View Full Version : Kyabram District FL
Wayne Weideman
20 Jun 2006, 07:57
I thought going into Saturday that Ardy would be in with a show against Stanhope. Their reserves are on top of the ladder and we (Ardy) beat them by 11 goals. The guy I was playing on said that they had a few out of the seniors, plus they have had a horror injury run. With that in mind, if Ardy were ever going to beat them then this was the day.
However, the signs were ominous early. Stanhope were very hard at it and they restricted Ardy's run, while moving the ball very well themselves. Ardmona had a few out, but still, they have to beat teams like that to finish top 3. Interesting to see that Hooda hasn't lost any love for his former team-mate Carl Moon.
what happened between hooda and moony. big of a box on was there?
T.Perry
20 Jun 2006, 11:04
Thought I'd do a preview of the 'crunch' games that each side has in the second half of the season to gauge a better idea of where teams might finish.. The way I see it, Yea, Rushy, Ardy and VT will be fighting for spots 3-5, and it would be highly unlikely that Lancy or Stanhope were knocked out of spots 1 and 2..
Round 11 - crunch game between Rushy and Undera
Round 12 - Lancy v Ardy
Round 13 - Rushy v Yea, Tally v VT, Stanhope v Lancy
Round 14 - Ardy v VT
Round 15 - Undera v Ardy, Stanhope v VT
Round 16 - Tally v Yea
Round 17 - Rushy v Tally, Yea v Ardy, VT v Lancy
Round 18 - Ardy v Rushy, Stanhope v Yea
Round 19 - Lancy v Yea
Round 20 - Rushy v Stanhope
So Rushy have 5 'crunch' games, but 4 of those are at home, Yea and Ardy also have 5, but 4 of Yea's are away, and they play Ardy, Stanhope and Lancy consecutively between rounds 17-19, whilst VT, Stanhope and Lancy only have 4 'crunch' games..obviously anything could happen between now and the end of the year, and one of the bottom sides may knock off a contender from out of the blue, but it just goes to show how even the run home is, and that any of Rushy, Ardy, Yea and VT could finish as high as 3rd or as low as 6th... good for the comp, I guess...thoughts?
carlton_86
20 Jun 2006, 16:19
Settle down violet town boys, i think you boys might be peaking a bit early yet and if saturday was the best you guys could offer i still don't think you boys will challenge for the flag. Im not trying to be a smart arse but ya's just don't have enough polish to win a flag at the moment.
I still think rushy can go along way and push for a flag this year although lancy are the clear favourites. There main challenger stanhope. If it finally rains and gets wet then look out for yea.
Tip for the league medal would be mitchell from lancy gray from stanhope, tav from rushy and woka and lowey from ardy.
And girgarre can they get a win before the years out?? mybe 2, they may beat either nagambie or merrigum but only just.
That is not the best we have got we still have a couple of key position players to slot into the team. Players that were brought into the team from melbourne are just starting to gel with the locals
King_Of_Ling
20 Jun 2006, 17:00
I didn't see any altercation between the two players, I would have thought hoot would have given him a fair tongue lashin though. He doesn't mind givin a bit...
Yer without even thinking about it too hard the Ky league has the Benalla and District covered, along with the Golden Rivers, Lodden Valley, Marybrough & Castlemaine have heard it rated better than the Riddell. (Doona might be able to tell us about that one)
While it must be very close to North Central & Malee leagues who combine to form an Interleague side to compete in the DIv 4 championships and are regularly smashed. The North Central only 7 sides and is well spread from major regional cities.
From the leagues I keep an eye on, Id have the HDFL well ahead of the KDFL, then the RDFL, with the BDFL a 25 lengths distant last.
I'm still not convinced (whatya say Bodz) that the KDFL is as good a standard as the old CGFL, maybe Im still bitter and twisted about the whole 2005 debacle :mad: .
I thought it (KDFL) appeared better 4-5 years ago when I followed it thru a connection at Avenel. The RDFL still has a long way to go, the better sides are good (Riddell, Diggers, Woodend, Romsey) - I saw Sunbury play Kilmore and if either of those sides play finals then thats where I think the problem lies in the RDFL as it slips away big time.
Maybe VT#23 whom I hear is carving up the RDFL can shares his views having played with the Towners.
Id say Diggers & Riddell might push the more fancied bodied KDFL sides in Lancy, Stanhope, Yea etc. - but wouldn't get near ya Elmore's, Mounts & LBU's in the HDFL.
:thumbsu: My opinion only lads . . . .
Thought I'd do a preview of the 'crunch' games that each side has in the second half of the season to gauge a better idea of where teams might finish.. The way I see it, Yea, Rushy, Ardy and VT will be fighting for spots 3-5, and it would be highly unlikely that Lancy or Stanhope were knocked out of spots 1 and 2..
Round 11 - crunch game between Rushy and Undera
Round 12 - Lancy v Ardy
Round 13 - Rushy v Yea, Tally v VT, Stanhope v Lancy
Round 14 - Ardy v VT
Round 15 - Undera v Ardy, Stanhope v VT
Round 16 - Tally v Yea
Round 17 - Rushy v Tally, Yea v Ardy, VT v Lancy
Round 18 - Ardy v Rushy, Stanhope v Yea
Round 19 - Lancy v Yea
Round 20 - Rushy v Stanhope
So Rushy have 5 'crunch' games, but 4 of those are at home, Yea and Ardy also have 5, but 4 of Yea's are away, and they play Ardy, Stanhope and Lancy consecutively between rounds 17-19, whilst VT, Stanhope and Lancy only have 4 'crunch' games..obviously anything could happen between now and the end of the year, and one of the bottom sides may knock off a contender from out of the blue, but it just goes to show how even the run home is, and that any of Rushy, Ardy, Yea and VT could finish as high as 3rd or as low as 6th... good for the comp, I guess...thoughts?
Love looking at stuff like this Tav, and it would be fair to assume all clubs in the finals race would have this info documented already and would already have it planted in the minds of their troops.
Met up with injured Yea ruckman Dougie Aldous on the weekend, from where I sit I think they have 10 days to find a replacement as his hand didnt look too flash. I have said all along the Tiges needed another tall, and more grunt in the middle . . . . fingers crossed premiership midfielders Cam Scott and Michael Papadopoulos can be wooed out retirement, former Swan Ben Cleary can find a place across half back, and ACK youngsters AJ McCarthy and Sean Connell slot into the team.
bradrowe#32
20 Jun 2006, 20:52
In the first quarter Moony and a Stanhope player were wrestling in the goalsquare. Hooda ran from the middle to get into Moony. There wasn't much in it, I just thought it was an interesting confrontation.
:mad: Ggrrrrrrrr Page 2 aint on lads :mad:
T.Perry
21 Jun 2006, 11:58
:mad: Ggrrrrrrrr Page 2 aint on lads :mad:
Give us something then old mate...Going on my earlier post, who do you reckon will make the top 5, and are Yea in much trouble to miss out altogether?
Also, fair enough you have your opinion on the strengths of various leagues, but Lancy did roll mounts and Stanhope beat Elmore during pre-season matches..I know you can't take a lot out of praccy matches, but why, in your opinion, would you now rate Mounts and Elmore ahead of Stanhope and Lancy? I reckon Lancy would compete very well against the likes of Mounts, Elmore, LBU, Shepp East and Picola United..love to hear your thoughts..
Give us something then old mate...Going on my earlier post, who do you reckon will make the top 5, and are Yea in much trouble to miss out altogether?
Also, fair enough you have your opinion on the strengths of various leagues, but Lancy did roll mounts and Stanhope beat Elmore during pre-season matches..I know you can't take a lot out of praccy matches, but why, in your opinion, would you now rate Mounts and Elmore ahead of Stanhope and Lancy? I reckon Lancy would compete very well against the likes of Mounts, Elmore, LBU, Shepp East and Picola United..love to hear your thoughts..
Im very big on the final 4-5 players on lists, and whilst I know Lancy and Stanhope had players missing against Yea I wasn't left convinved that they'd beat Elmore, LBU & Mounts in the real stuff, definately ahead of the rest so I think a 4,5 finish would be accurate. Last year Wallan beat Yea by 15 goals and I dont believe the gap between DVFL div 2 and us is that big at all, Yea woulda played finals no worries down there, wouldnt have won it but woulda been super competitive. Never been big on practice games.
Shepp East would $hit in the KDFL this year, and the CGFL last year by at least 10 goals, don't appear to be any weak links in their side at the minute and have the depth we all crave for.
T.Perry
21 Jun 2006, 12:20
Im very big on the final 4-5 players on lists, and whilst I know Lancy and Stanhope had players missing against Yea I wasn't left convinved that they'd beat Elmore, LBU & Mounts in the real stuff, definately ahead of the rest so I think a 4,5 finish would be accurate. Last year Wallan beat Yea by 15 goals and I dont believe the gap between DVFL div 2 and us is that big at all, Yea woulda played finals no worries down there, wouldnt have won it but woulda been super competitive. Never been big on practice games.
Shepp East would $hit in the KDFL this year, and the CGFL last year by at least 10 goals, don't appear to be any weak links in their side at the minute and have the depth we all crave for.
Agreed, Shepp East are a very accomplished side, and I think they would def be hard to stop if they were playing in the KDL this year..They seem to be in a strange situation, Shepp East, I reckon they seem to have too much $, facilities and talent to be in a minor league, but don't have enough to be in a major league..I would like to see them maybe trying to get into the Murray league at some stage - the side they've got this year would go close to finals, I reckon (from the couple of games I've gone to watch Echuca United..)
For what it's worth, I reckon if we beat Yea in a couple of weeks time, they might be under a fair bit of pressure to make the 5 - they seem to have the hardest run home, and a few more injuries could be costly for them..
Agreed, Shepp East are a very accomplished side, and I think they would def be hard to stop if they were playing in the KDL this year..They seem to be in a strange situation, Shepp East, I reckon they seem to have too much $, facilities and talent to be in a minor league, but don't have enough to be in a major league..I would like to see them maybe trying to get into the Murray league at some stage - the side they've got this year would go close to finals, I reckon (from the couple of games I've gone to watch Echuca United..)
For what it's worth, I reckon if we beat Yea in a couple of weeks time, they might be under a fair bit of pressure to make the 5 - they seem to have the hardest run home, and a few more injuries could be costly for them..
In June last year we were under extreme pressure sitting 4th-5th and only lost the 2nd semi from then on - backed our experience and once we got momentum our older wiser heads seemed to know how to get over the line in tight situations. Ironically it was in June when the CGFL decided to host the GF at Yea as they thought we were gone also.
Thats what I expect to see - and would be asking from players like Dipper, Tom Butterworth, Bill Neilson, Mark Nicholls, Chris Leatham to stand up and lead from the front in the run to the finals.
mainland
21 Jun 2006, 14:01
In the first quarter Moony and a Stanhope player were wrestling in the goalsquare. Hooda ran from the middle to get into Moony. There wasn't much in it, I just thought it was an interesting confrontation.
Moony was deff above himself by wrestling with Roota Haw (who is known for his late night punch ons) and Hoota as a back up. When i used to play at Rochy can remember Moony bein a softy ever since the move to Ardy he has turned into a bit of a dirty dog.
BODZY#32
21 Jun 2006, 18:55
From the leagues I keep an eye on, Id have the HDFL well ahead of the KDFL, then the RDFL, with the BDFL a 25 lengths distant last.
I'm still not convinced (whatya say Bodz) that the KDFL is as good a standard as the old CGFL, maybe Im still bitter and twisted about the whole 2005 debacle :mad: .
I thought it (KDFL) appeared better 4-5 years ago when I followed it thru a connection at Avenel. The RDFL still has a long way to go, the better sides are good (Riddell, Diggers, Woodend, Romsey) - I saw Sunbury play Kilmore and if either of those sides play finals then thats where I think the problem lies in the RDFL as it slips away big time.
Maybe VT#23 whom I hear is carving up the RDFL can shares his views having played with the Towners.
Id say Diggers & Riddell might push the more fancied bodied KDFL sides in Lancy, Stanhope, Yea etc. - but wouldn't get near ya Elmore's, Mounts & LBU's in the HDFL.
:thumbsu: My opinion only lads . . . .
Yeh not sure about cgfl vs kdfl doona, coz last year vt had thirds sumtimes trippling up for the day and always had two's doubling up but yet our closest games were against top team rumba and then we mite cop a 25 goal thumping from 2nd bottom.... but thats wot i loved about it u could never go to a game gauranteed you'd win for sum reason and it was always like that, where as the kdfl i feel is very predictable n there is a big gap between top and bottom. i dont think interleague matches reflect how good a league is either....
example two years ago rumba went undeafeted in home and away and 2nd through to 7th i believe were 10wins 8 losses or 9wins 9losses with all blacks last with out a win and shepp east got up and won the premiership...
Just on comparisons of hdfl n kdfl, i'd hav to agree that hdfl has kdfl covered, seen 1 game this year and watching mounts vs. white hills in grand final last year i thought that was pretty evenly placed inbetween bendigo league and central goulbourn. I think lancy would go alright tho in the hdfl but i don't think they could win it, as mounts elmore and colbo you'd think will pick up a few over the next week before the deadline to add more depth.... however lancy r a class outfit thats for sure!!:thumbsu:
Yeh not sure about cgfl vs kdfl doona, coz last year vt had thirds sumtimes trippling up for the day and always had two's doubling up but yet our closest games were against top team rumba and then we mite cop a 25 goal thumping from 2nd bottom.... but thats wot i loved about it u could never go to a game gauranteed you'd win for sum reason and it was always like that, where as the kdfl i feel is very predictable n there is a big gap between top and bottom. i dont think interleague matches reflect how good a league is either....
example two years ago rumba went undeafeted in home and away and 2nd through to 7th i believe were 10wins 8 losses or 9wins 9losses with all blacks last with out a win and shepp east got up and won the premiership...
Just on comparisons of hdfl n kdfl, i'd hav to agree that hdfl has kdfl covered, seen 1 game this year and watching mounts vs. white hills in grand final last year i thought that was pretty evenly placed inbetween bendigo league and central goulbourn. I think lancy would go alright tho in the hdfl but i don't think they could win it, as mounts elmore and colbo you'd think will pick up a few over the next week before the deadline to add more depth.... however lancy r a class outfit thats for sure!!:thumbsu:
Its hard for me to compare the leagues as i didnt play with vt last year but i did play against stanhope in the season opener and with the team vt had on the park were competitive for a half and that was the fastest flowing game of football ive played in this year, rdfl havent met that quickness, i think the old shepp east, yea and rumba's i played against would dispatch of the front runners, doona the kangas v kilmore was a slip in our season you couldnt judge us on that game although i still think the kdfl would be of better standard then the rdfl
jmain14
22 Jun 2006, 02:08
Moony was deff above himself by wrestling with Roota Haw (who is known for his late night punch ons) and Hoota as a back up. When i used to play at Rochy can remember Moony bein a softy ever since the move to Ardy he has turned into a bit of a dirty dog.
perhaps a little harsh on carl calling him soft when playing at rochy. maybe a couple of deficiencies to his game for a bloke of his size but I can't recall him being soft. when did ya play at rochy mainland??
Its hard for me to compare the leagues as i didnt play with vt last year but i did play against stanhope in the season opener and with the team vt had on the park were competitive for a half and that was the fastest flowing game of football ive played in this year, rdfl havent met that quickness, i think the old shepp east, yea and rumba's i played against would dispatch of the front runners, doona the kangas v kilmore was a slip in our season you couldnt judge us on that game although i still think the kdfl would be of better standard then the rdfl
Thanx mate I meant the pace of the 2 comps are a lot different hey. Im not silly enough to judge a team Ive seen play once, but I think Im a good enough judge to see how blokes move and how they carry themselves when things arent going their way and to me the depth of both your side (back then) and Kilmore just wasnt the same as in other leagues. Mind you the Kangas are gaining some momentum and after talking to a few mates over in the RDFL people are beginning to take notice of ya's :thumbsu:
mainland
22 Jun 2006, 10:51
perhaps a little harsh on carl calling him soft when playing at rochy. maybe a couple of deficiencies to his game for a bloke of his size but I can't recall him being soft. when did ya play at rochy mainland??
Didnt mean soft as in going in hard. Meant it as in having a go at opposition players. He sniped one of the Stanhope players and gave him a nice bump under his eye.
Can anyone shed any light on how Frankie Macak , ryan trotter and Carlton quay are going at Violet town this year. They were mates of mine down in melbourne in the ammos but i have lost touch with them and would be interested to know how their travelling.
whats johnny Trotter like as coach??
carlton_86
22 Jun 2006, 17:15
Can anyone shed any light on how Frankie Macak , ryan trotter and Carlton quay are going at Violet town this year. They were mates of mine down in melbourne in the ammos but i have lost touch with them and would be interested to know how their travelling.
Carlton hasn't played many games ths year due to a back complaint so can't say much about him. Frank with his pace is something to watch can change a game with this and has been in the best on a few occasions this year. Ryan hasn't played a game for 5 weeks due to work commitments but was starting to hit good form before his break being in the best dominating in the air.
Well let's say that with out tots at the club we would be lucky to have won a game this year, he shows a lot of confidance in his players.
Good to see you back mainland.
BODZY#32
22 Jun 2006, 17:59
Ant, the boys from down melbourne way have been an extremely welcome addition to our club, much loved and appreciated. Frankie shows in patches he could tear a game away if he wanted too with his pace and long kicking on the run just struggled to find the accuracy i honestly reckon he hits the post at least once or twice each game from a shot on the run outside 50... Ryan trotter may have been winning our b & f untill hes been away the past 5 weeks, alot of towering marks n hard at the pill.. Carltons a top bloke and in praccy matches showed he can play but a few niggling injuries and fitness has slowed him from showing his full potential, definetly in our best 21 tho... Johnny Trotter is a legend and a lifesaver to our club... did so much work for the club raising money over the summer n then our coach quit n he took over 3 wks before the season started and has recruited heavily so thumbs up to trotts...:thumbsu:
mainland
22 Jun 2006, 20:23
Thanks cosby great to be back on deck after an extended stint out of action.
Ant, the boys from down melbourne way have been an extremely welcome addition to our club, much loved and appreciated. Frankie shows in patches he could tear a game away if he wanted too with his pace and long kicking on the run just struggled to find the accuracy i honestly reckon he hits the post at least once or twice each game from a shot on the run outside 50... Ryan trotter may have been winning our b & f untill hes been away the past 5 weeks, alot of towering marks n hard at the pill.. Carltons a top bloke and in praccy matches showed he can play but a few niggling injuries and fitness has slowed him from showing his full potential, definetly in our best 21 tho... Johnny Trotter is a legend and a lifesaver to our club... did so much work for the club raising money over the summer n then our coach quit n he took over 3 wks before the season started and has recruited heavily so thumbs up to trotts...:thumbsu:
Good to hear. With Frankie you will never get his best week in and week out. He Was a late starter who is more of an athlete but on his day he really stands out because of his pace , his leap and even though he maybe inaccurate he is normally a great kick on both feet. He has also taken a few great hangers in the past. Also one of the nicest blokes I know. Trots(ryan) is very talented and it does not suprise me to hear he is doing so well. Also a great kid. Carlton has always been troubled by fitness but on his day can certainly contribute .
I am glad Johnny has done well as he is a top bloke
Good luck for the season, hope you do well.
Here here hope all is going well for ya
T.Perry
23 Jun 2006, 15:21
Pretty slow newsweek in the KDL apparently, thought I'd give some predictions for this week's matches..Before I do, a big cheerio out to old mate mainland:thumbsu: Welcome back mate:thumbsu:
Rushworth v Undera - Probably nearly match of the round given the importance of the clash for the tigers..simply must win this week, and with 3-4 regular players back in, we should be able to get over Undera, who seem to hate us with a passion and will be ultra keen to knock us off...
Murch v VT - The towners are pretty much the inform side in the comp at the moment (apologies to the wombats), and whilst I would love to see the hoppers get up (which would help us out immensely), the lions will be too pumped up to let this one slip..
Avenel v Gig - A very important game for both clubs - hard to split, if it was at Gig I'd lean towards the roos, but being at Avenel I think the swannies will take the spoils..
Yea v Nagaz - Couldn't see the southern tigers having too many problems with Rosco's men, though the pace and enthusiasm of some of the young sainters may mean they give a good account of themselves..
Tally v Lancy - Would normally be match of the round, but Tally have dropped off a little bit with the realisation that their finals hopes are pretty much shot..They'll probably have to sacrifice some midfield drive and play either Sidey or Ratcliffe on the red-hot Mitchell, otherwise I can't see them having a suitable match-up for him..
Ardy v Merrigum - Could be a long day for the bulldogs - the cats will be pumped up to make amends for last week's loss to Stanhope, and with a midfield boasting 2 league medallists in lowe and O'brien, and Williams having a stellar year, they should have too much class and run out comfortable winners..
And, in an effort to try and raise some discussion, which clubs should be/will be looking for a replacement coach at the end of the year? (Thanks for the idea on the money..)
On The Money
23 Jun 2006, 16:07
Pretty slow newsweek in the KDL apparently, thought I'd give some predictions for this week's matches..Before I do, a big cheerio out to old mate mainland:thumbsu: Welcome back mate:thumbsu:
Rushworth v Undera - Probably nearly match of the round given the importance of the clash for the tigers..simply must win this week, and with 3-4 regular players back in, we should be able to get over Undera, who seem to hate us with a passion and will be ultra keen to knock us off...
Murch v VT - The towners are pretty much the inform side in the comp at the moment (apologies to the wombats), and whilst I would love to see the hoppers get up (which would help us out immensely), the lions will be too pumped up to let this one slip..
Avenel v Gig - A very important game for both clubs - hard to split, if it was at Gig I'd lean towards the roos, but being at Avenel I think the swannies will take the spoils..
Yea v Nagaz - Couldn't see the southern tigers having too many problems with Rosco's men, though the pace and enthusiasm of some of the young sainters may mean they give a good account of themselves..
Tally v Lancy - Would normally be match of the round, but Tally have dropped off a little bit with the realisation that their finals hopes are pretty much shot..They'll probably have to sacrifice some midfield drive and play either Sidey or Ratcliffe on the red-hot Mitchell, otherwise I can't see them having a suitable match-up for him..
Ardy v Merrigum - Could be a long day for the bulldogs - the cats will be pumped up to make amends for last week's loss to Stanhope, and with a midfield boasting 2 league medallists in lowe and O'brien, and Williams having a stellar year, they should have too much class and run out comfortable winners..
And, in an effort to try and raise some discussion, which clubs should be/will be looking for a replacement coach at the end of the year? (Thanks for the idea on the money..)
I see Gig has also signed Bryan Vance now who has penned on from Shepp United.
Trev whats the deal with Jake Lyold is there a certain amount of games he can play for Bendigo before he can't play for Rushy? I'm presume he is in again for you blokes tommorrow.
No hassles with the idea mate just send through your subscription money!!
T.Perry
23 Jun 2006, 16:17
I see Gig has also signed Bryan Vance now who has penned on from Shepp United.
Trev whats the deal with Jake Lyold is there a certain amount of games he can play for Bendigo before he can't play for Rushy? I'm presume he is in again for you blokes tommorrow.
No hassles with the idea mate just send through your subscription money!!
The cheque is in the mail old mate! It's probably pointless of Bryan Vance to sign with the roos, given that my mail suggests his school won't let him play for them, regardless..Apparently they're pretty strict on that..
I actually don't know if Lloyd is in tomorrow or not (quality work from the assistant coach:D ), but I do know that all he has to do is play 2 games for us and he is eligible for finals..doesn't matter how many games he plays for Bendigo..Similar thing happened in 2000 when I was at the bullants (and the VFL had the shortened season for the olympics) - I played the last 5-6 games with Rochy and my mate, Cameron Blight, signed with Rochy, played 2 of the last home and away games, and was then eligible for the finals.. Pity he got smashed one night when I wasn't there to protect him (climbed out the window as soon as I saw trouble), and lost his teeth, so opted not to play, but the point is, the rule's are the same now, and any player can play finals for their 'home' club if not required by their VFL side...
Just out of interest - how would Roota Haw go in a toe-to-toe with Carl Moon, ya reckon? Apparently they had a bit of a scuffle on Satdy..
On The Money
23 Jun 2006, 17:05
The cheque is in the mail old mate! It's probably pointless of Bryan Vance to sign with the roos, given that my mail suggests his school won't let him play for them, regardless..Apparently they're pretty strict on that..
I actually don't know if Lloyd is in tomorrow or not (quality work from the assistant coach:D ), but I do know that all he has to do is play 2 games for us and he is eligible for finals..doesn't matter how many games he plays for Bendigo..Similar thing happened in 2000 when I was at the bullants (and the VFL had the shortened season for the olympics) - I played the last 5-6 games with Rochy and my mate, Cameron Blight, signed with Rochy, played 2 of the last home and away games, and was then eligible for the finals.. Pity he got smashed one night when I wasn't there to protect him (climbed out the window as soon as I saw trouble), and lost his teeth, so opted not to play, but the point is, the rule's are the same now, and any player can play finals for their 'home' club if not required by their VFL side...
Just out of interest - how would Roota Haw go in a toe-to-toe with Carl Moon, ya reckon? Apparently they had a bit of a scuffle on Satdy..
You've jumped out windows b4 late at nite for other reasons haven't you Trev!! (Spoke to a bloke who runs the Thornton-Eildon camps usually attended by yr8 students!!)
I'm not sure that there was that much in the brawl but there wouldn't be any value betting each way on Roota I suspect.
Witnessed Yea produced their best 4 quarter effort for '06 when they accounted for Nagambie by 167 points (29.27 to 5.4) in slippery conditions today. Bigger news was on the radio tonight on me trip home, Girgarre posting win number 1 with a 27 goal to 9 day out at Avenel. Violet Town won again and are posing a true threat to the competition.
big tony
24 Jun 2006, 20:21
watched the violet town and murchison game today and violet town got over line narowly by 4 goals.
100th gamer sean horsbourgh best on ground for the towners along with handy contributers jimmy bodycoat on the last line of defence and big dylan moffat at centre half foward got them over the line.
the towners now move to 5th on the ladder and proving a huge threat.
Rushworth on the other hand are struggling for form losing 2 on the trot to VT and Undera.....cant afford to lose many games if they want to play footy in september
carlton_86
25 Jun 2006, 17:25
What happened to you boys on the weekend Tavis, thanks for the spot in the five though
dennis combrink
25 Jun 2006, 20:03
will violet town be a big upset this year to win the
PREMIERSHIP
dennis combrink
25 Jun 2006, 20:27
frank macak is the best player in the comp by a mile he will be up there in the leagues B AND F. and will old timer gary abley play hes 500th game.
frank macak is the best player in the comp by a mile he will be up there in the leagues B AND F. and will old timer gary abley play hes 500th game.Young Comby? I hope your right on both. But so far on what i read, not many rate the lads. But their recent results are impressive.:thumbsu:
Lets not put the cart before the horse gents - yes Violet Town are flying at present, yes many are talking up recruit Macak, yes many cant believe Abbers is still going strong . . . . but dont be too disappointed if the long season takes its toll on the younger lads and the Towners finish around the Elimination Final mark. In my eyes the first aim was to become competitive again, then find some consistency - ya's have come a long long way and it's great to see, but I think next season should be the season to aim at talking up flags especially if the talk of Jack Smyth, and possibly Matty Sharp, VT#23 and even Hayden Lamaro comes off - and Jimmy Bodycoat can entice his pal Aaron Taylor up the Hume from Broadford.
BODZY#32
25 Jun 2006, 22:37
Lets not put the cart before the horse gents - yes Violet Town are flying at present, yes many are talking up recruit Macak, yes many cant believe Abbers is still going strong . . . . but dont be too disappointed if the long season takes its toll on the younger lads and the Towners finish around the Elimination Final mark. In my eyes the first aim was to become competitive again, then find some consistency - ya's have come a long long way and it's great to see, but I think next season should be the season to aim at talking up flags especially if the talk of Jack Smyth, and possibly Matty Sharp, VT#23 and even Hayden Lamaro comes off - and Jimmy Bodycoat can entice his pal Aaron Taylor up the Hume from Broadford.
Yeh i think the big sphink taylor would be enough of a recruit in himself to get us a premiership...haha. Don't know who's callin 'emselves dennis combrink, but i highly have my doubts it's him.....hhhmmmmm, interesting name though, maybe robbo? but i more inclined to think its sumone young...?
I agree doona, we have come a long way since march this year n it has been a complete turn around, however confidence is very high with winning 7 of our last 8 including 6 in a row currently, but i think we can go better than elimination final provided we dont get too many injuries, grand final would be nice, but i think were good enough to progress to the preliminary and then probly bow out and that would be fantastic in itself.
As far as im concerned everyone is a mile off Lancaster, just a class outfit around the ground...
We battled against murch for 3 quarters they were up at halftime, just one of those days. i am surprised they havent won more games, tho the umps were shockingly on their side, probly the opposite to what we had last week against rushy, they probly lost 2 goals due to poor decisions.
Perry wot happened? Undera good? or u guys have a rough day?
Just on the coaches for next season, i strongly hope we at VT maintain the services of John Trotter as head coach and gain Jack Smythe as an assistant
dennis combrink
25 Jun 2006, 22:42
watched the violet town and murchison game on satday it was a good game with the towners geting up to win by 4 goals the game was played in good spirit but there was one thing that was a dissgrace from the murchison number 29 how got yellow carde and got sent off the grand and on the way off the violet town bench gave him and send off and he came over to the violet town bench and spat on the violet town coach john trotter.so i think that is a dissgrace and sumthing should be done about it.
Lets not put the cart before the horse gents - yes Violet Town are flying at present, yes many are talking up recruit Macak, yes many cant believe Abbers is still going strong . . . . but dont be too disappointed if the long season takes its toll on the younger lads and the Towners finish around the Elimination Final mark. In my eyes the first aim was to become competitive again, then find some consistency - ya's have come a long long way and it's great to see, but I think next season should be the season to aim at talking up flags especially if the talk of Jack Smyth, and possibly Matty Sharp, VT#23 and even Hayden Lamaro comes off - and Jimmy Bodycoat can entice his pal Aaron Taylor up the Hume from Broadford.Geeze Doona. Lamaro, Sharp would build a very good side around those alone. Whats your info?
big tony
25 Jun 2006, 23:18
Bodzy#32 i no u think its me but its not mate
it would b denis and robbo talking S H I T
T.Perry
26 Jun 2006, 09:54
Perry wot happened? Undera good? or u guys have a rough day?
A bit of both, I suppose Bodzy..it was very similar to when we played against you blokes (Violet Town), we had a good first quarter, but kicked inaccurately and probably could have been up by 4-5 goals, but were almost level on the scoreboard. They got their tails up, and from all reports had their strongest team on the park this year, we lost our gun fullback in Sam Perry, and Gene Vanderzalm had a bit of a day out with 5 big ones...
Steve Rasmussen was sensational, but almost everyone else was below par on what they should be deliverying..
First time we've lost at home to Undera, and first time we've lost at home since round 9, 2003...
Again, like against Violet Town, all kudos to Undera, they wanted the win more and were the better side on the day..if they can continue to put that side on the park, they may upset a few more of the highly fancied sides..
We'd almost need a miracle to pull off a finals berth now, but hopefully with a couple more good players to come back into the side we can acquit ourselves well for the rest of the season..
BODZY#32
26 Jun 2006, 19:45
Bodzy#32 i no u think its me but its not mate
it would b denis and robbo talking S H I T
Nah not u, just highly doubt combo would get on the net ever, but possibly robbo, saker boys, wilkins, or a ross family member.....???
That was a disgrace wen 29 for murch walked up to our coach after being sent off n spat in his face from a foot away....:mad: just not the way to go about it i reckon
dennis combrink
26 Jun 2006, 21:03
big tony....... who do you think will finsh in the top 5 do you think violet will be in there...and who is your tip to win it this year and do you no if old timeer gary abley will play his 500th game the news was that he wants to play with his son nick.. is that right and how old is he......
On The Money
26 Jun 2006, 21:04
Nah not u, just highly doubt combo would get on the net ever, but possibly robbo, saker boys, wilkins, or a ross family member.....???
That was a disgrace wen 29 for murch walked up to our coach after being sent off n spat in his face from a foot away....:mad: just not the way to go about it i reckon
Willy Sanders was it? Left footer. Did he get reported for it?
chrisOduz u-turns
26 Jun 2006, 21:06
watched the violet town and murchison game on satday it was a good game with the towners geting up to win by 4 goals the game was played in good spirit but there was one thing that was a dissgrace from the murchison number 29 how got yellow carde and got sent off the grand and on the way off the violet town bench gave him and send off and he came over to the violet town bench and spat on the violet town coach john trotter.so i think that is a dissgrace and sumthing should be done about it.
good to see your still alive dennis how's those teeth goin lookin good last time i saw mate! you still havin a run round in bobby's at vt?
sanders, that name rings a bell. formerly of mooroopna i believe. a very good player but semed to be missing something in the frontal lobe. still spitting, not a good thing to have next to his name. whos murch coach. is he likely to discipline sanders.
big tony
26 Jun 2006, 21:09
big tony....... who do you think will finsh in the top 5 do you think violet will be in there...and who is your tip to win it this year and do you no if old timeer gary abley will play his 500th game the news was that he wants to play with his son nick.. is that right and how old is he......
yes i think violet town could make the 5 but will need a bit of luck to go there way...it would b an enormous effort if they did.
from wat i hear this maybe his last season but ive heard hes enjoying it this year.
SO WHO IS DENNIS COMBRINK????
You mean to say it aint that fella who from memory has a few tatts and plays a bit in ya 2's . . . . but an imposter!!!
dennis combrink
26 Jun 2006, 22:41
yeah thats me mate still go in the 2s got to be up there in the b and f for the club
big tony
26 Jun 2006, 22:47
yeah thats me mate still go in the 2s got to be up there in the b and f for the club
yer thats it combo...dashing off the back flank
should be due for senior selection ya think...
League backs rep footy
June 27 2006
Shepparton News
The immediate future of Kyabram District Football League's representative side has been assured by the competition's executive.
During a mandatory board meeting earlier this week, the league's committee rubber-stamped its continuation for another season, despite the lack of support it received earlier this month.
"The board unanimously voted to retain it for next year," league president Sev Cortese said yesterday.
"We might look at the way it's selected, but we're certainly planning to play representative football next year."
During this year's interleague clash with Picola, Kyabram suffered the indignity of a host of last minute withdrawals as well as a modest $1929 gate.
While suggestions have been rife that representative football may have run its race, Cortese is hearing nothing of it.
"We're very keen to go around again," he said.
"And provided the Picola District Football League invite us to play . . . it's a monty we'll be playing them."
Meanwhile, Merrigum Football Club has placed a motion ahead of next month's league meeting to extend the league's senior interchange from three to four players.
While the ultimate decision will rest in the hands of the competition's 13 clubs, Cortese remained sceptical of the change.
"I'm not sure whether we need to do that or not," Cortese said.
"But that's not for me to decide.
"If that's what the clubs want then that's what the clubs want."
For the motion to be passed, Merrigum must secure a majority vote at the league meeting.
T.Perry
27 Jun 2006, 10:39
Don't understand why the doggies would want the interchange increased:confused: Seems a bit of over-kill.. Can't imagine too many sides would want to see that implemented..
It's an interesting one with the interleague side..I'm still a bit perplexed as to how Picola managed to entice blokes like Brunt, Adam Waarsdorp and a few others to play, who coach sides that are chances to win the flag (and you'd think would have nothing to prove by playing a rep game), yet we struggled to get the bulk of our good players on the park..it's def something the league needs to look into if it wants to continue playing rep footy..
Anyone see Lloyd O'Brien's game on the weekend? 8 goals in a BOG display, would shorten his odds for a 2nd McNamara you'd think..
T.Perry
27 Jun 2006, 10:48
will violet town be a big upset this year to win the
PREMIERSHIP
A fair bit has been spoken about violet town this year and whether or not they are a chance for the flag..You'd think with their run home (and the fact we've fallen in a heap at the moment) they would be very likely to play finals this year, and possibly finish in the top 3, depending on how Yea and Ardy finish the season off..I reckon any of the top 5 will be able to win it this year, and even though Lancy would be odds-on at the moment, I don't think the gap is that big between them and the rest..What Violet Town have going for them is their enthusiasm and spirit - the way they came off together after they towelled us was a perfect indication of this..They also have a few imports who the comp haven't seen the best of yet..
From what I saw, I'd say if anything they lack a bit of polish with their disposal through the midfield..Ardy, Stanhope and Lancy all have 3-4 blokes who play in the guts and hit targets consistently and can kick with good penetration into the forward line, and I thought VT were a little behind the others in this area..
On The Money
27 Jun 2006, 15:03
It would be interesting to hear why Merrigum would want to increase the Interchange bench. Obviously it gives you another player to work with but with some clubs struggling to put together reserves on a week to week basis this would only make it harder.
Also seen Merrigum have reappointed Shane McLennan for the 2007 season. The article in the Shepp News read along the lines of what improvement they have made? they are 3-7 copped some massive beltings and won 6 games last year!!
Reckon they have improved Trev?
T.Perry
27 Jun 2006, 15:12
It would be interesting to hear why Merrigum would want to increase the Interchange bench. Obviously it gives you another player to work with but with some clubs struggling to put together reserves on a week to week basis this would only make it harder.
Also seen Merrigum have reappointed Shane McLennan for the 2007 season. The article in the Shepp News read along the lines of what improvement they have made? they are 3-7 copped some massive beltings and won 6 games last year!!
Reckon they have improved Trev?
Not sure if I'm the right man to be asking, OTM, given that I didn't play at Rushy in 05..from what I saw this year they have a fair way to go, but they did have some good young blokes in the side, esp up forward..I guess they're in the situation that they'd rather appoint someone now than go through the hassles of finding someone else at season's end..Not sure who they've got in the run home, but I'd reckon now that Gig have got some talent into their side Nagambie and Avenel would be the only 2 sides that they could beat, and so would likely end up with a maximum of 5 wins...still short on last year..
what made it harder for them this year is Henderson leaving and the wombats looking strong - I imagine their main recruiting base would be around the Ky area, and why would someone wanting to play KDL play there instead of Lancy? Rumours are that they're cashed up a bit, though, so maybe McClennan might be able to keep a majority of the side intact and then hope to add to it next year..
On The Money
27 Jun 2006, 15:28
Not sure if I'm the right man to be asking, OTM, given that I didn't play at Rushy in 05..from what I saw this year they have a fair way to go, but they did have some good young blokes in the side, esp up forward..I guess they're in the situation that they'd rather appoint someone now than go through the hassles of finding someone else at season's end..Not sure who they've got in the run home, but I'd reckon now that Gig have got some talent into their side Nagambie and Avenel would be the only 2 sides that they could beat, and so would likely end up with a maximum of 5 wins...still short on last year..
what made it harder for them this year is Henderson leaving and the wombats looking strong - I imagine their main recruiting base would be around the Ky area, and why would someone wanting to play KDL play there instead of Lancy? Rumours are that they're cashed up a bit, though, so maybe McClennan might be able to keep a majority of the side intact and then hope to add to it next year..
I wasn't questioning his reappointment they proberly had to do it to get some stability just was bemused at the tact of the article claiming they were on the up when results wise they aren't. I have heard that the Dogs have some money but have they the knowledge to spend it wisely. Henderson, Briggs and Egan all recruited this year visited and have now left.
T.Perry
27 Jun 2006, 16:41
Heard a strong rumour that Troy Snelson has played his last game for the roos and is set to line up at Nathalia on the weekend...massive blow to the roos if it's true, has continually been in their best and is probably their best player, esp when fit..
Not sure if it's been posted, or not, but apparently Matt Wishart (ex-rookie of the year in the KDL for Undera and Abikhair medallist (?)) has signed on at Stanhope.. 6" 4', can run a bit, will give them some added height..
King_Of_Ling
27 Jun 2006, 17:33
Heard a strong rumour that Troy Snelson has played his last game for the roos and is set to line up at Nathalia on the weekend...massive blow to the roos if it's true, has continually been in their best and is probably their best player, esp when fit..
Not sure if it's been posted, or not, but apparently Matt Wishart (ex-rookie of the year in the KDL for Undera and Abikhair medallist (?)) has signed on at Stanhope.. 6" 4', can run a bit, will give them some added height..
I hope you're right Tavy boy, coz the Lions a very depleted in the ruck, and could do with some added hight around the ground. From what I hear he has been injured a bit, so if he can stay fit at an injury riddled Lions den then he will be doin alright. I also hear he is gettin cheap petrol as part of the deal, scrappa has fixed him up with some kind of incentive.....
On The Money
27 Jun 2006, 18:15
I hope you're right Tavy boy, coz the Lions a very depleted in the ruck, and could do with some added hight around the ground. From what I hear he has been injured a bit, so if he can stay fit at an injury riddled Lions den then he will be doin alright. I also hear he is gettin cheap petrol as part of the deal, scrappa has fixed him up with some kind of incentive.....
These are the incentives the Ling man usually gets arent they?
Good to see you making some sacrifises for the betterment of the Club.
hey bodzy, i gotta agree with you there. I didnt see or even hear about it until after the game, but thats a disgusting thing to do. I dont even think john is that loud of a coach. I mean to say I dont imagine him screaming at no, 29 so I wonder where the spitting even came from.
dennis combrink
28 Jun 2006, 05:23
violet town is on its way to win it this year with gun back men #32.number #38 for vt will be back in the ones next week with big name plays to come back in to the side in clayton white ryan trotter big bustn beny mason and flucky.the side takes on avenel this week witch should be a big win for the towners and to get sum good percent on the bored for the town ...........
How can we ignore VT with all this talk . . . . Im changing my tune also, Violet Town for premiers after a 25 goal demolition of the Swans this week.
King_Of_Ling
28 Jun 2006, 09:45
These are the incentives the Ling man usually gets arent they?
Good to see you making some sacrifises for the betterment of the Club.
The only time I've gone to scrappa's is to get my tires pumped up..... and I can tell you now scrappa is gunna have his hands full with young wishy.
And another previous winner of Stanhopes B&F has also just put pen to paper for the remainder of 2006, after being disgruntled at his previous club.
T.Perry
28 Jun 2006, 10:22
And another previous winner of Stanhopes B&F has also just put pen to paper for the remainder of 2006, after being disgruntled at his previous club.
Todd Harrison?? Heard he was on the way back...think he struggled to play seniors down at Sunshine..would fit in well down back for the lions this year.. wouldn't have to play key position and a CHB line with himself, Gibbs and Clymo is pretty solid..
subtle hustle
28 Jun 2006, 10:36
How can we ignore VT with all this talk . . . . Im changing my tune also, Violet Town for premiers after a 25 goal demolition of the Swans this week.
I think you're right Doona2.
Lancaster, Stanhope, Ardmona and Yea have obviously dropped off the pace. They are just making up the numbers now. They should probably start to look for another league to join as VT's dominance so far this year has locked everyone else out of the running for any slight sniff of success.
VT for the flag for the next ten years. :thumbsu:
carlton_86
28 Jun 2006, 18:09
Violet Town could of found the ruckmen they have missed with young Scott Woolcock having asked for a clearance back to VT from Sunbury Kangaroos, along with another 6 footer from Melbourne has signed with the club after coming down and wathcing his brother play on the weekend, enjoyed the day and from what i've heard can play.
carlton_86
28 Jun 2006, 18:14
hey bodzy, i gotta agree with you there. I didnt see or even hear about it until after the game, but thats a disgusting thing to do. I dont even think john is that loud of a coach. I mean to say I dont imagine him screaming at no, 29 so I wonder where the spitting even came from.
Trots and the redst of the bench were giving this guy a bit of what he had being given to the VT players but what he did, wasn't the best thing, in his day Trots might of even given this guy one for his troubles
Was the incident reported or mentioned to the opposition executive? If I was spat on I would stop at nothing - for me that is one of the worse things you can do to a bloke. Mr. Trotter must be very calm not to retaliate or seek him after the game the old fashioned way "behind the sheds".
Not on no matter what the excuse :thumbsd:
Violet Town could of found the ruckmen they have missed with young Scott Woolcock having asked for a clearance back to VT from Sunbury Kangaroos, along with another 6 footer from Melbourne has signed with the club after coming down and wathcing his brother play on the weekend, enjoyed the day and from what i've heard can play.
Was just a matter of time hey VT#23 thought it woulda come earlier than now to be honest. Didn't like the hype around the arrival of Aaron James?, I reckon the Kanga's will be super competitive with the late minute editions to the list.
I guess the thought of success at home with ya mates is a huge attraction and I hope it works out well for ya's :thumbsu:
Was the incident reported or mentioned to the opposition executive? If I was spat on I would stop at nothing - for me that is one of the worse things you can do to a bloke. Mr. Trotter must be very calm not to retaliate or seek him after the game the old fashioned way "behind the sheds".
Not on no matter what the excuse :thumbsd:Yer dead right Doona, it sits around the kicking act. As low as you go!! But the Trotts i knew must have mellowed some what cos the younger version woulda torn him a new opening.
On The Money
28 Jun 2006, 21:17
Not sure about little Trots looks like he would have an aggressive side but Willy Sanders can hold them up apparently.
BODZY#32
28 Jun 2006, 22:38
Yer dead right Doona, it sits around the kicking act. As low as you go!! But the Trotts i knew must have mellowed some what cos the younger version woulda torn him a new opening.
He has got alot mellower i reckon but, he was gritting his teeth hard apparently and the fella who did it is meant to be a real nutter...
However 'Popeye junior' when hes played twos he still hits hard n doesn't take any crap...
I can remember my first senior game as a 15yr old against thorton eildon getting an elbow to the head from an old fella on the wing n by the time i hit the ground i could hear trotts beating the crap out of him after running from full back....:thumbsu:
He has got alot mellower i reckon but, he was gritting his teeth hard apparently and the fella who did it is meant to be a real nutter...
However 'Popeye junior' when hes played twos he still hits hard n doesn't take any crap...
I can remember my first senior game as a 15yr old against thorton eildon getting an elbow to the head from an old fella on the wing n by the time i hit the ground i could hear trotts beating the crap out of him after running from full back....:thumbsu:
Did you see alledged incident mate, dont know anything about the Murchison player in question and have yet read a Murch version of events. Was Wayde at the game did he see what apparently took place?
BODZY#32
28 Jun 2006, 22:53
Willy Sanders was it? Left footer. Did he get reported for it?
Nah the umps didn't even know im pretty sure and the siren went about 2-3mins later n we were just happy to take the 4 points. but yeh thats the dude, not a bad player just a bit skitzo from the look of him
BODZY#32
28 Jun 2006, 22:57
Did you see alledged incident mate, dont know anything about the Murchison player in question and have yet read a Murch version of events. Was Wayde at the game did he see what apparently took place?
i heard a few supporters yell n carry on n looked over at the bench n saw trotts wipin his face as sanders walked over to his bench.
Got tips out there for this wks round boys?
Wayde Petersen
28 Jun 2006, 23:22
Sadly, I was on the other side of the ground, when Willy Sanders got sent off, so I couldn't see what went on but, I heard that your blokes were giving him a bit of stick when he did get a Yellow Card, but as far as any compliant was concerned, no complaint was made by Violet Town to any of our committee members on the day, and the first i've heard about this was in here.
But, one thing I was impressed with was the lack of rubbish your supporters left on the ground and the way you cleaned the rooms afterwards, Stanhope's & Lancaster's supporters & players left crap lying around everywhere, so it was really appreciated
BODZY#32
28 Jun 2006, 23:33
Sadly, I was on the other side of the ground, when Willy Sanders got sent off, so I couldn't see what went on but, I heard that your blokes were giving him a bit of stick when he did get a Yellow Card, but as far as any compliant was concerned, no complaint was made by Violet Town to any of our committee members on the day, and the first i've heard about this was in here.
But, one thing I was impressed with was the lack of rubbish your supporters left on the ground and the way you cleaned the rooms afterwards, Stanhope's & Lancaster's supporters & players left crap lying around everywhere, so it was really appreciated
Cheers Wayde:thumbsu: were trying to start a fresh in the kdfl we were pretty bad at hanging around after games n stuff so were having a crack at gettin a bit a respect... cheers!!
On The Money
29 Jun 2006, 00:38
Wouldn't winge too much Wayde I heard when those clubs went to Murch they more than doubled the Murch people in the rooms after the game for a drink.
T.Perry
29 Jun 2006, 10:14
i heard a few supporters yell n carry on n looked over at the bench n saw trotts wipin his face as sanders walked over to his bench.
Got tips out there for this wks round boys?
See how these sit with you bodzy..
Nagambie v Rushy
Undera v Murch
Violet town v Avenel
Gig v Tally
Lancy v Ardy
Merrigum v Stanhope
Apparently the nagambie v Rushy match may be blessed with the attendance of sir chris 'Doona' Nolan, so the red carpet's ready and the p i s s will be cold..Of course, the sainters will be keen to do well in front of him, so we may have a tussle on our hands.
Undera and Murch could be a cracker, but you'd have to go for the lions in a close one.
Violet town will rip Avenel a new one, Bodzy32 to keep Donovan quiet, Cope to kick 5, Horsburgh 7..
Gig, with a couple of big recruits, may have too much for Tally, and I'm picking them in an upset at home..(anyone heard about the wash-up from last weeks game, Gig could be under investigation...)
Lancy to get over ardy in the match of the round. Shane Morgan has been in scintillating form all year and along with big, bad Brenza White, should form a combination good enough to get over the cats..
Lions to rip doggies a new one..Pearce to snag 10, Handsford 5, Hoota to get 2,000 possies..
Depending on how much we get over the saints by, and how much Lancy beat Ardy by, we could see ourselves back in the 5 this week..almost a joke when you consider how bad our form is..
See how these sit with you bodzy..
Nagambie v Rushy
Undera v Murch
Violet town v Avenel
Gig v Tally
Lancy v Ardy
Merrigum v Stanhope
Apparently the nagambie v Rushy match may be blessed with the attendance of sir chris 'Doona' Nolan, so the red carpet's ready and the p i s s will be cold..Of course, the sainters will be keen to do well in front of him, so we may have a tussle on our hands.
Undera and Murch could be a cracker, but you'd have to go for the lions in a close one.
Violet town will rip Avenel a new one, Bodzy32 to keep Donovan quiet, Cope to kick 5, Horsburgh 7..
Gig, with a couple of big recruits, may have too much for Tally, and I'm picking them in an upset at home..(anyone heard about the wash-up from last weeks game, Gig could be under investigation...)
Lancy to get over ardy in the match of the round. Shane Morgan has been in scintillating form all year and along with big, bad Brenza White, should form a combination good enough to get over the cats..
Lions to rip doggies a new one..Pearce to snag 10, Handsford 5, Hoota to get 2,000 possies..
Depending on how much we get over the saints by, and how much Lancy beat Ardy by, we could see ourselves back in the 5 this week..almost a joke when you consider how bad our form is..
Steady up Tav, just using '06 to my advantage and seeing as many different clubs as possible. Id be placing Jimmy Bodz on the red hot Joe 'Dirt" Pollock. A few late clearances make for an interesting 2nd half of the year.
If Gig cant get over Tally at home, then Id be expecting Wes Shelton and his fellow VRC stewards to take swab samples, checking bettng info and launching an official inquiry into their performance.
I can remember my first senior game as a 15yr old against thorton eildon getting an elbow to the head from an old fella on the wing n by the time i hit the ground i could hear trotts beating the crap out of him after running from full back....:thumbsu:He's obviously doing a great job bodz. And if this is Abs last year, i hope he pulls off the grail, just for a man who contributed 26 or 7 years of his life to the club and country footy.
T.Perry
29 Jun 2006, 13:04
Just a bit of quick goss, Snelson's first clearance to Nathalia has been knocked back, which I didn't think they could do considering he's going from a minor league to a major league?? Still, looks like Snella has played his last game for the roos..
mainland
29 Jun 2006, 14:20
[QUOTE=T.Perry]See how these sit with you bodzy..
Nagambie v Rushy
Undera v Murch
Violet town v Avenel
Gig v Tally
Lancy v Ardy
Merrigum v Stanhope
Think Hoota might be out this week.. hopefully he comes up but i doubt it
Any truth to the whisper Stanhope officials were spotted in Euroa yesterday trying to lure a last minute recruit to the KDFL Lions Den???
King_Of_Ling
29 Jun 2006, 17:36
Any truth to the whisper Stanhope officials were spotted in Euroa yesterday trying to lure a last minute recruit to the KDFL Lions Den???
There may have been a chance that Butch Auld took a wrong turn after a trip to shepp for some mustafa's kababs..... Not too sure on the outcome though.... I think he got a Chicken kabab with garlic sauce.
Lancy to get over ardy in the match of the round. Shane Morgan has been in scintillating form all year and along with big, bad Brenza White, should form a combination good enough to get over the cats.
Big Brezza wont be playing tav, he hasn't since the Gig game where he got a knock on the knee. We may be missing a couple of others too come saturday. Morgan hasn't fired a shot all year.
Ardmona will be a very tough ask and we will certainly have to play our best footy to get over the line goin on their recent form.
I read your tips with interest, but can't see Gig getting over Tally without Snels, unless they've secured a few late transfers. Is this the case?
There may have been a chance that Butch Auld took a wrong turn after a trip to shepp for some mustafa's kababs..... Not too sure on the outcome though.... I think he got a Chicken kabab with garlic sauce.
We had a Mustafa's in Kilmore for a while, must admit they weren't too bad!!!
Was just a matter of time hey VT#23 thought it woulda come earlier than now to be honest. Didn't like the hype around the arrival of Aaron James?, I reckon the Kanga's will be super competitive with the late minute editions to the list.
I guess the thought of success at home with ya mates is a huge attraction and I hope it works out well for ya's :thumbsu:
Im happy to be back to be playing for vt but there are some personal reasons behind it doona that need not be said, im a big fan of the sunbury kangaroos football club and they've done nothing but good for me, i will still be supporting the boys and will continue to train with the lads, both vt and the kangas have a good shot at the finals and ill be behind them all the way
Glad to hear its worked out - like everyone keeps saying if we dont get rain then Yea are knackered, so if that's the case then Im on the fellow CGFL gatecrasher . . . . . Go Towners!!!
dennis combrink
30 Jun 2006, 02:02
good to see you back vt#23....
:thumbsu:
go violet town..............
with vt vt#23 back who do you think will get droped from the team will the old timer go back to the 2s
T.Perry
30 Jun 2006, 10:26
Big Brezza wont be playing tav, he hasn't since the Gig game where he got a knock on the knee. We may be missing a couple of others too come saturday. Morgan hasn't fired a shot all year.
Ardmona will be a very tough ask and we will certainly have to play our best footy to get over the line goin on their recent form.
I read your tips with interest, but can't see Gig getting over Tally without Snels, unless they've secured a few late transfers. Is this the case?
If Morgan hasn't fired a shot all year, I hope I'm there to watch it when he does:eek: Been in the best just about every week, and was very good against us earlier in the year...how do you think you blokes match up against o'brien, lowe and williams in the midfield and are you going to tag anyone?
Mate, there must be a reason why Gig beat Avenel by over 100+ points.. it will be interesting to see if Jay Pearson:rolleyes: and murray vance can keep up there good form...anyone know anything about Jay Pearson?? Isn't it strange that in his first game for a while he comes out and snags 7??:cool:
Yesterday in the Shep News a photo frm the Undera/VT appeared - to anyone playing that day how difficult was it to differentiate the strips? Seems pretty close, especially as white shorts arnt worn in the KDFL>
journeyman
30 Jun 2006, 15:14
I was wondering how I find out if Troy Snelson has been cleared to Nathalia.
Gig knocked back his clearance yesterday but Nathalia was still hoping to have him cleared before the deadline, which I think is today.
BODZY#32
30 Jun 2006, 15:51
Yesterday in the Shep News a photo frm the Undera/VT appeared - to anyone playing that day how difficult was it to differentiate the strips? Seems pretty close, especially as white shorts arnt worn in the KDFL>
yeh wasn't great doona, especially being a sunny day at undera when we played a bit over a month ago. i can recall twice it threw me, once was kicking out from full back i thought i was kicking to 3 on 1 but turned out it was 2 on 2 n another time running the ball under pressure kicking long to what i thought was 2 vt blokes but once again it was 1 on 1.... mind u i dont pick my kicking options well at the best of times and probably didn't help we had three new players that day.... in packs looking for the quick punch of the ball to someone outside was a difficult choice too.... but all in all we all got by and had a good day of footy
If Morgan hasn't fired a shot all year, I hope I'm there to watch it when he does :eek: Been in the best just about every week, and was very good against us earlier in the year...how do you think you blokes match up against o'brien, lowe and williams in the midfield and are you going to tag anyone?
Thats a fair pump of the ol' tyres there tav.
Not too sure about how we will go matching up with wocka and lowey. I haven't seen an Ardmona game this year apart from our early season practice match but i'd be thinking that their midfiled is thier power.
Coach Carver is bound to have something up his sleeve.
Hopefully we can get over the top of them.
roaring tiger
30 Jun 2006, 19:21
Glad to hear its worked out - like everyone keeps saying if we dont get rain then Yea are knackered, so if that's the case then Im on the fellow CGFL gatecrasher . . . . . Go Towners!!!
Violet town will not get within 15 goals of the kdfl premiership this year. Not good enough boys so work towards next year!!!:D
Trueblueroo
30 Jun 2006, 22:40
VT#23 will dominate his home league after a fine first half performance, good luck to the VT boys in 2006, from what we have heard in Sunbury your a good chance to bring home some silverware. Good luck scotty.
Will go well but dominate is a big call - Silverware sounds around the mark, but the gold I think is a year or two off!!!
dennis combrink
2 Jul 2006, 00:36
watched the violet town and avenel game to day was a big day for the towners but the kicking was not as good as they hoped for the towners.big tommy destruction up forward booted 10 with no trouble.old timer boyo had a good game with 3 and seting up more then 4.tim ross was a stand out in the back line with james bodycoat.with big ruck man scott woolcock in hes first game back for the towners was a stand out in the ruck......final score
Violet Town 27.26 (188) v» (http://www.kyabramdfl.vcfl.com.au/TeamStat.asp?Team=17182&Comp=3911&OrgID=364) Avenel 5.4 (34)