Commiserations to Uni Blues.
Benny MOF
19 Sep 2005, 08:56
UNIVERSITY BLUES 5.4 5.5 8.9 11.10 (76)
OLD XAVERIANS 2.0 8.4 12.6 13.7 (85)
Congratulations Old Xavs.
Great win by the underdogs.
Commiserations to Uni Blues.
A very high standard game in perfect conditions. While the footy wass good, the talent in the outer was much better. Never in my life have I ever seen so many good looking girls at a football game, was better than the brownlow will ever be.
Well done OXFC, they just know how to win. Bit of an omen bet would be the Swans on Saturday...
Not much from all those people who bagged the Old Xavs over the last few weeks.
Their mouths must be full of the humble pie they are undoubtedly eating...
roberta williams
19 Sep 2005, 12:40
Why waste time and effort talking about a bunck of (o(ks. They might be able to play footy, but it dosen't make them good blokes. Oh well I suppose they need one highlight in their suburban lives. Sad to think that for most of them winning a VAFA GF will be the highlight of their sad little lives.
The again what's even more sad is people like OXFC who isn't even good enough to play in the match coming on here and crowing about the result. Very little man.
Why waste time and effort talking about a bunck of (o(ks. They might be able to play footy, but it dosen't make them good blokes. Oh well I suppose they need one highlight in their suburban lives. Sad to think that for most of them winning a VAFA GF will be the highlight of their sad little lives.
The again what's even more sad is people like OXFC who isn't even good enough to play in the match coming on here and crowing about the result. Very little man.
1. Correct. Xavs CAN play footy;
2. How would you know if they were good blokes, it doesn't sound like they would have much time for you anyway. Did an Old Xav churn and burn you?;
3. Winning a grand final is a great highlight. Well worth being happy about;
4. For most Xavs there will be many highlights, most have very successful careers and family lives outside of football;
Personal abuse if me is like water off a ducks back. Just because some Old Xav kb'd you, don't let it ruin your life with pent up bitterness. Get over it and acknowledge a great underdog win.
Never ever write off Xavs in September. Surely people have learned that by now!
My North
19 Sep 2005, 13:58
how good are Old Xaverians, too good for anyone else
You have to love Old Xav people. :thumbsu:
ben.carbonaro
19 Sep 2005, 14:19
A very high standard game in perfect conditions. While the footy wass good, the talent in the outer was much better. Never in my life have I ever seen so many good looking girls at a football game, was better than the brownlow will ever be.
Well done OXFC, they just know how to win. Bit of an omen bet would be the Swans on Saturday...
Yeah, it comes with the A Grade clubs all the players wives and girlfriends are ultra glams. Saw a few yesterday though at the VFL grand final.
And you admit to looking too..because all us umpires were taking somewhat careful note. (most notably the girl who was on one of the supporters shoulders at the end - talk about copping an eye-ful!)
Still haven't totally recovered from the kicking on up in the Umps Pavillion..still going hard at 9pm when I left.
ben.carbonaro
19 Sep 2005, 14:38
Geez.... sounds like you had a good night, Pazz.
The Werribee boys are at the club we speak for Mad Monday celebrations, but have decided to stay here at home in safety after suggestions from a certain Western Bulldogs listed player that my mohawk would be shaved off.
Geez.... sounds like you had a good night, Pazz.
The Werribee boys are at the club we speak for Mad Monday celebrations, but have decided to stay here at home in safety after suggestions from a certain Western Bulldogs listed player that my mohawk would be shaved off.
Probably with good reason Benny, good reason indeed.
That'd never happen at Rupo, where you'd command far more respect.
Benny MOF
19 Sep 2005, 15:16
And you admit to looking too..because all us umpires were taking somewhat careful note. (most notably the girl who was on one of the supporters shoulders at the end - talk about copping an eye-ful!)
Was that the one with the Dior sunnies, she was a stunner. But she was in good company.
The MOF was a little under dressed to make a mark on the ladies, don't think my stone wash denims and Pantera T Shirt were all that impressive....
Was that the one with the Dior sunnies, she was a stunner. But she was in good company.
Yeah I think that was her. Impressive to say the least.
;)
Han Solo
19 Sep 2005, 15:26
Yes Xav's can play footy. Their administration would be foolish to pay players who couldn't. They might win flags but no one in the comp likes them because they play the game for the wrong reasons $$$.
ben.carbonaro
19 Sep 2005, 15:43
The MOF was a little under dressed to make a mark on the ladies, don't think my stone wash denims and Pantera T Shirt were all that impressive....
Were they Dior sunnies like mine ?
Me and her could head down to One Love on Saturday night. :D
ben.carbonaro
19 Sep 2005, 15:44
Probably with good reason Benny, good reason indeed.
That'd never happen at Rupo, where you'd command far more respect.
Are you suggesting I shouldn't of moved up to VFL level ?
My North
19 Sep 2005, 15:59
Still haven't totally recovered from the kicking on up in the Umps Pavillion..still going hard at 9pm when I left.
Pazza, Was that I heard you Radio last night on 98.9 North West FM with Scrra, or was the other goal umpire
Definitely wasn't me..I doubt I would have made much sense at that time :D
ben.carbonaro
19 Sep 2005, 16:30
Pazza, what was this certain glam wearing at the game yesterday ?
I am guessing the regularion super tight jeans and thongs coupled with a few other things ?
Tries to remember:
Pink crop top and I think mauve corduroy pants (that alcohol has affected the mind).
We were out there trying to congratulate the umpires and suddenly those of us out there were just a little transfixed! :p
Yes Xav's can play footy. Their administration would be foolish to pay players who couldn't. They might win flags but no one in the comp likes them because they play the game for the wrong reasons $$$.
Bitter man. When you can't reach the peak yourself bag those who can and do. Is life tough as an under achiever?
Han Solo
19 Sep 2005, 20:46
Bitter man. When you can't reach the peak yourself bag those who can and do. Is life tough as an under achiever?
Since when was an A section flag the peak in life there are plenty of other challenges out there. If you view that as the pinnacle in life then you are a very strange, limited and sad person.
Eddie Woloschek
20 Sep 2005, 06:05
Mate, you seem to missing a "d" from your name.
GOLD!
Han Solo
20 Sep 2005, 08:57
I have realised the error of my ways, and I promise I will cease my constant anti xavs banter. In fact I am now so impressed by the club that I have joined the boys down the pub to celebrate a well deserved premiership.
I have sold the terrace in North Melbourne and I am checking out the real estate market so I can move closer to Barkers road.
When does pre-season training start?
Jingles1976
20 Sep 2005, 10:02
...of course, I can understand that coming from someone who plays dress-ups on a discussion board pretending they're a gangster. Highlight? Sad?...more like little methinks. :D
Benny MOF
20 Sep 2005, 15:03
...of course, I can understand that coming from someone who plays dress-ups on a discussion board pretending they're a gangster. Highlight? Sad?...more like little methinks. :D
Coming from someone who thinks he's some sort of Xmas carol.
Even worse, methinks
hundini
21 Sep 2005, 11:07
I have realised the error of my ways, and I promise I will cease my constant anti xavs banter. In fact I am now so impressed by the club that I have joined the boys down the pub to celebrate a well deserved premiership.
I have sold the terrace in North Melbourne and I am checking out the real estate market so I can move closer to Barkers road.
When does pre-season training start?
Mate, your starting to sound really quite insecure about the whole thing. Move on.
And to think the bloke in the record tipped Blues by 75+
hahahahaha :D
Scribe2
22 Sep 2005, 17:38
Yeah what a dingbat.
Heard he's a bloody good bloke though
Yeah what a dingbat.
Good morning, Jonathan.
Benny MOF
23 Sep 2005, 09:32
Yeah what a dingbat.
Scribe 2
Seeing as though you have a monopoly on all VAFA media (you even write where the CEO used to), what coaching/recruiting changes have you heard.....?
Scribe2
23 Sep 2005, 11:32
Very little Benny.
Five days into the off season and all that...
Nick Holland to Scotch? Everyone's saying that
Lots us walk outs at Old Melburnians apparently, though Dean Rice has been given another year.
Browne back to Marcellin but not Dinneen.
Expect plenty of comings and goings at the Snakepit. Simon Madden given another year.
The most ridiculous one I've heard is that Shane Woewodin will coach Scotch!
Both Mckee and Garlick to front up for SKOBs in B Section and have confirmed that they will take it a little more seriously (?)
Marcus Toovey back to Ivanhoe is significant
Apparently Xavs are searching for a few recruits who won't do an Adrian Cox on them...
That's about it but it's just chitter chatter at this stage of course
Holland to Scotch is interesting... I'd give it away if I were him, too many injuries.
Re: Snakepit
I hear that Fielding and D Jordan will be back. As may Andy Merrington with Adam Pickering to join him.
Goullet going back to the school he captained, Old Essendon.
Hollywood Harvey to quit Box Hill and chase coin in the burbs or the bush.
Collegians recruits are massive but I won't name names, a club favourite returning from Redan in Ballarat is one.
Apparently Gerta will play for whoever can get him a good job. Would be a handy pick up.
As if Xavs need recruits...!
Scribe2
23 Sep 2005, 12:18
I've heard that Mr Gertsman isn't too happy with the job sitch at Scotch yes. However his performance at the Woodrow Medal count may have poachers backing off a little!
Apparently both Dan and Lucas are not going to the Snakepit but to their old school club Rupertswood. I reckon D Section full backs would be a little toey at the prospect of lining up on Dan.
And Tim Harvey to Scotch, that's another one of the more ridiculous ones that lots of people say is spot on.
I've heard that Mr Gertsman isn't too happy with the job sitch at Scotch yes. However his performance at the Woodrow Medal count may have poachers backing off a little!
Apparently both Dan and Lucas are not going to the Snakepit but to their old school club Rupertswood. I reckon D Section full backs would be a little toey at the prospect of lining up on Dan.
And Tim Harvey to Scotch, that's another one of the more ridiculous ones that lots of people say is spot on.
Gertsmans's performance at the Woodrow... pls explain
Harvey would fit in well at Scotch if you know what I mean!
Scribe2
23 Sep 2005, 12:26
Think James was very much at the tail end of Mad Monday celebrations and in a wretched state....
ben.carbonaro
23 Sep 2005, 13:45
That would be great to see Dan and Lucas back at the Rupie.
My original club and always talk them up at every opportunity, work at Werribee now much to the disgust of various people at Rupertswood.
Have you heard my name around Ammo or general football circles before, Jon ?
Was fortunate enough to read your copy each week and must say, was very impressed considering yourstruly is an asprining sports journalist himself.
Eddie Woloschek
23 Sep 2005, 14:04
Was fortunate enough to read your copy each week and must say, was very impressed considering yourstruly is an asprining sports journalist himself.
Hey Carbo, perhaps you could take over from Mr Chips on the Xavs' website, as he has finally (been?) retired. Then again, I think spelling and grammar might be prerequisites there.
Nuffy_O'Dwyer
23 Sep 2005, 14:15
My original club and always talk them up at every opportunity, work at Werribee now much to the disgust of various people at Rupertswood.
Enough name dropping Carbo... we all know you work at Werribee!
bendigo
23 Sep 2005, 21:12
You'd think uni blues would just about collapse after that sunday's disaster wouldn't you? Why do we never hear anything about them?
Very little Benny.
Five days into the off season and all that...
Nick Holland to Scotch? Everyone's saying that
Lots us walk outs at Old Melburnians apparently, though Dean Rice has been given another year.
Browne back to Marcellin but not Dinneen.
Expect plenty of comings and goings at the Snakepit. Simon Madden given another year.
The most ridiculous one I've heard is that Shane Woewodin will coach Scotch!
Both Mckee and Garlick to front up for SKOBs in B Section and have confirmed that they will take it a little more seriously (?)
Apparently Xavs are searching for a few recruits who won't do an Adrian Cox on them...
That's about it but it's just chitter chatter at this stage of course
I heard a prodigal key-defender who last played at De La was considering returning to Caulfield Grammarians, and may bring a SKOB gun with him.
Mind you, he wouldn't want to break his fingers as it may affect his paying job!!
D'ja hear that one Scribe2???
My North
26 Sep 2005, 13:50
Everybody knows you Ben even the great A Section writer Jonathan Horn. Maybe one day it will Ben Carbonaro writing for the VAFA A section record, and you even talk up the Rupertswood boys in the record, hopefully they will be A section and not stuck in the D's section. Even ill Werribee will get a mention
You'd think uni blues would just about collapse after that sunday's disaster wouldn't you? Why do we never hear anything about them?
I heard John Kanis lost the plot - pointing the blame everywhere!! :mad:
Scribe2
26 Sep 2005, 21:48
Scribe - Apparently yes, rumour had it that the man in question launched a comeback this month, consisting of a training regime that would have a Hawaiian ironman reaching for the talcum powder....However the six years of loose living, chain smoking and bridge burning have taken their toll and the comeback has been aborted. Scribe2's flatmate, whilst an old Caulfield boy himself, has also shelved plans to return to the old school and will front up for St Kevins after playing 2 games in 3 years!
Ben - Yes buddy I have heard of you, via this website mainly. Keep up the good work Ben.
Re John Kanis losing the plot. He sounded very composed and impressive after the GF although I think Scribe2 has been taken off the Christmas Card list after his GF preview...
Anyone got a list of B&F winners? Marcellin would be interesting as they definitely play around with their best playrers list.
So far I've got..
Beetham- Xavier
Ramsden- Trinity
Mahoney - St Kevins
Anyone got a list of B&F winners? Marcellin would be interesting as they definitely play around with their best playrers list.
So far I've got..
Beetham- Xavier
Ramsden- Trinity
Mahoney - St Kevins
Blumfield - Collegians
Can't believe Shiek didn't have him in the top 30, bloody Joke.
I think you should do a Mike Sheehan, Scribe2 and publish you list in the Round 1 and GF editions.
Derek Z
27 Sep 2005, 20:08
Scribe -
Marcellin would be interesting as they definitely play around with their best playrers list.
So far I've got..
Beetham- Xavier
Ramsden- Trinity
Mahoney - St Kevins
Marcellin would probably have the easiest quinella in A-grade to pick, Rice & Dobson.......... even though he only played 12 games before heading o/s Luke Considine will poll very strongly early and hold on for 3rd, why he wasn't in the State Under 23 squad i'll never know........
P.S Scribe 2, J.Frazer, whom you put in the A Section team of the year spent most of the year on the pine nursing an injury that would limit him to about 40mins per game, was he picked in a specialist bench position??
ben.carbonaro
27 Sep 2005, 20:32
Everybody knows you Ben even the great A Section writer Jonathan Horn. Maybe one day it will Ben Carbonaro writing for the VAFA A section record, and you even talk up the Rupertswood boys in the record, hopefully they will be A section and not stuck in the D's section. Even ill Werribee will get a mention
No, don't think I will ever be writing the A Section stuff in the AF because one J Horn does an awesome job and most certainly doesn't deserve to be sacked at all.
He does a good job writing in The Age as well.
But it would be great to talk up my original club up, even if still working at VFL level with Werribee.
Scribe2
28 Sep 2005, 09:40
Yes Jarrod Frazer was the one that was a bit out of place. However, he was very unlucky to miss last year's team and I was told by quite a few people that his 2005 season was better than last year. Apparently he was hidden from their best players list. In two of the three Marcellin games I saw he played really well so maybe....
Having said that, I should have slotted a few Collegians players in
Cameo King
10 Oct 2005, 19:56
Any truth in the rumour that the Scribe2 will be giving the "Inside" story on sport in 2006?
Destination A Grade
11 Oct 2005, 07:49
I had a mate that played with him at Box Hill a few years ago. If he didn't play at Ivanhoe this year i think he might be ineligible to play Ammo's again (2 time departure rule).