View Full Version : County/Ammo Players who could play VFL
GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 13:04
Who do you reckon deserves a crack at VFL footy and is there any one at your club that could stand up in 06 for a VFL team!!!!
Robbie Douglas(BF) would be my tip
write there position
Who do you reckon deserves a crack at VFL footy and is there any one at your club that could stand up in 06 for a VFL team!!!!
Robbie Douglas(BF) would be my tip
write there position
Marcus Webb (Yea & Assumption College) rover/small forward.
Travvy43
3 Oct 2005, 13:14
Andrew Reid from Tonny, the bloke is a freak of a player, can take a good grab, maybe needs to omprove a bit on his kicking for goal but could play at HF and have some effect.
Would like to see archard (Echuca) test out his ability in the VFL too (wing, HF).
Joffa Anderson (seymour). Very similar footballer to Shaune "Spider" Moloney, North Ballarat's 2004 best and fairest.
ben.carbonaro
3 Oct 2005, 22:23
Quentin Gleeson (Uni Blues)... but don't think he could because his job with the AFL takes up a lot of his time and also getting to training might be an issue due to work.
There are stacks of blokes in the ammos who could play VFL footy but choose not to for various reasons.
My North
3 Oct 2005, 23:27
There are stacks of blokes in the ammos who could play VFL footy but choose not to for various reasons.
because there all being paid under the table :D
fat back pocket
3 Oct 2005, 23:55
Marcus Webb (Yea & Assumption College) rover/small forward.
What does the future hold for Marcus Webb? Will he try his hand at VFL? How old is he? Does he finished school this year? Any ambitions of playing GV? If he doesn't play VFL?
Doona, Joffa anderson would be the best VFL recruit going around, he wouldn't cost them anything, and he would be a solid player. Definitely give them something.
I'm supprised he doesn't get more offers.
He went and had a look at Southport Sharks set up during the week. I reckon he could slid in quite well on the GC. With his commerce degree, i'm sure they could pull him a job, and he could pull some hot chicks as well.
HJ32 - no sign of the gumboot either!
ben.carbonaro
3 Oct 2005, 23:59
Yeah true, but it would be great to see Q playing with us at Werribee alongside his drother Dominic.
Brent Chapman and Nick Miller (both from Shepp Bears). Reckon Chapman's got the aggression and athleticm and Miller's got similar attributes to Leigh Ryall (Nth Ballarat player). Kahl Oliver from Rochy also has the size and athletic ability to make it, but its obviously not an easy gig to be a regular senior player if blokes like Grainger, Jansz, Shelton, Duane Hueston and Reid couldn't do it.
Hopefully Newman has a crack this year, and obviously Archard has got the ability.
Travvy43
4 Oct 2005, 13:55
Joffa Anderson (seymour). Very similar footballer to Shaune "Spider" Moloney, North Ballarat's 2004 best and fairest.
good call witht he comparison between anderson and Moloney. the thing that set moloney apart was that along with his tremendous spoiling ability and defensive skills he had the best motor of anyone at the roosters. He was top of the class when it come to time trials. Great player and one the roosters missed this year due to his overseas travels. Will be a welcome addition next year.
Spider rang me last night from Turkey, no certainty to return to the Roosters. If he moves back home to Broadford (which aint confirmed) he'll be playing at Yea alongside a few old mates.
Travvy43
4 Oct 2005, 15:22
There you go, did not know he was a braody boy. I suppose with the player revolt to the nth ballarat move it would make him easier to move away. How would he be playing for yea.....
I said if he happens to move home to the Broady area, which he aint sure of, he will join the 5-6 close Broady mates he already has at Yea. The Spider we all know and love is shattered at the way his beloved Roos have gone. He skippered our '94 thirds flag and vowed one day to return. Would sure be a great reference to apply for the job - by guaranteeing you could lure home a VFL state rep and club B & F with you ....... sounds like a plan for 2007!!!
Doona, forgive me if this is a stupid question. You said that Spida is shattered with the way the roos are going and that he is a premiership skipper of a 3rds side there and has vowed to return to the club one day. I'm presuming that the club he has vowed to return to is Broady, but you have also said that if (which might not eventuate) he moves back to the Broady area, he'll play at Yea with his Broady mates (which I presumes includes you and Neilson). Does this mean that a majority/the entire Broady based Yea players are planning on returning to the Roos once the "non-local" committeemen realise the abundance of home-grown local talent they're missing out on?
Before i get on my soapbox, let me say Broadford is my home, the footy club is where I grew up, and I cant wait for the day that I feel welcome enough to return there and put some of the experience Ive learnt at Yea the past 3 years to benefit both on and off the field.
I can not talk for others as to why there has been a real "Braodford" presence develop over the hill at Yea the past 3-4 seasons. Personally I followed a great mate in Mathew Finch who was shafted out of the senior coaching position by un football minded people on the committee. I was told in June 2001 by an influencial person that Broadford had a new coach for '02 -regardless of what happened. Strangely Braodford played off in the grand final yet Finchy's position wasn't renewed.
I felt sorry for Paul Cleary as the same thing happened to him a season later - talk was he was out of a job midyear, that season the Roos finish 3rd, but still Clears was replaced by Paul Tilley.
I may have been unfortunate to have been brought up around a Braodford FC based on tradition and team success. Long gone are the days of players who get $$$ meeting a criteria - premiership player, league medallist, league rep., club B & F, criteria that the committee's of my memories (80's and 90's) adhered to strictly.
Guess I must have to get over it - move with the times or get left behind!!!
next_afl_player
5 Oct 2005, 21:21
I am going to do a pre-season with Northern Bullants Reserves, after playing my first 2 years of football down at rockbank! Hopefully all goes well!
I presume all you are all talking about playing VFL 1's not the ressies. That being the case, I think you are all under estimating the gap between VFL and local comps.
Quentin Gleeson, played with Essendon reserves, in the old AFL reserves, as a supp listed player in 2000. Did not show at that time, that he was capable of holding a regular game. Would have less chance now, some five years down the track. Skills would have probably dropped off through lack of intense training.
Luke Saunders, could not get a regular game with the Calder Canons, or Coburg when they were a stand alone club in the old structure.
Nick Miller, went to the SANFL, think it was West Adelaide, and could not crack it for a game, did have injury problems.
Joel Price, (Yarrawonga), another one that tried the SANFL, North Adelaide, in two season played at a max, 4-5 senior games, mainly reserves.
Adrian Newman, Corowa-Rutherglen, a leading goal kicker in the O&M, but at best ressies at Port melb.
Pekes twins at Oak Park, played with the Bullant ressies, mainly as top-ups.
Denis Bicer, Greenvale, equal 2nd B&F in the EDFL this year, fringe player at the Canons, and again could not crack regular seniors at Coburg when they were stand alone.
Nick Micalezzi, St Albans, (not sure if I have spelt his name correctly), fringe player at Werribee.
And many others. The point is, the above, are all good to excellent players in their local comp, but it is nowhere near the standard of the VFL, and they would struggle to get a senior game.
The one most likely to get a game are delisted/retired AFL players, Craig Ednie, Yarrawonga, Trent Hotton Mansfield, as examples. But they choose to play in lesser leagues merely because they can get more money.
HawkeEye
6 Oct 2005, 09:18
Barry Boobak
The Whip
6 Oct 2005, 19:03
Shane G Whitelaw........ " Straight at ya"
By the way number 7 (MM) lets just say i'm on to you!
diablo14
7 Oct 2005, 01:55
i was always impressed with bicer when i saw him at coburg. i thought he should have got a bit more of a go. im not a burger fan, but watched quite a few of their games in 2000, and thought he was stiff to be dropped on more than one occasion.
heres a question, there was a young fella running around for preston in 2000, lee his name was, wore no 18. had a huge year for them, there was talk of drafting, then i havent seen him since. anyone know who i mean and where he is now?
I know exactly who you mean mate. Russell Lee. Absolute gun. Stiff not to get drafted in the U18's (played for Preston Knights with the likes of Whitnall, Stevens, Lowther, etc), made the Metro side as a 17 year old and was injured for part of the season when he was top age. You're right, had a senational 2000 season with Preston (now bullants). Is tough, quick, fit and fearless, but isn't a sensational kick. Ok on his left, but no right to speak of. The talk at the time was that Brisbane were keen on him, but for whatever reason didn't take him. He had a few more quality seasons with the Bullants, and has played some sensational footy over the past few seasons at Heidelberg. No doubt on an absolute packet. He's also a top fella and very good with the women...
I presume all you are all talking about playing VFL 1's not the ressies. That being the case, I think you are all under estimating the gap between VFL and local comps.
Quentin Gleeson, played with Essendon reserves, in the old AFL reserves, as a supp listed player in 2000. Did not show at that time, that he was capable of holding a regular game. Would have less chance now, some five years down the track. Skills would have probably dropped off through lack of intense training.
Luke Saunders, could not get a regular game with the Calder Canons, or Coburg when they were a stand alone club in the old structure.
Nick Miller, went to the SANFL, think it was West Adelaide, and could not crack it for a game, did have injury problems.
Joel Price, (Yarrawonga), another one that tried the SANFL, North Adelaide, in two season played at a max, 4-5 senior games, mainly reserves.
Adrian Newman, Corowa-Rutherglen, a leading goal kicker in the O&M, but at best ressies at Port melb.
Pekes twins at Oak Park, played with the Bullant ressies, mainly as top-ups.
Denis Bicer, Greenvale, equal 2nd B&F in the EDFL this year, fringe player at the Canons, and again could not crack regular seniors at Coburg when they were stand alone.
Nick Micalezzi, St Albans, (not sure if I have spelt his name correctly), fringe player at Werribee.
And many others. The point is, the above, are all good to excellent players in their local comp, but it is nowhere near the standard of the VFL, and they would struggle to get a senior game.
The one most likely to get a game are delisted/retired AFL players, Craig Ednie, Yarrawonga, Trent Hotton Mansfield, as examples. But they choose to play in lesser leagues merely because they can get more money.
Mate, there are plenty of players in both VAFA and in the VCFL who could play VFL. They may have tried before and failed, but that could be because they were only 18-19 when they had a crack. Blokes that are 22-23-24-25 could easily slip in to VFL sides. Pick the best 2 or 3 from just about every A Grade club in the Ammos, and same goes for GV, they could make it and play well.
I know this is about opinions, and every body has one, but I do not agree with your comments. I base mine around watching local, country and, VFL footy, and there is a big gap. A number of VAFA, EDFL DVFL and other league players have been invited to preseasons at VFL clubs, they get cut. Seen it happen too many times. There are more ex VFL reserves players running around country and suburban comps than you can poke a stick at. Give you three that could not make it at VFL seniors but have had a top year at Doutta Stars in 2005, Gathercole, Laverde, and Knight. Two from St B's Goullet and Maddern. Senility is getting to me, cannot remember the name of St.B's full forward from last year, gun player in the Ammo's, Geelong supp list, check out how many games he got with the Cats reserves. Not many! Remember one thing, most VFL (aligned) clubs have at least 8 - 10 AFL listed players in the team each week. I guess next thread will be name the local players that could play AFL.
What does the future hold for Marcus Webb? Will he try his hand at VFL? How old is he? Does he finished school this year? Any ambitions of playing GV? If he doesn't play VFL?
Spoke with Webby yesterday, he will be deferring uni studies for 2006 to work and get some coin behind him. A reliable source has it that the Bendigo Bombers are keen as mustard and will be inviting him to pre-season. It would foolish of Seymour not to touch base with him as I think he is as dangerous as Gezza Liddell - and we all know how much I rate young Gez. Fantastic skills, huge motor, and confidence ready for the highest standard he can possibly play.
So unless the mighty Tigers can get him work (looking into it), it's a fair bet Marcus will be bettering himself at a higher level.
Can put your mind at rest Travvy - Heard from Spider last night, and I can confirm he'll definately be lining up with the Roosters in 2006, but does remember averbal agreement we have about his services upon VFL retirement and will play wherever his mate are located
FOOTYBOSS
10 Oct 2005, 15:42
Shane G Whitelaw........ " Straight at ya"
By the way number 7 (MM) lets just say i'm on to you!
And who his alias be young whip. keep the singing up
Travvy43
10 Oct 2005, 16:24
Can put your mind at rest Travvy - Heard from Spider last night, and I can confirm he'll definately be lining up with the Roosters in 2006, but does remember averbal agreement we have about his services upon VFL retirement and will play wherever his mate are located
there you go, a good pick up for the roosters. Will be interesting to see if he has lost much whilst spending a year out of the game.
Geez he couldnt afford to lose much more!!! 6'5" and 80kgs wringing wet!!! From his photo's Id say he looks the same gangling prick that left after a big day at the Boxing Day Test '04 - and as far a skills go, he's always happy if the ball spins right off the boot.
There's a lesson to learn from Spider for all those "big fish in little pond" footballers - here's a guy that has milked every bit out of his ability and more, gets thru on shear heart and work rate, never gives in and gives 100% at all times.
Will be interesting at North next year, how can blokes who dont train with the group roll up weekends and play in the best spots - cant see the alignment with the Kangaroos working at all
Travvy43
10 Oct 2005, 17:46
Will be interesting at North next year, how can blokes who dont train with the group roll up weekends and play in the best spots - cant see the alignment with the Kangaroos working at all
Part of the contract states that the north melb players must train wiht the roosters at leaset once a week.
Does it say that the Roosters coaching staff have full say on match days, or will Laidley say where the Kangaroo hopefuls are to be placed?
Travvy43
11 Oct 2005, 09:24
Not sure about that clause doona, but one thing i do know is that the president of the roosters is a lawyer and he has dotted every i and crossed every t. I did hear there was an out clause if thing dont work out after the first year.
fat back pocket
11 Oct 2005, 16:19
Spoke with Webby yesterday, he will be deferring uni studies for 2006 to work and get some coin behind him. A reliable source has it that the Bendigo Bombers are keen as mustard and will be inviting him to pre-season. It would foolish of Seymour not to touch base with him as I think he is as dangerous as Gezza Liddell - and we all know how much I rate young Gez. Fantastic skills, huge motor, and confidence ready for the highest standard he can possibly play.
So unless the mighty Tigers can get him work (looking into it), it's a fair bet Marcus will be bettering himself at a higher level.
I think you'll find doona he is on the hit list. I know for certain the president went and watched the CGFL granny you boys won and were super impressed with Marcus Webb. And with Chippa douglas looking like packing the bags and heading for the big smoke, a working opportunity will open up with Coxy.
Could be a possibility of getting a job there to earn his coin!
IF Bendigo are keen to get him across there for a bit, then i think he would be silly to stick in the GV. AFL clubs have told young hopefulls to play GV footy and we will consider you in a year, only to be left hanging a year later.
Never seen him play, but from what i hear could win GV's rookie of the year award? Would that be true Doona?
I think you'll find doona he is on the hit list. I know for certain the president went and watched the CGFL granny you boys won and were super impressed with Marcus Webb. And with Chippa douglas looking like packing the bags and heading for the big smoke, a working opportunity will open up with Coxy.
Could be a possibility of getting a job there to earn his coin!
IF Bendigo are keen to get him across there for a bit, then i think he would be silly to stick in the GV. AFL clubs have told young hopefulls to play GV footy and we will consider you in a year, only to be left hanging a year later.
Never seen him play, but from what i hear could win GV's rookie of the year award? Would that be true Doona?
Would be very true, he is ready to play good footy at a high level now. Great skills, goal sense, huge motor and the temprement of a veteran. I reckon his only challenger for the ACK B&F is Angus Graham - and big Gus should go in the draft.
No Heart
25 Oct 2005, 21:18
I think Stewie [ rolly poley] Peterson from seymour could play in the VFL, he has great speed [ is always first to the tuck shop ] has great ball skills [ all ways playing with himself] has good vision [ can spot a hot dog a mile away]and he knows where the goals are [ first goal was to loose 15 kg ]. But as all good sportsmen he also has another sport which he is quiet handy at too, cricket and he is a very important member of the team too; every friday they roll the rolly poley out to flatten the wicket and make shaw the wickets readyfor saturday.[ he would make a great Fat Back Pocket ]
GVFootyfan
25 Oct 2005, 21:35
I think Stewie [ rolly poley] Peterson from seymour could play in the VFL, he has great speed [ is always first to the tuck shop ] has great ball skills [ all ways playing with himself] has good vision [ can spot a hot dog a mile away]and he knows where the goals are [ first goal was to loose 15 kg ]. But as all good sportsmen he also has another sport which he is quiet handy at too, cricket and he is a very important member of the team too; every friday they roll the rolly poley out to flatten the wicket and make shaw the wickets readyfor saturday.[ he would make a great Fat Back Pocket ]
You are being a bit unkind to rolly polly's there No Heart. That dog starver is the only man apart from Jago that i have seen eat a hot dog and pass it out the other end without a tooth mark in the bun. So you reckon they use him to flatten the wicket, I thought they used him to block out the sun. Even 15 kg's less won't get him a gig as bench warmer next year.
No Heart
25 Oct 2005, 21:56
You are being a bit unkind to rolly polly's there No Heart. That dog starver is the only man apart from Jago that i have seen eat a hot dog and pass it out the other end without a tooth mark in the bun. So you reckon they use him to flatten the wicket, I thought they used him to block out the sun. Even 15 kg's less won't get him a gig as bench warmer next year.
:) Excellent work GVFootyFan :thumbsu:
fat back pocket
26 Oct 2005, 09:32
:) Excellent work GVFootyFan :thumbsu:
. <- You know what that dot is...looks like a full stop, in fact its size of your brain you f u c k head. We already know you have no heart. If you had a heart you'd have the balls to put your identity up here when you are going to go shelling out personal insults. Mind you, you were way off the mark. Thank god you, and GVFootyFan, aren't on the seymour coaching/selection panel. Because if you were, you'd be useless, waste of money to the club, as you obviously have a footy brain the size of a split pea [and that is generous], no heart, and a small c o c k. Not only that, Steve Daniel wouldn't want you in his coaching box because of your fowl breath, stinks because of all the s h i t that comes out of your mouth!
Duff Man
26 Oct 2005, 14:56
Absolute gold FBP.
I bet No Heart and GVFootyFan have got the liquid paper out trying to get rid of that full stop.
vantheman32
26 Oct 2005, 15:04
Would be very true, he is ready to play good footy at a high level now. Great skills, goal sense, huge motor and the temprement of a veteran. I reckon his only challenger for the ACK B&F is Angus Graham - and big Gus should go in the draft.
im a good mate of marcus and ive talked to him a few times about where he will be goin next season, he seems quite keen on seymour. but he wont be working with paul cox as that is where seymour young jake anderson is now working so i believe. as for the ACK B&F M Barlow was a deserved winner after a very good season following in his fathers footsteps n winning the award. webb was 2nd, graham was middle of the pack because he didnt play very much he was down at cannons! but good luck to webb where ever he plays, i cant see him playing VFL he doesnt have that drive?
GVFootyfan
26 Oct 2005, 16:26
. <- You know what that dot is...looks like a full stop, in fact its size of your brain you f u c k head. We already know you have no heart. If you had a heart you'd have the balls to put your identity up here when you are going to go shelling out personal insults. Mind you, you were way off the mark. Thank god you, and GVFootyFan, aren't on the seymour coaching/selection panel. Because if you were, you'd be useless, waste of money to the club, as you obviously have a footy brain the size of a split pea [and that is generous], no heart, and a small c o c k. Not only that, Steve Daniel wouldn't want you in his coaching box because of your fowl breath, stinks because of all the s h i t that comes out of your mouth!
Good come back A N A L prober. If you know so much about punctuation you will know what this is then --> , <-- yes that is right s p o o f y jocks, that is the size of your weener.
fat back pocket
26 Oct 2005, 17:09
Good come back A N A L prober. If you know so much about punctuation you will know what this is then --> , <-- yes that is right s p o o f y jocks, that is the size of your weener.
Then its true what they say, you are a f u c k ing fagot! Looking at blokes c o c ks. You obviously have a pretty shelted life, from what i read you know a fair bit about what Steve Daniel does!! Only info that someone who either knows him, or stalks him would.
You queer peice of s h i t. How bout you and No Heart keep your pointless posts to footy.
No Heart
26 Oct 2005, 20:04
Then its true what they say, you are a f u c k ing fagot! Looking at blokes c o c ks. You obviously have a pretty shelted life, from what i read you know a fair bit about what Steve Daniel does!! Only info that someone who either knows him, or stalks him would.
You queer peice of s h i t. How bout you and No Heart keep your pointless posts to footy.
I thought i was talking football , Stewie [ roley poley ] Peterson to play in the VFL. GVFootyFan looks like the fat back pocket has a bum chum Duff Man .
im a good mate of marcus and ive talked to him a few times about where he will be goin next season, he seems quite keen on seymour. but he wont be working with paul cox as that is where seymour young jake anderson is now working so i believe. as for the ACK B&F M Barlow was a deserved winner after a very good season following in his fathers footsteps n winning the award. webb was 2nd, graham was middle of the pack because he didnt play very much he was down at cannons! but good luck to webb where ever he plays, i cant see him playing VFL he doesnt have that drive?
Marcus is a great young man and will succeed at whatever he decides to do. I was very grateful that he agreed to come to Yea this year, and I hope he got something out of the experience that will help in years to come.
fat back pocket
27 Oct 2005, 08:35
I'm quite sure that Paul has arranged a job for marcus if he wishes to play at Seymour. There are plenty of avenue's for jobs, so that isn't an issue.
But according to Coxy, he is keen, which is good for both parties. Don't want him thinking he is wasting his time, and not put in after the club has got him a job etc. And then he leaves. So that enthusiasm is great. Lets hope he can play a key role in the firsts.
Duff Man
27 Oct 2005, 12:19
I thought i was talking football , Stewie [ roley poley ] Peterson to play in the VFL. GVFootyFan looks like the fat back pocket has a bum chum Duff Man .
Who pulled your cord No Heart. Ever thought of changing your name to No Brains or No Idea?
Now why don't you go back to fondling yourself - something you're obviously very good at!
No Heart
27 Oct 2005, 19:35
Who pulled your cord No Heart. Ever thought of changing your name to No Brains or No Idea?
Now why don't you go back to fondling yourself - something you're obviously very good at!
Look up in the sky its a bird, no its a plane , no its DUFF MAN. :cool:
fat back pocket
28 Oct 2005, 10:42
Look up in the sky its a bird, no its a plane , no its DUFF MAN. :cool:
That was a really s h i t post.
GVFootyfan
28 Oct 2005, 10:48
That was a really s h i t post.
I have to agree with you on that FBP. I think No Heart really dropped the ball on that one.
Played a bit of footy with a bloke who should've played a lot higher standard than he did. Daniel Fletcher was an out an out star at Broadford, but was never too fussed. Played in flags at all levels at Broady, 3 senior B&F's, all whilst being the most laid back bloke you'll ever meet.
Doona, Joffa anderson would be the best VFL recruit going around, he wouldn't cost them anything, and he would be a solid player. Definitely give them something.
I'm supprised he doesn't get more offers.
He went and had a look at Southport Sharks set up during the week. I reckon he could slid in quite well on the GC. With his commerce degree, i'm sure they could pull him a job, and he could pull some hot chicks as well.
Anything come of the Southport gig FBP? The big fella would be mad to leave the den now, grab another premiership medal first then he'll be set.
fat back pocket
7 Nov 2005, 08:35
Anything come of the Southport gig FBP? The big fella would be mad to leave the den now, grab another premiership medal first then he'll be set.
Nothing this year, he has to finish his degree. I believe he is in his final stages, I think he may have one or two subjects to finish before getting his degree and getting a job.
Once he does that, you never know. But if ever there was a patriot of a club, he is it. Loves the club to death, doesn't take cash and is one of the best players, and i don't think he has any ambitions of moving on. If he was going to play somewhere else, he would have done it during uni.
Can't see Joffa going myself