View Full Version : Ben Harrison hangs up the boots.

bogan4life
23 Sep 2005, 23:17
Ex Tiger and now a Dogs man has hanged up his boots, he was a true work horse and did well for both clubs.

jackson_rules
23 Sep 2005, 23:27
1 player i have full respect for and goodluck for him in his lost after football

Darth_Tiger
23 Sep 2005, 23:29
yeah i was sad to see him go to be honest. a good player without being a star.

bogan4life
23 Sep 2005, 23:32
He is a great bloke to have a chat with to, he is down to earth and would be one of those people id love to have beside me in a War.

He was never a star but ended up with 150 afl games, could play any where and i can see him becoming a good coach.

IDGAF
23 Sep 2005, 23:49
He was never a star but ended up with 150 afl gamesFair dinkum .... did he play that many ? Well bugger me

Tongue in cheek here but i would love to know how much the fact that he was best mates with Richo had to do with him ending uo at punt rd.

oxx
24 Sep 2005, 00:26
Hats off to Benny.

I liked him.

kretchy
24 Sep 2005, 01:00
Well done to the bloke has got the most out of himself to manage 150 games.

bogan4life
24 Sep 2005, 09:01
146 games i think it was in the end, he never gave up did he?

Is a great VFA player but his heart and soul are what made him good, if he had not done his knee early in the year against you guys he would have played most of the year.

Last year he played a game on Riewoldt who was in great form and he tore him a new one, roo could not even get a kick.

A true gentleman of the game.

madtiger2005
24 Sep 2005, 09:38
he also played for carlton

jackson_rules
24 Sep 2005, 09:39
146 games i think it was in the end, he never gave up did he?

Is a great VFA player but his heart and soul are what made him good, if he had not done his knee early in the year against you guys he would have played most of the year.

Last year he played a game on Riewoldt who was in great form and he tore him a new one, roo could not even get a kick.

A true gentleman of the game.
on your website he is listed with about 160 odd games

Darth_Tiger
24 Sep 2005, 11:10
Fair dinkum .... did he play that many ? Well bugger me

Tongue in cheek here but i would love to know how much the fact that he was best mates with Richo had to do with him ending uo at punt rd.

i lost count of the times he kicked it to richo when he was playing for us. always seemed to look for him, (not many dont i guess). i remember one time ben kicking it from just past the centre square and as soon as it left his boot i knew it was richo's. good luck for the future ben.

jake
24 Sep 2005, 11:34
Fond memory of him playing in that game vs. Carlton that kept them out of the semis in 97 (?). Was it him that copped the shot around the head and played much of the game in a turban?

Back in the day I had high hopes for him and bowden as tall, long kicking wingers, and to be honest I think there were others who could have been moved on before he did.

Well done Benny.

tigerT
24 Sep 2005, 12:01
good luck benny.

true gentleman, likable type of bloke, served both clubs well

johnny k
24 Sep 2005, 22:00
Fond memory of him playing in that game vs. Carlton that kept them out of the semis in 97 (?). Was it him that copped the shot around the head and played much of the game in a turban?

Back in the day I had high hopes for him and bowden as tall, long kicking wingers, and to be honest I think there were others who could have been moved on before he did.

Well done Benny.

yeah he played in the turban that day. i remember him slotting one from about 45 in the last that ended the blues run.
congrats on a fine carear

True Thylacine
26 Sep 2005, 09:42
Fair dinkum .... did he play that many ? Well bugger me

Ben and Richo werre teamates in a premiership side in the old Tasmanian Statewide League for Devonport FC andf shared a place together in Carlton I think at one stage. Interstinghly Ben is also from Queenstown, a tiny mining town on Tassie's west coast where Alistair Lynch also hails from. End of Tasmanian trivia half hour....good like Ben

JohnF
26 Sep 2005, 16:05
Ben was a solid player.

Was a bit of a ball magnet in his prime and he played the percentegers well.

I also had quite high hopes for him there for a while, but he plateaued and the game past him by.