View Full Version : EDFL moves

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 [79] 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164

Aussie_dude
30 Aug 2006, 00:32
Gee, lots of FACTS being alleged.

My source direct from the playing group tells it differently. He says that FACT is Holman moved clubs for one reason and ONE REASON ONLY. His best buddy, one Jeremy Barnard, was moving to Melb for personal, not football reasons although he did want to play football. Barnard went to Strathmore because of a previous family link to the club being another brother played there some time after the 1998 flag so knew a few people there already. Wherever Barnard went, Holman would have gone and the money wasn't ever a consideration. Having said that, it would still be what he was worth. Apparently Barnard and Holman have played in 4 flags together now and looking forward to the 5th. Word is that Holman is a top bloke who has become a great clubman, as has Jeremy Barnard and Paul Barnard who are alll loving it and are always at the club.

mmm dont know about some of that. Am constantly told of conversations people have with SM players, saying come over to SM, its the best money going around, do stuff all, the flag is already in the bag, bleed them dry and have some fun for a while.

Aussie_dude
30 Aug 2006, 00:39
Harvey kicked 6 goals - a great display. Douttas will lose 2, possibly 3, for next week. Certain to miss - Moore (knee) & Elsum (calf). B&F count is Wednesday 6th Sept.

Did moore do an acl? if so not good, was turning into a great player.

Aussie_dude
30 Aug 2006, 00:40
Will go back to St. Bernards in 07 :thumbsu:

we can only hope.

bricksta
30 Aug 2006, 08:42
Did moore do an acl? if so not good, was turning into a great player.

YES, not good, one of the best juniors to come out of Douttas

Nemo
30 Aug 2006, 09:40
YES, not good, one of the best juniors to come out of Douttas

That is a big wrap.

coreybrown
30 Aug 2006, 09:59
yeah im not totally sure with holman, everyone tells me it was money more than anything. he didnt go for less, common sence would say that. I know that the fallout when he left was massive. People at douttas hate him with a passion. On another note, I seriously reakon that GV talked to about 4 players over the last 2 years that were lost to higher offers at SM.

No doubt about that Bruce Kent cant get all of the ones he speaks to.

C Smith - A Briggs - both joined Greenvale this year due to higher offers from Greenvale after speaking to other EDFL, WRFL and DVFL Clubs.
I suppose it comes down to what players your club needs more than others? Maybe Greenvale would have been better served to have paid the money to keep Zerafa, Kalinowski, Yildrim, Corr, Khartabil, Hrysoulakis. Even though a few of these guys are passed it or hadnt quite made it at A grade level, reckon they would be handy round about now?????

The holman issue has been done to death - read the posts Doutta cut Holman money from his 2004 b&f winning season. he felt this was unreasonable and walked, would he be paid well at Strathmore, you tell me comp b&f and premeirship player.

On playing for less didnt Bicer and Bakoulas come back to Greenvale from Heidelberg on less????? so maybe it does happen?????

coreybrown
30 Aug 2006, 10:10
Could have been better if you had have worn screw ins and not moulded hey sharks, might not have fallen over so much :p

Pilly, Whats the view of the APW playing group will they all stick together for 2007.

Pill Polisher
30 Aug 2006, 11:34
Pilly, Whats the view of the APW playing group will they all stick together for 2007.

Dont worry about the playing group, all are thick, and will remain so.

With Marby headed to A grade and nothing of any threat coming back to B grade, expect APW to be top three next year.

Might have some older heads thinking twice, but summer heals all wounds.

Younger guys to step up and look out for some key signings over the break

bricksta
30 Aug 2006, 12:07
That is a big wrap.

Not really mate, a great kid, and very very good footballer.
Been struck down twice in the last 2 years by serious injuries, dislocated his hip last year and missed the whole year but came back, and now his ACL
Only hope he can come back again cause he is hard at it and can play the game..

beefeater1000
30 Aug 2006, 12:19
any news abt the douttas(18s) bloke that man handled the ump? how many years did he get?

EDFL MAN
30 Aug 2006, 12:31
Will go back to St. Bernards in 07 :thumbsu:

Disagree there champ, money talks and b ulls hit walks! :eek:
After having his pockets filled with coin this year, the boy will play on again!
Thats my tip! :thumbsu:

EDFL MAN
30 Aug 2006, 12:32
Dont worry about the playing group, all are thick, and will remain so.

With Marby headed to A grade and nothing of any threat coming back to B grade, expect APW to be top three next year.

Might have some older heads thinking twice, but summer heals all wounds.

Younger guys to step up and look out for some key signings over the break

Comon Dill, who are the key signings champ? :cool:

blue_bhoy
30 Aug 2006, 12:36
Disagree there champ, money talks and b ulls hit walks! :eek:
After having his pockets filled with coin this year, the boy will play on again!
Thats my tip! :thumbsu:

One of my mates knows him well and thats the mail he gave me, so just going on what i've been told.

Bronx Bomber
30 Aug 2006, 12:40
any news abt the douttas(18s) bloke that man handled the ump? how many years did he get?

According to www.essendondfl.com.au

Tribunal Results from Tuesday 29th August 2006

B Senior J Bennett Pascoe Vale - Striking - Reprimand

Under 18 R Gordon Doutta Stars Abuse, Assaulting & Striking Umpire - 7 years

EDFL MAN
30 Aug 2006, 12:41
One of my mates knows him well and thats the mail he gave me, so just going on what i've been told.

I dont think the bloke can earn 20 to 25k a year in the VAFA. ;)

Pill Polisher
30 Aug 2006, 12:44
Comon Dill, who are the key signings champ? :cool:

Just stay Tuned Richard, although safe to say, I don't think Eggers and KD will worry about talking to you again champo:eek:

I suggest you worry about how you are going to get the rest of your choking side to play with the spirit you have shown lately and WC might and I mean might be a chance.

Go PACO !!!!

EDFL MAN
30 Aug 2006, 12:46
According to www.essendondfl.com.au (http://www.essendondfl.com.au)

Tribunal Results from Tuesday 29th August 2006

B Senior J Bennett Pascoe Vale - Striking - Reprimand

Under 18 R Gordon Doutta Stars Abuse, Assaulting & Striking Umpire - 7 years

Good to see Pacco will have there key forward playing. :thumbsu:

On the other hand l find it amazing the edfl can suspended players for using abusive and insulting language to an umpire, but in some cases you can assault/strike another player and not get suspended......funny system in my opinion!

EDFL MAN
30 Aug 2006, 12:49
Just stay Tuned Richard, although safe to say, I don't think Eggers and KD will worry about talking to you again champo:eek:

I suggest you worry about how you are going to get the rest of your choking side to play with the spirit you have shown lately and WC might and I mean might be a chance.

Go PACO !!!!

Richard? Who?

Mark, on a serious note little man how was your mad monday chump? :D

Nah seriously Dill, **** colours.....lol

Remember passion can only get you so far, feel free to pay your $10.00 this week.

Warm Regards,

EDFL Man(A player still in the finals race) :eek:

Driscoll
30 Aug 2006, 13:29
All the argument over who gets what is just a waste of time. Until the EDFL bring in a points cap it just going to be a fact of life that most of the time it will be a case of most cash wins.
As for Holman, can't see whay Doutta's can complain. They paid him well to come on board, he played good footy, somebody payed him better to leave. Might be a different story if a gun who came up through juniors jumped ship but not the case here.

WRFLfan
30 Aug 2006, 13:45
Good to hear mate and hopefully u and the boys can get over the line and put them back in their shells, will b down there with the Yewers boys cheering yas on so u have to turn it on for us lol.

I think thats your writing isn't it? As for being in the bar thats not nice seeing they were your old team and that quote was made to a senior player, quick question would you get a game in that two's side and be honest. As for superstar im washed up and don't play anymore but thanks for the encouragement.
And the final one about the standard fast but thought the physicalness would have been better, best player strangely enough a WRFL player and Colt hows that hey, enjoy D Wack your a long time retired:eek:

Nemo
30 Aug 2006, 13:48
Mates play footy in the Ballarine league and they play their finals at one of the local grounds. To avoid any arguments as to why the club who hosts the finals makes money over the bar and canteen they use a rotation policy where a differnet club each year is the only club able to sell food and grog at all the finals matches.
They have ten teams so every ten years your club gets their chance to make some money.
It would probably be a bit harder to do in the edfl as some finals are played at Coburg/Essendon but after being at Keilor on Sunday I don't think there was anything wrong with playing more finals their or at other local grounds.

drplds
30 Aug 2006, 14:16
Mates play footy in the Ballarine league and they play their finals at one of the local grounds. To avoid any arguments as to why the club who hosts the finals makes money over the bar and canteen they use a rotation policy where a differnet club each year is the only club able to sell food and grog at all the finals matches.
They have ten teams so every ten years your club gets their chance to make some money.
It would probably be a bit harder to do in the edfl as some finals are played at Coburg/Essendon but after being at Keilor on Sunday I don't think there was anything wrong with playing more finals their or at other local grounds.

Finals are played at Keilor, Greenvale, Glenroy cause they are best grounds for the EDFL to make money on the gates. There are too many entries at other clubs such as Strathmore, Doutta's, Aber's, Keilor Park, etc.

bricksta
30 Aug 2006, 14:22
Finals are played at Keilor, Greenvale, Glenroy cause they are best grounds for the EDFL to make money on the gates. There are too many entries at other clubs such as Strathmore, Doutta's, Aber's, Keilor Park, etc.

Douttas are not allowed to put a fence around the ground as it is a public reserve as are all the other grounds....

My North
30 Aug 2006, 14:39
Douttas are not allowed to put a fence around the ground as it is a public reserve as are all the other grounds....

Same as Marby, Abers, and Moonee Valley, no fence
Its the old Essendon council policy from years back and Moonee Valley council after the re-zoning have kept in place. Grounds now in the Moonee Valley council like Avondale Heighs and Airport West that have fences were in the old Keilor council

Matthew Pillios
30 Aug 2006, 15:58
TUNE INTO "ESSENDON DISTRICT KNOWS FOOTBALL" :thumbsu:

Every WEDNESDAY night @ 6:30pm to 7:30pm on CHANNEL 31.

MASSIVE SHOW -

* GREAT MATCH COVERAGE SHOWN FROM ALL 4 WEEKENDS FINALS GAMES
* E.D.F.L STREET CAM with MOCCA O'CONNER
* IN- DEPTH INTERVIEW WITH STEVEN KOLYNUICK
* AFTER MATCH INTERVIEW WITH CRAIG HILLE
* TOP BAGGING TO KEVIN "KD" DONNELLY
Plus much more................

Matthew Pillios Sam Tankard Jarrad Morrison

Nemo
30 Aug 2006, 16:21

I realise this, in the Bellarine they only use one or two appropriate grounds for the finals (the same evevry year) but the club who has the rights to sell food and drink are able to set stalls up around the ground to sell their stuff.
e.g. final played at Keilor, It is say Strathmores year to sell food and drink so they are permitted to set up stalls around Keilors ground and sell their stuff. Then next year it is Oak Parks turn, they set up their stalls around Keilors groud so on and so on.

Just thought it was a great idea.

coreybrown
30 Aug 2006, 16:26
So whats everyone views on the next few weeks -

A Grade Preliminary
B Grade Preliminary
A Grade Flag
B Grade Flag
B&F A & B Grade
BOG in grand finalsFor what it worth

A Grade Prelim (Greenvale)
B Grade Prelim (Pascoe Vale)
A Grade Flag (Greenvale)
B Grade Flag (Marby)
B&F A Grade (S Paxman)
B&F B Grade (C Bakker)
BOG - Zeraffa and Lenne

aberdaberdo
30 Aug 2006, 16:46
I dont think the bloke can earn 20 to 25k a year in the VAFA. ;)

That was just the sign on.

Macca29
30 Aug 2006, 17:59
That was just the sign on.

Harvs will be back at Bernard's next year no doubt.

Sure his pockets have been filled but he's just as successful of the park with big Luke Vassalo's company and making plenty.

Plenty of the boys reckon he'll be back for sure and wanted to play a year for cash to save up for a house.

If he goes it'll make it hard for the Mores 3 Peat but i'm sure they could find the coin to recruit a big name full forward. Jade Rawlings just retired:eek:

d-mac3276
30 Aug 2006, 18:35
Good to hear mate and hopefully u and the boys can get over the line and put them back in their shells, will b down there with the Yewers boys cheering yas on so u have to turn it on for us lol.

I think thats your writing isn't it? As for being in the bar thats not nice seeing they were your old team and that quote was made to a senior player, quick question would you get a game in that two's side and be honest. As for superstar im washed up and don't play anymore but thanks for the encouragement.
And the final one about the standard fast but thought the physicalness would have been better, best player strangely enough a WRFL player and Colt hows that hey, enjoy D Wack your a long time retired:eek: Yeah thats my typing (not writing), and whats them being my old team got to do with it its not like theres been any love lost there but still have some mates down there running around, and u want honesty well lets just say that is the most stupid question i've ever been asked (hows that 4 honesty) and i won't even dignify it with a response coz ur insulting me even thinking i couldn't. As for the best player yeah he was the best player on the day and maybe he finally realised that the better footy was in this comp not the one hes been running around in where he wouldn't get the best out of himself, but i'll give u one thing yeah it maybe more physical in your league but thats only coz the ball is on the deck alot more as the skills ain't as good. And just to finish with what am i doing sitting here listening to a bloke who doesn't even play the game anymore gee D Mac what have u got yourself into, i better find some actual footballers to talk to b4 i lose my pride and dignity Catcha WRFL CHUMP

molly99
30 Aug 2006, 18:42
Harvs will be back at Bernard's next year no doubt.

Sure his pockets have been filled but he's just as successful of the park with big Luke Vassalo's company and making plenty.

Plenty of the boys reckon he'll be back for sure and wanted to play a year for cash to save up for a house.

If he goes it'll make it hard for the Mores 3 Peat but i'm sure they could find the coin to recruit a big name full forward. Jade Rawlings just retired:eek:I heard A.James will be looking for a new home next year would be a good get after kicking 23 majors on the weekend has also kicked a ton in the edfl before.

Aussie_dude
30 Aug 2006, 18:59
No doubt about that Bruce Kent cant get all of the ones he speaks to.

C Smith - A Briggs - both joined Greenvale this year due to higher offers from Greenvale after speaking to Strathmore.
I suppose it comes down to what players your club needs more than others? Maybe Greenvale would have been better served to have paid the money to keep Zerafa, Kalinowski, Yildrim, Corr, Khartabil, Hrysoulakis. Even though a few of these guys are passed it or hadnt quite made it at A grade level, reckon they would be handy round about now?????

The holman issue has been done to death - read the posts Doutta cut Holman money from his 2004 b&f winning season. he felt this was unreasonable and walked, would he be paid well at Strathmore, you tell me comp b&f and premeirship player.

On playing for less didnt Bicer and Bakoulas come back to Greenvale from Heidelberg on less????? so maybe it does happen?????

yeah GV would probably be holding up the a reserve cup if these players were still around. Apart from Zerafa none of them would be playing in the firsts and all went to marby so they could get a game.

Zerafa went to marby so he only had to play when he felt like it. Thats why he is seen sinking cans at GV games while he is 'working' some saturdays at the docks.

juliand
30 Aug 2006, 20:54
I heard A.James will be looking for a new home next year would be a good get after kicking 23 majors on the weekend has also kicked a ton in the edfl before.

and interesting to read he left Albion because they ran out of MONEY!!!! I think his forehead is stamped at the moment and NO A GRADE club would touch him after his time at douttas

The scout
30 Aug 2006, 22:45
The golden greek will back in action in a weeks time, He used to play at greenvale and player for collingwood as well.

Be warned

localfooty
30 Aug 2006, 23:18
The golden greek will back in action in a weeks time, He used to play at greenvale and player for collingwood as well.

Be warned

no chance, his knees are gone!

also, who would you drop to get a guy on 1 leg back into a side that has no peer in that grade?

Eagle One
30 Aug 2006, 23:35

also, who would you drop to get a guy on 1 leg back into a side that has no peer in that grade?

Duncan

bomber5
30 Aug 2006, 23:40
Well if thats the case, there would need to be three changes to the side that beat West Coburg by 10 goals.

Nash and Weston would be well ahead of Athos

Aussie_dude
30 Aug 2006, 23:41

roaster has a proven track record in finals that dates back to lalor days. remember him tearing tulla apart on one leg and kicking 4 0r 5 in an a grade granny against oak park.

My North
31 Aug 2006, 10:32
This story was in the herald sun today and also on there web page.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,20309557-2862,00.html

Seven-year ban for junior footy playerKate Rose

August 31, 2006 12:00am

A TEENAGE footballer has been banned for seven years for striking an umpire

The under-18 player copped the career-ending suspension after going "troppo" in an Essendon District Football League semi-final on Sunday.
The teen played for Doutta Stars in their 88-60 win over Strathmore.

Strathmore secretary Ross Higgins said he had never seen anything like it.

"He lost his cool. He grabbed at the umpire. The player grabbed the umpire," he said.

Mr Higgins said the incident happened when a second free kick was awarded to Strathmore near goal after it had converted the first.

"The umpire had paid a couple of free kicks, one that had resulted in a goal and another that was going to result in a goal, and the kid just went troppo," he said.

According to the tribunal website, R. Gordon was found guilty of abuse, assaulting and striking the umpire and was banned for seven years.

Neither the Doutta Stars nor the EDFL returned calls to the Herald Sun last night. But local umpires backed the seven-year ban.

"Hopefully this sends the message to players that it's not acceptable," said EDFL Umpires Association president David Sullivan.

"I think the tribunal has taken a good stance.

"From our point of view, we think it's a good decision," he said.

"We hate to see things like that happen. Unfortunately it does happen from time to time, but touch wood it doesn't happen again."

Mr Sullivan said the umpire involved in the incident would continue to officiate.

Football Victoria manager of development and planning Mick Daniher said suburban leagues found it hard to attract umpires, and they must be protected at all costs.

"That's a very serious offence, and I think every football league facing such a severe incident like that would want to be taking strong action against that," he said.

"I don't think it's an unreasonable penalty for striking an umpire.

"The whole industry of Australian football is wanting to recruit and retain umpires, and one of the negatives . . . is the way umpires are treated and the abuse they receive. So we want to take a strong stance against any abuse of umpires."

The incident follows one in which Heatherton Cricket Club coach and vice-captain Daryl Rose, 33, was banned this year for 10 years after threatening to kill an umpire.

Last year a junior football coach was banned for three years for abusing an umpire.

bricksta
31 Aug 2006, 15:57
This story was in the herald sun today and also on there web page.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,20309557-2862,00.html

Seven-year ban for junior footy playerKate Rose

August 31, 2006 12:00am

A TEENAGE footballer has been banned for seven years for striking an umpire

The under-18 player copped the career-ending suspension after going "troppo" in an Essendon District Football League semi-final on Sunday.
The teen played for Doutta Stars in their 88-60 win over Strathmore.

Strathmore secretary Ross Higgins said he had never seen anything like it.

"He lost his cool. He grabbed at the umpire. The player grabbed the umpire," he said.

Mr Higgins said the incident happened when a second free kick was awarded to Strathmore near goal after it had converted the first.

"The umpire had paid a couple of free kicks, one that had resulted in a goal and another that was going to result in a goal, and the kid just went troppo," he said.

According to the tribunal website, R. Gordon was found guilty of abuse, assaulting and striking the umpire and was banned for seven years.

Neither the Doutta Stars nor the EDFL returned calls to the Herald Sun last night. But local umpires backed the seven-year ban.

"Hopefully this sends the message to players that it's not acceptable," said EDFL Umpires Association president David Sullivan.

"I think the tribunal has taken a good stance.

"From our point of view, we think it's a good decision," he said.

"We hate to see things like that happen. Unfortunately it does happen from time to time, but touch wood it doesn't happen again."

Mr Sullivan said the umpire involved in the incident would continue to officiate.

Football Victoria manager of development and planning Mick Daniher said suburban leagues found it hard to attract umpires, and they must be protected at all costs.

"That's a very serious offence, and I think every football league facing such a severe incident like that would want to be taking strong action against that," he said.

"I don't think it's an unreasonable penalty for striking an umpire.

"The whole industry of Australian football is wanting to recruit and retain umpires, and one of the negatives . . . is the way umpires are treated and the abuse they receive. So we want to take a strong stance against any abuse of umpires."

The incident follows one in which Heatherton Cricket Club coach and vice-captain Daryl Rose, 33, was banned this year for 10 years after threatening to kill an umpire.

Last year a junior football coach was banned for three years for abusing an umpire.

Must have been a slow news day...

molly99
31 Aug 2006, 16:07
and interesting to read he left Albion because they ran out of MONEY!!!! I think his forehead is stamped at the moment and NO A GRADE club would touch him after his time at douttasJust goes to show your a F U C K I N G GOOSE pal you only know what you read and theres never much truth to things you read. Anyway if your place of employment ran out of money thats if you have a job goose would you work for free i dont think so.And what happened at Douttas? I think he kicked 110 goals in 1 season. As for no a grade club touching him its funny that 2 EDFL A GRADE clubs rang him when he left ALBION. Who the f u c k are you anyway you just sound like a real jelous person that isnt a very good footballer so you get on here and talk about things you have no idea about. DUMB C U N T!!!

Barts
31 Aug 2006, 16:10
Must have been a slow news day...

The papers always print stories as these Bricksta. A player belting an umpire is not something that happens everyday.

aberdaberdo
31 Aug 2006, 16:13
Just goes to show your a F U C K I N G GOOSE pal you only know what you read and theres never much truth to things you read. Anyway if your place of employment ran out of money thats if you have a job goose would you work for free i dont think so.And what happened at Douttas? I think he kicked 110 goals in 1 season. As for no a grade club touching him its funny that 2 EDFL A GRADE clubs rang him when he left ALBION. Who the f u c k are you anyway you just sound like a real jelous person that isnt a very good footballer so you get on here and talk about things you have no idea about. DUMB C U N T!!!

Judging by his grammar and complete mastery of the english language this may be the great man himself!

litening
31 Aug 2006, 16:35
Like to know peoples thoughts on the finals system.....

An A & B grade top 6 - finals footy brings in the big crowds and an extra couple of weeks of finals would be terriffic - a grade especially is over too quick.....:thumbsu:

sloth6
31 Aug 2006, 16:38
As a former A grade player litening, you will be well aware of the massive difference between the top 4 teams and the bottom six.

No point in making it a top six when the top three would beat them by 20 goals minimum.

The G Ghost
31 Aug 2006, 16:52
Judging by his grammar and complete mastery of the english language this may be the great man himself!Most wonderfully put Abers, his eloquent use of the english languauge, and wording is definately something to behold.:D

litening
31 Aug 2006, 16:54
As a former A grade player litening, you will be well aware of the massive difference between the top 4 teams and the bottom six.

No point in making it a top six when the top three would beat them by 20 goals minimum.

Get your point their Sloth - but if it were 1 v 2, 3 v 4 and 5 v 6 those top teams probably wont even have to face the bottom two ot three.

Particularly in A grade the top 4 is often settled a fair way out from home - the teams that finish 5th and 6th arent that far off the pace.

Finals are a whole new ball game as well.

bricksta
31 Aug 2006, 16:58
The papers always print stories as these Bricksta. A player belting an umpire is not something that happens everyday.

He did not belt the umpire..:thumbsu:

My North
31 Aug 2006, 16:59
Just goes to show your a F U C K I N G GOOSE pal you only know what you read and theres never much truth to things you read. Anyway if your place of employment ran out of money thats if you have a job goose would you work for free i dont think so.And what happened at Douttas? I think he kicked 110 goals in 1 season. As for no a grade club touching him its funny that 2 EDFL A GRADE clubs rang him when he left ALBION. Who the f u c k are you anyway you just sound like a real jelous person that isnt a very good footballer so you get on here and talk about things you have no idea about. DUMB C U N T!!!

Which clubs??? name the clubs.

litening
31 Aug 2006, 16:59
Get your point their Sloth - but if it were 1 v 2, 3 v 4 and 5 v 6 those top teams probably wont even have to face the bottom two ot three.

Particularly in A grade the top 4 is often settled a fair way out from home - the teams that finish 5th and 6th arent that far off the pace.

Finals are a whole new ball game as well.

Apologies, that may sound confusing.....i mean not far off the pace ability wise from 3rd and 4th.

Teams 5th, 6th and even 7 and 8 might fight out the season a little longer if they can sneak into a top 6.:thumbsu:

My North
31 Aug 2006, 17:01
Like to know peoples thoughts on the finals system.....

An A & B grade top 6 - finals footy brings in the big crowds and an extra couple of weeks of finals would be terriffic - a grade especially is over too quick.....:thumbsu:

A top 6 out of a 10 team grade does not sit well with me

litening
31 Aug 2006, 17:01
Most wonderfully put Abers, his eloquent use of the english languauge, and wording is definately something to behold.:D

G Ghost......definately is spelt definitely, if you want to really be petty....;) :thumbsu:

molly99
31 Aug 2006, 17:08
Which clubs??? name the clubs.DOUTTA STARS AND CRAIGIEBURN.

Hard Ball Get
31 Aug 2006, 17:11

Still a 7 year ban deserves to be reported in the papers.
Also any touching of an umpire deserves such a punishment.
THumbs up to the EDFL for finally taking a hard approach when needed.:thumbsu:

My North
31 Aug 2006, 17:22
DOUTTA STARS AND CRAIGIEBURN.

are you sure about Doutta Stars?

molly99
31 Aug 2006, 17:23
Most wonderfully put Abers, his eloquent use of the english languauge, and wording is definately something to behold.:DWell said professor F U C k W I T T!!!

Barts
31 Aug 2006, 17:43

So why does the EDFL site have: Under 18 R Gordon Doutta Stars Abuse, Assaulting & Striking Umpire - 7 years ????

Misprint or have you got your facts wrong?

mcphee_is_a_gun
31 Aug 2006, 17:45
So why does the EDFL site have: Under 18 R Gordon Doutta Stars Abuse, Assaulting & Striking Umpire - 7 years ????

He threw a punch but the ump ducked so he didnt actually make contact.

molly99
31 Aug 2006, 17:52
are you sure about Doutta Stars?110% champ!

drplds
31 Aug 2006, 17:54

East Keilor player i think it was Wittmar got 6 weeks last year for abusing and pushing an umpire so he (doutta U18) must have done something very bad

Hard Ball Get
31 Aug 2006, 17:59

Some conflicting stories here.
Anyone actually there?
If this one is true then he deserves more than 7 years. He deserves life.

If he simply grabed the ump then I think the 7 year punishment is adequate.

aberdaberdo
31 Aug 2006, 18:07
Well said professor F U C k W I T T!!!

That confirms it. It is AJ!

mcphee_is_a_gun
31 Aug 2006, 18:38
Some conflicting stories here.
Anyone actually there?
If this one is true then he deserves more than 7 years. He deserves life.

If he simply grabed the ump then I think the 7 year punishment is adequate.
my mate was at the game and saw the whole thing.

Heartbreak Kid
31 Aug 2006, 18:53
Well said professor F U C k W I T T!!!

Your an angry guy Molly:mad: :mad: :mad: Just relax a bit mate, lm sure James is a top bloke but dont get ****ed because not everyone loves him:D :D :D

juliand
31 Aug 2006, 22:02
110% champ!

So why didnt you go AJ? Could these clubs not supply enough Hot Dogs and pies? That was a flattering pic of you in the paper the other day. Still enjoy a bourbon or 60? And how is the champ of a younger bro going? Will he be part of the superstar package that is the James family?:thumbsu: :cool: :cool:

Canna7
31 Aug 2006, 23:10

What a load of rubbish! He did not throw or attempt to throw a punch.

I saw with my own two eyes and have also spoken to the player himself since then.

I am not defending his actions, what he did was wrong, but just making sure everyone knows the truth.

As for the newspapers and websites claiming he "struck" the umpire, that is pure bullsh*t.

Macca29
1 Sep 2006, 08:25
Everyone's tips for the weekend.

WC v Pacco - WC i hope because Marbi will be better suited playing them than Pacco. WC haven't got the runners to go with Marbi, the week of will definately assist and WC's bigger bodies will suffer on the biggest stage. Good luck to both teams, i think that WC with their backs against the wall (play their best footy) will get up, a completey different side if Rabee plays - the premier midfielder in both grades i reckon.
DS v Greenvale - Very very tough to pick a winner here, even more so given Douttas couple of injuries last week. Will Toddy Peel get a guernsey?
Do Douttas have enough strength down back if GV setup with Paxman, Georgie, Budge, Smith and Co. I'll tip Douttas just even though Lenne will have a day out, i think Carey will kick a half D.

Good luck to invloved!!!

bricksta
1 Sep 2006, 08:42

he did not that is a pure b*llsh*t how would the umpire duck, all he did was grab the umpires jumper and shake him that is it NO PUNCHES thrown get your facts right before you mouth off boys:thumbsd:

bricksta
1 Sep 2006, 08:47
my mate was at the game and saw the whole thing.

your mate must have had his eyes closed, if he threw a punch he would have been given life and put up on assualt charges thus he got 7 years

obviously not a gun your mate is he:thumbsd:

DND ME
1 Sep 2006, 09:33
What a load of rubbish! He did not throw or attempt to throw a punch.

I saw with my own two eyes and have also spoken to the player himself since then.

I am not defending his actions, what he did was wrong, but just making sure everyone knows the truth.

As for the newspapers and websites claiming he "struck" the umpire, that is pure bullsh*t.

He did not intentionally hit the umpire – he grabbed him and shook him 3 times. But when pulling a person backwards and forwards with clenched fists your bound to make contact! He never had any intentions to hit him. Hope that clears everything up.

Aussie_dude
1 Sep 2006, 10:01
Most wonderfully put Abers, his eloquent use of the english languauge, and wording is definately something to behold.:D

what is this the vafa forum where you have to reduce yourself to mocking a person for how fluently they can write?

Therussian
1 Sep 2006, 10:13
he did not that is a pure b*llsh*t how would the umpire duck, all he did was grab the umpires jumper and shake him that is it NO PUNCHES thrown get your facts right before you mouth off boys:thumbsd:

ALL HE DID???

well he should have got off then, Are there bricks in your head or what?
open the other eye Bricksta,

bricksta
1 Sep 2006, 10:25
ALL HE DID???

well he should have got off then, Are there bricks in your head or what?
open the other eye Bricksta,

Serious Russian you are not that Dumb are you.....

Hard Ball Get
1 Sep 2006, 10:43

So the 7 years is deserved then.
If he threw a punch as some claim, even if he didnt make contact, then he deserved life.
If no punch was thrown the 7 years is a decent enough punishment. Possibly could have been more but no less.
We need to take a zero tollerance on this stuff.
Same should be happening for king hits but what are the chances of that:rolleyes:

The G Ghost
1 Sep 2006, 11:08
G Ghost......definately is spelt definitely, if you want to really be petty....;) :thumbsu:Yeah sorry Litening, got a bit carried away with the typing. That's why I don't play the piano - fat fingers !:D

bricksta
1 Sep 2006, 11:12
If he threw a punch as some claim, even if he didnt make contact, then he deserved life.
If no punch was thrown the 7 years is a decent enough punishment. Possibly could have been more but no less.
Same should be happening for king hits but what are the chances of that:rolleyes:

He got what he got and that is the end of it...

Yes well the dumb f*ck that king hit me behind play, he was playing for Glenroy back in the day got 4 weeks while i had a broken jaw.....seems fair dont it

The G Ghost
1 Sep 2006, 11:16
what is this the vafa forum where you have to reduce yourself to mocking a person for how fluently they can write?Get fair dinkum Aussie, you can't seriously believe the way he adds his ordinary F's & C's that it's needed. Nothing to do with mocking, there's no need for him to be using such filth.

The G Ghost
1 Sep 2006, 11:20
Same should be happening for king hits but what are the chances of that:rolleyes:The player rag-dolled the umpire (Shook him 3 times and pushed him to the ground), the 7 years was a correct decision. Even those at Douttas believe he was dealt with accordingly.

Aussie_dude
1 Sep 2006, 11:25
Get fair dinkum Aussie, you can't seriously believe the way he adds his ordinary F's & C's that it's needed. Nothing to do with mocking, there's no need for him to be using such filth.

so why not just say what you did then, why make jibs at peoples literacy skills. we all cant be as smart as you. but what he said was a bit over the top.

WRFLfan
1 Sep 2006, 11:28
Yeah thats my typing (not writing), and whats them being my old team got to do with it its not like theres been any love lost there but still have some mates down there running around, and u want honesty well lets just say that is the most stupid question i've ever been asked (hows that 4 honesty) and i won't even dignify it with a response coz ur insulting me even thinking i couldn't. As for the best player yeah he was the best player on the day and maybe he finally realised that the better footy was in this comp not the one hes been running around in where he wouldn't get the best out of himself, but i'll give u one thing yeah it maybe more physical in your league but thats only coz the ball is on the deck alot more as the skills ain't as good. And just to finish with what am i doing sitting here listening to a bloke who doesn't even play the game anymore gee D Mac what have u got yourself into, i better find some actual footballers to talk to b4 i lose my pride and dignity Catcha WRFL CHUMP
Pride and dignity .......... two things not associated with yourself move on and who speaks of themselves in the 3rd person please get out of your own arse Go Colts!

Hard Ball Get
1 Sep 2006, 11:33
Yes well the dumb f*ck that king hit me behind play, he was playing for Glenroy back in the day got 4 weeks while i had a broken jaw.....seems fair dont it

They deserve a long stint on the sidelines as well.
Touching an ump is worse but a king hit deserves 5 years in my book.

WRFLfan
1 Sep 2006, 11:37
Judging by his grammar and complete mastery of the english language this may be the great man himself!
Or his brother

Found it strange that 1st and 2nd would play at Keilor and 3rd and 4th at Windy hill, someone said its because Keilors ground but why should the top two teams lose the right to play at Windy Hill, DVFL have finals at Epping and WRFL used to have them at Yarrville so its only fair l think that 1st and 2nd desever the right to play at the better venue

EDFL MAN
1 Sep 2006, 11:46
Or his brother

Found it strange that 1st and 2nd would play at Keilor and 3rd and 4th at Windy hill, someone said its because Keilors ground but why should the top two teams lose the right to play at Windy Hill, DVFL have finals at Epping and WRFL used to have them at Yarrville so its only fair l think that 1st and 2nd desever the right to play at the better venue

We have a winner.....;) :thumbsu:

drplds
1 Sep 2006, 12:10
Is Rabee playing this week EDFL MAN?

EDFL MAN
1 Sep 2006, 12:11
Is Rabee playing this week EDFL MAN?

Correct, the great man will be playing! :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Nemo
1 Sep 2006, 12:56
Can anybody give us the ins and outs of the A Grade prelim.?

sticks04
1 Sep 2006, 13:49
Can anybody give us the ins and outs of the A Grade prelim.?

I read in the Herald Sun today that Craigieburn have advertised for a Senior Coach - Has Sheldon been given his Marching orders ???

Looks like a A Grade coaching Merry Go Round for 07... Can anyone confirm or deny the following

Mores - J Doering ?
Doutta - ?????
Greenvale MacPherson
Keilor - Edwards / Callahan

Avondale - Brad LLoyd ?
Oak Park - Shimmelbusch
Craigieburn - Advertised ??
Aberfeldie - Advertised ??
Keilor Park - Gaylard / Rioli
Marby Park - Callendar ????

A grade Douttas by 20 pts this week

B gradePaco Vale by 14 pts.....

JAMA
1 Sep 2006, 13:57
I read in the Herald Sun today that Craigieburn have advertised for a Senior Coach - Has Sheldon been given his Marching orders ???

Looks like a A Grade coaching Merry Go Round for 07... Can anyone confirm or deny the following

Mores - J Doering ?
Doutta - ?????
Greenvale MacPherson
Keilor - Edwards / Callahan

Avondale - Brad LLoyd ?
Oak Park - Shimmelbusch
Craigieburn - Advertised ??
Marby Park - Callendar ????

Sticks, if the Rioli / Gaylard duo comes if off, along with rumoured signings, do you still stand by your comment that Gaylard was the worse choice the club has ever made ??:confused:

The G Ghost
1 Sep 2006, 13:58
so why not just say what you did then, why make jibs at peoples literacy skills. we all cant be as smart as you. but what he said was a bit over the top.That's all it was, sorry if I offended anyone. Just thought the use of language was over the top.:thumbsu:

EDFL MAN
1 Sep 2006, 14:04

Mores - J Doering ? (Hille will stay.)
Doutta - B.Gray
Greenvale MacPherson
Keilor - Edwards / Paul Houston

Avondale - Brad LLoyd ? Edit: S.Harvey Little
Oak Park - Shimmelbusch - Gone! R.Rooney
Craigieburn - Advertised ?? Adrian Barjic

Marby Park - Callendar ???? B.Duncan

These are my seletions and changes! ;)

sticks04
1 Sep 2006, 14:14
Sticks, if the Rioli / Gaylard duo comes if off, along with rumoured signings, do you still stand by your comment that Gaylard was the worse choice the club has ever made ??:confused:

Jama,

Will it be a dual role ? Has he been reappointed ??

After watching them early in the year they definitely improved dramatically.... Vital they Keep Broadbent IMO

drplds
1 Sep 2006, 14:16
These are my seletions and changes! ;)

What about B Grade EDFL MAN what are the changes/rumours about coaches? There are a few positions vacant/advertised

drplds
1 Sep 2006, 14:18
Jama,

Will it be a dual role ? Has he been reappointed ??

After watching them early in the year they definitely improved dramatically.... Vital they Keep Broadbent IMO

WRFL thread says that Broadbent is assistant coach of Albion with J.Shanks

EDFL MAN
1 Sep 2006, 14:25
What about B Grade EDFL MAN what are the changes/rumours about coaches? There are a few positions vacant/advertised

I'll have a crack:

Glenroy: Ash Manning
Airport West: Ian Denny (no change)
Hadfield: Who cares really! :eek:
West Coburg: Peter Zouzounis?
Pascoe Valw: Alan Ezard
North Coburg Saints: Mills/Luvara
Taylors Lakes: ???
Jacana: Robert Scardamaglia
Westmeadows: Dale Chadwick
Tullamarine: ???
Marby Park: B.Ducan
Roxy Park:Jonh Barbuto
Sydenham Hillside: ???
Moonee Valley: ????

These are only my opinions men!

EDFL MAN
1 Sep 2006, 14:26
WRFL thread says that Broadbent is assistant coach of Albion with J.Shanks

Thats correct, S.Broadbent has gone over with J.Shanks! :thumbsu:

bomber44
1 Sep 2006, 14:45
Thats correct, S.Broadbent has gone over with J.Shanks! :thumbsu:

From the horses mouth Broadbent will play "anywhere but here" (K Park). Finally gets to hang with Shanks......
As for KP it would be great to get a personality like Rioli to the comp but as has been discussed extensively on this site.... $$$$$ talks. When it all comes down to it Rioli can attract 20 players but they all need to be paid and they all take a spot of a local player. They need to be carefull there and continue a gradual build to avoid the vacuum of local players leaving. Good luck to them though......

JC1981
1 Sep 2006, 14:47
How the **** does Julian Shanks continue to get senior coaching jobs, from my knowledge he has coached Melton with no success, East Keilor with no success and Keilor Park with no success there seems to be a farmiliar trend here.... What do Albion seriously think he is going to add to there club.

He was a good VFL player but is not a coaches as..s whole.

Giveyathemail
1 Sep 2006, 14:50
How the **** does Julian Shanks continue to get senior coaching jobs, from my knowledge he has coached Melton with no success, East Keilor with no success and Keilor Park with no success there seems to be a farmiliar trend here.... What do Albion seriously think he is going to add to there club.

Notice the trend... They are s h i t clubs. Shanksy is a cluey bloke, I think he likes a challenge.

bomber44
1 Sep 2006, 14:53

Good question......... My best explanation for it is that he must go relatively cheap. Makes for a good 'wedge' coach for clubs struggling or rebuilding. No intimate knowledge, just an educated guess if you look at the clubs he's been at and where they where at when he was there.....

JC1981
1 Sep 2006, 14:56
Notice the trend... They are s h i t clubs. Shanksy is a cluey bloke, I think he likes a challenge.

Melton won the flag in the BFL last year with a very similar list to when Shanks was there, East Keilor played finals the year before he coached there and Keilor Park had Joe Misiti and a list of other recruits play for them yet did not improve a position on the EDFL ladder..