View Full Version : Who would target in trade?
Crow-mosone
26 Sep 2005, 20:55
With Ferg going, and who knows what else in the pipeline - what would be your ideal target?
Keeping in mind only those guys who are on the table, we'd all like Pav, Kerr or Brown but of those mentioned who would you like to go at 100 miles an hour?
I think it highly unlikely, because he doesn't have to leave Melbourne but if there was one player I'd like to see us go all out at, it would be James Bartel. Use Ferg as the centre piece and even up as needed, but I think he would be the class midfielder we know we need.
Motlop is high risk, as is any draft pick.
who would you guys go for?
snakebite01
26 Sep 2005, 21:01
The more I think about it, the more I like the idea of getting Motlop. Not necessarily through the Watts trade but in one way or another.
IMO he provides something we are missing from our forward line. A medium sized forward who is an excellent mark. Now, we have this in Welsh but we prefer to use him closer to goal. IMO, Welshy is better value to the team as a HFF where he can use his creativity and skills. But with Motlop, it gives us that HFF to go through. Much like O'Keefe. Much like Hamill. Much like Robert Murphy. Very valuable players in the forward line.
Apart from that, I wouldn't mind seeing us have a crack at a midfielder in the 21-24 y.o range, that wouldn't require selling the farm. Someone like Corey Enright maybe.
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 21:02
Of the names being thrown around Bartel is the one I would REALLY like to get. He is tallish tough on-baller who wins the hard footy. The sort of player I would like to get but as you say its very unlikely he would leave Melbourne.
On Motlop, yes he is a risk that could either come up big or he could be a bust. He has bucketloads of potential but he could also walk out on you at the drop off the hat. Not to mention that injuries. I would be surprised if there is a club out there that is willing to take a punt on him at the price of a first round draft pick.
Ideally, I would love for us to get a gun key forward in the Pavlich, Brown mould. The chances of that happening are zilch. Second best would be focused and hungry Brendan Fevola but unfortunately there is no such a beast.
With Ferg going, and who knows what else in the pipeline - what would be your ideal target?
Keeping in mind only those guys who are on the table, we'd all like Pav, Kerr or Brown but of those mentioned who would you like to go at 100 miles an hour?
I think it highly unlikely, because he doesn't have to leave Melbourne but if there was one player I'd like to see us go all out at, it would be James Bartel. Use Ferg as the centre piece and even up as needed, but I think he would be the class midfielder we know we need.
If he was prepared to come to Adelaide at our price and not his I would look at Skinny Lappin. We need a good crumbing forward and he fits the bill well. He can take a good mark and has those qualities which can win you games.
I would also look at Whitnall - he is slow but he is a smart player. He would help our other forwards to become better players. He would be another tall for our forward line and he would be able to help Trent in his development and Pex and kenny, not the smartest players around to be more effective. It also enables us to have a spine that contains expereince and youth and Whitnall is just coming into the prime of his footballing life.
Maybe Fergus has a use after all.
macca23
26 Sep 2005, 21:06
Bartel fits the bill nicely IMO. While it's unlikely I'd be very happy if we ended up with him.
Waters is still uncontracted and a 3 way go with a Melbourne club sending something to the WCE would also be a good result.
Of the names being thrown around Bartel is the one I would REALLY like to get. He is tallish tough on-baller who wins the hard footy. The sort of player I would like to get but as you say its very unlikely he would leave Melbourne.
On Motlop, yes he is a risk that could either come up big or he could be a bust. He has bucketloads of potential but he could also walk out on you at the drop off the hat. Not to mention that injuries. I would be surprised if there is a club out there that is willing to take a punt on him at the price of a first round draft pick.
Ideally, I would love for us to get a gun key forward in the Pavlich, Brown mould. The chances of that happening are zilch. Second best would be focused and hungry Brendan Fevola but unfortunately there is no such a beast.
With respect Stiffy, dont you think we have enough Bartels already. Thommo, Roo, Goody, Shirley - all good in close tough players. Bartels lacks real pace - that is one thing we need in the next gun midfielder we get.
But it depends on the mix - if we could get a Bartel and then back that up with a Dale Thomas (Gippsland Power) for example Bartel may be a good pickup.
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 21:12
If he was prepared to come to Adelaide at our price and not his I would look at Skinny Lappin. We need a good crumbing forward and he fits the bill well. He can take a good mark and has those qualities which can win you games.
I would also look at Whitnall - he is slow but he is a smart player. He would help our other forwards to become better players. He would be another tall for our forward line and he would be able to help Trent in his development and Pex and kenny, not the smartest players around to be more effective. It also enables us to have a spine that contains expereince and youth and Whitnall is just coming into the prime of his footballing life.
Maybe Fergus has a use after all.
What happened to getting younger? :confused:
Picking up those 2 players would be Gary Ayres re-loaded and would go against everything that Craig has been talking about since the end of the season.
Youth is on the agenda not a 28 year old utility and an overweight, overpaid KPP. If we are to go after a key forward, I would rather go after Fevola than Whitnall. At least with Fevola you know you will get 50 goals even is a crap season. With Lance you would get the fat farm bills.
imbecile12
26 Sep 2005, 21:13
Bartel is definitely one of the 2 or 3 most accomplished midfielders out of contract. He would be great as we need another 2 or 3 midfielders for the future (since we can't count on getting Bryce Gibbs) to go with Thompson, Knights and hopefully Reilly. Not sure if he would leave Victoria and you'd think Essendon in particular would do everything they can to get him.
Would Watts go to Geelong? Probably not the Victorian club he had in mind, but he would be perfect for their ailing forward line. Maybe a three-way trade.
What about McDougall from West Coast? Is he finished due to his injuries? He took a long time to emerge but looked like he finally made a breakthrough last year. Could come cheaply but looks like there is genuine interest from a few clubs.
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 21:16
With respect Stiffy, dont you think we have enough Bartels already. Thommo, Roo, Goody, Shirley - all good in close tough players. Bartels lacks real pace - that is one thing we need in the next gun midfielder we get.
But it depends on the mix - if we could get a Bartel and then back that up with a Dale Thomas (Gippsland Power) for example Bartel may be a good pickup.
I agree to a point but look at the age of those players you mentioned. Roo will be 31 next year. Goody will be 29. Shirley is a solid player but doesn't have that bit of a class factor that someone like Thompson and Bartel would provide. We will see less and less of Roo and Goody in the midfield and more of Thompson, Knights, Reilly Van Berlo etc.. over the next couple of years.
One this is for certain, with the loss of Stevens and Watts, we need to draft at least one KPP. That will depend on what we get for Watts of course.
I agree to a point but look at the age of those players you mentioned. Roo will be 31 next year. Goody will be 29. Shirley is a solid player but doesn't have that bit of a class factor that someone like Thompson and Bartel would provide. We will see less and less of Roo and Goody in the midfield and more of Thompson, Knights, Reilly Van Berlo etc.. over the next couple of years.
One this is for certain, with the loss of Stevens and Watts, we need to draft at least one KPP. That will depend on what we get for Watts of course.
I like the look of Cleve Hughes from Norwood Stiffy, but unfortunately he will take two or three years to develop. We are unlikely to get him if our first pick is 16.
That is why I pumped for someone like Whitnall - he does come with a weight issue- but he was a very good and consistent player for Carlton this year. He could be a good stop gap whist we wait for a Hughes to develop.
The same with Lappin - if we draft a Matt Campbell for example he could be a useful player for one or two years whilst Campbell develops.
There are so many permutations - but Watts now gives us a joker which we can use to get our man, wherever he may be.
giantroo
26 Sep 2005, 21:34
One this is for certain, with the loss of Stevens and Watts, we need to draft at least one KPP. That will depend on what we get for Watts of course. u most likely are goin to get motlop coz he wants to go to adeliade
we get fergus watts and a draft pick and uze get motlop
u most likely are goin to get motlop coz he wants to go to adeliade
How do you really rate him giantroo?
Please give us a really honest opinion?
GoSarge
26 Sep 2005, 21:38
If a draft pick is gonna change hands in this trade, I think it will be FROM the Roos TO the Crows.
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 21:38
Keep dreaming :rolleyes:
You are never going to get Watts AND a draft pick for Motlop. If you get offered 1st round draft pick, take it and run before they change their mind. He is too much of a risk to be giving away that much.
Wayne's-World
26 Sep 2005, 21:50
Now a bit of dreaming there Stiffy
We need a KPP and a Ruckman to cover Hudson - watched Maric yesterday and he will definately NOT be ready next year.
I wouls as I have already said chase Jay Shulz - he still has an upside and we probably get him relatively cheaply (for Watts)
The other I would look at is Hamish McIntosh - a high draft pick ruckman from 3-4 years ago with Nth Melb
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 22:02
Now a bit of dreaming there Stiffy
We need a KPP and a Ruckman to cover Hudson - watched Maric yesterday and he will definately NOT be ready next year.
I wouls as I have already said chase Jay Shulz - he still has an upside and we probably get him relatively cheaply (for Watts)
The other I would look at is Hamish McIntosh - a high draft pick ruckman from 3-4 years ago with Nth Melb
Bartel (http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/player_profile?pid=2002057) is 186 cm and 85 kg. He averaged 19.7 possesions this year, 5.4 tackles, 2.6 first possesions, 2.6 clearences and 3.1 contested possesions. Thats a pretty good return from a tallish midfielder.
I don't mind Schulz and I rate him higher than others. I have seen him and Hentschel form a devestating key forward duo in one WWT reserves game where they kicked 15 goals between them.
By all reports Clarke will play on next year so our need for a ruckman is not a pressing issue. Maric and Meesen should develop enough to cover for injuries to Clarke and Biglands.
What did you think of Knights yestersay? :)
Bartel (http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/player_profile?pid=2002057) is 186 cm and 85 kg. He averaged 19.7 possesions this year, 5.4 tackles, 2.6 first possesions, 2.6 clearences and 3.1 contested possesions. Thats a pretty good return from a tallish midfielder.
I don't mind Schulz and I rate him higher than others. I have seen him and Hentschel form a devestating key forward duo in one WWT reserves game where they kicked 15 goals between them.
By all reports Clarke will play on next year so our need for a ruckman is not a pressing issue. Maric and Meesen should develop enough to cover for injuries to Clarke and Biglands.
Stiffy and others I would be interest in your opinion of Cleve Hughes. Really liked the look of him at the carnival. His team mate Pfeffier was pretty good too.!!!!
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 22:13
Stiffy and others I would be interest in your opinion of Cleve Hughes. Really liked the look of him at the carnival. His team mate Pfeffier was pretty good too.!!!!
I have been a bit out of touch this year with the SANFL so I haven't seen much of these boys.
Wayne's-World
26 Sep 2005, 22:17
Thought very quiet first half and OK second half - guy is a ball magnet definately - reads the ball beautifully and gets to the right positions, great hands, rarely fumbles - but seen his last couple of games and he looks to be struggling after a long season and no PS.
Is handballing more than kicking and is struggling over the first 10mtrs to break free of packs - hence more handballing.
Just looks a little leg weary.
With his amount of possessions he has to develop a hurt factor with his possessions.
apollo_creed
26 Sep 2005, 22:21
You are never going to get Watts AND a draft pick for Motlop. If you get offered 1st round draft pick, take it and run before they change their mind. He is too much of a risk to be giving away that much.
We have many Porthos wannabe's on our board, don't take any notice.
Watts > Motlop in terms of trade value so a straight swap is unlikely and would be a NMFC win.
I heard James Fantasia I think it was on the news today saying Adelaide wanted a 1st round DP for Watts. Would 12 be enough?
Hows this,
Motlop and Pick 12
For
Watts and Pick 16
Wayne's-World
26 Sep 2005, 22:23
Watts > Motlop in terms of trade value so a straight swap is unlikely and would be a NMFC win.
I heard James Fantasia I think it was on the news today saying Adelaide wanted a 1st round DP for Watts. Would 12 be enough?
Hows this,
Motlop and Pick 12
For
Watts and Pick 16
Thats a deal the AFC would have to take
Hows this,
Motlop and Pick 12
For
Watts and Pick 16
This would be a fair trade Apollo - two boys wanting to go home and we get a higher first rounder.
But will your team be looking for more. The problem with Daniel for us is that the difference between his very good an very bad is considerable. He often seems to be injured too. He can be a match winner though.
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 22:26
Hows this,
Motlop and Pick 12
For
Watts and Pick 16
My mail is that AFC want a top 10 pick :confused:
Wayne's-World
26 Sep 2005, 22:28
Want or hope ;)
We need Hawthorn to show interest - that WILL get Carlton talking about releasing pick 4
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 22:28
Thought very quiet first half and OK second half - guy is a ball magnet definately - reads the ball beautifully and gets to the right positions, great hands, rarely fumbles - but seen his last couple of games and he looks to be struggling after a long season and no PS.
Is handballing more than kicking and is struggling over the first 10mtrs to break free of packs - hence more handballing.
With his amount of possessions he has to develop a hurt factor with his possessions.
Couldn't agree more. He needs to be more damaging with his possesions and he also needs to nail those easy opportunities around goals. He gets a lot of it but I am not sure his "hurt factor" is high. Plenty to work with though :)
Stiffy_18
26 Sep 2005, 22:29
Want or hope ;)
We need Hawthorn to show interest - that WILL get Carlton talking about releasing pick 4
Want ;) :thumbsu:
I would be quite happy if the AFC sat back and let clubs come to them. We will delist players if they dont get asked about so a draft pick or a trade wont matter either way.
Fergus Watts , of course, is a different matter... but I would hope we use him to strengthen our draft position more than anything. If we deal with the Roos over Motlop , make it a Ferg for Motlop and 2nd/3rd round pick. Motlop is surplus to our requirements and Watts rates more than a straight swap.
I am happy with the squad going round and will accept a quiet trade period by the AFC
Crow-mosone
26 Sep 2005, 22:37
and you can get spelling lessons for your 13th birthday.
GoSarge
26 Sep 2005, 22:47
Surely the Hawks would be interested ??
Watts would complement Roughead and Franklin nicely and they'd start to really put a nice spine together for the future.
Dunno if they'd release pick 6 though.
Surely the Hawks would be interested ??
Watts would complement Roughead and Franklin nicely and they'd start to really put a nice spine together for the future.
Dunno if they'd release pick 6 though.
Depends if they assess the Draft the same way everyone else has. In Watts they get a near ready made forward to compliment those 2 you mentioned. It will come down to what they think or want out of pick 6.
The other issue which affects all clubs is supporter backlash. Would you be happy for the AFC to give up pick 6 for Motlop?
A gift from above
26 Sep 2005, 22:55
bartel is being slightly overrated here. Why anyone thinks he would come here when he can go to clubs like essendon instead is rather optomistic too. Lets keep to SA players and when talents like pav actually want to come home we can actually listen to them this time. Apart from that NC can do as much developing as he likes.
The Smith Revolution
26 Sep 2005, 23:44
Couldn't agree more. He needs to be more damaging with his possesions and he also needs to nail those easy opportunities around goals. He gets a lot of it but I am not sure his "hurt factor" is high. Plenty to work with though :)
Knights is all class. What 18 year old in the last f**k knows how many years gets 25 plus disposals in consecutive SANFL finals??? (plus tackles hard, has a physique that will only improve - he's not small and kicks goals - and points!)
No one.
Bockchoy67
27 Sep 2005, 00:10
He's got the size. Has the height. Has good pace. Gets plenty of it. Takes a good mark. Goes hard for the ball. Tackles very well. Is fit and consistent...
He's certainly got many attributes and just needs to work on his disposal a bit more. I think his kicking is underrated - he kicks a few floaters each game but generally his kicks hit the target, especially his longer passes. Always kicks a goal or two but needs to tidy his shots up - just a few too many 2.4's and 1.3's at this stage.
Can't wait to see Chris in action in red, gold and blue for most of next year. :)
macca23
27 Sep 2005, 00:22
Absolute rubbish WW. ;)
Actually the fact that he gets the ball in close so much means that he has to handball it to a better free option and IMO his brain is lightning fast and pretty good on the decision making. He is an exceptional team player.
You don't get 31 possessions and 30 possessions in SA finals at age 18 (turned 19 yesterday :) ) if you're leg weary. :p
His actual disposals quarter by quarter on Sunday were
1st - 4
2nd - 4
3rd - 13
4th - 9
22 disposals in the 2nd half on zero pre-season? This kid has a monstrous engine and never stops running.
A gun in the making!!
Stiffy_18
27 Sep 2005, 00:27
I reckon Boogie could prove to be the pick of last year's draft for us. He could very well end up being the best player from the lot :)
GoSarge
27 Sep 2005, 00:28
I reckon Boogie could prove to be the pick of last year's draft for us. He could very well end up being the best player from the lot :)
Hope you're right mate, Roo, Edwards and Goody cant single handedly carry our midfield for ever.
rubbers0ul
27 Sep 2005, 00:36
How about shannon grant? Adelaide could persue him. Bartel is a tought nutt and a half and realistically, adelaide need to win a premiership before roo is gone 1-2 maybe 3 years tops! I can assue you Fev would not be leaving melbourne due to all his business commitments whilst adelaide would not get anything out of a whitnall!
From the same source that told me vardy was going to melbourne FC, Pavlich wants to play in a GF side so dont be too surprised if he is playing in crows colours in '06.
Adelaide would move earth, rock and water to have him.
On Chris Knights, the kid is going to be a superstar. Thanks to former centrals legend; Alan Stewart, he was able to see this kids ability even though Knights was injured through draft camp. For a find like Knights, Stewart is worth every cent the crows are paying him. Is there any other 18 year old in the country that touched the ball more times in league (SANFL) then him? Id be very very very interested!
Wayne's-World
27 Sep 2005, 09:20
Absolute rubbish WW.
Actually the fact that he gets the ball in close so much means that he has to handball it to a better free option and IMO his brain is lightning fast and pretty good on the decision making. He is an exceptional team player.
You don't get 31 possessions and 30 possessions in SA finals at age 18 (turned 19 yesterday ) if you're leg weary. :p
His actual disposals quarter by quarter on Sunday were
1st - 4
2nd - 4
3rd - 13
4th - 9
22 disposals in the 2nd half on zero pre-season? This kid has a monstrous engine and never stops running.
A gun in the making!!
Then give me a break-up of those possessions Kicks V Handballs and I'll concede (if your right) ;)
SpringChoke
27 Sep 2005, 09:45
I reckon some of you guys are being a little hard on Knights. Why I agree, he needs to clean up some of his shots on goal, his disposal around the ground almost always hits a target..
maccas_no1
27 Sep 2005, 10:00
I would love to get Bartel, anyway we could do trade with Watts???
Motlop would'nt walk out on Adelaide.Whether they want him or whether they're chasing him is a different kettle of fish but he would'nt walk out because there would be no reason for him to.
Over here there is a lot less aboriginals than in Adelaide and I know this because I spent the first half of this year living down at Morphett Vale.His best mates in football are the Burgoyne brothers and if a trade falls through with PA(which is likely given the s**t they're offering),then Adelaide would have to be the other logical option.
I hate to lose him and I think one day we're going to see how good he really is,but I would'nt be unhappy if he went to Adelaide.Anything to annoy the f****** a*******s at Port Adelaide who are basically offering crap and are a pack of arrogant pricks.
macca23
27 Sep 2005, 11:19
Then give me a break-up of those possessions Kicks V Handballs and I'll concede (if your right) ;)
14 kicks, 16 handballs.
Well? :)
McLeod23
27 Sep 2005, 12:46
Depends if they assess the Draft the same way everyone else has. In Watts they get a near ready made forward to compliment those 2 you mentioned. It will come down to what they think or want out of pick 6.
The other issue which affects all clubs is supporter backlash. Would you be happy for the AFC to give up pick 6 for Motlop?
I understand your last point, but they wouldn't be getting Motlop - they would be getting Fergus Watts.
Its ok for Hawthorn to try and rebuild via the draft, but how many 18 year olds do they want? Fergus was a first round draft pick, who has had two years of development on on AFL list, and is just about to explode.
Compare this to kid taken at #6 in this years draft. Lets presume he is a young tall; he'll be as skinny as hell, will need another two years until he can mix it at AFL level with fully developed KPP, and there will be no guarantee's he won't be a Billy Morrison.
No matter how well we do out of the Fergus deal, I can't see any scenerio that will leave us better off that if he had stayed with us.
Edit - On topic, I would love to get Beau Waters.
SpringChoke
27 Sep 2005, 13:12
Motlop would'nt walk out on Adelaide.Whether they want him or whether they're chasing him is a different kettle of fish but he would'nt walk out because there would be no reason for him to.
Over here there is a lot less aboriginals than in Adelaide and I know this because I spent the first half of this year living down at Morphett Vale.His best mates in football are the Burgoyne brothers and if a trade falls through with PA(which is likely given the s**t they're offering),then Adelaide would have to be the other logical option.
I hate to lose him and I think one day we're going to see how good he really is,but I would'nt be unhappy if he went to Adelaide.Anything to annoy the f****** a*******s at Port Adelaide who are basically offering crap and are a pack of arrogant pricks.
Can't argue with that.
Rave Slave
27 Sep 2005, 14:06
IMO we should chase Mark Jamar + Nick Smith from Melbourne
Both very big boys and Jamar would be a gun if it wasn't for the fact that White refuses to have a backup. Add to that Nick Smith who, whilst injury prone is an absolute Tank and I think they could be picked up at a good price.
Fixes the ruck and forward problem straight away.
Not sure if the dees would take it for a straight swap of Fergus however
Nick Smith (http://melbournefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=125200)
Mark Jamar (http://melbournefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=13716)
What about a later pick and Robert Shirley???
for Fergus Watts? :confused:
Markthirtytwo
27 Sep 2005, 14:18
No for his father. We want a top four for him. ;)
Markthirtytwo
27 Sep 2005, 14:20
No ones mentioned Fraser yet. While Im not a big fan of his, if the doc retires we desperately need another ruckman next year and he could be in his prime years. Maric and Meesen are still a long way off as AFL ruckmen.
gothecrows
27 Sep 2005, 14:58
No ones mentioned Fraser yet. While Im not a big fan of his, if the doc retires we desperately need another ruckman next year and he could be in his prime years. Maric and Meesen are still a long way off as AFL ruckmen.
They're both still closer to being AFL ruckmen than Fraser.
Benno_900
27 Sep 2005, 15:07
He won't be traded, next year should be his year, he is too good for VFL level.
Watts looks like he wants to go the saints, so other than him who would you trade for Motlop?
I would be happy with a straight swap for Watts, but is there anything else you could offer?
No for his father. We want a top four for him. ;)
I think under that circumstance his father might be a bit more realistic still :confused:
chrisso1
27 Sep 2005, 15:30
i agree that bartel would be the one to go for, but he's unlikely to leave melbourne, or geelong.
motlop is the type of player that we need, someone who can crumb up forward, or be a leading target. i doubt he'd up and leave at the drop of the hat, especially if his bro returns to play for north (which is wishful thinking). i reckon he's over his shoulder injuries too.
Stiffy_18
27 Sep 2005, 15:33
IMO we should chase Mark Jamar + Nick Smith from Melbourne
Both very big boys and Jamar would be a gun if it wasn't for the fact that White refuses to have a backup. Add to that Nick Smith who, whilst injury prone is an absolute Tank and I think they could be picked up at a good price.
Fixes the ruck and forward problem straight away.
Not sure if the dees would take it for a straight swap of Fergus however
Nick Smith (http://melbournefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=125200)
Mark Jamar (http://melbournefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=13716)
Nick smith has gone backwards though. He wasn't quick when he got drafted and now because of all the injuries, he actually lost the bit of pace he did have. He is struggling to get regular senior games at Sandringham seniors. I would suspect we could get Smith for nothing next year when he gets delisted. He still has a year on his contract so that could be the only reason Melbourne keep him on.
Stiffy_18
27 Sep 2005, 15:33
Yes
EDIT: I really don't understand why people are surprised with this demand :confused:. The argument that he hasn't shown anything at AFL level is flawed. He has had 2 years in the system and his development in those 2 years is just ahead of time. No one in their right mind can expect a 197 cm tall key forward to come in and show anything significant at AFL level straight away. We picked up Fergus with pick 14 and in 2 years he has developed better than expected. Now why would any club settle for anything less than a top 10 pick in a weak draft?????? You judge youngsters by their progress rather than what they have shown at the AFL level. If Fergus went into the draft pool, he would go top 10, no question.
chrisso1
27 Sep 2005, 15:36
i would be very happy with that deal.
i think all this talk about fergus is over the top. one good game doesn't make you a superstar
chrisso1
27 Sep 2005, 15:43
i agree, he wouldn't walk out on us IF we got him. He'd be aligned to North Adelaide (as he came from there) who have several ties to NT players, so he'd have plenty of close friends here.
Blue Red and Gold
27 Sep 2005, 15:54
I want Fevola.
As stated, he kicked nearly 50 goals in a bad season, plays footy park very well.
Obviously there are some issues there that would need to be dealt with. The only question is if Fevola wants to play footy. He would be very dangerous in a side with the quality midfield we have. If we can get him out of melbourne I think it would state his intention.
However I just dont see this happening, but I hope someone is in his ear at every opportunity.
chrisso1
27 Sep 2005, 15:59
Watts looks like he wants to go the saints, so other than him who would you trade for Motlop?
I would be happy with a straight swap for Watts, but is there anything else you could offer?
how about brent reilly? and probably a mid-low draft pick
chrisso1
27 Sep 2005, 16:04
I want Fevola.
As stated, he kicked nearly 50 goals in a bad season, plays footy park very well.
Obviously there are some issues there that would need to be dealt with. The only question is if Fevola wants to play footy. He would be very dangerous in a side with the quality midfield we have. If we can get him out of melbourne I think it would state his intention.
However I just dont see this happening, but I hope someone is in his ear at every opportunity.
i don't know why his name gets thrown in all the time. i can't see him leaving carlton. why would they sign him up on a 3yr deal (i think) allegedly worth well over a million bucks, if they didn't intend keeping him????
having said that, IF he was to come to adelaide i think he'd be a good pick up, craigy would have a good chat to him and straighten him out a bit, and it wouldn't hurt fev to not be on the footy show all the time
Benno_900
27 Sep 2005, 16:19
how about brent reilly? and probably a mid-low draft pick
I'd be happy with that.
i don't know why his name gets thrown in all the time. i can't see him leaving carlton. why would they sign him up on a 3yr deal (i think) allegedly worth well over a million bucks, if they didn't intend keeping him????
having said that, IF he was to come to adelaide i think he'd be a good pick up, craigy would have a good chat to him and straighten him out a bit, and it wouldn't hurt fev to not be on the footy show all the time
Well if you lived in Melbourne and new about Carlton you'd come to the obvious conclusion...their a pack of d*******s but given the financial restraints on them over the past few years I could'nt logically see how they would be able to pay out his contract regardless of how much slack was picked up by Adelaide.Besides why would you want a guy who plays well when it suits him.I could'nt see Neil Craig being all for that trade.
Markthirtytwo
27 Sep 2005, 18:02
Well if you lived in Melbourne and new about Carlton you'd come to the obvious conclusion...their a pack of d*******s but given the financial restraints on them over the past few years I could'nt logically see how they would be able to pay out his contract regardless of how much slack was picked up by Adelaide.Besides why would you want a guy who plays well when it suits him.I could'nt see Neil Craig being all for that trade.
Actually Robert Walls said last night his name was being mentioned seriously with the Weagles.
How do you really rate him giantroo?
Please give us a really honest opinion?
I'm not giantroo but he does'nt seem to be forthcoming.Motlop was drafted with pick 8 but early on did'nt get a lot of games,basically due to Pagans' coaching policies.Under Pagan anyone under 25 has to go through the "wait ya turn,son!" unless your in the situation he's in now where he does'nt have any choice but to play kids.
At the time,Kevin Sheehan (u/18 pecialist) said he was potentially the best player in the country.
Because of injuries that "potential" tag still hangs over him but for pure talent,he's as good as anyone in the competition.He would probably be a bit more consistent in South Australia because deep down that is where he wants to be having played for North Adelaide Roosters and where his best friends are.Not to mention closer to Darwin but I think the Darwin business is crap.
In Adelaide you'd see the best of him because his mindset would be different and for that along with his playing ability,I would rate him as the best option in trade week for whatever club chases him.He would even be ahead of Bartel for pure football ability,not performance but ability,and for that the Roos would be after something substantial.Probably a risk because of shoulder but that all depends on who wants him.Of course this is just my opinion...
Why would they want Watts when they've got Simon Taylor?Who would be ahead of Watts anyway and already playing at league level...The option might be to get involved in the Hay situation but then he would'nt get a game in front of Rutten so it may be better to deal with St.kilda.
Providing Adelaide does'nt lose Perrie,which I very much doubt they will,they don't necessarily have to trade for a KPP do they?
macca23
27 Sep 2005, 22:50
Why would they want Watts when they've got Simon Taylor?Who would be ahead of Watts anyway and already playing at league level...The option might be to get involved in the Hay situation but then he would'nt get a game in front of Rutten so it may be better to deal with St.kilda.
Providing Adelaide does'nt lose Perrie,which I very much doubt they will,they don't necessarily have to trade for a KPP do they?
Perrrie has re-signed so you're right. The options are completely open.
I think a Motlop would abe an acceptable trade, as would a mid-fielder or an appropriate draft pick.
We could do with any of those 3 just as well as a KPP.
Wayne's-World
27 Sep 2005, 23:12
Unfortunately I think it will be a draft pick or nothing - I'm not being funny or looking through rose colored glasses, but our list is not that strong and unless a player specifically wants to go to Victoria - I think it would be limited to a draft pick which IMO would make the deal hard to get over the line as I doubt we will release #16
I'm not giantroo but he does'nt seem to be forthcoming.Motlop was drafted with pick 8 but early on did'nt get a lot of games,basically due to Pagans' coaching policies.Under Pagan anyone under 25 has to go through the "wait ya turn,son!" unless your in the situation he's in now where he does'nt have any choice but to play kids.
At the time,Kevin Sheehan (u/18 pecialist) said he was potentially the best player in the country.
Because of injuries that "potential" tag still hangs over him but for pure talent,he's as good as anyone in the competition.He would probably be a bit more consistent in South Australia because deep down that is where he wants to be having played for North Adelaide Roosters and where his best friends are.Not to mention closer to Darwin but I think the Darwin business is crap.
In Adelaide you'd see the best of him because his mindset would be different and for that along with his playing ability,I would rate him as the best option in trade week for whatever club chases him.He would even be ahead of Bartel for pure football ability,not performance but ability,and for that the Roos would be after something substantial.Probably a risk because of shoulder but that all depends on who wants him.Of course this is just my opinion...
Thanks Mark 73.
I have seen him play a bit and think that the AFC members on this board underate his value. He can be a matchwinner.
We could do a lot worse.
We need forwards who have one or two tricks and he certainly has these. Can still recall a classy goal against Adelaide on the MCG two years ago.
We need to stop worrying about Fergus leaving and move on. We want players who want to play for the club - and it sounds like Daniel wants to play for Adelaide.
Stiffy_18
27 Sep 2005, 23:38
Thanks Mark 73.
I have seen him play a bit and think that the AFC members on this board underate his value. He can be a matchwinner.
We could do a lot worse.
We need forwards who have one or two tricks and he certainly has these. Can still recall a classy goal against Adelaide on the MCG two years ago.
We need to stop worrying about Fergus leaving and move on. We want players who want to play for the club - and it sounds like Daniel wants to play for Adelaide.
I think you misunderstand under-rating and being cautious.
I rate the kid highly and his potential is that great that he could one one of th ebest players in the competition. What he is worth is not linked just to his talent. Even the most passionate Daniel Motlop fans simply have to admit that the hid has been VERY high-maintenance all of his AFL career. He was about to walk out on North a number of times. Hell the club even sent him to NT during the season to sort himself out. We are not getting into his injuries but the actual risk of him walking out on his new club at the drop of the hat. He came out and said that he either gets traded to SA or he quits footy and goes to Darwin.
He wants to leave Kangaroos because he is apparently homesick. His family is in NT for goodness sake. He wants to leave Melbourne despite having his brother and his cousin/s living in the same city as him. Yes he has some links with North Adelaide FC and yes he does have some family in Adelaide (Same as he has in Melbourne). If he is prepared to walk out on Kangaroos what makes you think he won't do the same on Adelaide?
This is not about Daniel Motlop as a footballer, this is about Daniel Motlop as the whole package and IMHO the risk is far too great for us to give up our first round draft pick for him. If things pan out the right way then that pick 16 would have been sweet ******** all to give for a player of Motlop's ability BUT if the things don't pan out the way we want them, then that pick 16 comes back to haunt us for years to come. Daniel Motlop is a risk and no we are not talking about his injuries, only about his mindset.
Wayne's-World
27 Sep 2005, 23:54
I think you misunderstand under-rating and being cautious.
I rate the kid highly and his potential is that great that he could one one of th ebest players in the competition. What he is worth is not linked just to his talent. Even the most passionate Daniel Motlop fans simply have to admit that the hid has been VERY high-maintenance all of his AFL career. He was about to walk out on North a number of times. Hell the club even sent him to NT during the season to sort himself out. We are not getting into his injuries but the actual risk of him walking out on his new club at the drop of the hat. He came out and said that he either gets traded to SA or he quits footy and goes to Darwin.
He wants to leave Kangaroos because he is apparently homesick. His family is in NT for goodness sake. He wants to leave Melbourne despite having his brother and his cousin/s living in the same city as him. Yes he has some links with North Adelaide FC and yes he does have some family in Adelaide (Same as he has in Melbourne). If he is prepared to walk out on Kangaroos what makes you think he won't do the same on Adelaide?
This is not about Daniel Motlop as a footballer, this is about Daniel Motlop as the whole package and IMHO the risk is far too great for us to give up our first round draft pick for him. If things pan out the right way then that pick 16 would have been sweet ******** all to give for a player of Motlop's ability BUT if the things don't pan out the way we want them, then that pick 16 comes back to haunt us for years to come. Daniel Motlop is a risk and no we are not talking about his injuries, only about his mindset.
Spot on ;)
SpringChoke
28 Sep 2005, 09:39
Actually Robert Walls said last night his name was being mentioned seriously with the Weagles.
Who??
Markthirtytwo
28 Sep 2005, 09:54
I know he mentioned the Darwin thing, but might he end up at the Dees with his brother?
Markthirtytwo
28 Sep 2005, 09:56
Who??
Sorry Robert W@nker. :o
SpringChoke
28 Sep 2005, 11:01
Sorry Robert W@nker. :o
No, I meant which player was he talking about, Brent Reilly???
mr snip
28 Sep 2005, 11:09
No, I meant which player was he talking about, Brent Reilly???
Fevola
mr snip
28 Sep 2005, 11:12
Rumour on 5aa this morning that A Didak is interested in playing for the crows
would we be interested.
I personally think he has a lot of talent, who can play forward and on the ball all depends what you have to give up to get him.
afc9798
28 Sep 2005, 11:28
would we be interested.
I personally think he has a lot of talent, who can play forward and on the ball all depends what you have to give up to get him. Given that the Pies wouldn't swap him to get Nick Stevens, despite really wanting him, then I think they'd want the house for Didak. He's a good player, but I certainly wouldn't want to give too much away for him. The thing that I don't understand is, why would he want to go to the Crows and not to Port Adelaide? Anyone?
SpringChoke
28 Sep 2005, 12:03
would we be interested.
I personally think he has a lot of talent, who can play forward and on the ball all depends what you have to give up to get him.
IMHO a player who can only play as a forward crumber isn't worth squat. If they can't play in the midfield too, I wouldn't give up anything higher than a 2nd round draft pick for one.
Didak is okay, but I wouldn't give up a 1st rounder.
SpringChoke
28 Sep 2005, 12:05
It sounds like Port will be pretty aggressive come trade week again. Whereas we...........we don't like trading. :rolleyes:
Stiffy_18
28 Sep 2005, 13:03
IMHO a player who can only play as a forward crumber isn't worth squat. If they can't play in the midfield too, I wouldn't give up anything higher than a 2nd round draft pick for one.
Didak is okay, but I wouldn't give up a 1st rounder.
I would.
Didak can play in the midfield. He got drafted as a gun on baller. I have no idea why he hasn't been played in the midfield. He is skillful enough, he has great pace and he knows how to find the footy. I would give our first rounder for Didak in a second before the Magpies change their mind. I reckon Magpies would want more than pick 16 for him.
afc9798
28 Sep 2005, 13:21
I would.
Didak can play in the midfield. He got drafted as a gun on baller. I have no idea why he hasn't been played in the midfield. He is skillful enough, he has great pace and he knows how to find the footy. I would give our first rounder for Didak in a second before the Magpies change their mind. I reckon Magpies would want more than pick 16 for him.
Agree, I'd take him in a heartbeat for our first round pick. Just Watts the Doctor ordered (no pun intended of course;) ).
SpringChoke
28 Sep 2005, 14:40
I would.
What's Didaks midfield form at AFL level like? If this guys such a good midfielder don't you find it strange that Collingwood, who are crying out for quality midfielders, rarely played him in the guts?
dyertribe
28 Sep 2005, 14:42
I have no idea why he hasn't been played in the midfield.
See Ebert.
Too short? Too slow?
Bockchoy67
28 Sep 2005, 14:57
See Ebert.
Too short? Too slow?
Bad coach. Bad management. A few injuries.
Definitely not the result of his height or pace (which is actually very good).
A gift from above
28 Sep 2005, 15:46
i know a 'friend' of didaks, he has a knee/thigh injury were it joins apparently which hes had multiple operations on and this is the reason he hasnt gone into the midfield as of yet. He carried it all last yr. So far none of the ops have been successful. He is close to being one of those unrealised talents atm.
Yes I thought that sounded a bit weird too ...
Stiffy_18
28 Sep 2005, 16:57
What's Didaks midfield form at AFL level like? If this guys such a good midfielder don't you find it strange that Collingwood, who are crying out for quality midfielders, rarely played him in the guts?
Springy, who was the last youngster that has actually developed well at Collingwood??????
Stiffy_18
28 Sep 2005, 16:59
See Ebert.
Too short? Too slow?
182 cm / 84 kg --> Nice size for a midfielder
Pace --> Quicker than Thompson and he seems to go OK.
As far as size and pace is concerned, Didak can be a real gun midfielder but is there more to it? Is it that he is not good enough as a midfielder or is it that Collingwood are continuing their tradition of sucking out all the talent from their promising young players? :confused:
SpringChoke
28 Sep 2005, 17:36
Springy, who was the last youngster that has actually developed well at Collingwood??????
Alright, let's have a look:
Didak - Going Backwards,
Tarrant - Going Backwards,
Fraser - Going Backwards,
Cole - Going Backwards,
J Cloke - Going Backwards.
R Shaw - Getting better.
You've got a point.
crowsarethebest
28 Sep 2005, 18:02
Since Watts is wanting to play for the Saints and we arn't reall interested in anything thats "touchable" A 3-way deal with Collingwood is possible.
Collingwood get: Saints pick 17 and pick 33 and maybe adelaide 3rd pick/fringe player
Collingwood Loose: Didak
Saints get: Watts
Saints Loose: Pick 17 and pick 33
Crows get: Didak
Crows Loose: Watts and 3rd pick or Fringe player
I'd certainly entertain this deal. Didak is a very talented player and gets on peoples nerves a bit.
dyertribe
28 Sep 2005, 19:05
182 cm / 84 kg --> Nice size for a midfielder
Pace --> Quicker than Thompson and he seems to go OK.
As far as size and pace is concerned, Didak can be a real gun midfielder but is there more to it? Is it that he is not good enough as a midfielder or is it that Collingwood are continuing their tradition of sucking out all the talent from their promising young players?
I had no idea he was that size - I always thought he was a compact 177-178cm rather than a quick 182 - hence his permanent stays in the forward pocket/off a flank.
With those attributes you have to wonder why the hell he hasn't been rotated through the middle - especially as he was a top-3 pick back in his day.
Why use a top pick if you're going to let them waste away in a pocket?
Stiffy_18
28 Sep 2005, 19:09
I had no idea he was that size - I always thought he was a compact 177-178cm rather than a quick 182 - hence his permanent stays in the forward pocket/off a flank.
With those attributes you have to wonder why the hell he hasn't been rotated through the middle - especially as he was a top-3 pick back in his day.
Why use a top pick if you're going to let them waste away in a pocket?
Its a question I have been asking myself as well. Didak appears to have all the tools to be a gun midfielder but for some reason he hasn't been played there despite the fact that Collingwood are crying out for quality midfielders with pace :confused:
Collingwood's player development has been ******** poor so that could be the reason or there could be something else that we are not aware of.
Crow-mosone
28 Sep 2005, 19:28
would we be interested.
We would be very, very interested and I'd give them Mr Watts in a second. Didak is exactly the type of player we need.
johnnypanther
28 Sep 2005, 22:50
i'ld take Didak for Watts
- we need a goalkicking midfielder/forward with pace
and i'm sure that Craig & co's superior player development skills will make Didak the star he should already be
and another fringe benefit would be then seeing the Port supporters squirming at the sight of another Port bloke succeeding with the Crows