View Full Version : The main differences between Australian culture and that of other places

Sydneyfan
23 Oct 2001, 13:57
I was just interested what people believe are the main differences between Australian culture and the culture of other countries of the world with similar socio-economic levels, such as in Europe and North America. I was particularly interested what Bigfootyites such as the Stealth Bomber, Dipper, The Dutchman, Sbagman, and many others who either live or have spent a lot of time in a country other than Australia, have to say about the differences between Australian culture and culture elsewhere.

I can't comment too much on personal experience since I lived in London for 8 months but I was only 9/10 at the time, and have only visited Europe once for 10 days, and the States twice all up for about half a month.

Form my experiences and perception, it seems that the States largely has more of a work-oriented lifestyle where you strive to become the best you can, and seems more individualistic than Australia where you go out on your own and go for it, while here we seem to rely on our mates more. The States seem to have less sympathy than Australia for the less fortunate in their country, seem to have the attitude that you haven't worked hard enough that's why you're in the position you are, though Australia too seems to be becoming less of a compassionate country in regards to those less fortunate than ourselves.

Britain to me still seems to look too much into hindsight when it was the dominant world force during the 19th century. It seems that some British are slightly intimidated by Australians and our tendency to be loud and brash, which aren't really traditional British traits, in London anyway. Northern England, as well as Wales and Scotland, seem to have a rougher, workman culture similar to here. Quite a few people over there still seem to regard Australia as it were over 150 years ago when it was essentially mainly a penal colony, some seem surprised that most Australians are articulate and well educate folk. Though most of the British people I've met over the years are friendly, polite and genuinely like Australians.

Anyway, that's my narrow little thoughts on British and American culture! :p

What's yours?

Stealth bomber
24 Oct 2001, 08:33
I wouldn't disagree with anything you've said about the U.S. there, though I think that it mostly applies to people who live on the coasts and in the big cities, like New York and Los Angeles. I live in the Midwest, and generally we are a little more relaxed and slower-paced than those on the coasts.

I think that the individualism comes from having a population of 280 million, compared to 19 million. Because there are so many more people around, I think that you have to do a lot more to get noticed.

There is an infinitely greater amount of competition in everything, so people feel less inclined to look out for others and more inclined to look out for themselves. We are a society obsessed with money, power, and fame. Generally you aren't really anyone in this country unless you have those things.

The contempt shown towards the poor in this country is one of the ongoing class struggles we have - basically the difference in philosophies between our two major political parties in fact. The political far-right believes that if you are poor, it is your own fault and you don't deserve any help. The political far-left acknowledges the plight of the poor and wants to help, and believes in being charitable. The majority viewpoint is probably somewhere in the middle - help the people out but don't give them everything, make them earn it.

Generally the right-thinking belief sticks out more because those with that viewpoint tend to be the ones with all the power, wealth, and clout in this country.

Anyway, enough of that tangent.

Sydneyfan
24 Oct 2001, 10:06
Cool, thanks for that Stealth

My perceptions are pretty skewed since I've only been mainly to larger cities in the States (such as LA, SF, DC, NY, Miami, New Orleans), and smaller ones in the Southeast like Charleston, SC.

Likewise for the UK I've only ever spent a decent amount of time in London and know that London's definitely different to the rest of the UK.

I haven't got to the Midwest though I'd like to get there someday, particularly Chicago. Some of my favourite films such as Ferris Bueller's and the Blues Brothers, were made there!

Dipper
26 Oct 2001, 23:16
Well I've lived nearly all my life in London so its probably pretty different to the rest of England.I spent a year in Australia most of it in Sydney, alot of it working on construction sites.

One of the things that stayed in my mind on how we percieve things differently is talking to a bloke from Liverpool on one of the jobs I was doing & I asked him what he thought of Sydney & he said he liked it but it was a bit too rushed with a fast pace of life for him, he was used to a more leisurely pace of life in Liverpool.This was strange to me because me & my mate who went out there had a similar conversation & we both agreed that we liked Sydney because the life style was a lot slower than we were used to. So really the differences within ones own country are as great as those culural differneces between countires.I mean someone living in a rural area in the deep south of America will have a very different outlook to someone in New York for example.

Personally I found Australian people to be very positive in comparison to English people, hard to fully explain but it was just a vibe I got even down to the way people said G'Day like they really meant it.I'm sure the weather helps but it can't explain everything.
What you say about that workman culture is pretty true to some degree & what I like about Australia is the way that there's not some massively obvious class divide that you can pick up on straight away just by the way somebody talks.Over here when you first meet someone you can almost put them in a little box just by the way they talk, which predujices people's thinking.Personally I loved it down there & I still miss it even now, i'd love to go back to live maybe permanently.It's a great country with so much going for it, I've got a few Aussie mates & even Aussies I bump into over here are usually good blokes.

I'm not so sure about England looking back to some colonial past, that's often getting thrown at us usually by people from our former colonies but to be honest I think they have more of a hang up about it than we do.Britain is actually a country that isn't afraid to change in many ways but is willing to move with the times & always has been.Probably the biggest difference coming from London is the amount of differnet races & culures that live here.I know in Sydney there's alot of people from China & the Pacific Islands & 2nd/3rd generation Greeks, Italians etc but here we've got the full gamet in big numbers South Americans,West Indians,Indians,Pakistanis, Europeans,Africans,Arabs & it really is very different.

I don't think that people here think that Aussies should be any less educated but i suppose some people think that you're a bit rough & you're right some people are probably intimidated by the loudness & brashness & a word often used with Australians is arrogant-LOL.Me though I like Aussies because they are a bit loud & have got a bit of life to them-it's what I'm like & I really can't put up with that typical English reserved crap.

Really the thing I noticed about living over there is how similar we are, the humour is the main thing that whole p1ss taking culture that you have is pretty much the same as ours & its probably why we can get on with each other pretty easily.

Frodo
27 Oct 2001, 20:33
This is a good subject and extremely relevant to problems we are facing today.
In reality both Australia and USA have relatively small histories and therefore small cultural bases other than those of their indigenous people. Both are multicultural societies with their foundations rooted in European (mainly British) cultures.
I cannot say that I have found any difference in mateship between Australia, USA and UK. All are as strong as each other. From an educational perspective Europeans have tended towards reading, writing and arithmatic whereas Americans place a great significance upon speaking and performing. I have often heard poorly educated Americans spout the most ridiculous drivel in a most confident and articulate manner!
It is also interesting to note the importance of roots to an American and how proud they are to have descended from a Scottish, Irish etc, family. This contrasts with often seenAustralian disdain.
One of the saddest pieces of history was the advent of Communist China through Mao Zedong in the 1950's. The cultural wealth of thousands of years of Chinese dynasties was destroyed and the people tend to feel disenfranchised in general (although it takes a fair bit to get them to admit to it, such is the result of continuous government brainwashing). In fact it is quite probable that China needs the cultural gifts that are with the Taiwanese if they are to find peace of mind.
I guess the saddest country is Singapore. Famous for the 'copy watch' they have tried to copy American cities and adopt a USA culture which is a virtual rape of their true culture. Children, usually educated in Western countries, return to their homes with conflict between cultures and an emptiness. They no longer find themselves with the cultural values of their families and also are not accepted truly as westerners so become cultureless and alone.
In fact the problem is also rife in many Muslim countries where young people come from a village culture and then are westernised in universities and colleges. The result is a mindset that is ripe for rebellion and revolution. They quickly accept idealogical and radical groups as they offer a home for their sense of a cultural void. We do well to remember that those Sept 11 terrorists were well educated people their leader Mohammud Atta being educated in Germany as a civil engineer.

NYMets
30 Oct 2001, 20:41
Originally posted by Sydneyfan

Form my experiences and perception, it seems that the States largely has more of a work-oriented lifestyle where you strive blah blah.. Ho Ho are you sure you spent time in Nawlins?? (N.O.) work oriented ????? must have changed radically since my time.LOL

...e the best you can, and seems more individualistic than Australia where you go out on your own and go for it, while here we seem to rely on our mates more.
First day in Sydney...pick up the morning herald & they are rating suburbs by the number of BMW's & OBE's !!!! my friends are cool but I go to MElbourne or Paris ( where I work sometimes) to escape all the real estate chat.:D ....
But really when I get around...
I am constantly surprised how alike people are rather than how different.

Sydneyfan
30 Oct 2001, 21:33
NYMets,
Only got to spend a couple of a days in Nawlins, I liked the atmosphere of the place, I went there with my folks so my brother and I couldn't get up to too much mischief unfortunately, since you can get up to a fair bit of mischief there! ;)
Though some places are pretty dodgy, my Mum nearly got mugged at one stage! :eek: :D

Greed and pretence are definitely alive and well in Sydney, and it looks like they won't be going out of fashion soon too either!

NYMets
1 Nov 2001, 17:14
NYMets,
Only got to spend a couple of a days in Nawlins, I liked the atmosphere of the place, I went there with my folks so my brother and I couldn't get up to too much mischief unfortunately, since you can get up to a fair bit of mischief there! ;)
Though some places are pretty dodgy, my Mum nearly got mugged at one stage! :eek: :D

Greed and pretence are definitely alive and well in Sydney, and it looks like they won't be going out of fashion soon too either!

I've lived here in Manly for ages. Before that N'awlins so it's been awhile.
It was truly "the city that time forgot" like it was called when I was there. The work ethic was shizenhausen but I think it was a better place to live than visit. The french quarter was alright but the neighbourhoods were so cool. Everything revolved around food, music,drink & friends & family. I'll take that crab po'boy now thanks. They cleared the old neighborhoods where all types of people lived together and then came the bad crime. A shame. There was a real New Orleans way of talking, cooking, partying etc....
Now everywhere is the same.

Curly5
6 Nov 2001, 18:20
The only real way to find out is to travel and experience other "kulchas". It's been a while since I went to Europe but I remember suddenly feeling as if I had arrived in the centre of the world, where it was all happening, and Oz was a loooooong way away. I think Australians have become more sophisticated but maybe a little complacent too.

I heard an Englishman (living in Aus) interviewed recently and he said he was disappointed in the lack of social life (other than for the very young) and people here just go to work, go home, have dinner and go to bed, whereas in England it would be off to the pub or some other social gathering.

I'm so disappointed, I've always wanted to visit New York and had planned to go next year, but I'm not going now. (Maybe LA will be ok..:) )

Sherman
14 Nov 2001, 04:58
Frodo said:
Americans place a great significance upon speaking and performing. I have often
heard poorly educated Americans spout the most ridiculous drivel in a most confident and articulate manner!

I am new to this board and have been hugely enjoying the posts and the opinions expressed. Frodo, my friend - you have hit the nail on the head with the quoted observation. If nothing else, one thing that U.S. Americans have in abundance is confidence. This is, at times, among our most valuable assets, but at other times it makes us look ridiculous. I laughed when I read your post - because I recognized the truth in it and had a sudden flash of the way we must appear, at times, to others.

As for myself - sadly enough - I haven't had the time or money to travel out of my own hemisphere, so my "knowledge" of Australian culture is limited to reading someone else's interpretation, or seeing what is presented in a film or some other visual medium. Any of you Australians have any suggestions for books or films that may capture some part of the essence of Australian culture?

Rusty Brookes
14 Nov 2001, 07:56
Originally posted by Sherman
. Any of you Australians have any suggestions for books or films that may capture some part of the essence of Australian culture? [/B]

Now you're touching on something which is prevalent in Australin society-the cultural cringe. For some unfathomable reason many Australians seem to think Australia's contribution to the world is not as important as other countries. When I was at school and studied history, I learnt all about Britain's history, the States' history and bugger all about my own country. When I studied literature I read Shakespeare, Camus, Poe and bugger all Australian literature.

Now I am not downplaying the importance of the rest of the world, I love learning about other cultures but sometimes it seems the least I know about is my own country.

Jumping off the tangent:

I Can Jump Puddles by Alan Marshall is a great book which I think touches on some real issues

Over 'ere Harve by Bruce Dawe-A collection of short stories about a young man growing up in working class Melbourne in the late 1950s early 1960s. Great book with some really funny and at times poignant stories.

Films-the Club and Don's Party. David Williamson at his best.

CJH
14 Nov 2001, 10:13
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

Now you're touching on something which is prevalent in Australin society-the cultural cringe. For some unfathomable reason many Australians seem to think Australia's contribution to the world is not as important as other countries.

This is not my understanding of what the Cultural - Cringe is.

What I think it is is the oft-repeated cliches about a countries culture, cliches that are no longer relevant or accurate. Rolf Harris springs to mind! So too does Paul Hogan and Bryan Brown (in Cocktail), trying to be the quintessential Australians, full of folksy, homespun wisdom. What a ****! The closing ceremony at the Atlanta Olympics is another cultural cliche that must rate a mention.

On the other hand, the opening ceremony at the Sydney Olympics was very Australian but without any aspect whatsoever of cultural cringe.

As for Australian books and films, the relatively recent film "The Castle" would be well worth a look. (Please try and get the Australian release - unfortunately, the American one was "Americanised" with some of the phrases and expressions dubbed over so they would make some sense to the Americans, but little to the Australians!)

Rusty Brookes
14 Nov 2001, 10:30
cultural cringe, noun
The belief that one's own cultural is backwards and unsophisticated compared to other cultures. Used most often in Australia and New Zealand.

http://www.logophilia.com/WordSpy/culturalcringe.asp

So in a sense we're both right. It depends on how you interpret the above definition

CJH
15 Nov 2001, 20:26
Another film to check out on Australian culture (I use the word liberally here!) is Two Hands, a film that could possibly be subtitled Many Mulletts! It does show Australian culture in a somewhat lesser light, featuring characters that would have to be representative of the dumbest Australians possible!

Longboysfan
16 Nov 2001, 22:37
Being from the states I can only answer for myself on that.

Most noted by Frodo. And mostly correct. The USA does have a short history compared to those of other countries.
But the base which this country was founded on was religious freedom and hard work. The welfare system in place up here was not put in place till around 1935 or so.

But aside from that. The things that are taught and shown in the US is that even the lowest of the low can work hard and make a name for themselves in this country. No the streets are not paved with Gold as some have mythically stated.
But you can pave your way onto Easy street by working hard and applying yourself here. And the system is set up here to help those who have fallen on hard times to get them back up and working. Not support them for life. Come retirement time this will be a more brutal truth to those who did nothing to save for their future.
The Social Security net is only going to help so much. Then it's up to you to provide any thing else you need.
The Laws are being changed up here so that you can't live off the government for life. And the people paying in should not have to foot that kind of bill for those who can but will not work. Yes those that have emotional or physical problems are being helped more as a society should.

The Starchild
18 Nov 2001, 08:56
Originally posted by CJH
Another film to check out on Australian culture (I use the word liberally here!) is Two Hands, a film that could possibly be subtitled Many Mulletts! It does show Australian culture in a somewhat lesser light, featuring characters that would have to be representative of the dumbest Australians possible! When I read this thread and saw someone ask for a book or movie to watch that may illustrate Oz culture I immediately thought of 'Two Hands', that is one funny movie. I love Bryan Brown in that movie, the swearing is just perfect. Loved it when...ah can't ruin it i spose.

Yeah, get TwoHands, you'll love it.

sbagman
5 Dec 2001, 10:37
I've been trying to work out how to answer this question honestly for ages. I'll have a shot, but I don't think it will come out right.

This is based on my experiences living in Brisbane and Perugia, Italy.

I think Australians aren't as social or friendly as Italians. Australians tend to want their big house in the suburbs, and not interact with anyone else. There is no sense of community in Australia. Italians tend to interact more with their city or town, and have far more pride in their civic identities.

Australians have less of a sense of duty towards others, I feel. For example, if a new person arrived somewhere in Italy, Italians would feel duty-bound to make them feel welcome. Australians don't feel this duty.

Australians tend to be apathetic towards most things, Italians tend to be passionate about many things.

This is a very superficial post covering my thoughts and experiences. Basically, I think Italians live much better than Australians, but then again, Italians have had much more experience at it.

Sbagman.

RacerX
5 Dec 2001, 13:06
I don't know about Italians living much better than Australians Sbagman, depends on where your interests lie.

I take your point about our relative lack of "civic identities" as you put it. I was wondering why this is so, I reckon it is a function of having a relatively transient population combined with the our love of suburbia. The overuse of cars in Australia is also probably a factor.

sbagman
5 Dec 2001, 13:16
Originally posted by RacerX
I don't know about Italians living much better than Australians Sbagman, depends on where your interests lie.

I take your point about our relative lack of "civic identities" as you put it. I was wondering why this is so, I reckon it is a function of having a relatively transient population combined with the our love of suburbia. The overuse of cars in Australia is also probably a factor.

Yeah I think quality of life is subjective. In my opinion, Italians have a much better idea on what the important things in life are. But it's just that - my opinion. I'm pretty sure my Italian-Australian upbringing had an effect on that.

The civic identity thing I believe comes from a number of factors, including history, but I think one important one is density. Australian cities are far less dense than European ones, so we all have our comfy big homes with picket fences etc etc, but we lose the interaction with each other because we are simply so far apart. I started a thread on this ages ago, I'll see if I can dig it up, I got some really good responses. I think density affects lifestyle heaps too. Italians seem to go out much more than Australians, and I think it's because the flats are that much smaller in Italy, you can't really entertain at home, so people live in their cities much more, out in the bars, restuarants and cafes.

I don't believe you can retain a sense of community if you have a very spread out city.

RacerX
5 Dec 2001, 13:26
Interesting stuff Sbagman, if you can find the thread I'd be keen to read it.

Its funny that you can't retain the sense of community in a low density style suburbia. But if you take the next step out and spread the communities even further out the situation reverses itself. I'm referring to country towns where there is usually a strong sense of community.

sbagman
5 Dec 2001, 13:30
Got it!

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=12752

Yeah I'm not sure about country towns in Australia, I've never lived in one. I think density is one factor, I'm sure there are many others.

Sbagman.

RacerX
5 Dec 2001, 13:37
Originally posted by sbagman
Got it!

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=12752

Yeah I'm not sure about country towns in Australia, I've never lived in one. I think density is one factor, I'm sure there are many others.

Sbagman.

Thanks Sbagman, looks like there is some good stuff in there.