View Full Version : Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102

O Grobbecker
13th September 2005, 22:34
Back in 19 mumble mumble, I ran into a bloke I'd gone to primary school with outside Rosamond Tennis Club on a saturday morning. He'd just finished playing footy and was wearing a royal blue jumper with a white vee. I've always had it in my mind that he said he was playing for a North Footscray under age side. By chance, I happened across the NFFC website this evening and discovered that it played in red and white. Which club would my old school friend have been playing for do you think ?

Motty
13th September 2005, 23:39
From my info, 19 "mumble mumble" must be before 1986 because my 1987 Footscray District Football League handbook and the 1986 Western Suburban Football League handbook make no mention of a club with "royal blue with white vee".

The nearest at this time were:-

FDFL - 1987
------------
ALBION - blue and white hoops
COBURG YCW - blue with red yoke
DEER PARK - blue with gold vee
HOPPERS CROSSING - blue and white vertical stripes
NORTH MELBOURNE & KENSINGTON - blue and white vertical stripes
RAAF LAVERTON - blue with gold collar, cuffs and monogram
ST ALBANS - blue with red yoke

WSFL - 1986
-------------
ALBION NORTH - blue and white vertical stripes
HOPPERS CROSSING - blue and white hoops

... but I don't think that will help you!

O Grobbecker
14th September 2005, 08:11
Thanks, anyway, Motty, "mumble mumble" was more than 20 years before 1989. North Melbourne Kensington would be the only possibility because of geographic proximity.

rightfoot_sloth
14th September 2005, 09:45
I reckon it could be Avondale Heights the side your mate played for.

DekkaRoo
14th September 2005, 11:34
Yeah I agree with you rightfoot, I think it the side would have been Avondale Heights. They wear the Royal blue with a White V.

Just on the WRFL, who will win the flag this week... will Parkside keep their winning streak going or will The Colts claim the cup and prove that they have been the best side for most of the year???

craig_issa
14th September 2005, 15:41
lets hope parkside win by 10 goals

rightfoot_sloth
14th September 2005, 16:27
From my info, 19 "mumble mumble" must be before 1986 because my 1987 Footscray District Football League handbook and the 1986 Western Suburban Football League handbook make no mention of a club with "royal blue with white vee".

The nearest at this time were:-

FDFL - 1987
------------
ALBION - blue and white hoops
COBURG YCW - blue with red yoke
DEER PARK - blue with gold vee
HOPPERS CROSSING - blue and white vertical stripes
NORTH MELBOURNE & KENSINGTON - blue and white vertical stripes
RAAF LAVERTON - blue with gold collar, cuffs and monogram
ST ALBANS - blue with red yoke

WSFL - 1986
-------------
ALBION NORTH - blue and white vertical stripes
HOPPERS CROSSING - blue and white hoops

... but I don't think that will help you!

Motty - Can you list all the sides in the booklets (FDL and WSFL) as it will be interesting to see how many sides have survived, reformed or changed their strips.

Cheers,
RTS

DekkaRoo
14th September 2005, 17:02
lets hope parkside win by 10 goals

craig, do you have something against Port Colts or do you support/play for parks???

acciarito
14th September 2005, 17:46
port colts have been good for a while, but some say they choke
lucky to make the grand final, thought spotty was the best side
well done to them though, they have some gun players in webb and winters
parkside will battle i reckon, not a big wrap for them but they must be playing some good tough footy to be in the grand final
will be a close one, reckon parkside will win just though

Motty
15th September 2005, 00:29
*** Note that some WSFL clubs seem to have moved into the FDFL between the two seasons.

FDFL 1987
----------
Albanvale - "North Melb"
Albion - "Geelong"
ANBY - "Richmond"
Braybrook - "Essendon"
Braybrook YCW - maroon with gold vee
Central Altona - black with gold yoke
Coburg YCW (later Coburg District???) - "Melbourne"
Deer Park - blue with gold vee
Essendon H.S. Ex-Students - black, red, grey panels
East Brunswick - "Collingwood"
Flemington - "Williamstown"
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Hoppers Crossing - "Geelong"
Kingsville - "Williamstown"
Melton Juniors - maroon with white collar cuffs and monogram
Nth Footscray - red and white stripes
Nth Melb & Kensington - "North Melb"
North Sunshine - "St Kilda"
Parkside - "Collingwood"
Port Colts - red with blue vee
RAAF Laverton - blue with gold collar cuffs and monogram
Sandridge - "South Melb"
Seddon - "Hawthorn"
Spotswood - green with gold vee
St Albans - "Melbourne"
St Bernards - "Sandringham"
Sunshine Heights - red, white and blue horizontal stripes
Sunshine YCW - gold with blue cuffs and emblem
Wembley Park (later Brooklyn) - maroon with white vee
Werribee Juniors - gold with black sash
West Footscray - red with white vee
West Newport - "Port Melbourne"
Williamstown Juniors - "Williamstown"
Wyndhamvale - green with gold yoke
Yarraville Boys - "Yarraville VFA - blue with red yoke and white monogram"

WSFL 1986
-----------
Albion North - "North Melbourne"
Altona City - purple with gold sash
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Laverton - black with white yoke
Newport - maroon with gold vee
Newport Central - "St Kilda"
Newport East - black with white collar and cuffs
St Albans South - "Essendon"
Sunshine Heights - red white and blue hoops (Footscray?)
Williamstown United - "Williamstown"

bogan4life
15th September 2005, 00:37
*** Note that some WSFL clubs seem to have moved into the FDFL between the two seasons.

FDFL 1987
----------
Albanvale - "North Melb"
Albion - "Geelong"
ANBY - "Richmond"
Braybrook - "Essendon"
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Parkside - "Collingwood"
Sandridge - "South Melb"
Seddon - "Hawthorn"
St Albans - "Melbourne"

WSFL 1986
-----------
Altona City - purple with gold sash (then used the big v, then a jumper that looks like the e girls
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"

Good old flemo, how the WRFL was able to bend us over to get the hammerheads in was shocking, still we have a AA player still running around.

Motty
15th September 2005, 01:07
I'm fairly sure that Avondale Heights have always only been involved with the Essendon comp at both senior and junior level. There is some chance that it could have been North Melbourne-Kensington before a jumper design change at a guess, but if it was the late 60s/early 70s, there are other clubs (including long gone ones like Maidstone and F & Y Socials) to consider.

rightfoot_sloth
15th September 2005, 08:32
Motty - Do you know which ground St.Albans South and Albion North played at ? I've hadn't heard of those sides before.

Cheers,
RTS

O Grobbecker
15th September 2005, 19:33
I'm fairly sure that Avondale Heights have always only been involved with the Essendon comp at both senior and junior level. There is some chance that it could have been North Melbourne-Kensington before a jumper design change at a guess, but if it was the late 60s/early 70s, there are other clubs (including long gone ones like Maidstone and F & Y Socials) to consider.
Maidstone would fit the bill geographically. What colours did it wear ?

Motty
16th September 2005, 01:19
Albion North played at Lloyd Reserve, Lurg Avenue, North Sunshine. They had sides in U14 and U10A. They don't seem to have ever fielded senior sides in any competition that I could find.

St. Albans South's seniors played at Errington Reserve, St. Albans Road, St. Albans and the juniors were at Scovell Reserve, Scovell Crescent, Maidstone. They fielded teams in A3 (2 sides), U16, U14, U10B. 1986 was their debut as a senior club.

O Grobbecker
17th September 2005, 12:47
I posted the query on the Bulldogs Board. One poster there thought it must have been the North Footscray State School rather than an FDL club and the colours and design of the jumper matched my memory.

roge_3
23rd September 2005, 07:03
Just wondering if anyone can give me any info on a player in the WRFL this season, plays for Seddon Yarraville.
What sort of season did he have this year?

acciarito
23rd September 2005, 13:43
you didnt mention the player mate
but the only seddon yarraville guy who has any football ability is goggins
the bloke is an absolute freak, best leap and set of hands ive seen in a very very long time, seen him tear a game apart when they got flogged
was seriously too good for that team, would be awesome elsewhere

roge_3
26th September 2005, 09:59
you didnt mention the player mate
but the only seddon yarraville guy who has any football ability is goggins
the bloke is an absolute freak, best leap and set of hands ive seen in a very very long time, seen him tear a game apart when they got flogged
was seriously too good for that team, would be awesome elsewhere

Your right, sorry, yeah, it was Ben Goggins.. So he has had another good year then?
Another is Luke Walker, how did he go this year?

mark73
28th September 2005, 15:02
Back in 19 mumble mumble, I ran into a bloke I'd gone to primary school with outside Rosamond Tennis Club on a saturday morning. He'd just finished playing footy and was wearing a royal blue jumper with a white vee. I've always had it in my mind that he said he was playing for a North Footscray under age side. By chance, I happened across the NFFC website this evening and discovered that it played in red and white. Which club would my old school friend have been playing for do you think ?
Don't quote me on the clubs details re;when they started and when they finished etc,but it was Maidstone.Used to have one of their jumpers myself.I think they were more prominant in the 70's as far as recent history goes.

Travvy43
28th September 2005, 15:03
While on the WRFL, any word on movements throughout the league for 06. James will be gone, i did also hear gav taylor is a chance to coach albion in 06.

mark73
28th September 2005, 15:08

FDFL 1987
----------
Albanvale - "North Melb"
Albion - "Geelong"
ANBY - "Richmond"
Braybrook - "Essendon"
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Parkside - "Collingwood"
Sandridge - "South Melb"
Seddon - "Hawthorn"
St Albans - "Melbourne"

WSFL 1986
-----------
Altona City - purple with gold sash
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Newport East? Can't recall playing against them.Also were'nt Newport (maroon jumpers) in the FDFL? Just a query.

Motty
28th September 2005, 23:15
Yes, Newport were. In the mid to late 80s, there was a flurry of movement from the WSFL to the FDFL, which resulted in the WSFL folding either in 1987 or 1988.

roge_3
3rd October 2005, 12:32
While on the WRFL, any word on movements throughout the league for 06. James will be gone, i did also hear gav taylor is a chance to coach albion in 06.

Ben Goggins looks to be headed from Seddon to Strathmore in the EDFL.

Dogs till i die
4th October 2005, 20:36
I recall Maidstone wearing a royal blue with a white MFC monogram in the 70s. I think Sunbury wear that strip as well.

The WSFL folded after the 1988 season when Newport East folded (played at Digman Reserve) and Hoppers or Altona defected to the FDFL (now WRFL).

That left the WSFL with only 6 teams - Laverton, Newport, West Newport, Williamstown United, Hoppers or Altona and Central Altona.

They all then transferred to the FDFL forming a 2nd section of the 2nd division.

Tragedy is that Newport once had 4 football clubs operating at the one time - West,East,Central and Newport and now they have none.

Dogs till i die
4th October 2005, 20:45
Also interesting to note that of the 51 clubs listed by Motty as belonging to either the FDFL and WSFL in 1987, only 34 of those remain.

Balancing that though would be many new clubs have also joined or evolved to balance the argument that footy is not dying.

GVFootyfan
18th October 2005, 21:01
Can anyone give any info on the new coach of Seddon-Yarraville (Andrew Jago). Heard he came from GVFL Seymour 2nds. Was anyone at Seddons meet the coach day. Have heard he is a very impressive talker and if Steve Daniel has been his mentor he should do a fantastic job trying to re-build this side.

No Heart
18th October 2005, 21:51
Andrew jago did coach at seymour and from all accounts is a very good coach , i believe he played for Tasmania back in his day and was a good player. The rumor is he is recruiting very well and dont be surprized to see a few Northern Bullant Boys running around, i think he also was assistant coach at the bullants and he is also not a bad cricketer. So i think seddon might have picked up a good coach.

roge_3
19th October 2005, 09:09
Andrew jago did coach at seymour and from all accounts is a very good coach , i believe he played for Tasmania back in his day and was a good player. The rumor is he is recruiting very well and dont be surprized to see a few Northern Bullant Boys running around, i think he also was assistant coach at the bullants and he is also not a bad cricketer. So i think seddon might have picked up a good coach.

They may be getting a good coach, but they are losing all of the small amount of talent that they had last year.... That has to hurt.

fat back pocket
19th October 2005, 09:38
Can anyone give any info on the new coach of Seddon-Yarraville (Andrew Jago). Heard he came from GVFL Seymour 2nds. Was anyone at Seddons meet the coach day. Have heard he is a very impressive talker and if Steve Daniel has been his mentor he should do a fantastic job trying to re-build this side.

He has also spent time with Sandringham VFL side during the past 2 years as they have gone back-to-back premiers. So he has seen how the best win flags. That should hold him in good stead you would expect.

rightfoot_sloth
19th October 2005, 11:09
Is there any new coaching news about from Jago in the WRFL that anyone is aware of ?

GVFootyfan
19th October 2005, 16:55
Have heard on the grapevine the man is a very large unit. Maybe the canteen profits will pick up next year and and they should be able to get all the talent they need come 2007. What Bullants would you think he could coax to Seddon. Maybe a Frankie Raso or the likes!!! What about past Bullants, any that would spring to mind No Heart.

No Heart
19th October 2005, 19:02
Dont know the man myself, but i do know a student he teachers at uni and he said that he is very confident of picking up 5 players from the VFL as a package as thats where i got the infomation about his coaching and playing career . Sad to see players leaving when the club could turn it around with these vfl players if it happens.If you talk the talk as a coach you better be able to walk the walk,would be great to see it happen and get them up and play finals.

Go Hawks [ hope they are the hawks ]

blues12
20th October 2005, 13:51
the best & fairest and 2nd B&F will be leaving they come with lowey stuck around for an extra year now want some success. sad for the hawks but good luck to the guys.

GVFootyfan
20th October 2005, 15:08
the best & fairest and 2nd B&F will be leaving they come with lowey stuck around for an extra year now want some success. sad for the hawks but good luck to the guys.
It's a pity they don't stay as I have heard he will shake things up down there and is determined to make things right. The few people I have spoken to seem to be very excited about this appointment and are looking forward to the change. Obviously he could not talk them around. You would think if they had been there for a while they would want to be part of what was going to happen. I would think $$$$ might have a bit to do with it also as Strathmore seem to have plenty to splash around.

blues12
21st October 2005, 13:32
for these boys it's not all about the money, walker played at rockbank with no success and goggins at sunbury kangaroos also with no success goggins would be lucky to have won 10 games in the last 5 years give them a break. if they are offered good money to play in a finals side then let them go they are young and have the right to all experiences in different leagues. GOOD LUCK BOYS.

roge_3
21st October 2005, 15:36
for these boys it's not all about the money, walker played at rockbank with no success and goggins at sunbury kangaroos also with no success goggins would be lucky to have won 10 games in the last 5 years give them a break. if they are offered good money to play in a finals side then let them go they are young and have the right to all experiences in different leagues. GOOD LUCK BOYS.
Actually, Walker played finals when he was at Rockbank...

GVFootyfan
22nd October 2005, 19:56
Is there any new coaching news about from Jago in the WRFL that anyone is aware of ?
Here is something for you to get your teeth into SLOTH. I have heard from a very reliable source that Andrew Jago has been leaving no stone unturned in his efforts to recruit. Have heard that he interviewed 2 Seymour players on Wednesday night. Tom Robinson (winger with raking right foot and plenty of pace) who played 10 senior games in 2005 and was stiff not to be able to get into side for finals and Rodney Van Riet (also winger/back pocket and pace to burn) who did play in their Grand Final and probably had most possessions for Seymour. And just heard he is chasing a big ruckman (Ben Bailey) from Seymour as well. He has set up a meeting with him this Wednesday night to coax him over. Apparantly Seymour are not impressed with the latest efforts to take their ruckman.

No Heart
22nd October 2005, 20:36
Right on the mail there GV FootyFan and to get information like that you must know someone that you just mentioned pretty well.Or are you from seddin, i heard today at the cricket [until it got washed out]that the new coach is going very hard after players from his old club, two others you did not mention Nick Lane and MarkPlieger have also been targeted.
Are these players any good and will they make a diffrence GV FootyFan ??

GVFootyfan
22nd October 2005, 21:03
These 2 are both reserves players. Although I did not see much of them I have been told Nick Lane is a good player but does not have the commitment to play seniors. Pleases himself most of the time. If he knuckled down could be anything. Mark Plieger on the other hand is a hard working tall with a good ethic.

No Heart
22nd October 2005, 21:17
So GVFootyFan you seem to know a fair bit about whats going on at seddin and also about the players going there, you seem to know how many games robbinson played and how many stats vanreit had yet didnt see much of lane or pleiger , are you involved with seymour or seddin, do you play? :cool:

GVFootyfan
22nd October 2005, 21:30
So GVFootyFan you seem to know a fair bit about whats going on at seddin and also about the players going there, you seem to know how many games robbinson played and how many stats vanreit had yet didnt see much of lane or pleiger , are you involved with seymour or seddin, do you play? :cool:
I don't play but I am very lucky that I do get to see a lot of footy. Have watched a bit of WRFL and GVFL during the last year and I must say the GVFL impressed me no end. (Hence the username). Could not get to the grounds early enough to watch the ressies because of the travel but did get close to a few people in the GV that have a fair bit of pull and knowledge of what is going on up there. I probably seen more Seymour games because they were pre season faves and they certainly deserved to win the flag. Euroa were stiff as they seemed to have the wood on them until the grannie. Also follow the Port Colts so both my sides got up. Now if only I can pick the winner of the Melb. Cup I will have topped off a great year.

No Heart
23rd October 2005, 19:06
GVFOOTYFAN do you think there is a big diffrence between western region and gvfl , ive seen both this year [ my point only ] and i think the gvfl leaves it for dead , i saw the final at shepp against Euroa and Seymour and that was just a fantastic standard and what a game the leed changed about 10 times in the last quater. And i went and watched the Western grannie and it just didnt come close, would it be fair to say the gvfl isnt far of the VFL or was i lucky just to see two good sides play a ripper game .

GVFootyfan
24th October 2005, 16:28
GVFOOTYFAN do you think there is a big diffrence between western region and gvfl , ive seen both this year [ my point only ] and i think the gvfl leaves it for dead , i saw the final at shepp against Euroa and Seymour and that was just a fantastic standard and what a game the leed changed about 10 times in the last quater. And i went and watched the Western grannie and it just didnt come close, would it be fair to say the gvfl isnt far of the VFL or was i lucky just to see two good sides play a ripper game .
Grand Final was an absolute cracker game and of all the games I have seen in GVFL the standard is very high. I suppose you could say that the standard is not far off VFL as the grand final had approx. 20 ex VFL or AFL players running around. I have seen a lot of footy over the years and the GV is the best footy I have seen outside of the AFL & VFL. I think the bigger grounds may have a lot to do with that. From all accounts more quality players going up there next year so standard will improve across the board. If you can get to more games, (home & away), you will not be disappointed.

fat back pocket
25th October 2005, 07:49

I think you will find the lead changed once in the final quarter. Euroa were leading, and seymour then got in front, and never gave the lead back up.

BUT, the lead did change 4 or 5 times for the match, through the 2nd and third quarters.

THe semi final was a super battle, lead changed many times then with Euroa taking home a gutsy win.

fat back pocket
25th October 2005, 08:07
Here is something for you to get your teeth into SLOTH. I have heard from a very reliable source that Andrew Jago has been leaving no stone unturned in his efforts to recruit. Have heard that he interviewed 2 Seymour players on Wednesday night. Tom Robinson (winger with raking right foot and plenty of pace) who played 10 senior games in 2005 and was stiff not to be able to get into side for finals and Rodney Van Riet (also winger/back pocket and pace to burn) who did play in their Grand Final and probably had most possessions for Seymour. And just heard he is chasing a big ruckman (Ben Bailey) from Seymour as well. He has set up a meeting with him this Wednesday night to coax him over. Apparantly Seymour are not impressed with the latest efforts to take their ruckman.

You know a fair bit about what is going on here GVFootyFan. Like to enlighten us to where you get your info from? Or can we make bold assumptions on your identity?

GVFootyfan
25th October 2005, 14:56
You know a fair bit about what is going on here GVFootyFan. Like to enlighten us to where you get your info from? Or can we make bold assumptions on your identity?
Make all the assumptions you like FBP, you will never guess. I have some very influential contacts in all areas of footy where I get my info from. Some one told me the other day about you also. Where will you be playing next year when you can't get a game in the 2's.

Doona2
25th October 2005, 15:50
Make all the assumptions you like FBP, you will never guess. I have some very influential contacts in all areas of footy where I get my info from. Some one told me the other day about you also. Where will you be playing next year when you can't get a game in the 2's.

Not another Euroa enemy of your's FBP by any chance?

No Heart
31st October 2005, 14:57

Fatty back pocket all the who ha about sedden and there coach is very quickly loosing the momentem it had [ if any ] they are throwing everything at any and everyone but just keep coming up short, and the coach carnt seem to entice any vfl players that we where told hes going to bring.

Chief_Deano
4th November 2005, 21:16
Grand Final was an absolute cracker game and of all the games I have seen in GVFL the standard is very high. I suppose you could say that the standard is not far off VFL as the grand final had approx. 20 ex VFL or AFL players running around. I have seen a lot of footy over the years and the GV is the best footy I have seen outside of the AFL & VFL. I think the bigger grounds may have a lot to do with that. From all accounts more quality players going up there next year so standard will improve across the board. If you can get to more games, (home & away), you will not be disappointed.

How do you think it compares to the O & M? It doesnt show at the country championships that it is one of the premier leagues in victoria. None of their stars ever play.

GVFootyfan
4th November 2005, 22:40
How do you think it compares to the O & M? It doesnt show at the country championships that it is one of the premier leagues in victoria. None of their stars ever play.
G.V. play in Div. 1 V.C.F.L. Country Championship against O & M, G.F.L. & Mornington I think is the fourth side. (Someone will correct me if I am wrong).
G.V. won in the Seniors as well as the Under 18's. Also had approx. 8 players that represented the V.C.F.L. against the V.A.F.A.
You are partly right in stating that their stars never play because players of the calibre of Mensch, Hulme, Tranquilli, Hotton, Collins, Shane Clayton, Hickmott, Derek Hall just to name a few of the ex-AFL players do not take up this option. I am sure the other leagues do not have all their stars turn up to the Championships also.

No Heart
5th November 2005, 19:15

Cheif Deano i agree with GVFooty Fan the GVFL at the moment[ and i say at the moment] is the best football outside the VFL.

fat back pocket
7th November 2005, 07:44
Not another Euroa enemy of your's FBP by any chance?

Not really Doona, GVFootyFan just thinks i'm stupid and don't know who he talks to, i know exactly who he talks to, gets his info from etc.

As i have said, i would rather be a borderline twos player, than a bloke with no football experience who follows a good coach around to push his magnets for him. Must get a lot of satisfaction out of it.

GVFootyfan
8th November 2005, 14:25
Not really Doona, GVFootyFan just thinks i'm stupid and don't know who he talks to, i know exactly who he talks to, gets his info from etc.

As i have said, i would rather be a borderline twos player, than a bloke with no football experience who follows a good coach around to push his magnets for him. Must get a lot of satisfaction out of it.
Do you think it would be more satisfying than you pushing your tongue up his a r s e??????

Chief_Deano
8th November 2005, 19:51
G.V. play in Div. 1 V.C.F.L. Country Championship against O & M, G.F.L. & Mornington I think is the fourth side. (Someone will correct me if I am wrong).
G.V. won in the Seniors as well as the Under 18's. Also had approx. 8 players that represented the V.C.F.L. against the V.A.F.A.
You are partly right in stating that their stars never play because players of the calibre of Mensch, Hulme, Tranquilli, Hotton, Collins, Shane Clayton, Hickmott, Derek Hall just to name a few of the ex-AFL players do not take up this option. I am sure the other leagues do not have all their stars turn up to the Championships also.

No need for sarcasm here, i was just posing the question. I also said one of the premier leagues in victoria

roge_3
12th November 2005, 12:26
Isnt there already a thread for the GVFL? I must have clicked on the wrong thread, thought this was about the WRFL...

Travvy43
24th November 2005, 13:06
Any recent additions to any teams in the WRFL that people know of. Only seem to hear a lot about seddon Yarraville offering everything to fringe players from Seymour but still coming up short.

Yarraville have signed Gatt as their assistant coach, anyone knoe if they have picked up anyone. Signed Zane Davidson who played at Norht Sunshine and last year a couple of games with Nth Footscray in Div 2. Looked a good player with polished skills running off the half back flank.

Albion, has james gone??

What about the big four, spotty, parks, port colts and heppers, any news from any of these teams??? I see slatts has gone from hoppers, any idea who is replacing him, has this been announced yet?

what about St Albans, is Pagan going around again as coach.

Also any thoughts on how Altona will go up in Div 1??

craig_issa
24th November 2005, 14:41
Pagan has signed up again, training started 2 weeks ago...

Kooley
25th November 2005, 06:49
Any recent additions to any teams in the WRFL that people know of. Only seem to hear a lot about seddon Yarraville offering everything to fringe players from Seymour but still coming up short.

Yarraville have signed Gatt as their assistant coach, anyone knoe if they have picked up anyone. Signed Zane Davidson who played at Norht Sunshine and last year a couple of games with Nth Footscray in Div 2. Looked a good player with polished skills running off the half back flank.

Albion, has james gone??

What about the big four, spotty, parks, port colts and heppers, any news from any of these teams??? I see slatts has gone from hoppers, any idea who is replacing him, has this been announced yet?

what about St Albans, is Pagan going around again as coach.

Also any thoughts on how Altona will go up in Div 1??

Michael Frost has replaced Paul Satterly as coach of Hoppers Crossing.

oinka
25th November 2005, 19:21
Can anyone tell me anything about Robbie Bromley. I think he played at Parkside. He used to play at Port Melbourne. Is he a good player in the WRFL.
Also a ruckman with the first name Hans. Not sure of his last name.

RichmondTigers
29th November 2005, 17:45
Can anyone give me some info on the WRFL? What is the standard of the comp like compared to other leagues? What division is Seddon-Yarraville in? Div 1 or 2, are they any good? Any chance of playing finals under new coach Jago?

blues12
30th November 2005, 05:50
Can anyone give me some info on the WRFL? What is the standard of the comp like compared to other leagues? What division is Seddon-Yarraville in? Div 1 or 2, are they any good? Any chance of playing finals under new coach Jago?

the comp is known to be a very hard and tough comp,they are in division 1 and really struggled last year with lack of quality if they were to make finals i believe they would need to recruit really well, i dont know about the coach but some coaches out there can get the best out players and completely change clubs with out recruiting too many players

fat back pocket
30th November 2005, 06:15

I'd just worry about yourself. Don't have to worry about me mate, my position is secure!!

RichmondTigers
30th November 2005, 11:28
the comp is known to be a very hard and tough comp,they are in division 1 and really struggled last year with lack of quality if they were to make finals i believe they would need to recruit really well, i dont know about the coach but some coaches out there can get the best out players and completely change clubs with out recruiting too many players
Thanks man, i was given the impression that it was a low standard leauge by someone. Would you class the WRFL in the same bracket as the EDFL or DVFL or A section of VAFA? Or maybe similar to the B or C section of ametuers VAFA? Just trying to settle some arguements with a mate!!

bush_tucker77
4th December 2005, 22:36
i have heard a crazy rumour that john lindsay and josh o'neill have left port colts and gone to play for strathmore next year @ 600 per game each. someone i know saw them doing their time trial for 3km last week and said lindsay was miles in front of anyone else. somebody tell me this isnt true.

Grandale
5th December 2005, 08:09
i have heard a crazy rumour that john lindsay and josh o'neill have left port colts and gone to play for strathmore next year @ 600 per game each. someone i know saw them doing their time trial for 3km last week and said lindsay was miles in front of anyone else. somebody tell me this isnt true.

They are playing there but I couldn't tell you what they were on.

PT3001
12th December 2005, 16:13
Can anyone tell me anything about Robbie Bromley. I think he played at Parkside. He used to play at Port Melbourne. Is he a good player in the WRFL.
Also a ruckman with the first name Hans. Not sure of his last name.

Robbie plays at Glenorden at the moment speaking to acouple of clubs at the moment as well.Two time premiership player with Douttas also think he won one with port under 19s. Handy player, good skills not much for the hard ball though every club has them.Think they play him out of postion dont think his is a Centre Half Forward but im not the coach.

Also heard that about 7 to 8 players from Nth S/Shine are looking for clearances to go to Yarraville with the new Asst Coach Chris Gatt,if that happens could see North become the new Brunswick Power after losing about 6 to 7 players this year half through the season.
Their gun Frank Staffieri still being chased by about 5 clubs latest one is Albion.

bigblackalsation
23rd January 2006, 08:10

I don't know how big that guy is mate but i played primary footy against north. u guys had the likes of brad clucas. That is actually your primary schools jersey.

Also North Ken used to wear that style in the early 80s or late 70s my bro's played there

bigblackalsation
23rd January 2006, 08:19
Thanks man, i was given the impression that it was a low standard leauge by someone. Would you class the WRFL in the same bracket as the EDFL or DVFL or A section of VAFA? Or maybe similar to the B or C section of ametuers VAFA? Just trying to settle some arguements with a mate!!

Mate being a local boy id love to say it was a good league but the cold hard truth is that it is terrible. When i left a VFL club in the area i headed straight to the bush.

In relaton to the leagues you are talking about it's closer to edfl A grade but still about 40% short of that. Do'n let anyone tell you any different.

bomber5
23rd January 2006, 14:14
They are playing there but I couldn't tell you what they were on.

Along with O'Neil, Lindsay and Goggins, Cameron Beazey is also playing at Strathmore, he might be best of the four. Can anyone give some info on Beazey?

bush_tucker77
23rd January 2006, 14:57
bigblackalsation said
Mate being a local boy id love to say it was a good league but the cold hard truth is that it is terrible. When i left a VFL club in the area i headed straight to the bush.

In relaton to the leagues you are talking about it's closer to edfl A grade but still about 40% short of that. Do'n let anyone tell you any different.

i beg to differ, the 2005 sides of Hoppers, Spotswood, Port Colts and St Albans (when fully fit) were easily some of the best the league had ever seen. The GF was probably a poor standard than what the two teams could play, but i relate this dude to the fact that it was played on a bigger ground than what theyre used to. the problem with the wrfl is the quality dips away after say the top 6 teams in Division 1. id include the newly promoted Altona in there too.

The edfl is way too hyped up for a local league. the league has depth i give em that and theres plenty of money being thrown around there but the standard isnt what most people say it is.

Deefer4
23rd January 2006, 20:47
Along with O'Neil, Lindsay and Goggins, Cameron Beazey is also playing at Strathmore, he might be best of the four. Can anyone give some info on Beazey?
Former Western Jets player, 1997. Came from Altona City as a junior. Spent some time in the old VFA, and then moved to Epping. Played there until the end of 2002, been with Hoppers since. Stocky sort of player around the 183 cms. Likes to hit the ball hard. Likes to have a run on ball, but with all the names Strathmore have assembled, my not get the opportunity. I think Lindsay & O'Neil would probably be rated higher.

Travvy43
24th January 2006, 08:15
Apart from Port colts who have lost a few, has anyway heard anything about the other big three clubs, spotty, hoppers and st albans??

PT3001
24th January 2006, 12:48
St Albans are chasing Shane Harvey and are throwing big dollars at him. Albion signed Trent Dell and Cameron Barker play for West acouple of years ago then went bush.Andrew Venner at Hoppers.

kanga fan man
24th January 2006, 13:01
Shane Harvey is playing in the Golden Rivers FL with Wakool

Matthew Pillios
24th January 2006, 13:28
St Albans are chasing Shane Harvey and are throwing big dollars at him. Albion signed Trent Dell and Cameron Barker play for West acouple of years ago then went bush.Andrew Venner at Hoppers.

Trent Zantuck (brother Ty) trained at St Albans last night with Ryan Pagan the Great Man. Trent is a lovely kid and has played last 2 years at Sandy VFL. Will be a handy pick-up.
COuld anyone give me some mail on Brendon Duncan??? Is he anygood?
Andre Lekkis? Fabian Webb?

Travvy43
24th January 2006, 13:56
Trent Zantuck (brother Ty) trained at St Albans last night with Ryan Pagan the Great Man. Trent is a lovely kid and has played last 2 years at Sandy VFL. Will be a handy pick-up.

Said a bit about Andre in the EDFL page. Played his best footy with Nth Footscray in Div 2 which is a shame becuase he would have done some damage in Div one. Played a couple of good years with St Albans, with his last couple being hampered with injury. Has a short fuse but i think this has decreased with age. Has a solid build and runs straight lins, does not like to handball either!!

bomber5
24th January 2006, 14:41

Matthew, ask Mick Agresta and Ryan Gilpin about Brendan 'Cowboy Duncs' Duncan

PT3001
24th January 2006, 15:34
Hey Travvy43 how do you think the devils will go this year.First time miss the final in years. Have they picked many up and any major players leaving.
What about yourself whats the chances of you chucking on the red and white again.

bush_tucker77
24th January 2006, 20:49
Fabian Webb is a decent half back flanker, smallish build, about 5.8 who was vital in Port Colts run out of defence. i saw him get like 40 possessions once last season against Albion. He has a superb left foot kick. only negative point is he has a mouth on him towards the umpires which has cost him before. he was easily in the best 5 players in divvy 1 last season. has he left Port?

Travvy43
25th January 2006, 07:10
Hey Travvy43 how do you think the devils will go this year.First time miss the final in years. Have they picked many up and any major players leaving.
What about yourself whats the chances of you chucking on the red and white again.

Will be interesting to see how the Devils go in 2006. Turlich has left (teaching down Gippsland way) and Craig Thomson is still making up his mind as to weather he will pull the boots on again. Those two are the teams two best on ballers. Not sure if they have piucked up many, one is scratcher from Spotswood whos experience will be handy for the younger one. They are going through a bit of a trasition stage, have some good younger blokes coming through (u18 won the Div 2 GF last year).

I will not be beack int he red and white this year, after two years up in the GV i have decided to play with Sunshine Kangaroos.

Jsut a bit about what i know about the Kangaroos thus far, Ben Foley has obtained a spot with Williamstown, sunshine will still be his feeder club so hopefully he can play enough games to qualify for finals if we make it. Mainsbridge has gone too. Picked up a couple but unsure of their names so forgive me for not mentioning them, one i know is a key forward that played at Central Districts last year in the SANFL.

DekkaRoo
25th January 2006, 09:06
I think the Devils will make the finals this year. We where only a game off last season and looking back at it now, there where sides we should have beat and failed to do so.
Although we are loosing Turlich, we have gained another good onballer which we think may fit in his place. Thommo will play on and also have Jason McCluskey putting the boots back on which should boost the back line.
Currently chasing a player from the Central Highlands league... CHF type of player. He has been keen the past few years, but has chose to stay put. He has advise us though that this year will not be playing there. Scratcher from Spotty will be handy also... along with a few good U18 kids..

Things are looking positive.

Travvy43
25th January 2006, 09:16
A good positive spin on a situation that may to some look bleak Dekkaroo.

Missed the finals last year for the first time since being in Div 2 and have lost your best player in Turlich. Recruiting has not been as fruitful as initially though, by the look of it missing out on Lakkis and a couple of others. Will be interesting to see if the Central Highlands CHF still has enough in his legs at his age to pack a punch for the devils.

Hope they go well, consistency of the younger brigade will be the key.

PT3001
25th January 2006, 09:26
Hey Dekkaroo devils should fire this year expecting big things from them, And Travvy43 kangaroos very over rated. If you arent in the group you will find it very hard to fit in down there.

DekkaRoo
25th January 2006, 09:31
Hey Dekkaroo devils should fire this year expecting big things from them, And Travvy43 kangaroos very over rated. If you arent in the group you will find it very hard to fit in down there.

I am quite confident we will make finals. Dale Williams was injurned most of last year, so he will be very handy fit and ready. Our younger kids should be better with another season under there belt and the new guys are fitting in well which also helps.

Mudflap
25th January 2006, 09:37
Anyone have any news on Glenorden. Ive heard they have picked up half a new team, but am yet to hear any names?

PT3001
25th January 2006, 09:40
Hey Derrkaroo have you losted many players havent seen many of the new guys from last year down on the track.Whats happening with the Nth sunshine guys you picked up last year are they staying or going back there.

Travvy43
25th January 2006, 09:40

will be interesting to see if the over rated tag can be shaken. Out of interest, who is it that over rates the kangaroos????

PT3001
25th January 2006, 09:45
will be interesting to see if the over rated tag can be shaken. Out of interest, who is it that over rates the kangaroos????

Dont worry Albion and thr Kangaroo will fight out 6th spot like normal then claim to be the best team outside the five for another year lol

DekkaRoo
25th January 2006, 09:50
Hey Derrkaroo have you losted many players havent seen many of the new guys from last year down on the track.Whats happening with the Nth sunshine guys you picked up last year are they staying or going back there.

We picked up three from Nth Sunny last year and are loosing two. Turlich has a teaching Job in Inverloch and Zane Davidson is heading to Yarraville I believe. He only played about 5 games with us, but was in out best nearly every week.

Have you been down to watch us have you???? Do you play???

rioli brownlow
25th January 2006, 09:53
We picked up three from Nth Sunny last year and are loosing two. Turlich has a teaching Job in Inverloch and Zane Davidson is heading to Yarraville I believe. He only played about 5 games with us, but was in out best nearly every week.

does anyone know if brett scotland still plays in the wrfl.

PT3001
25th January 2006, 09:54

Yeah play abit, have played for the devils and against them thinking of coming back this year. Just wanting to know the comings and goings of the club first before i make a move.

Mudflap
25th January 2006, 09:56
Played with Whydamvale for the past few years. Well past his best.

PT3001
25th January 2006, 09:57

Hes a no good low life his supposed to have retired big mouth and the falcons are better off with out him

DekkaRoo
25th January 2006, 10:03
Yeah play abit, have played for the devils and against them thinking of coming back this year. Just wanting to know the comings and goings of the club first before i make a move.

When was the last time you played for us... who coached at the time???
What number did you wear.
Mate, the club is going well at the moment, a real good feel about it.

Who did you play for last year??

rioli brownlow
25th January 2006, 10:05
Hes a no good low life his supposed to have retired big mouth and the falcons are better off with out him

so he has kicked your ar@e a few times then, buy the sound of it.

Travvy43
25th January 2006, 10:11
Dont worry Albion and thr Kangaroo will fight out 6th spot like normal then claim to be the best team outside the five for another year lol

Point granted that the fab five (parks, St Albans, spotty, hoppers and colts) are always strong, but there is a bit going around that colts have dropped off.
St albans always seems to be active with recruiting due to their pokies funding and have not heard much about the other.

Heard condos is back at parkside which si a boost for the magpies.

Frost coaching hoppers and in ripping shape too.

Nothing about spotty, only thing i know is scratcher has gone (a valuable player) however we all know his best days of Div one footy are behind him.

PT3001
25th January 2006, 10:39
so he has kicked your ar@e a few times then, buy the sound of it.

Kicked my arse yeah if you call king hitting some one from behind that then he must have.

PT3001
25th January 2006, 10:46
When was the last time you played for us... who coached at the time???
What number did you wear.
Mate, the club is going well at the moment, a real good feel about it.

Who did you play for last year??

Played with the devils a few times wore a few different numbers played under many coaches down there Spider, Clarkey, Shuey just to name a few club goes through a few coaches.

PT3001
25th January 2006, 10:50
Point granted that the fab five (parks, St Albans, spotty, hoppers and colts) are always strong, but there is a bit going around that colts have dropped off.
St albans always seems to be active with recruiting due to their pokies funding and have not heard much about the other.

Heard condos is back at parkside which si a boost for the magpies.

Frost coaching hoppers and in ripping shape too.

Nothing about spotty, only thing i know is scratcher has gone (a valuable player) however we all know his best days of Div one footy are behind him.

Port and Parkside always struggle at pre season time happens every year,
As for Kangaroos big lose Mainsbridge gun footballer when his minds right and hear Santa will miss the season as well.