View Full Version : NT team in SANFL--What do you think?

raboyle
16th October 2001, 21:46
We want all SANFL supporters from any club to say what they think about the possibility of a Northern Territory team entering our league.

I am all for it, cause road trips up to the Top End would rule.

I think it would work. A good example of this is the Tasmanian team entering the Victorian footy league, which received extraordinary support from the Tassie public. Another fact is that the Tassie team polled the best home crowds in the VFL this year.

I know that Hobart is closer to Melbourne than Adelaide is to Darwin but it could still work.

We want to know what you think--are you for it, or against it?

Blues_Brat
16th October 2001, 23:59
I'm yet to be convinced of the merits of bringing in a team from the NT.

For starters they play at a different time of the year, how will that work?

play on
17th October 2001, 00:19
I don't know if this matters really, but I would not want to be on an airplane right now, even just to go around the country. I wonder how the players feel.

Bin Laden would want me to feel this way, and so far he has got his wish.

Uncle Steve
17th October 2001, 12:40
Originally posted by raboyle
I am all for it, cause road trips up to the Top End would rule.
Ditto - I could handle a trip to Alice or Darwin once a year.

raboyle
17th October 2001, 21:35
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
I'm yet to be convinced of the merits of bringing in a team from the NT.

For starters they play at a different time of the year, how will that work?

To combat the heat, I reckon most of the games up there would be played at night, when it is cooler.

Porthos
17th October 2001, 21:38
I reckon that if I was a terrorist, the Adelaide-Darwin flight would be about the last that I'd think of hijacking :)

But yeah, I've got nothing against an NT side in principle....it all depends on whether the numbers can work, which I don't know about. If we get one, good. If we don't, ah well.

BomberBoy
17th October 2001, 22:33

To combat the heat, I reckon most of the games up there would be played at night, when it is cooler.

Yes very true it does happen.

Except when the power goes out at the grand final :D :p

rewind
17th October 2001, 22:41
I am all for that.

OR

Have a combined team from the Amatures League?

OR

The crows and/or power have their reserves team in.

raboyle
18th October 2001, 19:07
Originally posted by BomberBoy

Yes very true it does happen.

Except when the power goes out at the grand final :D :p

Now that is a night grand final. :D

How the hell would that happen? Was it the heat?

I guess maybe Marrara Stadium would need some new light towers.

BomberBoy
18th October 2001, 19:25

Now that is a night grand final. :D

How the hell would that happen? Was it the heat?

I guess maybe Marrara Stadium would need some new light towers.

Nah the light towers are actually pretty new.

The reason why they went off was that they were playing in a storm, and it must of surged, or power got cut off for a while
Maybe 20 mins?

raboyle
18th October 2001, 19:33
I hear storms are pretty spectacular up there! In NT rain, who needs a shower in the house?