View Full Version : Kyabram District FL
watched the violet town and avenel game to day was a big day for the towners but the kicking was not as good as they hoped for the towners.big tommy destruction up forward booted 10 with no trouble.old timer boyo had a good game with 3 and seting up more then 4.tim ross was a stand out in the back line with james bodycoat.with big ruck man scott woolcock in hes first game back for the towners was a stand out in the ruck......final score
Violet Town 27.26 (188) v» (http://www.kyabramdfl.vcfl.com.au/TeamStat.asp?Team=17182&Comp=3911&OrgID=364) Avenel 5.4 (34)
With Lancaster going down to Ardmona, Violet Town must have now lept up to equal flag favouritism.
How was my prediction about Gig getting over Tally?? ;)
Some big matches coming up this week, to really see where clubs are at in their quest for a flag..it's great to see that every club who will finish in the top 5 will have a realistic crack at winning a flag - it's very hard to split them at this stage...but I've said all along that I reckon the cats will get over the line in the big one, and I reckon they might be playing the Stanhope boys, as long as hoota can stay un-injured and keep his good form up..
We finally played some decent footy after a month of patchy form. Timmy Bone was sensational, kicking 8 from a wing (says 7 on the kdl website, but he kicked 8), and new player Ivan Rakic slotted in nicely and played a good game, as well..massive test for us this week against the Yea boys, who will no doubt come out snarling, pumped up for a big win..they'll know if they beat us they are guaranteed a finals berth..hopefully we can play some decent footy against them..
Nagambie seem down and out at the moment, but have an excellent crop of young blokes coming through, if they can keep them at the club I'm sure they will improve quickly..
With Lancaster going down to Ardmona, Violet Town must have now lept up to equal flag favouritism.
Oddie from the Shepp News is on the Towners also . . .
I ventured back to one of my favourite footy grounds, Violet Town, on Saturday and saw renewed optimism in the camp.
Like the adjacent Honeysuckle Creek after the recent rain, the club and particularly the senior team is flowing along nicely.
Whatever else the Towners do in their first Kyabram District league season, they have probably won the title of Best Recruiting Club.
Eight newcomers to the club this season played important roles in the Towners' 154-point win over Avenel.
The most spectacular was Tom Dukic, from the Richmond Central Victorian Amateur Division four club.
Dukic is one of a group of players from Richmond Central recruited by coach John Trotter, who formerly played with the team, after his days at hometown Euroa and Violet Town.
Not a recruit in the same sense, but a fresh face in the Towners' side on Saturday was young ruckman Scott Woolcock, who came up through the club's junior teams.
Woolcock started the season with Sunbury, but has been cleared back to play with his mates.
With Violet Town short of a regular ruckman, Woolcock was proved just what was needed, running the whole four quarters, giving his on-ballers plenty of chances and dashing through to notch a couple of goals.
the wagon is definately a little lighter after sat'd.
King_Of_Ling
3 Jul 2006, 13:39
the wagon is definately a little lighter after sat'd.
What happend cosby?? Did freeman and merry peka play? I would have thought the match would have been a hell of a lot closer. Any injuries from the game?
Freo and Meka played.
No injuries from Lancaster, but one of the big guys from Ardy's backline broke his ankle, so i was told, not too sure whether that's true or not, though. He was stretchered off and didn't see him again. De angelis did his hammy early also.
Lanky were pretty disappointing after the first quarter, and would want to bounce back pretty quickly to knock off your mob lingy.
Wayne Weideman
3 Jul 2006, 14:06
how is tav perry going this year?
Freo and Meka played.
No injuries from Lancaster, but one of the big guys from Ardy's backline broke his ankle, so i was told, not too sure whether that's true or not, though. He was stretchered off and didn't see him again. De angelis did his hammy early also.
Lanky were pretty disappointing after the first quarter, and would want to bounce back pretty quickly to knock off your mob lingy.
What were your thoughts after the game, Cosby? For instance, did you think that perhaps it was the loss you had to have (better now than in sep, and still likely to finish top), did you have trouble with your match-ups? For instance, obviosuly Meka got 7, and O'Brien and Lowey were both in the cats best..
And how do you think you can knock the lions off this week in what is now shaping as an even more intriguing match? They'll have a lot more confidence going in..
King of Ling, or someone from Stanhope, who do you think the best match-up for Mitchell is? Hall, Todd Harro, Clymo?? Doesn't seem to be an obvious choice..
Struggling a bit Wayne, thanks for asking...Haven't really been able to put in a big one yet, or find a lot of consistency..wasn't going too bad early on, but have been moved to CHB and CHF over the last month due to injuries to some of our key players..
Where did you end up, Weed? After you left Adelaide I know you coached Burnie, over in Tassie for a while, and then somewhere in the SANFL, are you still having a kick, and what's your fascination with the BFL??
Wayne Weideman
3 Jul 2006, 14:24
Struggling a bit Wayne, thanks for asking...Haven't really been able to put in a big one yet, or find a lot of consistency..wasn't going too bad early on, but have been moved to CHB and CHF over the last month due to injuries to some of our key players..
Where did you end up, Weed? After you left Adelaide I know you coached Burnie, over in Tassie for a while, and then somewhere in the SANFL, are you still having a kick, and what's your fascination with the BFL??
glad you asked t.perry. i did all those things you mentined above but i am now completley out of football. just needed a rest. plus i was not happy my relative murray weideman was not put in the hall of fame, i just had to get away from the game i once enjoyed so much. these days i am modelling for calvin klien in the U.S and doing a documuentry show on tarzan which is soon to be released on CNN. my fasination with the BFL is purely to do with knowing a few blokes having a kick in that particular league:thumbsu:
mainland
3 Jul 2006, 14:41
King of Ling, or someone from Stanhope, who do you think the best match-up for Mitchell is? Hall, Todd Harro, Clymo?? Doesn't seem to be an obvious choice..[/QUOTE]
Banga Auld would be another choice played on him last time he was at Lancy Hally would be another to maybe get the job cant see Clymo playing on him Mitchell would prob be a little quick for him. Dont think Patto would use eeore on him played in the guts on Satdy and went pretty good.
What were your thoughts after the game, Cosby? For instance, did you think that perhaps it was the loss you had to have (better now than in sep, and still likely to finish top), did you have trouble with your match-ups? For instance, obviosuly Meka got 7, and O'Brien and Lowey were both in the cats best..
I've had a number of people say that line Tav. I guess it goes along with "what doesn't kill you, ...." so hopefully a few of us can pull the finger out next week.
Match ups, weren't too bad really at all, Adam Thomo had Meka for most of the game and although he kicked 5 or 6 on him i thought Thomo did a great job as they went to meka nearly everytime they went forward, he spoiled meka numerous times and ran off him, it was the ones where meka was able to sit under the ball and use his body, that was the problem in that match up as anyone who's watched perry over the years knows, thats his biggest strength and not many would've stopped him from marking them.
Wokka and Lowey were very good around the ground at stoppages, and in the middle.
Ardy were missing 4 from their team on the weekend, a couple that they've picked up in the last two weeks.
We should get a few back ourselves this week.
King_Of_Ling
3 Jul 2006, 16:48
King of Ling, or someone from Stanhope, who do you think the best match-up for Mitchell is? Hall, Todd Harro, Clymo?? Doesn't seem to be an obvious choice..
Not too sure, but I think if they can shut down mitchell it could be the difference. I also think that the best way to limit Mitchell's effect on the game is to pressure the lanky onballers, if it comes in quick then he will be like any decent forward.... hard to stop, but if the ball carrier is pressured into just kicking long kicking to a contest then most of the lions defence will be able to deal with him accordingly. But I would probs go with Hally, then banger, but I wouldn't like to take him away from his best possy of HBF.
If Roota Haw lines up in a pocket who will take him to you think?? The self-proclaimed star in Jarred Thomson??
Not too sure, but I think if they can shut down mitchell it could be the difference. I also think that the best way to limit Mitchell's effect on the game is to pressure the lanky onballers, if it comes in quick then he will be like any decent forward.... hard to stop, but if the ball carrier is pressured into just kicking long kicking to a contest then most of the lions defence will be able to deal with him accordingly. But I would probs go with Hally, then banger, but I wouldn't like to take him away from his best possy of HBF.
If Roota Haw lines up in a pocket who will take him to you think?? The self-proclaimed star in Jarred Thomson??
I agree - if you can shut down Mitchell it should go a long way to the Stanhope boys getting up..Has Jarred Thomson been talking himself up a bit?? I actually thought he'd be the obvious choice to get Roota..
Did Wishart play for you blokes on the weekend? I see that he was picked in both your side and Mooroopna 2's?? I never heard the wash-up..
Regardless of whether he says he's not, Morgs is obviosuly in good form at the moment, so you'd probably need Wishy to try and curb his influence.. should be an awesome game, very hard to split them, I'd give Lancy slight favouratism, however, should go close to matching them on-ball and appear to be able to cover Stanhope's forwards easier than they can match their's.. Thomas must be due for a big one (if he plays)..
Saw Rushy play on Saturday and must say T.Perry was very very good, but far too unselfish for an "goalhog" like meself.
Seemed to play CHF - had 26 possessions, 11 marks & 6 goals in the 3 quarters he spent on the ground. Had 13 disposals in the 3rd term, booted one goal and had a direct hand in 4 others - but shoulda kicked 3 of them himself!!!
Sometimes you gotta whack an "I" in team I say . . . .
King_Of_Ling
3 Jul 2006, 17:37
I agree - if you can shut down Mitchell it should go a long way to the Stanhope boys getting up..Has Jarred Thomson been talking himself up a bit?? I actually thought he'd be the obvious choice to get Roota..
Did Wishart play for you blokes on the weekend? I see that he was picked in both your side and Mooroopna 2's?? I never heard the wash-up..
Regardless of whether he says he's not, Morgs is obviosuly in good form at the moment, so you'd probably need Wishy to try and curb his influence.. should be an awesome game, very hard to split them, I'd give Lancy slight favouratism, however, should go close to matching them on-ball and appear to be able to cover Stanhope's forwards easier than they can match their's.. Thomas must be due for a big one (if he plays)..
Yeah I have it from a good source that he likes to talk himself up, put it this way from the way he was talkin you would have thought he kicked 8 goals and lanky won by that margin....
Wishy has been cleared and did play on the wknd, he played mostly in the ruck with a couple of stints at CHF. He will add some flexiblity to the lions, can take a good grab and go forward and kick goals too. Big morgs will be a hard man to stop..... always is.
anyone know how the 'champion club' featured in the 'kdl footballer' is calculated each week?
Ykickamoocow
3 Jul 2006, 17:52
glad you asked t.perry. i did all those things you mentined above but i am now completley out of football. just needed a rest. plus i was not happy my relative murray weideman was not put in the hall of fame, i just had to get away from the game i once enjoyed so much. these days i am modelling for calvin klien in the U.S and doing a documuentry show on tarzan which is soon to be released on CNN. my fasination with the BFL is purely to do with knowing a few blokes having a kick in that particular league:thumbsu:
You seem to be following in LBU boy Trav Fimmels footsteps closely Weed :p
Just wondering what peoples thoughts on Stanhope getting back one of there former b and f winners in todd harrison? Surely he will be a more than handy recruit, hard at it and plays tall, with good skills. Played with him down here in Melbourne. Surely he boosts Stanhopes chances of a flag this year, would make up for some of there injury problems.
mainland
3 Jul 2006, 19:21
Just wondering what peoples thoughts on Stanhope getting back one of there former b and f winners in todd harrison? Surely he will be a more than handy recruit, hard at it and plays tall, with good skills. Played with him down here in Melbourne. Surely he boosts Stanhopes chances of a flag this year, would make up for some of there injury problems.
We have got him back played his first game Satdy and got in the best. Would of had him back for the Ardy game 3 weeks ago if Sunshine had of cleared him rite away instead of stuffing him around. If Hoota is rite for September action then Stanhope would be a chance. After picking up eeore and wishy.
Saturday will be a good game to watch if hoota was playing he could have been the difference in the end i feel.
Thats a bit of a backhander, lingy. Jazz has been very good this year on a number of dangerous forwards, so he may well get the job.
Sunshine may have stuffed him around, but i suppose its for a good reason. Clearly hes a good footballer and we didnt want to lose him, so we were doing everything in our power to keep him. Surely you can understand that cant you? And the club felt they had done pretty good by him in the past, organising his job and giving him a bit of decent cash when he was in the ones. Personally i agreed with him heading home, better for him and his footy, but Sunshine would have liked him to stay.
King_Of_Ling
4 Jul 2006, 09:44
Thats a bit of a backhander, lingy. Jazz has been very good this year on a number of dangerous forwards, so he may well get the job.
I'm only going on what I've been told cozzy. I've only seen him play a couple of times, the info I got was from a former wombat who had been speakin with him in the last couple of days....
Two of this thread's regulars in Bodzy & Joeyboy lined up on each other for a while at VT on Saturday. Joey is claiming Bodzy was moved off him after a strong mark & goal, Im tipping Trotter moved Jimmy up the ground due to the fact the ball wasn't in Avenel's Fwd 50m too often.
True Bodz or did Joeyboy actually have ya measure?
anyone know how the 'champion club' featured in the 'kdl footballer' is calculated each week?
Pretty sure it's some kind of accumulation between all the wins every grade of football and netball each club has..that way it's a fair representation of how the 'club' is fairing..I think Rushy are about 2nd, but don't have any team on top, but almost every grade of footy and netball are sitting between 4-6 - therefore, on the points system, even though a side like VT, who are going well in the senior footy, struggle a bit on the netty court and are behind Rushy on the list..
on the money would be able to give you a more detailed explanation, I'm sure..
mainland
4 Jul 2006, 13:09
Pretty sure it's some kind of accumulation between all the wins every grade of football and netball each club has..that way it's a fair representation of how the 'club' is fairing..I think Rushy are about 2nd, but don't have any team on top, but almost every grade of footy and netball are sitting between 4-6 - therefore, on the points system, even though a side like VT, who are going well in the senior footy, struggle a bit on the netty court and are behind Rushy on the list..
on the money would be able to give you a more detailed explanation, I'm sure..
Pretty sure for every win each week the club gets 5 points for each win as far as im aware.
Sunshine may have stuffed him around, but i suppose its for a good reason. Clearly hes a good footballer and we didnt want to lose him, so we were doing everything in our power to keep him. Surely you can understand that cant you? And the club felt they had done pretty good by him in the past, organising his job and giving him a bit of decent cash when he was in the ones. Personally i agreed with him heading home, better for him and his footy, but Sunshine would have liked him to stay.
The actual reason the E-ore didn't get cleared wasn't because Sunshine stuffed him around at all Mainland.. He didn't submit the appropriate paperwork till friday so it was a bit late for the Sunshine Pres to organise it all. E-ore himself knew he left it a bit late. Sunshine and the Lions have always had a good relationship since Bickie and Bearman came down. You knoe all to well 'Mainland', how much of a tosser E-ore is.
King_Of_Ling
4 Jul 2006, 17:08
The actual reason the E-ore didn't get cleared wasn't because Sunshine stuffed him around at all Mainland.. He didn't submit the appropriate paperwork till friday so it was a bit late for the Sunshine Pres to organise it all. E-ore himself knew he left it a bit late. Sunshine and the Lions have always had a good relationship since Bickie and Bearman came down. You knoe all to well 'Mainland', how much of a tosser E-ore is.
Rumor has it little E-ore is in love!!! The stanhope ball was on the wknd and in walks E-ore with a barbie doll replica (life size) hanging off his arm.
No, Skut for mayor of Stanhope, take the barrel off our hands! hes too agressive when he touches the amber fluid. he scares people!
King_Of_Ling
4 Jul 2006, 17:23
No, Skut for mayor of Stanhope, take the barrel off our hands! hes too agressive when he touches the amber fluid. he scares people!
Yes yes he does have that effect on most people. But there isn't a strippers name in the dallas bar that the skut doesn't know, I bet Jonny So can't vouch for that! The Skut would have him covered in those western burbs anyway.
mainland
4 Jul 2006, 17:24
Rumor has it little E-ore is in love!!! The stanhope ball was on the wknd and in walks E-ore with a barbie doll replica (life size) hanging off his arm.
Dont you mean a Paris Hilton look a like lingus??
King_Of_Ling
4 Jul 2006, 17:32
Dont you mean a Paris Hilton look a like lingus??
She had a bigger rack than paris could ever dream of!
mainland
4 Jul 2006, 17:39
She had a bigger rack than paris could ever dream of!
HAHAHA.... yeh ur rite old lingus howd u fair mate??
King_Of_Ling
4 Jul 2006, 17:48
HAHAHA.... yeh ur rite old lingus howd u fair mate??
Not too sure what your gettin at there Mainland?? Put it this way it was a cold walk home.....;)
King_Of_Ling
4 Jul 2006, 17:51
What are outsiders thoughts on the Stanhope and Lanky clash?? Can the wombats bounce back? Are they a quicker outfit? Bigger? Stronger? Can the lions defence stop mitchell and his crew?
Not sure, KOL, like I said in an earlier post, it's pretty hard to pick...But if Hoota doesn't come up, as Mainland suggests, then I reckon Lancy should take the chocolates.. In terms of speed, size, etc, I actually reckon the lions would have them covered for speed - when we played stanhope I reckon 90% of the lions players had their rushy opponent covered in a foot-race...
Lancy also had a quick side when we played them, and a few of their bigger bodies in Steve Cail and Mad dog Morgan were surprisingly quick..but I think they'd have stanhope covered in size and strength across the board..
In other games, we'll have our work cut out for us against the southern tigers, who in the next 7 weeks have us, Tally away, ardy, Stanhope and Lancy. If we can get over them (and it works in our favour that prob only Neilsen and Wilson would have played at Rushy), then maybe a door will open up for a potential finals berth.. would love to hear who other blokes reckon will win this clash..
In other games, Murch should easily account for Nagambie, with Kellett to kick 10+, Avenel might be able to push Undera for a half down there, but will eventually get run over the top of, in what should be a danger game given how well Tally ususally play at home, VT should have no trouble disposing of them, and Ardy will stop Gig's run of wins with a crushing victory..
Trueblueroo
5 Jul 2006, 11:58
Can someone infomr me to who VT play on the 31st of July please?
How is the feeling amongst VT boys since the return of Wollcock?
Baba Ganoush
5 Jul 2006, 13:14
TB
VT play Merrigum at the kennel on July 29 and then host Lancaster the following week on August 5
richard79
5 Jul 2006, 20:03
T.Perry
You do appear to be the KDL's version Eddie Everywhere for somebody over in the west!!
T.Perry
You do appear to be the KDL's version Eddie Everywhere for somebody over in the west!!
Sorry mate, not sure I understand what you mean..care to elaborate?
blackbeard
6 Jul 2006, 17:49
Heard it on the grape vine that the man of the moment, BODZY#32 was seen kicking his heels up a bit this week in chilly B'rat!!!! Fair chance he may be under the weather a little saturday. GO tally!!!
hectomorphic
6 Jul 2006, 22:14
Heard it on the grape vine that the man of the moment, BODZY#32 was seen kicking his heels up a bit this week in chilly B'rat!!!! Fair chance he may be under the weather a little saturday. GO tally!!!
If the rumour is true that BODZY#32 lives by the slogan Party hard/play hard tally are gonna have to watch out. Witnessess have stated that he was an animal in the chilly town of B rat and the only thing that will hold him back this weekend is RSI from all the ten pin bowling his been doing!!
What happened to the big sphinkter - couldnt he crack it for a game over there?
Old Poll to rack up another highlight
July 7 2006
Shepparton News
Yea Football Netball Club president Chris Pollard will play his 250th game for the club tomorrow at Rushworth.
You might say 250 games is no big deal but when you consider `Polly' or `Old Poll' had previously played 220 games with his home-town of Mansfield and about 40 with neighbouring Bonnie Doon, taking his total games to 510, it is a considerable achievement for the 44-year-old.
Apart from being president of the club since 2003, Polly has coached the club for four years, won four club best and fairest awards, a league best and fairest as well as having played in two premierships - in 2003 and last season.
He is also a premiership player and best and fairest winner at Mansfield.
`Old Poll' has many career highlights but none more so than playing alongside his son Matt in the 2003 premiership side.
Pollard has a great love of the end-of-season footy trip, not missing one since starting footy more than 25 years ago, and is always one of the last to leave club functions, especially the annual ball.
This year will definitely be his last year playing his beloved footy, but as long-suffering wife Sally says, "We've heard all that before."
When the Gladstone bag, jock strap and bulk boxes of Deep Heat finally get thrown out, he will be close to giving the game away and he can still enjoy his club balls.
Congrats to Polly - fair effort that..can't believe in another one of our blockbusters for the year, the opposition have a club legend (along with Chris Hayes from Violet Town), playing his 250th against us...giving them extra incentive...we might have to recall Rocky Damon for his 800th...
Old Poll to rack up another highlight
July 7 2006
Shepparton News
Yea Football Netball Club president Chris Pollard will play his 250th game for the club tomorrow at Rushworth.
You might say 250 games is no big deal but when you consider `Polly' or `Old Poll' had previously played 220 games with his home-town of Mansfield and about 40 with neighbouring Bonnie Doon, taking his total games to 510, it is a considerable achievement for the 44-year-old.
Apart from being president of the club since 2003, Polly has coached the club for four years, won four club best and fairest awards, a league best and fairest as well as having played in two premierships - in 2003 and last season.
He is also a premiership player and best and fairest winner at Mansfield.
`Old Poll' has many career highlights but none more so than playing alongside his son Matt in the 2003 premiership side.
Pollard has a great love of the end-of-season footy trip, not missing one since starting footy more than 25 years ago, and is always one of the last to leave club functions, especially the annual ball.
This year will definitely be his last year playing his beloved footy, but as long-suffering wife Sally says, "We've heard all that before."
When the Gladstone bag, jock strap and bulk boxes of Deep Heat finally get thrown out, he will be close to giving the game away and he can still enjoy his club balls.Someone may like to check his and Abley's family trees. They may be related. :D Another country footy ledgend. Great effort.
BODZY#32
7 Jul 2006, 17:32
yes yes hecto n beard, am very under the weather, just woke from 17 hr sleep n head is majorly throbbing, believe i still have 2 nites of 8 hr sleeps 2 catch up on.... but the tenpin durin the day was grouse, we played off for the bronze against deakin n all cracked under pressure in the last frame! Thumbs up to the ballarat nite life tho, n especially the uni the had the team of chicks getting on the main stage n rippin there tops off each nite:thumbsu:
blackbeard
7 Jul 2006, 17:36
Thumbs up to the ballarat nite life tho, n especially the uni the had the team of chicks getting on the main stage n rippin there tops off each nite:thumbsu:
OUtstanding BODZY!!!
yes yes hecto n beard, am very under the weather, just woke from 17 hr sleep n head is majorly throbbing, believe i still have 2 nites of 8 hr sleeps 2 catch up on.... but the tenpin durin the day was grouse, we played off for the bronze against deakin n all cracked under pressure in the last frame! Thumbs up to the ballarat nite life tho, n especially the uni the had the team of chicks getting on the main stage n rippin there tops off each nite:thumbsu:
The Sphinkter has done some of his best work in the Rat over the years also, one of the Broady boys fave spots to hit.
How many games has Thorpey over at Avenel racked up.
Been around a while.
mainland
8 Jul 2006, 11:28
Not sure, KOL, like I said in an earlier post, it's pretty hard to pick...But if Hoota doesn't come up, as Mainland suggests, then I reckon Lancy should take the chocolates.. In terms of speed, size, etc, I actually reckon the lions would have them covered for speed - when we played stanhope I reckon 90% of the lions players had their rushy opponent covered in a foot-race...
Lancy also had a quick side when we played them, and a few of their bigger bodies in Steve Cail and Mad dog Morgan were surprisingly quick..but I think they'd have stanhope covered in size and strength across the board..
In other games, we'll have our work cut out for us against the southern tigers, who in the next 7 weeks have us, Tally away, ardy, Stanhope and Lancy. If we can get over them (and it works in our favour that prob only Neilsen and Wilson would have played at Rushy), then maybe a door will open up for a potential finals berth.. would love to hear who other blokes reckon will win this clash..
In other games, Murch should easily account for Nagambie, with Kellett to kick 10+, Avenel might be able to push Undera for a half down there, but will eventually get run over the top of, in what should be a danger game given how well Tally ususally play at home, VT should have no trouble disposing of them, and Ardy will stop Gig's run of wins with a crushing victory..
Well T.Perry Hoota is gonna pull on the boots this arvo so that has increased our chances of a win i think, so that is a big inclusion into the Stanhope side. Unsure who will end up on him from the Lancy side, but not to sure if they would have anyone that could go with him, even though he is carrying a slight injury.
On The Money
8 Jul 2006, 12:22
Been around a while.
Not sure but he spent 4 years at Nagambie and 1 @ seymour so it wouldn't be record material I don't think.
Been around a while.
Long while Fess would have to be close to the 400's if not over Id assume. I remember watching my cousin play with him probably 15-16 years ago and was a pretty handy player (think he even has won a KDFL medal or 2?). Last time I saw him play was in 2001 and still got a kick easily enough.
Has come under some scrutiny in these pages, but Id would know his age as he keeps in fair nick. According to Joeyboy is doing a handy job teaching the kids.
Talk of Pearce and Rattray on the GVFL thread - would be good for Fess to get a year where he could mix some experience with these kids, I reckon you'd see the Swannies fly up up again if that was the case.
On The Money
8 Jul 2006, 19:32
I see Stanhope had a win today against Lancaster any1 prepared to reconsider that the Bats are a standout???
Good win for the comp that one I reckon!!! Rushy rolled Yea and Violet Town stumbled up at Tally - comp seems to be opening up a bit in the battle for top 5 positions.
Could Ardmona (43.18 to Gig's 4.10) have all of a sudden lept into the first line of premiership betting???
Good win for the comp that one I reckon!!! Rushy rolled Yea and Violet Town stumbled up at Tally - comp seems to be opening up a bit in the battle for top 5 positions.
Could Ardmona (43.18 to Gig's 4.10) have all of a sudden lept into the first line of premiership betting???
Think the main result today that will influence premiership betting is Stanhope v Lancaster. An 11 goal win including 13.15 to 4.3 after half-time, and no Pearce would have to have them on the first line of betting. Especially when they covered Ardmona easily only 3 weeks ago (No Meka though).
Also Snelson has been cleared to Nathalia and was amongst there best today, Parker kicked 15.
You're right hank, 13 to 4 after half time. Very ordinary second half, much like the Ardy game where we payed well in patches but then went right to sleep.
Goin in at halftime with a slender lead it really should've remained tight for the rest of the game but we simply dropped off and watched for long periods of the second half, ending in a blowout.
Hard week on the track this week and then Merrigum.
At one point there was a great matchup on the wing. the ling man and orry standing next to each other, like long lost brothers.
Yes it was very lucky they had different jumpers on for the day.
what seems to have happened to lancaster. 2 losses brings them right back to the field. stanhope would seem to be favourites well and truly. ardmonas results lately would indicate their probably second in the betting with lanc now third. i know stanhope are a class outfit, but where did they beat lancaster on saturday. equal first half indicates it way be a fitness prob at lancy.
i know stanhope are a class outfit, but where did they beat lancaster on saturday. equal first half indicates it way be a fitness prob at lancy.
Stanhope had the upper hand from the first bounce and had a handy break at 1/4 time but the 2nd 1/4 saw them with as much pill but too many turnovers cost them in the 2nd and put their backman under way too much pressure. also had 3 or 4 kickouts directly marked by Lancy players.. During this 1/4 Lancy were good enough to make them pay. After the half-time break Lancaster were well beaten out of the middle with Brenton Gray getting a ton of it on one leg with Trist and Wishart controlling the airwaves. Stanhope played some very good hard running football and moved the ball quickly to their forwards. Hansford, Trist and Craig Emmett were handfuls around goal.
For Lancy I liked the look of young Steve Thomson, looks to be a player of the future, and Brett Andison looked good at CHF. Carver was disappointing and they probably had 3 players who werent up to it, but remember White and Cail didnt play, onball is where the problem is, Grills and Parsons hard at it but just havent got the leg speed. So no don't believe it was fitness that lost it for them. (Stanhope would have to be the fittest side in the comp though)
roaring tiger
9 Jul 2006, 22:33
Stanhope Flag favourites at this stage i would say doona closely followed by Ardmona. Lancaster, Rushy and Yea to round out the top 5 i would say. Violet towns loss yesterday has probably cost them a spot in the finals.
Some big goal taller's though from this weekends matches, meka 15 (thought he might of kicked more than 15 out of 43) and kellat 18 not a bad effort out of 29 goals.
Go Doggies
10 Jul 2006, 13:53
Just wondering how todd harrison went playing with stanhope on the weekend
Just read that Joeyboy Pollock played ressies for Avenel on Satdy and booted 5 (only credited 3) - If he don't get promoted I guess we'll know this week that the Swans are loading up for an assault on the 2's flag.
King_Of_Ling
10 Jul 2006, 14:35
Just wondering how todd harrison went playing with stanhope on the weekend
He played well, didn't get in the best but a solid performance, played a few different possies. Full back, wing and on ball. You will have to see his old man for his possessions.
T.Perry
10 Jul 2006, 15:16
Stanhope Flag favourites at this stage i would say doona closely followed by Ardmona. Lancaster, Rushy and Yea to round out the top 5 i would say. Violet towns loss yesterday has probably cost them a spot in the finals.
Some big goal taller's though from this weekends matches, meka 15 (thought he might of kicked more than 15 out of 43) and kellat 18 not a bad effort out of 29 goals.
Yeh, at this stage you'd have to predict a Stanhope v Ardy Grand final.. Not sure if Yea will make, though..they would have to win at least one of their games against ardy, Stanhope and lancy, and even then % may see them miss out. I think VT will get back on track, as they seem to have a lot of new recruits who may not know their team structure, etc..
Good to see Dave Hansford getting amongst the goals, good young player who is always dangerous..I see Mitchell kicked 5 - not a bad effort, but i guess Stanhope would have taken that before the game.. Who ended up playing on him and how did they go? and who picked up Dave?
Any of the VT boys keen on telling us what happened on the weekend - were very chirpy a few weeks back, but haven't heard much from them since the weekend...
subtle hustle
10 Jul 2006, 16:43
good call there t.perry.
Where's all the comments about premierships now.
The mail is that Lanky had a meeting after thier loss to try and stop the bleeding. Seems that the wheels may have fallen off.
Ardmona and Stanhope have skipped ahead of everyone else.
Just read that Joeyboy Pollock played ressies for Avenel on Satdy and booted 5 (only credited 3) - If he don't get promoted I guess we'll know this week that the Swans are loading up for an assault on the 2's flag.
Me mate says Joey had to leave early, thats all.
He said their coach Thorpey was really good but had no payers.
A bloke by the name of Shiner is the problem at their club.
subtle hustle
10 Jul 2006, 16:46
Isn't Shiner the thrids coach, and also the interleague thirds coach?
King_Of_Ling
10 Jul 2006, 17:29
Good to see Dave Hansford getting amongst the goals, good young player who is always dangerous..I see Mitchell kicked 5 - not a bad effort, but i guess Stanhope would have taken that before the game.. Who ended up playing on him and how did they go? and who picked up Dave?
We played a few blokes on Mitchell, Todd Harro started there, then I think Clymo then Hally. He got a couple of easy frees but I think the boys playin on him were very body consious too. Not too sure who had dave, I think they were more worried about rick sheers coz tommo played most of the day on him.
Isn't Shiner the thrids coach, and also the interleague thirds coach?
The old one they call Skin, I think..
Me mate reckons hes the reason the clubs buggered.
Who's ya mate Koshy? Does he play at Avenel?
The mail is that Lanky had a meeting after thier loss to try and stop the bleeding. Seems that the wheels may have fallen off.
Ardmona and Stanhope have skipped ahead of everyone else.
Don't know where you're getting your mail from but it seems it's coming with some extra sensationalism thrown on top.
After the game, we simply talked about where we thought we'd gone wrong in the second half(as i'd think most teams would after a heavy loss).
Obviously the two big losses in a row brought us back to the pack but to say their is 'bleeding' and that the 'wheels have fallen off' is a bit much mate.
On The Money
10 Jul 2006, 19:46
We played Avenel in the 3rds years ago and Ian Shiner umpired and we rolled them by 15 goals or so and anyway it's gets to league medal night and who gets the 3 votes..... Yep Ricky Shiner!!
bazlurhmann
10 Jul 2006, 19:48
anyone got any ideas on how big matty ryan is goin at the swannies. looks like he is dominating in the media award in the paper. should be in the seniors. would surely give more than mick 'soft' hard in the ruck
Who's ya mate Koshy? Does he play at Avenel?
Na, do u play there mate.?
Who ya reckon will coach em next year mate.?
Helped a mate out by filling in a bout 10 times in the 2's in 2001 - why wouldnt Thorpey be coaching again, get some experience around the kids and they'll be ok
Yea, me mate reckons all the players like him they just dont have any good foot ballers. Ya reckon they might get some from Seymour next yr.? Their coach is leaving this yr isnt he.? Steve someone..
BODZY#32
11 Jul 2006, 15:11
Any of the VT boys keen on telling us what happened on the weekend - were very chirpy a few weeks back, but haven't heard much from them since the weekend...
Yeh haven't been able to get to a computer til now, well where do i start.... we had 15 blokes changed until 5mins before the game, melbourne blokes got lost and hayesy's car ran out of fuel on the way over and he didn't get on the field til halfway thru 2nd quarter... the preparation was terrible n i think we had also got a little too complacent with ourselves after a few wins. During the 1st quarter onballer ryan trotter twisted his knee n hit the showers n in the 3rd quarter tommy dukic who had kicked 7gls 5 broke his arm, our talk was terrible on the field all day..... just one of those days and full credit too tally who gave it a good crack and out did us... i got my arse kicked at full back by trav wayman kicking 8 or 9 and there flanks and pockets roves well to sneak thru a few good goals.
Yeh its gonna be real difficult to get a finals birth now with our percentage, the only way i see fit is if we can topple a top 3 team. We really needed yea to beat you guys n us to win at the weekend but it didn't happen so oh well....
roaring tiger
11 Jul 2006, 17:30
Maybe Doona might although someone from yea suggested he might be coaching elsewhere next year.
Have heard a rumor that Pearce and Rattray might be Joint coaches at Avenal next year not sure if theres any truth in it though.
I would of thought Tally, Avenel, Nagambie maybe yea would be looking for new coaches next year.
spotted dog
11 Jul 2006, 18:07
Saw something interesting at the yea rushy game on the weekend. I witnessed what looked to be an altercation between one of the blokes running the water and the boundary coach at the yea box about half way through the first quarter. Would be interested to know what happened. Got any info Doona2?
Maybe Doona might although someone from yea suggested he might be coaching elsewhere next year.
Have heard a rumor that Pearce and Rattray might be Joint coaches at Avenal next year not sure if theres any truth in it though.
I would of thought Tally, Avenel, Nagambie maybe yea would be looking for new coaches next year.
Geez thats news to me roaring . . . I would love to know who made this bold comment and where Im supposedly gunna be as it might answer a few questions & give me some insight into plans I never knew I had :confused:
Saw something interesting at the yea rushy game on the weekend. I witnessed what looked to be an altercation between one of the blokes running the water and the boundary coach at the yea box about half way through the first quarter. Would be interested to know what happened. Got any info Doona2?
Nah cant say I have spot . . . dont know who runs water and who it woulda been in the role of boundary coach Can you describe the people in question? I have only caught 3 games and aint privy to a lot of the inside mail these days.
carlton_86
11 Jul 2006, 22:30
Any of the VT boys keen on telling us what happened on the weekend - were very chirpy a few weeks back, but haven't heard much from them since the weekend...[/quote]
Watching the game on the weekend the boys didn't look as interested in the game as they had over the last few weeks. they strugled to hit targets all day, teamwork dropped of from previous weeks and there was barely any talk heard from the sidelines.
On other news the dislocatio of full forward Tom Dukic's elbow added another low for the club to what was already a dark day.
Sly Dog
11 Jul 2006, 22:36
What happened in the ardmona girgarre game on the weekend, quite an amazing scoreline. some thought girgarre may have toppled a few in the coming weeks but couldnt surely after that scoreline. are ardmona suddenly that good or were girgarre terrible. i see new names at ardmona, is that it. has snelson left a big hole at girgarre. any thoughts?
spotted dog
12 Jul 2006, 08:55
Nah cant say I have spot . . . dont know who runs water and who it woulda been in the role of boundary coach Can you describe the people in question? I have only caught 3 games and aint privy to a lot of the inside mail these days.
Bloke running boundary was short with a beard, actually got pushed by the bloke running water who was tall. Could say with a white shirt but that wouldnt really help.
For someone who doesn't have an involvement at Avenel Koshy you appear strongly adament on the reasons behind the clubs situation. Is your mate involved on or off field, is your mail a bit of hearsay that goes around every club during the low times???
Do u know if Jed has been playing, I aint seen his name?
For someone who doesn't have an involvement at Avenel Koshy you appear strongly adament on the reasons behind the clubs situation. Is your mate involved on or off field, is your mail a bit of hearsay that goes around every club during the low times???
Do u know if Jed has been playing, I aint seen his name?
Me mates not involved at any level, justs watches a bit.
R u a copper mate.?
I wouldnt even know who the hell Jed is.
From what mates have told me all the mail is the same about this bloke whether they win or not.
Do u know him at all mate.
Me mates not involved at any level, justs watches a bit.
R u a copper mate.?
I wouldnt even know who the hell Jed is.
From what mates have told me all the mail is the same about this bloke whether they win or not.
Do u know him at all mate.
Ha ha not a copper mate but ya mate obviously aint privy to anything if he jsut wathces. , just seems strange to me that one guy can be blamed 4 everything and he's on committee and aint required 2 get a kick on Satdy's. I know who the fella is, aint in any positon to judge and hope for your mate and the Swans all can be worked out for a rosy future :thumbsu:
might av to go see young Joe Pollock and tell him 2 pull his head in :confused: .
Whilst on the Swans, big chance to get back on the winners list in the local derby against Nagambie this week.
wheelbarrow
13 Jul 2006, 12:26
Ha ha not a copper mate but ya mate obviously aint privy to anything if he jsut wathces. , just seems strange to me that one guy can be blamed 4 everything and he's on committee and aint required 2 get a kick on Satdy's. I know who the fella is, aint in any positon to judge and hope for your mate and the Swans all can be worked out for a rosy future :thumbsu:
might av to go see young Joe Pollock and tell him 2 pull his head in :confused: .
Whilst on the Swans, big chance to get back on the winners list in the local derby against Nagambie this week.
You don't have to take to the field to stuff a club.!!
You'd have more of an idea than Koshy on this topic wheelie so Im happy to take your word for it. Joeyboy Pollock in line for a promotion is he???
roaring tiger
13 Jul 2006, 21:25
I have heard a rumor that Nagambie wants to sack its current coach, is there any truth to the rumor?
Also is there any future for nagambie?
Watched them a few weeks back and they struggled to field an under 18 and reserve side, not good for the future.
Would they ever consider merging with Avenel??
I have heard a rumor that Nagambie wants to sack its current coach, is there any truth to the rumor?
Also is there any future for nagambie?
Watched them a few weeks back and they struggled to field an under 18 and reserve side, not good for the future.
Would they ever consider merging with Avenel??
Watched them 2 weeks running and I must say there is some talented kids there (Shiels, Hutton, Lyons, Hall etc) but much like Avenel they're crying out for some experienced footballers to help nurse em through. Its a long season for kids to be exposed and expected to stand up week in week out.
I think we joked about it (merger) early in the season, but I doubt it would ever occur. A joint the size of Nagambie should have little trouble fielding sides, and I dunno why they struggle to attract players . . . are they known as a financial club???
My tips this week are . . .
Murchison v Yea (37 pts)
Avenel v Nagambie (1 pt)
Tallygaroopna v Undera (13 pts)
Ardmona v Violet Town (31 pts)
Stanhope v Girgarre (truckloads)
Merrigum v Lancaster (ditto)
On The Money
13 Jul 2006, 23:27
Watched them 2 weeks running and I must say there is some talented kids there (Shiels, Hutton, Lyons, Hall etc) but much like Avenel they're crying out for some experienced footballers to help nurse em through. Its a long season for kids to be exposed and expected to stand up week in week out.
I think we joked about it (merger) early in the season, but I doubt it would ever occur. A joint the size of Nagambie should have little trouble fielding sides, and I dunno why they struggle to attract players . . . are they known as a financial club???
Murchison v Yea (37 pts)
Avenel v Nagambie (1 pt)
I reckon Murch might be a chance to roll Yea this week a bit has changed since the first time they met and another kellett bag could result in a win.
On The Money
13 Jul 2006, 23:27
Murchison v Yea (37 pts)
Avenel v Nagambie (1 pt)
kkkkkkkk
I reckon Murch might be a chance to roll Yea this week a bit has changed since the first time they met and another kellett bag could result in a win.
new faces to the Yea side this week, 2 premiership players playing their first game in '06 and finally the ruck assistance Ive been saying the desperately need.
Now they need Doug Aldous to return in tandem with new fella blacky, Greg Beer to run into some nick which will mean Tom Butterworth can then play wherever he wants and create the headaches he was early in the year.
I agree totally that Leigh Kellett could be the difference after young Lambden bagged 7 against them last week.
5 goals last week wasn't enuff for Joeyboy Pollock to get a recall for the big Avenel/Nagambie clash.
Word has it my mail last week was on the money and Joey is they key man for the Swans assault on the 2's flag :thumbsd:
Joeyboy
14 Jul 2006, 13:26
5 goals last week wasn't enuff for Joeyboy Pollock to get a recall for the big Avenel/Nagambie clash.
Word has it my mail last week was on the money and Joey is they key man for the Swans assault on the 2's flag :thumbsd:
i was absolutely gutted doona, thought with my efforts last week i would of slotted into a pocket in the ones. Maybe Koshy may no as to why i remained in the twos
Joeyboy
14 Jul 2006, 13:28
Koshy, how do u rate the three Heathcote boys this year in Ronnie, Joey and Weapon head
Aint seen them yet, but me mate reckons the Joe kid has good skills but is unfit and overweight.
The bloke Ron goes OK he said but i dont no who the hell weaponhead is mate.
Joeyboy
14 Jul 2006, 14:35
Aint seen them yet, but me mate reckons the Joe kid has good skills but is unfit and overweight.
The bloke Ron goes OK he said but i dont no who the hell weaponhead is mate.
What does your mate think the problem with the swannies is??? My mate reckons the coach is getting a bit long in the tooth, struggles to find it nowadays. he said he use to be a gun won a league medal or two but is past it now.
I believe they just havnt got the cattle on the field, pick up three or four key position players next year mixed in with a bit of youth may see the swannies climb the ladder gradually.