View Full Version : Western Region Football League team (Part 1)
touch of class
29 May 2006, 15:30
my mate at the colts has also told me that the feeling the boys have generated this year is one that he has never felt anywhere the genuine care they have for one another on and off the field is unbelieveable the closeness they way they are there for each other no matter what circumstances which i feel is the most important thing for success you can go out and spend any money you want on players but when your up against a group of mates who are not just a bunch of blokes who run out as a team your back is already to the wall and for my mate to say this about a club which he has only played 6 games at is just about un herd of go the colts i wish all you boys down there every success in your quest for the premiership but lets not get to carried away yet there is still a lot of football to go
Well maybe it's time you got out of there a$$ then and have a look at your own side in the DVFL, who happen to be in the relegation zone. Maybe that's why your mate jumped ship to go to the Colts (that and the money and job they gave him).
EDFL MAN
29 May 2006, 15:50
Well maybe it's time you got out of there a$$ then and have a look at your own side in the DVFL, who happen to be in the relegation zone. Maybe that's why your mate jumped ship to go to the Colts (that and the money and job they gave him).
GOLD :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
The boy can play tho, give it time! Come finals thats when people/players stand up.
kangaroos06
29 May 2006, 15:54
Sounds like a pretty good win for the Colts on the weekend, would I be right WRFLFan? Pretty ominous signs for us when we head down there this week..
Just reading from the scoreline, Colts probably should have won by more.. The scoreline probably didnt reflect the colts dominance??
Is it just me or do the Colts always kick a lot of points as well as goals in there games? I think theres been a few times this year where they might have kicked as many, if not more, points then goals. If this is the case, port could probably be blowing away teams but the innaccuracy is doing the scoreline favours to the other teams?
Interested to hear your thoughts WRFLFan..
Frost, Venner , Puli , Leatch , Phipps and Carson brothers. All these names you mention all live localy (within 5 km)and all have a tie to the club, be it friends or family. Money is in the game now and can't be helped, every club has blokes running around for a few dollars. I can tell you there are a few blokes on that list above that are playing at Hoppers for less money this year, than they were receiving last year, at other clubs. they have just gone to a club to play with there mates and hope to gain a little bit of success on the way. I would suggest OBE1 that you have been ill informed (your humble opinion, my a$$).
Move on buddy ,we can argue our vastly different views all year.
PS - its good to see you and your mate Phipps have have got over your last game, clarky did well didn't he?
Good luck next week:D
Sounds like sour grapes Raza, I have heard you had a chance to go to Colts and chose the money and Hoppers instead!! Get over your loss and stop potting others.
touch of class
29 May 2006, 16:16
raza you are an elma fude wake up to yourself when your best mate goes somewhere you stick by him and if you think he went for the money your wrong if you think they got him a job your wrong he dont work the reason he is there is for a favour to a good mate and now president of port colts so if you have any querries ask him about it and as for bringing up a r s e s you boys at hoppers were chasing bum all day and as for northcote park we wont be relegated and the record we have speaks for itself by the way have you ever played with blokes like peter dean barry mitchell david strooper damien yze david kernahan do i have to name anymore
FootyLover06
29 May 2006, 16:50
Im sure he is there for nothing TOC just one big favour.
Sounds like sour grapes Raza, I have heard you had a chance to go to Colts and chose the money and Hoppers instead!! Get over your loss and stop potting others.
I don't know who you think I am, as I haven't played footy for a few years. Therefor Choosing the money over the Colts is absurd. The only time I ever chose the money was when I went to the SANFL and that was an offer I couldn't refuse. As for potting others obe1, you are kidding yourself, maybe you need to stick to the division 2 thread and stay out of the thread everyone actually cares about and stop clogging my airways with your junk.
touch of class
29 May 2006, 17:01
footylover as you know everything comes at a price and that is a well paid job that he is still waiting for but has been reassured that its not far away and yeah it is a favour and not a big one either as the boy loves the place is on a 3 year contract which we at northcote park are spewing on but he played senior footy on and off for 10 years with us so he served the club well and he felt it was time for a change and he couldnt be happier with his new club
Iknowfooty
29 May 2006, 17:05
Well you would also know bad kicking is bad football. Just saying next time around could be different. Throw Clonan down back Carson in the guts theres 20 plus possesions and Puli in the ruck to release Venner. Also big Borlase running around in the twos as he is back from overseas so you may see him be thrown into the fray in the coming weeks.
Yeah i can understand Clonan, Carson and Puli. But Borlase u have got to be kidding. So they r gunna play Venner, Puli, #15 and the Draught horse i reckon the Colts, Spotty or any finals contender would be happy with that.
Rock07 you seem to be a bit too confident for my liking i really cant wait for you guys to fall over it may have been a different story if you had Clonan to contend with
Well mate where do i say that no won can beat us?or that we have it in the bag?.Nowhere because im not silly we are only 7 games in and we have been in this position the last 3 years and only won the one flag so i know there is along way to go.Also the year we lost to hoppers by a goal we actualy beat them earlier in the year by 10 goals 13 behinds and then didn't beat them again so please mate i know what's required.
Yes clonan was out and also they had a couple of others out but we also had a few out but that means nothing at this stage,and if we do fall over so be it i know that hoppers and parkside are quality sides and a few other teams and i always make sure we are well prepared to take them on,so if we do win the flag or loose it for that matter come reveal yourself to me at the end until then pull ur head in
Well you would also know bad kicking is bad football. Just saying next time around could be different. Throw Clonan down back Carson in the guts theres 20 plus possesions and Puli in the ruck to release Venner. Also big Borlase running around in the twos as he is back from overseas so you may see him be thrown into the fray in the coming weeks.
FOOTYLOVER06, you have got to be kidding, Borelace to come back. I saw him in the two's on the weekend and he couldn't even brake out of a brisk walk, can't see him in the seniors this year, especially if Puli and Venner are fit.
WRFLfan
29 May 2006, 17:22
Now to my tips this week and a perfect score.The kangas must be dissapointed to not have taken advantage of parkside without savalas and also they were of to a good start maybe they can knock of the colts this week but it will be a tough one,as they got over hoppers comfortably and are in good form and very confident.
Albion continue there topsy turvy year with a crushing win over yarra and the big unit james go 14,if only they could get it all to click in big games,they certainly have all the talent to do it and get a chance this week against hoppers.
Altona won the battle of the wooden spoon and look set to stay in A grade well done to the vikings.
Last game saw spotty get up in a good battle against st.albans which see them get a spot in the top 5.
But finaly clarkes prediction that he would have big game come true so you cant knock a bloke that puts himself out there so people can bag him if he fails.
Choc Mundine
WRFLfan
29 May 2006, 17:23
I hear there is a bloke playing at Yarraville who calls himself the B Train. I think his name is Brendan McEvoy, does anyone know of him
Maybe YOU
[quote=WRFLfan]Choc Mundine[/quote
i am the MAN
wrflfan just wondering if you have team in the supercoach comp and how dit it fair?
WRFLfan
29 May 2006, 17:40
Bad kicking is bad footy i bet the person who said that wasnt involed in a win against a side that has been flogging sides and was premiership fav and was going on about how this was the best side in 30 years on their home ground in finals atmosphere.As far as Borlase he is a spastic and wont get a game with Puli and Venner up and running(anwser me this, where do you play him?) and Clonan is a great player but nothing is going to stop quick hard leading forward when the ball is delivered nicely he might make a difference when its in the air at times maybe but if you watched the game you would see Clarkes strenghts and they are Clonans, Taylors and Phipps weakness so unless you recruit a star backman you might have to wait a while and he loves playing at the Whitten Oval(Danger Danger) as for Carson he will make more of a difference and Julier will BATH Puli like he bathed Venner. Good luck anyways, cheers!
WRFLfan
29 May 2006, 17:46
wrflfan just wondering if you have team in the supercoach comp and how dit it fair?
Its a stupid comp that im a loyal WRFL follower. With the Western Magpies my favs
blackbeard
29 May 2006, 17:56
Rock07, You seem to be the man in this thread. Can u give me any info on the Ben Kelly Playing at Spotswood this year??? Would just like to know if it's an old mate or not.
Hot Potato
29 May 2006, 18:11
It was an interesting sight after the game as i watched the two boys in a.taylor and e.stevens have a chat after the game and as i got over there could hear them talk about how they are both follicle challenged and also how both impressed they are with Brent Guerra's resurgence with a thick wad of hair and that he is know both thei idol. LOL
Hahaha nice one ROCK07...
Saw the Colts v Hoppers game and I must say I was very impressed, at first I thought the big ground might trouble the Colts boys but I was quite surprised at their level of fitness and their ability to Link up through the Midfield/Backline and deliver to an intimidating Forwardline.
Full credit to Hoppers being able to stay with them basically the whole game, Their delivery to their forwards is remarkable and they challenged a usually rock solid Colts Backline but the 3rd quarter cost them dearly, all in all I thought they were just outplayed and the scoreboard was generous...I must say I rate alot of players highly from the Colts, I don't think they have the disapline and game plan Hoppers have but their footy talent is crazy.
Good luck to all the boys playing this week.
I don't know who you think I am, as I haven't played footy for a few years. Therefor Choosing the money over the Colts is absurd. The only time I ever chose the money was when I went to the SANFL and that was an offer I couldn't refuse. As for potting others obe1, you are kidding yourself, maybe you need to stick to the division 2 thread and stay out of the thread everyone actually cares about and stop clogging my airways with your junk.
Stress less big fella, my apologies for mixing it with such an articulate heavy weight as yourself. should have realised that posting on anything less that this thread would been seen as inferior to your lofty standards. Cant compete with SANFL champ as you boast. as for wasting your time, dont bother replying and start posting some topics that interest others rather than potting others and big noting yourself.
Rock07, You seem to be the man in this thread. Can u give me any info on the Ben Kelly Playing at Spotswood this year??? Would just like to know if it's an old mate or not.
Mate i actually dont know Ben kelly but he did play at williamstown a few years ago and i think he is from gippsland way
13-CABS
29 May 2006, 19:14
Ben Kelly did come from Williamstown, left there about 3 years ago to play at Tullamarine or another EDFL 2nd division team.
Im happy to admit i was way off the mark with my prediction that the big ground wouldnt suit the Colts, heard they ran all over them. Clearly now are flag favourites. 2 games clear on top not even half way through the year... Cant count Hoppers out though, quality side when fit and firing.
Sunshine vs Parkside was a dissapointment for the Kangas, we really had them on the ropes at half time then we put in a horrible 3rd quarter. Couple of lucky snaps just helped there momentum. Hopefully soon we will actually put 4 quarters together. Will be a great test this weekend to see where we are at compared to the benchmark of the competition. Have played some decent footy against Colts at Murphy Reserve in the past few years, but havent managed a win there in a long time.
Ben Kelly did come from Williamstown, left there about 3 years ago to play at Tullamarine or another EDFL 2nd division team.
Im happy to admit i was way off the mark with my prediction that the big ground wouldnt suit the Colts, heard they ran all over them. Clearly now are flag favourites. 2 games clear on top not even half way through the year... Cant count Hoppers out though, quality side when fit and firing.
Sunshine vs Parkside was a dissapointment for the Kangas, we really had them on the ropes at half time then we put in a horrible 3rd quarter. Couple of lucky snaps just helped there momentum. Hopefully soon we will actually put 4 quarters together. Will be a great test this weekend to see where we are at compared to the benchmark of the competition. Have played some decent footy against Colts at Murphy Reserve in the past few years, but havent managed a win there in a long time.
13CABS and TRAVY43 boys now i know we spoke about you guys and the intimidation factor with parkside on the ground but tell me what happened after the game.I di hear that the few parkside boys had a bit of a fight with some of your boys and cleaned the place out,just wondering your views on the events.
It was an interesting sight after the game as i watched the two boys in a.taylor and e.stevens have a chat after the game and as i got over there could hear them talk about how they are both follicle challenged and also how both impressed they are with Brent Guerra's resurgence with a thick wad of hair and that he is know both their idol. LOL
Thanks for raising this issue Rock, Noticed a stark difference between the fore mentioned colts player, seemed a little taller last week and had a "bigger do". The wind and the wide open spaces could account for the do? perhaps screw in v moulded for the height? Please elaborate.
WRFLfan
29 May 2006, 22:15
Stress less big fella, my apologies for mixing it with such an articulate heavy weight as yourself. should have realised that posting on anything less that this thread would been seen as inferior to your lofty standards. Cant compete with SANFL champ as you boast. as for wasting your time, dont bother replying and start posting some topics that interest others rather than potting others and big noting yourself.
GOLD Raza ball is in your court.
13-CABS
29 May 2006, 22:19
A few of the parkside boys had stayed back for a drink, and they were all fine. The players were no problem, a few supporters of theres became a bit rowdy and started some trouble, but were quickly kicked out. The party continued on for many more hours, i assure you. You know Sunshine functions, they don't stop for no-body! haha. Parkside on the field were all good as well, but there 2's were a bit dirty in patches. We had club umpires which meant they struggled to take full control of the game.
WRFLfan
29 May 2006, 22:27
Thanks for raising this issue Rock, Noticed a stark difference between the fore mentioned colts player, seemed a little taller last week and had a "bigger do". The wind and the wide open spaces could account for the do? perhaps screw in v moulded for the height? Please elaborate.
I think he had platform boots and a hairpiece on last week said it got in his eyes. ha ha
Shimozzle
29 May 2006, 22:40
Was at port colts VS hoppers game. I must say it was a good hard game of footy in the first half. Not much in the teams the whole first half. The colts were undisiplend through the first half giving away too many 50 metre penalties which gave away 3 goals. I must say though that the umpires (particually Borg who is a disgrace) were whislte happy blowing it whenever they could and giving 50 metre penalties like they were going out of fashion.
But then in the 2nd half the colts came out to play and blew hoppers away with there run threw the midfield and they basically wanted it more. Clarke was very good up forward with matt bellingham getting heaps of the footy across half forward but just couldnt convert, good player who just knows how to get the ball. I thought massis was good through the centre. Frost was good for hoppers like he always is and tried to lift his team but they were just not classy enough to go head to head with the colts for 4 quaters of footy. This could and i think will be another big year for the colts and i think it will be because they are just to good for other sides. Parkside are the other danger and they could also go well but i think the colts are too evenly matched across the gorund for other sides.
A few of the parkside boys had stayed back for a drink, and they were all fine. The players were no problem, a few supporters of theres became a bit rowdy and started some trouble, but were quickly kicked out. The party continued on for many more hours, i assure you. You know Sunshine functions, they don't stop for no-body! haha. Parkside on the field were all good as well, but there 2's were a bit dirty in patches. We had club umpires which meant they struggled to take full control of the game.
Ladies day at sunshine is always an away game most clubs look forward too.:D :thumbsu:
I think he had platform boots and a hairpiece on last week said it got in his eyes. ha ha
All jokes aside, has a heart as big as himself, greatest respect fo him as a man amongst men.
well i hope you guys didn't party to hard,it just might be the 5% u guys are down this week will be the difference .
Colts had a team meeting tonight and we have spoken about match ups this week and how we will knock u guys off, and it's a game we want bad, and one how we want to show our tough style of play and to let sunshine know that we go about it as good as anyone they play. At the end of the game they will know
Players we will match up stenhouse millar and acreman if we shut two of these guys down we will go along way to winning.
What are your match ups or players you will try and stop
WRFLfan
29 May 2006, 23:56
well i hope you guys didn't party to hard,it just might be the 5% u guys are down this week will be the difference .
Colts had a team meeting tonight and we have spoken about match ups this week and how we will knock u guys off, and it's a game we want bad, and one how we want to show our tough style of play and to let sunshine know that we go about it as good as anyone they play. At the end of the game they will know
Players we will match up stenhouse millar and acreman if we shut two of these guys down we will go along way to winning.
Do you think Clarke will kick 100 and what round do you think and who would be leading the b & f
Boasting is not what i'm about obe1, if you have kept up with this thread, I was asked what my background in footy was a couple of weeks ago and I aswered it, so people who frequent this thread would know that. As for poting others, after reading the majority of your posts, I thought that was what this thread was all about. I will reiterate to you, please stay within the division 2 thread, maybe you are a heavy weight there and people actully care what you have to say.
Travvy43
30 May 2006, 10:30
Well if we listen to TOC, if we stop cooper we will be home.
Cabby would have a much better idea than me, this being the first year in the league, but looking forward to the facing the league leaders on their home turf.
clicketyclix
30 May 2006, 11:01
Originally Posted by ROCK07
It was an interesting sight after the game as i watched the two boys in a.taylor and e.stevens have a chat after the game and as i got over there could hear them talk about how they are both follicle challenged and also how both impressed they are with Brent Guerra's resurgence with a thick wad of hair and that he is know both thei idol. LOL
theyre gotta resign to the fact that its not coming back dont they, they both look terrible and scared the little league at half time. lol
13-CABS
30 May 2006, 11:23
From previous years we have always focused heavily on clarke, with frosty doing a good job on him last year but hes injured this year. Not sure who'll play on him. We always like to keep Webb quiet down back, play through his opponent as he likes to run off and create. Its hard as colts are such a strong even team. Jacobs just gets it in the middle all day. We used to concentrate on Lindsay a bit as well. Prob think about McAnulty and Jullier more this year from all reports. We'll just have to wait and see. Will be interesting to see the way Colts go about it on such a small ground.
Do you think Clarke will kick 100 and what round do you think and who would be leading the b & f
not to sure about clarke kicking a ton,it will depend on a few factors injury, form and weather and also with only 18 games it will be tough.Even though he is playing well enough at the moment he may not keep his form but who know's i HOPE he doe.But after speaking to him his main focus is the team winning each week and the big one in september,he also did say he would like to kick 100 before he retires.
The B&F at the colts at this stage would be julier,webb,masis ,mcnulty and brannan all fighting it out.
WRFLfan
30 May 2006, 12:21
From previous years we have always focused heavily on clarke, with frosty doing a good job on him last year but hes injured this year. Not sure who'll play on him. We always like to keep Webb quiet down back, play through his opponent as he likes to run off and create. Its hard as colts are such a strong even team. Jacobs just gets it in the middle all day. We used to concentrate on Lindsay a bit as well. Prob think about McAnulty and Jullier more this year from all reports. We'll just have to wait and see. Will be interesting to see the way Colts go about it on such a small ground.
Yeah great review as always you know your WRFL, will be intresting to see how Colts go on small ground as they play on it every second week and have lost there once in four years so that will be intresting!!!
Boasting is not what I'm about obe1, if you have kept up with this thread, I was asked what my background in footy was a couple of weeks ago and I answered it, so people who frequent this thread would know that. As for putting others, after reading the majority of your posts, I thought that was what this thread was all about. I will reiterate to you, please stay within the division 2 thread, maybe you are a heavy weight there and people actually care what you have to say.
Thanks again Razman for steering me in the right direction once again, your a true champ of the underachievers, I didn't realise one thread on the other WRFL site would mean so much to you? Maybe I have struck a nerve hey? Anyway, lets move on champ, what are your thoughts on this weeks games:p
Can anyone tell how Stacy Massis is travelling this year down at the colts. I played with him a couple of years back at the Jets. Heard alot since then but haven't seen him. It seems he is rated highly on this site. He was in and out of the Jets side when I played with him. Strengths and weaknesses?
touch of class
30 May 2006, 13:41
well king i have herd a lot of good things about this boy i know he is one of the hardest workers on and off the field he is super fit very strong is a very hard tackler likes to get in and under always prepared to work for his teammates and can give them that little extra inspiration with his attack on the ball and is a leader now at the club also one of the most geniune and likeable blokes you could meet and to top it off the reason this bloke cant play cricket is cause they just dont make boxes that big massive unit down below
Thanks again Razman for steering me in the right direction once again, your a true champ of the underachievers, I didn't realise one thread on the other WRFL site would mean so much to you? Maybe I have struck a nerve hey? Anyway, lets move on champ, what are your thoughts on this weeks games:p
No nerve struck champ, just enjoy a good banter. My thoughts on this weeks games.
ALBION V HOPPERS Hoppers seem to have hit a bit of a speed hump at the minute and will need a win to get back on track after a very entertaining game last week. james is the big danger but I think they will take home the points.
PARKSIDE V ALTONA Parks far to strong in a white wash.
COLTS V SUNSHINE Colts will win, very strong outfit just cant see them being beaten at home.
SPOTTY V YARAVILLE Close one here, yaraville are Spotty's bogy team I think and if spotty aren't on there game they might get rolled.
STALBANS V SEDDON St's easy.
WRFLfan
30 May 2006, 14:50
well king i have herd a lot of good things about this boy i know he is one of the hardest workers on and off the field he is super fit very strong is a very hard tackler likes to get in and under always prepared to work for his teammates and can give them that little extra inspiration with his attack on the ball and is a leader now at the club also one of the most geniune and likeable blokes you could meet and to top it off the reason this bloke cant play cricket is cause they just dont make boxes that big massive unit down below
Summed it up perfectly, l heard tell call him Dragon something about something Dragging along the ground when he is walking
Thanks for the update boys. Sounds like his doing well. A little too much information though.
Can anyone tell me about stenhouse from sunshine.
Is he a big bloke??
can he take a grab??
Has he played higher grade football elsewhere?
is he any good??
Travvy43
30 May 2006, 17:25
Is he a big bloke??
can he take a grab??
is he any good??
Is that you rock doing some scouting for this weeks match??
last time i say it im not madpie
i know stenhouse is from sanfl [central districts] and he is a big bloke and can play, so i dont need any help mate we research every team and have guys watching teams we play up to 3 weeks in a row before we play them.
Travvy43
30 May 2006, 17:34
last time i say it im not madpie
i know stenhouse is from sanfl [central districts] and he is a big bloke and can play, so i dont need any help mate we research every team and have guys watching teams we play up to 3 weeks in a row before we play them.
there you go madpie, rock has given you some info there to consider. Stenhouse has been good for us thus far, with Millar they make a pretty dangerous twin tower combo up forward.
Is he a big bloke??
can he take a grab??
is he any good??
Not too sure if he has played at a higher level, lightly built fella, strength seems his ability to do the more unorthodox thing rather than a genuine lead and marking type..
Would suggest colts start Bonnett on him who is similar in style ( arms and legs everywhere ), followed by Taylor seeing as Pearce has gone back to Braybrook. Cox impressed me however, he's second half on Carson was sensational last week.
No nerve struck champ, just enjoy a good banter. My thoughts on this weeks games.
ALBION V HOPPERS Hoppers seem to have hit a bit of a speed hump at the minute and will need a win to get back on track after a very entertaining game last week. James is the big danger but I think they will take home the points.
COLTS V SUNSHINE Colts will win, very strong outfit just cant see them being beaten at home.
SPOTTY V YARAVILLE Close one here, yarraville are Spotty's bogey team I think and if spotty aren't on there game they might get rolled.
Agree with the tipping and comments Razman, would like to see Albion play there "A" game though. Probably rate them as the biggest underachievers for a while. ( no-disrespect intended) They are choc a block with experienced campaigners and should do much better for the cattle they have on offer.
WRFLfan
30 May 2006, 17:51
Cox can play Taylor is a star and Bonnett is back to best full back in the comp. One of Colts best assets is their defence there is a steady back six there, but they throw so many different players threw there its versatile
jet set
30 May 2006, 21:13
ALBION V HOPPERS Hoppers seem to have hit a bit of a speed hump at the minute and will need a win to get back on track after a very entertaining game last week. james is the big danger but I think they will take home the points.
SPOTTY V YARAVILLE Close one here, yaraville are Spotty's bogy team I think and if spotty aren't on there game they might get rolled.
Hey RAZA (or anyone for that matter), I would like some confirmation on a rumour that i heard today. I heard that Aaron James got sent off last week for the third time this year. If that is the case, wouldn't he be given an automatic 1 week suspension (in line with the wrfl rules).
Hot Potato
31 May 2006, 00:13
Would suggest colts start Bonnett on him who is similar in style ( arms and legs everywhere ), followed by Taylor seeing as Pearce has gone back to Braybrook. Cox impressed me however, he's second half on Carson was sensational last week.
Ahhh that was Cox was it? must say he impressed me too, not many can mix it up with Carson as shown when DeBruyn and Bonnett couldn't stop him, both players that are highly rated...
As for WRFL's comments on Colts versatility this could be wat teams should be wary of, I noticed they had Webb on the ball, (Who could miss his 2nd half?) Taylor playing on the Wing and Bonnett running up to join him in the 2nd half, was this a game plan? It's always nice for coaches to be able to throw their players around as long as the players know the roles...
Macca29
31 May 2006, 10:00
Can someone confirm if Trent Dell (Albion) is a bloke of about 25 - 27 yrs od age and used be a very handy basketballer in his teenage years. If it's him - how does he go on the park, what position etc.
duckduckgoose
31 May 2006, 10:41
Can someone confirm if Trent Dell (Albion) is a bloke of about 25 - 27 yrs od age and used be a very handy basketballer in his teenage years. If it's him - how does he go on the park, what position etc.
correct,goes pretty well and majority chb. dont know about basketball but sometimes lacks having a shower, can be a pig of a man, but can go alright with his dukes so i'll end it there............
Hey RAZA (or anyone for that matter), I would like some confirmation on a rumour that i heard today. I heard that Aaron James got sent off last week for the third time this year. If that is the case, wouldn't he be given an automatic 1 week suspension (in line with the wrfl rules).
I can't comment on this jet set, it's the first I've heard of it though, first i've heard of the rule for that matter. Can anyone confirm on the 3 strikes your out rule?, and also weather or not James was sent of for the 3rd time?.
WRFLfan
31 May 2006, 11:28
Ahhh that was Cox was it? must say he impressed me too, not many can mix it up with Carson as shown when DeBruyn and Bonnett couldn't stop him, both players that are highly rated...
As for WRFL's comments on Colts versatility this could be wat teams should be wary of, I noticed they had Webb on the ball, (Who could miss his 2nd half?) Taylor playing on the Wing and Bonnett running up to join him in the 2nd half, was this a game plan? It's always nice for coaches to be able to throw their players around as long as the players know the roles...
Fair observations, Cox hasnt played started in the same position two weeks in a row and given a job he nevers lets us down, he has a great overhead mark and very skilful, as for Webb if you give the time he will tell he is a forward and always has been but he is one of the best backman in the comp. Taylor the same he played in the Colts 98 and 99 premiership teams on the wing and blitzed(he can play anywhere and star). DeBruyn probably wasnt quick enough for Carson and l dont think Bonnett done that bad on him, like with all forwards if the deliver is good and you get 3 steps on your backman well the hardest part is holding it true?. You throw Jacobs who is playing half back, in there he is a very capable centre man as well, we get alot of drive out of the backline blokes know there role and do it, they have the players that run off and the players that stay home from watching that backline work it looks very enjoyable and would seems like it is a great team within a team
WRFLfan
31 May 2006, 11:33
Theres a few new members popping up all the time its good we need to spread the word theres not enough people from all the clubs
There's a few new members popping up all the time its good we need to spread the word there's not enough people from all the clubs
Good point buddy, come one come all , lets hear your news and views.
Any spotty or st albans boys/girls out there who would like to share there thoughts on the 3/4 time push and shove from last week?
Umpires considering pulling the pin, players and spectators involved??
I can't comment on this jet set, it's the first I've heard of it though, first I've heard of the rule for that matter. Can anyone confirm on the 3 strikes your out rule?, and also weather or not James was sent of for the 3rd time?.
Good afternoon Raza :) ,I was just wondering if you could shed some light on the "stenhouse" fella from Sunshine. It has been noted that he was recruited from the SANFL. Seeing as you hail from those parts I thought you would be the best person to ask?
I think he's last club may have been Epping? does that ring a bell?;)
I can't comment on this jet set, it's the first I've heard of it though, first I've heard of the rule for that matter. Can anyone confirm on the 3 strikes your out rule?, and also whether or not James was sent of for the 3rd time?.
Yep that's the rule, fourth send off means two weeks , fifth send off, you front the tribunal/league and if guilty you will be suspended accordingly.
13-CABS
31 May 2006, 13:43
Stenhouse has come directly from Central Districts in the SANFL, no mention of him ever being at Epping. He's from Warnambool originally, then went up to Queensland for a while, and played Teal Cup up there.
Local newspaper said there were spectators involved in the 3/4 time push and shove, with an injured spotty player the main person involved.
Anyone have any thoughts as to who that player is. is Keenan injured?
Who are the match ups for Colts this week? id imagine it will be interesting between Jullier vs Miller/Mastropasqua, Stenhouse and whoever hes on, Massis vs Acreman, Savage vs McAnulty, Clarke vs Goring, Webb vs Douglas/Davis, and Winter vs Linton. Should be some quality football. No doubt Colts are very short priced favourites but dont count the Kangas out just yet, play good footy at Colts home ground. Need to cut out whoever plays the clubroom side wing, every single colts side uses that switch well, from under 16s up to the seniors.
Stenhouse has come directly from Central Districts in the SANFL, no mention of him ever being at Epping. He's from Warrnambool originally, then went up to Queensland for a while, and played Teal Cup up there.
Local newspaper said there were spectators involved in the 3/4 time push and shove, with an injured spotty player the main person involved.
Who are the match ups for Colts this week? id imagine it will be interesting between Jullier vs Miller/Mastropasqua, Stenhouse and whoever hes on, Massis vs Acreman, Savage vs McAnulty, Clarke vs Goring, Webb vs Douglas/Davis, and Winter vs Linton. Should be some quality football. No doubt Colts are very short priced favourites but dont count the Kangas out just yet, play good footy at Colts home ground. Need to cut out whoever plays the clubroom side wing, every single colts side uses that switch well, from under 16s up to the seniors.
Thanks, will reply in more depth later, the injured player was none other that giant of a man who directs traffic for a living, must have been one hell of a bitch fight. ( game was delayed for at least 20 mins)
footystar_
31 May 2006, 14:09
does anyone know much about joel magnabosco from altona, should be playing 18's yet he is such a great young player he's playing in their seniors, any chance of getting rookie of the year. ex jet and is captianing the u18's interleauge this year.
Hot Potato
31 May 2006, 14:13
Need to cut out whoever plays the clubroom side wing, every single colts side uses that switch well, from under 16s up to the seniors.
Haha can't be that hard mate, it's one of the smallest grounds i've seen!
Those matchups look like good contests but I think the Kangas are gonna have to focus on working for each other, trying to go man on man with the Colts I feel is not the way to beat them, like who's got the job on Jacobs? or McBroom? or Twomey? I'm no coach but thats the way I see it...
bronco27
31 May 2006, 15:45
As for WRFL's comments on Colts versatility this could be wat teams should be wary of, I noticed they had Webb on the ball, (Who could miss his 2nd half?) Taylor playing on the Wing and Bonnett running up to join him in the 2nd half, was this a game plan? It's always nice for coaches to be able to throw their players around as long as the players know the roles...talking to the colts coach after the game ask him about the moves after half time and he told me that it was how the game unfolded webb strugging a bit down back move forward big coxs on carson was a good move with cox having the quickness and jumping abilaty to match it with carson wich free up bonnet to be more attacking taylor on the wing because frost went to his backline in the second half and think cooper to the half back was also a good move gave the colts alot of drive.
Gotheroos
31 May 2006, 16:26
talking to the colts coach after the game ask him about the moves after half time and he told me that it was how the game unfolded webb strugging a bit down back move forward big coxs on carson was a good move with cox having the quickness and jumping abilaty to match it with carson wich free up bonnet to be more attacking taylor on the wing because frost went to his backline in the second half and think cooper to the half back was also a good move gave the colts alot of drive.
Can anyone from the Colts give me a run down how McBroom is going? From all the posts I reed it's always Stevens, Clarke and Taylor. WE all know they are guns but what about anyone else. Maybe someone from the Colts can give me a run down on the whole side and all the players invidually. Only the guys that have played pretty much the whole year in the 1's.
I would also be interested in other sides as well.
Hot Potato
31 May 2006, 16:39
talking to the colts coach after the game ask him about the moves after half time and he told me that it was how the game unfolded webb strugging a bit down back move forward big coxs on carson was a good move with cox having the quickness and jumping abilaty to match it with carson wich free up bonnet to be more attacking taylor on the wing because frost went to his backline in the second half and think cooper to the half back was also a good move gave the colts alot of drive.
Indeed a good couple of moves because Colts came out firing in 2nd half.
I was meaning to post this earlier but got caught up, I thought Venner was very lucky to be put in the Hoppers best, Julier won the majority of taps against him and got plenty of the ball and even when he went up forward showed very little, does anyone agree/disagree?
Can anyone from the Colts give me a run down how McBroom is going? From all the posts I reed it's always Stevens, Clarke and Taylor. WE all know they are guns but what about anyone else. Maybe someone from the Colts can give me a run down on the whole side and all the players invidually. Only the guys that have played pretty much the whole year in the 1's.
There all guns down at Murphys,be an even better side with you in it champ:D
It's always nice for coaches to be able to throw their players around as long as the players know the roles...
Spot on Hot patato, key to all teams success is summed up in you quote, knowing your role , understanding it and then delivering whats required is what it is all about. No matter what the game plan entails or who the opposition are. Keeping things simple, good man management and a positive outlook always gets the points.
WRFLfan
31 May 2006, 17:18
Stenhouse has come directly from Central Districts in the SANFL, no mention of him ever being at Epping. He's from Warnambool originally, then went up to Queensland for a while, and played Teal Cup up there.
Linton plays too lose to man Winters it will be costly if you give him even 2 steps he has been marking everything, i think you will see a new plan fromthe Colts this year with such a strong spine, direct the best route but youll just have wait and see.
Hot Potato
31 May 2006, 17:24
I think Rock07 and WRFLFan should answer that one...maybe even madpie ey Rock? heh
WRFLfan
31 May 2006, 17:50
I think Rock07 and WRFLFan should answer that one...maybe even madpie ey Rock? heh
They wont let it go will they Rock07 as for Gotheroos ill think about your question and get back to you as ive done it before
Why dont BRONCO 27 give a rap up he has some good veiws and seems like he knows alot about the Colts, does anyone agree?
Is Ackerman injured if so he'll find it hard following Stacy "Dragon" Masis around on his home ground where he is fercious.
Be intresting to see Mastro up against Julier(No 1 ruckman in the league)as Mastro came down to the Colts to have a run and ended taking up the Sunshine offer when told that he will be the second ruckman, before you Sunshine people jump on me im told he was offered a job with you guys as well.
WRFLfan
31 May 2006, 17:51
Spot on Hot patato, key to all teams success is summed up in you quote, knowing your role , understanding it and then delivering whats required is what it is all about. No matter what the game plan entails or who the opposition are. Keeping things simple, good man management and a positive outlook always gets the points.
Obe 1 fill me in who Gotheroos is does he play and who for? Or are you speculating?
EDFL MAN
31 May 2006, 17:55
They wont let it go will they Rock07 as for Gotheroos ill think about your question and get back to you as ive done it before
Why dont BRONCO 27 give a rap up he has some good veiws and seems like he knows alot about the Colts, does anyone agree?
Is Ackerman injured if so he'll find it hard following Stacy "Dragon" Masis around on his home ground where he is fercious.
Be intresting to see Mastro up against Julier(No 1 ruckman in the league)as Mastro came down to the Colts to have a run and ended taking up the Sunshine offer when told that he will be the second ruckman, before you Sunshine people jump on me im told he was offered a job with you guys as well.
A.Mastropasqua, big unit!
Runs all day and not a bad tap ruckmen, but his down fall is he can't kick, in fact he couldn't kick over a jam tin and that's been polite! Doesn't mind it hard, but can be found out around the ground, not footy smart at all. Average mark for his height. My rating on the bloke 6/10. :thumbsu:
EDFL MAN
31 May 2006, 17:56
Obe 1 fill me in who Gotheroos is does he play and who for? Or are you speculating?
Speculating. :cool:
Think he's dad was once a butcher,and he (gotheroos ) could be found running around a long way from this league.:)
EDFL MAN
31 May 2006, 18:06
Think he's dad was once a butcher,and he (gotheroos ) could be found running around a long way from this league.:)
Maybe. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: ;)
13-CABS
31 May 2006, 18:14
There are two Lintons, one is very accountable and the other is the opposite. Winters will be taken by the accountable one, as Winters likes to run forward of the contest and is smart where he moves. Mastropasqua has been handy for us so far, doesnt mind the physical stuff but will need to be on his game from what ive heard about Jullier. Colts are a very even team, i rate them better then Hoppers on paper. Acreman is fine now, very soon we will all see the Akers of old, and when hes on he is no doubt one of the best on-ballers in the league.
winters and masis will not play this week as they are of to the greek islands and webb and taylor will be doubtful after suffering injuries last week
g'day rooboy its true these three above always get a mention but i'll give you a rundown on the rest
TORREN BONNETT running backman with strong leap,has had a below average start to the year but is improving
FABIAN WEBB best backman in the comp sets up play with his disposal.
PAUL DEBRUYN strong centre h/back has had a bit of an up and down season but did kick 6 goals against albion expect him to play fwd from now on
MATT BURNS quick running wingman who has been steady this year and getting better
MATT MCBROOM started slowly but last 4 weeks has been our best and a real berometer 4 us,playing h/fwd ruckrover
STEVEN MCNULTY very quick h/fwd rover has had a great first year at colts and seems to fit in well
KANE COOPER h/back onballer has had a few injuries to start the year but has been awesome in patches and probably turned the game last week
BLAKE TWOOMEY had a great year while not being able to train 4 last 6weeks but has been very tough and strong in tight for us all year
BRAD JULIER has been fantastic at stoppages and around the ground very strong and adds a real presence on the ground also good skills for a big man
LEON COX the mister fix it does it at either end very brave and great overhead mark
RYAN WINTERS no where near his best realy struggling at the moment but he will get better when he returns from holiday
CHRIS BRANNAN absolute gun chf runs all day and never seen any one have better hands than this kid
hopefull that helps rooboy
bronco27
31 May 2006, 19:14
There are two Lintons, one is very accountable and the other is the opposite. Winters will be taken by the accountable one, as Winters likes to run forward of the contest and is smart where he moves. Mastropasqua has been handy for us so far, doesnt mind the physical stuff but will need to be on his game from what ive heard about Jullier. Colts are a very even team, i rate them better then Hoppers on paper. Acreman is fine now, very soon we will all see the Akers of old, and when hes on he is no doubt one of the best on-ballers in the league.13cabs I think the only way sunshine can get a win over colts if they play attacking football by not worrying at match ups just play there own game plan and stick to it. will be a big lost if all the players rock07 mention are missing from the colts I think webb and taylor are feeling the pinch in there old weary legs
bloods05
31 May 2006, 23:47
Linton plays too lose to man Winters it will be costly if you give him even 2 steps he has been marking everything, i think you will see a new plan fromthe Colts this year with such a strong spine, direct th
e best route but youll just have wait and see.
You seem to know a fair bit about the Colts ,i have seen a few of their games this year can you tell me who that little fat bloke is that is the runner for the two's .Does he play for the Lion's and is his name Noel
duckduckgoose
1 Jun 2006, 09:14
whats is anyones thought on playing the match of the round on a sunday so it can be watched by others in the league, i understand it may not be possible due to juniours and all but could be a revenue spinner for some of the clubs
sunline 11
1 Jun 2006, 09:27
whats is anyones thought on playing the match of the round on a sunday so it can be watched by others in the league, i understand it may not be possible due to juniours and all but could be a revenue spinner for some of the clubs
Not a bad idea ddg, the concept was used a few years ago, with Spotswood playing Stalbans and I think it worked well so i cant see why it wouldn't work again. i know the players didn't like it too much because they couldn't get on the snake's hiss on sat'dy night.
duckduckgoose
1 Jun 2006, 11:18
Not a bad idea ddg, the concept was used a few years ago, with Spotswood playing Stalbans and I think it worked well so i cant see why it wouldn't work again. i know the players didn't like it too much because they couldn't get on the snake's hiss on sat'dy night.
what, they should have more consideration for the blokes that want to get on the fizz and watch them on sunday arvos !!!!!!
Travvy43
1 Jun 2006, 11:24
winters and masis will not play this week as they are of to the greek islands and webb and taylor will be doubtful after suffering injuries last week
will beleive these omissions when the teams run out onto the ground. Off to the Greek Islands.... just for one week??
Gotheroos
1 Jun 2006, 11:55
You seem to know a fair bit about the Colts ,i have seen a few of their games this year can you tell me who that little fat bloke is that is the runner for the two's .Does he play for the Lion's and is his name Noel
Elton Stevens I think his name is!!!
Gotheroos
1 Jun 2006, 11:59
What is general consensis about this happening half way through the season? Surely there is enough time after the season for these sort of guys to be jetsetting half across the world. I'm sure the Greek Islands will be there after the season is finished.
Nice only someone in the circle would know that info, are you in the inner sanctum
Good afternoon Raza :) ,I was just wondering if you could shed some light on the "stenhouse" fella from Sunshine. It has been noted that he was recruited from the SANFL. Seeing as you hail from those parts I thought you would be the best person to ask?
I think he's last club may have been Epping? does that ring a bell?;)
Good morning obe1, I haven't been in SA for a few years champ and had never heard of Stenhouse untill hoppers played Sunshine. going on form from that game I couldn't say he is a outstanding footballer, actually he struggled.
Elton Stevens I think his name is!!!
Gotheroos i think he isnt even playing twos hes doing the water, Sean Weir i think is the answer so where do you play, you critise everyone on here and then say you dont play and everyone else is honest about playing (most of the time). Are you a good player, whats your background and is your dad a butcher intresting?
Good morning obe1, I haven't been in SA for a few years champ and had never heard of Stenhouse untill hoppers played Sunshine. going on form from that game I couldn't say he is a outstanding footballer, actually he struggled.
Thats what l like to hear good work Raza, are the Hoppers games the only ones you watch because eariler you said you dont follow anyone and it always seems that your talking about teams that Hoppers were involved with, theres no harm in just be nice to work out your alliance and be honest i know how the majority of people follow in here their pretty honest about it except for Gotheroos(and Obe1 i think he is Colts what do you think?).
Do you know of a bloke Dean Howard from West now at North from the SANFL, what do you think of him where did you play over there?
g'day rooboy its true these three above always get a mention but i'll give you a rundown on the rest
TORREN BONNETT running backman with strong leap,has had a below average start to the year but is improving
FABIAN WEBB best backman in the comp sets up play with his disposal.
PAUL DEBRUYN strong centre h/back has had a bit of an up and down season but did kick 6 goals against albion expect him to play fwd from now on
MATT BURNS quick running wingman who has been steady this year and getting better
MATT MCBROOM started slowly but last 4 weeks has been our best and a real berometer 4 us,playing h/fwd ruckrover
STEVEN MCNULTY very quick h/fwd rover has had a great first year at colts and seems to fit in well
KANE COOPER h/back onballer has had a few injuries to start the year but has been awesome in patches and probably turned the game last week
BLAKE TWOOMEY had a great year while not being able to train 4 last 6weeks but has been very tough and strong in tight for us all year
BRAD JULIER has been fantastic at stoppages and around the ground very strong and adds a real presence on the ground also good skills for a big man
LEON COX the mister fix it does it at either end very brave and great overhead mark
RYAN WINTERS no where near his best realy struggling at the moment but he will get better when he returns from holiday
CHRIS BRANNAN absolute gun chf runs all day and never seen any one have better hands than this kid
hopefull that helps rooboy
Apart from Clarke, Taylor and Stevens there seems to be only 12 other players when l checked last there was 21 in a team and plus others injured or limited games, l know the Colts are know to be a loyal and strong unit so l would imagine the players left out would feel pretty left out can you include them in your summary or are you content with the ones you mention thank you Mr ROCK07.
Big week this week Pies V Lions
Just heard that tickets to the Ashes are impossible to get, they reckon its the most demand they have ever had for a sporting event. Id love to get tickets, it might just be bad luck but l always seem to miss out on the big sporting events(getting tickets). Can anyone give me any tips or advice? It would be appreciated thanks.
Thats what l like to hear good work Raza, are the Hoppers games the only ones you watch because eariler you said you dont follow anyone and it always seems that your talking about teams that Hoppers were involved with, theres no harm in just be nice to work out your alliance and be honest i know how the majority of people follow in here their pretty honest about it except for Gotheroos(and Obe1 i think he is Colts what do you think?).
Do you know of a bloke Dean Howard from West now at North from the SANFL, what do you think of him where did you play over there?
I do go and watch hoppers most of the time as I live in the area and enjoy the football they play and there facilities(TAB). As I've said before I'm not conected to the club at all, apart from knowing a couple of people from around that part. So if that makes me aligned to the club, so be it. Yes i do know of Dean howard when i left he was still playing for West and playing some decent football to. he usally played in the guts and got a fair bit of it. I heard he left West because of an on field indiscretion with a team mate, not sure if that's true though.
thorpedo
1 Jun 2006, 13:41
I do go and watch hoppers most of the time as I live in the area and enjoy the football they play and there facilities(TAB). As I've said before I'm not conected to the club at all, apart from knowing a couple of people from around that part. So if that makes me aligned to the club, so be it. Yes i do know of Dean howard when i left he was still playing for West and playing some decent football to. he usally played in the guts and got a fair bit of it. I heard he left West because of an on field indiscretion with a team mate, not sure if that's true though.
long time reader, first time writer
if its the same bloke and happened last year i think the the discretion may have been with an ex doggies player. am i on the right track ? was howard captain ?
I think he fell out with the coach and got suspened for the last 4-6weeks so that might have been right. Top bloke played juniors with him in Queensland gun junior was playing seniors at 15, how many did he play with Adelaide?
Who did you play for over there? And do agree that Obe1 might be Colts aligned. Do you know Clicketyclixs?
Where has Mad Hoppers Fan gone??????????????
I have a question for all you WRFL fans and players, who would be leading the B&F for your club or any other clubs you have seen or know about?