View Full Version : Pathetic by Fergus Watts
just maybe
22 Sep 2005, 18:44
Adelaide is a hop, skip and jump away from Melbourne. Kids go OVERSEAS for university all the time, yet this prat thinks he can claim homesickness? FFS...he's paid enough to go home every week if he is so homesick. Virgin Blue tickets cost bugger-all.
Unlike players who have genuinely given something to the club, Fergus has walked out at the end of his mandatory preliminary deal and given nothing in return.
And even worse is he said he wanted to be a one-club, 10 year player with the Crows. Care to rephrase, Fergus?
I hope he is an abject failure, whichever club he goes to.
A gift from above
22 Sep 2005, 18:51
lots of players that leave clubs early are failures. Infact we had one leave us today in ladhams. There are a few successes there to though. It suggests mental weakness to me. The really good players will player wherever they want cause they love to play. It is pis$ weak to leave after two yrs, your right.
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 18:52
Is he going to give us back the $80000 or so in wages we spent so he could keep fit and further his footballing education?
What a complete and utter waste of time.
Wayne's-World
22 Sep 2005, 18:54
One of the very very few who have left their club after the initial 2 year contract - dare I say this may ultimately be a good thing for the club given his attitude.
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 18:55
Ironically, didn't we pass on the West Aussie Brent Hall from that year's draft for this very reason?
Glad to see we did our homework.
Stiffy_18
22 Sep 2005, 18:56
Is he going to give us back the $80000 or so in wages we spent so he could keep fit and further his footballing education?
Or $100000s pupmed into his development
Watts said: “I’m not coming to Adelaide to be here for two years and then leave, so, yeah, I see myself as a one-club player and a long-term prospect, so hopefully it all pans out that way.” == UTTER BULL********!!!!!! :mad:
Blame the system, not the player. Given the choice initially, I'm sure he would have signed with a Melbourne club.
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 18:57
Blame the system, not the player. Given the choice initially, I'm sure he would have signed with a Melbourne club.
It's the AFL.
Are we just supposed to draft South Australians now?
A gift from above
22 Sep 2005, 19:02
One of the very very few who have left their club after the initial 2 year contract - dare I say this may ultimately be a good thing for the club given his attitude.
thats a interesting view. I dont think he has the mental ability after this to be come a top class player. In terms of the club it is a wasted first round pick. Its difficult to get something to replace him now. Come on trent!
Ironically, didn't we pass on the West Aussie Brent Hall from that year's draft for this very reason?
Sorry, dyertribe. I'm not singling you out, I just happen to be replying to one of your posts again.
Fergus may well have been happy to come over here initially (not that it necessarily would have been his first choice, as I have no doubt it wouldn't have been) but in the last two years has changed his mind. It happens. No amount of homework on a player can forsee that happening. As it has been mentioned elsewhere recently, Kane Johnson and Brent Reilly both weren't happy at all about being drafted to us. Yet those two have stayed the longest out of any of them.
People change their mind. Especially people as young as that who haven't had much adult experience.
It's the AFL.
Are we just supposed to draft South Australians now?
As I said blame the system. Let's not pretend we haven't benefitted ourselves in similar situations. Scott Thompson a classic example. He wanted to play in Adelaide. Watts wants to play in Melbourne. The system allows it to happen. So why shouldn't they?
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 19:09
Sorry, dyertribe. I'm not singling you out, I just happen to be replying to one of your posts again.
Fergus may well have been happy to come over here initially (not that it necessarily would have been his first choice, as I have no doubt it wouldn't have been) but in the last two years has changed his mind. It happens. No amount of homework on a player can forsee that happening. As it has been mentioned elsewhere recently, Kane Johnson and Brent Reilly both weren't happy at all about being drafted to us. Yet those two have stayed the longest out of any of them.
People change their mind. Especially people as young as that who haven't had much adult experience.
Yeah, we're just the poor schmucks who have once again been screwed over by such a clown and have wasted yet another first round draft pick and plenty of time and money in wages and development.
Brent Williams
Tom Gilligan
Laurence Angwin
Fergus Watts
Who's next?
In light of this repeated phenomenon, if the AFL doesn't amend the F/S rules to include our first year in the comp, just like WCE and Port's time periods, so we can snag a South Aussie in Bryce Gibbs... well...
Wayne's-World
22 Sep 2005, 19:09
As I said blame the system. Let's not pretend we haven't benefitted ourselves in similar situations. Scott Thompson a classic example. He wanted to play in Adelaide. Watts wants to play in Melbourne. The system allows it to happen. So why shouldn't they?
Correct - but lets remember under the current socialist footy system its harder for a kid to return to WA and SA than back to Vic (2 V 2 V 12)
Every club should have first choice on a player from their state (order depending on end of season ladder finish) then have a draft proper.
Give Victoria Tasmania and Brisbane and Sydney can have a player either from their state or NT/ACT.
just maybe
22 Sep 2005, 19:10
Yet ANOTHER wasted first round pick...
Fred Phillis
22 Sep 2005, 19:12
yeah, F.U fergus...
here's his oh so lame comments from a club statement
“The Adelaide Football Club has been very good to me and I have
enjoyed my learning experience at the Club and with the players. However I feel
Melbourne would serve me best in both my private and football life.
It has not been an easy decision. The Club and the players have put immense pressure
on me to stay but I believe the decision is in my best interest and I hope that decision is
respected.”
RESPECTED???!!!! respect has to be earnt fergus...
Reid's response:
“that lengthy discussions with the
Coach, players and management were unable to change Fergus’s mind. It is definitely
not related to contractual matters as Fergus was offered a healthy contract to stay.
As disappointed as we are we respect Fergus’s position in the matter. The Club will
make all endeavors to procure a replacement player or a high draft pick for Fergus’s
transfer.”
Correct - but lets remember under the current socialist footy system its harder for a kid to return to WA and SA than back to Vic (2 V 2 V 12)
and if a player wants to return home to SA how many competing clubs are there? 2 or 12?
I can see maths is not your strong suit.
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 19:13
The system is already stacked against us to begin with.
And don't kid yourself with the Thompson scenario - we gave adequate compensation for him and everyone involved the deal walked away happy.
If Watts wants to be a real prick he could hold and out and nominate for the PS Draft a la Nick Stevens - Victorian clubs have a monopoly on picks so he wins either way.
If someone like Darren Jarman, Scott Thompson or Matthew Pavlich wants to come home we have had to, and will have to, pay through the nose.
Right now every Vic club who comes in for Watts is already dealing from a position of strength due to the draft situation.
Nightwolf
22 Sep 2005, 19:13
Give me a break, every club has players who get "homesick", its pathetic yes, but you arent complaining about Thompson or possibly a Cooney coming home eventually...
rubbers0ul
22 Sep 2005, 19:14
For everyone saying fergus is 6'6 this would be something like 198 cm, in the sanfl budget on sunday he is listed at 189 cm which is about 6'2 which if is true is obviously not a power forward. he is also listed at only 75 kg.
NOW; if these are true he is clearly not a player the crows can build there forward line around rather he would be a number 3 or at best 2 key forward!
Truck Rutten
22 Sep 2005, 19:15
Every club should have first choice on a player from their state (order depending on end of season ladder finish) then have a draft proper.
Give Victoria Tasmania and Brisbane and Sydney can have a player either from their state or NT/ACT.
Pretty good system *PAF. I'm definitely in favour of some form of zone selection for each club.
Wayne's-World
22 Sep 2005, 19:15
and if a player wants to return home to SA how many competing clubs are there? 2 or 12?
I can see maths is not your strong suit.
I think you should re- read the post
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 19:16
Give me a break, every club has players who get "homesick", its pathetic yes, but you arent complaining about Thompson or possibly a Cooney coming home eventually...
We gave up Tyson Stenglein - who was also homesick - to get Thompson, who were in turn compensated with Brent Moloney as part of wider deals.
What's the problem?
In regards to Cooney or Pavlich or Griffen, assuming us or Port don't finish bottom in the near future, we'll have to pay through the nose to get them back.
Nick Stevens was able to walk out on Port for nothing.
Fergus Watts is able to walk out on us for nothing because the first 6 or 7 picks in the PS Draft are owned by Vic Clubs - as such we are already at a disadvantage come trade week.
See how this works, or?
The AFC better get someone/something good in return.
just maybe
22 Sep 2005, 19:16
Let's quote dyertribe, pal:
And don't kid yourself with the Thompson scenario - we gave adequate compensation for him and everyone involved the deal walked away happy.
If Watts wants to be a real prick he could hold and out and nominate for the PS Draft a la Nick Stevens - Victorian clubs have a monopoly on picks so he wins either way.
If someone like Darren Jarman, Scott Thompson or Matthew Pavlich wants to come home we have had to, and will have to, pay through the nose.
Right now every Vic club who comes in for Watts is already dealing from a position of strength due to the draft situation.
Porthos
22 Sep 2005, 19:17
Give me a break, every club has players who get "homesick", its pathetic yes, but you arent complaining about Thompson or possibly a Cooney coming home eventually...Considering the main leverage all of these Victorian kids in recent years is the fact that entering the PSD would get them home, guaranteed, it would require that one of Adelaide or Port finish bottom to achieve the same advantage.
just maybe
22 Sep 2005, 19:17
For everyone saying fergus is 6'6 this would be something like 198 cm, in the sanfl budget on sunday he is listed at 189 cm which is about 6'2 which if is true is obviously not a power forward. he is also listed at only 75 kg.
NOW; if these are true he is clearly not a player the crows can build there forward line around rather he would be a number 3 or at best 2 key forward!
The SANFL Budget is badly wrong.
He's 197 cm and 91 kg, Don't believe everything you read ****************!
Russian
22 Sep 2005, 19:18
It's the AFL.
Are we just supposed to draft South Australians now?No but when you don't you know this might happen. All contracts expire, and when they do - some stay and some move on to something else.
I know that. I keep going back to the first line of my post. Blame the system.
But also, the SA teams have the benefit of a 50/50 chance when someone does return, as opposed to Vic teams who have a 1 in 10 chance.
Macca19
22 Sep 2005, 19:23
I wouldnt be using the SANFL Football Budget to back up anything. Its always wrong
Nightwolf
You guys are sounding like you are not going to get anything in return, unlikely me thinks...
Its not worth crying over it, every club is the same, hell, we've lost McPharlin, Chick and Jarman off the top of my head. Thats 3 pretty big names...
But also, the SA teams have the benefit of a 50/50 chance when someone does return, as opposed to Vic teams who have a 1 in 10 chance.
This same thing means that it is impossible to get them via the PSD so we have to pay ridicilous prices for them in trade week unless either us or Port finish 16th which i don't see happening.
dees_best
Adelaide is a hop, skip and jump away from Melbourne. Kids go OVERSEAS for university all the time, yet this prat thinks he can claim homesickness? FFS...he's paid enough to go home every week if he is so homesick. Virgin Blue tickets cost bugger-all.
Unlike players who have genuinely given something to the club, Fergus has walked out at the end of his mandatory preliminary deal and given nothing in return.
And even worse is he said he wanted to be a one-club, 10 year player with the Crows. Care to rephrase, Fergus?
I hope he is an abject failure, whichever club he goes to.
The exact same thing happened to us with Scott Thompson.
Karma baby! :D
snakebite01
Nick Stevens was able to walk out on Port for nothing.
Fergus Watts is able to walk out on us for nothing because the first 6 or 7 picks in the PS Draft are owned by Vic Clubs - as such we are already at a disadvantage come trade week.
See how this works, or?
Just on this though, surely a Richmond, Essendon, Bulldogs, St. Kilda, Kangaroos etc will come in for Watts. (ie. middle to upper end of the table club)
We're not obliged to let him go to the club of his choice. If he wants to go to St. Kilda for example, but a better offer comes in from the Bulldogs, then he can go to the Bulldogs. Fergus has said he wants to return to Melbourne, therefore I highly doubt that he'll just be let into the PSD. Surely one of the 10 Melb clubs will offer something at trade week, and whoever offers the best compensation is who we deal with, regardless of Fergus' preferences.
dyertribe
1 in 10 (Vic) get a shot at getting someone home for free or relatively little, see Nick Stevens.
1 in 2 (SA, WA) get a shot at giving up first rounders/young guns to get someone home, see Scott Thompson, Darren Jarman, Tyson Stenglein, Josh Carr.
You guys are sounding like you are not going to get anything in return, unlikely me thinks...
Its not worth crying over it, every club is the same, hell, we've lost McPharlin, Chick and Jarman off the top of my head. Thats 3 pretty big names...
Who all gave you years of service before leaving.
We are yet to see what we get for Watts, so let's reserve our judgement on that.
Anyway, I have a solution that will fix that problem. Abolish the preseason draft. Then teams that want these players will have to take them at the expense of a youngster. Then they are more likely to want to trade. Simple.
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 19:24
Don't rate Brent Moloney, or?
Gave you years of service instead of just one contract.
Nightwolf
22 Sep 2005, 19:25
Who all gave you years of service before leaving.
McPharlin didnt...
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 19:26
You got Luke Hodge as part of the McPharlin deal.
You got Paul Salmon as part of the Jarman deal.
You got Luke Brennan as part of the Chick deal.
Yeah, you must still be gutted.
Wayne's-World
22 Sep 2005, 19:26
That is not the point - forget if you are trying to get to a team of choice, if the objective is to get to your state of choice seeing as the interstate clubs are always in the finals it is far far easier to get to a Melbourne club
McPharlin didnt...
Didn't u get a number 1 pick for him (After Croad jumped around)
Practically it was for Luke Hodge for Pick 13(2003) and Luke McPharlin. Do you think that's fair? Because he went to WA freo had little option but to pay top dollar for him but when players go to Victoria they will almost certainly be able to do so via the PSD leaving clubs uncompensated a la Stevens.
Nightwolf
22 Sep 2005, 19:28
You got Luke Hodge as part of the McPharlin deal.
You got Paul Salmon as part of the Jarman deal.
You got Luke Brennan as part of the Chick deal.
Yeah, you must still be gutted.
Well we are good traders, what can i say? ;)
dyertribe
22 Sep 2005, 19:29
We are yet to see what we get for Watts, so let's reserve our judgement on that.
Anyway, I have a solution that will fix that problem. Abolish the preseason draft. Then teams that want these players will have to take them at the expense of a youngster. Then they are more likely to want to trade. Simple.
Ah but the PS Draft does exist, and thus is stacked in favour of homesick Victorian kids who have a 10 in 16 chance of going home automatically as opposed to homesick WA/SA kids who have a 2 in 16 chance of going home automatically.
You can say blame the system and in essence this is correct, but the flawed system hurts us more than it hurts the clubs east of us - and anyone with cold feet and their agent knows this, and has less of a chance to be persuaded to stay when their ticket is more often than not guaranteed.
Well we are good traders, what can i say? ;)
And you have the advantage of being in Victoria ...
Gunners Man
22 Sep 2005, 19:30
Just out of interest what would you guys accept for him
Ist round pick?
Players from Brissy(my club), Doggies (need KPP), Saints (father), Blues, Pies
????
That is not the point - forget if you are trying to get to a team of choice, if the objective is to get to your state of choice seeing as the interstate clubs are always in the finals it is far far easier to get to a Melbourne club
I have already emphasised that I know there are problems with the system -
I know that. I keep going back to the first line of my post. Blame the system, not the player.
Nightwolf
22 Sep 2005, 19:30
Didn't u get a number 1 pick for him (After Croad jumped around)
Practically it was for Luke Hodge for Pick 13(2003) and Luke McPharlin. Do you think that's fair? Because he went to WA freo had little option but to pay top dollar for him but when players go to Victoria they will almost certainly be able to do so via the PSD leaving clubs uncompensated a la Stevens.
Freo had pick 1 in PSD that year....
Truck Rutten
22 Sep 2005, 19:34
I don't want this to be construed as SA bashing, but IMO it is far more likely for a Vic draftee (from Melbourne specifically) at an SA based club to want to return home than it would be for an SA player drafted to a Melbourne club.
I'd like to know what the figures are. Every year we see an exodus of SA players, a lot of them drafted to Melbourne based clubs, but realistically how many do we actually see want to come back to us or Port? I would suggest it's a lower percentage than players from Melbourne drafted to either SA based club who have wanted a trade back home.
I'm so disappointed he's left. What a waste of time and hope. Its even more annoying when he said he wanted to stay at a club for more than 2 years. He was at Adelaide for 2 whole years. A waste of time and space. I'm very disappointed that he couldnt get over his 'home sickness,' and realise where his real future was. We better get something good from him. This better not happen again to Adelaide.
Truck Rutten
22 Sep 2005, 19:36
He gave you double the length of service that Fergus gave us, and had at least established some trade value with his performances. The pick 12 we gave you was higher than the pick you claimed him with wasn't it?
dees_best
22 Sep 2005, 19:36
I rate Moloney but he's no Scott Thompson.
Plus if Thommo stayed we still probably would have went for Moloney.
ExTasDeeMan
22 Sep 2005, 19:37
Don't worry lads, that's exactly how we felt when Thommo wanted to return back to Adelaide. Especially when he had became a key member of the team. But a young key developed forward will be good currency to get more.
dees_best
22 Sep 2005, 19:38
He gave you double the length of service that Fergus gave us, and had at least established some trade value with his performances. The pick 12 we gave you was higher than the pick you claimed him with wasn't it?
We'd probably consider giving you pick12 for Fergus.
I think the pick12 we got off you was one pick higher than what we had already.
Total Power
22 Sep 2005, 19:38
Zonal picks anyone, i agree this is pathetic.He is a tool
ExTasDeeMan
22 Sep 2005, 19:40
Well we only drafted Victorians last year - looks like we won't want to get burnt again.
birdmanptr
22 Sep 2005, 19:51
Dont want to brag [To much] but i have been saying this for a while now that he was of home.
Not happy but i wont be slagging him to much as we are just as much to blame we did have a chance to play him but chose not to unless the club new that he was of at the end of the year.
As long as we get something good for him.
Russian
22 Sep 2005, 19:52
The pick 12 we gave you was higher than the pick you claimed him with wasn't it?I don't really see how this is relevant, but they got him with pick 16. If you get a pick it'll be better than what you got him with anyway
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
22 Sep 2005, 20:01
I was p*ssed off...but now I just say.
Goodbye http://www.webpromotion.com/anim/stock01/white/01_28_w.gif
If he isn't 100% committed - then he should go. It is annoying, but I only want people who WANT to be at our club.
k
xx
crazy_big_al
22 Sep 2005, 20:05
It will be just like Nick Stevens issue at port and u will get nothing for him
swanfan
22 Sep 2005, 20:05
I think your team should worry about winning a few games.
Crowman32
22 Sep 2005, 20:06
Its disappointing that we have lost Fergus Watts but im not convinced he is going to go on and become a star player. For a key position player he is extremely slow and when the ball hits the ground he is non existent. I think he is a good player at sanfl level but I think at AFL level he may struggle.
I honestly hope Carlton pick Watts up and he wastes his time there a bit like Nick Stevens has done. Personally i think Fergus will be at a victorian club for 2 or 3 years and then i reckon he will get delisted coz i think he will get lost in their system.
In fairness to the crows they should pick up an early draft pick plus another player for Watts. If we pick up just a first round draft pick for him i will be so annoyed coz we have put two years into this sook.
Meeson will be the next one to leave after next year. Apparently he is homesick as well so get ready to lose another player next year. System sucks. Amazing - competition favours vics again.
Go home Mummys boy.
Wayne's-World
22 Sep 2005, 20:11
[QUOTE=Crowman32]Its disappointing that we have lost Fergus Watts but im not convinced he is going to go on and become a star player. For a key position player he is extremely slow and when the ball hits the ground he is non existent. I think he is a good player at sanfl level but I think at AFL level he may struggle.
Can't have that view when he's stated he's going and proclaim him a star in the making when he was still with us.
Need to take the emotion out of the assessment
Can't have that view when he's stated he's going and proclaim him a star in the making when he was still with us.
Need to take the emotion out of the assessment
Exactly. On one hand he's said he isn't up to it and won't last 2 or 3 years and then in the next paragraph reckons we should get more than a first round pick for him. How does that work?
Its disappointing that we have lost Fergus Watts but im not convinced he is going to go on and become a star player. For a key position player he is extremely slow and when the ball hits the ground he is non existent. I think he is a good player at sanfl level but I think at AFL level he may struggle.
Shhhh. Do you want something good for him or not?!
Wayne's-World
22 Sep 2005, 20:15
Exactly. On one hand he's said he isn't up to it and won't last 2 or 3 years and then in the next paragraph reckons we should get more than a first round pick for him. How does that work?
:) Fact is the AFC tried very very hard to keep him, so their assessment is he has a good future
Nightwolf
22 Sep 2005, 20:16
I think your team should worry about winning a few games.
Did your mum help ya with that gem?
GrandfinalGurus
22 Sep 2005, 20:18
I don't want this to be construed as SA bashing, but IMO it is far more likely for a Vic draftee (from Melbourne specifically) at an SA based club to want to return home than it would be for an SA player drafted to a Melbourne club.
I'd like to know what the figures are. Every year we see an exodus of SA players, a lot of them drafted to Melbourne based clubs, but realistically how many do we actually see want to come back to us or Port? I would suggest it's a lower percentage than players from Melbourne drafted to either SA based club who have wanted a trade back home.
This is an excellent point! Having given this some thought over time, it comes back to the grooming of these kids, as they come through the Under Age systems in each state. I think kids outside of Vic are informed and realise that their AFL careers will probably be outside the state from where their family comes from, and the AFL needs to adjust this! I am really dissapointed and frustrated by Watts returning, but as Mong keeps repeating, "Its the System", and the Crows need to work it a little better next time around.
Crowman32
22 Sep 2005, 20:21
I dont think he is that great but the perception from a lot of other clubs is that he is going to be a good player so we should try and get as much out of this as we can. Not hard to work out at all dude (maybe for some)
demoniac
22 Sep 2005, 20:22
Thompson > Moloney
Karma is such a beautiful thing.
Given Watts is a potential KPP I think there will be plenty of interest in him so you will not be left empty handed - unless he decides to nominate for PSD.
Truck Rutten
22 Sep 2005, 20:22
I don't really see how this is relevant, but they got him with pick 16. If you get a pick it'll be better than what you got him with anyway
It's relevant because the Dees got more for Thommo than what they paid for him.
The Dees supporter was saying that Fergus leaving us was Karma for Thommo wanting to come home, and I was pointing out that it's not like they got ripped off or anything.
Not quite sure how you couldn't get your head around that without me having to explain it actually.
Stiffy_18
22 Sep 2005, 20:25
His official measurements from the Draft Camp are 196.6 cm and 86 kg so YES he is the sort of player we could build the forward line around. He is a very tall lad.
TheGeneral
22 Sep 2005, 20:34
He's not that good a talent anyway and lacks legspeed, agility and ability at ground level.Trade him for Motlop if the Roos will take him!
Stiffy_18
22 Sep 2005, 20:36
It will be just like Nick Stevens issue at port and u will get nothing for him
I wouldn't be surprised :(
Thompson > Moloney
Karma is such a beautiful thing.
Given Watts is a potential KPP I think there will be plenty of interest in him so you will not be left empty handed - unless he decides to nominate for PSD.
You're club should be the last one to say "karma"
The name "White" ring a bell in you're brain ??
Good riddance to Watts & i hope he makes the weaning stage sooner rather than later.
SpringChoke
22 Sep 2005, 20:38
:) Fact is the AFC tried very very hard to keep him, so their assessment is he has a good future
How do you know that???
Excluding our 2004 draftees, the only other realtively untried youngsters on our list are - Jerihco, Smith, Kruger and Scuback - I feel ill. :(
armchair_expert
22 Sep 2005, 20:38
hey guys
thanks to the crows for doing his apprenticeship
now he can come home and blossom into a superstar hopefully at collingwood
Russian
22 Sep 2005, 20:40
It's relevant because the Dees got more for Thommo than what they paid for him.
The Dees supporter was saying that Fergus leaving us was Karma for Thommo wanting to come home, and I was pointing out that it's not like they got ripped off or anything.
Not quite sure how you couldn't get your head around that without me having to explain it actually.So you're already getting paranoid about not being able to come up with a decent trade? :confused:
SpringChoke
22 Sep 2005, 20:40
hey guys
thanks to the crows for doing his apprenticeship
now he can come home and blossom into a superstar hopefully at collingwood
Why would he go to Collingwood. I would have thought he might want to play finals sometime in the next decade??
bogan4life
22 Sep 2005, 20:42
I have not read the thread yet, but if Griffen was to say tommorow after he said this year that he wants to be a dogs playing for life that he wants to come home and play for the Crows would he be Pathetic?
cro_Magnum
22 Sep 2005, 20:43
Not convinced about Fergus. Has had one (very) good game just at the right time to enhance his trade value, but he's a bit of a one dimensional mark & kick player.
Lets hope he kicks a few more goals this week to make him more tempting to the Vics.
Stiffy_18
22 Sep 2005, 20:43
For a key position player he is extremely slow
His pace is pretty good for a player hsi size. He is NOT "extremely" slow. In fact he is quicker than Rutten and he is doing quite well. His pace and agility have improved out of sight this year.
when the ball hits the ground he is non existent. You have got to be kidding me. This is one of his biggest strength. When the ball hits the ground he follows it up and his pick up off the ground and quick handball (all in one motion) is as good as I have seen for a player of his size.
I know you are disappointed he is gone but saying he has deficiencies in area that is clearly his strength is pointless.
Stiffy_18
22 Sep 2005, 20:45
He's not that good a talent anyway and lacks legspeed, agility and ability at ground level.Trade him for Motlop if the Roos will take him!
Yeah and you are such an expert having seen him a total number of zero times this year :rolleyes:
Stiffy_18
22 Sep 2005, 20:47
How do you know that???
Excluding our 2004 draftees, the only other realtively untried youngsters on our list are - Jerihco, Smith, Kruger and Scuback - I feel ill. :(
Springy we have tried to sign him up for over a year now. We have exhaused every possible avenue.
Do you honestly think we wouldn't try everything possible to keep our best key forward prospect.
McLeod23
22 Sep 2005, 20:48
I'm seriously ********ed off right now, because I can't see how we can possibly win on a Watts' deal.
Even if we got pick #5 for example, considering the bashing this years draft pool has copped, would we even get a tall forward the equal of Fergus?
Again, even if we do - we will have to put another two years (and maybe more) of development into him before he will be at the level that Fergus is at now - ready to have an impact at AFL next year.
********ING ********ING ********!
TheGeneral
22 Sep 2005, 20:52
Yeah and you are such an expert having seen him a total number of zero times this year :rolleyes:
We have electricity over here in the big smoke and a thing called television where his games are shown.He is slow and the 10 goals weren't against AFL quality defenders but undersized SANFL backmen.If others are also saying he's slow they must also be wrong!
bogan4life
22 Sep 2005, 20:59
I watched his 10 goal effort and the man he was on was useless, how many goals did he kick for the year?
Truck Rutten
22 Sep 2005, 21:00
I watched his 10 goal effort and the man he was on was useless, how many goals did he kick for the year?
Power fans will be heartened to hear that. He's on their list.
lozstar
22 Sep 2005, 21:02
absolutely **** poor effort by fergus.
i had a feeling he was going to get "homesick" when he came over to begin with... seemed too good to be true to get a good player from victoria and have him stay.
It's a cop out. Soft as, he is 19 not 13, poeple move interstate for work all the time, get over it. Hopefully he proves to be another Laurence Angwin.
Stiffy_18
22 Sep 2005, 21:12
Whats the number of goals got to do with his ability. Thats the first time he has played as a FF for the year and he kicked 10 goals.
In the eagles structure he plays as a leading CHF where he leads up to the wings to create space for Passador.
I can't understand this argument that people have about number of goals. Just because he is a KF it doesn't mean that every KF has a same role in all different structures.
Jonathan Brown doesn't kick many goals for the season but I wouldn't think anyone woudl complain if he wanted to join their team.
He has shown that he is a player that can play both positions equally well. When he is played out of the goal square he is a goal kicker. When he is played futher up the ground the play goes through him. He has had a very good year in the AFL playing as a CHF for a team that was top of the ladder with 2 games to go in the home and away season. He has been an integral part of that team. WWT plays Passador at their FF most of the time. He likes to lead into space and is quick off the mark. WWT set up in a manner where Watts is the avenue to Forward 50 and he commands the ball when he leads up the ground. He creates space for Passador to run into. Number of goals for the season has nothing to do with his value or ability as a player.
You say he played on average players. Funn that, he kicked 6 goals on AFL listed Stephen Gilham who has been one of North Adelaide's best defenders this year. A player drafted in teens by the power and rated very highly by the club. He kicked 4 goals on a state of origin FB in Jason Roe who is receiving STRONG interest for Hawthorn, Collingwood and a number of other AFL clubs. I hardly call his opponents on the weekend as duds.
bogan4life
22 Sep 2005, 21:17
Power fans will be heartened to hear that. He's on their list.
Yes dont worry i have had 4 or 5 post chucked of the port board for my view on that player, he dont man up and if you have seen Watts 2nd goal you would cry if your a port fan.
bogan4life
22 Sep 2005, 21:21
Whats the number of goals got to do with his ability. Thats the first time he has played as a FF for the year and he kicked 10 goals.
In the eagles structure he plays as a leading CHF where he leads up to the wings to create space for Passador.
I can't understand this argument that people have about number of goals. Just because he is a KF it doesn't mean that every KF has a same role in all different structures.
Jonathan Brown doesn't kick many goals for the season but I wouldn't think anyone woudl complain if he wanted to join their team.
He has shown that he is a player that can play both positions equally well. When he is played out of the goal square he is a goal kicker. When he is played futher up the ground the play goes through him. He has had a very good year in the AFL playing as a CHF for a team that was top of the ladder with 2 games to go in the home and away season. He has been an integral part of that team. WWT plays Passador at their FF most of the time. He likes to lead into space and is quick off the mark. WWT set up in a manner where Watts is the avenue to Forward 50 and he commands the ball when he leads up the ground. He creates space for Passador to run into. Number of goals for the season has nothing to do with his value or ability as a player.
You say he played on average players. Funn that, he kicked 6 goals on AFL listed Stephen Gilham who has been one of North Adelaide's best defenders this year. A player drafted in teens by the power and rated very highly by the club. He kicked 4 goals on a state of origin FB in Jason Roe who is receiving STRONG interest for Hawthorn, Collingwood and a number of other AFL clubs. I hardly call his opponents on the weekend as duds.
If Gilham is a good sanfl defender then some thing is wrong, did you see him go for the mark that caused his 2nd goal, or the way watts was left on his own?
watts has a great kick and a good mark but he has played 5 games in 2 years and his trade value would be about pick 11 and 27.
Malibu#27
22 Sep 2005, 21:21
As dissapointing as this would be, I think there are some small positives (well maybe - non-negatives) to come out of it:
1) His finals form would be doing you plenty of favours at the trade table and I expect a top 10 draft is what you will be chasing. (if you get it will depend on the vic clubs and Fregs character)
2) Because he hasant played in your side this season you really did what you did this year without him - it would have been great to keep him - but hey hes gone - now you just recruit the best player you can. It is different to one of your starting 18 up and leaving and you being forced to replace a starting 18 player. ()admittedly he probably would have been around the mark next season)
macca23
22 Sep 2005, 21:26
Dont want to brag [To much] but i have been saying this for a while now that he was of home.
Not happy but i wont be slagging him to much as we are just as much to blame we did have a chance to play him but chose not to unless the club new that he was of at the end of the year.
As long as we get something good for him.
Well bully for you!!
As for playing him this year, who should he have displaced up forward? McGregor, Hentschel, Perrie, or Welsh? Did he deserve to take their spot?
A bit of realism wouldn't go astray!!
Next year was his year, and the club would have told him that!!
No excuses for the sook in my book!! :(
Stiffy_18
22 Sep 2005, 21:30
If Gilham is a good sanfl defender then some thing is wrong, did you see him go for the mark that caused his 2nd goal, or the way watts was left on his own?
watts has a great kick and a good mark but he has played 5 games in 2 years and his trade value would be about pick 11 and 27.
I am not getting into what we will get for him because its as clear as a daylight that we will get screwed on this because we are dealing from position of weakness rather than a position of strength that every other victorian club would be dealing from.
In a genuine trade, in normal circumstances he would we worth a top 10 pick in reasonably strong draft, taking into account what type of player he is and how hard they are to find. In the current situation, in a ******** weka draft, I got no idea what we will get for him. I suspect we will give in at the end of the day and either get someone's forst round pick or trade him for Motlop straight up.
Either way we won't get his true value back and thats the reason I am filthy at this whole situtation.
just maybe
22 Sep 2005, 21:31
pick 11 and 27.
Sounds fair.