View Full Version : Long Live Club Cricket Day
tasyazdani
28 Sep 2005, 11:19
Long Live Club Cricket Day this Saturday. All Australian players are turning out for their local sides.
Feel free to list the appearances in your city.
In Sydney:
Brett Lee will be playing for Mosman against UTS-Balmain at Allan Border Oval.
Simon Katich will be turning out for Randwick-Petersham against University of NSW at Petersham Oval
Michael Clarke will once again play for Western Suburbs against Manly at Pratten Park.
Glenn McGrath will play for Sutherland against Fairfield-Liverpool at Caringbah Oval.
Stuart MacGill will be playing for Sydney University as he did last week against Penrith at University 1.
Nathan Bracken will be playing for Eastern Suburbs against Bankstown at Waverley Oval. Brad Haddin is out injured for Easts.
All NSW contracted players will also be feauturing.
Aaron BIRD - Bankstown
Doug BOLLINGER - Fairfield Liverpool
Jarrad BURKE - Campbelltown-Camden
Mark CAMERON - Manly
Stuart CLARK - Manly
Tom COOPER - University of NSW
Ed COWAN - Sydney University
Murray CREED - University of NSW
Pete FORREST - Hawkesbury
John HASTINGS - Hawkesbury
Moises HENRIQUES - St George
Phil JAQUES - Sutherland
Jason KREZJA - UTS-Balmain
Grant LAMBERT - Fairfield-Liverpool
Greg MAIL - Sydney University
Matthew NICHOLSON - Gordon
Aaron O'BRIEN - Eastern Suburbs
Stephen O'KEEFE - Hawkesbury
James PACKMAN - Gordon
Martin PASKAL - Sydney University
Matthew PHELPS - Sydney University
Craig SIMMONS - Gordon
Daniel SMITH - Western Suburbs
Dominic THORNELY - Northern Districts
Graham THORPE - UTS-Balmain (absent)
All games to start at 10am.
Campbelltown Camden v St George - Raby 1
Eastern Suburbs v Bankstown - Waverley Oval
Gordon v Blacktown - Killara Oval
Hawkesbury v Parramatta - Owen Earle Oval
Mosman v UTS-Balmain - Allan Border Oval
Northern District v North Sydney - Waitara Oval
Randwick Petersham v UNSW - Petersham Oval
Sutherland v Fairfield-Liverpool - Caringbah Oval
Sydney Uni v Penrith - University 1
Western Suburbs v Manly - Pratten Park
nicho_magic
28 Sep 2005, 11:25
S.K. Warne pulls on the boots for my club st kilda this week.
on top of the regulars
rummans
jewell
klinger
also hodge for melbourne
I have already listed the contracted players for each club in premier cricket under Victorian Premier Cricket Round 1 thread http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=200726
ben.carbonaro
28 Sep 2005, 14:37
Does this mean that Ricky Ponting will be turning out for Mowbray down in Tasmania ?
tasyazdani
28 Sep 2005, 15:06
Ponting will lead the Mobray Invitational XI v Tasmanian Pura Cup team
http://www.theage.com.au/news/cricket/warne-to-pad-up-for-st-kilda/2005/09/17/1126750167339.html?oneclick=true
Freo Big Fella
28 Sep 2005, 15:08
Gilchrist - Perth
Langer - Scarborough
Martyn - Perth? (might be South Perth)
Hussey - Wanneroo
Hogg - Willetton
armchair_expert
28 Sep 2005, 15:12
S.K. Warne pulls on the boots for my club st kilda this week.
on top of the regulars
rummans
jewell
klinger
also hodge for melbourne
Do you know what venue warne/st kilda are playing this week
eddiesmith
28 Sep 2005, 16:19
Its in the other thread, but they are playing at Windy Hill
nicho_magic
28 Sep 2005, 17:13
Its in the other thread, but they are playing at Windy Hill
there is ur answer
Marklar_33
29 Sep 2005, 22:52
Ponting to play his first game at Mowbray for ages! Lucky for me, the ground is just a cricket balls throw away from my house, and free entry, how could I go wrong!
The pitch looks a beauty (for Invermay Park!) and hoping for some top Twenty20 action, the first game of its kind in Launceston
eddiesmith
29 Sep 2005, 23:02
Ponting to play his first game at Mowbray for ages! Lucky for me, the ground is just a cricket balls throw away from my house, and free entry, how could I go wrong!
The pitch looks a beauty (for Invermay Park!) and hoping for some top Twenty20 action, the first game of its kind in Launceston
The most shocking thing is Ponting is actually going to play a cricket game for a Tasmanian side
I thought he had turned his back on the state?
ben.carbonaro
30 Sep 2005, 00:01
Yeah, in terms of living there he has.
He know lives in Caringbah, a suburb of Sydney.
eddiesmith
30 Sep 2005, 00:13
Yeah, in terms of living there he has.
He knows lives in Caringbah, a suburb of Sydney.
He also refused to play for Tassie when he had a chance last year in the last game for the season with their finals hopes on the line
ben.carbonaro
30 Sep 2005, 00:16
Yeah, I remember that.
Who would you say is the most committed Australian player in terms of making himself available for state cricket, Mr Smith ?
Personally, I would say Justin Langer.
eddiesmith
30 Sep 2005, 00:17
Shane Keith Warne
Only thing that stops him is John Buchanan :mad:
ben.carbonaro
30 Sep 2005, 00:23
I would of thought Justin Langer would have been your choice as well.
So basically, Buchanan has double standards then as he allows Langer to play for Western Australia yet doesn't allow Warne to play for Victoria ?
He should be playing in the Victorian side against the World XI, is he not playing because JB said no ?
eddiesmith
30 Sep 2005, 00:34
I dont know about the World XI, he probably needs a break
But on more than a couple of occassions Warney has been rested and most others allowed to play
He also had to land in Perth last year a week before the Test match and wasnt allowed to play a one dayer for the Vics and fly to Perth later that night or first thing the next morning
JB excuse is usually he wants the bowlers to rest although I am pretty sure I remember one week a couple of years back Warney was the only player rested
ViperV10
30 Sep 2005, 22:06
Great concept I reckon. Good to see the players turning up to actually support the day.
All of the matchups are on cricket.com.au in the media release section http://www.cricket.com.au/default.aspx?s=mediareleasedisplay&id=35322
There are also State Ambassadors, who are going to be presenting plaques to their old schools and clubs as part of it...great to see!
pinkus maximus
1 Oct 2005, 00:43
the 3 best wicketkeepers in the state Gilchrist,Campbell and Ronchi are playing opposite my house tommorow...might watch them from the lounge room :D
chunkylover
1 Oct 2005, 12:31
bad luck pinkus, rained off champ. at least our game at kingsway is.
pinkus maximus
1 Oct 2005, 14:52
bad luck pinkus, rained off champ. at least our game at kingsway is.
yeah same :mad:
eddiesmith
1 Oct 2005, 18:23
What scores did people hear?
Hayden continued his wonderful form with a sensational 4
Warney took 3/42
tasyazdani
1 Oct 2005, 18:34
Lee 4 wickets, not much with the bat
UTS-Balmain bowled out for 78, in reply Mosman 190, then UTS-Balmain got sent in again, not sure biut the second innings score
Unwritten_Law
1 Oct 2005, 19:06
I went out to see Punter play today.
Tassie batted first and were 4 for 10 (Kremerskothen got 3 of them including a ripper c&b) before Cox steadied the innings and Tubb came out and smashed a few quick runs to get them to 8-125 off their 20. The game was played on the practice oval behind York Park and I don't think they had mowed the grass in 2 months! Anything along the ground stopped dead.
Mowbray Invitational were 5-81 off 11 when I left, Punter and Bailey put on most of the runs 20-30 each before getting out.
Hard to tell when half the tassie side didn't wear names, and the loud speaker was a shocker, but I don't think Bevan, Di Venuto, Wright and obviously the injured Marsh played! Griffith, Kremerskothen, Bailey, Doherty and Anderson played for Punter's team so it was basically the north with a few mowbray players v. south with a few interstate ring ins.
eddiesmith
1 Oct 2005, 19:42
The biggest and most shocking news to come out of the game in Tassie is that Ricky committed himself to Tasmanias first 2 ING cup games.
Although of course the games are being played in Sydney and Brisbane so closer to him
nicho_magic
1 Oct 2005, 19:58
What scores did people hear?
Hayden continued his wonderful form with a sensational 4
Warney took 3/42
did we win, i only heard warnie's figures and we were chasing 220 odd
eddiesmith
1 Oct 2005, 19:59
did we win, i only heard warnie's figures and we were chasing 220 odd
I dont know how many overs were left but they needed 31 and Warney was 11*, so unless they were running out of overs they should have won in a canter as Warney was batting at no5
ben.carbonaro
2 Oct 2005, 20:15
The biggest and most shocking news to come out of the game in Tassie is that Ricky committed himself to Tasmanias first 2 ING cup games.
Although of course the games are being played in Sydney and Brisbane so closer to him
What's so bad about this, Eddie ?
I would of thought the TCA would be delighted that he has confirmed he will play with them for the first two games.
eddiesmith
2 Oct 2005, 20:17
What's so bad about this, Eddie ?
I would of thought the TCA would be delighted that he has confirmed he will play with them for the first two games.
Its a shock, he refused to help them out when they were trying to make the ING cup final last year and now suddenly he is happy to play for them in the opening 2 games of this year, of course they are closer to his home than Tasmania
ben.carbonaro
2 Oct 2005, 20:35
Yeah, ok Eddie.
Remember reading what you said and yes, it is interesting that he has renegged on his original decision which was that he didn't want to represent his state at one-day level.
Unwritten_Law
3 Oct 2005, 09:53
Tassie won by a run, I missed a good finish :o
Fred Yeomans
3 Oct 2005, 18:15
Hayden made 63 yesterday.