View Full Version : Lalor Football Club
Wymarra #1
15th September 2005, 20:27
What a year the boys from the LFC had and to end up fifth after coming up from div 2 was a fantastic effort
Gavin Langbourne is an absolutely brilliant coach but has stepped down from the job for the 06 season
New players such as Johar Saad Ben Kinnear Brad Fuller and Dave Soliba
were awesome for the club and contributed to its success and also Adrian Bajric Jamie Hollingsworth and Darryl dasha Sinclair were a huge part of the clubs success also
The club has heaps of young blokes who are 17-18 coming through who will be a big part of the future for the club
The 2s made the prelim and lost by 5 pts and clackers(clint palmer) the captain is a legend of a man who is a gun as is shackleton vitiritti noble and gibson
Overall the club has a big future in div 1 of the dvfl and will be looking to improve next year
Gav Langbourne took the club a long way and should be commended on what he has done with the older and younger guys
What do you think of the LFC (Lalor Football Club)
David_02
16th September 2005, 09:13
they will b better next year
Travvy43
16th September 2005, 09:20
News is that they have a ruckman from the Goulburn Valley League League in their sights to coach next year.
Doona2
16th September 2005, 10:31
News is that they have a ruckman from the Goulburn Valley League League in their sights to coach next year.
Shane Schottner is the word on the street
Travvy43
16th September 2005, 10:55
Well done. I think if the lions get the flag this year he could be keen to go.
Benny MOF
16th September 2005, 11:20
The 2s made the prelim and lost by 5 pts and clackers(clint palmer) the captain is a legend of a man who is a gun as is shackleton vitiritti noble and gibson
These blokes are so good....? they play 2's for ********'s sake.
fat back pocket
16th September 2005, 11:40
Shane Schottner is the word on the street
I don't think he would leave next year. Maybe the year after that, but if there is a loyal country footy player, he is it, he came when the Lions were at their lowest, has stayed for 8 years whilst they never won a game, he is only half a season from 200 games, GV life membership (do you get a life membership for winning the morrison? I know you get in to games for free) he would then become a candidate for SFNC life membership, one requirment is 200 games, but considering he has won the morrison, a handful of SFNC B&F's, been captain for 4 years, coach for a season, i think that would just about grant him life membership as soon as he gets his 200.
So there would have to be a massive sum of $$ on the table for Schotty to leave next year. After that, who knows what will happen. Not sure if he would want to be a player-coach again. I know he found it tough when he did it a few years back.
Grandale
16th September 2005, 12:12
Yep, the scars from his 2003 coaching stint at Seymour may be a little too fresh in the big man's mind to entice him to get back into coaching so soon.
And FBP has raised some good points (believe it or not!) in regards to personal accolades. Shotty's only one season away from automatic life membership of the GVFL and the SFC. Think that would be enough to keep him at Kings Park for at least 2006. After that, who knows.
And, FBP, you DO NOT get automatic life membership for winning the Morrison.
Ryan O'Keefe
16th September 2005, 12:20
Lalor should have a great year next year and their goal should be to make the finals which they should do with all the young talant they have coming through
fat back pocket
16th September 2005, 12:23
Yep, the scars from his 2003 coaching stint at Seymour may be a little too fresh in the big man's mind to entice him to get back into coaching so soon.
And FBP has raised some good points (believe it or not!) in regards to personal accolades. Shotty's only one season away from automatic life membership of the GVFL and the SFC. Think that would be enough to keep him at Kings Park for at least 2006. After that, who knows.
And, FBP, you DO NOT get automatic life membership for winning the Morrison.
Cool, didn't know about the llife membership with the morrison. I know he gets in to games for free after winning it. Thanks for the info grandale.
Nardz
17th September 2005, 18:09
Is this the lalor fc thats based on darebin drive lalor???
Doona2
18th September 2005, 20:04
I don't think he would leave next year (Schottner). Maybe the year after that, but if there is a loyal country footy player, he is it, he came when the Lions were at their lowest, has stayed for 8 years whilst they never won a game, he is only half a season from 200 games, GV life membership (do you get a life membership for winning the morrison? I know you get in to games for free) he would then become a candidate for SFNC life membership, one requirment is 200 games, but considering he has won the morrison, a handful of SFNC B&F's, been captain for 4 years, coach for a season, i think that would just about grant him life membership as soon as he gets his 200. So there would have to be a massive sum of $$ on the table for Schotty to leave next year. After that, who knows what will happen. Not sure if he would want to be a player-coach again. I know he found it tough when he did it a few years back.
You're right FBP - we hate contributing to rumour's that more than likely wont occur but I did notice several Lalor FC identities at Deakin Reserve today, hopefully looking for other possible candidates after the big fella says "thanks but no thanks". Know several blokes at Lalor and my brother in law played there in 2003 so the mail was accurate about them being keen.
fat back pocket
19th September 2005, 12:08
You're right FBP - we hate contributing to rumour's that more than likely wont occur but I did notice several Lalor FC identities at Deakin Reserve today, hopefully looking for other possible candidates after the big fella says "thanks but no thanks". Know several blokes at Lalor and my brother in law played there in 2003 so the mail was accurate about them being keen.
Trent Hotton? Rumour is he is on the move, not sure where, but back to melb somewhere.
Could there be a mass exit from the high country after their defeat on the weekend. With rumours of Mensch going, Hulme didn't like it up there and apparently will leave. If Trent Hotton leaves, will his bros leave too?
Obviously these are rumours, the mensch one is one most people know about, but the hotton rumour? Has anyone heard anything on Hotton to Lalor?
Just on Schotty, those above reasons would be his main reasons not to leave seymour, but Seymour played Lalor in a practice match at the start of this year and all they wanted to do was fight. Not sure if it left a good impression with Schotty. So there is another thing to think about.
Heard another one on Hotton - Northcote Park, apparently he lives around the corner from the ground and Nthcte Park chasing him. Big bucks.
Doona2
19th September 2005, 15:51
Trent Hotton? Rumour is he is on the move, not sure where, but back to melb somewhere.
Could there be a mass exit from the high country after their defeat on the weekend. With rumours of Mensch going, Hulme didn't like it up there and apparently will leave. If Trent Hotton leaves, will his bros leave too?
Obviously these are rumours, the mensch one is one most people know about, but the hotton rumour? Has anyone heard anything on Hotton to Lalor?
Just on Schotty, those above reasons would be his main reasons not to leave seymour, but Seymour played Lalor in a practice match at the start of this year and all they wanted to do was fight. Not sure if it left a good impression with Schotty. So there is another thing to think about.
Heard another one on Hotton - Northcote Park, apparently he lives around the corner from the ground and Nthcte Park chasing him. Big bucks.
I hear at Deakin yesty that Hotton was thinking about buying real estate up Mansfield way coz his missus is into skiing. Reckon he is a fantastic leader, he spoke well at the last change yesterday and seems to have the respect from the Eagles. Will be an interesting few months no doubt after this weekends grand finals.
MACDAICOS
19th September 2005, 16:19
What a year the boys from the LFC had and to end up fifth after coming up from div 2 was a fantastic effort
Gavin Langbourne is an absolutely brilliant coach but has stepped down from the job for the 06 season
New players such as Johar Saad Ben Kinnear Brad Fuller and Dave Soliba
were awesome for the club and contributed to its success and also Adrian Bajric Jamie Hollingsworth and Darryl dasha Sinclair were a huge part of the clubs success also
The club has heaps of young blokes who are 17-18 coming through who will be a big part of the future for the club
Overall the club has a big future in div 1 of the dvfl and will be looking to improve next year
Gav Langbourne took the club a long way and should be commended on what he has done with the older and younger guys
What do you think of the LFC (Lalor Football Club)
PMSL.................................You gotta be jokeing, your arch enemy has just won the flag and your starting a thread on Lalor F.C you w****r, your scum and you always will be NORTH HEIDELBERG A GRADE DIVISION 1 PREMIERS, now f*** off.