View Full Version : Kyabram District FL
old saint
11 May 2006, 09:52
thats the way joey... f u c k i n g love the attitude!!!
waddo #6, if you are going to post crap like that go and play somewhere else.you are wasting our time
subtle hustle
11 May 2006, 11:59
Mitchell kicked 104 (including finals) in 2004, and about 80-odd last year in the HDFL for Lockington. I'm not sure how many years he's played at Lancy, coz he played a fair bit of senior footy for Ky, and kicked 10 in a game on at least one occasion for them..Cosby and subtle hustle would know more...There's no doubt that he's a very dangerous forward - smart, quick, freakish, but he has a long way to go before he kicks as many as the likes of Meka, Loveless and Irwin, think the record is 145 or so..
I don't know much about Mitchell other than he played for two or three season before goin to Locky.
He didn't play at Lancaster last year, but i know a number of the Lancy boys were keen to get him back there this year.
Joeyboy
11 May 2006, 13:11
thats the way joey... f u c k i n g love the attitude!!!
thanks mate
Jmain - how ya doing mate? Mitchell kicked 104 (including finals) in 2004, and about 80-odd last year in the HDFL for Lockington. I'm not sure how many years he's played at Lancy, coz he played a fair bit of senior footy for Ky, and kicked 10 in a game on at least one occasion for them..Cosby and subtle hustle would know more...There's no doubt that he's a very dangerous forward - smart, quick, freakish, but he has a long way to go before he kicks as many as the likes of Meka, Loveless and Irwin, think the record is Meka with 151 in 92 or 93.
Mitch is the only bloke i know, although i'm sure their are others, who has kicked 11 goals and his opponenet has gotten BOG for his team. This happened against Undera in 2004, and on the weekend he kicked 8 against the same mob and the FB got third best.
FB's get it so easy. :cool:
jmain14
11 May 2006, 23:06
Great work, OTM, I thought I might have been off with me 16-14 call, but I knew that it was close..would be a good effort for us to get over the line this weekend, then and try to square the ledger...
Jmain - how ya doing mate? Mitchell kicked 104 (including finals) in 2004, and about 80-odd last year in the HDFL for Lockington. I'm not sure how many years he's played at Lancy, coz he played a fair bit of senior footy for Ky, and kicked 10 in a game on at least one occasion for them..Cosby and subtle hustle would know more...There's no doubt that he's a very dangerous forward - smart, quick, freakish, but he has a long way to go before he kicks as many as the likes of Meka, Loveless and Irwin, think the record is Meka with 151 in 92 or 93..
Stevie Rass won't play interleague as the weekend in question falls on the same weekend that he's talking to Sth Bendigo about his prospects of playing there - which from what I can gather would effectively make him the highest paid player in the BFL, if he were to go there...
going well thanks tav. yeah the 3 goalkickers you mentioned did spring to mind, danny irwin snagged a ridiculous amount for rushy one year didn't he?? ha ha love your comments regarding stevie. am presuming its all tongue in cheek, although seeing that the weide also made mention of him having talks with them there may be some truth to it all.
Andyt30
14 May 2006, 02:04
Round Name: Round 6 Starting Date: 13/5/2006
Stanhope 18.18 (126) v Rushworth 12.8 (80)
Lancaster 35.20 (230) v Nagambie 1.3 (9)
Girgarre 11.12 (78) v Undera 34.21 (225)
Ardmona 18.7 (115) v Murchison 10.10 (70)
Tallygaroopna18.15 (123) v Avenel 8.10 (58)
Merrigum Violet Town Yea Bye
Poor Old Nagambie and girgarre backend of 30 odd goal floggings
The Flying Dutchman
14 May 2006, 04:07
Round Name: Round 6 Starting Date: 13/5/2006
Stanhope 18.18 (126) v Rushworth 12.8 (80)
Lancaster 35.20 (230) v Nagambie 1.3 (9)
Girgarre 11.12 (78) v Undera 34.21 (225)
Ardmona 18.7 (115) v Murchison 10.10 (70)
Tallygaroopna18.15 (123) v Avenel 8.10 (58)
Merrigum Violet Town Yea Bye
Poor Old Nagambie and girgarre backend of 30 odd goal floggings
That Nagambie smashing wouldn't have happened in Boxxy Mummy's day!! He was a great servant for the lakers his only problem was he was too loyal too Dickic's horses tip in the footballer each week!!
B Mumma said that Wheelbarrow Thorpes and Showbags Aldous scotch drinking habits were a minor too his and Dave Lawler partying ability!!
Singing off Dalty Brothers!!
The Flying Dutchman
14 May 2006, 04:45
Gee thought Rushy were a good thing to beat Stanhope the way T.Perry was talking? Spoke to a bloke from out that way and I heard that Brenton Gray played with an injury that not many would have!! People love to have a dig at Stanhope but I suppose you've got to be doing to something right to be talked about. ( Them along with Rushy because their hand has been forced financially are proving that local sides can do the job!!)
King_Of_Ling
14 May 2006, 07:21
Good win by the Lions, could have been a bigger margin if the Lions kicked a little better, but I'm sure they will be happy with the win..... how did the other contenders go?????? Yea?? = Joke!!! thats news from OTM...
King_Of_Ling
14 May 2006, 10:00
A suprise inclusion for the rushy seniors this week was a lad by the name of "Ram Rod", who was promoted from the thirds(overage permit), a major suprise packet who is cute by head but not by skill.
V.C.F.L's major sponsor Work Safe has advised the elusive Ram Rod that he must have hisz mullett chopped b 4 it gets cut P T O shaft!!
P.S- Is it true that Pete Raglas has been sniffing harder than Maradonna after the ''86'' World Cup!!
King_Of_Ling
14 May 2006, 10:23
Back to the footy boys!! Murch have been belted more times this season than Greg Watson's guts have been stapled!! Who's keeping the seafood up to this bloke he is like a clapping seal!!
Wayde Petersen
15 May 2006, 00:02
Back to the footy boys!! Murch have been belted more times this season than Greg Watson's guts have been stapled!! Who's keeping the seafood up to this bloke he is like a clapping seal!!
Look at the scores, you tosser. Have we been belted as badly in as what Nagambie was against Lancaster on Saturday ?. NO!!!, you :D:D:D:Ding troll (even if we did get beaten at least we were able to get a reasonable score on the board). So how about you stop biting pillows, stop posting such utter crap, and start actually saying something intelligent about the league and the hard working people (like Watto) who run it.
That is all.
Flat Track Bully
15 May 2006, 00:30
Trevor,Done some research for you pal.
STANHOPE VS RUSHWORTH head to head since 1998.
STANHOPE 10 WINS RUSHWORTH 9 WINS.
Games held @ Stanhope- Stanhope 5 wins Rushworth 1 win.
Games held @ Rushworth- Stanhope 2 wins Rushworth 6 wins.
Finals @ mutual venues- Stanhope 3 wins Rushworth 2 wins.
What about at Neutral venues?
T.Perry
15 May 2006, 10:17
Gee thought Rushy were a good thing to beat Stanhope the way T.Perry was talking? Spoke to a bloke from out that way and I heard that Brenton Gray played with an injury that not many would have!! People love to have a dig at Stanhope but I suppose you've got to be doing to something right to be talked about. ( Them along with Rushy because their hand has been forced financially are proving that local sides can do the job!!)
Yeh, I must admit I thought we might have given them more of a contest, and I was pretty confident going into the match, but we simply didn't fire a shot and Stanhope were a lot more desperate than us. Brenton Gray was sensational, and looked to be moving pretty freely - not sure what the supposed injury was, but he definitely earned himself 3 macnamara medal votes. Shaun Pearce did his hammy, after starting on the ball, and will probably miss a couple.
Does anyone have an update on Nagambie?? didn't recognise any of the blokes named in the best for them...must of had half their senior side out, surely..
spotted dog
15 May 2006, 11:26
Good win by the Lions, could have been a bigger margin if the Lions kicked a little better, but I'm sure they will be happy with the win..... how did the other contenders go?????? Yea?? = Joke!!! thats news from OTM...
I had the pleasure of seeing the game a couple of weeks ago between Stanhope and Yea, and i would say that neither side played their best footy but i would also say that i reckon Yea are the better side! They are more physically imposing then Stanhope. This weeks game against Lancy should be a belter, hope i can get there to see it.
Dont waste ya time spotty, according to Lingy Yea are joke!!!
spotted dog
15 May 2006, 11:31
Well only time will tell Doona!
Dont waste ya time spotty, according to Lingy Yea are joke!!!
Gee Doona, I've been saying Yea would be top3 since they were put into the league and you've been downplaying them ever since yourself. I think everyone realises now that Yea are the real deal. Stanhope and Lancy will be there in the Top 3 with them, will have to see how things pan out when Yea travel to Stanhope to put a real line through were both teams are at between each other as there is no harder trip in the KDL than travelling to Yea, so think Stanhope did pretty well to get within 3 goals.
Especially to bounce back the next week against Rushy after Yea's physicallity and Rushworth are simliar in that regard.
Gee Doona, I've been saying Yea would be top3 since they were put into the league and you've been downplaying them ever since yourself. I think everyone realises now that Yea are the real deal. Stanhope and Lancy will be there in the Top 3 with them, will have to see how things pan out when Yea travel to Stanhope to put a real line through were both teams are at between each other as there is no harder trip in the KDL than travelling to Yea, so think Stanhope did pretty well to get within 3 goals.
Especially to bounce back the next week against Rushy after Yea's physicallity and Rushworth are simliar in that regard.
Yeah Hank guess I'm one for the underdog tag, and last year we played it to perfection.
I know that the real tests are yet to come in the 2nd half of the year with a bit more travel, but I will stick to my observation that I truly believe the Tige's need another tall ruck option to assist young Aldous, and another midfielder to top em off and be a serious premiership threat to both Stanhope and Lancy whom I think are the benchmarks.
If they can recruit those two players, then you'll hear me talk with a lot more confidence.
waddo #6
15 May 2006, 17:37
waddo #6, if you are going to post crap like that go and play somewhere else.you are wasting our time
sure thing mate because i play in the KD and all, i play in a much better league than that and im just backing up a fair decent bloke that deserves a bit of credit coz he is a fairly good footballer.
Does anyone have an update on Nagambie?? didn't recognise any of the blokes named in the best for them...must of had half their senior side out, surely..
Nagambie struggled to field a reserves team on the weekend, had two or three thirds backing up, and then they still only had 14-15 blokes from what i was told. At 3/4 time three went up to the seniors, making a one sided two's game even more so.
The senior game was pretty ordinary to watch.
blackbeard
15 May 2006, 18:55
I know VT had the bye last weekend but I was just wondering if anyone had seen many of their games to date. How has James Bodycoat (The Albino) been going and why is he at Full Back. Also what about S. Horsbourgh, how is he travelling??
TheJuddstarr#3
15 May 2006, 20:17
just a cheerio to my mate Simon "Simo" Harrison, whose recovering in hostpital as we speak. Hope you get well soon mate. top footballer, but ever better bloke.
Wayde Petersen
16 May 2006, 00:26
I read what happened in the paper today, God how awful, I hope that no one suffers any permanent injuries as a result of the crash. Will he make a full recovery ?, or is it too early to tell ?.
Having gone through something similar with my own family, I hope that the Harrison's and the Stanhope FNC are giving him all the support he needs, and i'm sure that all people within the KDFL will pass on thier best wishes and hope for a quick & full recovery.
Nagambie struggled to field a reserves team on the weekend, had two or three thirds backing up, and then they still only had 14-15 blokes from what i was told. At 3/4 time three went up to the seniors, making a one sided two's game even more so.
The senior game was pretty ordinary to watch.
Yeah Cosby, things were a bit ordinary on the weekend to say the least but we just have to forget about that and move on. Our numbers were down for various reasons : quite a few serious injuries and illnesses to our senior players, 3-4 unavailabilities on the weekend, another 3 that pulled out between Thurs-Sat with work commitments, add that to a couple more injuries on the w/end, 3 that have left due to work commitments, 2 blokes playing their first game for the year and a few boys that had to step up from the 3's & 2's, well you can probably see how the match panned out. That is not to say we didn't believe we would push them harder than what we did but with such a young side (15 players under 21) you are going to have weeks like that when rebuilding. Such is footy, we all move on.
Lancy played very good football and will be a hard side to beat. We are positive we are on the right track and will keep positive, it's not the end of the world by an means. No excuses but depth is always going to be an issue with injuries and work commitments, it's a different football world nowadays !! :eek:
Yeah, rosco from where i was sitting we could see that you had a fair few young blokes out on the park. And although the score wasn't close the game was still played out in the right spirit which was good.
What's happened to big chicken? Did he leave before the start of the season?
On The Money
16 May 2006, 20:26
Yeah Cosby, things were a bit ordinary on the weekend to say the least but we just have to forget about that and move on. Our numbers were down for various reasons : quite a few serious injuries and illnesses to our senior players, 3-4 unavailabilities on the weekend, another 3 that pulled out between Thurs-Sat with work commitments, add that to a couple more injuries on the w/end, 3 that have left due to work commitments, 2 blokes playing their first game for the year and a few boys that had to step up from the 3's & 2's, well you can probably see how the match panned out. That is not to say we didn't believe we would push them harder than what we did but with such a young side (15 players under 21) you are going to have weeks like that when rebuilding. Such is footy, we all move on.
Lancy played very good football and will be a hard side to beat. We are positive we are on the right track and will keep positive, it's not the end of the world by an means. No excuses but depth is always going to be an issue with injuries and work commitments, it's a different football world nowadays !! :eek:
No excuses you named a page of them!!
If a club is heading in the right direction you never get beat by that.
The culture at Nagambie has become about having a kick and catching up with mates rather than putting the hard yards in and pushing to achieve something on and off the field.
Thats the way I honestly see it.
No excuses you named a page of them!!
If a club is heading in the right direction you never get beat by that.
The culture at Nagambie has become about having a kick and catching up with mates rather than putting the hard yards in and pushing to achieve something on and off the field.
Thats the way I honestly see it.
You guessing OTM or have u experienced things by the lake :confused:
T.Perry
17 May 2006, 15:28
Yea v Lancaster this week - what are blokes thoughts?? I haven't seen either side yet this year..Not sure if Yea'll have a match-up for Mitchell or Carver, so it will be interesting to see how they go.
it's a fair hike from Lancy to Yea, so on that basis alone I'll lean towards Yea, in any case, I hope they soften the wombats up a bit for the following week for when we have to play them..:thumbsu:
T.Perry
18 May 2006, 16:25
Can't believe we're well down on page 2! We're about a third of the way through the season, who do blokes reckon is looking good for the league medal? How many goals will Mitchell and Meka end up kicking?
I heard there was a good turnout to interleague training last night, with one of the league's best players in Trav Wayman making an appearance..Patto and Sev will be happy if they get a few more players of his calibre fronting up..
So far I'd reckon Brenton Grey is a monty for the league medal, with Carver (who always polls well) and Molisak from Tally also a chance (small, quick, blond, courageous). Mitchell, Meka and probably Wayman will all top the ton, with Mitchell on track to kick 120..
In terms of club B&F's, based on what I've read/heard:
Ardy: Lowe or Williams (who has been in great form on the ball)
Undera: Mahoney
Girgaree: Turpin
Stanhope: Grey, with Gibbs as a smokey
Rushy: Chonk Waarsdorp
Violet Town: Bo Harrison, with new recruit Daniel Cope as a roughie
Nagambie: Shields
Avenel: Simon Potts or Adam Harrop
Tally: Molisak or Wayman
Merrigum: maybe Henderson
Lancaster: one of the Thompsons, or Carver
Yea: Tom Butterworth
Murchison: Boozer Davies or Willy Saunders
Reference Tim Ritcher leaving murch to play in wollongong as he was back dooring someones missus there,well look like he has done a wayne carey there as well.Not once but twice hey tim, thought you would of learn't your lesson the first time. On a brighter note he has been named best on ground four out of five games and made the rep side so the club could'nt be happier from what i here... Best ya keep it in your pant's little man and play footy
roaring tiger
18 May 2006, 20:56
Will be interesting to see if mitchell will kick any against a quality backline this week. I do agree with you than wayman meka and mitchell will kick the magical ton this year.
An on-baller will defaintly win the league medal. At this stage i would say it would be llyod obrien, tav perry, and brenton gray probably the faviourite and maybe mitchell as an outsider.
Just wondering as an ex-violet towner how the new oppostion are seeing the towners, it looks like bowser harrison is obviously still playing pretty good footy, but who are the top 5 or 6 players this year? Are they what the kd expected?
Will be interesting to see if mitchell will kick any against a quality backline this week. I do agree with you than wayman meka and mitchell will kick the magical ton this year.
An on-baller will defaintly win the league medal. At this stage i would say it would be llyod obrien, tav perry, and brenton gray probably the faviourite and maybe mitchell as an outsider.
Hard to say who'll be able to stop Troy Mitchell, but if I was a betting man I'd be giving Peter Kiss first crack - had a good record on Firebrace from Rumba. Hooda Gray appears to be red hot fave early doors for the medal, I will throw in Tom Butterworth each-way if his body holds up.
On The Money
18 May 2006, 22:54
Just wondering as an ex-violet towner how the new oppostion are seeing the towners, it looks like bowser harrison is obviously still playing pretty good footy, but who are the top 5 or 6 players this year? Are they what the kd expected?
They've proberly been a bit better than expected but that is proberly due to the fact that the guy Trotter took over and rounded a few up for them.
They seem to a solid core of players that they could build on next year.
The thing that struck me about them was their lack of following being in a new competition and faring better you would think there may be more on board.
They've proberly been a bit better than expected but that is proberly due to the fact that the guy Trotter took over and rounded a few up for them.
They seem to a solid core of players that they could build on next year.
The thing that struck me about them was their lack of following being in a new competition and faring better you would think there may be more on board. Thats a shame about the support. Not so long ago the whole town would be there. But thats country footy now. Too much more on..
bradrowe#32
19 May 2006, 10:51
Ardy: Lowe or Williams (who has been in great form on the ball)
I reckon Lloyd O'Brien has had a better start to the year than Lowie. Willo has been fantastic.
T.Perry
19 May 2006, 11:42
I reckon Lloyd O'Brien has had a better start to the year than Lowie. Willo has been fantastic.
Good point rowey :thumbsu: O'Brien was sensational against us, I over-looked him at the time..Surely when you get your call up you'd be a chance?? Dominate the 2nd half of the year...if you can kick 3 goals on Cambo, imagine what you'd do to some of the lesser backmen in the comp:cool:
subtle hustle
19 May 2006, 14:49
Merrigum: maybe Henderson
:rolleyes:
Not now that he's gone back to Rumba.
Wayde Petersen
19 May 2006, 14:52
Reference Tim Ritcher leaving murch to play in wollongong as he was back dooring someones missus there,well look like he has done a wayne carey there as well.Not once but twice hey tim, thought you would of learn't your lesson the first time. On a brighter note he has been named best on ground four out of five games and made the rep side so the club could'nt be happier from what i here... Best ya keep it in your pant's little man and play footy
Gleeso, THAT WAS NOT THE REASON WHY TIMMY RICHTER LEFT MURCH TO GO TO WOOLONGONG, Tim was approached by Woolongong at the end of last year, (they were scouting around this district), and basically they offered him good money, accomodation and a sweet job working with one of their sponsors (he's a qualified sparkie), of course we wanted him to stay at Murch, but this was an offer he couldn't refuse, he's a young bloke with no ties, so good luck to him, and it's great that he's doing well over in NSW.
Although I have to admit that Tim has a reputation of being quite the ladies man (the dude's got a gift, there's no doubt about it), and because of this, that's why all these rumours start about him, he's a good bloke and a bloody tough little footballer, and I hope he kicks arse at the Gong.
Tavis, I agree with most of your predictions about B&F's, except I think Wayman would be slightly ahead of Molisak, but as far as Murch in concerned, I think that it's between Shane Kay, Boozer Davies and Wille Sanders (who played pretty well last week, considering that he just got over the flu), for our B&F.
Wayne Weideman
19 May 2006, 15:25
is troy mitchell that good? i seen him play a couple of times in the heathcote league and he didn't get many kicks and didin't kick any goals. for memory brian westley of elmore gave him a bath both times they met. but in saying that he must be in red hot form now. i had a look at his last three or four hauls of goals
T.Perry
19 May 2006, 15:42
is troy mitchell that good? i seen him play a couple of times in the heathcote league and he didn't get many kicks and didin't kick any goals. for memory brian westley of elmore gave him a bath both times they met. but in saying that he must be in red hot form now. i had a look at his last three or four hauls of goals
Interesting point Weed..Mitchell is a very hard opponent to match up on as he is super quick, pretty smart and very dangerous. One thing I've noticed about him is that if you can get on top of him, he drops his head slightly and doesn't attack the ball with a lot of purpose..on the other hand, if his confidence is up his workrate lifts and he starts going for everything, and can kick goals in a hurry...which is probably also due to the fact that everytime he gets it he has a ping at the sticks...
If Westley stitched him up the first time they played, that would have helped him 2 fold in follow up meetings...
Wayne Weideman
19 May 2006, 16:17
Interesting point Weed..Mitchell is a very hard opponent to match up on as he is super quick, pretty smart and very dangerous. One thing I've noticed about him is that if you can get on top of him, he drops his head slightly and doesn't attack the ball with a lot of purpose..on the other hand, if his confidence is up his workrate lifts and he starts going for everything, and can kick goals in a hurry...which is probably also due to the fact that everytime he gets it he has a ping at the sticks...
If Westley stitched him up the first time they played, that would have helped him 2 fold in follow up meetings...
well said trevor. did notice he didn't mind a goal for locky. apparently he is kevin barlets love child!!!
All this mitchell talk....he's gonna love it.
Tavis, as for your prediction of B&f'S. i'd say at Lanky it will be between steve thomson, andrew parsons and coach carver.
Have you put you're hand up for interleague?
I was speaking to patto after training and he said a few melbourne based boys were keen.
T.Perry
22 May 2006, 17:11
All this mitchell talk....he's gonna love it.
Tavis, as for your prediction of B&f'S. i'd say at Lanky it will be between steve thomson, andrew parsons and coach carver.
Have you put you're hand up for interleague?
I was speaking to patto after training and he said a few melbourne based boys were keen.
Hey Cosby - congrats on the good win! All the Mitchell talk must have been valid - looks like his 6 majors may have been the difference...
Yeh, hands up for interleague, going to training this Wednesday with my brother, Jedd, who's been killing them at the minute..Though I reckon I'll be doing well to get a game - even old mate Doona couldn't fit me into his predicted interleague side! Hoping to kneecap you at some stage to give us any kind of edge going into Saturday's game..hopefully we can give you a solid contest..
In other news I see Daniel Vance finally came through with the goods, getting best on for Gig - must have been the crisis talk..but where has Muzza gone?! After telling me round 1 he was never gonna play again, Brett Hughes kicked a goal on the weekend for Murch - is he back for good Wayde, or were you short? When is bradrowe making his much anticipated senior debut with the cats?? Surely they can't keep the gorilla caged for much longer!
Does anyone know if David Saywell is still playing for Merrigum? Hows he going?
Hey Cosby - congrats on the good win! All the Mitchell talk must have been valid - looks like his 6 majors may have been the difference...
Yeh, hands up for interleague, going to training this Wednesday with my brother, Jedd, who's been killing them at the minute..Though I reckon I'll be doing well to get a game - even old mate Doona couldn't fit me into his predicted interleague side! Hoping to kneecap you at some stage to give us any kind of edge going into Saturday's game..hopefully we can give you a solid contest..
Mitch had to work hard for his goals as the umnpires put the whistle away quite early. I thought he'd kicked 2 for the day but was surprised after the game to hear he'd kicked 6. I twas a good team effort and the trip was alot longer than i remembered.
The big news out of Yea was that Rusty Mcdonnell had pulled on the boots to fill a void in the two's. He kicked 3 or 4 and was back to his vintage best. 'vintage' being the operative word. sorry rud.
Doona simply must've forgotten about T.Perry for his team.
I think you'll be right. :thumbsu:
Rushy have had the wood over lanky for some time now. Going back, since 2003 i think we may have won 1 game out of a possibly 8(?).
And once again Rushy are right up there. I'm sure the game will be well fought out as usual.
Mitch had to work hard for his goals as the umnpires put the whistle away quite early. I thought he'd kicked 2 for the day but was surprised after the game to hear he'd kicked 6. I twas a good team effort and the trip was alot longer than i remembered.
The big news out of Yea was that Rusty Mcdonnell had pulled on the boots to fill a void in the two's. He kicked 3 or 4 and was back to his vintage best. 'vintage' being the operative word. sorry rud.
Doona simply must've forgotten about T.Perry for his team.
I think you'll be right. :thumbsu:
Rushy have had the wood over lanky for some time now. Going back, since 2003 i think we may have won 1 game out of a possibly 8(?).
And once again Rushy are right up there. I'm sure the game will be well fought out as usual.
Wasn't my team, thats what was printed in the Shepp News. Tav mighta put his hand up with his 6-goal haul though!!! Yeah I think Troy's first 3 were handballs over the top to the goalsquare but as ya's got your running game going he got his hands on it more - number six was special as he was bumped off it about 40m out it still sailed thru.
How many did ya's have out, how bad were the injuries? Lancy are certainly the team to beat for me - put Dipper Wilson, James Stephens, Groves, Mayne and a ruckman into the side and Yea would run better, but to me Lancaster look a month ahead of em in general fitness and skill level. Saturday's 2nd half was pretty impressive by Lancy with Orr, Perella, Pryde running hard and big Morgan had an influence.
For me Yea looked a wee bit slow in the back half, but Im sure if 5-1 was offered in March you'd take it any day of the week. Every club has a bad one, and I can only remember Yea putting a worse effort twice in the 3 years I saw them first hand.
How many did ya's have out, how bad were the injuries?
We were probably missing 4 blokes all up.
Andrew Parsons was working, then we lost Thomo (Andrew Thomas) in the first ten minutes with a slight hammy strain and Phil Hunter copped a pretty ordinary hit while attempting a mark in the third and was vomitting and in alot of discomfort after the game. Poor bugger couldn't have been further away from home.
Best showers in the league, btw Doona.
We were probably missing 4 blokes all up.
Andrew Parsons was working, then we lost Thomo (Andrew Thomas) in the first ten minutes with a slight hammy strain and Phil Hunter copped a pretty ordinary hit while attempting a mark in the third and was vomitting and in alot of discomfort after the game. Poor bugger couldn't have been further away from home.
Best showers in the league, btw Doona.
I knew someting just might happen when #11 (Thomas??) left the park, just felt Lancy then decided their best bet was to run run run, it took em til almost half time to get that style going, but must admit for a large chunk of the day it looked effective as Yea had little players capable of matching the Wombats with legspeed.
big tony
22 May 2006, 20:08
with violet town now at 3-3 there season is back on track.
With players such as frankie macak, bo harrison and ryan trotter dominant through the midfield they are improving each week.
wat do you think the chances are of the towners finishing in the top 5?
On The Money
22 May 2006, 20:20
with violet town now at 3-3 there season is back on track.
With players such as frankie macak, bo harrison and ryan trotter dominant through the midfield they are improving each week.
wat do you think the chances are of the towners finishing in the top 5?
They would be a very outside chance I'd think without knowing their draw Lancaster, Stanhope, Yea, Rushworth and Ardmona would all seem to be better accomplished teams while Tally will be somewhere on the edge of the five too.
Sly Dog
22 May 2006, 20:39
both stanhope and lancaster have copped injuries playing yea recently. is this bad luck or are yea physically having an impact on the opposition. i have heard that they are very physical in close. good effort by lanc if they played without parsons, he is a very good player. thomas is good in the ruck also, if he has been playing there. on the other hand yea would be different side with wilson playing, was he injured. rushworth and lanc will be good this week. heard both these teams have injuries, like all clubs seem to have at the moment.
Lancy and Rushy will be an excellent game. They have played some good footy over the last 5 years these two teams. Like Cosby said, Rushy has probably had an advantage. The injuries Sly Dog refers to wouldnt be waarsdorp at Rushy and thomas at Lancy would it. What is the latest with waarsdorps injury? He hasnt done asnother knee surely?
both stanhope and lancaster have copped injuries playing yea recently. is this bad luck or are yea physically having an impact on the opposition. i have heard that they are very physical in close. good effort by lanc if they played without parsons, he is a very good player. thomas is good in the ruck also, if he has been playing there. on the other hand yea would be different side with wilson playing, was he injured. rushworth and lanc will be good this week. heard both these teams have injuries, like all clubs seem to have at the moment.
Yea are not any more physical than they have been in recent times. The Butterworth boys, Mark Nicholls and James Frankcombe are straight at it types, but I dont see it as having a physical impact.
Wilson was away with work, as was their top wingman Jimmy Stephens, and I think Groves & Mayne coulda been also. The Tige's sole ruckman Dougie Aldous suffered a busted hand, had it operated on meaning poor Tom Butterworth's gunna be run into the ground over the next 5-6 weeks.
Lancy looked quite comfortable without Thomas, their runners very good, they switched thru Orr (#19) quite a bit.
subtle hustle
23 May 2006, 12:11
Does anyone know if David Saywell is still playing for Merrigum? Hows he going?
Yes Dave is still playing for the bullies. And has been solid in the backline this year.
Just on VT, I think they'll struggle to make the 5. Undera would be a better chance but just can't get their full team on the park.
Have Murch picked up some new recruits? As they were touted as being very undermanned early on in the season but look to have competed pretty well the last two weeks.
subtle hustle
23 May 2006, 12:16
Wilson was away with work, as was their top wingman Jimmy Stephens, and I think Groves & Mayne coulda been also. The Tige's sole ruckman Dougie Aldous suffered a busted hand, had it operated on meaning poor Tom Butterworth's gunna be run into the ground over the next 5-6 weeks.
Is the Groves you speak of the same one that played at Avenel?
Just wondering if there where ne vt boys in the interleague squad? and how does the kdfl think it will go against the pdfl?
hectomorphic
23 May 2006, 15:12
Yes Dave is still playing for the bullies. And has been solid in the backline this year.
Just on VT, I think they'll struggle to make the 5. Undera would be a better chance but just can't get their full team on the park.
Have Murch picked up some new recruits? As they were touted as being very undermanned early on in the season but look to have competed pretty well the last two weeks.
I wouldn't write off the towners just yet, undera were given some easy goals by the umps on the weekend and the result should have been bigger really, and the day against merrigum they had five players out.... I think they should be evenly matched with tallygaroopna and a slight chance against fifth placed ardmona... Look out for Will Hemming at Undera starting to look in dangerous form.....
You didnt wanna write the Towners finals hopes off at 14:12 hecto so is now a more appropriate time? There will already be one side stiff to miss with Lancy, Stanhope, Yea, Rushy, Ardmona & Tally looming as the better sides. As i see it 6th or 7th might be around the mark for VT
akka dakka
23 May 2006, 18:18
Actually got to see the vt, undera game on the weekend, and would agree with most that undera were pretty ordinary, but would really like to know what easy goals undera were given??? because from where i was the umpires seemed to be lookin after violet town aswell!!!
big tony
23 May 2006, 21:44
with violet town still hunting matt sharp back, add him to there list and r they flag chances?
Horse may have bolted already - would need to string a heap of wins together as rounds 13 to 15 pose big problems when Violet Town have 3 away games in a row, all to finals aspirants Tally, Ardmona & Stanhope - chuck in Lancaster in round 17 and the run home just might see em fall short
Horse may have bolted already - would need to string a heap of wins together as rounds 13 to 15 pose big problems when Violet Town have 3 away games in a row, all to finals aspirants Tally, Ardmona & Stanhope - chuck in Lancaster in round 17 and the run home just might see em fall shortHasn't young sharpy been playing?
hectomorphic
24 May 2006, 15:29
Hasn't young sharpy been playing?
Sharpy is in playing at Benalla. VT are hoping to get him back maybe next year though with some other blookes.
Wayde Petersen
24 May 2006, 16:00
Brett was only playing because we were short, Tavis. but it's a damn shame that Brett's shoulder prevent's him from playing more regulary, because he played well considering that he hasn't played for a while, and we need more players of his ability around the place, but we did get Matt Gledhill back from Queensland, which is good, and he played pretty well.
Has Merrigum picked up a few players to cover the loss of Henderson ?, and how did Josh Stammers go last weekend ?, finally, we've got a game coming up that I think we can win (and after Lanky & Interleague, Murch plays all the weaker sides in a row), although Stanhope should've buried Murch last week, Leigh Kellett has been great up forward (and could be a chance for the goalkicking title, if he doesn't get injured), and kicking 8 out of a sides 13 goals against a side like Stanhope was a great achievement.
Anyway, Murch and Gig will win a few games this season, i'm sure of that.
burjo#9
24 May 2006, 17:11
hey! just wondering, who r the real contenders for this years flag and who have young tallent coming up through the ranks?
T.Perry
24 May 2006, 17:34
Brett was only playing because we were short, Tavis. but it's a damn shame that Brett's shoulder prevent's him from playing more regulary, because he played well considering that he hasn't played for a while, and we need more players of his ability around the place, but we did get Matt Gledhill back from Queensland, which is good, and he played pretty well.
Has Merrigum picked up a few players to cover the loss of Henderson ?, and how did Josh Stammers go last weekend ?, finally, we've got a game coming up that I think we can win (and after Lanky & Interleague, Murch plays all the weaker sides in a row), although Stanhope should've buried Murch last week, Leigh Kellett has been great up forward (and could be a chance for the goalkicking title, if he doesn't get injured), and kicking 8 out of a sides 13 goals against a side like Stanhope was a great achievement.
Anyway, Murch and Gig will win a few games this season, i'm sure of that.
I actually heard that Murch went alright against Stanhope, and the final score gave a pretty good representation of how the game went.. Merrigum definitely missed Henderson up forward, and Stammers had to work, so he also couldn't play..They had a young guy who broke his foot earlier in the year up forward, who looked dangerous, and Ben Demecke worked tirelessly through the midfield, but kicked under pressure a lot of the time..I would think that Avenel would be able to knock them off...they're the only 2 bottom sides we've played against..
Not too sure how the interleague side will go - apparently most players have made themselves available. Rushy played Shepp East in a praccy match, and they had some good players, so I'm sure it will be a pretty close hitout..I suppose it's hard coz neither side will really know a lot about the opposition, or what kind of side will be picked (big, young, experienced, quick, etc)
T.Perry
24 May 2006, 17:40
hey! just wondering, who r the real contenders for this years flag and who have young tallent coming up through the ranks?
I think it's going to be an interesting finals series when everyone gets their full side on the park come September..As Doona pointed out, Lancy's pace worried Yea, and Stanhope's team would have to be just as quick, if not quicker across the board than Lancy's...the only thing going against Stanhope you would think is that they haven't got a lot of tall blokes, which is an area where Yea and Ardmona might be able to exploit them in..Lancy seemed the most balanced side, and Rushy are probably 2 or so good players short to win too many finals in a year that should be right open..
Young players coming through the ranks at Rushworth are jake Perry, Scott Lambden, Daniel lambden, Shane Lynch, Andrew Clarke, Tom Clarke and Shaun Damon...
subtle hustle
25 May 2006, 10:39
Violet Town are a long way off the pace.
Ardmona
Stanhope
Yea
Lancaster
Rushworth
Tally
would all be much better placed.
Joeyboy
25 May 2006, 13:34
You mean avenel has a chance of knocking stanhope off????
Joeyboy
25 May 2006, 13:36
What about avenel???
subtle hustle
26 May 2006, 14:49
You mean avenel has a chance of knocking stanhope off????
I wouldnt think so.
Sharpy is in playing at Benalla. VT are hoping to get him back maybe next year though with some other blookes.Is he playing 1s Hec? I'm a bit starved o finfo up here!
burjo#9
27 May 2006, 19:54
does anyone know who is up there in the best players in the U18s? i here nagambie, avenal, rushworth and lancaster have a few guns
carlton_86
27 May 2006, 20:42
Is he playing 1s Hec? I'm a bit starved o finfo up here!He is playing i's and is probably only just trailing in the club B&F votes at the moment
Flat Track Bully
28 May 2006, 00:37
Best wishes to Stanhope's Richard Goodbody who was seriously injured in the mainland's clash with Avenel today. He is reported to be doing OK, but will spend some time in hospital.
big tony
28 May 2006, 10:09
has the two cgfl teams, yea and violet town changed the kdfl.
with yea going to play off in the grand final and violet town chances of a top 5.
yea have beaten big name teams such as ardmon and stanhope.
as for violet town, thye are getting better each week, with the new gun recruit tommy dukic firing at full forward, it straitghtens up the line up.
has the two cgfl teams, yea and violet town changed the kdfl.
with yea going to play off in the grand final and violet town chances of a top 5.
yea have beaten big name teams such as ardmon and stanhope.
as for violet town, thye are getting better each week, with the new gun recruit tommy dukic firing at full forward, it straitghtens up the line up.
I've followed the CGFL for past few years & watched different games this year in KDFL and I have to agree big tone, Yea will definetly play off, in the past Yea traditionally improve week after week and peak about mid August, VT looked good yesterday, I'm told a couple were missing including the coaches brother, impressive backline and a very unselfish forward line, they have quite a few different avenues to goal. I think it would be fair to say they will shift Ardmona & Rushworth from 4th spot.
Joeyboy
29 May 2006, 10:03
Avenel has the likes of Scott Kanters, Tom Stevens and the O conner brothers who are pretty handy. three of the four mentioned have played seniors this year
Joeyboy
29 May 2006, 10:04
does anyone know who is up there in the best players in the U18s? i here nagambie, avenal, rushworth and lancaster have a few guns
Avenel has the likes of Scott Kanters, Tom Stevens and the O conner brothers who are pretty handy. three of the four mentioned have played seniors this year
Case of the stutters there joeyboy . . . . whilst on Avenel me old mate Joe "Dirt" Pollock jagged 3 I see, musta been stiff not to feature in the best players
Tigers trounce luckless Girgarre
May 29 2006
Shepparton News
Girgarre remains the only team not to register a victory after eight rounds, as it was dealt an 81-point drubbing by third-placed Yea.
The Tigers were too strong for their counterparts, running away with their sixth victory, 20.16 (136) to 8.7 (55).
Yea's Daniel Cleary was awarded best on ground, kicking five goals and racking up many other telling disposals.
Russell Myers and Brent Ralph were the best players for Girgarre.
Lions share the goals
Straight kicking and 11 individual goalkickers were the key ingredients to Violet Town's 92-point annihilation of Nagambie.
Seven goals in three of four quarters provided the Nagambie backmen with plenty of headaches as the Lions romped to a 25.14 (164) to 11.6 (72) victory.
Sean Horsburgh was the chief contributor up forward with five majors, while Gary Abley and Daniel Cope kicked four goals apiece.
James Bodycoat was unstoppable through the midfield in his best-on-ground display and was ably supported by Tom Saker.
Jackson Hutton kicked four majors and Stephen Lyons tried hard for Nagambie.
Goals flow freely
Stanhope has had plenty of goalkicking practice after it blitzed Avenel by 92 points.
A 10-goal-to-one first quarter set the tone for the rest of the match as Stanhope cruised to victory, 30.14 (194) to 15.12 (102).
Leigh Haw snagged six majors from the forward pocket, while Jarrad Mason, Matt Trist and David Hansford provided other avenues to goal with four goals apiece.
For Avenel, Steven Potts kicked four goals, while Michael Hard and Brett Carroll tried valiantly all game.
Meka leads Cats to win
A 12-goal haul from veteran Perry Meka has spearheaded Ardmona's 128-point trouncing of last year's premier, Tallygaroopna.
The Cats dominated all day, especially after quarter-time where they kicked 26 goals to six to record a resounding 29.9 (183) to 7.13 (55) win.
Meka's performance made him a unanimous best-on-ground, while ex-Shepparton Swan Clint Brereton's nine goals were also a super effort.
Dale Sidebottom was energetic through the midfield and Adam Molisak also tried hard for the vanquished.
Hoppers put points on the board at last
Ashleigh Williamson
May 29 2006
Murchison has enjoyed its first taste of victory this season after defeating Merrigum by 51 points.
The Hoppers appear to be in the midst of a rebuilding phase, with the loss of numerous players from last year's side resulting in their slide down the ladder.
Inaccurate kicking proved to be costly for Merrigum in the first term as it had most of the play, but straight kicking from Murchison saw it ahead by a goal at quartertime.
Murchison stretched its lead even further in the second quarter, keeping the Bulldogs scoreless and ramming home six majors to hold a 46-point buffer at the main break.
Murchison continued its relentless attack on the ball in the third quarter, with six goals to one landing the knockout blow as it led by 75 points at the final change.
Merrigum produced a spirited last quarter, attacking with lots of flair and risk as it rattled home with 6.1 to 2.1, but it was all too late as Murchison came away with the points 18.7 (115) to 9.10 (64).
Leigh Kellett was at his brilliant best up forward, booting 10 majors, and was easily the best on the ground.
Kellett's haul takes him to 42 goals for the season, currently eight in arrears of Ardmona's Perry Meka and Lancaster's Troy Mitchell.
Other stand-out performances for the Hoppers came from Michael Tuhan and youngster Shane Kay.
The Bulldogs' focal point up forward came in the form of Chris Kilmartin, who bagged four goals.
Aaron Wortley and Ben Damschke were the best players for Merrigum.
Murchison will have a hard task trying to duplicate its performance next week as it hosts top-ofthe-table and undefeated Lancaster, while Merrigum will look to chalk up its third victory of the season when it travels to Avenel.
Wombats continue winning ways
May 29 2006
Shepparton News
Lancaster has kept its undefeated streak intact, with its seventh consecutive victory a 77-point drubbing of Rushworth.
Lancaster has made significant improvement since last season, progressing from a side that finished sixth last year to a side that is sure to make its presence felt come September.
It is the large influx of players from Kyabram who have been performing consistently, as well as some of the familiar faces for the Wombats.
The Tigers were left standing flat-footed in this contest, as Lancaster burst out the blocks with a 4.3 to 0.5 first term giving it a 22-point quarter-time lead.
The second term was almost a mirror image of the first, as the Wombats kicked 5.2 to 0.1 and comfortably went into half-time 53 points to the better of their counterparts.
Rushworth managed to register its first goal of the match and won the third quarter, but still needed a miracle to overcome the 49-point deficit it faced going into the final stanza.
Lancaster put the result beyond doubt when it rammed home six goals to one in the final term to run out a comprehensive winner, 17.7 (109) to 3.14 (32).
Troy Mitchell was the only multiple goalkicker for the victor with four, while 12 of his teammates joined him on the goalscorers' tally with one major each.
The Wombats' backline was solid all day, only conceding three goals, with Steven and Adam Thomson and Andrew Parsons among the best players.
For Rushworth, Tavis Perry kicked two goals, while Jedd Perry and Darin Ohlsen battled hard.
Next week, Lancaster ventures to Murchison, while Rushworth will be keen to rejoin the winners' circle when it hosts Girgarre.
Joeyboy
29 May 2006, 12:25
Case of the stutters there joeyboy . . . . whilst on Avenel me old mate Joe "Dirt" Pollock jagged 3 I see, musta been stiff not to feature in the best players
YEAH HE WAS, HE PUT IN A SOLID PERFORMANCE ALL DAY, CLEANEST SET OF HANDS I HAVE SEEN ON ANYONE IN A LONG TIME, NICE KICK TOO. ;)
T.Perry
29 May 2006, 15:07
Wombats continue winning ways
May 29 2006
Shepparton News
Lancaster has kept its undefeated streak intact, with its seventh consecutive victory a 77-point drubbing of Rushworth.
It is the large influx of players from Kyabram who have been performing consistently, as well as some of the familiar faces for the Wombats.
The Tigers were left standing flat-footed in this contest, as Lancaster burst out the blocks with a 4.3 to 0.5 first term giving it a 22-point quarter-time lead.
The second term was almost a mirror image of the first, as the Wombats kicked 5.2 to 0.1 and comfortably went into half-time 53 points to the better of their counterparts.
Rushworth managed to register its first goal of the match and won the third quarter, but still needed a miracle to overcome the 49-point deficit it faced going into the final stanza.
Lancaster put the result beyond doubt when it rammed home six goals to one in the final term to run out a comprehensive winner, 17.7 (109) to 3.14 (32).
Troy Mitchell was the only multiple goalkicker for the victor with four, while 12 of his teammates joined him on the goalscorers' tally with one major each.
The Wombats' backline was solid all day, only conceding three goals, with Steven and Adam Thomson and Andrew Parsons among the best players.
For Rushworth, Tavis Perry kicked two goals, while Jedd Perry and Darin Ohlsen battled hard.
Next week, Lancaster ventures to Murchison, while Rushworth will be keen to rejoin the winners' circle when it hosts Girgarre.
Pretty impressed with Lancaster on the weekend, they have a very even and well-balanced side this year..Would like to think that we played a bit better than the scoreboard indicated, but no excuses, a 70-odd point hiding tells the tale.
Steve Cail set the tone for them early, and is a lot bigger and stronger than I remembered him, Andison was ok for a majority of the game and presented himself well, Parsons got a mountain of ball, and we simply didn't give him the respect we should have, young Thomson was impressive on a wing, Orr is a very versatile utility, who is about 6' 2 or 3" and can run, 21 (not sure of his name) was lively and 23 (Jones?) also got a lot of ball, though wasn't particularly damaging..Coach Carver probably played the quietest game i've seen him play, Mitchell made the most of his opportunities and Thomas and Brenzo White watched from the sidelines..I was most impressed with big bad Shane "mad dog" Morgan, who looks more like an 1880's outlaw than a footballer, but he worked hard all day and kicked a massive 60m bomb on the run..
As for us, it shows how much work we've got to do - the win against Ardy will hopefully hold us in good stead, but we have 3 absolute crunch games against Yea, Violet Town and Undera before seasons end, and if we lose 2 of those we are a big chance of missing out on september action..
scotywok
29 May 2006, 17:32
Good to see Avenel giving Joe Pollock a chance at senior football. Maybe Dan O'Bree can learn by his mistakes of not giving Joe a run at Heathcote last year, after seeing that he kicked four on the weekend.
I was most impressed with big bad Shane "mad dog" Morgan, who looks more like an 1880's outlaw than a footballer, but he worked hard all day and kicked a massive 60m bomb on the run.
Thanks, i think.
Shafted by the shepp news too, not very often i get to kick a goal let alone two.
Where was Winterton on the weekend Tavis? Is he still playing?
Rushy were well served by you Perry boys as usual and a couple of the kids that you've got look like they'll be handy with some more experience.
Good to see Avenel giving Joe Pollock a chance at senior football. Maybe Dan O'Bree can learn by his mistakes of not giving Joe a run at Heathcote last year, after seeing that he kicked four on the weekend.
Well spotted Wok, you obviously have inside knowledge at the Swans nest - I said he booted 3 after looking at the KDFL site & was quickly alerted by Pollock supporters to the fact that whoever jots em down made a blue.
burjo#9
29 May 2006, 19:33
i here rushworth have andrew clarke who is very very handy he won the league medal last year, namgambie have a fair few comming up through like jackson hutton, tyrone muir, michael clarke, duke jenkins, zac jones and josh smith, they have all played a few games in the seniors and the future looks bright for nagambie. avenal have those mentioned by joeboy, lancy have a few but i dont know who they are hahha
big tony
29 May 2006, 21:57
i think that people are writing off the towners so far, at 5-3
there season is well-balanced and with the game against yea this week, i dont think it will be a push over for yea.
this is the battle of the CGFl teams.
with the towners coming up against rushworth at home after the game, i believe the towners will get up for legend chris hayes 250th game with vt.
i believe the towners will finish 4-5 and give the flag a go, the towners team is 1 of the best teams on paper.
there season is well-balanced and with the game against yea this week, i dont think it will be a push over for yea.
with the towners coming up against rushworth at home after the game, i believe the towners will get up for legend chris hayes 250th game with vt.
i believe the towners will finish 4-5 and give the flag a go, the towners team is 1 of the best teams on paper.
Hope ur right Tony, hadn't planned on going as they haven't given a yelp at Yea in 3-4 years. but now I may just make the trek after hearing of the Towners confidence - would love to see it a good contest all day.
#1 COACH
29 May 2006, 22:31
can anyone tell me how the vance boys and barry firebrace are going out at Girgarre? cheers
Considering they haven't won a game, and seeing the club's top ten goalkickers vary from 14 (1st) to 2 (10th) and they're not featured, Im tipping they're not going too well at all.
T.Perry
30 May 2006, 09:51
Thanks, i think.
Shafted by the shepp news too, not very often i get to kick a goal let alone two.
Where was Winterton on the weekend Tavis? Is he still playing?
Rushy were well served by you Perry boys as usual and a couple of the kids that you've got look like they'll be handy with some more experience.
I actually thought you kicked 3 - so I was very surprised when it had that you only snagged 1 on the kdl website! Nah, I thought you played a very good game.
Unfortunately, Winterton's missus is getting treatment for cancer, and as you could imagine, that's taking a pretty big toll on him, and he's just not interested in having a kick at this stage... unlikely that he'll be back this year, though he has been saying that he wants to play at least another season before he retires..
I thought Jedd was sensational off a back flank, but Jake and I were down on our usual output..but things are looking pretty good for the future, we only have 3 blokes over 26 in the side, and the young kids are coming along well..
Apart from Thomas and White, were you blokes at full strength on the weekend? What did you think of the game?
T.Perry
30 May 2006, 12:25
Apparently Murray Vance can only play every second or third game due to work commitments, and hasn't been real keen on moving out of the goal square..Daniel Vance started the year off pretty slowly, but got BOG a couple of weeks ago. Haven't heard anything about how Firebrace is going..
Spoke with Jodie Canavan during the week and he is expecting to give some middle of the road sides a real hiding before the year's out, and believes that all their recruits are loving it out there and are planning on staying for at least another year or 2..it didn't appear he had been smoking any wacky weed, but that was about the only conclusion I could come up with for comments like that..
subtle hustle
30 May 2006, 13:03
Violet town defeated Merrigum by 2 points at home.
Hardly flag form.
carlton_86
30 May 2006, 15:31
Violet town defeated Merrigum by 2 points at home.
Hardly flag form.
That was the first win for the year look what we have done since that before you write us of
Violet Town 14.5 (89) v Stanhope 24.15 (159)
Violet Town 8.15 (63) v Ardmona 15.11 (101)
Violet Town 11.14 (80) v Merrigum 10.18 (78)
Lancaster 24.17 (161) v Violet Town 15.13 (103)
Violet Town 19.11 (125) v Girgarre 12.9 (81)
Undera 12.11 (83) v Violet Town 16.10 (106)
Violet Town 25.14 (164) v Nagambie 11.6 (72)
5 out of 7 games at home so far which makes Saturday's clash at Yea crucial for their finals chances as you'd assume there is some travelling yet to come.
Although there does appear to some winnable games & a bye in the final 3 rounds.
Maybe all this confidence out of Violet Town just may be justified by seasons end!!!
roaring tiger
30 May 2006, 20:20
Considering they haven't won a game, and seeing the club's top ten goalkickers vary from 14 (1st) to 2 (10th) and they're not featured, Im tipping they're not going too well at all.
Totally correct doona. I would of thought Girgarre are in a worse situation than they were last year. Haven't one a game yet, hard to see who they are actually going to beat. Maybe merrigum if anyone and by the end of the year will probably have wasted all there money on maybe 1 or 2 wins.
I also hear that there best player troy snelson may not be playing there next year.