View Full Version : Wimmera Football League
mykidzrokk
12th September 2005, 16:19
Hi......anyone know how Dimboola went in the prelim on the weekend????
Grandale
14th September 2005, 14:42
Obviously not too many Wimmera League fans use this site.
Anyway, Dimmy beat the Diggers to force their way into the Grand Final against Horsham.
Good luck to them, though. They're gunna need it.
And Horsham Diggers upset Stawell in the Twos. Smashed them in actual fact. Won by 63 points.
Andyt30
28th September 2005, 19:09
Dimboola made the Grand final but lost it by in accuate Kicking in 2nd quarter 1 goal 8
Cameo King
10th October 2005, 19:50
real shame to see Dimmy get rolled, would have been a nice way to end the 20 year premiership drought by beating those pr*cks from Horsham.
Someone please beat them next year so they don't equal the Rats Wimmera.F.L record of 4 consecutive flags.
Will Brad Miller stay with United, or play down in Geelong?
Grimmett
1st November 2005, 11:17
real shame to see Dimmy get rolled, would have been a nice way to end the 20 year premiership drought by beating those pr*cks from Horsham.
Someone please beat them next year so they don't equal the Rats Wimmera.F.L record of 4 consecutive flags.
Will Brad Miller stay with United, or play down in Geelong?
Miller has indicated he will remain in Geelong next season. He has been invited to do some pre-season training with Geelong but is clearly not of that standard. Probable St. Marys recruit for 2006.
Andyt30
1st November 2005, 21:35
Horsham united will miss Brad Miller, they wont; be as strong next year as they were this year Warrack Eagles should have a decent side with Ex North Ballarat Marc Greig, who Quite the North Ballarat due to them religning with the Kangaroos. hge said it was a big mistake for north ballarat , this religning with vfl clubs is a joke, afl should have kept the Reserves sides the old VFL was good at least you had the Under 19;s reserves to watch before the Seniors. its so boring now when ya get their early with nothing to watch Shame on You AFL Thansk alot
TuskenRaider
2nd November 2005, 07:08
How's Ararat looking for 2006? I see they struggled this year which suprised me seeing as they're a reasonably big town in the league.
Grimmett
2nd November 2005, 07:25
How's Ararat looking for 2006? I see they struggled this year which suprised me seeing as they're a reasonably big town in the league.
They will be an improved outfit. Former premiership players Brad 'Spacey' Keilar and Mick Fratin are returning to the fold next season. Both are KPP forwards which was a major problem for the club in 2005.
After four GF's in a row between 1999 and 2002 the club has bottomed out during the last two years winning only five games as the talented and experienced players have moved to other clubs and leagues or retirement.
Last season the average age of the side on a weekly basis was between 18 and 19 which is too young to be competitive in a league like the Wimmera.
The return of a few players and the potential recruiting of a few more will see the Rats climb from the cellar to be a contender for a the last place in the five come season's end, IMO.
Senior coach David Law has been extremely active on the recruiting front having arranged meetings with any player indicating even the slightest interest in playing with Ararat. The overwhelming majority of the current players have signed to play for the club again in 2006 and the general feeling around the club is positive.
Andyt30
2nd November 2005, 08:47
dont forget neighbouring clubs to ararat take em eg the other Ararat side in LPFL it take them a few years to rebuild up again won;t happen over night Ararat were lucky to win any games this year they only won i think 2 for the whole year,
before we merged with warracknabeal end of 2000 season, in 1997 Brim finished winless in the mallee, then in 1998 won about 3, then in 1999 made the finals then 2000 Made the Grand final only fell shot of Beulah by 14 pts, in shocking wet windy conditions. so 4 years to make the grand final i think United will struggle this year
TuskenRaider
2nd November 2005, 10:51
Thanks Grimmett.
Andyt30
2nd November 2005, 11:52
:)
Grimmett
9th November 2005, 12:02
Hopefully Stewart pulls through this OK. I may not like it when he's racking up kicks against my team loose across the half back line but that doesn't mean I wish the bloke ill health.
Article from Wimmera Mail-Times of Monday November 7.
Devlin faces biggest test
Dean Lawson
Tuesday, 8 November 2005
ONE of Wimmera football's most decorated players Stewart Devlin, 33, has approached a fight with a life-threatening illness with trademark energy and enthusiasm.
Devlin, a gifted benchmark regional sporting leader, is confident he can beat a cancer that appeared as a lump under his right arm about 12 months ago.
He said from Melbourne where he works as a policeman that tests had shown the cancer was isolated and, despite the prospect of radiation therapy, hoped to continue playing football.
"It's a pretty good prognosis and all pretty positive," he said.
Surgery and biopsy on the golf-ball-size lump at the end of the football season in September revealed he had Hodgkin's lymphoma, a cancer that attacks the body's lymphatic system.
"It was a bit of a shock when I was first told but I don't feel crook, I'm quite okay," he said.
"At this stage they can treat it quite effectively with radiation and there's a high cure rate, particularly in my situation."
Treatment of Hodgkin's disease is usually successful and high-profile personalities such as singer-songwriter Delta Goodrem and cricket commentator Simon O'Donnell are among those who have beaten the cancer.
Devlin, Wimmera Football League Toohey Medallist, grand final coach, many-time league representative and AFL draftee, said he had initially been blase about the lump.
"To be honest I was probably a bit slack. I noticed it about 12 months ago. It had swollen up and become noticeable but there was no pain. I just kept an eye on it but didn't do anything," he said.
"My mum and my sister are both nurses and I asked them one day what they thought and their immediate comment was to get it checked out straight away.
"At first the thought was that it was a harmless lypoma or fatty tumour but the biopsy showed it was lymphoma.
"But, I suppose if you're going to get a type of cancer, it's the one you want to get," he said.
Devlin lives at Point Cook with his wife Kathleen and has a toddler son, 2, and the couple is expecting another baby in December.
"It was a bit of a shock for me when I was first told but I think it was bigger for Kathleen. But you can't afford to get too worried about it. You just have to do what you have to do. Worry doesn't change anything," he said.
Devlin said he was unsure where he would be playing football next year but admitted it would be hard to leave Horsham Saints.
"The club has copped a bit of a caning of late but I'll have to play it by ear. And it depends on how it pans out with work.
"I have to have treatment every day for a month then they will leave me a bit to reassess how things are going. The radiation is in an isolated area and, fingers crossed, there should be few slight side effects."
freddiefenster
10th November 2005, 18:17
Indeed. Best wishes to Stewie Devlin, one of the finest WFL players in recent times. There is a lot of ordinary people at Coughlin Park (losing all those grand finals - ha ha), but Stewie is one of the rare good uns. All the best.
The Rats will be well in contention in 2006. Spacey and Frato will be the best double act forward combo in the league, bar none. Throw in Dale Bligh ad Paul McLoughlin on the ball, the development of Dave Law's "Baby Rats" and a few more signatures, and I'm tipping it will be the Ararat.F.C themselves who stop Horsham from equalling their 4 in a row record.
Alexandra Oval will be a happy place in 2005.
Grimmett
11th November 2005, 14:15
Stawell Warriors have looked within club ranks to appoint the successor to Jamie Solyom as coach for the upcoming season.
Article from the Stawell Times-News of Friday, November 11.
Power to coach Warriors
Tim O'Connor
Friday, 11 November 2005
Gun onballer Dale Power has been given the nod as the new Stawell Warriors Football Club senior coach for season 2006.
Power, who has been assistant coach for three of the past four seasons, was announced as the new coach at a meeting on Tuesday night, taking over from last season's coach Jamie Solyom.
Club president Rob Nicholson was thrilled to make the announcement.
Nicholson said while it was no secret that the club endeavoured to appoint a coach from outside its own ranks, there had been some very good applicants from within the club.
After three years of assistant coaching duties, Power said taking on the coaching role was the next logical step forward.
"It's been a great club to me so it's an opportunity for me to give something good back to the club basically," Power said.
"It's the next logical step after being an assistant."
Having never coached before, apart from some school teams, Power said it had never really been a goal of his to take up coaching.
"It's been something that's grown into an idea and really it depends on the needs of the club," he said.
"I wouldn't be doing it if I didn't think the club needed it."
Power said he was delighted that the club attempted to get some outside influence, but was happy to take over the role when asked.
When asked of his feeling about taking over the tough role, Power said he felt a sense of apprehension.
"You just want to do everything right, getting things wrong is a bad way to start."
Assisted by Daniel Thomas and Scott Nicholson, the new panel will now get together and `touch base' with their playing group in the next two weeks.
Stawell Warriors have also appointed Paul Fudge as reserves coach for the new season.
- Club president Rob Nicholson and vice-president Tony Dark met with David Coad from Football Victoria yesterday to discuss the possibility of an AFL practice match being played at Central Park, possibly in 2007.
Representatives from the Northern Grampians Shire Council, Parks and Gardens Superintendant John Hunt and Wimmera Region Football Development Manager Geoff Burdett were also in attendance.
"We have been trying to push for this for about three or four years I suppose. It started with the Rebels matches," Dark said.
He said it would be fantastic for the club to land such a coup as it would benefit the whole community.
"If you can get between five to ten thousand people there on a Saturday or Sunday, that's a big boost to the economy," he said
"It would benefit a lot of organisations."
Dark took Coad through the club's facilities, which all appear adequate with the major concern surrounding the oval's width and the timing to co-incide with the Stawell Easter Gift.
Grandale
11th November 2005, 14:23
Stawell Warriors have looked within club ranks to appoint the successor to Jamie Solyom as coach for the upcoming season.
Gun onballer Dale Power has been given the nod as the new Stawell Warriors Football Club senior coach for season 2006.
Power, who has been assistant coach for three of the past four seasons, was announced as the new coach at a meeting on Tuesday night, taking over from last season's coach Jamie Solyom.
Best of luck to young ''Bobby'' and to ''Tombstone'' Thomas in his assistant's role. Could young Danny being the next coach?
Say, is Solyom still playing there next year?
Grimmett
11th November 2005, 14:29
Best of luck to young ''Bobby'' and to ''Tombstone'' Thomas in his assistant's role. Could young Danny being the next coach?
I don't know of Solly's status in 2006. I believe an off-field indiscretion may have led to termination of his coaching position but I'm unaware of whether he is a required, read wanted, player for Stawell in '06.
I think some of the minor league clubs in the area are keen on getting him. He is certainly a gun forward when fit and on-song. Imposing footballer.
Grandale
11th November 2005, 14:32
I don't know of Solly's status in 2006. I believe an off-field indiscretion may have led to termination of his coaching position but I'm unaware of whether he is a required, read wanted, player for Stawell in '06.
I think some of the minor league clubs in the area are keen on getting him. He is certainly a gun forward when fit and on-song. Imposing footballer.
You prepared to expand a little bit on the off-field indiscretion? Whether it was fight, fiscal or fornication?
Grimmett
11th November 2005, 18:53
Fight is the whisper from over the Great Divide. May have involved a younger player from the Warriors but I'm not fully up to speed with the whispers on that. I'll chat to a mate who lives in Stawell and get the story straightened out for ya.
No word on any fiscal mishaps during his time in the Wimmera and he married a Stawell bird earlier this year so I guess his fornicating is just fine!
Grimmett
14th November 2005, 21:18
Bunfight looming between the major and minor leagues in the Wimmera region. Currently at junior level the Wimmera league is Under 17 and Under 14 while the Horsham District League is Under 16 and Under 13. Mail is that the HDFL is set to approve a move to U/17 and U/14 at their forthcoming AGM. It will need approval from the VCFL region which should lead to some interesting discussions. Perhaps the peace of the past few years between the major and minor shows centred around Horsham is about to be shattered.
Andyt30
15th November 2005, 08:02
if that happens, the Only league to keep with the under 13's and under 16;s format will be The Mallee football League can't see them changing , not sure what the leagues future will be in years to come weather they stay as is or amalgamate again the only league would be is North Central, they are in the Interleague ,
Grimmett
17th November 2005, 13:11
The Horsham District Football League held their AGM last night at which the proposal to alter their junior grades from the existing U/13 and U/16 to U/14 and U/17 was tabled. Despite being supported by a majority of 6-4 the motion did not get approved as a change to the league structure such as that requires at least a 75% approval, or in reality an 8-2 vote at least.
So the league will remain as is with the Wimmera FL having their junior football age grades offset at U/14 and U/17. This issue will arise again in 12 months as it is discussed ad nauseum by the HDFL who feel they lose junior players to the major league clubs due to having different age brackets.
The WFL clubs have indicated they are not overly concerned about the issue and feel confident that regardless of HDFL age brackets they will always be able to maintain healthy numbers in their junior football.
Andyt30
17th November 2005, 18:00
i should ask our umpire association President if he know if the will or won't i have heard it being talked about at our meetings don;t think many are in favour of it i think it will always get knocked back, i know Wimmera football league use to have Under 13,16 in the early 80's as i got old records from games when we had the by in the then southern mallee . kids in the under 16's use to play 1 year in warracknabeal to get that extra year it was very handy Brim and warracknabeal are 20ks appart and were in differnt leagues so it was handy then after that year they come back .
half our senior players lived in Warracknabeal, one player hated warracknabeal so played all his footy at brim, ,Brim & Warracknabeal Hated each other we use to nick alot of their players and vice versa . lucky we wern't playing in the same competition
cheers
Grimmett
22nd November 2005, 07:17
Doesn't look as if the coaching changes at Stawell have affected Bobby and Solly's friendship. Wouldn't fancy being the umpire who makes a dodgy line call against Sol.
Stawell Times-News
Power and Solyom win doubles
Tuesday, 22 November 2005
Leading tennis talent Dale Power and his partner Jamie Solyom have been crowned the new Stawell Tennis Club A grade doubles champions.
Power and Solyom won the doubles title on Saturday.
In a tough competition, Power and Solyom proved the best on the day, finishing ahead of runners up duo Shane and Joel Freeland.
Grimmett
22nd November 2005, 11:47
Dimboola made the Grand final but lost it by in accuate Kicking in 2nd quarter 1 goal 8
Rumour spreading throughout the Wimmera League is that despite an announcement straight after the season that the Darwin recruits would all be returning to Dimboola in 2006 things are not actually confirmed yet. Concerns emanating from the Dimmy area suggest that perhaps the star recruits would like a payrise before returning and that the club is none too happy at the prospect of slipping back down the ladder as quickly as they rose up it and are negotiating.
Mobbenfuhrer
22nd November 2005, 11:57
Doesn't look as if the coaching changes at Stawell have affected Bobby and Solly's friendship. Wouldn't fancy being the umpire who makes a dodgy line call against Sol.
Stawell Times-News
Leading tennis talent Dale Power and his partner Jamie Solyom have been crowned the new Stawell Tennis Club A grade doubles champions.
In a tough competition, Power and Solyom proved the best on the day, finishing ahead of runners up duo Shane and Joel Freeland.
There's a couple of footballers amongst those two tennis players!
half time lollies
24th November 2005, 13:53
Nick Ingall is in Perth at the moment checking out Swan Districts. So i doubt he will be back. Not sure about the others???
Grimmett
25th November 2005, 06:36
Nick Ingall is in Perth at the moment checking out Swan Districts. So i doubt he will be back. Not sure about the others???
The connection with the WAFL for Ingall has been acknowledged from the outset by Dimboola who remain confident of securing him, at least publicly. However the rumours are consistent and strong that the entire group of imports may be absent come Round 1, 2006.
Grimmett
25th November 2005, 06:42
Brian 'Cobber' Cassidy has been appointed as coach of Horsham United replacing Shane McGrath and Jay Tucker who held the job for one year. Cassidy was in charge with the Diggers in 2004 before stepping aside for the McGrath/Tucker combination.
This leaves only Horsham Saints, formerly known as St. Michaels, as the only WFL club without a senior coach for 2006.
Ararat - David Law
Dimboola - Sonny Lindsey
Horsham - Stuart Farr, Damien Bunworth
Horsham United - Brian Cassidy
Minyip/Murtoa - Michael Hynes
Nhill - Dean Schumann
Stawell - Dale Power
Warrack Eagles - Marc Greig
half time lollies
25th November 2005, 07:51
The connection with the WAFL for Ingall has been acknowledged from the outset by Dimboola who remain confident of securing him, at least publicly. However the rumours are consistent and strong that the entire group of imports may be absent come Round 1, 2006.
I'd say your on the money there Grimmett. I'd be very surprised if any of the St. Mary's boys fronted up again. Is it fair to say they have taken their money and started running....?
Grimmett
25th November 2005, 08:29
My read on the situation is that the St Marys blokes genuinely felt they were going to return to Dimboola in 2006 but the footy grapevine is working effectively. They joined a struggling club as a group and took it to its first Grand Final since 1985. No doubt they earned some coin at the same time but they generally seemed to be happy to be playing together and working in the town. However, once word got out of their feats during the year, including Peter McFarlane winning the WFL Toohey Medal, their value on the football market went up. Now they are receiving good offers to play in higher standard leagues and you can't really begrudge them that opportunity. It would seem to highlight the perilous nature of using coin to support a premiership challenge, especially in a league where Horsham has won the past three flags with a team largely built through youth development and smart recruiting of local talent. I know the Demons pay but not to the extent of what has consistently been spent by the Roos on an annual basis.
Pratt_Attack
27th November 2005, 20:31
Stawell Times-News
heard solymon is going to enter the NCFL for St Arnaud next year,
what can you guys tell me about this bloke??
Grimmett
27th November 2005, 20:47
Good full forward. Great kick for goal, hardly wastes an opportunity. Very strong and aggressive but prone to going over the top. Developed upper body makes him hard to contend with in one on one wrestles but is actually better on the lead. Happy to lead into the pockets because he is such a good kick. Commands his forward line area.
As a coach he is only good for leading by example, when in control of himself. Poor speaker, unable to convince many of his ability to teach younger players.
Missed substantial numbers of games during three years with Stawell due to injuries and suspensions.
In the 2003 GF he lost the plot and tried to decapitate Stuart Farr of Horsham. Subsequently was suspended for 3 or 4 and had a suspended sentence tacked on meaning he missed the first six or so weeks of 2004. This year when Stawell suffered a surprise loss to Ararat he tried to headbutt the Rats ruckman as the teams shook hands at the end of the game and then banned his players from entering the Ararat social club.
Away from football he seems almost shy unless amongst teammates.
In short, he's high maintenance but if you can keep him focussed on playing footy he might be worth the hassle. Don't know if many WFL teams would take him on.
Pratt_Attack
27th November 2005, 20:56
Good full forward. Great kick for goal, hardly wastes an opportunity. Very strong and aggressive but prone to going over the top. Developed upper body makes him hard to contend with in one on one wrestles but is actually better on the lead. Happy to lead into the pockets because he is such a good kick. Commands his forward line area.
As a coach he is only good for leading by example, when in control of himself. Poor speaker, unable to convince many of his ability to teach younger players.
Missed substantial numbers of games during three years with Stawell due to injuries and suspensions.
In the 2003 GF he lost the plot and tried to decapitate Stuart Farr of Horsham. Subsequently was suspended for 3 or 4 and had a suspended sentence tacked on meaning he missed the first six or so weeks of 2004. This year when Stawell suffered a surprise loss to Ararat he tried to headbutt the Rats ruckman as the teams shook hands at the end of the game and then banned his players from entering the Ararat social club.
Away from football he seems almost shy unless amongst teammates.
In short, he's high maintenance but if you can keep him focussed on playing footy he might be worth the hassle. Don't know if many WFL teams would take him on.
dont know if i wanted to hear that! he isnt coaching, we already have a coach so he is just a player. sounds like he will fit in well, hopefully sort a few out in our league!
Grimmett
27th November 2005, 21:01
Take my comments for what you want. Remember he coached and played for Stawell who are the arch rivals of my club Ararat. Think Donald vs St Arnaud for the type of rivalry involved.
He will most definitely sort a few out if given the chance. It's not all thug stuff either as anybody who wanders into his path on a lead will know they have been connected with.
Grimmett
30th November 2005, 09:26
Today's Wimmera Mail-Times reports that Josh Mibus is leaving Horsham United to play for Donald in the North Central FL. Mibus is a regular WFL representative and has previously been in the VCFL squad for the Country Championships. Donald are waiting on confirmation that his Diggers' teammates, Jay Tucker and Tim Wade, will also cross to the NCFL. Tucker has coached United in two of the last three years and spent 2004 playing in the WAFL. Wade is a former basketballer with the Horsham Hornets who played his first season of major league football in 2005 and is developing into a handy KPP forward.
Ross Funcke is coaching Donald so they are clearly loading up on major league recruits to have a fair dinkum crack at the NCFL flag.
United appear to be destined for a slide down the WFL ladder as they will also lose century goalkicker Brad Miller as well. Recent reports suggested he was looking at playing for Werribee in the VFL but he is now more likely to head to the WAFL with Perth.
ratley
30th November 2005, 11:27
dont know if i wanted to hear that! he isnt coaching, we already have a coach so he is just a player. sounds like he will fit in well, hopefully sort a few out in our league!
Urch Crunch
Can you tell me how Cam Penny went this year with Horsham?
Grimmett
30th November 2005, 13:17
Urch Crunch
Can you tell me how Cam Penny went this year with Horsham?
Powerhouse footballer who didn't meet an opposition player he thought he should run around during 2005. Booted three goals in the Grand Final in a dominant display for Horsham. Rightfully won the medal for BOG. Strong year in which he played across half back regularly and mixed in th eodd run up forward or on the ball. I'm sure Horsham will be keen to see him in a Demons guernsey again in 2006.
Grandale
30th November 2005, 13:23
Clarrie (Grimmett), any chance you would be able to tell me whether the two following players are still around the Wimmera and iff so who they are playing for:
Daniel Matthews (from Stawell). This kid was an absolute star at 15-16, at which point I would have put a teste on him getting drafted, but he didn't seem to cut it with the Rebels.
Jai Smith (Horsham). Probably an even better junior than Danny boy. Another whom I thought would find find his way to AFL club but apparently never even got close.
Grimmett
30th November 2005, 13:35
Jye Smith played in the Horsham premiership of 2003 as a 17 year old if memory serves. Too short for anything other than VCFL major league standard he is blessed with good skills and blinding pace. Played in the 2004 Reserves premiership after Horsham recruited a number of older blokes back to the club. This season he transferred across to Horsham United where he was consistent playing in and across the midfield.
Grandale
30th November 2005, 13:38
Jye Smith played in the Horsham premiership of 2003 as a 17 year old if memory serves. Too short for anything other than VCFL major league standard he is blessed with good skills and blindingpace. Played in the 2004 Reserves premiership after Horsham recruited a number of older blokes back to the club. This season he transferred across to Horsham United where he was consistent playing in and across the midfield.
Thanks pal. That's amazing that he couldn't even get a game in the Ones last year.
What about Danny M? Any news on him...
Grimmett
30th November 2005, 13:57
Daniel Matthews played with Newcomb in the Bellarine League in 2005. They defeated Torquay in the Grand Final. A brief scout showed him as BOG in Rd 1. Not mentioned in despatches about the GF. No idea how he's travelling as a footballer these days. Perhaps you could ask in the Geelong Region thread?
Grimmett
30th November 2005, 13:58
Thanks pal. That's amazing that he couldn't even get a game in the Ones last year.
What about Danny M? Any news on him...
Jye played some ones but he was mostly kept out of the lineup because Scott Batchelor who is similar in stature but has represented the VCFL was playing as well.
Satan311
3rd December 2005, 15:14
United appear to be destined for a slide down the WFL ladder as they will also lose century goalkicker Brad Miller as well. Recent reports suggested he was looking at playing for Werribee in the VFL but he is now more likely to head to the WAFL with Perth.
I hope you are right that he is heading our way. Did he give any indication that Perth was his preferred option? I know another club was keen to get him over here too, but hopefully he will make the right choice
:thumbsu:
Grimmett
4th December 2005, 09:18
I hope you are right that he is heading our way. Did he give any indication that Perth was his preferred option? I know another club was keen to get him over here too, but hopefully he will make the right choice
:thumbsu:
Quote from the Mail-Times is: "I'm going over to Western Australia on December 9 for a few days to check out the situation. I'll talk to anyone and will be more than happy to meet with East Perth while I'm over there, but Perth is looking the option."
Full article here: http://araratfc.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=17969&orgID=1111&Oname=Ararat+Rats&O1c=6&O10c=2
Satan311
4th December 2005, 10:18
Thanks Grimmett :thumbsu: Can't wait to see if he signs and lines up for us next year. Do you know how tall he is?
Grimmett
4th December 2005, 17:40
Thanks Grimmett :thumbsu: Can't wait to see if he signs and lines up for us next year. Do you know how tall he is?
The WFL weekly record is titled 'The Footballer'. In 'The Footballer' for this years 1st Semi Final Miller was listed as 190cms and 98kg. All I can suggest is that would be close to the mark but as the clubs are required to submit the information for publication they traditionally just ask the players' what heights and weights they want to be listed as. Players traditionally add or subtract depending on what they think they SHOULD be or WANT to be, not what they actually ARE.
So 190 and 98, for what its worth.
Andyt30
5th December 2005, 12:23
2006 WFL Draw has been Released in todays Horsham Mail Times Starts April 8
Rd 1
Warrack Eagles V Nhill (Warracknabeal)
Dimboola V United
Minyip/Murtoa v Saints (Minyip)
Horsham v Ararat.
Stawell Bye.
Rd 2 April 22
Stawell v Saints
Dimboola v Minyip/Murtoa
United v Warrack Eagles
Nhill V Horsham
Ararat Bye.
Rd 3 Anzac Day tuesdays 25th
Saints v United
Rd 3 cont April 29
Minyip/Murtoa v Stawell
Nhill V Dimboola
Ararat v Warrack Eagles
Horsham Bye
RD 4.
Ararat v Nhill
Horsham V United
Warrack Eagles v Minyip Murtoa (Brim)
Stawell V Dimboola
saints Bye
Rd 5
United V Nhill
Minyip/Murtoa v Ararat (Minyip)
Stawell v Horsham
Saints v warrack Eagles
Dimboola Bye
Rd 6
United v Minyip-Murtoa
Nhill V Stawell
Ararat v Saints
Dimboola V Horsham ( Grand final rematch ;) )
Warrack Eagles bye
May 27 Interleague.
Rd 7
Saints v Dimboola
Warrack Eagles v Stawell ( Warracknabeal)
Horsham v Minyip-Murtoa
Ararat v United
Nhill Bye.
Rd 8 saturday
Warrack Eagles v Dimboola (Brim)
Minyip-Murtoa v Nhill (Murtoa)
Sunday:
Stawell v Ararat
Saints V Horsham
Rd 9
Horsham V Warrack Eagles
Dimboola v Ararat
Nhill V Saints
Stawell v United
Minyip-Murtoa bye
Rd 10
Ararat v Horsham
Nhill V Warrack Eagles
United v Dimboola
Saints v Minyip-Murtoa
Stawell bye
Rd 11
saints v Stawell
Minyip-Murtoa v Dimboola (Minyip)
Warrack Eagles v United (Brim)
Horsham V Nhill
Ararat Bye
Rd 12
United v Saints
Stawell v Minyip-Murtoa
Dimboola V Nhill
Warrack Eagles v Ararat (Warracknabeal)
Horsham Bye
Andyt30
5th December 2005, 12:37
2006 WFL Draw has been Released in todays Horsham Mail Times Starts April 8
Rd 1
Warrack Eagles V Nhill (Warracknabeal)
Dimboola V United
Minyip/Murtoa v Saints (Minyip)
Horsham v Ararat.
Stawell Bye.
Rd 2 April 22
Stawell v Saints
Dimboola v Minyip/Murtoa
United v Warrack Eagles
Nhill V Horsham
Ararat Bye.
Rd 3 Anzac Day tuesdays 25th
Saints v United
Rd 3 cont April 29
Minyip/Murtoa v Stawell
Nhill V Dimboola
Ararat v Warrack Eagles
Horsham Bye
RD 4.
Ararat v Nhill
Horsham V United
Warrack Eagles v Minyip Murtoa (Brim)
Stawell V Dimboola
saints Bye
Rd 5
United V Nhill
Minyip/Murtoa v Ararat (Minyip)
Stawell v Horsham
Saints v warrack Eagles
Dimboola Bye
Rd 6
United v Minyip-Murtoa
Nhill V Stawell
Ararat v Saints
Dimboola V Horsham ( Grand final rematch ;) )
Warrack Eagles bye
May 27 Interleague.
Rd 7
Saints v Dimboola
Warrack Eagles v Stawell ( Warracknabeal)
Horsham v Minyip-Murtoa
Ararat v United
Nhill Bye.
Rd 8 saturday
Warrack Eagles v Dimboola (Brim)
Minyip-Murtoa v Nhill (Murtoa)
Sunday:
Stawell v Ararat
Saints V Horsham
Rd 9
Horsham V Warrack Eagles
Dimboola v Ararat
Nhill V Saints
Stawell v United
Minyip-Murtoa bye
Rd 10
Ararat v Horsham
Nhill V Warrack Eagles
United v Dimboola
Saints v Minyip-Murtoa
Stawell bye
Rd 11
saints v Stawell
Minyip-Murtoa v Dimboola (Minyip)
Warrack Eagles v United (Brim)
Horsham V Nhill
Ararat Bye
Rd 12
United v Saints
Stawell v Minyip-Murtoa
Dimboola V Nhill
Warrack Eagles v Ararat (Warracknabeal)
Horsham Bye
Rd 13
Nhill V Ararat
United v Horsham
Minyip-Murtoa v Warrack Eagles (Murtoa)
Dimboola v Stawell
Saints Bye
Rd 14
Nhill v United
Ararat v Minyip-Murtoa
Horsham v Stawell
Warrack Eagles v Saints (Warracknabeal)
Dimboola bye
Rd 15
Minyip-Murtoa v United (Min)
Stawell v Nhill
Saints v Ararat
Horsham v Dimboola
Warrack Eagles bye
Rd 16
Dimboola v Saints
Stawell v Warrack Eagles
Minyip-Murtoa v Horsham (Mur)
United v Ararat
Nhill Bye
Rd 17 Sat
Dimboola v Warrack Eagles
Horsham v Saints
Nhill v Minyip-Murtoa
Rd 17 Sunday
Ararat v Stawell
United Bye
Rd 18
Warrack Eagles v Horsham (Brim)
Ararat v Dimboola
Saints v Nhill
United v Stawell
Minyip-Murtoa Bye
finals
Grimmett
6th December 2005, 18:55
Yet to be confirmed by the WFL but Horsham United and Ararat have agreed to play their games on Sundays in 2006. WFL has indicated it only needed to the two clubs to agree to the idea and they would support it. Agreement is finalised so the matches will be played on Sunday next year.
Andyt30
6th December 2005, 22:03
then why would they Publish the Draw i would think they would decide before they had published the Draw and i bet when the draw comes out in the footy record it will say the same .
i will know when it gets closer at our Umpires training night officially
cause united and saints won;t be able to train much not with a small break
i should know whats happening up here being a goal umpire for the Wimmera football umpires association, so we know what happening like last year with the night footy we didn;t know until the last Minute
I can easily ask our President he should know or even the League President
the WFL will have a new President for 2006
i think it will take toll on the Players i think it should stay weekens we are Wimmera football league not AFL and i don't think the other umpires would want to only have a short break anyway
especally goal umpires were just got enough we lost one with retirement so we'll struggle abit this year
unless we got any new ones i don;t know about. one goal umpire is a Policeman at Horsham, and another 2 are Centrals also have a PArking inspector he's a Central as well . most mighn't be avaulable due to shift work . we struggle in finals goals sometimes we have to do 2 games in arow or 3 one the sunday depening if someones working that day thats how bad it;s getting .
cheers
Pratt_Attack
6th December 2005, 22:12
What is the name of the footballer who was captain of Nhill last year? He is like 21 and a nuggety midfielder? What do we know about him?
Andyt30
6th December 2005, 22:20
Nhills Captain in 2004 was Graeme Cole, we Play Nhill At Warracknabeal rd 1
Pratt_Attack
6th December 2005, 22:33
Nhills Captain in 2004 was Graeme Cole, we Play Nhill At Warracknabeal rd 1
i meant last season, this year then who was nhills captain?
Grimmett
7th December 2005, 07:39
then why would they Publish the Draw i would think they would decide before they had published the Draw and i bet when the draw comes out in the footy record it will say the same.....i think it will take toll on the Players...i think it should stay weekens we are Wimmera football league not AFL and i don't think the other umpires would want to only have a short break anyway.....cheers
It only involves Ararat and United when they play each other which is two matches. Added to the Stawell and Ararat matches, the Anzac Day game and the St. Michaels and Horsham game on the long weekend and I make it as six games not played on a Saturday during the season. That's six out of 72 for the home and away season. Hardly an imposition considering you get reimbursed. If you don't wanna work on Sundays make yourself unavailable.
Andyt30
7th December 2005, 08:13
i've only done sunday games in finals, i dont mind double up more the Better rack up more games :) need another full season and a bit to get 50 games under my belt i;ve done 24 games , 2 were swaps with Swan Hill & Colac
and when ya short of numbers i don;t mind doing 2 days if required
i dunno why Minyip-Murtoa and Warrack eagles don;t play sunday, i remember the first year in the Brim and Warracknabeal merged year we played them on the Sunday .
it Will Say in the Horsham Mail times when it gets to that stage
we'd have to be told officially whats happening anyway
maby sack the ones who did the Draw maby its a misprint :D
Do you mean Dean Schumann(Coach) of Nhill?
cheers
Grimmett
7th December 2005, 08:24
i've only done sunday games in finals, i dont mind double up more the Better rack up more games :) need another full season and a bit to get 50 games under my belt i;ve done 24 games , 2 were swaps with Swan Hill & Colac
and when ya short of numbers i don;t mind doing 2 days if required
i dunno why Minyip-Murtoa and Warrack eagles don;t play sunday, i remember the first year in the Brim and Warracknabeal merged year we played them on the Sunday .
it Will Say in the Horsham Mail times when it gets to that stage
we'd have to be told officially whats happening anyway
maby sack the ones who did the Draw maby its a misprint :D
Do you mean Dean Schumann(Coach) of Nhill?
cheers
No the draw as published is correct. Horsham United and Ararat have only this week agreed to play each other on Sundays' and will apply to the WFL for a change to the draw. As it only affects the two clubs involved and no other WFL club it will be ratified and publicised later. :thumbsu:
Grimmett
7th December 2005, 08:38
I think the captain of Nhill in '05 was Simon Brearley. Certainly fits the description of nuggety midfielder around the 21 years of age mark. Pretty handy player who would be capable of playing midfield for St. Arnaud if that's why you ask Urch.
Andyt30
7th December 2005, 09:23
i mean Anzac day match United V Horsham saints to be played tuesday 25th April
Pratt_Attack
7th December 2005, 15:34
I think the captain of Nhill in '05 was Simon Brearley. Certainly fits the description of nuggety midfielder around the 21 years of age mark. Pretty handy player who would be capable of playing midfield for St. Arnaud if that's why you ask Urch.
thanks grimmett, heard he is signed up this year as assistant coach
Andyt30
7th December 2005, 16:14
some are captain/Coach not many seem to just be captain, `
Warrack eagles didn't have a seperate captain and coach,
our coach was both not sure what marc will be. warrack will be the
Big improvers from last year especally if our new coach brings along some players from North Ballarat . not sure how Horham United will go with loosing so many players likes of Jay Tucker to Donald 1 carter missing most of next season, Josh Milbus also gone to Donald , and Brad Miller
it will take united time to rebuid to a competetive Club .
Grimmett
7th December 2005, 17:56
thanks grimmett, heard he is signed up this year as assistant coach
Brearley as an assistant coach at St. Arnaud I assume you mean. Already got Jamie Solyom as an assistant as well haven't you?
Looks like Donald and St. Arnaud, those most traditional of rivals, did not like the premiership heading to Charlton and have decided to do some shopping in the Wimmera League. Josh Mibus and Jay Tucker to Donald with Ross Funcke as coach boosts Donald and the addition of Solly and Brearley will do the same at Lord Nelson Park.
Two quick questions for you Urch.
Is Darren Atkinson still coach at St. Arnaud?
Ever see St. Arnaud and/or Donald moving to the Wimmera League?
Thought of a third question. Should we start the official NCFL thread? ;)
Grimmett
7th December 2005, 21:09
This is second hand but apparently Terry Wallace was just on 5AA and said that with their pre season draft pick they were going to pick up Jezza...but he had a medical which turned up negaitve and Terry got told that medically he wouldnt be able to play AFL football. This probably stems from the spleen injury. If its that bad, I wonder if it will stunt his SANFL and football career short? ANyone else heard anything?
Posted in the Port Adelaide forum. Sad news indeed if it does mean the end of Clayton's career. Hopefully it is inaccurate and he is a legit chance to be grabbed by the Tigers cos he is without a shadow of a doubt one of the best players in the country at the moment not in the AFL system.
One of the products from your area AndyT. Imagine if the Eagles could entice him back!
Pratt_Attack
8th December 2005, 15:31
Brearley as an assistant coach at St. Arnaud I assume you mean. Already got Jamie Solyom as an assistant as well haven't you?
Looks like Donald and St. Arnaud, those most traditional of rivals, did not like the premiership heading to Charlton and have decided to do some shopping in the Wimmera League. Josh Mibus and Jay Tucker to Donald with Ross Funcke as coach boosts Donald and the addition of Solly and Brearley will do the same at Lord Nelson Park.
Two quick questions for you Urch.
Is Darren Atkinson still coach at St. Arnaud?
Ever see St. Arnaud and/or Donald moving to the Wimmera League?
Thought of a third question. Should we start the official NCFL thread? ;)
Bull is the still the coach, doing a very good job may i add. There was talk and there is still continued talk of either or both teams joining the wimmera not sure if any action will be taking but there was quiet strong talk of it 2 years ago but nothing eventuated. Yeah a NCFL thread would be a good idea. Solly is just a player this year i think, but im not 100% on that, Brearley is def an assistant coach.
Andyt30
8th December 2005, 15:42
yeah Grimmett cause Jeremy played junior footy at brim
who knows if he gives up on AFL hope he comes back Home to Play
with The Warrack eagles, hope Matt Rosa has better luck both familys their dads played With Brim, Graeme Clayton & Col Rosa both were very good footballers
Andyt30
8th December 2005, 15:47
2 be no good that still would make wimmera league have a bye the Wimmera are trying to remove the bye .. i also heard the clubs who want to go into the wimmera have to approace them not the wimmera to them .
so donald or st.Arnaud would have to approach the wimmera football league.
thats how it works. north central might as well amalgamate with the mallee since they are in the interleague Nullawil should leave Golden Rivers and return to either mallee or North Central less travel for Nullawil, they been better of in North Central rather then Golden Rivers .
their not far from Wycheproof or Birchip .
cheers
Grimmett
13th December 2005, 20:58
Brad Miller is moving to the WAFL with Perth. Reported today on the Footy Goss website.
Perth has signed Victorian country forward Brad Miller from Horsham United in the Wimmera League.
Miller has signed a two year deal with the Demons and has booted over 100 goals in a season over the past two years in the Wimmera league.
The twenty-two year old kicked 22 goals in a match in 2004 and has represented the league in the Victorian Country Championships.
He is regarded as being a strong mark overhead and good in a man on man situation although his kicking at times is known to suffer from inaccuracy.
Pratt_Attack
13th December 2005, 21:00
Brad Miller is moving to the WAFL with Perth. Reported today on the Footy Goss website.
Perth has signed Victorian country forward Brad Miller from Horsham United in the Wimmera League.
Miller has signed a two year deal with the Demons and has booted over 100 goals in a season over the past two years in the Wimmera league.
The twenty-two year old kicked 22 goals in a match in 2004 and has represented the league in the Victorian Country Championships.
He is regarded as being a strong mark overhead and good in a man on man situation although his kicking at times is known to suffer from inaccuracy.
one would think united are fingered. have they done suffiecent chasing to cover these aces that have left?
Grimmett
13th December 2005, 21:17
one would think united are fingered. have they done suffiecent chasing to cover these aces that have left?
They have signed Brad Cassidy who is coach 'Cobber' Cassidy's younger brother. Was a Fremantle draftee about ten years ago from memory. Been playing for Koroit in the Hampden League. Will probably hold down CHF for the Diggers. Apart from that the player movement at United has all been outwards. Lost Jay Tucker, Josh Mibus, Brad Miller, Adrian Wade and Adam Jolley. Might still lose Tim Wade and Joel Hinch. They had a big spread in the Wimmera Mail-Times last week promoting the young players who will fill the gaps but I'm sure everybody outside the club is anticipating they will drop down the ladder in 2006. Their reserves won the premiership in 2005 so they may be better situated than many believe.
The news that Andrew Carter will miss half the season while in Europe doesn't help.
Grimmett
14th December 2005, 20:25
AFL SHOCK FOR LEN
First published by:
Wimmera Mail-Times
Wednesday, December 14, 2005
By Megan Hustwaite
The meteoric rise of former Murtoa footballer Lenny Clark, 22, has continued with the ruckman winning selection on an AFL club rookie list.
Clark, who appeared in state league football in Adelaide almost by mistake, will join the Brisbane Lions after the club selected him with pick 22 in yesterday’s rookie draft.
Clark has played for West Adelaide in the SANFL for the past 18 months and told the Mail-Times his drafting came as a surprise.
“I’m absolutely over the moon. I’m very shocked, I didn’t expect this at all,” he said. “I was at work and Brisbane called in the morning to say they’d taken me with their last pick and that they’d get in touch with me later on to give me more details. It’s all happened so quick, it’s very hard to believe.”
Clark, who works for an accounting firm in Adelaide, moved to S.A. four years ago to study a bachelor of commerce degree.
He joined West Adelaide on invitation from coach and former Adelaide premiership player Shaun Rehn who watched him play amateur football with Edwardstown early last year.
“I came over to Adelaide and didn’t play footy for the first year and during that time I came back and played a few games for the Burras in the Wimmera League,” he said. “The following year I played amateurs and then Shaun Rehn approached me to see if I wanted to have a go in the SANFL.”
Clark said he played a consistent year in 2004 but injuries interrupted his season this year.
“I had a niggling problem with my knee this year and missed a lot of games,” he said. “I had the knee cleaned up at the end of the season and I’m about to start running, but because of the injury I wrote myself off. I had a few phone calls from a couple of clubs, but no real indication, so I didn’t expect anything.”
He said he was looking forward to moving to Brisbane to try to make his mark at AFL level.
“Now I’ve just got to train hard once I get up there and take advantage of the opportunity,” he said. “It’s important I work hard because you don’t get many chances at the big time and I want to play senior footy. There’ll be a fair few blokes in line to get a game at Brisbane before me. They have some of the best ruckmen going around in Clark Keating and Jamie Charman and I’m sure they’ll be awesome to learn from.”
Former Burras coach David Delahunty, who coached Clark in under-17’s, said he was delighted to hear of the news.
“I’m absolutely rapt, it’s just fantastic,” he said. “It doesn’t really come as a surprise to me because he’s a kid who is six feet seven inches, he can kick with both feet, he can jump and he’s very athletic. What does surprise me is how he slipped through the Wimmera ranks and never made the Rebels under-18 team and the likes.”
Rookies cannot play AFL senior games unless clubs have vacancies caused by long-term injury or retirement.
HJ32
14th December 2005, 20:42
They have signed Brad Cassidy who is coach 'Cobber' Cassidy's younger brother. Was a Fremantle draftee about ten years ago from memory. Been playing for Koroit in the Hampden League. Will probably hold down CHF for the Diggers. Apart from that the player movement at United has all been outwards. Lost Jay Tucker, Josh Mibus, Brad Miller, Adrian Wade and Adam Jolley. Might still lose Tim Wade and Joel Hinch. They had a big spread in the Wimmera Mail-Times last week promoting the young players who will fill the gaps but I'm sure everybody outside the club is anticipating they will drop down the ladder in 2006. Their reserves won the premiership in 2005 so they may be better situated than many believe.
The news that Andrew Carter will miss half the season while in Europe doesn't help.
Brad Cassidy played for Collingwood and Freeo heave ho but is originally a Horsham lad. His Brother Cobber Cassidy is a blast from the past for me! He played with my old man at Naracoorte back in the late 70's early 80's!
what does cobber do these days!????
Grimmett
14th December 2005, 20:52
Brad Cassidy played for Collingwood and Freeo heave ho but is originally a Horsham lad. His Brother Cobber Cassidy is a blast from the past for me! He played with my old man at Naracoorte back in the late 70's early 80's!
what does cobber do these days!????
No idea. Coached United with Jay Tucker a couple of years ago and has been around the Diggers for a few years now but I've got no knowledge of what he does for a crust. Reckon he might have won a league medal in the Kowree Naracoorte league in his day though. Perhaps as your old man's teammate HJ?
ratley
15th December 2005, 09:02
[quote=HJ32]Brad Cassidy played for Collingwood and Freeo heave ho but is originally a Horsham lad.
Brad Cassidy originally was drafted to fitzroy. He was at Koriot the last couple of years but hardly payed becasue of injury. Maybe played 5 games this year.
HJ32
15th December 2005, 10:06
did he play in the flag at Koriot with Mifsud?
Grimmett
15th December 2005, 10:12
[quote=HJ32]Brad Cassidy played for Collingwood and Freeo heave ho but is originally a Horsham lad.
Brad Cassidy originally was drafted to fitzroy. He was at Koriot the last couple of years but hardly payed becasue of injury. Maybe played 5 games this year.
Brad Cassidy was originally drafted by Fremantle in 1994 as a pre-draft selection. He played 14 games before he was released. He was then drafted at #49 by Fitzroy in 1995. In 1996 Collingwood drafted him with selection 65.
Interesting sidenote is that Collingwood acquired #65 from Carlton in a trade that sent Mick McGuane to the Blues. The other pick Colligwood received in that trade was #19 which they used on Brent Tuckey who grew up in Stawell and played for the North Ballarat Rebels. So the Maggies got two Rebels and Wimmera products in one draft in exchange for McGuane who played three games in total for Carlton. Who won that trade?
Grimmett
15th December 2005, 10:18
did he play in the flag at Koriot with Mifsud?
Played there for four seasons and they won in 2003 when he was an assistant coach to Mifsud. Been assistant past three season I think.
ratley
15th December 2005, 13:58
Played there for four seasons and they won in 2003 when he was an assistant coach to Mifsud. Been assistant past three season I think.
i believe that is correct
Grimmett
5th January 2006, 20:47
Interesting opinion piece written by Dean Lawson for the Wimmera Mail-Times. Originally published December 21 and sure to upset many old timers protective of their respective leagues.
FOOTY FOR THOUGHT
First published by:
Wimmera Mail-Times
Wednesday, December 21, 2005
By Dean Lawson
The movement of footballers between neighbouring Wimmera, North Central, Mallee and Horsham District leagues must be of constant fascination to anyone monitoring developments from afar.
With a salary cap gone, clubs are in an off-season bidding war for the relatively few individuals who might be the difference between winning and losing next year.
There are footballers shifting all over the place.
The willingness of people to travel in modern football is staggering and we’re wondering if the game in our part of the world is due for another boundary change.
In the past, our foundation football administrators drew up competitions based on simple rules.
Travelling distances separated major country leagues and standard, based on community drawing power, facilities and money separated major from minor or social competitions.
And it wasn’t easy for those early bush pioneers.
Wimmera football enthusiasts, for example, took seven goes before and after the First World War before coming up with the Wimmera League in 1937.
Things have changed dramatically over time and the tyranny of distance is no longer a great evil.
Relatively good roads and quick and comfortable vehicles mean footballers, in some circumstances, can easily slip up the highway after work or on Saturday morning to play as semi-professionals in neighbouring leagues.
Standards in facilities are probably no longer an issue and it seems, with a harvest in full swing, that money is no issue for some clubs any more.
Wimmera League clubs Horsham United and Horsham Saints are among the latest to deal with circumstances where leading players have left to play in other leagues.
But they’re not on their own, it is probably just their turn to cop it in the complicated regional player trade process.
It all suggest our football boundaries are becoming irrelevant and tells us that instead of concentrating on regions and leagues, our main focus should be to strengthen our football clubs and communities.
That means, in theory at least, we should dissolve all leagues throughout the Wimmera and Mallee and get back to the drawing board.
It’s ludicrous that clubs from major Wimmera centres Horsham, Stawell, Ararat, Warracknabeal, Nhill, Dimboola, Minyip and Murtoa don’t get an opportunity to play against teams from Donald, St Arnaud or even Birchip or Charlton.
It also doesn’t make sense that in the Horsham District and Mallee leagues find themselves in dreadful mismatches.
What a fascinating exercise it would be to pool the clubs and, armed with all the things we know today, redesign the game in our region.
Andyt30
5th January 2006, 20:54
Dean Lawson should have said Warrack Eagles, they play against St.Arnaud In Practice MAtches, last few years, they so play woorineen .
St Arnaud would be upto Wimmera League Standard, if they can play good against Warrack, then they can with most of the Smaller towns, horsham's would test them can;t see why St,Arnaud or Donald wouldn;t fit in wimmera
you might all well say Warracks not the same club they were prior to merger end of 2001, their should be classified a new Entry to WFL. The Warracknabeal club prior to 2001 no longer exists that period is Over . if i hear anyone say Warracknabeal i quickly correct them :D
Grimmett
5th January 2006, 20:56
The other main story line floating around the Wimmera is the queue of clubs putting their hand up for an AFL practice match in 2007.
Stawell applied for a game for 2006 but was knocked back because Central Park is too narrow.
Next up was Horsham but it is already aware that the City Oval would need to be widened for it to be acceptable to the AFL.
Next cab off the rank has been Ararat with the local mayor suggesting he will spearhead a campaign to get a game in 2007. No problems over the size of the ground or spectator facilities but the player facilities will definitely need some attention.
Expect Warrack Eagles and Minyip-Murtoa to join the fray shortly as they have grounds of suitable size.
In other news around the WFL Nhill captain Simon Brearley is yet to confirm his probable move to St Arnaud in the North Central FL. However, Horsham United's Tim Wade has decided to move to Donald in the NCFL following Jay Tucker and Josh Mibus. Brad Miller has signed with Perth in the WAFL.
Stawell's forward structure is disappearing quickly as Jamie Solyom has signed as assistant with St Arnaud, Nick Reid is moving to Brisbane and Sam Anyon is bound for Geelong.
Horsham remains almost intact with only Anthony Perkins leaving for Kalkee from there premiership team. Red hot is hardly adequate to describe their premiership status heading into '06.
Dimboola has definitely lost Nick Ingall but otherwise is quiet as is Minyip-Murtoa. Warrack Eagles are still searching for an assistant for incoming coach, Marc Greig.
Andyt30
5th January 2006, 21:02
I can;t see why Warrack dosnt apply for AFL pracrtice matches eg ANZAC Park is capable of AFL af they had VFL prctice matches their about 1981 i got a old program somone gave me. Essendon and i think Hawthorn
Andyt30
5th January 2006, 21:03
even after Stawell did widen their oval obsually still not upto Standerd?
Grimmett
5th January 2006, 21:11
even after Stawell did widen their oval obsually still not upto Standerd?
OVAL NEEDS TO GROW
First published by:
Wimmera Mail-Times
Monday, December 19, 2005
By Dean Lawson
A long running battle to win an AFL practice match in Horsham will come down to the city’s ability to increase the size of the playing surface at Horsham City Oval.
The city oval is long enough but needs to be nine metres wider to meet AFL guidelines governing playing conditions.
Widening the oval looms as major project as Horsham municipal and sporting leaders wait for news on their application for a major AFL grant through the State Government’s regional football program.
The city has already won $50,000 for pavilion renovations at the reserve in the first round of grant allocations.
But it has also applied for a $200,000 AFL-backed grant, money put aside to upgrade regional facilities to a level where they would be adequate for AFL practice games.
Horsham City Oval’s playing surface measures in at only 165 metres by 101 metres after drawing in a boundary line with the minimum five metre clearance to the fence. It needs to be at least 135 metres by 110 metres to qualify for a game.
Stawell applied for a practice match this year but failed, Central Park’s 163 metre by 97 metre playing surface a fundamental reason behind the decision.
Central Park had already undergone extensive works to widen the playing surface.
Football Victoria Wimmera development manager Geoff Burdett, among the strongest advocates for a Wimmera practice game, said Horsham City Oval’s playing arena had room to expand.
He said using space on the southern scoreboard wing would also increase an opportunity to attract premier cricketers who might consider straight boundaries too close.
“Stawell probably can’t go wider but should keep having a crack at getting a game. But the city oval has considerable room,” he said. “The beauty of Horsham is that it’s in the centre of the Wimmera and has the biggest population in the region. There’s going to be a new leisure centre, we have a good aerodrome and everything needed to host a game except, for the moment, an adequate sports arena. We’ve never had such an influx of AFL players making an appearance in our region through various camps and clinics. When we had the community camp here everyone just wanted to see the players train. Imagine if we could get to see them in a fair dinkum game. Now is the time to start thinking ahead. If we’re going to upgrade the city oval it can’t simply be a bandaid measure and I’m sure everyone is quite aware of that.”
A football sub-committee determining where to allocate the next round of state grants will meet in Melbourne in mid January.
“I’d love to see us get the money to make the city oval into something special. Horsham has enormous drawing power and to be quite honest many Wimmera people are starved of AFL footy,” Burdett said.
The last AFL practice matches in the Wimmera were in the early 1980s. Horsham’s last practice match was a contest between Essendon and Richmond in front of a huge Labour Day weekend crowd.
Few Wimmera League grounds would qualify for practice matches under the AFL playing guidelines.
Ararat’s Alexandra Oval, Warracknabeal’s Anzac Park and Minyip Reserve are probably big enough but a lack of adequate spectator and player facilities would eliminate the Minyip ground.
Andyt30
5th January 2006, 21:27
well if Anzac Park can handle 2 finals in 2 weekend;s Preliminary & Grandfinal now Would they have asked for a grand final if it wasn;t up to scratch?
I do hope they apply to AFL :D
Andyt30
5th January 2006, 21:30
I guess things have changed alot since the VFL Days i wish i went to ANZAC par k When Essendon had played there i'd go no matter who played there
:D
Andyt30
5th January 2006, 21:31
Like wangaratta's ground not upto Standard for State Cricket :D
Victoria wanted to play there but the ground not fit to play on
TuskenRaider
6th January 2006, 07:20
Horsham & Stawell's grounds sound like they're very, very narrow, they would have to be widened by a long way.
Had a look at Alexandra Oval at Ararat not long ago and the surface looked very good and the size of the ground also wouldn't be a problem. Good hill area to view the game on the outer side although distinctly lacking in grass! Without having seen the change rooms you would think they'd be able to hold an AFL practice game.
Mobbenfuhrer
6th January 2006, 14:51
I saw a South Melbourne v Collingwood praccie at Alexandra Oval once, dunno when, obviously prior 1982 though!
Mobbenfuhrer
6th January 2006, 14:58
Horsham & Stawell's grounds sound like they're very, very narrow, they would have to be widened by a long way.
Had a look at Alexandra Oval at Ararat not long ago and the surface looked very good and the size of the ground also wouldn't be a problem. Good hill area to view the game on the outer side although distinctly lacking in grass! Without having seen the change rooms you would think they'd be able to hold an AFL practice game.
I think that outer section is always meant to be bare gravel for parking reasons. Could be wrong.
Grimmett
6th January 2006, 20:52
Correct on both accounts Mobs. The last VFL practice mtach in Ararat was in 1981 from memory. South vs the Scum.
The embankment at Alexandra Oval provides excellent viewing for those who wish to watch from the cars. The ground is capable of holding more than 5000 and they can all obtain a decent viewing spot. The finals for the old ADFA would see cars parked on the hill on Friday nights to ensure securing the best vantage points. And also to avoid paying for the car I reckon ;)
Andyt30
6th January 2006, 21:38
some rural towns ovals can be extremely big abecause they had more room when they buit the ovals compared to the Larger towns who are Limited in Space, Afl Should take not of Sea lake or Ouyen now their the Biggest ovals i've seen in the mallee :D Hopetoun has the best parking, no fence behind South Goals all grass, with an old trotting track around the Boundary
Beulah is also very good size Oval :) they Hosted a Southern Mallee V Geelong and District Interleague game there :) , Donald in North central Oval is very big , charlton nope too small i know i play cricket against Charlton,
its up to the AFL Where Clubs go, not the Clubs they go where they get sent
deano1
7th January 2006, 08:23
some rural towns ovals can be extremely big abecause they had more room when they buit the ovals compared to the Larger towns who are Limited in Space, Afl Should take not of Sea lake or Ouyen now their the Biggest ovals i've seen in the mallee :D
Ouyens ground is'nt big, its probaly a similar size to the SCG. Thats interesting in itself I think considering the AFL a rejecting grounds for practice matches because of size yet they still play at the postage stamp size ground that is the SCG.
It would be good to see more practice matches in regional Victoria, not just at Ballarat or Bendigo either. Back in the 80s I remember Richmond used to play every year in Mildura, Essendon always played somewhere in the Wimmera and so on. Clubs used to go out into their respective recruiting zones for these matches, but not now, these games don't seem to get any further out of Melb then Bendigo and Ballarat.
Andyt30
7th January 2006, 19:22
don;t forget Warracknabeal area was Essendons old ZOne area, thats why warracknabeal had a game there
Andyt30
7th January 2006, 19:29
Like Ouyen & Sealake got heaps of parking spaces i know Sealakes has last been their 2000 Grandfinal no annoying fences behind the goals
have ya seen Great Westerns small Ground? boy its tiny :D ours at Brim is bigger then that and heaps of parking area we get a final there every 2nd year
thankgoodness we still play on their we still have cricket here so eitherway it will always get used .
Murtoa's ground a lot better then it use to be it use to have Bindieyes , Minyips ground not bad except last year when it been flooded and the ground was shocking conditions i was goal umpiring that day had to take it easy their was still big puddles, north end was worser then the south end
Grimmett
12th January 2006, 20:53
Some positive news for Horsham United following the departure of Jay Tucker, Josh Mibus, Brad Miller and Tim Wade.
FORWARD ROLE FOR NEW DIGGER COMBE
First published by:
Wimmera Mail-Times
Wednesday, January 11, 2006
Horsham United is planning to use new signing Jarred Combe in a key forward role in 2006.
Come, a former Saint before spending the past two years playing for Noradjuha-Quantong in the Horsham District League, is pencilled in to be the perfect replacement for former full forward Brad Miller, who has gone to Perth.
United coach Brian ‘Cobber’ Cassidy said he was confident of Combe’s ability to have an impact on his return to Wimmera League football with the Diggers.
“I think he can make a very good full forward. As far as getting kicks he only needs four or five to make sides pay,” Cassidy said.
Combe was Horsham Saints’ best first year player in 2002 before kicking more than 50 goals as an opportunistic half forward flanker in 2003.
“He’ll play full forward. I don’t think he’s played there too much before but the position is his if he wants it,” Cassidy said
Kicking goals is not new to Combe; he once kicked 20 goals in a match for Noradjuha-Quantong.
Combe will be travelling in the opposite direction from former Diggers Adam Jolley and Adrian Wade, who will both be Bombers in 2006.
As well as the recruiting of Combe, Cassidy said United was still searching for another ruckman.
“I think we certainly need another big guy and we probably need another good quality onballer.”
United was disappointed with the high profile losses of several key players at the end of last season.
“We have a few other guys we haven’t signed but they have indicated they’ll do pre-season training,” Cassidy said. “So it’s not all doom and gloom. Things are looking good, you always want one more player but we’re looking all right.”
Grimmett
12th January 2006, 20:56
Outstanding news for the Rats. Rowdy is considered by many involved with the club to be the best player to don the red and white since the war, if not all time. Has knocked back offers reported to be as much as 15K per season to play with either Tatyoon or Moyston-Willaura in the Mininera District FL. Money is not the issue for Paul, however, as he simply plays to get the absolute best out of himself at the best level he can.
ANOTHER STAR JOINS RATS’ LIST
First published by:
Ararat Advertiser
Tuesday, January 10, 2006
Ararat Football Club’s hopes for a Wimmera Football League finals’ appearance this year have received a huge boost with classy ball-magnet Paul McLoughlan committing for 2006.
A former joint coach and premiership player with the Rats, McLoughlan missed the second half of the 2004 WFL season through a shoulder injury, and turned his back on football last year to pursue other sporting interests including triathlons.
Ararat Football Club spokesperson Murray Jensen was excited to announce McLoughlan’s return to football.
“It’s fantastic for the club, we’re very happy indeed,” said Jensen. “His shoulder is good, and he’s fit and keen for a run.”
McLoughlan is highly regarded in many football circles and no doubt the club’s younger players will be eager to play alongside and learn from him.
Desribed in 2004 as “the best country footballer I’ve seen” by two-time WFL premiership coach David Jennings, McLoughlan received lucrative offers from other clubs in the region to play for them this season.
localfootyguru
13th January 2006, 06:06
Great news for the Rats Grimmett with Paul's return to the club. I have to agree with David Jennings comments in that he is one of the best players going around in country football. His experience will be invaluable to the Rats in 2006 with their young list.
How are preparations going for Ararat? Hopefully the team can return to the top of the Wimmera FL ladder in 2006. Its been a very long time since the club has been at the foot of the ladder and the league needs a strong and competitive Ararat.
Grimmett
21st January 2006, 23:01
Preparations continue well at this point of the season. However, the minor league teams have not yet come shopping.
Article from the Wimmera Mail-Times:
Rats lure Turner
Megan Hustwaite
Friday, 20 January 2006
FORMER Richmond footballer Scott Turner, 35, will return to the region after a 15-year absence to play for Ararat in Wimmera Football League this season.
Turner, 35, headlines a list of players including Toohey Medalist Dale Bligh and premiership players Brad Keilar and Paul McLoughlan returning to the club to help lift the Rats off the bottom of the ladder.
Turner told the Mail-Times he was waiting on the sale of his Noodle Box business in Warrnambool before he moved back to the Wimmera with wife Kerri and son Paddy, 6.
"I'm pretty keen to get back to Ararat. I've still got a lot of family there and the plan was always to return home at some stage," he said.
"I've got a young family myself now and my little boy would love to be around all his cousins. I've been away for a while and it's time to make the move.
"We've just got our fingers crossed that everything works out so we can get back."
Turner has lived in Warrnambool for the past five years. In that time he coached Warrnambool to a Hampden League premiership and was an operations manager with Western Region League.
He said he was eager to play a part in the Rats' return to the top of the ladder after several seasons in the wilderness.
"I saw a Wimmera League game last year and sort of thought I want to go back and be a part of this again. It's still rough and tough like it used to be," he said.
"I thought with a lot of kids coming through the ranks and a few other blokes coming back to the club it might be a good time to do it.
"Plus Horsham is also shooting for its fourth straight premiership, which would equal Ararat's record, and I'd like to put a stop to that," he said.
Richmond drafted Turner, a defender, in 1991. He played 144 games before retiring in 1999.
Rats coach David Law said Turner's return would create a buzz around the club.
"It's great news, for our football club and the community, it's a big boost," he said.
"We want Wimmera people playing Wimmera League and to have a guy who left the club to play elite football return a good 10 years later tells us we're doing the right thing."
deano1
22nd January 2006, 09:44
Sounds good, hopefully Ararat can improve, along with a few of the other teams, and those Horsham teams can get a bit of competition.
Grimmett
23rd January 2006, 21:08
Bruce Petering has stepped up to take on the role of coaching the Big W squad.
PETERING COACH
First published by:
Wimmera Mail-Times
Wednesday, January 18, 2006
By Megan Hustwaite
Wimmera Football League identity Bruce Petering, 41, is planning a Big W return to Pool B in the VCFL Championships in his new role as interleague coach.
Petering, a five time Minyip and Minyip-Murtoa premiership player, told the Mail-Times he had begun planning for the carnival on May 27 and 28 and had spoken to several potential representative players.
“Obviously winning is the overall goal. We find ourselves in Pool C this year and that’s not where the Big W wants to be,” he said. “The Wimmera has a very proud interleague history and we need to make our way back up to Pool B where we belong.”
Petering said he was delighted to be involved with the Big W in a different role after representing the league 15 times as a player and later as a selector.
”I’m over the moon,” he said. “I’ve played a fair bit of interleague football and I always wanted to coach and give something back.”
Petering said he hoped he could share his interleague experiences with the Wimmera Football League’s ‘best of the best’.
“Interleague is about playing the best standard of footy possible, playing alongside guys you usually play against, and having fun,” he said. “I’ve enjoyed representing the Big W, it’s a great thing. I’ve also made a lot of lasting friendships with blokes I’ve played against. I know people from all over Victoria.”
Wimmera League chief commissioner David Berry said the league was pleased to announce Petering’s appointment this week.
“Bruce has a long illustrious interleague career and following his retirement he’s made himself available as a selector,” he said. “We believe he is the ideal person to take over from Harvey Lang.”
Lang stood down from the position after last year’s Pool B championships campaign in Warrnambool.
Former Warrack Eagles coach Matthew Walder was favourite to take over from Lang before winning a coaching job with Wagga Tigers in AFL Canberra.
Horsham premiership coach Guy Smith was also considered as a replacement for Lang.
Wimmera will play in Pool C against Bendigo, Central Murray and Western Border league representative sides in the championships this year. Central Murray will host the carnival.
Andyt30
25th January 2006, 13:27
I Saw this back page of todays wimmera Mail Times.
Dimboola Coach Robert "Sonny" Lindsay was lucky to escape injuriy after
a single-Vehicle Accident at the Weekend.
Lindsay rolled his car 10 kilometers south of Ouyen in the early hours
of Saturday Morning. Lindsay said he Fell Asleep at the wheel while driving
to Mildura to help a friend Move house/
Dimboola & Ouyen Police are investigationg The Matter. Dimboola Seargeant Ken McLean said he would investigate Lindsay this Week
sounds like he was very lucky he got out of it surprised he didnt pull over knwoing he was tired he could have avoided the accident
when i'm tired i don't drive period :D or if i do i break the trip even if it makes it longer better to be there late then not get their at all. :thumbsu: