View Full Version : Kyabram District FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72

Doona2
10 Mar 2006, 13:12
you heading to any of the cricket finals on the weekend doona

Nah mate 15 of us are off to Gippsland to watch Trav's team Bundalaguah in the Sale Maffra Cricket grand final - your guys got Yea I see will be an interesting one on the turf at Tigerland

gazza12
10 Mar 2006, 13:15
yeah they trained at the main ground at kilmore last night would need to improve greatly on last week i would imagine im going to get to avenel as well should be a good one

Doona2
10 Mar 2006, 13:22
yeah they trained at the main ground at kilmore last night would need to improve greatly on last week i would imagine im going to get to avenel as well should be a good one

Mate I think Avenel are home (sorry FBP & Grandy). It has been a decade or so since we've seen such batting depth in the SDCA, I just feel they have the best side in it

hank1
10 Mar 2006, 13:26
Why doesn't he play footy at Avenel when they're in the same league?

He lives In Ky, so Stanhope is 3/4hr less to travel for him. I assume he still plays cricket there to catch up with mates during the summer, and then plays footy closer to home in the winter.

HJ32, Yeah Brock went well, took some good marks. His misses and sister are big additions to the netball ranks and will certainly put Stanhope right up there in the eye candy stakes.

Grandale
10 Mar 2006, 13:48
Mate I think Avenel are home (sorry FBP & Grandy). It has been a decade or so since we've seen such batting depth in the SDCA, I just feel they have the best side in it

Let's just call the finals series off then...that way I can head to Flemington tomorrow.

wheelbarrow
10 Mar 2006, 13:59
Let's just call the finals series off then...that way I can head to Flemington tomorrow.
Race 2 No. 1 Brad.

Doona2
10 Mar 2006, 18:59

My opninion only mate, mums got one in Adelaide tomorrow (pm me) which is over due to get the chocolates

big tony
11 Mar 2006, 18:46
Rumor has it that at a cricket game today, Violet Towns Sean Horsburgh has broke his leg while fielding in a rough patch on the field.
this will cause massive problems as he is one of vt's soul midfielders.

nicnat
11 Mar 2006, 22:16
[QUOTE=big tony]Rumor has it that at a cricket game today, Violet Towns Sean Horsburgh has broke his leg while fielding in a rough patch on the field.
this will cause massive problems as he is one of vt's soul midfielders.[/QUOTE from what i've herd sean horsburgh is a big loss but the amount of uni students and euroa players that have moved up the highway, vt can cover him.
rumor has it that hayden lamaro will follow his father and wear the number 8 guernsey at vt this year and with matt sharp almost certain to sign it looks like the vt vs stanhope clash in round 1 could be a classic.

kanga fan man
12 Mar 2006, 20:39
who is coaching violet town and have they picked up any players ?

Rosco5
13 Mar 2006, 10:48
Have it on good authority that Nagambie recruit Matt Broomfield's home club of Craigieburn will not allow him to train with them. How often do we see this happen, clubs making it very hard for home grown blokes to feel welcome about one day returning by such nonsense carry on.
Matt and Ken are training with the SuperRules side coached by my 93 premiership teammate 'Cujo', at least he is a realist !!

Doona2
13 Mar 2006, 18:33
Rumor has it that at a cricket game today, Violet Towns Sean Horsburgh has broke his leg while fielding in a rough patch on the field.
this will cause massive problems as he is one of vt's soul midfielders.

Sean and Webb were VT's best 2 players last year, will be a massive loss. I did hear Matt Sharp was looking to go back and Lamaro was another rectuir mentioned loosely . . . surely not as both have plenty to offer the GVFL for a long time yet.

Doona2
13 Mar 2006, 18:35
from what i've herd sean horsburgh is a big loss but the amount of uni students and euroa players that have moved up the highway, vt can cover him.
rumor has it that hayden lamaro will follow his father and wear the number 8 guernsey at vt this year and with matt sharp almost certain to sign it looks like the vt vs stanhope clash in round 1 could be a classic.

Sorry guys shoulda scrolled down first hey, does seem the rumours are flying though hey

Doona2
13 Mar 2006, 18:37
Matt and Ken are training with the SuperRules side coached by my 93 premiership teammate 'Cujo', at least he is a realist !!

Cant believe football clubs still go down this path, surely if the door is left open then the chance of blokes coming home to roost after they've looked around and gained experience is in the best interest of everyone

T.Perry
14 Mar 2006, 14:49
Rushworth played Tongala under-lights at Tonny on Friday night. Don't remember the exact final scores, but I think we got up by about 20-25 points in the end, though the score probably wasn't the best indication. For Tonny, Mark Reid was sensational in the first half, as was Henderson, and Simon Harrison looked dangerous at times. They looked as though the had a fair few young blokes with genuine pace and fitness, which could be advantageous on the big grounds in the MFL.

For Rushworth, it was pretty much a team performance, with mainly the young blokes leading the way. I thought Brennan was good all night, martin was flashy on his wing and almost everyone else contributed.

I think we play Tally this Friday night and if we win, most likely Stanhope the Friday after that.. Any other results from praccy games over the weekend??
Big news about Lamaro and Sharp, not sure about Sharp, but I would think it would be almost unconceivable that Lamaro would leave GV this year..

Doona2
14 Mar 2006, 14:59

My thoughts have now changed a bit after hearing A.Brown is doubtful with a torn hammy. Puts a lot of pressure on Sauce and then the back-up bowlers if Brown does miss. No side has batted a day against the Swans and the inform Joey Amad and Stu Peterson just might be capable of doing it, not to mention Bishop if he gets promoted on the strength of a fine innings in the B's semi.

Will be closer than I thought a week or two back

T.Perry
14 Mar 2006, 15:08
While we're on the subject of cricket, can anyone shed some light on the Stanhope v fire brigade GF on the weekend? Heard there was a scuffle at the drinks break and a fire brigade player got reported...

Also heard reigning McNamara medallist, Brad Lowe, top scored with 98..

Grandale
14 Mar 2006, 15:09
My thoughts have now changed a bit after hearing A.Brown is doubtful with a torn hammy. Puts a lot of pressure on Sauce and then the back-up bowlers if Brown does miss. No side has batted a day against the Swans and the inform Joey Amad and Stu Peterson just might be capable of doing it, not to mention Bishop if he gets promoted on the strength of a fine innings in the B's semi.

Will be closer than I thought a week or two back

Hold the phone Blocker! What's this about A Brown doing a hammy??? Seymour's J Brown did a 'string against Yea on Satdy and I also heard a whisper Avenel's Shaun Green might have done his, but there was no mention of Aaron on the injury list.
You're not getting your Brownys confused are you Doon?

Doona2
14 Mar 2006, 15:15
Hold the phone Blocker! What's this about A Brown doing a hammy??? Seymour's J Brown did a 'string against Yea on Satdy and I also heard a whisper Avenel's Shaun Green might have done his, but there was no mention of Aaron on the injury list.
You're not getting your Brownys confused are you Doon?

Yeah I did mate sorry :o wouldnt of thought those skinny legs of Jason's were capable of doing one. Will that open the door for any in form B-graders

hank1
14 Mar 2006, 15:29
While we're on the subject of cricket, can anyone shed some light on the Stanhope v fire brigade GF on the weekend? Heard there was a scuffle at the drinks break and a fire brigade player got reported...

Also heard reigning McNamara medallist, Brad Lowe, top scored with 98..

Yeah was an interesting couple of days. Brendan White was the player put on report for headbutting Stanhope English import Steven Hall. There was a bit going on verbally and White also through the ball back at the strikers end hitting Hall on the foot. At the next drinks break they came together as they were leaving the pitch and Whitey game him a little liverpool kiss, Hall remonstrated and then there wa a little bit of how dod you do with most players from both sides involved, calmed down after the break and Stanhope got the runs without too many problems.
Lowe made 96, Hall 73, but did eventually fall to White just before he did his hamstring and didnt take any further part in the game.
Was a big night Sunday and day yesterday celebrating, with Lowey taking the honours again(with shaved head and one eyebrow), Hoota Gray couldnt hack the pace and left before acceptances yesterday. Special mention to Ray Young who must have thought the game was over Saturday and duly drunk 15 bourbon cans at the Sherbourne Saturday night!!

Grandale
14 Mar 2006, 15:35
Yeah I did mate sorry :o wouldnt of thought those skinny legs of Jason's were capable of doing one. Will that open the door for any in form B-graders

I'm sure club coach Mark McGregor will fancy his chances of forcing his way back in after claiming 6/30 (with three or four dropped catches as well) off 27 overs against what was a pretty potent Avenel B Grade combo.

gazza12
14 Mar 2006, 15:41
how did travs team go doona

Doona2
14 Mar 2006, 18:35
how did travs team go doona

Trav's mob (Bundalaguah) got 197, Blacky got 70. Stratford got em 3 down, Trav bowled well for 1 for, 3 dropped catches coulda been the difference.

cosby
14 Mar 2006, 20:01
been a bit quite on here lately and i don't think anyones mentioned it yet but the centenary year for 2006 out at lancy is a no-goer i'm afraid. seems two very lovely ladies from the historical society in kyabram made a find last week that changed the believed formation year from 1906 to 1910.
unfortunatley, although the club was still playing games in 1906 it's beleived now that 'officially' the club was only started in 1910. whatever this all actually means i don't know but we were informed that keeping the centenary year as this year would've been changing history so the club had no choice but to inform the players and then put a bit in the free mess last week.
therefore the players are now the lucky owners of some very rare and intrigueing 'centenary pre season singlets' for 2006, sure to be a collectors item.

other lanky news, the club will be playing yarroweyah on the 25th and mount pleasant on the 1st while the rest of the league plays the first round.

this is a footy thread isn't it?

Doona2
14 Mar 2006, 20:12
been a bit quite on here lately and i don't think anyones mentioned it yet but the centenary year for 2006 out at lancy is a no-goer i'm afraid. seems two very lovely ladies from the historical society in kyabram made a find last week that changed the believed formation year from 1906 to 1910.
unfortunatley, although the club was still playing games in 1906 it's beleived now that 'officially' the club was only started in 1910. whatever this all actually means i don't know but we were informed that keeping the centenary year as this year would've been changing history so the club had no choice but to inform the players and then put a bit in the free mess last week.
therefore the players are now the lucky owners of some very rare and intrigueing 'centenary pre season singlets' for 2006, sure to be a collectors item.

other lanky news, the club will be playing yarroweyah on the 25th and mount pleasant on the 1st while the rest of the league plays the first round.

this is a footy thread isn't it?

They coulda kept quiet til seasons end, coulda been another excuse for big celebrations in 2010!!!

cosby
14 Mar 2006, 20:34
i tried to convince them of this doona. but they just wouldn't have it.

T.Perry
15 Mar 2006, 08:24

Apart from a few people taking the p i s s, is this likely to affect the club in any way in terms of potential recruits, sponsorship, etc? How much does a singlet go for?? Will be interesting to see how Lancy goes in their praccy matches, both Yarroweyah and mounts will have pretty good sides this year..
Who is playing this Wed night at gig?

Sly Dog
15 Mar 2006, 08:41
i mightlook on e bay for one of those singlets cosby. from what i hear b whites singlet could be a bargain as he actually hasnt worn it yet (you did say training singlet) while on the big fella, wouldnt a headbutt from whitey wipe out the whole team. its a decent sized noggin hes got

King_Of_Ling
15 Mar 2006, 10:13
Who is playing this Wed night at gig?

Stanhope is playing 1 u, with a few blokes back in from last weeks game they should have a stronger side.

T.Perry
15 Mar 2006, 13:48
Stanhope is playing 1 u, with a few blokes back in from last weeks game they should have a stronger side.

Would be very surprised if Stanhope had too many problems with disposing of 1 u (that is easier than trying to spell it!) I hear most of the boys are pretty fit and looking forward to atone for last year..

Doona, any word out of Yea?? I reckon they could be real smokey's this year - how are they going with their recruiting and which players should opposition clubs keep an eye on?

Wayde Petersen
15 Mar 2006, 14:53
As far as Lanky's centennary's concerned, it's always tough to find the exact date of a formation of a particular club, and you really need to get somebody who knows a bit about research to do this. (BTW, i'm sure that Eileen Sullivan & Mavis Knight at Kyabram, would've helped you know end, in your enquiries).

When I was assigned to do research for Murchison's 125th Anniversary, (which in my mind should be celebrated this year, because I believe that anniversarys go by years and not seasons so 1881 to 2006 is 125 YEARS), I found out that football in Murchison was played as early as 1877 (against Rushworth), and again in 1879 (against Rushworth, and again amoungst ourselves), but it wasn't until our first committee was formed (in 1881), that the Murchison Football Club came into being, and this is the year that we decided that the club was formed.

So as far as historical accuracy is concerned, the Lancaster Football Club started when who had your first working committee (which was in 1910), not when the Lancaster community started playing football (which was in 1906), but anyway, Lancaster should be proud of the fact that your club has survived and prospered after so many years of service.

Now, back to the footy. who do you think will be in the running for the finals ?, Which clubs to you think will improve on last season ?, Who do you think will go backwards in 2006 ?, and more importantly, Who do you think will win the Premiership in 2006 ?.

In my opinion, the usual suspects, Stanhope and Lancaster will be tough to beat, but Yea, after having an ordinary record of winning Grand Finals, looks strong and seems to have found a way to win the games that count.

The improvers in my mind will be Violet Town, Girgarre, Nagambie & Merrigum, but I don't think that they have enough to beat the contenders for the flag.

I think that Murchison & Tallygaroopna will go backwards solely due to the fact that they have lost too many players to be within cooee of premiership contention (as far as Murch goes, well I hope for the best, and that we are a happy club in 2006).

And for my prediction for 2006 Premiers, and I know that this will suprise some people, but I think that Yea will win the premiership, because they've recruited well, have a great home ground advantage (like Rushworth), and after thier come from behing premiership last year, they believe that they can do it, and on that fact alone, the Yea Tigers come September will be 2006 KDFL Premiers.

I would like to hear your opinions on this, and I would like to wish you all the best for the up-coming season.

T.Perry
15 Mar 2006, 15:18
[QUOTE=Wayde Petersen] Now, back to the footy. who do you think will be in the running for the finals ?, Which clubs to you think will improve on last season ?, Who do you think will go backwards in 2006 ?, and more importantly, Who do you think will win the Premiership in 2006 ?.

In my opinion, the usual suspects, Stanhope and Lancaster will be tough to beat, but Yea, after having an ordinary record of winning Grand Finals, looks strong and seems to have found a way to win the games that count.

The improvers in my mind will be Violet Town, Girgarre, Nagambie & Merrigum, but I don't think that they have enough to beat the contenders for the flag.

I think that Murchison & Tallygaroopna will go backwards solely due to the fact that they have lost too many players to be within cooee of premiership contention (as far as Murch goes, well I hope for the best, and that we are a happy club in 2006).
QUOTE]

Don't think you're too far off the $ Wayde. I think Stanhope should start favourites, with Yea and Ardmona to be their likely GF opponents. There's still a long way to go before September arrives, but at this stage I'd say Lancy and Rushy would be the most likely to challenge these 3. In saying that, I think Undera will go very close to making the finals and violet town could also be a real surprise packet. I think you're right - Murch and Tally will drop off the pace and both seem to have lost a majority of their best players (Montgomery, Sidebottom, Wayman, Trianidis for Tally and Kellet, Turner, Richter, Mahoney for Murch). Gig will improve marketedly on last year, but I don't think to the extent that they will scare the top teams, Nagambie and Avenel will be ok, and could potentially snare a spot just out of the finals, but I don't think they will have the quality at the top end to compete with the top sides (though they're depth will be ok). I think that leaves Merrigum, have hardly heard a word on what's happening out there, except that they've lost Stammers and Hall, arguably they're 2 best players...

So my predictions for the ladder:
Stanhope
Yea
Ardy
Rushy
Lancy

Undera
Violet Town
Nagambie
Avenel
Gig
Tally
Murch
Merrigum (though anyone between 7-12 could be swapped around - they should be pretty even)

You can pencil brenton Gray in for the McNamara medal, with Brad Lowe and Cory Carver not far behind. Pearce to go in favourite for the leading goal-kicker.

Rosco5
15 Mar 2006, 15:33
Rumour has it again that the Yea coach may be 'posted' in the coming weeks and the Tigers may be looking for a replacement ?? :eek:

Wayde Petersen
15 Mar 2006, 15:40
[QUOTE=Wayde Petersen] Now, back to the footy. who do you think will be in the running for the finals ?, Which clubs to you think will improve on last season ?, Who do you think will go backwards in 2006 ?, and more importantly, Who do you think will win the Premiership in 2006 ?.

QUOTE]

Don't think you're too far off the $ Wayde. I think Stanhope should start favourites, with Yea and Ardmona to be their likely GF opponents. There's still a long way to go before September arrives, but at this stage I'd say Lancy and Rushy would be the most likely to challenge these 3. In saying that, I think Undera will go very close to making the finals and violet town could also be a real surprise packet. I think you're right - Murch and Tally will drop off the pace and both seem to have lost a majority of their best players (Montgomery, Sidebottom, Wayman, Trianidis for Tally and Kellet, Turner, Richter, Mahoney for Murch). Gig will improve marketedly on last year, but I don't think to the extent that they will scare the top teams, Nagambie and Avenel will be ok, and could potentially snare a spot just out of the finals, but I don't think they will have the quality at the top end to compete with the top sides (though they're depth will be ok). I think that leaves Merrigum, have hardly heard a word on what's happening out there, except that they've lost Stammers and Hall, arguably they're 2 best players...

So my predictions for the ladder:
Stanhope
Yea
Ardy
Rushy
Lancy

Undera
Violet Town
Nagambie
Avenel
Gig
Tally
Murch
Merrigum (though anyone between 7-12 could be swapped around - they should be pretty even)

You can pencil brenton Gray in for the McNamara medal, with Brad Lowe and Cory Carver not far behind. Pearce to go in favourite for the leading goal-kicker.

Thanks for the reply Tavis, that top 5 (i'm glad we've kept that finals format, because it is the fairest way to decide who's the best team of the year) you gave is spot-on, but as you said, it's still early yet, and I only wanted to do this because I wanted to see if our predictions were accurate come finals time.

As far as Rushy goes, well you (and Ardy), will be there and there abouts, but it essentially goes down to how your Under 18's will perform in the seniors (a few of your kids look good, and the bloke you had at full-forward last week, if he can become a bit more mobile, he'll be hard to match up in because I doubt there would be many full-backs that could match him body to body and one on one), and the ability of Scott Hanson and the rest of your coaching staff to replace those players you've lost, but I think you're good enough to make the finals barring disaster.

cosby
15 Mar 2006, 15:50
Apart from a few people taking the p i s s, is this likely to affect the club in any way in terms of potential recruits, sponsorship, etc? How much does a singlet go for?? Will be interesting to see how Lancy goes in their praccy matches, both Yarroweyah and mounts will have pretty good sides this year..
Can't see this affecting the club in any way other than a few of the boys being disappointed that they have to wait another 4 years for the centenary ball. there will be a 'not the centenary' ball held in august and i'm sure they will make just as big a mess of themselves.

Andyt30
15 Mar 2006, 17:23
yea Will give kdfl a good fright in their first year back in the KDFL
:thumbsu:

hank1
16 Mar 2006, 15:43
[QUOTE=T.Perry]Murch and Tally will drop off the pace and both seem to have lost a majority of their best players (Montgomery, Sidebottom, Wayman, Trianidis for Tally and Kellet, Turner, Richter, Mahoney for Murch).

Have spoken to Wayman a few times and I believe he will stay at Tally. Played CHB last week in night series and was BOG for Tally.

cosby
16 Mar 2006, 16:06
didn't monty play aswell hank?

wheelbarrow
16 Mar 2006, 18:02
[QUOTE=T.Perry]Murch and Tally will drop off the pace and both seem to have lost a majority of their best players (Montgomery, Sidebottom, Wayman, Trianidis for Tally and Kellet, Turner, Richter, Mahoney for Murch).

Have spoken to Wayman a few times and I believe he will stay at Tally. Played CHB last week in night series and was BOG for Tally.

Moama are in the running as of this week.?

Doona2
16 Mar 2006, 20:00
Doona, any word out of Yea?? I reckon they could be real smokey's this year - how are they going with their recruiting and which players should opposition clubs keep an eye on?

Had a great chat with our pres Chris Pollard tonight and I think everything appears fine in Yea. No doubt like everyone still finalising the playing list and now that cricket is finished numbers will improve on the track. Play rival Alexandra on the 25th I believe before going to Avenel round 1 for a clash the Tigers are very nervy about.

Go easy on the flag talk too you blokes, I feel the boys will be very competitive but from all the bad vibes the CGFL got we must be stepping up to a fair standard of footy and to make the finals would be an achievement.

Players to watch, christ where do I start they're all new faces to KDFL clubs . . . Tom Butterworth, Chris Leatham, Matt Pollard, Cam Scott, Michael Papa, Mark Nicholls, Ben Milliken, Ashley Walsh, Damien Lord, Adrian Wilson, Terry Whitwam, Damien Inness and James Clavarino, James Stephens and Peter Kiss have come along nicely in the past 2-3 seasons.

Who am I kidding I love em all and wish them every success in their new league.

Grandale
17 Mar 2006, 09:45
Players to watch, christ where do I start they're all new faces to KDFL clubs . . . Tom Butterworth, Chris Leatham, Matt Pollard, Cam Scott, Michael Papa, Mark Nicholls, Ben Milliken, Ashley Walsh, Damien Lord, Adrian Wilson, Terry Whitwam, Damien Inness and James Clavarino, James Stephens and Peter Kiss have come along nicely in the past 2-3 seasons.

Who am I kidding I love em all and wish them every success in their new league.

Now I apologise if this was raised a few pages back and I missed it, but is the Big Dip in fact going to play at Yea. The word on the street - Sydney Rd in fact - is he is suiting up for North Coburg Saints in '06.
Doona?

Doona2
17 Mar 2006, 10:02
Now I apologise if this was raised a few pages back and I missed it, but is the Big Dip in fact going to play at Yea. The word on the street - Sydney Rd in fact - is he is suiting up for North Coburg Saints in '06.
Doona?

Dont listen to the Sydney Rd mafia mate, I spoke with Dipper last week and he was all Yea so I dunno about that one.

Saw a mate play against them last year and Id reckon North Coburg would need at least 4-5 Dipper Wilson's to be any good even in the EDFL 2nd div

gazza12
17 Mar 2006, 11:28
doona i heard also last night dipper is a certainty to play at nth coburg

On The Money
17 Mar 2006, 12:27
Had a look at the night series at Girgarre the other night and reckon its a great concept better than practice matches with some financial reward for those that succeed but if they expect sides to enter and people to pay to get it they need to improve their lights. Hopefully with the windfall they make from the series they allocate some money towards improvements.

Toadfooty
17 Mar 2006, 12:36
Cotton Pickin' Terrific:thumbsu:

inlimbo
17 Mar 2006, 12:47
T. Perry- Where has Stammers left too? Seen him play a great game for tat against Seymour two years ago and thought he had enourmous potential! Then last year he looked a shdaow of the player when i seen him play against nagas... Seemed far to young to handle the pressure of captaincy in a mediocre side!

inlimbo
17 Mar 2006, 12:50
yea Will give kdfl a good fright in their first year back in the KDFL
:thumbsu:

Is Johno Soloman running around for yea again this year?

T.Perry
17 Mar 2006, 15:45
T. Perry- Where has Stammers left too? Seen him play a great game for tat against Seymour two years ago and thought he had enourmous potential! Then last year he looked a shdaow of the player when i seen him play against nagas... Seemed far to young to handle the pressure of captaincy in a mediocre side!

Not 100% sure where he's off to, but I'm pretty sure he's moving out of the area, maybe up to QLD (?)..

Must admit I've never actually see him play, but he definitely went to the doggies with huge wrapts. Pretty sure he went alright in the B&F for them..Good point about him being too young to be captain, would have been 23-24 last year..

boppin
18 Mar 2006, 07:47
Lanky had first hit out Thursday night. It was an intra club. Numbers were good at one stage 19 a team on the park. Troy Mitchell played and well. Not sure if hes signed though. We borrowed tonny jumpers and for the first time in three years the tonny jumper surprisingly won.!!!

hank1
18 Mar 2006, 09:56
Not 100% sure where he's off to, but I'm pretty sure he's moving out of the area, maybe up to QLD (?)..

Must admit I've never actually see him play, but he definitely went to the doggies with huge wrapts. Pretty sure he went alright in the B&F for them..Good point about him being too young to be captain, would have been 23-24 last year..

Stammers is in Griffith (NSW) at the moment will be working there till April and then will more than likely be back in the area.
Stammers won Merrigum B&F last year and I rated him atleast in the best two CHB's in the league.

wheelbarrow
18 Mar 2006, 10:46
Any word on the Wayman, Moama whisper boys.?

cosby
18 Mar 2006, 13:12
joshie stammers is in griffith workin at the moment. cobram have been trying to get him to travel back there, but griffith itself have offered him an amount of coin that he would be stupid to turn his back on.

greenlawn05
20 Mar 2006, 09:44
Lancaster Football Club is currently on the look out for a praccy match this Saturday the 25th. Yarroweah has pulled the pin after making the Night series GF and see’s no reason to play us.
Seniors, Ressies, Thirds, A-grade, B-Grade, C- Grade and the U16’s are all after a hit out. We are open to most options as the season proper is just around the corner. Any help in the electronic world of gossip would be much appreciated. A game mid week could even be a possibility. Post a reply if you can help and we can sort out the details on the phone

Doona2
20 Mar 2006, 13:25
Practice match report from www.avenelfc.vcfl.com.au

20-3-2006
SWANS FIRST HIT OUT

Last night the Swannos had their first hit out against Tarrawingee. Some new faces to the line up included Andy Croxford, Brian Griffin and Ronnie Sumiak from Heathcote. Tarrawingee jumped the Swans early in the game with some good running football, they had plenty of tall timber across the ground. Kel Winnel on a wing had a great first quarter as did Grovesy playing out of the centre. Brett McDonald in the first half was absolutely on fire, the veteran certainly one of the Swans better players in the first half.

At half time the Swans were down 26 points, after three qtr time the margin was 29 pts. At 3 qtr time the Swans made some minor moves to mix things up a bit, big Ronnie went down to a half fwd flank, young Jamie Marsh making his senior debut for the Swans was taken out of the pocket he had occupied for the night and was placed on a wing, where he played a great last qtr in particular one really good hanger that all the crowd enjoyed. Subba began to lift in the centre after a scrappy start and Lovey was really having a dip in the guts for his first game back in the red and white. Grovesy lifted again in the centre and before the Swans knew it they had banged on 3 quick goals and were having a crack. Jug was giving plenty of support to Macca down back. At half time our newly appointed joint Captain in Jed was shifted from chf down to chb and ran in hard straight lines as only Jed knows how and seemed to settle the Swans a little bit more. Playing out the 2nd half down back, he finished the night in the Swans best players.

The coach pushed all the fwds up late in the game and had big Clint Cappo and Tommy Stevens standing the square, which seemed to open up the fwd line a bit late in the game and provided the boys with more space to work with. As usual young Nick Clark was battling away on a fwd flank and Archie was running hard as well.

Brett Carroll was giving great support to Grovesy, Subba and co in the centre and was a good contributor on the night. The boys finished the night with 20 effective tackles which was a good sign and gave them something to build on. The end margin was a 7 point defeat, but with plenty of positives coming out of the game, the Swans have plenty to look fwd to in 06.

Goals: K. Groves 2, C. Cappuano, T. Stevens, J. Smith and D. Moran 1.

Best: P. Arandt, J. Smith, K. Groves, A. Harrop, B. McDonald, K. Winnell and J. Marsh.

Grandale
21 Mar 2006, 11:29

Apparently Avenel got bowled out for 150 on Sundy. Can anyone confirm this?

Doona2
21 Mar 2006, 17:32
Apparently Avenel got bowled out for 150 on Sundy. Can anyone confirm this?

I was waiting for it . . . Guess my credibility is ruined on Big Footy now!!! Believe Avenel couldn't handle Peterson on either day, 71 and 5 for is an amazing return. I did hear though that Seymour were cruising at 2/200 only to have Joey Amad try his best to keep the Swans in it by running a few team mates out - is that true???

Grandale
21 Mar 2006, 20:19
I was waiting for it . . . Guess my credibility is ruined on Big Footy now!!! Believe Avenel couldn't handle Peterson on either day, 71 and 5 for is an amazing return. I did hear though that Seymour were cruising at 2/200 only to have Joey Amad try his best to keep the Swans in it by running a few team mates out - is that true???

The old FBP turned in one of the all-time great SDCA grand final performances.
And you're right about Amad...I reckon he was on the Swans' payroll. Absolutely barbecued poor old old Zubby and Bish.

boppin
22 Mar 2006, 08:45
The old FBP turned in one of the all-time great SDCA grand final performances.
And you're right about Amad...I reckon he was on the Swans' payroll. Absolutely barbecued poor old old Zubby and Bish.

I thought this sight was called big Footy
Maybe we need big cricket so I dont have to read this rubbish

wheelbarrow
22 Mar 2006, 09:23

Chill out man, you need a good woman and a scotch.
The boys are only shooting the breeze..

Grandale
22 Mar 2006, 09:46

Give us some footy news then Boppin, ya Sad Sack.

akka dakka
22 Mar 2006, 11:02
I'm with you boppin, F@#K the cricket!!!!!!

bradrowe#32
22 Mar 2006, 13:20
Lancaster Football Club is currently on the look out for a praccy match this Saturday the 25th. Yarroweah has pulled the pin after making the Night series GF and see’s no reason to play us.
Seniors, Ressies, Thirds, A-grade, B-Grade, C- Grade and the U16’s are all after a hit out. We are open to most options as the season proper is just around the corner. Any help in the electronic world of gossip would be much appreciated. A game mid week could even be a possibility. Post a reply if you can help and we can sort out the details on the phone

They will play Ardmona in a 6 x 20 minute game with teams able to play as many as they want. Starting time is 12.15pm at Lancaster.

Ardmona had a pretty decent training session last night, with an hour of intra-club matchplay. In the middle, Lowe and Simpkin were impressive. Forwards Meka, Williams and DeAngelis were in the thick of things. Freeman and Moon were solid. A few other players looked pretty good, but I don't know their names yet!

T.Perry
22 Mar 2006, 14:16
They will play Ardmona in a 6 x 20 minute game with teams able to play as many as they want. Starting time is 12.15pm at Lancaster.

Ardmona had a pretty decent training session last night, with an hour of intra-club matchplay. In the middle, Lowe and Simpkin were impressive. Forwards Meka, Williams and DeAngelis were in the thick of things. Freeman and Moon were solid. A few other players looked pretty good, but I don't know their names yet!

I bet they know yours, though Rowey!:thumbsu: Will be interesting to see how both sides perform and if Troy Mitchell plays for the bats or not. Haven't heard an update on where he's going - though I think it came from the horses mouth that he was planning on returning to Lancy this year.. His name isn't on the clearance list yet..anyone heard anything? Cosby or subtle hustle maybe...

cosby
22 Mar 2006, 16:06
i'm still not too sure what mitch is doin. played in the intra club last week and trained again on tuesday so hopefully he's pulling the boots on.

bradrowe#32
23 Mar 2006, 12:15
I bet they know yours, though Rowey!:thumbsu: Will be interesting to see how both sides perform and if Troy Mitchell plays for the bats or not. Haven't heard an update on where he's going - though I think it came from the horses mouth that he was planning on returning to Lancy this year.. His name isn't on the clearance list yet..anyone heard anything? Cosby or subtle hustle maybe...

They are probably wondering who that guy that's running around making notes is!

Hotdog Vendor
24 Mar 2006, 08:03
They are probably wondering who that guy that's running around making notes is!
have you been on the training track rowey?

bradrowe#32
24 Mar 2006, 09:12
have you been on the training track rowey?

Yeah mate, struggling along.

boppin
24 Mar 2006, 09:42
i'm still not too sure what mitch is doin. played in the intra club last week and trained again on tuesday so hopefully he's pulling the boots on.

Mitch trained again on thursday night. Apparently signed and is also playin the practice match against ardie, at this stage

Sly Dog
24 Mar 2006, 09:47
rowey, reading the gv thread you seem to know a lot about rochester and on this thread you know a lot about ardmona. when you say you are training i assume you mean ardmona. not a lot has been said about them on this thread, can you shed any light. eg is perry still playing, any recruits etc.

ORANGE BOY
24 Mar 2006, 11:22
Heard The reason why Timmy Ricter left Murchison was he was found backdooring one of the murch member's missus...:eek: and he found it pretty hard to deal with so he moved interstate to NSW...

wheelbarrow
24 Mar 2006, 14:23
If anyone is going 2 Gig 2 watch Stanhope V Tally could they post an update on BF 4 us..? Thanks.

Wayde Petersen
24 Mar 2006, 17:14
About the departure of Tim Richter, the reason given by ORANGE BOY is absolute bull**********, Woolongong approached Tim at the end of last year and they sent up to NSW (at thier expense), and offered him a well paid job, somewhere to stay and a bit of money to go and play for the Woolongong Lions, in the NSWAFL Division One this season.

Tim's a top player with a lot a potential, and I don't begrudge him going to play for another club at a higher level, getting a bit of money, and getting to see a bit of the country while he has nothing to tie him down.

And although he will be solely missed, I wish him the best of luck at Woolongong, and I hope that when (of if) he comes back, he becomes a better player for the experience.

And BTW, you shouldn't post stuff that isn't true, such things have a nasty habit of coming back to bite you on the arse later on.

cosby
26 Mar 2006, 11:45
lancaster had a good hitout with ardie yesterday. five and half quarters.
ardmona seemed to be missing a few, but got up by about 40 points.

bradrowe#32
26 Mar 2006, 12:28
rowey, reading the gv thread you seem to know a lot about rochester and on this thread you know a lot about ardmona. when you say you are training i assume you mean ardmona. not a lot has been said about them on this thread, can you shed any light. eg is perry still playing, any recruits etc.

G'day sly dog. Ardmona are travelling alright. We beat Lancaster by about 8 goals yesterday.

Perry Meka is still playing, although he did him hamstring yesterday. He should be OK for round one. There was a rumour that Sleeth was going to Girgarre but he played yesterday. The club picked up Clint Brereton who is very handy. There is also a couple of good young players like Corey O'Donnell and Ashley Hurd. Senior players like Lowe, Simpkins, Moon and Williams are travelling pretty well.

The only significant loss is Mark Young. Dale O'Neill was supposed to be coming out but he signed elsewhere.

cosby
26 Mar 2006, 13:01
where did you line up yesterday rowey?

On The Money
26 Mar 2006, 14:27

I heard Rushy got over run by Shepp East in the second half yesterday Trevor Perry can you give us the details?

Doona2
26 Mar 2006, 16:28
The only significant loss is Mark Young. Dale O'Neill was supposed to be coming out but he signed elsewhere.

Reckon he might've signed at Shepp East who look like they'll be very very handy first up in the PDFL.

T.Perry
27 Mar 2006, 07:29
I heard Rushy got over run by Shepp East in the second half yesterday Trevor Perry can you give us the details?

Love to OTM. Yeh, we were up by a couple of points at half-time, but a lack of interchange players and experience on the ground caught up with us (and the fact that it was ********ing hot) and they were just too good. I think they'll be a very handy outfit - I was very impressed with the set-up out there and the recruits that they've picked up. Overall, though, we were pretty happy with the performance, esp of the younger blokes, who are getting better with each game. I think we'll be reasonably strong, but would have to either pick up a few or have an exceptional year to finish top 3...

I'll give the Shepp East boys one thing - they ********ing hate Yea!

akka dakka
27 Mar 2006, 08:27
Does anyone know who played last night in the benalla night series
and the scores from those games??????

Doona2
27 Mar 2006, 08:29
I'll give the Shepp East boys one thing - they ********ing hate Yea!

Think you'll find the feeling is 100% mutual. Have only seen the rivalry the past 3-4 seasons but have witnessed some epic battles, some not so friendly banter and some good tough footy.

I think the small melee that couldve gotten out hand after the final siren at last years prelim final showed just that, Shepp East hate losing at home especially to Yea who had a ripper record there over recent years.

I guess Im one of those hated one's, but all said and done I do think they'll go close first up and I do hope they go well, as I do all the clubs that have had an interruppted pre-season after the CGFL went belly up.

ORANGE BOY
27 Mar 2006, 09:44
About the departure of Tim Richter, the reason given by ORANGE BOY is absolute bull**********, Woolongong approached Tim at the end of last year and they sent up to NSW (at thier expense), and offered him a well paid job, somewhere to stay and a bit of money to go and play for the Woolongong Lions, in the NSWAFL Division One this season.

Tim's a top player with a lot a potential, and I don't begrudge him going to play for another club at a higher level, getting a bit of money, and getting to see a bit of the country while he has nothing to tie him down.

And although he will be solely missed, I wish him the best of luck at Woolongong, and I hope that when (of if) he comes back, he becomes a better player for the experience.

And BTW, you shouldn't post stuff that isn't true, such things have a nasty habit of coming back to bite you on the arse later on.

Wayde no doubt mate he is a good player..thats just what i heard from a good source..but you obviously know him pretty well it wasn't you who he was backdooring hey????:eek:

T.Perry
27 Mar 2006, 10:21
Think you'll find the feeling is 100% mutual. Have only seen the rivalry the past 3-4 seasons but have witnessed some epic battles, some not so friendly banter and some good tough footy.

I think the small melee that couldve gotten out hand after the final siren at last years prelim final showed just that, Shepp East hate losing at home especially to Yea who had a ripper record there over recent years.

I guess Im one of those hated one's, but all said and done I do think they'll go close first up and I do hope they go well, as I do all the clubs that have had an interruppted pre-season after the CGFL went belly up.

Have you been following the recruiting done by Shepp East this year, Doona? I imagine you'd have a fair idea on how well they'll go given you've seen them play a fair bit over the last couple of years? I was wondering how you think Yea would stack up against them this year? I know you can't take too much out of a praccy match, but given that they were pretty much full strength and were playing at home, I reckon Rushy's side (at full strength) would be a very even battle with them...just trying to gauge how strong Yea might be..

Doona2
27 Mar 2006, 13:30
Have you been following the recruiting done by Shepp East this year, Doona? I imagine you'd have a fair idea on how well they'll go given you've seen them play a fair bit over the last couple of years? I was wondering how you think Yea would stack up against them this year? I know you can't take too much out of a praccy match, but given that they were pretty much full strength and were playing at home, I reckon Rushy's side (at full strength) would be a very even battle with them...just trying to gauge how strong Yea might be..

It appears the in's outweigh the out's big time. Adrian Cole (Numurkah) is their biggest loss, whilst the other senior players that have gone to Wunghnu in my mind were handy but not match winners. Travis "Bobby" Brand is getting older, good hands but 2nd efforts were gone at times last year but I reckon he'll be handy up Fwd for Wunghnu.

I recall reading their best junior in Trevor Graham has put in a clearance to Mooroopna, anyone know why? He more than handled senior footy last year and clubs cant afford to lose their good juniors.

The three Dookie boys will be big in's, John Weber especially, as will Ahmet and O'Neill. Im also a big rap for Dale Piggott who at this stage hasn't applied to play elsewhere. If Shepp East can pursuade him to travel up for one more season then I'd pencil Doyley's lads into a definite top 3 and a real flag chance after some fine recruiting during the off season.

T.Perry
27 Mar 2006, 14:05
It appears the in's outweigh the out's big time. Adrian Cole (Numurkah) is their biggest loss, whilst the other senior players that have gone to Wunghnu in my mind were handy but not match winners. Travis "Bobby" Brand is getting older, good hands but 2nd efforts were gone at times last year but I reckon he'll be handy up Fwd for Wunghnu.

I recall reading their best junior in Trevor Graham has put in a clearance to Mooroopna, anyone know why? He more than handled senior footy last year and clubs cant afford to lose their good juniors.

The three Dookie boys will be big in's, John Weber especially, as will Ahmet and O'Neill. Im also a big rap for Dale Piggott who at this stage hasn't applied to play elsewhere. If Shepp East can pursuade him to travel up for one more season then I'd pencil Doyley's lads into a definite top 3 and a real flag chance after some fine recruiting during the off season.

Solid post Doon. But I was actually wondering how you reckon this year's Yea side would match up against this year's Shepp East side, in your opinion? Yea still ahead, both side's pretty close...?

Doona2
27 Mar 2006, 14:49
Solid post Doon. But I was actually wondering how you reckon this year's Yea side would match up against this year's Shepp East side, in your opinion? Yea still ahead, both side's pretty close...?

Sorry Tav, to be totally honest I haven't been around the club since the Tuesday after our great win last September. The boys played a practice match at Alexandra on Saturday and went down by 3 goals Billy said. Obviously Finch and Eddie Neilson have gone back to Broadford, Cam Scott and Michael Papa have yet committed I believe, but apart from that Im not sure how many others we've lost.

I heard they had a new bloke play in the ruck who went ok, Terry Whitwam was good early before having a spell, Billy went well but booted 1.5, Dipper, Ashley Walsh, James Clavarino, Stuie Butterworth and Joel Dunn were others who apparently played well.

Spoke with Jon Solomon 2 weeks ago, says he's a chance a bout 4-5 rounds in but admitted the grounds are a bit hard for his liking this early.

Not sure on the recruits but players to come into the mix that weren't part of the flag side are Jimmy Stephens and Ashley Walsh (Wing/midfielders), Ben Milliken (CHB), with Damien Lord, Damien Inness and Bill Stubbings all injured in the finals. 2003 flag members Greg Beer, Daniel Nash and Matt Pollard are whispers of others who may play in 2006. Pollard is overseas but if he does return will play.

I think Yea would match them in the middle with Wilson, Neilson, Nicholls, Butterwoth, Lord and Clavarino, but I guess the big blokes like Greigy, Mahoney and Dale Piggott have scored well against us at times.

Would be another close contest Id say.

just signed
27 Mar 2006, 16:00
Rumours of Wayman going to Moama look to be confirmed with him lodging a clearance. Matt Branelly going to Murchison would be a handy inclusion. And Merrigum look to be on the go with the recruiting of Briggs x 2 and Henderson amongst others.

wheelbarrow
27 Mar 2006, 18:44
Rumours of Wayman going to Moama look to be confirmed with him lodging a clearance. Matt Branelly going to Murchison would be a handy inclusion. And Merrigum look to be on the go with the recruiting of Briggs x 2 and Henderson amongst others.

JS, this is my post which no one responded 2.?

18th March 2006, 11:46 #951
wheelbarrow
BigFooty Member
Club: Adelaide
Other Teams: freo Re: Kyabram District FL

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Any word on the Wayman, Moama whisper boys.?

cosby
27 Mar 2006, 19:08
they weren't exactly whipsers wheelie. i think most people in the area had heard that he was offered 400+ a game to head to moama, it was just whether he would go or not.

wheelbarrow
28 Mar 2006, 07:37
they weren't exactly whipsers wheelie. i think most people in the area had heard that he was offered 400+ a game to head to moama, it was just whether he would go or not.

Do u think he is worth that sort of coin.?

T.Perry
28 Mar 2006, 07:50
Do u think he is worth that sort of coin.?

It's interesting, coz I heard from an extremely reliable source in the know at Tally that they were offering him a bit more than 400..

Does anyone know where the big fella lives? I'm presuming it must be closer to Moama/Echuca..

In answer to your question wheelie, no, he's probably not worth that much, but because he's kicked 100 a couple of times helps his cause. All teams want to recruit, or have, blokes who can consistently kick multiples of goals, and the only way to persuade a paid player to leave a club is to give them a greater incentive to play..obviously some sides, like Yea last year, for instance, could offer the incentive of a chance to play in a premiership side, but some blokes (like Wayman, I presume), are only interested in what goes in their pocket..

I wouldn't begrudge Rushy playing a proven goal-kicker that much if it meant we were a greater chance at winning the flag..

Gissa
28 Mar 2006, 10:20
Violet Town v Stanhope any ideas on this one? how have both sides trained well in the summer? new recruits? I reckon towners will be nervous in their first KDL game against a more experienced Stanhope.

Doona2
28 Mar 2006, 11:12
Violet Town v Stanhope any ideas on this one? how have both sides trained well in the summer? new recruits? I reckon towners will be nervous in their first KDL game against a more experienced Stanhope.

Stanhope by 10 goals I say, many names have been mentioned as heading to VT but no action on the transfers page.

Hey wheelie what has happened to Avenel's website? All the news items have suddenly disappeared.

wheelbarrow
28 Mar 2006, 12:30
Stanhope by 10 goals I say, many names have been mentioned as heading to VT but no action on the transfers page.

Hey wheelie what has happened to Avenel's website? All the news items have suddenly disappeared.

They probably didnt want u hawking the trg updates onto BF.?
Only joking man...
They were out of date and I think they are just having a bit of a purge at the moment.
The new punting column by our guest tipster "the whisper" went alright last weekend, he got five from five..
I dont know why more clubs dont utilise their websites..

I will say Stanhope by 39 points.

Doona2
28 Mar 2006, 13:27
They probably didnt want u hawking the trg updates onto BF.?
Only joking man...
They were out of date and I think they are just having a bit of a purge at the moment.
The new punting column by our guest tipster "the whisper" went alright last weekend, he got five from five..
I dont know why more clubs dont utilise their websites..

I will say Stanhope by 39 points.

I thought it was very imformative and was hoping to get ya's a few readers thru pasting that . . . . how the Swans looking? Yea will have a few out for the big clash I believe. I know that Groves won a KDFL 2's medal but who are the other fella's that have applied to join Yea - 2's players also I presume.

Wayde Petersen
28 Mar 2006, 14:18
Wayde no doubt mate he is a good player..thats just what i heard from a good source..but you obviously know him pretty well it wasn't you who he was backdooring hey????:eek:

I'm not at liberty to divulge that information (and anyway, I don't know and I don't care), and calling me a fag isn't going to make me get drawn into an argument.

But anyway, Murchison start on Saturday (against Rushy at home), and although we're not predicting big things on-field (although it would be great), we're going to spend some of our money sprucing up our facilities, so we don't miss out on hosting finals, Such as:

Extending our club's veranda, all the way to the Canteen.

Building a new Timekeeper's Box/Scoreboard that actually faces the crowd, with the option of building a new Umpire's Room underneath.

And Possibly getting a new shed and getting new changerooms for our Netballers (it's only one room for two teams and it's too crowded), and Footballers (Our Rooms are old, cramped, and crappy).

If we can do those things in the next two years, our time in the wilderness, will not have been in vain.

P.S
Our netballers are going very well this year, and were going to go up, uP, UP!!!.

P.P.S
When are they going to update the transfers list ?.

nomis#17
28 Mar 2006, 21:15
Stanhope lights up in night footy final

By Gus Underwood

March 28 2006
Kyabram Free Press

Stanhope claimed the inaugural H W Greenham and Son Girgarre night football series with an impressive win over its 2005 grand final conqueror, Tallygaroopna, on Friday night.
There was no second half fade-out this time with Stanhope producing a workmanlike four quarter performance to beat the reigning Kyabram League premier convincing fashion and pocket the $1000 prizemoney.
Although naturally pleased with the win, Stanhope coach Mark Patten said he is putting little emphasis on the performance in regards to his team's prospects for the season which kicks off this Saturday against league newcomer, Violet Town.
"It's going to take a few weeks to settle down before you know how you are travelling and how some of the other sides are as well."
Patten said his team had a solid work-out on Friday night in what was a physical game and players would have derived great benefit from it.
"In that respect it was really good.
"All the players said it was a tough game physically."
One of the things that pleased Patten was that star recruit from last season, Anthony Mann, got through a couple of quarters in defence.
Mann's season was cruelly cut short last season with a back ailment but he took a big step to making a return to the Lions ranks this season on Friday night.
Calivell United recruit, Brock Clymbo, again showed he is going to be a more than handy pick-up for Stanhope with a hard-at-it display on the ball.
Classy Dave Hansford, after a season in Darwin, also showed up on ball and around the goals while Jarrod Mason, Matt Parsons, skipper Brenton Gray and ruckman Graeme Nurse all did their share of work to help set up the win. Regulars who didn't play but who are expected to be available for the season's opener this Saturday included Nick Gibbs, Brenton Sloane, Adam Auld, Leigh Hall, Richard Goodbody and veteran Scott Macknamara.

Doona2
28 Mar 2006, 22:17
I believe Nagambie's Craigieburn recruit Matt Bloomfield has decided to head north to Cairns, will be a blow but Im tipping Rosco will have something up his sleeve for a replacement.

T.Perry
29 Mar 2006, 08:11
Stanhope lights up in night footy final

By Gus Underwood

March 28 2006
Kyabram Free Press

Stanhope claimed the inaugural H W Greenham and Son Girgarre night football series with an impressive win over its 2005 grand final conqueror, Tallygaroopna, on Friday night.
There was no second half fade-out this time with Stanhope producing a workmanlike four quarter performance to beat the reigning Kyabram League premier convincing fashion and pocket the $1000 prizemoney.
Although naturally pleased with the win, Stanhope coach Mark Patten said he is putting little emphasis on the performance in regards to his team's prospects for the season which kicks off this Saturday against league newcomer, Violet Town.
"It's going to take a few weeks to settle down before you know how you are travelling and how some of the other sides are as well."
Patten said his team had a solid work-out on Friday night in what was a physical game and players would have derived great benefit from it.
"In that respect it was really good.
"All the players said it was a tough game physically."
One of the things that pleased Patten was that star recruit from last season, Anthony Mann, got through a couple of quarters in defence.
Mann's season was cruelly cut short last season with a back ailment but he took a big step to making a return to the Lions ranks this season on Friday night.
Calivell United recruit, Brock Clymbo, again showed he is going to be a more than handy pick-up for Stanhope with a hard-at-it display on the ball.
Classy Dave Hansford, after a season in Darwin, also showed up on ball and around the goals while Jarrod Mason, Matt Parsons, skipper Brenton Gray and ruckman Graeme Nurse all did their share of work to help set up the win. Regulars who didn't play but who are expected to be available for the season's opener this Saturday included Nick Gibbs, Brenton Sloane, Adam Auld, Leigh Hall, Richard Goodbody and veteran Scott Macknamara.

So the boys won (easily) without their starting CHB, CHF, centreman, ruck-rover and key forward...as much as it pains me to say it they're looking alright. Will take a great effort to knock them off this year..

subtle hustle
29 Mar 2006, 09:36
1000 quality posts fellas. Well done.

Doona2 there is a few names on the transfer list wanting to leave yea, are they senior players? And whats with this persistent rumour of dipper being posted overseas?

Doona2
29 Mar 2006, 09:59
1000 quality posts fellas. Well done.

Doona2 there is a few names on the transfer list wanting to leave yea, are they senior players? And whats with this persistent rumour of dipper being posted overseas?

Matt Finch runs a sports store in Melbourne and has no hope of getting to Yea to train etc so has decided to go back home to Broady. Eddie Neilson is a Broady boy now at Uni in Melb, has to work every 2nd Satdy and thought it would easier to nick up the Hume 4 home games.

Dan Rowley has travelled back from Wangaratta for 3-4 years now to play 2's so he'll be a loss to our depth. Stuie Jeal has been a fantastic 2's player for 3years, is best mates with Yea's 2nd's coach and dunno why he has left to play 2's at Alexandra - never had to train at Yea we just asked to be there Satdy's, he was and did very well . . .. will be a loss to teh 2's.

The rest I think are junior's that have to be cleared to the local junior comp (Seymour DJFL.)