View Full Version : Kyabram District FL

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72

hank1
28th September 2005, 17:32
What are the early recruiting moves for the KDL.
Canavan $15,000 to coach Gig non-playing.
Brendan White
Trav Wayman

Lancy appointed Corey Carver to Coach, wonder how many assistants they will have this year, think they've averaged 5 a year for the past few.

Tally look like losing Trainidis to non-playing assistants role in GV. Also Sidebottoms to Mooroopna.

Murch will probably self destruct

Ardy will slide down the ladder again with Perry the saviour leaving.

Nagambie and Avenel should pick a little especially with the U/18 talent.

Rushy looks as though Hanson will coach again so they will be looking to atone for this year.

Stanhope would look to be up there again, especially the way the lost the GF.

acciarito
28th September 2005, 18:02
yes some interesting news out of stanhope
rumour has it that a few melbourne boys may be heading there
through a connection at the club, and the guys going can play
so big chance of stanhope winning the flag they probably deserved

hank1
28th September 2005, 21:26

Any names and/or where they played this year?

Travvy43
29th September 2005, 09:11

Your not referring to an Ash Comer/ joel harrison are you??

Guinea
29th September 2005, 09:22
What are the early recruiting moves for the KDL.
Canavan $15,000 to coach Gig non-playing.
Brendan White
Trav Wayman

Lancy appointed Corey Carver to Coach, wonder how many assistants they will have this year, think they've averaged 5 a year for the past few.

Tally look like losing Trainidis to non-playing assistants role in GV. Also Sidebottoms to Mooroopna.

Murch will probably self destruct

Ardy will slide down the ladder again with Perry the saviour leaving.

Nagambie and Avenel should pick a little especially with the U/18 talent.

Rushy looks as though Hanson will coach again so they will be looking to atone for this year.

Stanhope would look to be up there again, especially the way the lost the GF.

Hank old boy, you stated in a previous thread that each year the Sidebottom's sign with Mooroopna but never end up playing there, so I wouldn't be locking them in yet...If Trianidis leaves, Montgomery retires, Wayman goes to Girgaree and the Sidebottom's do happen to push on that doesn't leave much for their chances of back-to-back flags.

Agreed, you never know which way Murch will go. Apparently McDonald said at the presentation night that they wanted "one last tilt at it (presumably the flag)" Not sure if that means all the $ they've spent over the last couple of years has left them a bit decimated, or not, Wayne Pedersen has been a bit quiet for a while. Got any news on your side, mate?

I guess Avenel and Nagambie's fortunes (& Stanhope's in a way) will rely on where Pearce ends up. For his own sake, I hope Rattray stays at Seymour, but there are still rumours that he could end up at either nagambie or Avenel, or even Girgaree, as well, so if the lakers got him and Pearce, and with their juniors, you would expect them to be very competitive, if not favourites..

You'd expect Stanhope to be strong because they've got the best bunch of locals. Even if they lost Grey and Pearce, not many others would be on much $, so they could afford to recruit aggressively, and always seem to get one out of the woodworks.

Hanson has signed for a third year at Rushy after they're disappointing exit from the finals. Canavan, Pateman, Morgan & B&F winner Gamble will be the likely losses, haven't heard who they might be recruiting, though as stated on a previous thread, Travis Perry might be returning if Tat don't sign him.

The Yze's have been heavily linked to Ardmona, but more on the proviso that Perry coaches again. A lot could happen between now and April 06. Hasn't Meka retired each year for the last 5?! $ talks loud with him..

Merrigum are cashed up and looking to spend, with the Fonua's linked there. Probably dependent on whether Peter White goes there. Travvy and Hank are both sceptical of this happening, so it could be another long year for the dogs. How does Josh stammers go? Sev's new love child...

How do you expect yea will go next year? Doona - what are your expectations coming into the KDL in 06? Will moving to the KDL effect how many Broadford-based players stay at the club? Wouldn't there be less travel in the HDFL?

jmain14
29th September 2005, 10:45
Hanson has signed for a third year at Rushy after they're disappointing exit from the finals.
rumour was that he was on his way back to rochy as a senior player and reserves coach but I guess the fact that he has signed on at rushy again puts that rumour to bed.

Travvy43
29th September 2005, 10:50
Noticed in another thread that H Barnett had been contacted by girgarre. Offered him some good coin too. will be interesting if Lancaster counter the offer put forward by the roos, he has played there before. Lancy may not have the coin to match the girgarre offer though

Guinea
29th September 2005, 10:56
Noticed in another thread that H Barnett had been contacted by girgarre. Offered him some good coin too. will be interesting if Lancaster counter the offer put forward by the roos, he has played there before. Lancy may not have the coin to match the girgarre offer though

Yeh, I said that Girgarre had offered Heath $400/game, which came straight from the mouth of his brother (and is therefore a pretty reliable source). Does anyone know a lot about Heath Barnett - is he the type of guy who would definitely go and play for that type of coin? Is there a chance that he might go back to Lancy with his mates, or does he have stronger ties at Ky? How did he go last year at Ky Travvy, gun, regular, or fringe player? In your opinion, how would he go in the KDFL if he decided to play there?

Travvy43
29th September 2005, 11:04
Yeh, I said that Girgarre had offered Heath $400/game, which came straight from the mouth of his brother (and is therefore a pretty reliable source). Does anyone know a lot about Heath Barnett - is he the type of guy who would definitely go and play for that type of coin? Is there a chance that he might go back to Lancy with his mates, or does he have stronger ties at Ky? How did he go last year at Ky Travvy, gun, regular, or fringe player? In your opinion, how would he go in the KDFL if he decided to play there?

Barnette is a good player at GV level. early on in the year he struggled a bit with his confidence, as he had just come back from a knee reco, so the first time we played them he looked a bit out of sorts. The second time we played them he would have been close tot heir best player. with their coach going down for a period of time, barny stepped up and played well. He is mobile and can take a good grab.

would dominate in the KDL.

From what i hear he is keen to buid a house, so the lure of the coin may get him to the roos. He has strong ties with ky and lancy though.

hank1
29th September 2005, 13:23
Barnett is a very classy key forward, claimed BOG for Lancy in 2001 when they last won the flag. Has been at Ky since, missing a year through a knee reco. Has shown ability in the key posts there with his strong marking and quick leads. Would be a huge boost for any KDFL side and a big loss to Ky. Wouldnt think he'd go to Gig. Ky would probably up the ante a little to get him to stay. If Lancy have coin could see him go there though I doubt Lancy would be prepared to throw that sort of money around.

hank1
29th September 2005, 13:35
Hank old boy, you stated in a previous thread that each year the Sidebottom's sign with Mooroopna but never end up playing there, so I wouldn't be locking them in yet...If Trianidis leaves, Montgomery retires, Wayman goes to Girgaree and the Sidebottom's do happen to push on that doesn't leave much for their chances of back-to-back <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=flags&v=56">flags</a>.

Agreed, you never know which way Murch will go. Apparently McDonald said at the presentation night that they wanted "one last tilt at it (presumably the flag)" Not sure if that means all the $ they've spent over the last couple of years has left them a bit decimated, or not, Wayne Pedersen has been a bit quiet for a while. Got any <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=news&v=56">news</a> on your side, mate?

I guess Avenel and Nagambie's fortunes (& Stanhope's in a way) will rely on where Pearce ends up. For his own sake, I hope Rattray stays at Seymour, but there are still rumours that he could end up at either nagambie or Avenel, or even Girgaree, as well, so if the lakers got him and Pearce, and with their juniors, you would expect them to be very competitive, if not favourites..

You'd expect Stanhope to be strong because they've got the best bunch of locals. Even if they lost Grey and Pearce, not many others would be on much $, so they could afford to recruit aggressively, and always seem to get one out of the woodworks.

Hanson has signed for a third year at Rushy after they're disappointing exit from the finals. Canavan, Pateman, Morgan & B&F winner Gamble will be the likely losses, haven't heard who they might be recruiting, though as stated on a previous thread, Travis Perry might be returning if Tat don't sign him.

The Yze's have been heavily linked to Ardmona, but more on the proviso that Perry coaches again. A lot could happen between now and April 06. Hasn't Meka retired each year for the last 5?! $ talks loud with him..

Merrigum are cashed up and looking to spend, with the Fonua's linked there. Probably dependent on whether Peter White goes there. Travvy and Hank are both sceptical of this happening, so it could be another long year for the <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=dogs&v=56">dogs</a>. How does Josh stammers go? Sev's new <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=love&v=56">love</a> child...

How do you expect yea will go next year? Doona - what are your expectations coming into the KDL in 06? Will <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=moving&v=56">moving</a> to the KDL effect how many Broadford-based players stay at the club? Wouldn't there be less <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=travel&v=56">travel</a> in the HDFL?

Josh Stammers is an excellent KDL player and was easily Merrigum's best this year. Was also rated highly at Tat having been given the Vice Captaincy in 2004. Would think he would go back to Tat this in the next couple of years.
Sidebottoms i said have put in for clearances the last couple of years, didnt say all to Mooroopna, think they were to Katandra and maybe Congupna a couple of years ago.

The Rushy players you named wont be huge losses. but probably still a couple more may go. Hanson has agreed to terms, but hasnt signed as yet so the Rochy story may still have legs. If he goes look to another Ex Rochy player Steve Ras to fill the coaching breach.

If Rattray plays KDL(I agree should stay in GV) it will be were Pearce plays so dont write off Stanhope to claim both. Also Brenton Gray was on incentives this year and they only had 3 players I believe who werent eligible for incentives so they werent spending much and may have a bit to throw around if they believe they need to top up.

jmain14
29th September 2005, 13:52
hank - do you know what darryl harrison is doing footywise next year?? you may have heard of him, he played at stanhope this year.

Travvy43
29th September 2005, 13:55
Did his knee this year i heard, so could be out for a portion of next season too

ANT JESS
29th September 2005, 14:06
Yeah true Travvy, will probably take him a few years before he will be back playing id say though. He tends to be one of the more softer blokes going around IMO. ;)

Guinea
29th September 2005, 14:11
Yeh, spot on again Travvy. Daryl had a full reco maybe a month/2wks before the KDFL finals. Another reason why Stanhope were "robbed" of the flag - missing him (gun on-baller) and top goal-kicker Shaun Pearce. It will actually be interesting to see when and if he gets back in 2006 - he's a pretty fit rooster and obviously he'll take a few weeks to get the confidence back in his knee, so if he was back playing about 6wks before the finals starting (presuming Stanhope make it, which you'd almost put you're house on), he might peak nicely for the finals. probably the type of bloke who is capable of being back by round 1 as he looks after his body well, but i couldn't see the point in it myself. Also Travvy, when you made mention of Ash Comer and Joel Harrison earlier, had you heard they might be going back to Stanhope, or are they just the blokes you thought whoever posted it was talking about?

Travvy43
29th September 2005, 14:28
Also Travvy, when you made mention of Ash Comer and Joel Harrison earlier, had you heard they might be going back to Stanhope, or are they just the blokes you thought whoever posted it was talking about?

Hav ewnot heard anything however i know they ar blokes that come back from Melbourne time to time if Stanhope are close to getting flag. Two quality players when fit.

Guinea
29th September 2005, 14:42
Actually Travvy, what's the latest with Tonny, have they made any advances to any prospective coaches that you know of? Did Scott Hansen take any players from Tonny to Rushworth with him? Are there any that might go there with him this year?

jmain14
29th September 2005, 14:42
Yeh, spot on again Travvy. Daryl had a full reco maybe a month/2wks before the KDFL finals. Another reason why Stanhope were "robbed" of the flag - missing him (gun on-baller)
wouldn't go that far. I am with big ant on this one, I also think he is highly overrated.

jmain14
29th September 2005, 14:44
Actually Travvy, what's the latest with Tonny, have they made any advances to any prospective coaches that you know of? Did Scott Hansen take any players from Tonny to Rushworth with him? Are there any that might go there with him this year?
the olhsen brothers came with scotty and so did canavan didn't they travvy??

Guinea
29th September 2005, 14:47
[QUOTE=jmain14]wouldn't go that far. I am with big ant on this one, I also think he is highly overrated.[/QUOTE

Please explain?? If I'm not mistaken, Rochy is the club that you follow? Didn't he play some awesome games there in 02 & 04? particularly in the finals of 04? If my mail is correct he won a league medal for Stanhope, and as such probably deserves the title of "gun on-baller", particularly in that league.

Got no problems if you think he is over-rated, you're entitled to your opinion, but would love to hear your justification...

Travvy43
29th September 2005, 14:47
the olhsen brothers came with scotty and so did canavan didn't they travvy??

Yeah spot on with the olly boys, canavan, kieran Brennan and daniel Cox. Was word that they would come back to tonny next year although with scotty signing on again that move could be up in the air.

No word on a coach for tonny yet, although a committee has been formed ((probably 2 months to late) to target someone to take over the cavant coaching postiion.

Guinea
29th September 2005, 14:50
Do you know if they have anyone in particular in their sights? Is there anyone (maybe Des Campbell), that could get the Campbell's back to Tonny from Mooroopna, and Brunt back from Picola United (?), and perhaps even convince yourself not to look for a club in Melbourne 06 ;)

jmain14
29th September 2005, 14:59
Please explain?? If I'm not mistaken, Rochy is the club that you follow? Didn't he play some awesome games there in 02 & 04? particularly in the finals of 04? If my mail is correct he won a league medal for Stanhope, and as such probably deserves the title of "gun on-baller", particularly in that league.

Got no problems if you think he is over-rated, you're entitled to your opinion, but would love to hear your justification...
yeah righto mate, you've got me there. I guess he wasn't too bad at rochy, I just didn't like his beard.

jmain14
29th September 2005, 15:00
Do you know if they have anyone in particular in their sights? Is there anyone (maybe Des Campbell), that could get the Campbell's back to Tonny from Mooroopna, and Brunt back from Picola United (?), and perhaps even convince yourself not to look for a club in Melbourne 06 ;)
yeah have ya worked out what you are doing next year travvy?? it'd be great if the blues could get some of those names back to the club.

Travvy43
29th September 2005, 15:04

hmmmm... stalker??? Des campbell would be fantastic for the club, as would his sons brad and blake. Brunt has resigned to coach picola again for next year although that does not mean much after his efforts last year (announcing he would play on at congupna at their pres night only to announce he is coaching picola a month or so lateR). Hansen back would be good too.

Sidey_87
29th September 2005, 15:10
Tyson Sidebottom won't leave Tally unless there is a huge amount of money involved. Maybe United could snag him to go with the Hazelman brothers in the midfield.

Doona2
29th September 2005, 15:58
How do you expect yea will go next year? Doona - what are your expectations coming into the KDL in 06? Will moving to the KDL effect how many Broadford-based players stay at the club? Wouldn't there be less travel in the HDFL?

Expectations would first be to make sure we're competitive, but by the sounds of things we'll struggle in the $$$ stakes. Our Broadford/Seymour connections travel less than those from Yea/Flowerdale already, so travelling wont be a concern - travelling has nothing to do with why so many Braodford blokes are currently involved at Yea. If rumours are accurate, we're a big show to land more disenchantered Broady recruits from over the hill for 2006.

Guinea
29th September 2005, 16:06
Expectations would first be to make sure we're competitive, but by the sounds of things we'll struggle in the $$$ stakes. Our Broadford/Seymour connections travel less than those from Yea/Flowerdale already, so travelling wont be a concern - travelling has nothing to do with why so many Braodford blokes are currently involved at Yea. If rumours are accurate, we're a big show to land more disenchantered Broady recruits from over the hill for 2006.

You definitely play your cards pretty close to your chest. I admire the way you don't skite about your club. As an observer, I'd say that given you won the flag and were good enough to beat Rumba, and haven't had a mass exodus of quality players (that we know of!), you would think that you would finish at least in the top 3 in the KDFL! Of course, I realise you'd look like a bit of a knob if you came out and said that, but you must already be more than confident of being competitive? And no-one has picked up any guns yet in the KDFL. I'd say that at this stage I'd be surprised if you blokes didn't play off - either against Stanhope or Nagambie (depending on where Pearce/Rattray/Grey end up).

Doona2
29th September 2005, 16:17
You definitely play your cards pretty close to your chest. I admire the way you don't skite about your club. As an observer, I'd say that given you won the flag and were good enough to beat Rumba, and haven't had a mass exodus of quality players (that we know of!), you would think that you would finish at least in the top 3 in the KDFL! Of course, I realise you'd look like a bit of a knob if you came out and said that, but you must already be more than confident of being competitive? And no-one has picked up any guns yet in the KDFL. I'd say that at this stage I'd be surprised if you blokes didn't play off - either against Stanhope or Nagambie (depending on where Pearce/Rattray/Grey end up).

Complete opposite mate - always keen to talk footy and my club, but to think we'd play off would be foolish, our highest paid footballer (5 paid players in total) was $150 a game so how are we meant to be competitive against the likes of Nagambie, Girgarre and co you refer to? Tried to lure Rattray to Yea after spending time at Avenel a few years back and certainly see our only chance of success is if we have a Patty type up forward.

hank1
29th September 2005, 17:35
Yea will be very competitive because like Stanhope they have a large core group of home grown talent(Who obviously dont ask for the world). Yea and Stanhope actually played off in the KDL 3rds in 96 and many products have come through both sides from there. Doona, I think that is great that no one got paid outlandish money. Can't believe Adrian Wilson didnt get over $200 though, he would be worth $300. Thats what Rattray would be asking.

Mainey, on Daryl Harrison he will be back mid year at worst. Stanhope coaching job is on offer, but also been wooed by a Murray League club. I think Rochy is always a chance with him too. Wouldnt think he would wait too much longer b4 making a decision as would want to start recruiting.

Todd Harrison is a chance to return to Stanhope(from Melb), but as for his brother Joel and Ash Comer I don't know.

hank1
29th September 2005, 17:42
hmmmm... stalker??? Des campbell would be fantastic for the club, as would his sons brad and blake. Brunt has resigned to coach picola again for next year although that does not mean much after his efforts last year (announcing he would play on at congupna at their pres night only to announce he is <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=coaching&v=56">coaching</a> picola a month or so lateR). Hansen back would be good too.

Brunt upped the ante at Picola to $24,000 before agreeing to terms, thats huge money for a minor league.

Travvy43
30th September 2005, 07:31
[QUOTE=hank1
Mainey, on Daryl Harrison he will be back mid year at worst. Stanhope coaching job is on offer, but also been wooed by a Murray League club. I think Rochy is always a chance with him too. Wouldnt think he would wait too much longer b4 making a decision as would want to start recruiting.

Todd Harrison is a chance to return to Stanhope(from Melb), but as for his brother Joel and Ash Comer I don't know.[/QUOTE]

Whos the Murray league club daryl harrison is attracting interest from, or is it a potential murray league club (Tonny)?

Good point with Todd Harrison, a bit disgruntled after his year with Sunshine in the WRFL. Struggled to get game time in the ones, so yeah he could be on the move back up bush.

Travvy43
30th September 2005, 07:33
Brunt upped the ante at Picola to $24,000 before agreeing to terms, thats huge money for a minor league.

That is massive coin for a monior league club that did not make the grand final last year. He did win the medla which would throw his packet up, but $24k!!!

Guinea
30th September 2005, 08:58
Yeh, it's interesting, the $ that gets brandied around in minor league football. Doona and Hank have both touched on it. I know Brunty can obviously play a bit, won the medal in that league last year and the Morrison a few years back, but what would the incentive be to pay him that much money? It must break Picola's heart to hear that a player as good as Brenton Grey plays only for incentives at Stanhope and big Wilson was on $150 at Yea. Surely Picola would be better off getting 3-4 quality players at $6-8K each rather than playing the one bloke $24K? In fact, from what Doona and Hank have both said, Brunt would almost be getting more than the entire 21 at both Stanhope and Yea?? I doubt there'd be many major league players on that type of coin.

Travvy43
30th September 2005, 09:34
Yeh, it's interesting, the $ that gets brandied around in minor league football. Doona and Hank have both touched on it. I know Brunty can obviously play a bit, won the medal in that league last year and the Morrison a few years back, but what would the incentive be to pay him that much money? It must break Picola's heart to hear that a player as good as Brenton Grey plays only for incentives at Stanhope and big Wilson was on $150 at Yea. Surely Picola would be better off getting 3-4 quality players at $6-8K each rather than playing the one bloke $24K? In fact, from what Doona and Hank have both said, Brunt would almost be getting more than the entire 21 at both Stanhope and Yea?? I doubt there'd be many major league players on that type of coin.

Heard of a few nth ballarat players being offered a lot of coin to venture into the coacing ranks. I know hutchinson is playing int he ballarat league next year and a while ago there was rumours circulating that $40k wa son offer to lure a rooster into coaching a district league club

johnnyholmes
30th September 2005, 09:43
Hi, Im new to using Bigfooty. If any country teams are interested in a good VFL midfielders please private msg me and we will be in contact...

Guinea
30th September 2005, 10:07
Hi, Im new to using Bigfooty. If any country teams are interested in a good VFL midfielders please private msg me and we will be in contact...

Hi johnny, a bloke named "researcher" also tried a similar approach to finding a new club. He didn't get a good reception, to be honest. You might have more success if you start a new thread titled something like "gun VFL midfielders, free to good home...", as this threat doesn't get viewed by that many people because it mainly talks about footy news in the one minor league. Good luck in your endeavours, I would be more than happy to send you my contact details to try and lure you to my club, but i think you've gone the wrong way about it and you don't come across as being overly genuine.

johnnyholmes
30th September 2005, 10:16
Hey Guinea, Just thought it was a good idea. Me and my mates who play in the VFL are thinking of playing footy in the country next year. Just thought it was a good way of connecting with people from clubs who may not get to see much VFL football. Its early days in the recruiting for clubs so once i register at www.sportconnect.com.au I will get a fair few calls.
But I thought I would try this approach.....Fair enough??

Travvy43
30th September 2005, 10:18
Well give us a bit of an overview johnny, what club did you play at, how many senior/ seconds games, etc.

johnnyholmes
30th September 2005, 10:22
played for Port Melb just over 50 games, and about the same (50) Reserve games. Midfielder, good in and under type player. Private message me if u need more info

Travvy43
30th September 2005, 10:29
Anthony Aloi?????

Guinea
30th September 2005, 10:38
Anthony Aloi?????

you're not bad Travvy! ;) Reckon you could be on the money..

Travvy43
30th September 2005, 10:49
Anthony and his brother nick, nick had a good year with moonee valley but is keen tog etinto some fresh country area. If these are the two blokes they would be assetts for any country footy club. Robbie cheevers could be in the mix too maybe???

Flat Track Bully
30th September 2005, 18:12
That is massive coin for a monior league club that did not make the grand final last year. He did win the medla which would throw his packet up, but $24k!!!

Tarvvy, I know of one media program (and one of their presenters) who had a love affair with Brunty....the only league medalist, other than Byers, they interviewed, was Brunt...

Doona2
1st October 2005, 01:29
Wilson was on $150 at Yea. From what Doona and Hank have both said, Brunt would almost be getting more than the entire 21 at both Stanhope and Yea?? I doubt there'd be many major league players on that type of coin.

Dunno where you got your info on Wilson there Guinea - said our highest was $150 never said it was Wilson. Lets stick to talking about the football prostitues and leave the good blokes out of it. If this Brunt rumour is true, that's exactly what is killing country footy at both major and minor level, $$$ have become more important than team success in a lot of players minds.

Doona2
1st October 2005, 01:33
Doona, I think that is great that no one got paid outlandish money. Can't believe Adrian Wilson didnt get over $200 though, he would be worth $300.

Believe it Hank, thats the beauty of being out at Yea mate, they're not interested in football prostitutes. We were very fortunate to assemble a group of men motivated to chase a premiership, not money driven. The same will be the case at Yea in 2006 and beyond - a ripper no nonsense grass roots footy club.

hank1
2nd October 2005, 12:29
Tarvvy, I know of one media program (and one of their presenters) who had a <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=love&v=56">love</a> affair with Brunty....the only league medalist, other than Byers, they interviewed, was Brunt...
That wouldnt be that oldridge bloke on win news would it? He seemed to get pretty excited about Brunt and United.

hank1
2nd October 2005, 12:41
[QUOTE=Travvy43]Whos the Murray league club daryl harrison is attracting interest from, or is it a potential murray league club (Tonny)?

Yeah he didnt say but I would assume Tonny, his old man played there. Couldnt see him going to any other Murray League club, would just go back to GV.

centreman
2nd October 2005, 18:11
That wouldnt be that oldridge bloke on win news would it? He seemed to get pretty excited about Brunt and United.

I heard he vilified him - orally!

Guinea
3rd October 2005, 11:36
Dunno where you got your info on Wilson there Guinea - said our highest was $150 never said it was Wilson. Lets stick to talking about the football prostitues and leave the good blokes out of it. If this Brunt rumour is true, that's exactly what is killing country footy at both major and minor level, $$$ have become more important than team success in a lot of players minds.

Yeh, apologies Doona, I certainly have no idea who gets what at Yea, just assumed from an earlier post by Hank that Wilson must have been your top played player. I was actually trying to state that I thought Yea and Stanhope would probably beat Picola, yet Picola have spent more on Brunt than Stanhope and Yea have both spent on thier entire playing lists! Absolutely agree that paying that kind of $ is what's killing country footy, but I doubt Brunt asked for that much - obviously they offered it to him. If Yea came to you and said they had a major sponsor (which Picola may or may not have) that had tipped in a lot of money to the club and they were prepared to double your income to reward you for leading them to a premiership, would you honestly turn it down...? I don't think it's fair to say that Brunt's necessarily a bad bloke or a prostitute for excepting an offer that was made to him. He can't make the club pay him $24k...

Travvy43
3rd October 2005, 11:51
Brunty would have a number of clubs chasing him and this would have led to his price being pushed up. champion player and good bloke to boot.

Doona2
3rd October 2005, 12:00
Yeh, apologies Doona, I certainly have no idea who gets what at Yea, just assumed from an earlier post by Hank that Wilson must have been your top played player. I was actually trying to state that I thought Yea and Stanhope would probably beat Picola, yet Picola have spent more on Brunt than Stanhope and Yea have both spent on thier entire playing lists! Absolutely agree that paying that kind of $ is what's killing country footy, but I doubt Brunt asked for that much - obviously they offered it to him. If Yea came to you and said they had a major sponsor (which Picola may or may not have) that had tipped in a lot of money to the club and they were prepared to double your income to reward you for leading them to a premiership, would you honestly turn it down...? I don't think it's fair to say that Brunt's necessarily a bad bloke or a prostitute for excepting an offer that was made to him. He can't make the club pay him $24k...

No drama's mate, dont think Brunt's name was directly mentioned as a prostitue, didnt mean to hit a nerve if he's ya mate. But you cant deny there are plenty of blokes around happy to finish 3rd, 4th, 5th as long as they get big bucks every week.

On the pay thing, absolutely I would turn it down!! I swear on my late fathers grave that I got $80 a week this year, loved every minute of it and saw it as a real priviledge to coach such a great club and be involved with such an inspiring group of men.

Why would I take the $$$ and cost myself the chance of success when that money could be used to lure more on field talent. Not many highly paid coaches do well with talentless list's do they?

Would much rather spend the money on players than coaches, surely a premiership medal, names on honour boards etc. and keeping a strong proud tradition is why we're all involved in football . . . or am I missing something?

Guinea
3rd October 2005, 12:33
No drama's mate, dont think Brunt's name was directly mentioned as a prostitue, didnt mean to hit a nerve if he's ya mate. But you cant deny there are plenty of blokes around happy to finish 3rd, 4th, 5th as long as they get big bucks every week.

On the pay thing, absolutely I would turn it down!! I swear on my fathers grave that I got $80 a week this year, loved every minute of it and saw it as a real priviledge to coach such a great club and be involved with such an inspiring group of men.

Why would I take the $$$ and cost myself the chance of success when that money could be used to lure more on field talent. Not many highly paid coaches do well with talentless list's do they?

Would much rather spend the money on players than coaches, surely a premiership medal, names on honour boards etc. and keeping a strong proud tradition is why we're all involved in football . . . or am I missing something?

Nah mate, absolutely agree with you, and admire your stance on the issue and your honesty, as well. Obviously, you've answered my question, and would refuse a well-deserved pay rise, even if the club could afford to and was happy to, pay you extra. What I mean is, even though you probably haven't mentioned Brunt specifically as a prostitute (though I think what you mean with the term is a player/s who get paid huge $ and are happier with that and finishing mid-range than getting paid less but winning flags, which seems to be the categoty that Brunt fits into), is it his fault that he takes the money and is less-advantaged by a weaker list, or the clubs for offering him that much to do it, rather than getting a stronger list by sharing the money with 4-5 players and not having him coach there?

Doona2
3rd October 2005, 12:41
Nah mate, absolutely agree with you, and admire your stance on the issue and your honesty, as well. Obviously, you've answered my question, and would refuse a well-deserved pay rise, even if the club could afford to and was happy to, pay you extra. What I mean is, even though you probably haven't mentioned Brunt specifically as a prostitute (though I think what you mean with the term is a player/s who get paid huge $ and are happier with that and finishing mid-range than getting paid less but winning flags, which seems to be the categoty that Brunt fits into), is it his fault that he takes the money and is less-advantaged by a weaker list, or the clubs for offering him that much to do it, rather than getting a stronger list by sharing the money with 4-5 players and not having him coach there?

In a way I do think it can be the players fault at times. If it appears you're guna finish middle of the road, and think a player may make the difference Id applaud any man who said "take $100 off me and give it to someone else if it'll make the difference."

I say that because our B&F this season (Chris Leatham) and arguably Yea's most important player did exactly that during the pre-season - he said he'd take a pay cut to ensure he was part of a premiership side if it meant we'd gain another player (possibly a Jon Solomon) out of it.

Former B&F, '03 premiership skipper and regular CGFL rep Tom Butterworth told the club he wouldn't take any match payments for 2005 for the same reason.

Again I say how glad to be associated with a club who's main focus is premiership success. Being a Broadford boy I have seen many times over how clubs can throw money away for no return.

Guinea
4th October 2005, 11:52
"Again I say how glad to be associated with a club who's main focus is premiership success. Being a Broadford boy I have seen many times over how clubs can throw money away for no return."

Doona, given your success at Yea, have Broady tried to get you back? Do you think the culture that is current at Yea (try to "develop" flags instead of buying them), could be instilled at Broadford? What do they need to do to be successful again?

It's a great effort on your behalf to recruit blokes like Wilson and Solomon. Given that you obviously didn't offer them a lot of $, would it be right to assume that you promoted the fact that Yea would be a great chance for a flag if they both came down? In other words, did they mainly decide to play at Yea for the chance to win a premiership?

cosby
4th October 2005, 13:09
i've heard rumours that wayman has signed with girgarre, but also that he has retired all together. anyone?
troy snelson was also rumoured to be heading to gig, but now tatura are into him.

Doona2
4th October 2005, 14:20
"Again I say how glad to be associated with a club who's main focus is premiership success. Being a Broadford boy I have seen many times over how clubs can throw money away for no return."

Doona, given your success at Yea, have Broady tried to get you back? Do you think the culture that is current at Yea (try to "develop" flags instead of buying them), could be instilled at Broadford? What do they need to do to be successful again?

It's a great effort on your behalf to recruit blokes like Wilson and Solomon. Given that you obviously didn't offer them a lot of $, would it be right to assume that you promoted the fact that Yea would be a great chance for a flag if they both came down? In other words, did they mainly decide to play at Yea for the chance to win a premiership?

On part one - Broadford have not rang myself or Billy Neilson. It's fair to say we've come under a lot of criticism from many "non locals" involved at BFNC which has made it difficult to feel welcome in the local pubs etc. But all along our motivation has been to learn the coaching caper away to hopefully one day make a difference back home.

Part two - thats exactly how we attacked our recruiting, having one a flag in '03, with a 4th place in '04 we knew what we needed to top us off so we went after it. Best call we made was to Wilson, who brought with him Terry Whitwam, Glenn Ryan and Damien Lord.

Doona2
4th October 2005, 14:21
i've heard rumours that wayman has signed with girgarre, but also that he has retired all together. anyone?
troy snelson was also rumoured to be heading to gig, but now tatura are into him.

From memory Wayman didnt set the world on fire in the CGFL - is there a lack of key defenders in the KDFL or has his game improved some

cosby
4th October 2005, 14:47
are you saying that wayman played in the backline or are you suggesting that key defenders are needed to man him up?

there are enough good key defenders getting around the kdfl. wayman himself had a pretty good year at full forward for tally -over 100 goals - but didn't do alot against the really good teams.

Doona2
4th October 2005, 15:41
wayman himself had a pretty good year at full forward for tally -over 100 goals - but didn't do alot against the really good teams.

exactly what i was asking thanks

hank1
4th October 2005, 17:29
exactly what i was asking thanks

Wayman showed his true colours in the finals where he kicked 10 goals in 4 games, and as the going got tougher he got worse. Couldnt hack the pressure. Fair case by this;(But don't forget he has got a Premiership medal around his kneck)

Qualifying Final 5 goals
2nd Semi 2 goals
Prelim 3 goals
GF 0 goals.

Admittedly the GF wasnt a great day for forwards. Good mark, bad kick, but if someone plays him tight seems to run under the ball a lot, like to play blokes from behind and nudge them under the pill.

On someones comment about what he is doing next year, Gig did throw a fair wack at him, but is also a big chance to hang up the boots. Depends how much the money talks for him.

hank1
4th October 2005, 17:38
Troy Snelson will probably stay at Rushy now that Hanson is coaching there again. They look like they will be right up there again with 2 or 3 3rds players coming into the side who played fair chunk of seniors this year. Tim Rasmussen may join his brother Steve there also, and Ben Parker(Bushies, Adelaide, Mooroopna, United, Swans etc. etc.) and brother Sam are a chance to front up.

School teacher from St. Augs in Ky is the front runner for the Merrigumn coaching job. Anyone know his name or background, came from Echuca area.

cosby
4th October 2005, 18:27
i've heard the merrigum coaching job has already been given to shane mclennan. assistant coach at lanky this year.

hank1
4th October 2005, 19:02
i've heard the merrigum coaching job has already been given to shane mclennan. assistant coach at lanky this year.

Yeah I believe thats him, put in for Lancy job but Corey got the nod ahead of him

cosby
4th October 2005, 19:12
he's a detective who works in shepp.

just on snels, was talking with two of his best mates on the weekend and they said he was tossing up between gig and tat.

hank1
4th October 2005, 19:56
yeah could be on the money with snels.

McLennan played GV for Tat and Ky in the 80's, he put in for the Ky coaching job in 2004 when Adamson got it. Informant obviously had his wires crossed a little, had the name right, but not occupation.

Wayde Petersen
4th October 2005, 22:12
Well, i'm on the committee at Murch, and even I don't know which way we're going to go, but if we're going to go further, we're going to need a good Full Back, a good Centre Half Back, and a tough in and under solid midfielder to put the pressure off the likes Of Tim Richter & Paul Mahoney, who do such a great job for us, we have 4-5 Under 18's players that could easily fit into our senior side (and a few more that stood tall during the finals series) , so we've got some fresh lgs coming through.

Financially, we're doing allright, yes we don't have the massive pool of money that some KDFL clubs have (we've got enough to get by thank you very much), but we need to be smarter with our recruiting than what we were this season, we're getting a couple of players back from overseas next year (Mel Rice & Shannon Broadbent), and Matt McDonald's been very active on the recruiting side of things, so we could get a good idea as to where we are come 2006, but it is the silly season, so we don't know.

But, lastly I just want the club to be the happy friendly place that we have always been, we lost some of that vibe this year due to petty dramas and hissy fits, but efforts will be doubled to make sure that we're back to being not only a friendly club but a competitive one as well.

Guinea
5th October 2005, 09:22
Troy Snelson will probably stay at Rushy now that Hanson is coaching there again. They look like they will be right up there again with 2 or 3 3rds players coming into the side who played fair chunk of seniors this year. Tim Rasmussen may join his brother Steve there also, and Ben Parker(Bushies, Adelaide, Mooroopna, United, Swans etc. etc.) and brother Sam are a chance to front up.

Gee Hank, not many people have given this much. Tim Rasmussen and Ben Parker would be gun recruits for any GV side, let alone KDL side!! Surely they'd be hard to stop if they picked up those blokes. Where did you get that information from?? Tatura have been trying to recruit a guy called Travis Perry, but apparently he told them he'd more than likely be going to Rushy (think he played in a premiership there). What kind of pick up will he be for them? I know Tat is real hopeful of getting him.

jmain14
5th October 2005, 10:02
Gee Hank, not many people have given this much. Tim Rasmussen and Ben Parker would be gun recruits for any GV side, let alone KDL side!! Surely they'd be hard to stop if they picked up those blokes. Where did you get that information from?? Tatura have been trying to recruit a guy called Travis Perry, but apparently he told them he'd more than likely be going to Rushy (think he played in a premiership there). What kind of pick up will he be for them? I know at Tat is real hopeful of getting him.
timmy is an interesting one, I have heard the same thing. and btw guinea - I beleive its tavis perry and not travis - I would of thought you'd have known that he he.

Guinea
5th October 2005, 10:08
Don't know what you mean, mate, wouldn't know the bloke from a bar of soap. All I know is that Tat have been chasing him for a while and he used to play for Rochy.

Guinea
5th October 2005, 14:34
Wayman showed his true colours in the finals where he kicked 10 goals in 4 games, and as the going got tougher he got worse. Couldnt hack the pressure. Fair case by this;(But don't forget he has got a Premiership medal around his kneck)

Qualifying Final 5 goals
2nd Semi 2 goals
Prelim 3 goals
GF 0 goals.

Admittedly the GF wasnt a great day for forwards. Good mark, bad kick, but if someone plays him tight seems to run under the ball a lot, like to play blokes from behind and nudge them under the pill.

On someones comment about what he is doing next year, Gig did throw a fair wack at him, but is also a big chance to hang up the boots. Depends how much the money talks for him.

How old is Wayman? Personally, I'd be surprised if both he and Meka didn't go around again. Meka is well known for his love of the $ and since the rumours about Wayman going to Gig came so quickly after (or even before!) they'd won the flag, obviously he is, too. Surely if you kicked 100 goals in a season you'd back yourself in to have the ability to play on the next year...if he buckled under the pressure so badly in the finals, who stood up for them? Surely someone must have if they went to go on and win the big one...

Travvy43
5th October 2005, 16:23
but we need to be smarter with our recruiting than what we were this season.

Hey Wayde, speaking of your recruiting last year, how did hass howard go in the season just gone, did not see much of his name mentioned much in the papers

Travvy43
5th October 2005, 16:24
School teacher from St. Augs in Ky is the front runner for the Merrigumn coaching job. Anyone know his name or background, came from Echuca area.

the last person i knew of who was the PE teach at St Augs was Brayden Stone. Fringe player with Kyabram but a good KDL player. Would only be 25 years old and has a good motor. Not sure he would be inline for a coaching job though.

Guinea
6th October 2005, 09:38
the last person i knew of who was the PE teach at St Augs was Brayden Stone. Fringe player with Kyabram but a good KDL player. Would only be 25 years old and has a good motor. Not sure he would be inline for a coaching job though.

I doubt they're be too many clubs, even in the KDL, who would think a bloke like Stoney would be their saviour! Good, but not great player at that standard, isnt the kind of bloke you'd like to be leading you into battle...

Travvy43
6th October 2005, 11:02
I doubt they're be too many clubs, even in the KDL, who would think a bloke like Stoney would be their saviour! Good, but not great player at that standard, isnt the kind of bloke you'd like to be leading you into battle...

spot on, he is not your fearless leader type of player and yeah would not be the saviour of a club.

Has some class though which would make him a "Good" kdl player (as i stated).

Guinea
6th October 2005, 11:11
Still, if Lancy have him, Carver and Grills they'd have a decent on-ball brigade. By all reports they lacked a forward last year and missed Mitchell. Could Seirakowski play all right up forward? Heard who else they are trying to recruit?

cosby
6th October 2005, 11:18
jason moon won lanky's b&f this year so add him also.
i think a few ex-players could be headed back to lanky as it is their centenary year next year. i've heard that a few players from ky might be making the trip out the road with corey carver.

Guinea
6th October 2005, 11:25
jason moon won lanky's b&f this year so add him also.
i think a few ex-players could be headed back to lanky as it is their centenary year next year. i've heard that a few players from ky might be making the trip out the road with corey carver.

Yeh, Moony's originally a Tonny boy isn't he? Got any names on these Ky players that Carver could be taking with him? Allright to have all these on-ballers, but they need someone up forward to grab a few and finish off their good work.

Travvy43
6th October 2005, 11:53
Yeah moony played at tonny, and probably had at least one more year of GV footy left in him.

Forward on lancy's hit list may include Heath Barny, if they can offer the $400 a game gig have thrown at him.

cosby
6th October 2005, 16:53
no names yet, this is the silly season after all, all i know is that their is alot of talk that players will be leaving ky. and with the money that gig are rumoured to be offering to players don't be surpriused if half of ky ends up out there.

hank1
6th October 2005, 17:39
Yeah nah wasnt Brayden Stone, is just borderline seniors in kdfl. The bloke is new to the area, orginally from Echuca.

Wayman would be early 30's. Most of the side stood up in the last half of the GF.

Tavis Perry would be expected to line up at Rushy. Very quick pretty good skills. Wingman.

Siera could easily play up forward and be a huge headache in the KDL. Last time he was out there he just sat on a wing and did what he wanted. Fairly relaxed and doesnt like to work too hard though.

cosby
6th October 2005, 19:51
i'm pretty sure this is true hank.

hank1
10th October 2005, 16:41
Will be interesting to hear the outcome of a KDFL meeting on Wednesday night. The meeting will discuss the inclusion of Yea and also possibilities of Thornton-Eildon, Alexandra and even Violet Town coming into the league. Doubt that the clubs will be in favour of having all these southern clubs come into the league. If it is the last resort then I believe if a draw can be worked out that allows the southern clubs to play each other twice and only play northern clubs once each year and vice versa for the northern clubs i think most clubs could live with that.

Doona2
10th October 2005, 18:01
Will be interesting to hear the outcome of a KDFL meeting on Wednesday night. The meeting will discuss the inclusion of Yea and also possibilities of Thornton-Eildon, Alexandra and even Violet Town coming into the league. Doubt that the clubs will be in favour of having all these southern clubs come into the league. If it is the last resort then I believe if a draw can be worked out that allows the southern clubs to play each other twice and only play northern clubs once each year and vice versa for the northern clubs i think most clubs could live with that.

You could be spot on there hank - my mail is Yea and Violet Town will be admitted, and Alexandra and Thornton denied, although the fixture scenario could work.

hank1
10th October 2005, 19:46
yeah Doona believe that is the thinking up this way, not much had been said about Violet Town but geographical they fit in better to the League than Alex and Thornton-Eildon.

Doona2
11th October 2005, 09:40
The juggling act continues

By Bill McCarthy

October 11 2005
Shepparton News

Kyabram District Football League will give three clubs from the former Central Goulburn Football League the opportunity to address all its clubs tomorrow. The clubs - Alexandra, Thornton-Eildon and Violet Town - are likely to seek entry to the KDFL.
The Victorian Country Football League has switched its policy on the two southern clubs, wanting them to join the Yarra ValleyMountain District Football League.

The VCFL had previously directed that the three clubs be part of an 18-team Picola and District Football League.

This proposal, both as an 18-team league and a fourdivision concept, has been rejected by the Picola league and criticised as unworkable by Central Goulburn clubs and other observers.

Yea has been allocated to the KDFL by the VCFL for next season, after winning the Central Goulburn senior premiership a few weeks ago.

Alexandra and ThorntonEildon made a request about two weeks ago to talk to the KDFL.

The clubs subsequently met president John Dunlop, vicepresident Sev Cortese and secretary Greg Watson at Murchison last week.

The KDFL then agreed that the Rebels and Boners could meet with all its clubs.

In the meantime, the VCFL arranged a meeting with representatives of Alexandra and Thornton-Eildon on Thursday.

VCFL general manager Glenn Scott and north east area representative John O'Donohue met the clubs.

The two southern clubs were told that the VCFL now wanted them to go to the Yarra ValleyMountain District league, which those two clubs and Yea strongly resisted at a meeting at Alexandra during the investigation period.

However, the two clubs don't want to go further south because of travelling, state of grounds, weather, outer metropolitan influence, lack of more than one netball grade and no junior football structure.

Thornton-Eildon secretary Peter Grant told a Central Goulburn board meeting on Thursday night the VCFL was proposing to stick his club in the Yarra ValleyMountain District league second division of seven teams, only three of which had an under-18 team.

Grant said none of the second division teams had netball sides. He said the league was competing against three other netball leagues in its area and he doubted its netball component would grow.

Alexandra president Ray Steyger said that earlier in the process, the VCFL said Yea, Alexandra and Thornton-Eildon would stay in the Goulburn-Murray region.

Steyger pointed out that the two clubs had to go to the KDFL and prove they would benefit that league, yet the other CGFL clubs had been placed in leagues by the VCFL.

He queried the fairness of this.

CGFL secretary Keith Wellman said that from the word go in the investigation he tried to have the CGFL retained, but got no support from any other member of the seven-man committee.

Mr Wellman said he would attend Wednesday's meeting to support Alexandra and ThorntonEildon in their attempt to enter the Kyabram District league.

Shepparton East and Dookie United delegates indicated they expected to be playing in the Picola league next season.

Guinea
11th October 2005, 13:50
It'll be interesting to see how this one pans out. Anyone know of a likely date when this is all going to be finalised? It will be intriguing to see how the KDL pans out this year, with a few of the bottom clubs trying to level the playing field and Yea entering, which will strengthen the league. Murch and Lancy seem real keen to give it a good tilt this year, Stanhope, Rushy and Ardy will likely be pretty strong again. Depending on who else Gig sign, they could be dangerous, probably same with Merrigum, who reportedly have a bit of $ in the kitty (yet havent signed anyone of note), Yea will be a real contender and with Nagambie's young guns they could also improve in leaps and bounds. And, of course, Tally (who could lose heaps, but that's said every year), will also be keen to go for back-to-back, and always have good ressies, so plenty of depth.

Johnny69
11th October 2005, 15:37
I have heard that lancy and gig have been going pretty hard at some of ky's younger players and have been throwing a bit of money at them, some of these player that i have heard about are Micheal Orr, Jason Morgan and Ryan Edwards. It would be a loss to ky if these boys would go out to a KDL club this early in there career.

Guinea
11th October 2005, 15:42
I have heard that lancy and gig have been going pretty hard at some of ky's younger players and have been throwing a bit of money at them, some of these player that i have heard about are Micheal Orr, Jason Morgan and Ryan Edwards. It would be a loss to ky if these boys would go out to a KDL club this early in there career.

Don't know any of those names - is Jason Morgan brothers with the Morgan who plays defence/ruck for Lancy? Can you give us a bit of info on these blokes and have you heard where Heath Barnett might end up?

Johnny69
11th October 2005, 16:47
I think Jason is cousins with the Morgan that plays at lanky. From what i can gather there is no real chance of Barney leaving ky as he has a lot of his good mates in thier, but not sure about Sierra havent heard anything suggesting he will leave ky either especially when his g/f plays netball for ky to, but i could be wrong.

cosby
11th October 2005, 17:40
jason morgan is cousins with the morgan who plays at lanky. i doubt whether they would be trying to entice these guys with money. they are not the sort of club that throw money around.

apparently the new merrigum coach has spoken of bringing 8 to 9 players with him.

Blinky
12th October 2005, 09:38
"Yeah nah wasnt Brayden Stone, is just borderline seniors in kdfl. The bloke is new to the area, orginally from Echuca."

The blokes name is Brett Henderson and he used to play with Echuca United and is a school teacher at St Augs in Ky so is mates with two certain school teachers there - Mr C. Carver and Mr M. Carver. Apparently is interested in playing for Lanky this year. Very tall but would be at least 35 now so getting on a bit but would be OK in the KDL.

Doona2
12th October 2005, 09:46
Change for the better

By Christie Peucker

October 12 2005
Shepparton News

Still on cloud nine since its one-point victory against Stanhope in the Kyabram and District Football League grand final last month, Tallygaroopna Football and Netball Club has received another windfall - this time in the form of new change rooms.
Club secretary Dean Jones confirmed the club had secured $50 000 in funding to rebuild its condemned change rooms.

"It's very good news," Jones said.

"We approached the (Greater Shepparton City) council about the grants and have worked with them for the past six to 12 months."

Jones said construction of the new facilities was likely to begin early next year, with the building set to be fully functional by the end of next season.

"It creates a bit of a buzz around the place," he said.

"We got the premiership this year and the change rooms have been a long time coming.

"It's a great ground and with the right facilities, it makes this all good."

The funding, announced by Victorian Sports Minister Justin Madden yesterday, is the first in a series of such grants handed out by the AFL and Victorian Government throughout regional Victoria.

"Tallygaroopna, like many clubs across regional Victoria, provides a focus for the community to come together," Mr Madden said.

"Community sport provides a great opportunity for people to participate and socialise in a healthy and active environment."

Guinea
12th October 2005, 12:21
Good news for Tally. Although their ground is always in pretty good nick, their change rooms have always been sub-standard. Haven't heard any more news about potential player loses/gains, but it will be interesting to see if the Sidebottom's front up to pre-season training at Mooroopna and if Wayman heads for the huge $ out Gig way.

Johnny69
12th October 2005, 13:07
"jason morgan is cousins with the morgan who plays at lanky. i doubt whether they would be trying to entice these guys with money. they are not the sort of club that throw money around."

Well i think that Orr has said that he is playing with lanky and with the other two unsure but i think morgan is being talked to by Girgarre not lanky cause thats were he is from.

roos
12th October 2005, 14:13
"Yeah nah wasnt Brayden Stone, is just borderline seniors in kdfl. The bloke is new to the area, orginally from Echuca."

The blokes name is Brett Henderson and he used to play with Echuca United and is a school teacher at St Augs in Ky so is mates with two certain school teachers there - Mr C. Carver and Mr M. Carver. Apparently is interested in playing for Lanky this year. Very tall but would be at least 35 now so getting on a bit but would be OK in the KDL.

Henderson is not tall, half-back flanker at best, could be heading to Benalla as he has a good mate that coaches All-Blacks.

Guinea
12th October 2005, 15:49
apparently the new merrigum coach has spoken of bringing 8 to 9 players with him.

8-9 players, that's a good effort for a coach at any standard of footy. Any word on who any of them are, where they're from and/or if they're any good. I heard again over the weekend that the Fonua's might be going there, anyone else got any info on this? Are they 2 of the 8-9 players the coach is taking with him?

Doona2
12th October 2005, 16:03
8-9 players, that's a good effort for a coach at any standard of footy. Any word on who any of them are, where they're from and/or if they're any good. I heard again over the weekend that the Fonua's might be going there, anyone else got any info on this? Are they 2 of the 8-9 players the coach is taking with him?

Geez Merrigum must be cashed up by the sounds!!! Is the KDFL getting like the GV, whoever's got the $$$ cleans up . . . . . . Hate the way footy's going!!!

Heard in Broady today former Roos coach Paul Tilley is in for the West Preston gig - Till's is good mates with Ake and Adrian Baker. Would surely help West get back up the table a bit if he could get them along if he wins the role.

hank1
12th October 2005, 18:04
don't know that these blokes would much a huge difference to west preston's plight. would be serviceable players but couldnt see them making that big a difference. Seen the yougest Fonua play in the twos at Tonny this year think he might be the pick of them.

hank1
12th October 2005, 18:14
[QUOTE=Doona2]Geez Merrigum must be cashed up by the sounds!!! Is the KDFL getting like the GV, whoever's got the $$$ cleans up . . . . . . Hate the way footy's going!!!QUOTE]

Don't think it is that bad, there are some clubs that need to spend money to compete, the only problem is they dont spend it on the right individuals. Look at Gig, Canavan $15G non playing. White Ass Coach. neither of these two will turn this club around. $15G for a playing coach is ludicruos, non playing is out and out stupidity.

Murch, Ardy always throw the dollars around when they have it, look at Murch side this year majority of blokes have played at other KDL clubs and majority of them are up to 3 sides now.

Lancy are doing the right thing and always have, never spend huge money and reward locals and target x-players when they recruit.

Stanhope ditto, Yea seem to be the same.

Nagambie will also do that next year I believe.