View Full Version : Alberton Footy League

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

Motty
14th September 2005, 00:37
I am heading down to play a season of footy in the AFL next season with Dalyston - knowing my skills I shall be well entrenched in the Twos. What should I expect and what do people think of the clubs in the league at Seniors and Reserves level (and you can be brutally honest about Daly as well!) ;) .

goDees22
23rd March 2006, 20:08
I am heading down to play a season of footy in the AFL next season with Dalyston - knowing my skills I shall be well entrenched in the Twos. What should I expect and what do people think of the clubs in the league at Seniors and Reserves level (and you can be brutally honest about Daly as well!) ;) .
********hole

Hillite
2nd April 2006, 23:24
Its obvious that computers haven't been a big hit Gippsland.

Mobbenfuhrer
19th April 2007, 16:53
A lot of Gippy leagues flying under the Bigfooty radar this year ... who's the likely suspects this year in Alberton?

goal sneak
19th April 2007, 16:59
Played Tarwin Lower in a praccy match and they were OK. I would think it would be Inverloch to win but.

Big O
19th April 2007, 17:04
Played Tarwin Lower in a praccy match and they were OK. I would think it would be Inverloch to win but.

Would expect Tarwin and IK to battle for the last spot in the 6 at best. Wonthaggi and Yarram are a mile in front with Toora and Fishy being there abouts.

oldfashiondefender
20th April 2007, 11:14
There is a bloke at Toora holds great hope for Toora this year but does say Wonthaggi and Yarram are teams to beat.

Mobbenfuhrer
20th April 2007, 11:18
So there's a fair bit of leaning towards the original Alberton clubs? The Tooras and Yarrams etc?

Wouldn't population dip as you get further out that way? Do other leagues vieing for the same players keep the larger centres to the western end honest?

goodie
21st April 2007, 19:23
alberton league is dodgey, ellinbank and disctrict whould play them in interleague.

to crapest leagues in gippsland.

Big O
21st April 2007, 19:56
alberton league is dodgey, ellinbank and disctrict whould play them in interleague.

to crapest leagues in gippsland.

Big call goodie considering Alberton regulary flog the north and mid gippy comps in interleague. Dont know much about the Ellinbank comp but considering Gippy Latrobe is the major comp in Gippsland, several Alberton clubs would go extremely well at the supposed higher level. Do admit though that the bottom sides in Alberton are absolute garbage, thats what will happen in such a big comp though.

goodie
22nd April 2007, 01:59
Big call goodie considering Alberton regulary flog the north and mid gippy comps in interleague. Dont know much about the Ellinbank comp but considering Gippy Latrobe is the major comp in Gippsland, several Alberton clubs would go extremely well at the supposed higher level. Do admit though that the bottom sides in Alberton are absolute garbage, thats what will happen in such a big comp though.
i suppose, i had a quick look at some scores, today, the league looks like it has improved, its abit like the EDFL, top teams are awesome, bottom teams are shithouse. you get that though in country footy. didnt know alberton league played mid gippy and north gippy and beat them, thats rather interesting.

Hoggwash
22nd April 2007, 21:34
I would say about 6 years ago alberton would have been better than Ellinbank league but ellinbank has improved so much in last few years would be 2nd best league in gippsland now. Alberton better than mid nor north gippy still.

medhurstISGOD
30th April 2007, 15:40
Go KB!

OldMav
1st May 2007, 20:45
Big clean out at foster, started my football career playing 4ths down there. Playing to win the pie and coke award every weeek, it was the bonus.

-Mav

Birell
2nd May 2007, 09:02
Big clean out at foster, started my football career playing 4ths down there. Playing to win the pie and coke award every weeek, it was the bonus.

-Mav

The Ellinbank league would want to have improved after the East Gippy league used to give it a belting it the couple of interleague games they played.

Hoggwash
2nd May 2007, 09:21
The Ellinbank league has improved so much in the last 5 years the top teams are now very strong. Nyora last year would beat the premiers from 5 years ago by 12 goals i reckon. Even the middle range teams last year like NNG, Lang Lang, Poowong and Buln were decent sides and games between those sides were a good standard to watch. Now there is 14 teams there is more of a gap from the top sides to the bottom sides but this year it appears more even.

goDees22
3rd May 2007, 16:09
Wonthaggi and Yarram are miles ahead of anyone. Toora have improved, got a monster fullforward rhodes i think his name is, fish creek will be up there too, foster and burra will both be the big fallers, very young teams

goodie
16th May 2007, 18:51
is wonthaggi getting kicked out of this league or this an unbeliavlbly inacurate rumour.

Birell
17th May 2007, 09:41
I heard that the vcfl was making them move to a stronger league (WGLFL) because they were too strong for the alberton league. The two teams in wonthaggi merged but then went down a comp. I don't know if this will be better for both leagues and the club or not.

wang
17th May 2007, 17:23
They are meant to be leaving at the end of this year. Should they not leave next year expect clubs to boycott them.

Appin Vet
18th May 2007, 12:53
Can somebody tell me how Brock and Blake Anderson are going down at Fishy? If they are atill there.

wang
18th May 2007, 12:59
I can can tell you they are still there, not much else as I didnt play against them earlier this year.

gippslander
25th May 2007, 19:30
the 2 top sides in alberton (yarram and wonthaggi) r that far ahead of everyone else its a joke. The rest of the leauge is shit. They all like 2 think they r playing in a super comp but the reality is it has gone backwards the last couple of years, the standard has definatly slipped

big omar
8th June 2007, 16:28
Gidday Blokes, if anyone reads this down gippy way, theres not much happening on your big footy anyway. Wondering if big Craig Hams and Jamie Smith are still running around at all, were foster/ fishy in the day. cheers

gippslander
8th June 2007, 17:55
hams retired a few years back, think he ended up at wonthaggi rovers.jamie smith hasnt played down here 4 a long time last i heard he was up nsw somewhere

big omar
12th June 2007, 15:02
hams retired a few years back, think he ended up at wonthaggi rovers.jamie smith hasnt played down here 4 a long time last i heard he was up nsw somewhere

Cheers mate. Smithy did like to wonder.

Rednecknow
23rd July 2007, 20:09

Crapola, i played against Hams 13 years ago, "a few years" might be a little of an understatement....his knees were giving out then....

wang
23rd July 2007, 20:21
Crapola, i played against Hams 13 years ago, "a few years" might be a little of an understatement....his knees were giving out then....

I played against him in 2003. Id say that was his last year.

Rednecknow
24th July 2007, 14:41
I played against him in 2003. Id say that was his last year.

Wow got me thinking if we are talking bout the same fella or at least what he has been taking since I saw him last...

wang
24th July 2007, 15:16
He won the reserves goalkicking that year playing with the Wonthaggi Rovers.

lochee
17th August 2007, 03:35
I heard that the vcfl was making them move to a stronger league (WGLFL) because they were too strong for the alberton league. The two teams in wonthaggi merged but then went down a comp. I don't know if this will be better for both leagues and the club or not.

Wonthaggi, have been told to go to ( wglfl ) but are defiant, in that they will not leave, l believe they will finally go to (vcat) as they have engaged a Queens Councilor

bigpapagman
17th August 2007, 08:07
JESUS, thats a bit serious, yarram have beaten them havent they?

goDees22
17th August 2007, 11:42
JESUS, thats a bit serious, yarram have beaten them havent they?

yarram seniors beat a depleted power in round 1 by a point, a few weeks ago at yarram wonthaggi won by about 4 goals. Power have definitely not been as strong this year as last year however, they won flags in 1's, 2's, u/18's and lost u/15's by a point last year. I'd say only the 1's will win the flag this year, and not by much. Quite a few clubs will forfeit games against power next year if they stay, but they are taking legal action over the dismissal atm.

wang
17th August 2007, 11:43
Yarram beat them round 1 after being down by 4 goals at 3/4 time. Nobody has been close since. Wonthaggi are wasting their time as no club will play against them again, all matches next season will boycotted. They are throwing money down the drain that would be better invested in the league switch. I for one will be happy to see the filthy snipers go.

bigpapagman
17th August 2007, 11:43
didnt clubs threaten to forfeit games this year? what happened to that?

wang
17th August 2007, 11:47
A few clubs threatened to forfeit this season but a deal was struck that this would be Wonthaggi's last season in the league, mostly due to the VCFL removing them. The club then turned around a few months later saying it had no intentions of leaving the league which has lead to most clubs being behind a Wonthaggi boycott next season.

bigpapagman
17th August 2007, 12:51
yeah, ok - where are they gonna go then? its a massive trip from wonni to maffra!!!

wang
17th August 2007, 13:10
Wherever they are they are going to have to travel, they are a big town in the middle of nowhere. Currently the biggest rip they have is to Woodside which is 135km, Maffra is only 25km further than Woodside. With the money they have (you wouldnt beleive a country club could have as much as they do) they could buy a bus or 2 to transport all their players.

Also remember that Woodside (Allies) have to travel 190km to Cowes (Phillip Island) who were recently admitted to our league. Wonthaggi's travel concerns are a load of shit.

bigpapagman
17th August 2007, 14:25
Wherever they are they are going to have to travel, they are a big town in the middle of nowhere. Currently the biggest rip they have is to Woodside which is 135km, Maffra is only 25km further than Woodside. With the money they have (you wouldnt beleive a country club could have as much as they do) they could buy a bus or 2 to transport all their players.

Also remember that Woodside (Allies) have to travel 190km to Cowes (Phillip Island) who were recently admitted to our league. Wonthaggi's travel concerns are a load of shit.

But what their problem most likely is that apart from Leongatha, they dont have a close "away" game in the WGLFL. I travel from Warragul to Inverloch 2-3 times a week to see my missus, and it is a prick of a drive from anywhere over our way. **** driving a bus along warragul-korumburra rd. Teams like Warragul, their away games are against garfield - 20 mins, drouin - 5 mins, moe - 25mins. but you're right, they need to stop whinging & step up.

Rednecknow
20th August 2007, 12:57
But what their problem most likely is that apart from Leongatha, they dont have a close "away" game in the WGLFL. I travel from Warragul to Inverloch 2-3 times a week to see my missus, and it is a prick of a drive from anywhere over our way. **** driving a bus along warragul-korumburra rd. Teams like Warragul, their away games are against garfield - 20 mins, drouin - 5 mins, moe - 25mins. but you're right, they need to stop whinging & step up.

Yeah the Warragul-Burra drive is a pearla having done it many a time, not for the weary thats for sure. The travel issue with Wonthaggi is old news though, been there done that, crap. They always have spruiked having more money to splash than anyone else, even when they were in Bass Valley.

Time to suk it up by the looks...

bigpapagman
20th August 2007, 14:38
Yeah the Warragul-Burra drive is a pearla having done it many a time, not for the weary thats for sure. The travel issue with Wonthaggi is old news though, been there done that, crap. They always have spruiked having more money to splash than anyone else, even when they were in Bass Valley.

Time to suk it up by the looks...

hmm...i get to do it again in two hours.

awesome.

goDees22
22nd August 2007, 22:07
I travel from Warragul to Inverloch 2-3 times a week to see my missus

must be damn good.

Anyway, only Inverloch, Dalyston and one other team voted for Wonthaggi to stay, most others i'd say would forfeit next year, so there is no point in Wonthaggi staying, it would destroy the league if, for example, a grand final was forfeited by one team

bigpapagman
24th August 2007, 09:12
why would dalyston want them in?

if wonni were to go, dalyston would pick up players......

Hoggwash
24th August 2007, 09:27
Dalyston pick up players from Woni at the moment so i guess they want to return the favour and help woni out.

bigpapagman
24th August 2007, 09:57
Dalyston pick up players from Woni at the moment so i guess they want to return the favour and help woni out.
how so?

Hoggwash
24th August 2007, 10:18
Wonthaggi have heaps of juniors so i think they tell some to go play at dalyston which helps dalyston a lot cause they would really struggle for numbers otherwise. Also they have a big rivavlry between the clubs so they want to keep them in the league, i guess thats why IK want them to stay as well.

wang
24th August 2007, 10:27

Dalyston is a tiny town 2 minutes out of Wonthaggi and it draws the majortiy of its sponsorship from there. One of the reason I heard for them to vote that way was to keep the Wonthaggi sponsors onside, knowing that the vote was going to the way it went regardless of who they voted for. I beleive Inverloch were of the same thinking. No side really wants them to remain in the competition.

bigpapagman
24th August 2007, 10:45
i know how big it isnt. i drove through it yesterday on the way to the island.

wang
24th August 2007, 10:49
i know how big it isnt. i drove through it yesterday on the way to the island.

Im well aware of that, I was just giving a general overview for everyone else who may read this.

bigpapagman
24th August 2007, 11:23
cheers.

have they been successful in the past 10 years?

wang
24th August 2007, 11:30
I assume you are referring to Dalyston. Dalyston joined the Alberton league in 1996 after the Bass Valley comp folded at the end of the 1995 season. They have had some pretty good teams in the Alberton without ever really been a premiership contended. They have made the Preliminary Final a couple of times but never a Grand Final. The wheels have fallen off down there since 2004. I hate the club with a passion, dirty scum of the competition. A little guy always gets bashed behind play down there.

bigpapagman
24th August 2007, 12:10
are inverloch a respectful club?

have they been successful?

wang
25th August 2007, 18:17
Inverloch is a club I dont mind, my favorite of the bass valley clubs. Most of the success theyve had has been by the checkbook which is why they have been up and down during their time in the Alberton comp. Made the finals this year for the first time in a few seasons.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 09:18
yeah i saw that in the sentinel. are they making up numbers?

or can they have a crack?

wang
27th August 2007, 12:52
Unless you are Wonthaggi or Yarram you are only making up the numbers. They are that far in front of everyone it isnt funny.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 12:55
i thought that was the case....

could yarram top wonni ya reckon?

wang
27th August 2007, 13:04
They are certainly a chance but I wouldnt be putting any money on them. I played against Wonthaggi a couple of weeks ago and I doubt I will ever play against a better side in the Alberton again. There running and skill level in the wet was quite unbelievable. Once they have left the league I doubt any team will ever reach the standard they currently set. I have no doubt they would towel up most west gippy teams from what ive seen of west gippy games this year.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 13:40
sale vs wonthaggi?

wonthaggi vs catani?

who plays for wonthaggi of note?

wang
27th August 2007, 13:45
Ive seen (been drinking heavily while they play) all of the WG sides play except the top 3 this season so it makes me hard to comment on whether they are top 3 or not. From what ive seen they would beat all sides ive seen by 10-12+ goals.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 15:11
in my educated opinion....i think sale would have a mighty victory.

Budda 230
27th August 2007, 15:21
sale vs wonthaggi?

wonthaggi vs catani?

who plays for wonthaggi of note?

Trent West used to play for Wonthaggi. Gun....

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 16:27
he played for gippy power yeah?

Budda 230
27th August 2007, 16:30
he played for gippy power yeah?

Yeah he did. 2nd year on the Cats list.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 16:32
there you go. gonna play soon?

Budda 230
27th August 2007, 16:38
there you go. gonna play soon?

Shows plenty, but still behind Otto, Blakey and King in the pecking order.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 16:40
cool. i like it when the gippy boys get through.

Budda 230
27th August 2007, 16:46
cool. i like it when the gippy boys get through. Davenport dominating in the 2's as well. Chris Urie has played some handy games too.

Mumford:thumbsd: Not VFL level.

bigpapagman
27th August 2007, 16:53
unfortunately.

Budda 230
27th August 2007, 16:59
unfortunately.

Why unfortunately?

Hoggwash
27th August 2007, 17:36
i thought Mumf did ok in the games he played down there. Still a young guy, gun ruckman in country footy, one of the best going around.

bigpapagman
28th August 2007, 08:06
absolute lump of a lad. too dominant for edfl.

Budda 230
28th August 2007, 10:20
i thought Mumf did ok in the games he played down there. Still a young guy, gun ruckman in country footy, one of the best going around.

Nah, he gets absolutely smashed when he is at Geelong. Has gone right down the pecking order now. Even Butler is getting a game before him.

I have seen him play 4 games now and I haven't seen him get a kick in one yet! Throws his weight around in the ruck contests, but looks fat and unfit against all other players.

He has been terrible around the ground. After the ruck contest, Geelong pretty much have to play one down as he can't keep up with the play.

bigpapagman
28th August 2007, 10:38
Nah, he gets absolutely smashed when he is at Geelong. Has gone right down the pecking order now. Even Butler is getting a game before him.

I have seen him play 4 games now and I haven't seen him get a kick in one yet! Throws his weight around in the ruck contests, but looks fat and unfit against all other players.

He has been terrible around the ground. After the ruck contest, Geelong pretty much have to play one down as he can't keep up with the play.

would be a good WGLFL player at best i reckon.

maybe VFL 2's.

Hoggwash
28th August 2007, 11:30
would dominate WGLFL or CC i reckon. Polled 20 league votes this year in about 10 games i think. Doubt bunyip would have lost when he played until the finals when he got injured.
Davenport should get picked up this year if geelong dont put him on there list.

Budda 230
28th August 2007, 11:36
would dominate WGLFL or CC i reckon. Polled 20 league votes this year in about 10 games i think. Doubt bunyip would have lost when he played until the finals when he got injured.
Davenport should get picked up this year if geelong dont put him on there list.

Davenport should be retained on the rookie list. Geelong will have some problems with their rookies. Grima will be promoted as this is his 2nd year on the list and they also have Lonergan who will be too old. I can't see them promoting 3 players.

Also Reynolds will now most likely be given the boot after being out all year with a knee injury.

Davenport might quit Geelong if he is given an offer for else where.

bigpapagman
28th August 2007, 11:51
they would be mad not to promote dav.

Budda 230
28th August 2007, 11:52
they would be mad not to promote dav.

Not really. Still isn't consistent enough to get a senior game.

bigpapagman
28th August 2007, 11:53
8 goals is good enough. especially from a wing.

Budda 230
28th August 2007, 11:56
8 touches the next week isn't.

bigpapagman
28th August 2007, 11:59
well i think he will be on an afl list somewhere next year.

not a rookie at geelong.

Hoggwash
28th August 2007, 12:00
Essendon was going to draft him last year but went with Davey instead so i reckon if geelong dont elevate him he will get picked up by someone. Would have played seniors at Melb, Carl or Richmond this year for sure!

Budda 230
28th August 2007, 12:02
Essendon was going to draft him last year but went with Davey instead so i reckon if geelong dont elevate him he will get picked up by someone. Would have played seniors at Melb, Carl or Richmond this year for sure!

It would have to be a dodgey like the Bulldogs pulled with Baird a couple of years ago. You can't trade rookies and he is contracted for next year.

bigpapagman
28th August 2007, 12:02
would have got a run at most clubs to be honest.

just a shame he was with the ladder leaders.

Budda 230
28th August 2007, 12:09
would have got a run at most clubs to be honest.

just a shame he was with the ladder leaders.

He still needs to work on his defensive game. Sometimes is 50 metres away from his man and gets hurt for it.

bigpapagman
28th August 2007, 12:15
EDFL thread. too much attacking football.

gippslander
28th August 2007, 20:14
big rumour doing the rounds, nyora coach alger 2 k-bena next yr osler and the good wilson going 2, luke smith ex burra ass coach

Hoggwash
29th August 2007, 08:48
D Alger always a chance to return to burra as he has been for the last few years but cant see osler or wilson going there, which is the good wilson? Both bloody good players!

Think its a bit of sh1t being spoken to stir up trouble at nyora.

bigpapagman
29th August 2007, 09:18
osler wouldnt go.

gippslander
30th August 2007, 19:06
osler wouldnt go.
thats the mail

lochee
31st August 2007, 11:00

Maybe l can help you out as l live in lnverloch,
Seriously , Wonthaggi has set a bench mark in the AFL, and l am at one of the clubs, that voted them to stay in Yarram have also only lost one game this year, and had they won the flag last year ( runner up to Wonthaggi ) would every one be asking them to leave ? as they have a great chance to win it this year l think the AFL would be going back wards by letting them go and as l have said Wonthaggi & Yarram are the bench mark its up to the other teams in the league to reel them in

wang
31st August 2007, 11:15
Maybe l can help you out as l live in lnverloch,
Seriously , Wonthaggi has set a bench mark in the AFL, and l am at one of the clubs

Youve actually swallowed that crap they spit out?

The Storyteller
31st August 2007, 15:49
Any truth to the rumour Justin Staley is heading back to Maffra next year and taking a few Yarram boys with him?

wang
3rd September 2007, 13:59
I have no doubt they would towel up most west gippy teams from what ive seen of west gippy games this year.

Went and saw Waragul play Morwell yesterday and I would say that Wonthaggi and Yarram would have comfortable wins against both these side.

mjhen3
4th September 2007, 13:30
Went and saw Waragul play Morwell yesterday and I would say that Wonthaggi and Yarram would have comfortable wins against both these side.

Care to elaborate on that? I highly doubt they would win let alone have comfortable wins.

bigbadmal
4th September 2007, 13:38
I think you might be pulling your pud Wang. I dont think any team in the alberton league would get close to any side in West Gippsland. In fact the Ellinbank League is much stronger than Alberton, although Wonthaggi would be highly competitive. You are comparing chalk and cheese.

wang
4th September 2007, 14:02
Have you seen either Yarram or Wonthaggi play?

bigbadmal
4th September 2007, 14:29
No I havent seen either of them this year but i am assuming Wonthaggi are not as strong as last season. There is no way small towns like Yarram could produce a better side than the larger West Gippsland towns. The 18th best player in a west gippsland team would be alot better than the 18th best player in an alberton league team. This is the difference between a quality side and a weaker team. I dont think Wonthaggi would be playing finals in west gippsland if they were in their league. This is only my opinion however.

Hoggwash
4th September 2007, 14:37
Yarram is a fair size town and both teams are 10 goals better than the rest of the league. Both would be as good as Nyora and Catani and i reckon would beat leongatha and drouin. I think the ellinbank league has better depth than alberton but the top couple would be the same.
Wonthaggi would make finals if they played West Gippy, they dont have any recruits and look where they are, they have heaps of cash so could recruit a few big names and be right near the top of west gippy.

wang
4th September 2007, 15:30
No I havent seen either of them this year but i am assuming Wonthaggi are not as strong as last season.

Probably not, played a slightly younger team this and didnt spend too much as most played junior footy with the club.

There is no way small towns like Yarram could produce a better side than the larger West Gippsland towns. The 18th best player in a west gippsland team would be alot better than the 18th best player in an alberton league team.

This is why Wonthaggi are as good as they are as they have a very good 21 as well as far and away the best reserves side in the competition (500%+) Yarram doesnt have the same reserves depth but the 21 they run out with are all good players. This is the difference with the rest of the Alberton sides, they have the first 6-8 players to match these sides but they fall away quick after that.

bigpapagman
6th September 2007, 09:04
yes, ive decided nyora or catani would kill wonthaggi.