View Full Version : Sunbury Lose AGAIN !!!!

roge_3
19th September 2005, 13:07
Well, its happened to them again... Sunbury lost the Ballarat Grand Final to Melton... Did anyone see the game? What is the reason they lost this time... Who played well for both sides, how did Steve James go for Melton?
The 2's also lost from what im hearing, Luckily the Under 18's got up...
What is wrong with this team when it comes to Grand Finals they should win easily?

bradrowe#32
19th September 2005, 13:23
Well, its happened to them again... Sunbury lost the Ballarat Grand Final to Melton... Did anyone see the game? What is the reason they lost this time... Who played well for both sides, how did Steve James go for Melton?
The 2's also lost from what im hearing, Luckily the Under 18's got up...
What is wrong with this team when it comes to Grand Finals they should win easily?

Don't really know much about Sunbury FC roge, but what is their record like? Have they lost a few GF's?

roge_3
19th September 2005, 13:48
Won last years Granny when they shouldn't have, and lost the previous 2 when they should have... This year, went through undefeated, in Seniors and Reserves, think the Seniors had a draw on that shocking day, apart from that, they have flogged everyone.
The reserves have had no challenge all year from what im told. Poor result for them, should have been a shoe in... Mark Power would not be a happy camper.
Missed the game myself, went up to watch the Bendigo Grand Final instead. Was 3 pretty good games up there.

Grandale
19th September 2005, 14:29
I saw the game and Sunbury were robbed.
They lost centre-half-back Alan O'Connor midway through the first term when he was reported and red-carded for kneeing Melton's Dane Grenfell. Played the rest of the game with 17 men.
Despite this, Mick Gadsden (Sunbury) had a shot at the 23 minute mark of the last quarter that wouold have levelled the scores. He missed and Melton scooted it down the other end of the ground and goaled. That broke Sunbury's back, Melton kicked another 3 and won by 31 points, which didn't do the match justice.
The Lions also copped a bit of a rough deal with the umpies throughout the game. Melton got 2 goals through 50s in the 3rd quarter (one was there, the other simply was not there) and there were some simply mystifying decisions.
Sunbury's on-ballers didn't have the best of days and Darren Searle (who tagged Power) and Matthew McLean (who tagged Justin Lewis) won the two BOG medals.
Jamie Lobb was a standout for the Lions, while Darryl Griffin did well when moved back onto Grenfell (held him to two goals).

roge_3
19th September 2005, 14:37
I saw the game and Sunbury were robbed.
They lost centre-half-back Alan O'Connor midway through the first term when he was reported and red-carded for kneeing Melton's Dane Grenfell. Played the rest of the game with 17 men.
Despite this, Mick Gadsden (Sunbury) had a shot at the 23 minute mark of the last quarter that wouold have levelled the scores. He missed and Melton scooted it down the other end of the ground and goaled. That broke Sunbury's back, Melton kicked another 3 and won by 31 points, which didn't do the match justice.
The Lions also copped a bit of a rough deal with the umpies throughout the game. Melton got 2 goals through 50s in the 3rd quarter (one was there, the other simply was not there) and there were some simply mystifying decisions.
Sunbury's on-ballers didn't have the best of days and Darren Searle (who tagged Power) and Matthew McLean (who tagged Justin Lewis) won the two BOG medals.
Jamie Lobb was a standout for the Lions, while Darryl Griffin did well when moved back onto Grenfell (held him to two goals).

Will always happen when Sunbury is playing now, reputation can so terribly affect a team, and in the BFL Sunbury will cop it...
How did Steve James play, Melton's Ruckman?
Did you see the Under 18's? Who was best in that game?

Grandale
19th September 2005, 14:59
James didn't have much of an impact. Mind you, it's a tough job for one man against Sunbury, who have Tim Little, Ash Fleming and Pat Carriss. He battled hard, but, and was by no means shocking.
It was just disappointing to see the umpires decide the game. Everyone knows you have days where the umps just always seem to get it wrong, but these blokes on Saturday looked like they were delighting in giving Sunbury a raw deal.
And what really incensed the Sunbury people was that it was the emergency umpires that reported O'Connor when one of the field umpires was on the scene and saw the whole incident.
And BTW, you probably think I'm a whinging Sunbury fan, but I'm not. I actually play in another league and was a neutral observer.

Grandale
19th September 2005, 15:01
Will always happen when Sunbury is playing now, reputation can so terribly affect a team, and in the BFL Sunbury will cop it...
How did Steve James play, Melton's Ruckman?
Did you see the Under 18's? Who was best in that game?

Sorry, didn't see the under 18s. But I can tell you that the guys named in the best players were Ryan Hurst, Keegan Powell, Dylan Wright, Kane North, Daniel Barry and Joradn Maiolo.

roge_3
19th September 2005, 15:18
Doesnt surprise me... Seemed a little the same at Bendigo to be honest, Gisbourne got the rough end of the stick all day, but in the end were just a little too classy for the opposition.

Bombers 2003
19th September 2005, 17:11
Missed the game myself, went up to watch the Bendigo Grand Final instead.
The Pulldogs[Gisborne]were beaten,hopefuly?

Dog Town
19th September 2005, 20:17
Sunbury lose AGAIN is a bit misleading.Would there be a more succesful country football side in the state?They would be upset at losing after dominating all year but to continually front up year after year and play in grand final after grand final is a great effort.

roge_3
20th September 2005, 09:54
No doubt it is a great effort to continually play in Grand Finals, but realistically, they have had the side to win it each time they have... They have the money and support to continually be a force in each year they play. My point is about the trouble they have had in the past 5 years in taking that one last step.
Mark Power and the club have some work to do to put an end to what is becoming a regular occurance.

Gisbourne has been just as powerful in the Bendigo League over their time in the league.

Grandale
20th September 2005, 10:07
Sunbury has played in the past four Ballarat league grannies. In 2002 they were just beaten by a better side in Redan.
In 2003 they also lost to Redan, but like on Saturday against Melton they went down having played most of the game with 17 men after Mark Power (one of country footy's best rovers and I think a VCFL rep in that season) was red-carded in the first quarter. They also had a couple of other blokes sent off for 15 minutes in that first quarter.
Last year they had no blokes sent off and won the flag.
This year, another send off and another shock defeat.
Gisborne has also played in the past four Grand Finals in their comp (Bendigo league) and won three of them.
You talk about Sunbury being the most successful country footy side going around, well I reckon there are a few that give them a run for their money.
Maffra might haave got beaten on Saturday when going for their fourth-straight West Gippsland Latrobe League flag but they had won their past 45 games before that and Horsham has won the past three grannies in the Wimmera League.
And let's not forget Deniliquin has contested the previous six Murray League grand finals (winning the past four) before bombing out at the semi-final stage this year.

Bombers 2003
20th September 2005, 10:31
Would there be a more succesful country football side in the state?
A bit of an exageration,i think.I can remember when Sunbury was hardly succesful at all.and other posters have mentioned teams like Maffra,Deniliquin etc.I think Wangaratta Rovers have a good finals record,Heyington has a exemptionable oneAs for for Gisborne[not Gisbourne],Shyte teams can play above themselves.
PS-Why do posters here continually have to add 'ou'to words and names that dont have 'ou'in them.

roge_3
20th September 2005, 11:06
Sunbury has played in the past four Ballarat league grannies. In 2002 they were just beaten by a better side in Redan.
In 2003 they also lost to Redan, but like on Saturday against Melton they went down having played most of the game with 17 men after Mark Power (one of country footy's best rovers and I think a VCFL rep in that season) was red-carded in the first quarter. They also had a couple of other blokes sent off for 15 minutes in that first quarter.
Last year they had no blokes sent off and won the flag.
This year, another send off and another shock defeat.
Gisborne has also played in the past four Grand Finals in their comp (Bendigo league) and won three of them.
You talk about Sunbury being the most successful country footy side going around, well I reckon there are a few that give them a run for their money.
Maffra might haave got beaten on Saturday when going for their fourth-straight West Gippsland Latrobe League flag but they had won their past 45 games before that and Horsham has won the past three grannies in the Wimmera League.
And let's not forget Deniliquin has contested the previous six Murray League grand finals (winning the past four) before bombing out at the semi-final stage this year.

The guy sent off on the weekend may not have deserved it... But in that Grannie, Mark Power definately deserved to be sent off, so the blame can only belong to themselves for that one.

As for the most successful country sides, all the teams mentioned above sit well above Sunbury at the moment.

tige19
20th September 2005, 13:04
The guy sent off on the weekend may not have deserved it... But in that Grannie, Mark Power definately deserved to be sent off, so the blame can only belong to themselves for that one.

As for the most successful country sides, all the teams mentioned above sit well above Sunbury at the moment.

I dont think people fully understand just how good a side Sunbury has, for years it has dominated the Ballarat League and for years they have been cruciafied by the league and the umpires, it has been a trend that everyone associated with the league can appreciate.

I have seen plenty of GVFL,BFL and Eastern and Essendon footy this year and i can assure you that if Sunbury where in the GVFL they would be playing this Sunday against Euroa for the flag. They would romp the Essendon league and be a top 3 side in the Eastern.

Mentioning sides like Denneliquin is all well and good but the standard of which they are playing is below what Sunbury is playing and even the West Gippy league is nothing flash.

Sunbury would towel all of the sides mentioned with only Maffra and Wangaratta to be any sort of a match.

And before you think im biased the fact is i havent played footy at Sunbury or in the BFL before.

Very very very good side Sunbury are and i was very suprised they got rolled on Saturday.

Grandale
20th September 2005, 13:12
Sorry Tige, but I don't reckon Sunbury would beat Seymour, Mansfield or Shepp. Magnificent midfield, one of the best in country Victoria, but they would struggle in defence.
And I reckon suggesting they'd cruise home in the EDFL is going a bit far. I reckon Greenvale might, just might, have their measure if they met.
You never know, we might find out pretty soon. I read in today's Ballarat paper the Sunbury president has said the Lions will look at the possibility of moving to a different league following Saturday's fiasco.

roge_3
20th September 2005, 13:30
Sorry Tige, but I don't reckon Sunbury would beat Seymour, Mansfield or Shepp. Magnificent midfield, one of the best in country Victoria, but they would struggle in defence.
And I reckon suggesting they'd cruise home in the EDFL is going a bit far. I reckon Greenvale might, just might, have their measure if they met.
You never know, we might find out pretty soon. I read in today's Ballarat paper the Sunbury president has said the Lions will look at the possibility of moving to a different league following Saturday's fiasco.

Heard a move to the EDFL was on the cards a few weeks ago, think the one major issue for Sunbury is though, to make that move means the Junior club would have to make the move with them. Dont think the junior club are too keen on that move...

Grandale
20th September 2005, 13:57
That doesn't surprise me re the juniors.
Other things is they'd have to come through B Grade I reckon. Imagine what they would do to Hadfield, Sydenham Hillside, etc, etc.

roge_3
20th September 2005, 14:02
Yeah, was going to say that they will have to go through B Grade... Would they sacrifice a year to do so??? Dont know about that....

Bombers 2003
20th September 2005, 14:16
The only team in EDFL that couldnt beat Sunbury maybe West Coburg?

roge_3
20th September 2005, 14:57
You are joking????

Sunbury would easily finish top 3 or 4 in the EDFL...

Bombers 2003
20th September 2005, 16:53
You are joking????

Sunbury would easily finish top 3 or 4 in the EDFL...
Not really sure about that in A grade,but definatly in the lower grades.

Dog Town
20th September 2005, 19:20
I am pretty sure that since they came into the BFL they have only missed one grand final and they won there last 3 in the RDFL before they moved.People always come out with the big "they have lots of money" line but the fact tis that the reason they have been so succesful is that there under 18s have been ridiculously succesful and it means they always have good home grown talent coming through.

Dont think they will move to the EDFL because they would have to start in b grade.From memory that was the reason they didn't move last time this came up.Clubs in the entire region just dont like Sunbury (other comps included) and love to see them fail.I dont like them all that much either but geez they have had alot of success oveer the last 10 years.

FOOTYBOSS
21st September 2005, 08:41
How did Daryl Griffin and Justin Lewis play this year?

Bombers 2003
21st September 2005, 09:31
the fact tis that the reason they have been so succesful is that there under 18s have been ridiculously succesful and it means they always have good home grown talent coming through.

Dont think they will move to the EDFL because they would have to start in b grade.From memory that was the reason they didn't move last time this came up.Clubs in the entire region just dont like Sunbury (other comps included) and love to see them fail.
1-You're quite right about that.
2-Yes,but most teams dislike Gisborne even more,bunch of arrogant self-centred prigs.

tige19
21st September 2005, 17:00
Not really sure about that in A grade,but definatly in the lower grades.

You complete and utter moron, it just goes to show how little you know of the Sunbury.

If anything my alliance would be to Greenvale and by looking at the standard of players i wouild think Sunbury would have there measure.

cheers

anniswan
22nd September 2005, 00:13
As stated earlier, Sunbury FC don't have a junior club affilated with it, that prevents them moving to the EDFL. Sunbury Junior Football Club are very happy in with the Riddell Jnr Football League at the moment.

Bombers 2003
22nd September 2005, 11:57
it just goes to show how little you know of the Sunbury

Did,or didnot,sunbury plan to go the EDFL,but refused to play in lower then A grade EDFL ?If answer is 'yes' i rest my case.

Bombers 2003
22nd September 2005, 11:58
As stated earlier, Sunbury FC don't have a junior club affilated with it, that prevents them moving to the EDFL. Sunbury Junior Football Club are very happy in with the Riddell Jnr Football League at the moment.
Dont sunbury also have junior teams in Oakpark JFL?

Bombers 2003
22nd September 2005, 12:00
You complete and utter moron, it just goes to show how little you know of the Sunbury.

If anything my alliance would be to Greenvale and by looking at the standard of players i wouild think Sunbury would have there measure.

cheers
Greenvale?,and U call me a 'moron'.

Bombers 2003
22nd September 2005, 12:03
[QUOTE=tige19]You complete and utter moron, it just goes to show how little you know of the Sunbury.

cheers[/QUOTE/]
Tige19,
arent u the idiot who thinks Gisborne is a 'good team'?

anniswan
22nd September 2005, 12:16
Dont sunbury also have junior teams in Oakpark JFL?

There is no Oak Park JFL

Bombers 2003
22nd September 2005, 13:21
There is no Oak Park JFL
Sorry Deer Park,Oakpark is in the eastern suburbs.

anniswan
22nd September 2005, 13:51
Sorry Deer Park,Oakpark is in the eastern suburbs.

No Deer Park JL either, closest is WRFL and no Sunbury Junior team is in that.

colbys_kid
24th September 2005, 10:59
I am pretty sure that since they came into the BFL they have only missed one grand final and they won there last 3 in the RDFL before they moved.People always come out with the big "they have lots of money" line but the fact tis that the reason they have been so succesful is that there under 18s have been ridiculously succesful and it means they always have good home grown talent coming through.

Dont think they will move to the EDFL because they would have to start in b grade.From memory that was the reason they didn't move last time this came up.Clubs in the entire region just dont like Sunbury (other comps included) and love to see them fail.I dont like them all that much either but geez they have had alot of success oveer the last 10 years.

Absolutely 100% correct. We dont have to buy players to be successful most of our juniors are quality footballers. Shown throughout the year with not one big name recruit coming to play at sunbury. Sure you get the stragglers from other clubs but they are all really locally based anyway.

Bombers 2003
25th September 2005, 18:38
No Deer Park JL either, closest is WRFL and no Sunbury Junior team is in that.
WRFL is successor to Deer Park JFL.i checked it out.I'm not saying you were wrong on NO DPJFL ,i just asked elsewhere what's it called these days.

BrownDog2
27th September 2005, 12:34
I love it how the Sunbury people after the game were again claiming
"We wuz robbed"

For god sake they sook year after year. Do they think the red card was just because the umpire felt like it? For the record he was charged with "Misconduct in that he dropped his knees into the Melton player".
The tribunal was last night and the player was found guilty and suspended.

Sunbury FC - your own fault - AGAIN.

Grandale
28th September 2005, 09:57
I love it how the Sunbury people after the game were again claiming
"We wuz robbed"

For god sake they sook year after year. Do they think the red card was just because the umpire felt like it? For the record he was charged with "Misconduct in that he dropped his knees into the Melton player".
The tribunal was last night and the player was found guilty and suspended.

Sunbury FC - your own fault - AGAIN.

How long did he get?

BrownDog2
28th September 2005, 12:33
How long did he get?

O'Connor gets one-match ban
Tuesday, 27 September 2005

SUNBURY'S Alan O'Connor was handed a one-match ban at a marathon two-hour Ballarat Football League tribunal hearing last night.
The 20-year-old defender accepted the suspension but was upset the misconduct report for kneeing Melton's Dane Grenfell had cost his team dearly on grand final day, September 17.

Emergency umpire Steve McConville reported O'Connor in the opening term of Sunbury's shock loss and banished him to the bench on a red card for the rest of the match.

McConville had entered the field to show the card as Grenfell was bunched up on the ground holding his waist.

Emergency goal umpire Barry Eppingstall also booked the star defender.

The Bloods stormed over the Lions late in the fourth quarter with an extra man on the field. "I reckon the red card rule has to be looked at," said a dejected O'Connor, as he left the tribunal.

"It influenced the outcome of the game so much. The damage had already been done before tonight.

"I'm not going to say we would have won if I had of played the whole game, but we would have had a better chance."

O'Connor predicted he would be suspended on his arrival at Saxon House with club officials, captain Daryl Griffin, and AFL player advocate Iain Findlay.

He was upbeat and relaxed before the hearing began.

Findlay produced a slow-motion video clip of the incident, edited by Channel Seven.

The footage showed a central umpire within five metres of O'Connor and Grenfell when the offence occurred after their bone-crunching marking contest.

No officiating umpire made a report.

Findlay argued the matter should have been thrown out on the back of this and O'Connor's clean record.

The interleague centre half back had played 12 years of junior and senior football without being reported or sent off.

However, the independent tribunal found the evidence of the emergency umpires was enough to sustain the charge.

McConville told the tribunal O'Connor dropped both knees into Grenfell as the forward struggled to pick himself off the ground.

O'Connor said he had merely brushed him with his shin.

Grenfell said he was unsure how the contact was made as he was winded and gasping for air after the initial marking contest.

"I was out of breath and was on my hands and knees," he said.

"I was already tender because of the initial contact. I felt a jab from the second incident and it didn't feel like someone had pushed me, but it felt solid."

O'Connor could miss either the lightning premiership or the first round of the 2006 home-and-away season.

He said his teammates had been supportive, helping to ease the pain of the club's grand final disappointment.

"I was shattered because I felt like I had let the team down.

"I was speechless and I didn't know what to say to my team-mates, but the guys have been really good for me," he said.

Dog Town
28th September 2005, 19:55
Haven't seen the incident but you wont find a fairer player than O'Connor.

Grandale
28th September 2005, 22:04
Haven't seen the incident but you wont find a fairer player than O'Connor.

So does that mean he's available to play from halfway through the first quarter in Sunbury's round 1 game next year? After all, he has already served three and a half quarters of an ban!!!
That result just goes to show was a joke the red-card rule is. The VCFL must act pronto.