View Full Version : Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 [92] 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102

pcs84
12 Jan 2008, 09:48
when are you guys gonna get over this shit league????????
worst comp ever!!!!

wolverine
12 Jan 2008, 11:27
when are you guys gonna get over this shit league????????
worst comp ever!!!!
then stay out of the forum, why waste your time and stop trying to bring up an argument thats gets debated on here when there is nothing else to talk about.

backtoback08
12 Jan 2008, 17:03
He provided a couple of highlights with some very good marks at least,most people didn't even know i played

whats the kick off date for wrfl

persist
13 Jan 2008, 09:05
Odds for WRFL Flag 2108

Raging Favourites Spotswood 3 to 1, Port Colts 6 to 1, Sunshine 12 to 1 and cashed up plus Tockka's getting toey, Albion 14 to One, Hoppers Crossing expected to drop away at 14 to 1, Frosty's last year
Bank of St Albans 25 to 1, Altona Vicking's 50 to 1, Glenordinary - Hoppers Crossing with Mocco's on 100 to 1, Eagles 200 to 1, Roosters 5000 to 1 and maybe looking at second division after 5 miuntes into there round one clash

Any thoughts co presenter's

bully84
13 Jan 2008, 09:21
Odds for WRFL Flag 2108

Raging Favourites Spotswood 3 to 1, Port Colts 6 to 1, Sunshine 12 to 1 and cashed up plus Tockka's getting toey, Albion 14 to One, Hoppers Crossing expected to drop away at 14 to 1, Frosty's last year
Bank of St Albans 25 to 1, Altona Vicking's 50 to 1, Glenordinary - Hoppers Crossing with Mocco's on 100 to 1, Eagles 200 to 1, Roosters 5000 to 1 and maybe looking at second division after 5 miuntes into there round one clash

Agree on your odd's about spotty,but what i have read and heard around the trap's ,i would have port colts behind hoppers,sunshine and even albion,the rock can try and paint a glossy picture and yes they are always competive but sounds like a lack of quailty players and decent depth will see them fall away this year and haven't st.albans been throwing money around so far..

w.weapons
13 Jan 2008, 11:43
here is 1 for you boys..........

rohan smith has signed with hoppers thats what my spies were telling me today........i dont know how true it is but will find out 100% by the weekend as he is away with the family at the moment..........but with his other footy commitments t.v and the act rams u/18 team will find it hard to play alot of games if he has.......anyway stay tuned.......

cheers

definately not playing boys.........2 foxtell games on the weekend no time for footy he said........

cheers

ROCK07
13 Jan 2008, 13:43
Agree on your odd's about spotty,but what i have read and heard around the trap's ,i would have port colts behind hoppers,sunshine and even albion,the rock can try and paint a glossy picture and yes they are always competive but sounds like a lack of quailty players and decent depth will see them fall away this year and haven't st.albans been throwing money around so far..

Your right buddy the colts are doomed more chance of the wooden spoon tha any finals action.........we were a two man band no lindsay and caddy no colts...........

Percy
13 Jan 2008, 13:53
Odds for WRFL Flag 2108

Gee hope we don't have to wait around that long haha. Only taking the p1ss. Think your probably spot on at this stage considering what we've heard so far. Spotty would be clear favourites, and even though not many positives have been flowing out of Port you can never right them off. Years of finals experience have proved that. I'm sure they'll be able to buy some handy replacements by the time the season comes around. sunshine and albion will be very competitive this year, and going off last years momentum i'm gonna give an early tip and say albion to finish higher then sunshine. albion have recruited well over the pre-season and one can only imagine them building on the solid foundations and strategies they implemented last year. they will be hoping for a top 3. sunshine on the other hand have been relatively quiet...which doesn't imply anything in particular. All i've heard out of that camp so far are possible departures....but i'm sure they will be ready to go come round 1. Hoppers will definitely be up there again, but as always they'll probably do nothing come finals time.
As for for the bottom teams i guess its just a case of time will tell to see how they pan out.

Thoughts?

Percy
13 Jan 2008, 13:57
Gee hope we don't have to wait around that long haha. Only taking the p1ss. Think your probably spot on at this stage considering what we've heard so far. Spotty would be clear favourites, and even though not many positives have been flowing out of Port you can never right them off. Years of finals experience have proved that. I'm sure they'll be able to buy some handy replacements by the time the season comes around. sunshine and albion will be very competitive this year, and going off last years momentum i'm gonna give an early tip and say albion to finish higher then sunshine. albion have recruited well over the pre-season and one can only imagine them building on the solid foundations and strategies they implemented last year. they will be hoping for a top 3. sunshine on the other hand have been relatively quiet...which doesn't imply anything in particular. All i've heard out of that camp so far are possible departures....but i'm sure they will be ready to go come round 1. Hoppers will definitely be up there again, but as always they'll probably do nothing come finals time.
As for for the bottom teams i guess its just a case of time will tell to see how they pan out.

Thoughts?

Sorry i mean't to say "employ" some handy recruits...:D:D:D

bob7965
13 Jan 2008, 14:16
Hoppers will definitely be up there again, but as always they'll probably do nothing come finals time.

Thoughts?

Yeah cos they have only won 2 flags in the last 6 years but hey thats nothing.

Percy
13 Jan 2008, 17:43
Yeah cos they have only won 2 flags in the last 6 years but hey thats nothing.

Ok maybe i was being a tad cynical. Perhaps i'm just refering to the recent potential vs. success ratio that should have seen them perform better than they have.

Travvy43
14 Jan 2008, 08:54
What are the odds of Lachlan Mcguie playing in the WRFL in 2008 with a club other than West Footscray?

Percy
14 Jan 2008, 12:32
A tad cynical? Colts play in 6 first div. grand finals in 9 years,won 4 , lost 2 by a goal. I think most other clubs wouldn't mind a win / loss ratio like that. Have a nice day Percy.

Maybe all the partying from that success has deminished your brain cells, but if you actually read my posts i'm talking about Hoppers Crossing. Have a nice day yourself :confused::confused::confused:

hustle and ball
14 Jan 2008, 13:31
No chance. Has signed at West along with 2 other mates from SANFL
do you know the players names and any truth to the rumour that west signed some bloke from seymour and he might be the new assist coach now that bobby stepped down

colbol35
14 Jan 2008, 15:26
No chance. Has signed at West along with 2 other mates from SANFL

he signed at spotty

oldtimer30
14 Jan 2008, 19:28
Sorry Percy, my mistake, being an old fella,lshould wear my glasses.

future29
15 Jan 2008, 01:45
do you know the players names and any truth to the rumour that west signed some bloke from seymour and he might be the new assist coach now that bobby stepped down

whose the bloke from seymour???????

ROCK07
15 Jan 2008, 16:15
well colts pre season kicks off tomorrow at 6pm and word around is that all the players are keen for a big pre season, we are all keen to make up for that loss in the grand final
Departures.s.caddy,j.lindsay and webby has retired[ dont count him out though}
Inclusions
D.mullett
A partridge former east devenport captain and the 2002 ntfl baldock medal
n.graff [NORWOOD EFL]
D.LEE [E RINGWOOD EFL]
N.RUTLEY [N RINGWOOD EFL ALSO PLAYED WAFL AT EAST PERTH]
R WITTMAR [WELL HE IS LIKE A NEW RECRUIT[
S HOATH [NOT DEFINATE BUT WE ARE IN TALKS AND CLOSE TO SIGNING]

Hoath and julier fair ruck combination and with addition of some quality youngster and some senior players hungry after what happened i'm sure we will be a top 3 side yet again...looking forward to it.

I'm also tipping k cooper and grant millen to have big seasons both are very fit already,cooper very keen to make up after a very dissapointing year in 2007
Go colts bring on 2008

backtoback08
15 Jan 2008, 17:45
well colts pre season kicks off tomorrow at 6pm and word around is that all the players are keen for a big pre season, we are all keen to make up for that loss in the grand final
Inclusions
D.mullett
n.graff [NORWOOD EFL]
D.LEE [E RINGWOOD EFL]

Hoath and julier fair ruck combination and with addition of some quality youngster and some senior players hungry after what happened i'm sure we will be a top 3 side yet again...looking forward to it.

I'm also tipping k cooper and grant millen to have big seasons both are very fit already,cooper very keen to make up after a very dissapointing year in 2007
Go colts bring on 2008

Handy batch of players, why so many eastern league players its a fair way to travel?

ROCK07
15 Jan 2008, 18:20
Handy batch of players, why so many eastern league players its a fair way to travel?

All are now living close bye except one,and he works with most of us..
expect a big influx of efl players again next year all will be out of contract and live in port and don't want to travel

Blueboy16
16 Jan 2008, 07:58
Inclusions
D.mullett
n.graff [NORWOOD EFL]
D.LEE [E RINGWOOD EFL]

Go colts bring on 2008

Kilmore still saying Whittmar returning to them Rock! Has he signed with you yet?

strawnnny
16 Jan 2008, 11:21
Does anyone know where i could view the 2008 WRFL Division 1 fixture??

has it even been released?

creative_mind11
16 Jan 2008, 11:21
ive watched a fair bit of WRFL footy over the last few years and have to say i dont see anyone beating spotswood this 2008 season. last year they were the premier side, absolutely slaughtered everyone and looked a cut above port colts who were clearly the second best side.

the only other team that i would say can honestly challenge these 2 i have mentioned, is hoppers crossing. the reason i say that is they play a very quick brand of football and i believe they have picked up rohan smith and another ex bulldogs player whose name escapes me, plus 3 or 4 other VFL players. if this is true then i reckon they will be a force.

rounding out the top 5 will definately be sunshine and albion i think.

a Question- does anyone know who these new players the warriors have signed and can someone give me a brief run down on wat their playing styles are and the positions they will fill to make everyone see how hoppers crossing will challenge colts and spotty...Thanks

Blueboy16
16 Jan 2008, 11:29
ive watched a fair bit of WRFL footy over the last few years and have to say i dont see anyone beating spotswood this 2008 season. last year they were the premier side, absolutely slaughtered everyone and looked a cut above port colts who were clearly the second best side.

the only other team that i would say can honestly challenge these 2 i have mentioned, is hoppers crossing. the reason i say that is they play a very quick brand of football and i believe they have picked up rohan smith and another ex bulldogs player whose name escapes me, plus 3 or 4 other VFL players. if this is true then i reckon they will be a force.

a Question- does anyone know who these new players the warriors have signed and can someone give me a brief run down on wat their playing styles are and the positions they will fill to make everyone see how hoppers crossing will challenge colts and spotty...Thanks

Weapons clearly stated that after speaking to Rohan Smith his media commitments will not allow him to play footy this year.

ROCK07
16 Jan 2008, 13:27
Kilmore still saying Whittmar returning to them Rock! Has he signed with you yet?

he is already our player from last year....told me he has unfinished buisness and is rearing to go for the colts.

ROCK07
16 Jan 2008, 13:31
[quote=creative_mind11;9878359]ive watched a fair bit of WRFL footy over the last few years and have to say i dont see anyone beating spotswood this 2008 season. last year they were the premier side, absolutely slaughtered everyone and looked a cut above port colts who were clearly the second best side.

They were the premier side but i'm sure if you even ask them they were not that far in front of the colts the result could have been different if we kicked straight but that was not to be .

creative_mind11
16 Jan 2008, 13:34
oh ok ive been led to believe that rohan smith is definately playing at least 6 games for hoppers crossing. a friend of mine plays with him at williamstown cricket and rohan has indicted even with his pay tv committments he is still going to be able to manage at least 6 games and maybe more. but then again maybe im being misled...

as for the other players hoppers crossing have recruited is anyone able to fill me in on their playing styles and positions and what they will bring to hoppers and more importantly how the sides such as hoppers, albion and sunshine can get close to port colts and spotty.

cheers

creative_mind11
16 Jan 2008, 13:37
i still believe spotswood were much more superior than any other side last year. forget the margain of the grand final, they were miles above anyone else...and i dont see that changing in 2008. take your colts hat off for a minute and be realistic...cheers

puffpuffgivemo
16 Jan 2008, 13:47

I know former bulldog Brad Murphy is one player Hoppers have signed!

creative_mind11
16 Jan 2008, 13:52
oh yeah brad murphy. ex bulldog. i saw a bit of him when i saw springvale/casey play werribee a few times. cant remember much of him, was to busy watching my sainters boys run around hehe.

wats murphy like as a player? average height i think? quite thin is he? where will he play for hoppers crossing. know any others puff?

Kozzis Dizzy
16 Jan 2008, 13:55
[quote=creative_mind11;9878359]ive watched a fair bit of WRFL footy over the last few years and have to say i dont see anyone beating spotswood this 2008 season. last year they were the premier side, absolutely slaughtered everyone and looked a cut above port colts who were clearly the second best side.

Just by interest how much did they SLAUGHTER the colts by in their first meeting last year? At Spotty - I think it was their past players day...can't recall the score?

creative_mind11
16 Jan 2008, 13:59

Just by interest how much did they SLAUGHTER the colts by in their first meeting last year? At Spotty - I think it was their past players day...can't recall the score?

fair call, all im saying is spotswood were the best side and will continue to be the best side unless some serious recruiting has gone on at other clubs and why i bring up the hoppers crossing thing is because ive heard they have gone out and got a heap of good players...ijust wana know about them

ROCK07
16 Jan 2008, 15:18
i still believe spotswood were much more superior than any other side last year. forget the margain of the grand final, they were miles above anyone else...and i dont see that changing in 2008. take your colts hat off for a minute and be realistic...cheers

At the end of the day spotty won the flag and that's all that counts, not weather you think they thrashed evryone or how superior they were but in my opinion we were easily as good as them but that counts for nothing.
Just for the record we went in missing 5 senior players in the gf while 5 other carried injuries such as broken ribs two strained hammys a strained groin and ankle and i believe we still performed very well and i'm sure spotty had some niggles also but all that matters not they were number 1 as for them being that far in front of the rest i dissagree they will definately need a full list again and i believe would struggle to cover if say keenan or kelly were both injured.
Hoppers will be right up there as will sunshine and albion i also think glenorden,altona and west won't be easy beats this year,so hopefully we have a good competitive wrfl in 2008.

Travvy43
16 Jan 2008, 15:20
he signed at spotty

Yeah had heard mcgee signed at spotty. Big kick in the pants for the west boys. He was sort of seen as their white knight, the player to give them a good kick start in Division one.

red devil1
16 Jan 2008, 16:01
Yeah had heard mcgee signed at spotty. Big kick in the pants for the west boys. He was sort of seen as their white knight, the player to give them a good kick start in Division one.

Yeah that is very disappointing for West and may knock them down a few pegs.

Hey Travvy - heard from a Sunshine source that Josh Linton is considering (or is?) playing at Seymour.

BEAZER
16 Jan 2008, 16:06

We were the best team over the year but we werent that far ahead of Port. Either team could have won the GF and that was proven in both finals. I think there was a gap after that though.

I think Hoppers will surprise most next year and I think they will be the side to beat. They have picked up players they need in a CHF and Ruckman as well as a couple of very good running players. I think us and Port to finish top 3 and Albion 4. I think there may be a gap after that from the players that have been lost from the remaining clubs.

Time will tell

ROCK07
16 Jan 2008, 20:21
We were the best team over the year but we werent that far ahead of Port. Either team could have won the GF and that was proven in both finals. I think there was a gap after that though.

I think Hoppers will surprise most next year and I think they will be the side to beat. They have picked up players they need in a CHF and Ruckman as well as a couple of very good running players. I think us and Port to finish top 3 and Albion 4. I think there may be a gap after that from the players that have been lost from the remaining clubs.

Time will tell

Thats your best post yet beazer if hoppers have picked up a key forward and ruckmen along with b murphy a d thomas definately the team to beat.
beazer who are the names of these players.

cookie33
16 Jan 2008, 22:02
Thats your best post yet beazer if hoppers have picked up a key forward and ruckmen along with b murphy a d thomas definately the team to beat.

Murphy will be one of-if not that best player in the comp, they have got some real good runners and a small forward who will probably kick 50+, but saying that they will be the side to beat is going a bit far, to soft I have heard from many. Hoppers will be a solid side but the team to beat?? I dont think so.

Albion the big improvers and in my opinion will surpass both Colts and Hoppers.

ROCK07
16 Jan 2008, 23:11
Murphy will be one of-if not that best player in the comp, they have got some real good runners and a small forward who will probably kick 50+, but saying that they will be the side to beat is going a bit far, to soft I have heard from many. Hoppers will be a solid side but the team to beat?? I dont think so.

Albion the big improvers and in my opinion will surpass both Colts and Hoppers.

I will have anybet you like that albion don't finish on top of colts.
The ex parkside players won't save them parkside had a better list a few years ago than albion and they got flogged in a gf then performed terrible in 2006 in a knockout final,albion will be good but not better than colts hoppers or spotty but as beazer said ....TIME WILL TELL rd 2 bring it on

ROCK07
16 Jan 2008, 23:20

We had our first session tonite 32 on the track no u/18's easily our best first nite in 5 years
Whittmar was there as were 5 other senior recruits 2 were unable to make but a positive start to the year none the less.
We will definately have a big side this year with julier,whittmar,hoath,millen ,debruyn and a few others also will be a year where we will have more depth than in years gone past especially with some good youngsters coming through, we are also set to sign another wrfl player from a rival club but i will reveal that when it's all done.
Exciting times ahead

future29
17 Jan 2008, 01:57
We had our first session tonite 32 on the track no u/18's easily our best first nite in 5 years
Whittmar was there as were 5 other senior recruits 2 were unable to make but a positive start to the year none the less.
We will definately have a big side this year with julier,whittmar,hoath,millen ,debruyn and a few others also will be a year where we will have more depth than in years gone past especially with some good youngsters coming through, we are also set to sign another wrfl player from a rival club but i will reveal that when it's all done.
Exciting times ahead

did whitmar bring with him the friend??? because i know the friend hasnt signed at his current club and is a pretty well capped player.

Fully fit and a full season robbi can be as damagin player as any in the league. colts have a surprise packet under their sleave with him as hardly anyone in th eleague has seen what hes capable of.

Travvy43
17 Jan 2008, 08:23
Yeah that is very disappointing for West and may knock them down a few pegs.

Hey Travvy - heard from a Sunshine source that Josh Linton is considering (or is?) playing at Seymour.

Hey Devil

I think condisering is the key word with your above statement, unless something has changed since our pre-christmas break.

He is an important player for the kangas and was in the leadership group last year. Lets hope he decides to stick around.

You guys signed Davidson for 2008 yet??

Regards

BEAZER
17 Jan 2008, 08:24

Dont know names. Ive heard the ruckman is the size of a small building and the CHF is a gun but who knows.

tracker222
17 Jan 2008, 09:12

Pretty sure Doug Thomas is off to Darwin with work

creative_mind11
17 Jan 2008, 09:42
Pretty sure Doug Thomas is off to Darwin with work

so wat everyone is telling me that hoppers crossing has picked up a no name ruckman who is as big as a house, a CHF with no name, doug thomas who i know played at werribee, but now apparantely is going to live and play elsewhere, rohan smith, who know aparantley isnt playing also, and brad murphy who noone knows much about.

so clearly they cant be that good of players and clearly they wont be up there with spoty and colts again...

someone mentioned a smal forward who would kick 50 goals...who is this???

GreatestGame
17 Jan 2008, 10:00
Hey Travvy

How is Scotty Mc travelling? has he started preseason yet? Has had a few injuries the last couple of years.

ROCK07
17 Jan 2008, 13:05
did whitmar bring with him the friend??? because i know the friend hasnt signed at his current club and is a pretty well capped player.

Fully fit and a full season robbi can be as damagin player as any in the league. colts have a surprise packet under their sleave with him as hardly anyone in th eleague has seen what hes capable of.

Yes he did bring his mate along for a run,looks a good size a very skilful for a big fella, not sure if he is keen to play though,
I agree with you about whittmar very big and mobile and has a massive leap,i'm sure if he is fit he will be very hard to match up on and will help ease the loss of caddy no doubt, we are all very excited about the year ahead and the list we will have at our disposal............go colts

obe1
17 Jan 2008, 16:08
so wat everyone is telling me that hoppers crossing has picked up a no name ruckman who is as big as a house, a CHF with no name, doug thomas who i know played at werribee, but now apparantely is going to live and play elsewhere, rohan smith, who know aparantley isnt playing also, and brad murphy who noone knows much about.

so clearly they cant be that good of players and clearly they wont be up there with spoty and colts again...

someone mentioned a smal forward who would kick 50 goals...who is this???

Stop pulling our legs champ, you obviously now more than you are letting on in relation to all you have posted. How about filling in the blanks for us?

Thanks in advance

creative_mind11
17 Jan 2008, 16:41
in terms of wat? i know absolutely nothing of theled players hoppers crossing and port colts have picked up. im wondering how anyone is going to challenge spotty if they havent picked anyone up. i follow alot of vfl footy(casey scorpions) and also alot of wrfl and edfl football. i love to know wat is going on and i often get to 3 games of football a wekend...

anyway if anyone can let me know who is playing where and a bit about these players id appreciate it. if ud orefer not to post about it then private msg me...

thnx

17 Jan 2008, 21:07
Well... all to the contary i have read this once in a blue moon and nothing has changed in posts withnin certain characters. Blokes who know nothing about FOOTBALL or INDIVIDUALS still have far to much to say on topics. Spectators like some of you seem to think you know everything, but finally come across as knowing less and less every post. This is which normal people (aka people not in your rhealm of pure over induldgence of a sport, of which you never seem to come to grips with) seem to have far to much to say. So shut up and stop potting blokes who go out there and try there best for thier own personal reason.

To finish... shall i say certain things about me that seem to be posted throughout this website that everyone seems to know OR SO THEY THINK THEY KNOW... I parted ways with the colts not for MONEY as they where a bigger offer, which i appreciated. Under 225 for all you gigs!
I didn't leave out of disrespect or internal bickering (which hasn't happened in years), though most would love to believe i did. The colts are the tight knit group that they potray themselves as. Which is a credit not only to themselves, each other and the club but also to a big following that they recieve week in week out. Which the outsiders (potters) would never understand until they got there and witnessed it.
All in all i left for my own reasons, Not Yours!!! So no need for certain posts or alias' to react because you would only be lying, which most of you do. Through the channel of: i hear, i have a mate, tell me if i am wrong or even i heard....Stop fooling yourself you are an absolute tool! You know who you are.
All in all though i wish the Port Colts all the best in the future and i hope there is many a flag for them. To all the knockers enjoy getting (no) respect out of potting players behind a computer screen good for you...
And for beazer stop sending me requests for autographs you won the flag, not me!!!!:)

red devil1
17 Jan 2008, 21:15
Well... all to the contary i have read this once in a blue moon and nothing has changed in posts withnin certain characters. Blokes who know nothing about FOOTBALL or INDIVIDUALS still have far to much to say on topics. Spectators like some of you seem to think you know everything, but finally come across as knowing less and less every post. This is which normal people (aka people not in your rhealm of pure over induldgence of a sport, of which you never seem to come to grips with) seem to have far to much to say. So shut up and stop potting blokes who go out there and try there best for thier own personal reason.

To finish... shall i say certain things about me that seem to be posted throughout this website that everyone seems to know OR SO THEY THINK THEY KNOW... I parted ways with the colts not for MONEY as they where a bigger offer, which i appreciated. Under 225 for all you gigs!
I didn't leave out of disrespect or internal bickering (which hasn't happened in years), though most would love to believe i did. The colts are the tight knit group that they potray themselves as. Which is a credit not only to themselves, each other and the club but also to a big following that they recieve week in week out. Which the outsiders (potters) would never understand until they got there and witnessed it.
All in all i left for my own reasons, Not Yours!!! So no need for certain posts or alias' to react because you would only be lying, which most of you do through the channel of i hear or o have a mate or tell me of i am wrong....
So all in all i wish the Port Colts all the best in the future and i hope there is many a flag for them. To all the knockers enjoy getting (no) respect out of potting players behind a computer screen good for you...
And beazer stop sending me requests for autographs you won the flag, not me!!!!:)

So why are you going to Greenvale?

17 Jan 2008, 21:51
So why are you going to Greenvale?
Can you you get the drift? Dev guess a again and anyway who the .. has gone to greenvale the last colt was Wes Heir via WA! See what i mean! I rest my case.... (text deleted)

ROCK07
17 Jan 2008, 22:22

All in all i left for my own reasons, Not Yours!!! So no need for certain posts or alias' to react because you would only be lying, which most of you do. Through the channel of: i hear, i have a mate, tell me if i am wrong or even i heard....Stop fooling yourself you are an absolute tool! You know who you are.
All in all though i wish the Port Colts all the best in the future and i hope there is many a flag for them. To all the knockers enjoy getting (no) respect out of potting players behind a computer screen good for you...
And for beazer stop sending me requests for autographs you won the flag, not me!!!!:)

Good post jl but can i please get an autograph before beazer
All the colts wish jl the best and we have parted on good terms as we have with saul also and they both remain close mates of alot of colts boys and we hope they both have succesful years in 2008 just as im sure they hope we also have a good year.
No doubting they are both great players but 2 players do not make a team and it makes no sense that people write us off with the nucleus of players we have kept and to the new players we will bring in this year.

creative_mind11
17 Jan 2008, 22:56
im presuming that was saul caddy...and if im right then heres to u mate. your a money hungry mercanary who will saty at greenvale for one year then leave for cash somewhere else. saying u were on 225 at colts is ridiculous and proves wat a tool u r. grrenvale didnt lose a game last yr and have picked up more good players. my hope for u is that u dont get a game and u play reserves all yr, because ts all blokes like u deserve. all these money hungry pricks are ruining local football. heres an idea, stick to a club for more than a year, prove ur not a money hungry bloke..

wat is the real reason u left then-the only reason u would of left is cause greenvale offered u more!!

its a joke, and its time that local leagues brought in a points system or salary cap...

ROCK07
18 Jan 2008, 00:17
im presuming that was saul caddy...and if im right then heres to u mate. your a money hungry mercanary who will saty at greenvale for one year then leave for cash somewhere else. saying u were on 225 at colts is ridiculous and proves wat a tool u r. grrenvale didnt lose a game last yr and have picked up more good players. my hope for u is that u dont get a game and u play reserves all yr, because ts all blokes like u deserve. all these money hungry pricks are ruining local football. heres an idea, stick to a club for more than a year, prove ur not a money hungry bloke..

wat is the real reason u left then-the only reason u would of left is cause greenvale offered u more!!

its a joke, and its time that local leagues brought in a points system or salary cap...

Well you have presumed wrong on many points, & in your post you have just proven 8888's post that most people's comments on here that pot blokes actually have no idea what they are even talking about.
John lindsay left to play 1 year with avery good friend and then will retire from footy and travel to south america, he has not left for coin or left on bad terms FACT
Saul Caddy was only ever playing 1 season at colts but stayed for two and was great sevice to the club and played for alot less than people think add to the fact he had pay for petrol and travel 1 hour twice a week to train and then the same to play he was playing at colts for bugger all.
He has a young family and a mortgage to pay and i think he is mad not to take what is thrown at him especially with interest rates going up all the time............so please in future don't pot blokes you really don't know and assume things wait for facts, assumptions are where lies and stories are formed that practacly have no truth what so eve

darren melton
18 Jan 2008, 07:05

you are presuming its saul caddy but reading back thru posts i wood say it isnt and you just barrelled him without any justification at all you have the wrong player id say get it right be for you make a fool of yourself again??????????

SWANNEES
18 Jan 2008, 07:10

not saul bud but jl wrfl has been better for both playing there suspect you are envious of them? i am also not connected with colts more with there main opponent. dont be envious but try to obtain the same success good luck trying

cougarman
18 Jan 2008, 08:19
it's unbelievable how much the colts or colts players get talked about on this site, both john lindsay and saul caddy have been very good servants of the club in their time at port colts, both of them winning premierships and best & fairests they have moved on next season on good terms with both the club and the playing group and are always welcome back for a drink any time they feel like catching up

unless you know either one of them personally don't presume to know why they have chosen to leave or what motivates these guys to play footy, every club has a small(or large) turnover of players every year colts are no different

brains01
18 Jan 2008, 08:41
not saul bud but jl wrfl has been better for both playing there suspect you are envious of them? i am also not connected with colts more with there main opponent. dont be envious but try to obtain the same success good luck trying
how is the wrfl better for jl playing he cost this league one of its best players when he decided to king hit him and broke his cheek bone and jaw and after that he rufused to play in this league,most of you will know this incident so the league is better off without blokes like jl who give cheap shots and players like this is why our league has a bad name

borgsta2006
18 Jan 2008, 10:15
how is the wrfl better for jl playing he cost this league one of its best players when he decided to king hit him and broke his cheek bone and jaw and after that he rufused to play in this league,most of you will know this incident so the league is better off without blokes like jl who give cheap shots and players like this is why our league has a bad name

Which incident are you talking about there?

I can recall one Braybrook vs St. Albans 2000 / 02 exact year I'm unsure of...

ROCK07
18 Jan 2008, 10:53

Another ill informed comment,jl has been and will always be a ball player,and yes he did hit tonna in that incident but it was in retaliation to what tonna got away wiith to a colts player.
Also jl and tonna sorted out their differences at the tribunral and got along very well after that incident.
I have also spoken to tonna and the reason he does not play in this league are he no longer enjoys the club he was once associated with.

brains01
18 Jan 2008, 10:54
Which incident are you talking about there?

I can recall one Braybrook vs St. Albans 2000 / 02 exact year I'm unsure of...
i am talking about the incident with David Antonowicz which was 3 years ago.
which incident are you refering to.

borgsta2006
18 Jan 2008, 11:05

Pricey and the player who ran onto the field, smacked him, broke his jaw in several places and ran off....
Twas at yarraville.

Calls it as I see it
18 Jan 2008, 11:11
In my honest opinion, I do not care who leaves a club. That person would have their reasons, like I did when I moved on. Local footy is really just like any other work place, people coming and going and again it is for reasons that they believe in.

As for Caddy and JL moving on, I for one wish them all the best. Got a great footy lesson off Saul once and I am sleeping easier knowing I will not have to line up on him this year

SWANNEES
18 Jan 2008, 11:44

its not the players at st albans you have to watch but the yobs outside the fence who when in numbers threaten players when leaving ground

BEAZER
18 Jan 2008, 12:06

I didnt realise you could string an intelligent piece together like that mate, Im quite impressed.

Your autograph will be worth plenty in years to come so I just want to get in early. At least I will be able to say that I played with JL, even though it was only for a few games. lol

BEAZER
18 Jan 2008, 12:14

He isnt even going to Greenvale mate thats how much you know. Im sure that part of the reason he is leaving is to play with a good mate of his. As for playing ressies, that wont happen if he played in any local comp in Australia. Gun player and an even better bloke.

obe1
18 Jan 2008, 12:25

I take back what I posted previously, you now very little and guess alot.

For a fella that takes in three games of footy a weekend and who posts on various sites you have come across as a bit of a tool my friend.

Look forward to reading your next extract of utter crap.

brains01
18 Jan 2008, 12:29
Pricey and the player who ran onto the field, smacked him, broke his jaw in several places and ran off....
Twas at yarraville.
yeah i wasnt referring to that incident but that is another ugly one and its good to see that pricey is happy to return to our league this year

brains01
18 Jan 2008, 12:33
Another ill informed comment,jl has been and will always be a ball player,and yes he did hit tonna in that incident but it was in retaliation to what tonna got away wiith to a colts player.
Also jl and tonna sorted out their differences at the tribunral and got along very well after that incident.
I have also spoken to tonna and the reason he does not play in this league are he no longer enjoys the club he was once associated with.
well i find that very hard to believe and i dont think he left because of the club it was definently that incident and if you think it was ok for jl to king hit him from behind then we have different opinions.

obe1
18 Jan 2008, 12:34

Most things posted on here are taken with a pinch of salt and in most case's are good fun. What I always find the funniest is when clubs/people bag someone for something that they see as an injustice or immoral act.

Anyone who has walked can honestly say that somewhere sometime they have done something that they may regret. What cracks me up is that these poeple in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

Brains you continualy raise this issue time and time again, there are two sides to every story and those mature enough have moved on from it.

Seeing as you have such a high and mighty opinion of yourself and your club why dont you pass on the circumstances of your under age footy trip, the corresponding fines and under age drinking that went on?

brains01
18 Jan 2008, 12:43
Most things posted on here are taken with a pinch of salt and in most case's are good fun. What I always find the funniest is when clubs/people bag someone for something that they see as an injustice or immoral act.

Anyone who has walked can honestly say that somewhere sometime they have done something that they may regret. What cracks me up is that these poeple in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

Brains you continualy raise this issue time and time again, there are two sides to every story and those mature enough have moved on from it.

Seeing as you have such a high and mighty opinion of yourself and your club why dont you pass on the circumstances of your under age footy trip, the corresponding fines and under age drinking that went on?
john this is the first time i have mentioned this incident so i dont know how i have been continually raised this and i am sure that he does regret that day but i only mentioned it because people were praising him on what he has done for this league.

obe1
18 Jan 2008, 13:00
john this is the first time i have mentioned this incident so i dont know how i have been continually raised this and i am sure that he does regret that day but i only mentioned it because people were praising him on what he has done for this league.

Love him or loath him, the bloke can play. I guess the piont was the league can in afford for the 'better" players to leave our comp.

He hasn't directly done anything for the league other than play to the best of his ability. This indirectly has to add value to the comp.

Just as Tonna was a loss to the league so is JL.

There is a general consensious that the standard of the WRFL is declining and I would have to agree with that a little. There are a number of obvious reasons for this so regardless of ones mistakes we require the better players to stick around.

brains01
18 Jan 2008, 13:16
Love him or loath him, the bloke can play. I guess the piont was the league can in afford for the 'better" players to leave our comp.

He hasn't directly done anything for the league other than play to the best of his ability. This indirectly has to add value to the comp.

Just as Tonna was a loss to the league so is JL.

There is a general consensious that the standard of the WRFL is declining and I would have to agree with that a little. There are a number of obvious reasons for this so regardless of ones mistakes we require the better players to stick around.
i couldnt agree with you more i think our league is declining in reference to big name players but clubs just cant compete with clubs from other leagues who are offering ridiculous amount of money.

creative_mind11
18 Jan 2008, 14:50
just an idea to make the competitions, not just the wrfl, but all competitions more even across the board. introduce a points system similar to those in the country leagues.

they way it would work is each club is given 35 points or something around that number to distribute amongst the 22 players that run out on the field on the weekend. how u determine how many points each players is worth is as follows:

1 point goes to those players who have been at the club for 3 yrs or more

2 points go to those players who have come from another league, such as the Eastern league or the Essendon league. anyone coming from a country league such as the Goulborn Valley is not included in this as the country leagues are alot stronger than the local leagues.

3 points go to a player who has been in the country leagues in the last 3 yrs or has played less than 50VFL games more than 3 yrs ago.

4 points go to a player who has played VFL in the last 3 yrs or has played more than 50 VFL games more than 3 yrs ago.

5 points go to a player who has played senor football in the AFL in any shape or form, even if its just the one game...

on top of this maybe limit clubs to spending $80,000 per season on players only or something thats fair, i dont know how much money clubs do spnd but i heard it can be up to $300,000 at some clubs.

i know thats not perfect but something like that has to be looked at to make the bottom sides competitive with the top sides, and thats in all leagues around melbourne...

thoughts anyone?

hardnut69
18 Jan 2008, 15:15
just an idea to make the competitions, not just the wrfl, but all competitions more even across the board. introduce a points system similar to those in the country leagues.

they way it would work is each club is given 35 points or something around that number to distribute amongst the 22 players that run out on the field on the weekend. how u determine how many points each players is worth is as follows:

2 points go to those players who have come from another league, such as the Eastern league or the Essendon league. anyone coming from a country league such as the Goulborn Valley is not included in this as the country leagues are alot stronger than the local leagues.

3 points go to a player who has been in the country leagues in the last 3 yrs or has played less than 50VFL games more than 3 yrs ago.

4 points go to a player who has played VFL in the last 3 yrs or has played more than 50 VFL games more than 3 yrs ago.

5 points go to a player who has played senor football in the AFL in any shape or form, even if its just the one game...

on top of this maybe limit clubs to spending $80,000 per season on players only or something thats fair, i dont know how much money clubs do spnd but i heard it can be up to $300,000 at some clubs.

i know thats not perfect but something like that has to be looked at to make the bottom sides competitive with the top sides, and thats in all leagues around melbourne...

thoughts anyone?

total crap... how did ashleigh brown go over their this year?

Percy
18 Jan 2008, 15:21

Even though people have already stated it i'm gonna reiterate how much of a tool you are. Get your facts right before jumping on board...you've sounded like a real twat with this post. Anyone with any knowledge of this league would know who the majority of the posters are on here, or at least who people are referring to in posts.

Percy
18 Jan 2008, 15:25

thoughts anyone?

Would never work in practice, the salary cap would be impossible to govern. Getting around a salary cap would be no different to how the Amo's have done it for years.
As for the points system good luck getting the support and cross-league organisation to implement a fully operational system.

darren melton
18 Jan 2008, 16:38
total crap... how did ashleigh brown go over their this year?
how do you no ash he didnt play champ just coached at mt gambier bad knees

cookie33
18 Jan 2008, 17:07
Any chance we can talk about something else other than Colts players?? we all know Lindsay and Caddy are guns and have been for a good while, I have spoken to many around local footy and the way they talk about Caddy is as if he is the Wayne Carey of park footy, I wouldnt mind being spoken about in the same light.

Anyhow, how was most clubs first week back on the track?? any time trials or beep tests or testings done to see how boys are after xmas period??

13-CABS
18 Jan 2008, 17:23
Massive loss for both Colts and the league. Guys like that bring people through the gates. Reckon Caddy was easily the best player in the league for the past 2 years, with Lindsay not far behind. No doubt a good thing for all the other sides in the league, but with these big names leaving it reflects badly on the league. How many ex AFL players are running around in the WRFL? We have no where near the numbers that other metro and even country leagues have... Actually is Frosty the only guy in the WRFL who has made an AFL list? I know these arent the be all and end all, but the WRFL is crying out for some big name recruits to boost the image and level of the league.

wolverine
18 Jan 2008, 20:05
Massive loss for both Colts and the league. Guys like that bring people through the gates. Reckon Caddy was easily the best player in the league for the past 2 years, with Lindsay not far behind. No doubt a good thing for all the other sides in the league, but with these big names leaving it reflects badly on the league. How many ex AFL players are running around in the WRFL? We have no where near the numbers that other metro and even country leagues have... Actually is Frosty the only guy in the WRFL who has made an AFL list? I know these arent the be all and end all, but the WRFL is crying out for some big name recruits to boost the image and level of the league.
doesnt/didnt st albans have an ex western bulldogs player playing? the bloke i am referring to was only young and dont think he played an afl game but was on the list for a while. Spotswood also had that number 8 draft pick play for them this year, correct me if i am wrong.

tige19
18 Jan 2008, 21:00

Hoppers will have Brad Murphy who played 7 or 8 games at the dogs a few years back, Frost and Rohan Smith for 6 or 7 games as well so thats 3 at Hoppers.

Jess Wells is the guy who played at St.Albans and his a spud, I dont think he was getting a kick at Werribee 2s, apparantley he has Jet Skied from Victoria to Tasmania and has surfed 30ft waves as well as run 100m in 10.30 seconds..... well thats what he tells everyone anyway.

high_flier
18 Jan 2008, 21:43
Bring back mick martin!

parkside.. F.C.
19 Jan 2008, 14:35
did micky perform when he was playin for spotty?

obe1
19 Jan 2008, 15:42
did micky perform when he was playin for spotty?

Yeh, he jumped up and down alot and pulled some really funny faces's

Percy
19 Jan 2008, 18:18
Yeh, he jumped up and down alot and pulled some really funny faces's

Haha...he was an absolute spud. No denying the blokes talent at AFL level, but he just wasn't prepared for WRFL footy i think. Ran around like a headless chook.

D Ginola
19 Jan 2008, 19:45

Why dont you ring the police ?

obe1
19 Jan 2008, 20:11

Thanks , I will take your advice on board. Your contribution to the topic was insightfull to say the least.

D Ginola
19 Jan 2008, 20:25
Thanks , I will take your advice on board. Your contribution to the topic was insightfull to say the least.

No probs , Is there any other illegal activities do want told on big footy ?

obe1
19 Jan 2008, 20:33
No probs , Is there any other illegal activities do want told on big footy ?

You have missed the piont of the discussion by the distance beteen your ears champ, which must quite considerable.

If you have anything to add to that or any other relevent topic, be my guest.

all-eyes-on-me
19 Jan 2008, 21:30
stuart devlin for north footscray was on geelongs list!! was drafted at number 5. only played a hand full of games but.

ROCK07
19 Jan 2008, 23:02

settle down mate,there is lagging and then there is a diffence about asking someone about something that is already public knowledge and it has been dealt with.....so please don't put another spin on his post

D Ginola
20 Jan 2008, 10:02
settle down mate,there is lagging and then there is a diffence about asking someone about something that is already public knowledge and it has been dealt with.....so please don't put another spin on his post

Read it properly then
You must be his mate to jump to his defence like that
I think its ordinary to bring up stuff like that on big footy
If you agree with that crap good luck to you:thumbsd:

obe1
20 Jan 2008, 11:30
Read it properly then
You must be his mate to jump to his defence like that
I think its ordinary to bring up stuff like that on big footy
If you agree with that crap good luck to you:thumbsd:

For the record boys, the piont was and still is "people in glass houses should not throw stones".

If you do not understand that, then all the posts in the world wont save you.

Take the time to read back over the conversation and reasses your veiws.

The original isuue has been raised and raised and raised, there is no piont continuing with it in my veiw. Reference was made to an incident that has been done and dusted.

As I stated ,we all have made mistakes from time to time. At no stage have I mentioned the club or the age group in question. So before you continue to alledge anything other than what my original piont was intended to piont out, think before you print.

ROCK07
20 Jan 2008, 12:11
For the record boys, the piont was and still is "people in glass houses should not throw stones".

If you do not understand that, then all the posts in the world wont save you.

Take the time to read back over the conversation and reasses your veiws.

The original isuue has been raised and raised and raised, there is no piont continuing with it in my veiw. Reference was made to an incident that has been done and dusted.

As I stated ,we all have made mistakes from time to time. At no stage have I mentioned the club or the age group in question. So before you continue to alledge anything other than what my original piont was intended to piont out, think before you print.

I totally understood your point MATE and also noticed you didn't mention clubs or names and was more reffering to everyone has made a mistake here and there but that does not sum up the real person

ROCK07
20 Jan 2008, 12:28
Let's move on and talk footy only 11 weeks til the first game
Who are the comings and goings for each club,then lets have some predictions
COLTS LOSSES GAINS
S.Caddy A.Pardridge [ntfl] tassie
J.lindsay D.mullett [ntfl] tassie
J.Caddy R.Whittmar [edfl]
N.Rutley [efl]
S.Hoath [former colts player and strathmore,not
definate but close]
N.graff [norwood]
We are also waiting on a few other but will know more in the next few weeks, we have lost a bit of quality but are confident in the players we have picked up and are looking for a top 3 finish.
Let's here from other clubs don't be shy it's not club selection........

aussiepride07
20 Jan 2008, 13:35
COLTS LOSSES GAINS
N.Rutley [efl]
definate but close]
N.graff [norwood]
We are also waiting on a few other but will know more in the next few weeks, we have lost a bit of quality but are confident in the players we have picked up and are looking for a top 3 finish.

hey ur loseing a fair few players mate u reckon u will she go alrite?

aussiepride07
20 Jan 2008, 13:39
COLTS LOSSES GAINS
N.Rutley [efl]
definate but close]
N.graff [norwood]

hey ur loseing a fair few players mate u reckon u will still go alrite?

aussiepride07
20 Jan 2008, 13:45
COLTS LOSSES GAINS
N.Rutley [efl]
definate but close]
N.graff [norwood]

hey ur loseing a fair few players mate u reckon u will still go alrite?