know how reliable source that he doesnt want to stay at donald because all the other blokes left and that he will either go to the burras or maybe even out to kalkee because of family out there but my guess would be to the burras!

Grimmett
20 Dec 2006, 21:58
Just heard that Shep Swans are close to signing a couple of players from Darwin for the up-coming season! The two i know of is Dawin boy Brad Stephensen a 20 year old forward/ruckman who is about 6'5 and 100 kg and Shaun Gilbert who is orginally form Seabastopol! Both players play with Glenn Dundovic and Charlie Maher at Wanderers and should be a great inclusion to the Swans outfit!

Wheels are coming off the Roos wagon by the look of this post in the GVFL thread. MacFarlane is gone by all reports, now Stephensen and Mal Coutts has moved from the bench to Bordertown and may entice a few to go with him.
Drought will be biting into the cash reserves too making it hard to replace them. Looks like Horsham will be looking at a new #1 challenger come season 2007. The Roos run is done.

Warrack Eagles
21 Dec 2006, 08:17
I wouldnt be surprized if Tucker went to minyip I think Tucker and Midge live together??. Im glad the roos have lost a heap they would be Broke too i reckon. The coin they pumped out the last 2 years should make them broke.:D

Mozus
21 Dec 2006, 09:27
anyone hear about the rumour about Ben Hart and Jade Rawlings going out to Balranald?

ROOTA#6
21 Dec 2006, 14:46
anyone hear about the rumour about Ben Hart and Jade Rawlings going out to Balranald?

You don't believe it do you?

Mozus
21 Dec 2006, 15:10
You don't believe it do you?

The guy who said it swore black and blue that it was fair dinkum.

wallyon
21 Dec 2006, 16:26
I wouldnt be surprized if Tucker went to minyip I think Tucker and Midge live together??. Im glad the roos have lost a heap they would be Broke too i reckon. The coin they pumped out the last 2 years should make them broke.:D

he was also a groomsman in Adam Carter (Joint coahes) wedding recently

sdmlions12
21 Dec 2006, 18:48
Mozus, get off here you clown. This is a Wimmera Footy league post, and last I checked Balranald weren't fronting up for the 2007 season. All you do is come on here and abuse blokes, you need to get a bit more sleep at night and stop watching re-runs of the Golden Girls. Just back off and we'll let ya off lightly clown

Mozus
22 Dec 2006, 08:39
Mozus, get off here you clown. This is a Wimmera Footy league post, and last I checked Balranald weren't fronting up for the 2007 season. All you do is come on here and abuse blokes, you need to get a bit more sleep at night and stop watching re-runs of the Golden Girls. Just back off and we'll let ya off lightly clown

Get out from under your rock you knob jockey, won't front up for 2007 my arse they have more money to spend than you make standing on your corner you fuc**** spud.

Sockit151
22 Dec 2006, 10:17
Get out from under your rock you knob jockey, won't front up for 2007 my arse they have more money to spend than you make standing on your corner you fuc**** spud.

Pretty sure he meant that Balranald wont be making an appearance in the Wimmera for 2007 season.. But something as simple as that obviously flew over your head, you tool!!:thumbsd:

Grimmett
22 Dec 2006, 12:52
Sic 'im Sockit! :D :cool: :thumbsu:

sdmlions12
22 Dec 2006, 13:14
Well all I can say is they'd better hurry up and apply to transfer leagues, hero. You look about as good as Pauline Hansen at an aboriginal convention right now. Maybe they could use all their money to buy you a new personality, clown.

behind_post
28 Dec 2006, 09:37
Will Horsham clear Zac Holmes to Birchip?

wallyon
28 Dec 2006, 19:38
From Christmas rumuors silly season is about to hit the Wimmera League though most are unreliable.

United- have already signed a few and young kid herberger from Kalkee mite also join them Tucker is still an outside chance. But liam offer, matt william, ali jackson and posiibly jono Lovell could all be departures on top of simon dandy.

stmicks- cant get a recruit for love nor money

Dimboola- already lost lohde and Mcfarlin and big ?? on other darwin boys and jordy bell set to play in melb.

Burras-nick slattery a big ??? but 06 brisbane lion rooke lenny clarke may suit up and if he does will probably help to attract half a dozen good recruits . tucker still a chance??

Horsham- could be in line to lose a few, cam penny, leeming, terry arnel, zac holmes, dumesny and skurrie mightnt return, but in negotiation with gun ruckaman and a ex afl midfielder

Stawell- going real well apparantly
Ararat - really struggling to recruit and set to lose alot

footyfan001
29 Dec 2006, 18:21
I think that Horsham will still be as good as they have been in previous years. Dimboola set to lose a lot, Darwin boys will prob not return, mcfarlane, lohde and a few of their younger boys are off to uni/work etc... Could be a long drop for the roos... read on other threads that MM may be recruiting a few players....

MightyRoar
1 Jan 2007, 13:25
From Christmas rumuors silly season is about to hit the Wimmera League though most are unreliable.

United- have already signed a few and young kid herberger from Kalkee mite also join them Tucker is still an outside chance. But liam offer, matt william, ali jackson and posiibly jono Lovell could all be departures on top of simon dandy.

stmicks- cant get a recruit for love nor money

Dimboola- already lost lohde and Mcfarlin and big ?? on other darwin boys and jordy bell set to play in melb.

Burras-nick slattery a big ??? but 06 brisbane lion rooke lenny clarke may suit up and if he does will probably help to attract half a dozen good recruits . tucker still a chance??

Horsham- could be in line to lose a few, cam penny, leeming, terry arnel, zac holmes, dumesny and skurrie mightnt return, but in negotiation with gun ruckaman and a ex afl midfielder

Stawell- going real well apparantly
Ararat - really struggling to recruit and set to lose alot

Rumour going around at the moment is that Tuckey may not be making the move to Stawell due to work commitments.

Any word on who Ararat are set to lose??

smasher316
2 Jan 2007, 19:54
Is there any young blokes from around the wimmera that u think will make the rebels side this year?

Flick Pass
3 Jan 2007, 10:22
Dumesny & Skurrie are considering playing Horsham Hornets in the Big V, Penny playing somewhere in Melbourne,Matt Williams old man is coaching at Norad/Quant so he may go, Jackson is dependant on school, Offer has just started at the leisure centre in Horsham assume he'll stay, Dandy hasn't signed at N/Q apparently, Jono Lovells oldman is President of United, McFarlane is playing at Sale, if Slattery goes good luck only belts blokes anyway,hope Clark and Tuckey come good for the league. Tucker undecided. Too much Christmas cheer wallyon

roaring tiger
3 Jan 2007, 11:53
Shane Thorne to Moama in the Murray League this year. I hear Luke Eldridge has talked him into coming over from Dimmy and the Dimmy committee aren't very impressed at all with Eldridge poaching his former team-mates at Dimmy.

I don't think Jay Tucker will end up at Minyip as they wont pay him the coin he will want. He think hes worth more coin than he actually is.

Grimmett
3 Jan 2007, 14:22
Luke Eldridge didn't play with Shane Thorne at Dimboola. They may have been teammates in the NTFL but not the WFL. Still, wouldn't make the Dimboola hierarchy any more impressed with the yapping bastard who has enticed Thorne away.

roaring tiger
3 Jan 2007, 16:10
Luke Eldridge didn't play with Shane Thorne at Dimboola. They may have been teammates in the NTFL but not the WFL. Still, wouldn't make the Dimboola hierarchy any more impressed with the yapping bastard who has enticed Thorne away.

I think Eldridge has been helping moama chase some dimmy's other players also from what i have Heard. But thats only word of mouth on the Murray.

smasher316
3 Jan 2007, 21:20
Shane Thorne to Moama in the Murray League this year. I hear Luke Eldridge has talked him into coming over from Dimmy and the Dimmy committee aren't very impressed at all with Eldridge poaching his former team-mates at Dimmy.

I don't think Jay Tucker will end up at Minyip as they wont pay him the coin he will want. He think hes worth more coin than he actually is.

Where is tucker going to go then cause if minyup are not going to pay him what he wants im pretty sure united wont pay him either maybe he should relise he is not a superstar and play for the love of the game haha

Kanaka22
3 Jan 2007, 23:33
1oo% Crap!!!! Shnae Thorne is expecting he's first child in the up-comming month so thats a big cross in he's name! May have got the rumour that he is going to Moama because of a couple of boys playing with him at Wanderers in Darwin that are originally from Moama!

footyfan001
4 Jan 2007, 09:12
1oo% Crap!!!! Shnae Thorne is expecting he's first child in the up-comming month so thats a big cross in he's name! May have got the rumour that he is going to Moama because of a couple of boys playing with him at Wanderers in Darwin that are originally from Moama!

I'm not sure why him having a child in the next month will keep him from going to moama?!?! He will be in Darwin when the child is born so not sure what your on about there....
OUTS: Karl Lohde, Peter MacFarlane, Jordan Bell, Ashley Clugston, few other younger blokes and darwin blokes have big ?????? about their futures....
Could be a long year for them next year....

roaring tiger
4 Jan 2007, 11:43
I'm not sure why him having a child in the next month will keep him from going to moama?!?! He will be in Darwin when the child is born so not sure what your on about there....
OUTS: Karl Lohde, Peter MacFarlane, Jordan Bell, Ashley Clugston, few other younger blokes and darwin blokes have big ?????? about their futures....
Could be a long year for them next year....

Jordan Bell isn't a big loss. But i do afree that it will be a long year for the roos at this stage.

footyfan001
4 Jan 2007, 13:21
Pre seasons would be underway, what are the numbers like?

Andyt30
6 Jan 2007, 09:13
i tip it be Horsham v Dimboola Grand final 3rd time in a row
didn't expect Dimboola to play Horsham in a grand final rematch ;)
it dosn't happen too often were same 2 teams play in consecutive Grand finals

roaring tiger
6 Jan 2007, 09:46
i tip it be Horsham v Dimboola Grand final 3rd time in a row
didn't expect Dimboola to play Horsham in a grand final rematch ;)
it dosn't happen too often were same 2 teams play in consecutive Grand finals

You have got no idea at all if you think dimmy will be playing off in the 2007 grand final. They have as much chance as nhill do at winning a premiership.

I would think it will between united, stawell and minyip murtoa with Horsham a certainey to win 5 in a row.

Flick Pass
8 Jan 2007, 16:27
Where is tucker going to go then cause if minyup are not going to pay him what he wants im pretty sure united wont pay him either maybe he should relise he is not a superstar and play for the love of the game haha

Latest Tucker news he is going to Edenhope/Apsley for a substantial amount just as a player

journeyman
8 Jan 2007, 17:14
Latest Tucker news he is going to Edenhope/Apsley for a substantial amount just as a player

I thought Tucker had a family connection with Kalkee?

If he's willing to travel a bit of an hour to play at Edenhope/Apsley you'd think he would have stayed at Donald..

Donald are known for playing big money, the travel would be the same, he played in a flag there last year and the competition is better.

The edenhope thing is only a rumour though

ROOTA#6
8 Jan 2007, 20:17
The guy who said it swore black and blue that it was fair dinkum.

Know the new coach up there pretty well and can tell you that it is untrue mate

Grimmett
9 Jan 2007, 14:40
Most of the news items from the region since October have just been posted on the Ararat club website.
If you live outside the region this will provide you with an excellent update of much of the off-season happenings for the WFL, HDFL and area in general.

Ckeck it out at http://araratfc.vcfl.com.au if interested.

wallyon
9 Jan 2007, 21:20
just read about waring, kelly and tucker along with a couple of 2nds boy all leaving ararat on there webb site. Also read on horsham league thread
paul dalziel is going to great western. Those out on top of scott turner, jon jess, david clark and posiibly a couple of kids palying rebels could be tough going for the rats.
Jay tucker speculation is endless why clubs waist there time on him is beyond me!

journeyman
10 Jan 2007, 09:50
Tucker gone to Edenhope-Apsley, think there's an article in Mail Times. If not, will be in Friday.

Finals
10 Jan 2007, 10:16
Tucker gone to Edenhope-Apsley, think there's an article in Mail Times. If not, will be in Friday.

Is that Jay Tucker you are referring to?

journeyman
10 Jan 2007, 10:42
Is that Jay Tucker you are referring to?

yes.

Finals
10 Jan 2007, 11:24
yes.

Is there anywhere (paper, etc.,) that I can justify this claim?

journeyman
10 Jan 2007, 12:45
Is there anywhere (paper, etc.,) that I can justify this claim?

This was in today's Mail Times

Tucker signs

EDENHOPE-Apsley has wonthe services of Wimmera Football League representative Jay Tucker.
The former Horsham United leader will be assistant coach to Aaron Langsworth. Tucker has played for Minyip-Murtoa, West Perth,
Donald and United during thepast few years.
Edenhope-Apsley president Neville Forster said Tucker, who is overseas, had signed for two years with the club.
He said the signing was a boost for the club on the eve of its Horsham District Football League debut season.
‘‘The recruiting is fairly positive and you wouldn’t do much better than the coach and assistant coach we’ve now got,’’ Mr Forster said.
He said the club was eagerly anticipating the start of the season.
Mr Forster was confident the football grounds at Edenhope and Apsley would be ready for the start of the season.

Finals
10 Jan 2007, 13:17
This was in today's Mail Times

Tucker signs

EDENHOPE-Apsley has wonthe services of Wimmera Football League representative Jay Tucker.
The former Horsham United leader will be assistant coach to Aaron Langsworth. Tucker has played for Minyip-Murtoa, West Perth,
Donald and United during thepast few years.
Edenhope-Apsley president Neville Forster said Tucker, who is overseas, had signed for two years with the club.
He said the signing was a boost for the club on the eve of its Horsham District Football League debut season.
‘‘The recruiting is fairly positive and you wouldn’t do much better than the coach and assistant coach we’ve now got,’’ Mr Forster said.
He said the club was eagerly anticipating the start of the season.

Mr Forster was confident the football grounds at Edenhope and Apsley would be ready for the start of the season.

Cheers for that. Very disappointing on Jays behalf for leaving Donald after given indications that he would stay!

Sockit151
10 Jan 2007, 13:22
Cheers for that. Very disappointing on Jays behalf for leaving Donald after given indications that he would stay!
Must demand some big coin to make such large travelling and movements between clubs worthwhile???

Flick Pass
10 Jan 2007, 15:26
Must demand some big coin to make such large travelling and movements between clubs worthwhile???

Rumour is $1000 per game

roaring tiger
10 Jan 2007, 18:54
If he is getting that much Edenhope Apsley won't be around for to long. He isn't worth that amount of money.
He does demand the coin though. Kaniva Leeor offered him 450 over the phone last year and he laughed at us. Was probably on 1000 per game at Donald.
But good luck to the power.

Also heard that Nhill missed out on a handy On baller from Ballarat in Wayne Schultz a former junior at the club many years ago. They hoping to get Al Fritsch to committ but hes not sure what hes going to do yet.

localfootyguru
10 Jan 2007, 21:24
I thought David Law chucked in the Rats coaching job due a family illness in Melbourne and that he wasn't goping to coach as he wanted to spedt time with family?

Grimmett, perhaps you can fill me in how he has ended up at Penguin? My initial reading of his appointment there and my understanding of why he stepped aside at Ararat have confused me to say the least.

Hopefully you can place some light on the situation?

localfootyguru
10 Jan 2007, 21:27
Jay Tucker = mercenary! Why clubs take him on has got me bluffed.

The dollar talks with him and he is certainly not going to win any best clubman award.

A big recruiting mistake for Edenhope Aspley in their debut season in the Horsham DFL in 2007.

Grimmett
10 Jan 2007, 21:41
I thought David Law chucked in the Rats coaching job due a family illness in Melbourne and that he wasn't goping to coach as he wanted to spedt time with family?

Grimmett, perhaps you can fill me in how he has ended up at Penguin? My initial reading of his appointment there and my understanding of why he stepped aside at Ararat have confused me to say the least.

Hopefully you can place some light on the situation?

No. You have read it exactly as it has occurred. Make of it what you will.
David publicly announced he was stepping down after initially agreeing to coach in 2007 due to the illness of his sister who would require assistance with her children.
He is now coaching Penguin on a two year deal with extension options.
There was an election for club chairman at the AGM with the challenger claiming he would hire Fish Turner which may have prompted Lawy to seek greener pastures. The challenger got rolled and the incumbent committee was returned and wanted Lawy to take on the role but to no avail.
Clear as mud really.

localfootyguru
10 Jan 2007, 21:52
Thanks for the prompt reply Grimmett. What can you say! I am sure what has happened has not endeared himself to many Ararat committeemen and followers.

Ordinary to say the least in my opinion, especially to make some heartfelt statement and then change tack 360 degrees.

What is Scott Turner up to? Is he back liviing in Ararat?

Grimmett
10 Jan 2007, 22:06
Not yet but soon I think.
Will train with the club at times during the season and attend home games in all likelihood. Intends taking his son to see a few Richmond games and generally enjoying family life instead of being a footballer for the first time in two decades.
Will be invaluable to the coaching staff with his knowledge though as he's indicated he's happy to provide whatever assistance they might want. I'd expect the junior coaches to use him as a resource a fair bit. The Rats have some talented kids in the U17 squad who would benefit from some direct contact with an ex-AFL player.

master jedi
10 Jan 2007, 23:06
If he is getting that much Edenhope Apsley won't be around for to long. He isn't worth that amount of money.
He does demand the coin though. Kaniva Leeor offered him 450 over the phone last year and he laughed at us. Was probably on 1000 per game at Donald.

Also heard that Nhill missed out on a handy On baller from Ballarat in Wayne Schultz a former junior at the club many years ago. They hoping to get Al Fritsch to committ but hes not sure what hes going to do yet.

lindsay still at nhill is he any good what was his year like what is he worth

sdmlions12
11 Jan 2007, 03:36
That's disappointing for the Tiges. I know Schultzy personally and he always said he wanted to head back home and coach in some capacity up there. The man is very talented, and has leadership abilities aplenty something Nhill will need next season it seems like.
As far as I've heard though, Big Al will be back home by the start of next season and should line up for them. Haven't heard alot of any other recruits for Nhill, they're gonna have to tap into their junior ranks again i'd say.
Sonny's not at Nhill anymore, he's playing for Ouyen United in the Mallee league. Basically won the grand final off his own bat last year, and kicked a ton. He played at Dimboola before that, and carved it up there as well. But, he basically walked out on Dimmy b4 last season, after they gave him the coaching job there. He hasn't changed much, it would seem.

journeyman
11 Jan 2007, 09:16

Tucker is a handy player. If he's getting $1000, I'd love to see what they'd offer Carr, Johns, Farr, Brad Miller or Marc Grieg