View Full Version : Saad Saad's mark in the GVFL Grand Final

Scribe2
26th September 2005, 22:14
I've never seen a game in this comp but keep an interest through my journalism. Everyone I know who was there is talking around his grab: how good was it?

Saad actually turned up to training at my footy club once. Someone asked what his nickname was and he repiled "Saad". He rocked up (onto the oval)wearing Blundstone boots and overalls and proceeded to start training. He was only about 17 but you could tell he was just a freakish talent. Then the coach called for some sprint training and Saad was off, never seen again.

Blokes like him just make the game what it is I reckon!

guess_who
26th September 2005, 22:35
I'm fairly sure he was on williamstown's list last year or the year before... Saw him play a couple of senior games too, looked like that sort of bloke... Did some freakish things then just died in the arse for 2 Q's.
Didn't see the mark by the way.

footyman
26th September 2005, 23:23
I'm fairly sure he was on williamstown's list last year or the year before... Saw him play a couple of senior games too, looked like that sort of bloke... Did some freakish things then just died in the arse for 2 Q's.
Didn't see the mark by the way.
Northern Bullants.

It was a super mark, I was watching from that end behind the goals got a great view. One of the best, hope to see it on Almost Footy Legends next year.

jmain14
27th September 2005, 09:55
Northern Bullants.

It was a super mark, I was watching from that end behind the goals got a great view. One of the best, hope to see it on Almost Footy Legends next year.
yeah me too by the sounds.

I was waiting all year to see another mark he took earlier this year at rochy on almost footy legends but it was never shown. apparently it was taped but mustn't have been sent in (??). have heard heaps about it but it seems I'll never see it. everyone at rochy that I have spoken to have rated it the best mark they have seen at gv level.

Alphonse
27th September 2005, 11:06
I've never seen a game in this comp but keep an interest through my journalism. Everyone I know who was there is talking around his grab: how good was it?

Saad actually turned up to training at my footy club once. Someone asked what his nickname was and he repiled "Saad". He rocked up (onto the oval)wearing Blundstone boots and overalls and proceeded to start training. He was only about 17 but you could tell he was just a freakish talent. Then the coach called for some sprint training and Saad was off, never seen again.

Blokes like him just make the game what it is I reckon!

Sounds like Johaar Saad's goal for nobs from the middle of Elsternwick against Old Brighton. Amazing. Can play the game those Saad's.

Doona2
27th September 2005, 12:01
Was in front of the Shepp United Social Club and just like everyone else I believe it to be the greatest mark Ive ever witnessed at a football match. Poor old Peter King took an absolute ripper also, but Saad's is all the rage!! His 2nd hanger deep in the Euroa fwd 50m wasn't a bad effort either

David_02
27th September 2005, 12:11
does he have any chances of getting drafted?

Travvy43
27th September 2005, 12:13
No professional photographer caught the mark on film, but one guy did. This was in the shepp news today. the shot does not give the mark much justice as it was taken half a second too late, from what i hear he was up there for an eternity. Hope the link works

http://www.news.mcmedia.com.au/story.asp?TakeNo=200509275654310

GV Middle Man
27th September 2005, 19:38
yeah me too by the sounds.

I was waiting all year to see another mark he took earlier this year at rochy on almost footy legends but it was never shown. apparently it was taped but mustn't have been sent in (??). have heard heaps about it but it seems I'll never see it. everyone at rochy that I have spoken to have rated it the best mark they have seen at gv level.

It was taped, and sent in, but never got on. sundays mark was also taped by the same seymour fellow, and the mark was something of a hold, similar to michael thomsons arce. huge!!!!!!

i heard a rumour that saad was asked to compare the mark on sunday with that from one he took against tonny. he said the granny one was bigger, and i quote "i could see the city from up there".

footyman
27th September 2005, 19:51
Poor work for no professional photographer to get the mark cos he'd flown for two marks already in the game which he dropped and he had hanger written all over this one too. He was two or three steps behind the pack, waiting to start his launch, then launched himself up and hung there for a few seconds.

Hopefully the Shepp News can take a freeze frame of the video and put that in, would love to see that.

Travvy43
28th September 2005, 09:07
i heard a rumour that saad was asked to compare the mark on sunday with that from one he took against tonny. he said the granny one was bigger, and i quote "i could see the city from up there".

I was playing on him against tonny and had a first hand view of him fire up his rockets and take off over the pack. I was holding onto his jumper in an attempt to hold him down, but he just keep going higher and higher.

Oggy's cousin
14th November 2005, 20:37
does he have any chances of getting drafted?

He was seen at Essendon pre-season rookie training early this week. Unsure about the blundstones and overalls though.

HJ32
15th November 2005, 07:24
He was seen at Essendon pre-season rookie training early this week. Unsure about the blundstones and overalls though.

he's training 3 nights a week at Windy Hill.

The grab in the GVL granny was the best grab i've seen in country footy.

Punter_22
15th November 2005, 07:45
The grab in the GVL granny was the best grab i've seen in country footy.[/QUOTE]

It was a huge mark, the one he took against Rochester where he flew across the goal sqaure and plucked it one handed was almost as good, not as spectacular, but freakish.

HJ32
15th November 2005, 08:21
has anyone seen echucaboy thru this thread yet????!!!

Grandale
15th November 2005, 08:24
has anyone seen echucaboy thru this thread yet????!!!

LOL. No, but what is even more amazing is that FBP hasn't yet done his cookies on this thread (although he did pop his head in a few weeks back under one of his many bigfooty guises).

HJ32
15th November 2005, 08:25
It was a huge mark, the one he took against Rochester where he flew across the goal sqaure and plucked it one handed was almost as good, not as spectacular, but freakish.

I saw the one at Rochy, it was amazing. was all leap and glided across the rochy guy's shoulders and due to miss timing the leap, stuck the right mit out and wheeled it in!. How good was Saad's first quarter of GVL Footy? he kicked six in the first q on Smiddy, and Connaughton, finished with 11 for the game.

bradrowe#32
15th November 2005, 08:37
I saw the one at Rochy, it was amazing. was all leap and glided across the rochy guy's shoulders and due to miss timing the leap, stuck the right mit out and wheeled it in!. How good was Saad's first quarter of GVL Footy? he kicked six in the first q on Smiddy, and Connaughton, finished with 11 for the game.

I played ressies and came out of the change rooms at 1/4 time and he'd absolutely killed. We all had to drown our sorrows with a beer or 20.

gazza12
15th November 2005, 12:54
i have saads mark on email private message me if you want it sent on

FOOTYBOSS
15th November 2005, 18:26
Saad can play, but everyone get their ********ing dicks out of his ass. He couldnt make it the bullants so I highly doubt whether he will make it at essendon. Didnt do much in the finals series except take some spectacular marks. Sheedy wont take the punt.

Mr Cannons
17th November 2005, 06:25
I have played with saad a couple of times and he is probably the freakeist player that I have seen, the way he flies for every contest is unbelievable.
Also watch out for his twin sister Fifa Saad one of Australias best female soccer players.

bell_potter1
17th November 2005, 08:19
Apparently a bloke sent a Saad Saad highlight DVD to all the AFL clubs for them to look at. Essendon invited him to train on the strength of what they saw in the DVD.

To look at the Saad Saad highlights DVD, go to :

http://www.news.mcmedia.com.au/

Both marks feature in the highlights packages. The one hander in the goal square is amazing.

jmain14
17th November 2005, 08:24
Apparently a bloke sent a Saad Saad highlight DVD to all the AFL clubs for them to look at. Essendon invited him to train on the strength of what they saw in the DVD.

To look at the Saad Saad highlights DVD, go to :

http://www.news.mcmedia.com.au/

Both marks feature in the highlights packages. The one hander in the goal square is amazing.
really?? what was the name of the bloke that sent it in do ya know??

sorry, couldn't resist.

control768
17th November 2005, 09:41
If this saad saad is so good, why is he playing bush footy and not afl. I heard anyone can get a kick in bush footy, just ask damien yze.

subtle hustle
17th November 2005, 09:55
the grand final mark wasn't as good as everyone in here is making out. it was a great mark but hardly an 'almost footy legends' heat winner.

Grandale
17th November 2005, 10:52
the grand final mark wasn't as good as everyone in here is making out. it was a great mark but hardly an 'almost footy legends' heat winner.

I fear Saad's mark will be a victim of its own publicity. The fact it has been circulated via email and the like already means it will be old news by the time next footy season ticks around and a lot of footy fans - plus plenty of people from the footy show - will have seen it.
I've heard plenty of people say the mark hasn't lived up to expectations and that's simply because of how most that were lucky enough to see it on the day have been talking it up.

Longy413
17th November 2005, 11:18

Saad played a few games in the Essendon reserves as a top up player a few years ago, so the club already knew about him.

fat back pocket
17th November 2005, 14:24
I fear Saad's mark will be a victim of its own publicity. The fact it has been circulated via email and the like already means it will be old news by the time next footy season ticks around and a lot of footy fans - plus plenty of people from the footy show - will have seen it.
I've heard plenty of people say the mark hasn't lived up to expectations and that's simply because of how most that were lucky enough to see it on the day have been talking it up.

Don't f a r k ing say that. Its gotta do well. We factored it into the budget.

Junkie
17th November 2005, 15:17
Don't f a r k ing say that. Its gotta do well. We factored it into the budget.

well aren't you a silly little C#%$nt....

cosby
17th November 2005, 15:25
i didn't think too much of it ewither.
i believe the word you're after junkie is ****.

MAXIMUM_POWER
17th November 2005, 15:34
Yeah, fair call.

Just ran out on the lead, just leapt from a meter or two back, just stood upright on a blokes back, and just brought it down. Just in a grand final and just in front of a massive crowd, and just at the end all the Seymour supporters were standing.

Oh yeah, and the bloke is tiny!

Just quietly, i'd say it was a fair f a r king screamer

cosby
17th November 2005, 15:57
geez mate, your acting like you've never seen a great mark before.

MAXIMUM_POWER
17th November 2005, 16:00
geez mate, your acting like you've never seen a great mark before.

And you were acting like it was just a regulation chest mark.

MAXIMUM_POWER
17th November 2005, 16:01
I did appreciate your use of the word ******** though Cosby

cosby
17th November 2005, 16:12
And you were acting like it was just a regulation chest mark.
it was a great mark no doubt about it, but i agree with others that it wasn't the mind-blowing spekkie that some people made it out to be.

ure#20
4th May 2006, 22:11
i think maximum power is on the ball, saad took about 3 spekkies on the w/end and the were exactly as u described! he is a freak!!!

ure#20
4th May 2006, 22:22
saad took 2 or 3 GOOD marks on the weekend against rochy and they were very spectacular marks!

numba4
5th May 2006, 17:02
the video of it is always on the GVFL round up ad on who playing who on thurs nite

EDFL MAN
5th May 2006, 17:07
saad took 2 or 3 GOOD marks on the weekend against rochy and they were very spectacular marks!

You expected that when the bloke is on $1000.00 a game. :confused:

Doona2
5th May 2006, 19:00

Not on $1000

mitch_fc
5th May 2006, 19:04
Not on $1000
should be

EDFL MAN
5th May 2006, 19:15
Not on $1000

Why would the bloke lie then Doona2? Then again........:confused:

Doona2
5th May 2006, 19:23
Why would the bloke lie then Doona2? Then again........:confused:

Good way of pumping up a price if other club's were showing an interest I guess

EDFL MAN
5th May 2006, 23:30
Good way of pumping up a price if other club's were showing an interest I guess

Fair call Doona2, he would still be on good coin. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Wayne Weideman
7th May 2006, 09:16
yep good player awesome player infact, have seen him myself. but may be a little rochy bias but robbie miller used to be saad like player but probably better. could play anywhere and take hangers just as good as this freakshow does. go tiges:p

fat back pocket
7th May 2006, 16:35

Very silly comment...no wonder you have a confused face. You don't know what he is on...I have a rough estimate, and i can tell you, well and trully below the rediculous figure you posted.

Don't comment on things you no nothing about.

EDFL MAN
7th May 2006, 18:51
Very silly comment...no wonder you have a confused face. You don't know what he is on...I have a rough estimate, and i can tell you, well and trully below the rediculous figure you posted.

Don't comment on things you no nothing about.

I will repeat myself once again fat boy......it come from boy on Union St Brunswick's mouth. :eek:
More to the point it's not a ridiculous comment fatty, he won them the flag and created something from nothing. :thumbsu:

Doona2
7th May 2006, 21:52
Having been at a club in a similar position to Seymour last season, you sometimes have the ability to promote your club and lure potential recruits to your club for a shot at a flag, or at least finals football. As much as we continually hear about who's getting what etc etc. Trust me blokes do take less than they'd get at a middle road club if it's the difference between a premiership medal or not . . . well most blokes do anyway.

I've got no doubt Saady get's looked after, and trust me he's knocked back much bigger offers to play elsewhere this season, but has stuck with the Lions as they chase back to back glory.

waddo #6
8th May 2006, 17:42
Fair call Doona2, he would still be on good coin. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

not as good spondula as every one makes it out to be, half the melb blokes are supposed to be receiving petrol money... most of em r followin stevie from what ive heard... good on em, look where the dollars have got em and may aswell enjoy it while its there... as for saad, yes he is a F U C K I N G freak but probly the laziest footballer ive seen.. steve gives him a license to do what he wants, if i had a license i would be on the pill not sittin in the square, ah well blokes a gun, that mark was sensational and last weekend at rochy he displayed a screamer right infront of us near the viewing tower and gave the old thumbs up and a wink, GO LIONS

waddo #6
8th May 2006, 17:46
I will repeat myself once again fat boy......it come from boy on Union St Brunswick's mouth. :eek:
More to the point it's not a ridiculous comment fatty, he won them the flag and created something from nothing. :thumbsu:

anyway mate hows about getting back to the thread topic and that being basically all about saad saad and the Seymour Lions, take a leaf outta doona's book and talk sensibily please...

Doona2
8th May 2006, 18:21
Again the man with the 2 first (or last) names took some amazing grabs on the weekend - two of which weren't paid as the ball had already gone over the line for behinds, not that Saady cared he just lept up (and up) for the sake of some entertainment for the crowd I think.

waddo #6
10th May 2006, 17:01

so what mate steve daniels sat on his then fat f u c k i n g arse and pulled his w i l l y while saad tapped the ball to himself on the deck then kicked it to foward line to kick a goal then in the meantime hold up the likes of symes while running the show from the boundary.. sure thing mate... ur an complete stroker mate you have no idea.... "TEAM" i dont find any "i" in that word mate... there is 22 blokes in the seniors side and a coach and assistant coach. saad played a part in a very long and hard process of winning that granny, along with alot of other blokes... any one else feeling me???

WRFLfan
25th May 2006, 12:51
I cant seem to find that mark at the address that were given

Foreign Legion
14th February 2007, 19:23
yep good player awesome player infact, have seen him myself. but may be a little rochy bias but robbie miller used to be saad like player but probably better. could play anywhere and take hangers just as good as this freakshow does. go tiges:p

Bumping an old post I know but...

Yeah WW - played under 18's with Robbie and we used to scratch our heads at some of the things he did.

He was an awesome Mark, Kick and runner - if he had a bit more focus he might have done something at Carlton.

Cannons02
24th August 2007, 14:52
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75nvBqixC9Y
freakshow

cats2rise
25th February 2008, 16:48
Fair effort that.

ross faulkner
26th February 2008, 19:06
Yeah WW - played under 18's with Robbie and we used to scratch our heads at some of the things he did.

He was an awesome Mark, Kick and runner - if he had a bit more focus he might have done something at Carlton.[/quote]

By focus do you mean guts?

showy#1
9th March 2008, 12:38
so what mate steve daniels sat on his then fat f u c k i n g arse and pulled his w i l l y while saad tapped the ball to himself on the deck then kicked it to foward line to kick a goal then in the meantime hold up the likes of symes while running the show from the boundary.. sure thing mate... ur an complete stroker mate you have no idea.... "TEAM" i dont find any "i" in that word mate... there is 22 blokes in the seniors side and a coach and assistant coach. saad played a part in a very long and hard process of winning that granny, along with alot of other blokes... any one else feeling me???you still tearing up from the 05 granny thats a shame mate no point bagging any one waddo cause you dont have much to show for it

Rams
26th March 2008, 10:15
Saad is back at Seymour after trying out for Collingwoods VFL squad. Rumour he was going to play with the Bendigo Bombers but I have been told he is playing with Seymour. East Burwood travel to Seymour this Sunday (30th March) for the now annual practice match and no doubt I will get to see Saad standing on a few heads taking a grab or two. One year he kicked 10 goals and took himself off during the third term. I am looking forward to Sunday to see Saad play. If you are doing nothing and are in the area drop in. Always a great game.