View Full Version : Kyabram District FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72

subtle hustle
3 Nov 2006, 10:13
Everything has gone quiet.

I've heard a couple of good rumours. Some confirmed others may just be crap.
Stanhope to lose Gray to Tonnie. Trist, Emmett and Hansford to Ky.
Lancaster to lose Anderson and Orr back to Ky.
Rushworth are apparently on the big spend again.
Tally have picked up Hayden Best as well as their new coach Osborne.

bradrowe#32
3 Nov 2006, 10:43

I wonder if Rochy are a chance to get Hansford. I think he played a game on permit for them in 2005.

journeyman
3 Nov 2006, 10:59

I know a bloke at Rushy well and he's told me that they only pay 2 blokes other than the coach. They are not a big-spending club.

You Know It
3 Nov 2006, 11:35

have heard that Orr will stay and Anderson is definately heading back to bomber land.
Will Hansford follow his cousin, Gray, to tonnie?
Which Emmett will be following the others?

T.Perry
3 Nov 2006, 13:17
Hey Tavvyboy, any chance you spoken to Nick Millar old mate?

Mate, we're not worried about Nick Miller, we want you as soon as your available! Nah, we definitely spoke to Nick, and I've been catching up with him once a week, but it's looking likely that he'll sign with either Heidelberg or the Jezza Campbell coached, Timmy Rassmussen assistant coached Blackburn, in the EFL.

And one of the reasons why we missed out on him (and Godsmark who's gone to Undera), is a severe lack of $, so, in response to subtle hustle's post, unfortunately we're not on the big spend, coz we don't have it to spend..

We were lucky last year that only the coach, chonk, Bone and Rakic were getting paid..

And don't be surprised if Stanhope don't lose any locals.. no-one's committed anywhere yet and I'd be amazed if they lost anyone other than Sime Harro (who really didn't play last year anyway), Goodbody, Wishart and maybe Pearce..

Look out for Tally, though, couple of very handy recruits - must be cashed up..

By the way subtle - what made you say that we're on the 'big spend' - do you know something that I don't?? Got any names?

King_Of_Ling
3 Nov 2006, 13:47
I've heard a couple of good rumours. Some confirmed others may just be crap. Stanhope to lose Gray to Tonnie. Trist, Emmett and Hansford to Ky.

I have been in close contact with a couple of the named players above and I'm sure that all have been spoken to but I dout any of them will make a hasty decision on their future.

Rushy Tiger
3 Nov 2006, 13:51
I wonder if Rochy are a chance to get Hansford. I think he played a game on permit for them in 2005.

Rochy are definately talking to him and wouldn't be suprised if he lands there pre-season. Bit of family history there with Hoodsy a B&F winner. Would be another handy inclusion. Gets rid of the rabble who get a game because they were short.

King_Of_Ling
3 Nov 2006, 14:04
Which Emmett will be following the others?

I would think it would be "The AMAZING GIRT"...... some call him Marcus.

You Know It
3 Nov 2006, 14:30
I would think it would be "The AMAZING GIRT"...... some call him Marcus.

bloody maggot, about time he steps up and has a go at it! is it just all talk tho??

King_Of_Ling
3 Nov 2006, 14:48
bloody maggot, about time he steps up and has a go at it! is it just all talk tho??

I haven't really talked to him about footy, but I'd say a lot will depend on where he gets a job, he could be based in Bendigo. I'll probably see him this wknd so I'll sus it out.

Sly Dog
3 Nov 2006, 15:22
i would think all the stanhope boys mentioned would be more than capable. trist is a very good player who could play a variety of positions, gray we know is a proven player and hansford has the ability to have big quarters up forward and kick goals. not sure about emmett, others might know more about him.
Rushy i would have thought would be fairly consistent with the spending, not huge but to a budget. correct me if im wrong.
Lancys Orr and Andison, dont know a lot about Orr, havent seen or heard much about him. Andison doesnt seem much to me, certainly not in Lancys best 6 to 8 players. All the best players are 30 plus in age, Parsons etc.

13-CABS
3 Nov 2006, 17:37
I have been in close contact with a couple of the named players above and I'm sure that all have been spoken to but I dout any of them will make a hasty decision on their future.

Speaking to yourself old mate lingy? sure sign of going crazy... possibly due to being knocked around the head a few too many times after jumping out of shouts early??? Anyway when will u be venturing down to the big smoke? wouldnt mind catching up for a few lemonades with ya!

Skut17
4 Nov 2006, 13:34
[quote=T.Perry]Mate, we're not worried about Nick Miller, we want you as soon as your available! Nah, we definitely spoke to Nick, and I've been catching up with him once a week, but it's looking likely that he'll sign with either Heidelberg or the Jezza Campbell coached, Timmy Rassmussen assistant coached Blackburn, in the EFL.

And one of the reasons why we missed out on him (and Godsmark who's gone to Undera), is a severe lack of $, so, in response to subtle hustle's post, unfortunately we're not on the big spend, coz we don't have it to spend..

Any chance of passing on a number old boy? We could use a big lad such as himself.

King_Of_Ling
6 Nov 2006, 08:17
Speaking to yourself old mate lingy? sure sign of going crazy... possibly due to being knocked around the head a few too many times after jumping out of shouts early??? Anyway when will u be venturing down to the big smoke? wouldnt mind catching up for a few lemonades with ya!

LOL, very good cabbie, I like the way you're straight to the point..... took the hard line.... pitty you don't do the same on the footy field!! ooohhhh BAM!

Ahh the big smoke, I'll be down there in no time at all, maybe in a few weeks when I can harvest the money tree, and I'll be sure to look ya up and buy you a pub squash on the house.

T.Perry
6 Nov 2006, 11:29
Got it on very good authority that Brad lowe has signed on at yarroweyah for the healthy sum of $600/game.. THat means last year's premiers have lost a gun on-baller, their CHB (Moon) and their CHF (De Angelis).. Unfortunately for the rest of the comp it's looking likely that Damien Yze will end up there again..

The Talking Goat
6 Nov 2006, 14:22
any teams looking for a four-legged on-baller who can run like the wind and knows how to talk. i could be the player you're looking for as i'm a goat who can run fast and never shuts up, hence, i'm the talking goat.:thumbsu:

Skut17
6 Nov 2006, 14:47
any teams looking for a four-legged on-baller who can run like the wind and knows how to talk. i could be the player you're looking for as i'm a goat who can run fast and never shuts up, hence, i'm the talking goat.:thumbsu:

I believe the Mainland are in need of gun such as yourself goat. But can the goat display kicking prowess from 10 out with the pressure of a final??

bradrowe#32
6 Nov 2006, 15:03
Got it on very good authority that Brad lowe has signed on at yarroweyah for the healthy sum of $600/game.. THat means last year's premiers have lost a gun on-baller, their CHB (Moon) and their CHF (De Angelis).. Unfortunately for the rest of the comp it's looking likely that Damien Yze will end up there again..

Very interesting Trevor. I suspected that Lowie would leave Ardy at one point, but I thought he'd stick around with the current group. Moon will be a loss, but I think Joey can be replaced. He is nearly 40 and doesn't train much, and is susceptable to soft tissue injuries.

Obviously Yze would be a massive signing.

Skut17
6 Nov 2006, 15:04
Hey there Lingy... Any chance of heading down the hume for a kick or wat?? You would look good in blue and gold jumper..

hank1
6 Nov 2006, 15:37
Hey there Lingy... Any chance of heading down the hume for a kick or wat?? You would look good in blue and gold jumper..

Get out of it Skut, hard enough fighting off the GV clubs. You should just concentrate on gettting that well oiled machine of yours back on the field, not sure how good you would look in the blue and gold jumper of yours!!

Skut17
6 Nov 2006, 16:07
Get out of it Skut, hard enough fighting off the GV clubs. You should just concentrate on gettting that well oiled machine of yours back on the field, not sure how good you would look in the blue and gold jumper of yours!!

I'm sleeping in it every night just to try stretch it out for next year. if needed..

On The Money
6 Nov 2006, 16:41

How reliable is mail on the Yze one? every year since he left he has been touted to return but never has and there has been constant rumours that Ardmona haven't paid league bills which would suggest their bank balance might not accomodate him.

big tony
6 Nov 2006, 20:00
just speeking with violet town stalwart Gary Abley and coach John trotter who are celebrating with the massive signing of mansfield gun matt walker

The Talking Goat
7 Nov 2006, 16:39
I believe the Mainland are in need of gun such as yourself goat. But can the goat display kicking prowess from 10 out with the pressure of a final??
the goat never misses from 10m out. has been known to have some troubles from 15m out in front of goal.

Doona2
7 Nov 2006, 18:07
just speeking with violet town stalwart Gary Abley and coach John trotter who are celebrating with the massive signing of mansfield gun matt walker

Massive if true big tone, my question is why has Walker turned his back on major league footy already, I woulda thought he still had plenty to offer or was it the offer that made the decision easy :confused:

cosby
7 Nov 2006, 18:26
Ando may be sizing up the option to return to ky but Orry aint goin anywhere.

sparra
8 Nov 2006, 06:08
from what I heard Walker approached Violet Town after hearing that they may have a few players returning to the ranks

head67
8 Nov 2006, 06:25
Where is Walker originaly from and what posi does he play.

TuskenRaider
8 Nov 2006, 08:16
I wouldn't be surprised if Violet Town sign a couple of even bigger names than Walker before the start of 2007.

lion's_roar
8 Nov 2006, 08:35
Where is Walker originaly from and what posi does he play.

Walker is originally from Mansfield and still lives there, but spent a couple of season's at Bundoora in the late 90's.

He's about 28 now and injury prone.

Is a super, super player but if he doesn't get along with heirarchy don't expect him to stick around.

Has a shocking temper and can be a liability on and off the field .. but when he's on song, he is brilliant.

Would know Abley from cricket and so doesn't surprise me he is heading out there.

His younger brother is Josh Walker, GV rep who has just signed on at Wodonga as assistant coach.

Old Hopper
8 Nov 2006, 09:27
Lions pounce

By Wes Cusworth
October 31 2006
Shepparton News

Former Murchison coach Terry Mahoney has been appointed to lead Kyabram District Football League side Undera next year.

Mahoney, who coached the Grasshoppers in 2004, also led Mooroopna under-16s to a flag last year and replaces Jason Whittaker who has stepped down after two years in the role.

In further good news for the Lions, Shepparton United's Daniel Godsmark will join the experienced Gene Vanderzalm as one of Mahoney's assistants.

"Recruiting Daniel is very exciting as he is a former KDFL interleague player who has been playing well in the GVFL," Mahoney said.

"Daniel will relate well to the youth that we are bringing into the team, as he's a fine young gentleman who knows how to conduct himself to achieve the best out of his ability.

"He'll also be helping with the Auskick program."

Vanderzalm and Mahoney have worked together previously, while Norm Davis - Mahoney's runner from last year's Mooroopna under16 premiership team - will also join the Lions.

"Norm was instrumental in our success that year and will be an extremely important part of the coaching team," Mahoney said.

"Apart from Godsmark, the club is in deep discussion with a number of other players, including some playing major league football."

Mahoney is also confident that 30 VFL-AFL game player Tony Evans will turn out for the Lions, despite recently turning 40 and living in Ballarat.

"Tony played a number of seasons at St Kilda and then for a year at Footscray under Mick Malthouse," Mahoney said.

"He went back to East Ballarat where he played in three premierships, won five best and fairests, was an interleague representative, coach and Team of the Century member.

"Whatever we can get Tony around the club for next year will be fantastic, because the level he has played at and with his achievements, there is an enormous amount that he can pass on."

Mahoney is hoping to meet up with more players and supporters at the club's Melbourne Cup Calcutta at the Undera clubrooms at 7 pm on Cup eve.
Undera are apparently still yet to sign Godsmark, the word is a requested sign on fee is the sticking point

akka dakka
8 Nov 2006, 10:04
[quote=Old Hopper;6193310]Undera are apparently still yet to sign Godsmark, the word is a requested sign on fee is the sticking point

Dont know where you heard that old hopper, but was talkin to him monday night at the Undera Calcutta, she's a done deal.

Old Hopper
8 Nov 2006, 10:10
from the horses mouth

T.Perry
8 Nov 2006, 10:33
Ando may be sizing up the option to return to ky but Orry aint goin anywhere.

Are you part of the coaching committee or anything this year Cosby? Spoke with Justin Hooper on the weekend and (given I don't know how gooda mates he is with Fearless or newmo), he believes as many as 8 from Lancy's side could go back to Ky - Orr and Ando definites..

OTM - Good point about the Ardy/Yze rumour, but they haven't paid league fees for a while, yet still seem to fork out the $ for players.. I don't think a club struggling for money would pay Greg Saunders a reported $270/game...

Got it on good authority that when Meka spoke to Tat he guaranteed that wherever he was, Damien would be with him...

I think you'll find that Godsmark will line up in a lions guernsey next year, but not if they don't come good on the sign on - I've spoken to new Murch coach, Brett Hughes, and obviously me old man who's pres of Rushy, and they both said one of his main requirements was that he got a sign-on (and he was after a pretty sizeable amount, too).. That the same with when he spoke to you Hank?

Looks like there's already some more than handy recruits going to be flying around in the KDL next year..

hank1
8 Nov 2006, 12:52
yeah same deal, wanted to cover himself if he got injured again

sparra
8 Nov 2006, 13:59
I wouldn't be surprised if Violet Town sign a couple of even bigger names than Walker before the start of 2007.

What bigger names have you heard Tusken?

Doona2
8 Nov 2006, 14:03
What bigger names have you heard Tusken?

Avenel who have yet to name a coach I have heard were gunna try to get Daniel Sage (Euroa) as he plays cricket there, but I heard he's moving elsewhere.

Jack Smyth (Swans) would be a fair chance to head back to VT wouldn't he - and I guess the same Matty Sharp/Hayden Lamaro whispers to VT will surface again like last year.

The Yze back to Ardmona thing is gaining momentum, and unfortunately the T. Perry to Broadford thing just never eventuated!!!

On The Money
8 Nov 2006, 15:30
Are you part of the coaching committee or anything this year Cosby? Spoke with Justin Hooper on the weekend and (given I don't know how gooda mates he is with Fearless or newmo), he believes as many as 8 from Lancy's side could go back to Ky - Orr and Ando definites..

OTM - Good point about the Ardy/Yze rumour, but they haven't paid league fees for a while, yet still seem to fork out the $ for players.. I don't think a club struggling for money would pay Greg Saunders a reported $270/game...

Got it on good authority that when Meka spoke to Tat he guaranteed that wherever he was, Damien would be with him...

I think you'll find that Godsmark will line up in a lions guernsey next year, but not if they don't come good on the sign on - I've spoken to new Murch coach, Brett Hughes, and obviously me old man who's pres of Rushy, and they both said one of his main requirements was that he got a sign-on (and he was after a pretty sizeable amount, too).. That the same with when he spoke to you Hank?

Looks like there's already some more than handy recruits going to be flying around in the KDL next year..

I would say Meka was using that as a tool to get the job at Tat and he may well of had Yze if he was coaching Tat but I would be surprised if yze fronts at Ardmona again.

cosby
8 Nov 2006, 19:04
Are you part of the coaching committee or anything this year Cosby? Spoke with Justin Hooper on the weekend and (given I don't know how gooda mates he is with Fearless or newmo), he believes as many as 8 from Lancy's side could go back to Ky - Orr and Ando definites.
Not part of the coaching panel, no.
As for the 'everyone is goin back to ky' rumours that are goin around, I've heard them too.
The Young lingy look-a-like is aware of what was said on here. He isn't goin anywhere.

SUPASTARR
8 Nov 2006, 20:04
Undera are apparently still yet to sign Godsmark, the word is a requested sign on fee is the sticking point
If thats correct who does this guy think he is asking a KDL team for a sign on fee. Minor league clubs struggle to raise the cash to survive without having those type of extra payments. Only coming from a gv team not afl.

Rosco5
8 Nov 2006, 20:38
Avenel who have yet to name a coach I have heard were gunna try to get Daniel Sage (Euroa) as he plays cricket there, but I heard he's moving elsewhere.

Jack Smyth (Swans) would be a fair chance to head back to VT wouldn't he - and I guess the same Matty Sharp/Hayden Lamaro whispers to VT will surface again like last year.

The Yze back to Ardmona thing is gaining momentum, and unfortunately the T. Perry to Broadford thing just never eventuated!!!

Doona, I can assure you that Avenel will not get Sagey, already approached him re the Nagaz job (early on) and he is Melbourne bound very soon. Good luck with Bwudfd, keep the enemies close :) !!

big tony
8 Nov 2006, 20:38

yer jack smyth is already on the train!!

big tony
8 Nov 2006, 20:41
yes swans player jack smyth has signed to get on the train!!

Doona2
8 Nov 2006, 21:05
Doona, I can assure you that Avenel will not get Sagey, already approached him re the Nagaz job (early on) and he is Melbourne bound very soon. Good luck with Bwudfd, keep the enemies close :) !!

Yeah my Euroa correpsondant informed me this arvo that he's heading to Barwon Heads - Thanks for the advice at home ;)

TuskenRaider
9 Nov 2006, 08:15
If thats correct who does this guy think he is asking a KDL team for a sign on fee. Minor league clubs struggle to raise the cash to survive without having those type of extra payments. Only coming from a gv team not afl.
He can ask what he likes. It's up to the clubs to say no to this kind of thing if they're struggling for cash. If a clubs are stupid enough to pay sign on fees at KDL level then let them take the risk. In a lot of cases though, the sign on fee would form part of the overall package that the player will be one.

Not that I'm condoning it, a player asking for a sign on fee doesn't really sound like he's acting in good faith. But, it's the clubs that make the rod for their back.

Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 11:37
Tongala are chasing godsmark aslo so undera have competition

hank1
9 Nov 2006, 15:12
Tongala are chasing godsmark aslo so undera have competition

Already been stated Tonny out of race and he is off to Undera

subtle hustle
10 Nov 2006, 07:56
Not part of the coaching panel, no.
As for the 'everyone is goin back to ky' rumours that are goin around, I've heard them too.
The Young lingy look-a-like is aware of what was said on here. He isn't goin anywhere.
I've now heard that Orr is staying along with most others. It is silly season, I guess.
Anderson seems to be the only real loss. Heard a whisper that you may lose Elburugh to Rushworth.
Is Mitchell staying?

With the amount of players that Tally have already signed up they're sure to make the step back into the top 3 with ease arent they?
Especially if Wayman, Montgomery, Molisak and Lloyd are all still there. I also heard the Tyson Sidebottom may be returning.

subtle hustle
10 Nov 2006, 07:58
He can ask what he likes. It's up to the clubs to say no to this kind of thing if they're struggling for cash.
Reminds me of a certain 'gun-ruckman' from Kerang way that lobbed into the area last year.

big tony
10 Nov 2006, 13:04
so far is Violet Towns Matt Walker the biggest recruit over the off season???

Doona2
10 Nov 2006, 13:14
so far is Violet Towns Matt Walker the biggest recruit over the off season???

Hayden Best to Tally would have to be up there, along with Damien Yze back to Ardmona if that occurs.

Travvy43
10 Nov 2006, 13:28
Hayden Best to Tally would have to be up there, along with Damien Yze back to Ardmona if that occurs.

Agree with this one doona, a very classy player who will turn it on in the KDL

T.Perry
10 Nov 2006, 14:21
I've now heard that Orr is staying along with most others. It is silly season, I guess.
Anderson seems to be the only real loss. Heard a whisper that you may lose Elburugh to Rushworth.
Is Mitchell staying?

With the amount of players that Tally have already signed up they're sure to make the step back into the top 3 with ease arent they?
Especially if Wayman, Montgomery, Molisak and Lloyd are all still there. I also heard the Tyson Sidebottom may be returning.

Apparently Locky, Echuca and Echuca United have all been in contact with Mitch, but no-one will probably know where he's going til March, going on previous experience..

Would be surprised to see Tyson head back to United - had an awesome season over there (5th in Morrison), and is still only 22-23. Still, I guess if they're looking the goods he might be persuaded..

cosby
10 Nov 2006, 14:44
Apparently Locky, Echuca and Echuca United have all been in contact with Mitch, but no-one will probably know where he's going til March, going on previous experience...
As you say Tav, Mitch is a normally a hard one to pin down, as he gets a few offers but he's already told the coach he's onboard again for next year. :thumbsu:

cosby
10 Nov 2006, 14:48

I'm not too sure what Elby is doin, but I do know he spends a fair bit time out at that watering hole west of Ky.

big tony
10 Nov 2006, 18:00
where did Hayden Best play at last season???

hank1
10 Nov 2006, 19:38
where did Hayden Best play at last season???

Shepp Swans, was at North Ballarat before that.

lion's_roar
11 Nov 2006, 10:58
Hayden Lamaro won't be playing at Voliet Town and that's straight from the horses mouth.

Flat Track Bully
11 Nov 2006, 11:46
Hayden Lamaro won't be playing at Voliet Town and that's straight from the horses mouth.

as opposed to the horses arse

lion's_roar
11 Nov 2006, 13:19
as opposed to the horses arse

OH FTB ... Leave the comedy to the ones who are good at it .. There's no need to be a smart arse, we're all friends here.

Doona2
11 Nov 2006, 19:33

Good news - many (me included) was too judgemental on him after the 2005 GF, then I was informed of the seriousness of his achilles injury. After missing a full year of footy he'll be like a new recruit for whoever it is thats gunna coach Euroa :thumbsu:

head67
12 Nov 2006, 01:41
Good news - many (me included) was too judgemental on him after the 2005 GF, then I was informed of the seriousness of his achilles injury. After missing a full year of footy he'll be like a new recruit for whoever it is thats gunna coach Euroa :thumbsu:
We all know the guy can play. So it's good for footy when class players are on deck.

Mattie
12 Nov 2006, 16:21
Hey all has anyone heard who Stanhope is picking up? heard a couple rumours about a couple of south bendigo boys in the mix

hank1
12 Nov 2006, 18:16
Hey all has anyone heard who Stanhope is picking up? heard a couple rumours about a couple of south bendigo boys in the mix

Linc Sullivan would be one

On The Money
12 Nov 2006, 18:45
Hard hitting full back Luke ''Chilli Tenders'' Knight would be a good pick up for the Lions if he can get some weekend release from the Glenferrie watering hole.

TuskenRaider
12 Nov 2006, 19:19
Did Luke have a run this year anywhere or has he hung the boots up?

carlton_86
13 Nov 2006, 10:16
euroa have resigned glesson so expect a few players to leave the club

bogaboy
13 Nov 2006, 10:41
Anyone know where Peter Morgan, who played for Rushworth has gone to. Heard a few rumoours that he may be heading up to Nyah in the Central Murray league?

randallbone
13 Nov 2006, 12:04
Did Luke have a run this year anywhere or has he hung the boots up?

I hear he played in Melbourne with St Marys D3 Ammos. Struggled to get fit and maybe a couple too many JB stubbies....struggled.
Troy Auld in his return to the Lions this year will be the man to watch.

T.Perry
13 Nov 2006, 15:57
Anyone know where Peter Morgan, who played for Rushworth has gone to. Heard a few rumoours that he may be heading up to Nyah in the Central Murray league?

The big fella retired from KDL footy in 2003 after our prelim final loss to Lancaster (thanks largely to a rampaging performance from Cosby). As far as I know, he hasn't pulled on the boots since then and has been living in Melbourne.. Would be surprised if he played again.

I didn't realise the Hayden Best that Tally picked up was the same bloke who played at North Ballarat.. That bloke is a gun. Didn't he kick 12 goals in a senior GV match whilst playing for the swans, as a mid-fielder?? Does anyone know why he's gone to Tally - they've either thrown a packet at him, or he's got some extremely good mates there, or had a massive falling out at the swans..

As good as he and Walker are, I reckon the lions may have the recruit of the year in Troy Auld, if the rumours are true.. Though I did hear that his brother was being wooed by Colbo..

Doona2
13 Nov 2006, 19:23
The big fella retired from KDL footy in 2003 after our prelim final loss to Lancaster (thanks largely to a rampaging performance from Cosby). As far as I know, he hasn't pulled on the boots since then and has been living in Melbourne.. Would be surprised if he played again.

I didn't realise the Hayden Best that Tally picked up was the same bloke who played at North Ballarat.. That bloke is a gun. Didn't he kick 12 goals in a senior GV match whilst playing for the swans, as a mid-fielder?? Does anyone know why he's gone to Tally - they've either thrown a packet at him, or he's got some extremely good mates there, or had a massive falling out at the swans..

As good as he and Walker are, I reckon the lions may have the recruit of the year in Troy Auld, if the rumours are true.. Though I did hear that his brother was being wooed by Colbo..

Christ Colbo has rang everyone bar me!!!! Would it be fair to assume Tally and the Towners the big improvers for 2007 even this far out???

Travvy43
13 Nov 2006, 19:54
Does anyone know why he's gone to Tally - they've either thrown a packet at him, or he's got some extremely good mates there, or had a massive falling out at the swans..

I think hima nd osbourne who is coaching are pretty close mates.

I agree though, a very silky player that will attract plent of leather in 2007.

slim18
13 Nov 2006, 19:58

yer jack smyth is already on the train!!

maybe some other benalla saints players accompanying sharpy

TuskenRaider
14 Nov 2006, 08:00
maybe some other benalla saints players accompanying sharpy

Is Sharp a definate yet? Surely Benalla will be doing their best to keep him, and he's only had 2 years there.

sparra
14 Nov 2006, 08:22
Is Sharp a definate yet? Surely Benalla will be doing their best to keep him, and he's only had 2 years there.

Geez if he did play KDFL he would be handy I have seen him win games of his own boot in the GV

T.Perry
14 Nov 2006, 13:17
Christ Colbo has rang everyone bar me!!!! Would it be fair to assume Tally and the Towners the big improvers for 2007 even this far out???

Don't worry mate - it's still early.. Seeing you at the GV Grand final I'd say you were only a couple of gallops away from getting back into peak condition..;)

I'd reckon with who they've picked up so far, Tally would be odds on to make the 5 (or 6 if they change it), and the Towners odds on for a top 3 berth. The towners weren't far off it last year, but must be spending a fair packet if they're going to keep most from last year at the club. I thought Tally were a bit off the pace, though, and will no doubt be strong at the top end, but would need to improve their depth.. I think the finals race will be pretty even again, but the chasm between them and the bottom sides may be widening, which wouldn't be good for the comp. Have heard that Merrigum have heaps to spend, which is all well and good, but you have to get quality for $, and they might be running out of time to sign anyone of note, Gig's recruits are getting fatter living on their gravy train, don't think Nagambie have recruited anyone yet, and there hasn't been much word out of Yea. Avenel to improve, as well, though..

Doona2
14 Nov 2006, 13:22
Don't worry mate - it's still early.. Seeing you at the GV Grand final I'd say you were only a couple of gallops away from getting back into peak condition..;)

......... don't think Nagambie have recruited anyone yet, and there hasn't been much word out of Yea. Avenel to improve, as well, though..

Ah yes Deakin October 1st was one of my bigger days for a while, still haven't seen the 2nd half and would love to know how that match panned out!!!

Not much word from the clubs down this way, Yea I believe will be announcing coaches shortly, Avenel I dunno as my mail has Pearcey staying on at Stanhope which to me says the Lions are determined to get that elusive flag.

showy#1
14 Nov 2006, 14:39
Ah yes Deakin October 1st was one of my bigger days for a while, still haven't seen the 2nd half and would love to know how that match panned out!!!

Not much word from the clubs down this way, Yea I believe will be announcing coaches shortly, Avenel I dunno as my mail has Pearcey staying on at Stanhope which to me says the Lions are determined to get that elusive flag.
doona im pretty sure that avenel have signed pearce as coach was talking to someone that was interviewing him the other day and his the only one way they have so im pretty sure it will be in the paper in the next week or so they would want to hurry up there running out of time to recruit players

Mattie
14 Nov 2006, 17:22
doona im pretty sure that avenel have signed pearce as coach was talking to someone that was interviewing him the other day and his the only one way they have so im pretty sure it will be in the paper in the next week or so they would want to hurry up there running out of time to recruit players

Well thats pretty interesting showy because I was just talking to him before and he said he had just put in for the stanhope assisstant job and if he gets he'll take it.

Doona2
14 Nov 2006, 17:46
Well thats pretty interesting showy because I was just talking to him before and he said he had just put in for the stanhope assisstant job and if he gets he'll take it.

Heard the exact same thing Mattie - means this KDFL thread will make for some interesting reading in the coming days . . . . . as Showy said today Pearcey was apparently the Swans only applicant, lets hope its worked out as quick as possible to give everyone the best chance possible of firing up for 2007

wheelbarrow
14 Nov 2006, 17:49

You going round again blanket.?

roaring tiger
14 Nov 2006, 19:06

I'd reckon with who they've picked up so far, Tally would be odds on to make the 5 (or 6 if they change it), and the Towners odds on for a top 3 berth. The towners weren't far off it last year, but must be spending a fair packet if they're going to keep most from last year at the club. I thought Tally were a bit off the pace, though, and will no doubt be strong at the top end, but would need to improve their depth.. I think the finals race will be pretty even again, but the chasm between them and the bottom sides may be widening, which wouldn't be good for the comp. Have heard that Merrigum have heaps to spend, which is all well and good, but you have to get quality for $, and they might be running out of time to sign anyone of note, Gig's recruits are getting fatter living on their gravy train, don't think Nagambie have recruited anyone yet, and there hasn't been much word out of Yea. Avenel to improve, as well, though..

What about our former team mate T-Man, Jake Lloyd going to Nagambie. Any truth in the rumour? Would think he will struggle down there, there isn't much to work with down at the lakers.

Tatybulldog
15 Nov 2006, 07:45
What about our former team mate T-Man, Jake Lloyd going to Nagambie. Any truth in the rumour? Would think he will struggle down there, there isn't much to work with down at the lakers.

jakes lloyds uncle is coaching nagambie.(gav gledhill) think he has been doin some work with murch the last few yrs???
i know he has made a play at a few young kids from tatura. they wont be dominating in the kdfl but will be competitive players!

jetter18
15 Nov 2006, 07:51
Brad Lowe to sign with Yarroweyah for over $600 a game very soon

jobbytonny
15 Nov 2006, 08:13
Hey boys is it true former Avenel player Patty Rattlesnake is in Darwin playing as we speak

TuskenRaider
15 Nov 2006, 09:30
Hey boys is it true former Avenel player Patty Rattlesnake is in Darwin playing as we speak

I hope Patty's club has plenty of sunscreen on offer as his pale skin would surely take a beating up there!

fuzzyswan
15 Nov 2006, 09:38
certainly is jobby

sparra
15 Nov 2006, 10:00
Brad Lowe to sign with Yarroweyah for over $600 a game very soon

If that is true then Yarroweyah need to have a good hard look at themselves
because that is what is stuffin up country footy
firstly they should not be offered a ridiculous amount and secondly you would need to perorm every week game and clubwise to accept it

akka dakka
15 Nov 2006, 10:09
If that is true then Yarroweyah need to have a good hard look at themselves
because that is what is stuffin up country footy
firstly they should not be offered a ridiculous amount and secondly you would need to perorm every week game and clubwise to accept it

AGREE 100% Sparra - small clubs will die out pretty quickly if they go payin players that sort of money

sparra
15 Nov 2006, 10:17
AGREE 100% Sparra - small clubs will die out pretty quickly if they go payin players that sort of money

And they will die out because hard working club persons will not hang around if they know there hard work is only to support 1 2 or maybe 3 players rather than an entire football club.

I personally as a committee person would not want to be involved with a club that pays out big money to strive for success.

jetter18
15 Nov 2006, 10:34
Totally agree with all comments

Doona2
15 Nov 2006, 10:48
And they will die out because hard working club persons will not hang around if they know there hard work is only to support 1 2 or maybe 3 players rather than an entire football club.

I personally as a committee person would not want to be involved with a club that pays out big money to strive for success.

If clubs do die because of this they can only blame themselves.

A player is only worth what someone is willing to pay them - so by paying Lowey $600 as reported says to me the Yarraweyah committee deems that's what he's worth to have him join their playing list.

akka dakka
15 Nov 2006, 10:48

admire your values there Sparra. players come and go and I reckon the majority of clubs feel short changed after they have spent big dollars but I guess the final decision is in the clubs hands and there are obviously not enough committe people around like you to cut out the big spending the way it gets handed out these days. For the sake of country footy something needs to be done about it

sparra
15 Nov 2006, 11:07

I reckon a lot of clubs will die out or barely hang on to existence unless the AFL steps in

For the amount of money raised by the AFL what do they give back to grass roots footy - absolutely f all

Sure if you are involved with the Bushies coaching etc expect handouts ( for doing f all also, but that's another story) but for the minor and for that matter the major leagues life is pretty tough and a few handouts would be nice, a few ideas -

A straight out cash donation - 10 or more free footballs each year - insurance assistance - all league fees subsidised by AFL -

Anyway they can stick the AFL I have put a ban on it and now only watch Country Footy

TuskenRaider
15 Nov 2006, 11:20
I reckon a lot of clubs will die out or barely hang on to existence unless the AFL steps in

For the amount of money raised by the AFL what do they give back to grass roots footy - absolutely f all

Sure if you are involved with the Bushies coaching etc expect handouts ( for doing f all also, but that's another story) but for the minor and for that matter the major leagues life is pretty tough and a few handouts would be nice, a few ideas -

A straight out cash donation - 10 or more free footballs each year - insurance assistance - all league fees subsidised by AFL -

Anyway they can stick the AFL I have put a ban on it and now only watch Country Footy

Agree with your comments Sparra but the AFL shouldn't be giving cash donations, I think they should get into the area of giving grants to assist with capital improvements for changerooms, lights, jumpers etc. or grants like you mentioned of 10 footballs.

Clubs have to spend within their means and it's up to clubs not to throw money away on average players who are demanding too much.

Doona2
15 Nov 2006, 11:21

Here here, we in the bush see little of the million's and million's the AFL generate's each year.

akka dakka
15 Nov 2006, 11:32
If clubs do die because of this they can only blame themselves.

A player is only worth what someone is willing to pay them - so by paying Lowey $600 as reported says to me the Yarraweyah committee deems that's what he's worth to have him join their playing list.

Agree that clubs only have themselves to blame and they have the final say in all of this .

I think a player is worth whatever value he can bring to a certain club not what they are willing to pay him - thats just my opinion

lion's_roar
15 Nov 2006, 11:49
Agree that clubs only have themselves to blame and they have the final say in all of this .

I think a player is worth whatever value he can bring to a certain club not what they are willing to pay him - thats just my opinion

If someone wants to pay me $200 a game as one of the league's finest EVER benchwarmers (premiership bench warmer at that), I promise to put it all back over the bar.

head67
15 Nov 2006, 13:03
Here here, we in the bush see little of the million's and million's the AFL generate's each year.
Interesting reading, in that all op's are same. I too agree on these redic amounts not being justified. When you calculate an hourly rate of some of the 600 to 1000$ a game it will scare the crap out of you. What about clubs who actually draw up a job description that requires the contracted player/coach to help generate revnue and putting in x amount of hrs per week. I do know of one previous arrangement in the GVFL. Any other instances?

TheJuddstarr#3
15 Nov 2006, 13:44
why doesnt brad lowe have a crack at a better league in the area... something like gvfl. ive heard he is more than capable to play at that level.
600 doesnt seem to bad if hes that good. especially these days. that wouldnt even be half of what some "big shots" are getting in gvfl.
does anybody from ardmona know a figure of what he was getting there?